Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 3292 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

3292 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

3292 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1220
4 stars
1017
3 stars
343
2 stars
240
1 stars
472
1-20 of 2897 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 2897 total reviews
1-20 of 2897 reviews
Nearly unusable
9/26/2013

Customer review by Cmaxim

1.0 stars 9/26/2013 by Cmaxim
by Cmaxim

This tablet is so slow and unresponsive that it is nearly unusable. I found myself constantly having to press icons or links multiple times either because it was so slow that I wasn't sure I hit it right, or it simply didn't work at all. It comes with Google Chrome, but I'd advise against using it because it uses too much CPU to work right. As for the Wifi connection, I really only used this while sitting 6ft away from my wireless router at home, and it still chugged badly. In terms of display, it says HDMI on the box, but the screen is anything but. It's dark even at full brightness, and not at all sharp and crisp to look at, making it look like I'm watching a standard definition channel on an HD TV. If you're okay with a slower tablet that's really only useful for very casual browsing in your living room, then this might work for you, but if you're looking for a "steal" for a good tablet, this is not one. I am returning mine today and I suggest if you want a usable, responsive tablet, just shell out an extra $100 and try a mid-range brand name tablet instead.

Cmaxim
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
GREAT FEATURES
11/6/2013

Customer review by InternetSurfer

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by InternetSurfer
by InternetSurfer

I bought this tablet because it has all the features I am looking for in a tablet, like HDMI, USB, SD card slot, headphone jack, Microphone and Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n. Plus the AML8726-M3 Cortex A9 Main CPU gives you fast response time. Picture quality is great for watching or downloading movies, and viewing pictures which you can also vue on your tv using an HDMI cable. Its a GREAT BUY for what your getting.

InternetSurfer
Burlington, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
Good Value Tablet
6/24/2013

Customer review by Megaman

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by Megaman
by Megaman

I bought this during the Fathers Day sale for myself and I am quite happy with it. It is a nice looking tablet and it performs well especially for the price I paid. I had no issues hooking it up to my wifi network and I even bring it out to coffee shops and other places like that where I wouldn't want to bring an expensive tablet it case it got wrecked.

Megaman
Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not very usable
12/2/2013

Customer review by Jdogbits

1.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Jdogbits
by Jdogbits

Bought this tablet thinking it would be decent, I was wrong, so far it has been a nightmare and I will be returning it ASAP. The touch is in responsive and it jumps all over the place which is especially frustrating when you are trying to type. Sluggishly slow and unresponsive , STAY AWAY from this item..

Jdogbits
Thunder Bay, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
frustrating
6/15/2013

Customer review by flustered

1.0 stars 6/15/2013 by flustered
by flustered

Works out of the box, looks better than it works. crashed my whole wireless system trying to set parameters to connect. can,t say any more until I pay someoune to set up my system. Brobably will return it

flustered
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good features
10/14/2013

Customer review by tlpalberta

4.0 stars 10/14/2013 by tlpalberta
by tlpalberta

I bought 2 tablets for my kids and so far they have been great except one got a virus but that's all cleared up now and they are both working good!!

tlpalberta
Ashmont, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Value Hard to Pass. One huge bummer.
12/31/2013

Customer review by Phiscribe

3.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Phiscribe
by Phiscribe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's hard to beat this with a stick as the cost is so low. It's not as speedy as some tablets, but for most tasks it is just fine. I ordered three for the holidays. One HUGE annoyance is that out of the box there is a problem with the sensor. Tilting the device does not give you the auto rotate behavior one desires. Two out of Three of these I bought did not tilt correctly, making them useless in auto rotate mode. Looking at the gsensor calibration tool showed that the X and Y values of the sensor were way off, (supposed to be zero.) Supposedly you can lay the device on a flat table, hit the calibrate button and set the values to zero to fix the problem. NOT. The device spits this message at you. "Have you kept the device in a horizontal desktop? If so there must be something wrong with Gsensor." Finally after much trial an error I managed to find a method that worked on those two tablets. You have to tilt the device until the X and Y values are near zero, then hit the calibrate button. Slowly keep tilting the device until it is flat on you desk or tablet pressing calibrate every few moments until you get it flat and X=Y=0. On the third tablet, it's X and Y values were near zero, thus it auto rotated fine. However they are not zero and yet no amount of fiddling with the sensor gives anything but the error, "Have you kept the device in a horizontal desktop? If so there must be something wrong with Gsensor." I am debating sending the third one back. I am not sure whether to return it or not. I would give it a higher rating but for this annoyance.

Was this review helpful? (289) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phiscribe
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Next book 7"tablet
12/2/2013

Customer review by Jenkib01

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Jenkib01
by Jenkib01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It works great it does the same thing as my iPad and works great

Was this review helpful? (592) (107)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenkib01
Charlotte
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
screen broke within 1 hour of use
12/25/2013

Customer review by jimga

1.0 stars 12/25/2013 by jimga
by jimga
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I don't recommend this for any one active my son broke this with one drop (it was inside a case) screen glass "very" breakable I don't recommend this to anyone

Was this review helpful? (183) (188)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimga
vista ca.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nextbook What?
12/29/2013

Customer review by Dragon65

4.0 stars 12/29/2013 by Dragon65
by Dragon65

Although this product is a great buy @ $59.99, I paid $69.99 + tax , and then 3 days later, the price dropped and they removed it from the store shelves because of the many returns because the buyers didn't know how to use it. It states in the manual that you cannot add a UBS Flash Drive to it, when in Fact, you can. It states that the unit cannot charge via the Micro-USB port, when in fact, it does, but at 1/3 the normal charge. And you MUST have the AC adapter plugged in if you connect your Nextbook to a HDMI TV, otherwise it WILL drain the battery. but otherwise, I find this unit to be very easy to use and I have lots of apps on it and have a 16 Gb Micro-SD card in it for added memory and have a 64 Gb Micro-USB Flashdrive connected via a Micro-USB A Male to USB A Female extension . I would purchase another one of these again, IF, I RECEIVE A DISCOUNT OF AT LEAST 25% OFF for the adjustment of price drop just 3 days after paying $74.04 for my 1st one. This Tablet is GOOGLE BASED.

Was this review helpful? (192) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dragon65
Kingman, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the price!
5/30/2013

Customer review by tsb50158

5.0 stars 5/30/2013 by tsb50158
by tsb50158

Before I purchased this I went thru and read all the reviews good and bad. It is a great product for the price. I had no problem getting Netflix to work, I had no problem getting any of the apps to work and I had no problem with the voice commands. I have been wanting one for the longest time and when I saw the price they wanted for this one I simply could NOT pass it up! For a start out reader this one is awesome. It was between this and the nook and since this does so much MORE I went with this. The only issue I have is that the battery only last 5 hours but all in all that still is not bad. If you turn off the wifi when not in use and you get an app killer app to handle the memory and such the battery last fairly well. My fingers have a hard time hitting the correct area at times but that is due to health issues and not the product and have to use pen. Buy it and enjoy it! Like everything you get a good one and your happy, sometimes you get a lemon and have to try again.

Was this review helpful? (481) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tsb50158
Abilene, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Flawed, but still a great deal @ 80 bucks
1/13/2013

Customer review by Windude

4.0 stars 1/13/2013 by Windude
by Windude

We've had this for about a week now and it has met our expectations. I did not expect a deluxe tablet experience for $80. I haven't had any problems with the tablet yet. It isn't blazing fast, but the touchscreen is responsive enough and the volume isn't bad if you are in a quiet space. I tried several "name brand" tablets at BestBuy and the volume on this Nextbook is comparable to those. I did have to use the "old" netflix link to get netflix to work. See other reviews or google for that... I haven't tried porting it to my TV nor the web-cam yet. The build quality seems a little sketchy (plasticy) but, hey, its pretty good for an $80 tablet. My 4-year old has dropped it a couple of times and no harm was done. The two negatives are the: battery only lasts 4-5 hours; and the power plug is not micro-usb but rather a 5-volt, 2 amp plug which means it won't charge from your standard Android phone chargers. For casual/child use, I can't see any reason to spend more on a 7" tablet.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Windude
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is our first Tablet
3/18/2014

Customer review by HeavensHippie

4.0 stars 3/18/2014 by HeavensHippie
by HeavensHippie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my husband. This is our first Tablet and we didn't really know what to expect. We both really like it. You have tons of free apps to chose from. The only thing that I would like it a bigger GB memory. They have these already installed apps that say they have updates. If you update them all you only have room for 1-2 apps of your choosing. You go through their apps and if you don't want them and try to uninstall you get this message that says something like "if you uninstall this app it may make your other apps misbehave" Trust me it does. All kinds of stuff disappear. The only thing you really can do is uninstall updates for their apps to make room for what you like. I haven't tried to use the pictures or music apps. You'll probably need to get a mini SD card for extra Memory ( you can get a 8 GB SD with adapter for $6.99 here at Walmart.com). Maybe its our inexperience with tablets I'm not sure. My husband loves it and uses it multiple times a day. Hope this helps

Was this review helpful? (38) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HeavensHippie
Burgaw, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Tablet
12/6/2013

Customer review by Lulugodzilla

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Lulugodzilla
by Lulugodzilla
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this Tablet as a Christmas gift to give my boyfriend who finally advanced into the tech world of the web, on the phone he finally updated. (We're in our 50's.) He complains about the amount of time I spend on my computer, so I got him his own Tablet - his own new toy! He gets so occupied, finding out what all the Tablet will do (like hook up to the TV to watch movies, build his own e-library, see what's out on social media, etc.), and I get to read, work and play on my computer. He has read the manual several times now, seeing what all his new Tablet can do. ~ I can say that the Tablet images are clear and crisp, and the 7" screen is big enough to display good photos. The sound quality for music is good. There are a lot of preloaded programs that are interesting and useful. ~ Important: Thank you for including in the Tablet's box a physical Manual to be hand-held and read, and re-read, and thank you for not requiring us to go online to download a manual.

Was this review helpful? (430) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lulugodzilla
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for kids
8/10/2013

Customer review by Roni2710

4.0 stars 8/10/2013 by Roni2710
by Roni2710
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased two of these (one each for my 9 and 12 year olds). So far, so good. Battery life is around 3-4 hours. Many of the "free" games from Google Play either don't install or are a bit buggy when they run, but I believe it's not the fault of the tablet but more of a "what can you expect for a free game" thing. Some work, some don't. Since our intent with these tablets was to be used primarily for entertainment for our kids, I feel it was a VERY good buy. Works seamlessly with our home wifi router for internet access - had it up and running with our first downloaded game in under 10 minutes directly out of the box. Had to find a generic case for these since I could not find one made specifically for this brand and model. We bought the FINTIE for the Google Nexus 7" tablet cases and they fit perfectly and were under $6 online. Definitely look into buying a screen protector too. I'm actually thinking of getting one for myself to use as an e-reader, since these cost much less than a Nook or Kindle. I definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? (336) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roni2710
Central Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Met My Expectations and more!....
1/8/2013

Customer review by cledismla

5.0 stars 1/8/2013 by cledismla
by cledismla

I couldn't have been more happy with my purchase. I spent a lot of time looking for the right tablet and I am glad I made the right decision by choosing my Nextbook tablet. The tablet includes cool apps such as google chrome, HDMI output and Google Play that others more expensive tablet lack. The screen responds great to the touch and the battery life is very decent, lasting up to 5 hrs without charging it. The only thing that I couldn't get to work at first was Netflix because the newest version does not work properly with android tablets( so if the App does not work at first, don't think is because there is something wrong with the tablet, all android tablets are having this issue with the newest app Netflix created). I was able to fix mine by downloading a previous version which is Netflix 2.2. Overall, the tablet works great, even the kindle app works as if you were using a kindle instead of a third party tablet. Great purchase for personal used or to give as a gift. This little tablet is definitively a keeper:)

Was this review helpful? (59) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cledismla
Victorville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nextbook won't boot up past the 3rd splash screen
10/30/2013

Customer review by BataviaD

1.0 stars 10/30/2013 by BataviaD
by BataviaD

I'm an electrical engineer who bought this tablet 2.5 months ago; it worked correctly (although *very* slowly) for about two months... Now, it won't boot up past the 3rd splash screen on startup. I've tried everything -- shutting it down completely and restarting, resetting via the "reset" pinhole in back (both with the tablet on and off), draining the batteries and re-charging -- over and over. I can't feel any "tactile feedback" when trying to reset through the pinhole, so I'm not sure the "reset switch" is working. I'm reluctant to take it back to WalMart or send it back to the manufacturer, since I've been receiving e-mail, and all my passwords are stored on the tablet. So... now, I'm stuck with a useless piece of electronics. Based on the other "1-star" reviews, I think this company's quality control is very poor; the low price looks attractive, but you're better off saving your money and getting a more reputable product, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (454) (70)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BataviaD
Geneva, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Complete waste of time and money
12/4/2013

Customer review by Kristen626

1.0 stars 12/4/2013 by Kristen626
by Kristen626
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had medium expectations for this tablet because I knew the storage space wasn't that big, nor was the screen, nor was it a brand I'd even heard of... But I bought two of these for my parents for Christmas (figured they wouldn't need anything super flashy if they just wanted to surf the internet and play games on Facebook) and decided to open them early to set everything up for them. Thank goodness I did, because it only took about 15 minutes to realize that these tablets were NOT going to work. The screen view quality is very poor, and the touch sensor doesn't respond over half the time! One minute I'd be tapping the screen 5 times to click a link, and then the next second the keyboard would pop up and randomly start typing even though I never even tapped anything. I immediately took the tablets back, and the associate at the customer service desk said that she had seen several of these tablets returned already. I was hopeful that they would work decently enough, but I would've been embarrassed to have given these as gifts.

Was this review helpful? (211) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kristen626
Conyers, ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WOW
1/10/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/10/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've been looking for a tablet and could not afford more than $100. This little thing has amazed me. And to find a tablet under $80?! I have to admit I was skeptical from reading some negative reviews, but after having the tablet and seeing what it can do I have been won over. I am an avid mac user so getting an android was a big deal for me. Set up was easy, downloading apps is easy. Right away I downloaded Youtube, Netflix, Facebook, Kindle, Nook.... I was even able to run a site through the browser that streams brand new movies and TV shows for free and it ran marvelously. I have been having issues with Netflix, only in that it wont fully load the video. It loads the app but it won't play the movie you choose. I've seen other reviewers have that problem and I'm sure I can fix it. With or without Netflix I have other ways to watch videos and TV on here. I'm still giving it 5 stars! Try this before you try something else expensive!

Was this review helpful? (59) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ashland, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
If you want to watch movies, don't buy this.
6/21/2013

Customer review by scrapperluv

1.0 stars 6/21/2013 by scrapperluv
by scrapperluv

I was incredibly disappointed with this. It claims to have Google Play and run on the Android system. IT IS NOT CERTIFIED BY GOOGLE and will not play movies you buy at the Google store! On top on this, you can't buy movies on Amazon and play them on this system. It doesn't support Amazon. This might be good for playing games and checking email, but don't be fooled by the statement on the front of the box that says, "Get it on Google Play." You can BUY movies on Google Play, but they won't actually run on this tablet. I needed it to play movies on long drives with the kids, so it exactly what I didn't need. Also you can't use Pandora and many other popular apps that you'd expect to use if you have "Google Playstore". This is an unauthorized product and not certified by Google. BTW, my husband is an IT director and he researched this tablet after I bought it. He said to return it and buy one that is actually certified by Google so we can buy movies and run them.

Was this review helpful? (48) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scrapperluv
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 2897 total reviews
1-20 of 2897 reviews