Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 48 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
Great value
10/15/2013

Customer review by mowing101

5.0 stars 10/15/2013 by mowing101
by mowing101
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For half the price (of less) of a Toro riding mower (nothing against Toro, my previous and now back-up mower is a Toro self-propelled that has performed flawlessly) this is a great value. Disassemble the shipping crate down to the bottom, connect the battery cables, seat and steering wheel, fill with gas and fire it up. Drove it off the crate bottom and mowed away at high speed. Tight turning radius. Starts when you turn the key the first time, every time. Not being able to mow in reverse is a minor aggravation, but how often do you really need to do that? That feature isn't worth another grand or two more. Twice as wide, twice or more as fast as walking -- you mow in 1/4 or less of the usual time. Drinks twice as much gas as the typical 6-8HP walk-behind, but you still wind up spending half as much on gas because of the 4+ times faster mow time. You could mow a baseball outfield in less than an hour with this thing. Overall, a really great value.

Was this review helpful? (124) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mowing101
Miami Shores, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Light to Medium/Light Machine
11/13/2015

Customer review by prometheus78063

3.0 stars 11/13/2015 by prometheus78063
by prometheus78063

I bought this mower in July 2015 to replace an older 42" V-twin cylinder 17.5HP (MTD) Yard Machine for 1 acre in the TX hill country. The terrain is uneven, often rocky and doesn't resemble a manicured yard by any means. I mow twice a month from mid March-mid Nov. First I found the $99 shipping fee offensive, but after speaking to cus svc found I could have free curbside delivery for the uncrated mower. I was to uncrate and dispose of it (or in my case break it all down and re-purpose the wood) myself, GREAT! The minimal assembly is straight forward and well documented. The crankcase was pre-filled w/oil and the battery fully charged, so I just added gas, checked the tire pressures to find all four tires were inflated to 16lbs not 14lbs for the front and 10lbs for the rear, no big deal, followed the manuals instructions and it started right up, GREAT! Now the not so great: 1st: the seat has a single bolt holding it on and allows some swivel, not a bad thing, but is discerning for us bigger guys. 2nd: The Intek 500cc engine seems to labor in the TX hill country native grass so generously spread by the deer , no biggee just cut it more often. 3rd: and this is a biggee the deck, when raised to the highest setting is not adequate for my terrain. The deck at its lowest setting will scalp even the best manicured grass. The multiple deck settings are much too low! I called cus svc and spoke to a technician who said the deck can't really be raised, only adjusted front to rear and side to side (as stated in the manual). 4th and this my biggest complaint that it doesn't have a true shift on the go system you must lean forward, depress the break peddle to switch up or down a small inconveniently located lever on the bottom left side of the dash no where eye level...REALLY? I should have spent a few hundred dollars more to get the twin cylinder shift on the go version, I'll know better next time! I hope this helps someone, even one person in considering this machine. For $998 plus tax, free curbside delivery I'll have to tolerate the not so great issues!

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
prometheus78063
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't buy!
9/27/2013

Customer review by Dozie

1.0 stars 9/27/2013 by Dozie
by Dozie

Decided to purchase this Murray riding mower because we had one before and we're very pleased with it. Used it for approx. 10 yrs. BUT THIS MOWER LASTED 20 MINUTES. STOPPED AND WOULD NOT RESTART. MY WIFE AND I PUT IT IN THE BACK OF OUR PICKUP & TOOK IT TO AUTHORIZED REPAIR DEALER 55 MILES AWAY. THEY TINKERED WITH IT, FOUND IT HAD AN OLD USED SPARK PLUG WHICH THEY REPLACED. THEY RAN MOWER FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES AND IT APPEARED TO BE FINE. DROVE HOME, 55 MILES AGAIN. MY WIFE AND I NOW HAD TO TAKE IT BACK OUT OF TRUCK. (KEEP IN MIND WE ARE IN OUR 70'S) GUESS WHAT? IT WOULD NOT RUN AGAIN. DECIDED WE WERE DONE. WELL NOT EXACTLY! WE THEN PUT IT BACK IN TO THE TRUCK AND RETURNED IT TO WALMART. ONLY GOOD PART REGARDING THE NIGHTMARE WAS THAT WALMART WAS VERY GOOD ABOUT REFUNDING OUR MONEY, ONCE THEY FOUND SOMEONE TO GET IT OUT OF OUR TRUCK! WE WERE DONE WITH THAT JOB.

Was this review helpful? (39) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dozie
Soap Lake, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good mower - good price
3/10/2014

Customer review by Adrian1018

5.0 stars 3/10/2014 by Adrian1018
by Adrian1018
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Everything arrived as expected. Mower cranked right up after adding gas and I mowed 2 acres of tall grass efficiently. No complaints, all the reviews I read here helped make the decision.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adrian1018
Miami, FLorida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/6/2013

Customer review by Maginis

5.0 stars 5/6/2013 by Maginis
by Maginis
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The mower, shipped from the final assembly, was easy to assemble from the crate, and performed flawlessly when used. Easy starting, and reasonably quiet.

Was this review helpful? (111) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maginis
New Haven, In.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/2/2013

Customer review by kbanddb

4.0 stars 5/2/2013 by kbanddb
by kbanddb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very good mower. Lots of power. The only problem I have is I wish it would go in reverse without disengaging the blade

Was this review helpful? (76) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kbanddb
Forest, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mows like a champ.
5/15/2013

Customer review by mowinggrandma

4.0 stars 5/15/2013 by mowinggrandma
by mowinggrandma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great little mower, however the seat is kind of "bouncy" and very sensitive and will shut off if you lean over to duck a hanging branch. I love the bigger chute which does keep the mower from getting jammed with cut grass. The ride could be smoother, but this is the economy model, so overall I would recommend it. It can also go really fast for those of us who don't like to take all day to mow.

Was this review helpful? (61) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mowinggrandma
Hubbard, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by Tastesgood

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Tastesgood
by Tastesgood
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great Mower. Started up first turn of key. Kind of hard to get off pallet. But I am pleased with product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tastesgood
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value, well made
6/19/2013

Customer review by FlyBoyMike

5.0 stars 6/19/2013 by FlyBoyMike
by FlyBoyMike

First I needed a Lawn Tractor that would fit inside my Dodge Caravan so I could take it home. With Walmart ramps (another purchase) it was easy for just my wife and I to get in and out of the Van. To prep for use, I had to connect battery, easy; position and tighten seat, easy; bolt on the steering wheel, easy; gas it up and check engine oil, easy. It then lit right off. Easily cut through grass that was 6" in some places and on uneven ground. Controlling forward speed was a bit challenging, a bit of tweaking the throttle and left petal break. Tractor came with no service manual or Walmart failed to offer me one. I plan to inquire about that on my next visit. Overall I was happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlyBoyMike
Covington, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
6/5/2013

Customer review by Parsonian

4.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Parsonian
by Parsonian
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My lawnmower came basically together. It took me longer to break down the shipping crate than it did to put the rest of the lawnmower together which was about 30 minutes. I had to put on the steering wheel, the battery terminals, put on the seat and fill with gas after checking the oil that was already put in. Fairly easy! I didn't have to charge the battery, it started right up!

Was this review helpful? (44) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Parsonian
Parsons, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
powerfull and fast
7/16/2013

Customer review by walmartviewer

5.0 stars 7/16/2013 by walmartviewer
by walmartviewer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

got the mower and took abt 20 mins to unpack u will need a few tools one to unpack and one to screw the seat and steering wheel on oil was already added so just had to put gas in it and started up real quick and for the first mowing all I can say is that wow its powerful it just blast the grass out like a champ. it has great speed and small turning radius no problems now after few uses

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartviewer
port charlotte
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Superb value and price!
5/18/2013

Customer review by cpet05

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by cpet05
by cpet05
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After researching riding mowers available from every store, I came to the conclusion this was the best value and the most reliable purchase I could make. I am happy with the riding lawn mower and I would recommend this one to anyone wanting to 'get-r-done'.

Was this review helpful? (34) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cpet05
Simpsonville, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy so far.
3/31/2013

Customer review by TAFB

5.0 stars 3/31/2013 by TAFB
by TAFB
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The price is great. I used it for the first time yesterday. It started right up. Mower has plenty of power. Mowed an area where grass was approx 4" high and mower just blasted through it. I bought this mower on\line; delivery beat the estimated date. Only problem, I assume the pallot broke sometime during shipment. It allowed the wheels to settle to the lower level of the pallot, so someone had put a second pallot under the first to reinforce it. It became quite a project for me to get the mower off the pallot, including jacking up both ends of the mower and sliding new wood under.

Was this review helpful? (153) (131)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TAFB
Tampa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fair product
10/24/2013

Customer review by Jacksprat4u

3.0 stars 10/24/2013 by Jacksprat4u
by Jacksprat4u
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My biggest problem with the mower is inability to go into reverse with blades engaged and it cuts too low even on the highest setting. Also I have noticed some scalping on uneven ground which could have been prevented by deck wheels. On my last mowing the brake locked up so there is a design flaw or I have a faulty part. Power is adequate for medium thick lawns and it has an ok turning radius. The mower is alright for my needs but I will upgrade on the next purchase.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jacksprat4u
South Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT MOWER
12/22/2013

Customer review by HAPPYLAWN

5.0 stars 12/22/2013 by HAPPYLAWN
by HAPPYLAWN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

LOVE THIS MOWER. WOULD RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE.

Was this review helpful? (21) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HAPPYLAWN
WEST PALM BEACH, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Transmission broken in less than 30 days!!!
7/11/2015

Customer review by Champton

1.0 stars 7/11/2015 by Champton
by Champton

Had to have Walmart come a pick this mower up due to the fact that the transmission stopped working the 5th time I used it... It just rolled to a stop in the middle of my lawn...while I was cutting. Motor ran just fine. Blades dropped and engaged just fine. Mower would not move forwards or backwards. I spent good money on this product. It let me down hard. Spend a little more. Get a better product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Champton
Would recommend to a friend? No
4/28/2013

Customer review by Unhapy

3.0 stars 4/28/2013 by Unhapy
by Unhapy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

battery was dead manual was wet and unreadable

Was this review helpful? (17) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Unhapy
Leesburg, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/2/2013

Customer review by snowbully

4.0 stars 7/2/2013 by snowbully
by snowbully
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

only used it twice seems to be working fine time will tell

Was this review helpful? (4) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snowbully
Cloquet Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks Nice! Works Like a Push Mower!
2/2/2016

Customer review by headpain

3.0 stars 2/2/2016 by headpain
by headpain

Good for the price! But there are just to many Con's (Bad Mower for a Riding Mower!) HAD POOR CUTTING BLADES,POOR STARTING,POOR OVERALL PERFORMANCE, MY SEARS 6 1/2 PUSH MOWER DOES A BRTTER JOB AND IS 4 Xs cheaper Price! DONT BE FOOLED BUY THESE REVIEWS, BUT IF YOU WANT TO SPEND BIG BUCKS FOR A TOY! THATS UP TO YOU! IF YOUR REALLY WANTING A RELIABLE RIDING MOWER GO WITH THE 42 inch ,18 1/2 hp Briggs Stratton ,that mower has power,mulches,can attach duel bagger,wash out deck Mows in reverse WITHOUT HAVING TO DISSCONNECT WIRES,That will Void any warranty ! You get what you pay for!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
headpain
Would recommend to a friend? No
42" 15.5 HP riding mower
7/21/2015

Customer review by rpbernsen

5.0 stars 7/21/2015 by rpbernsen
by rpbernsen

We ordered this mower online, to be shipped to my home with an estimated arrival date of July 16th, 2015. The item was delivered by Seko Logistics on time and was in great condition. I uncrated the mower, installed the seat and steering wheel and connected the battery cables. The crankcase was full of oil, so all I needed to do was put gasoline in it and it was ready to start. The mower started up right away and ran like a top, so I proceeded to mow the yard. We have a lot and a half and within one hour I was finished. It took a short amount of time to get used to the controls but was well satisfied with it's performance. This mower replaced my old one which was 16 years old and had performed very well, it was MTD Yard Machine, 15.5 HP and 42" cut and was given to me by my brother in 2003. We had compared this mower with other like machines, and based on the reviews and price, we decided to go with this one. Would highly recommend this item. Based on a scale of 1-10, I'd give this one a 15. Thanks Wal-Mart, for the opportunity to respond to your survey.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rpbernsen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews