Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

50 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

50 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 45 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
5/6/2013

Customer review by Maginis

5.0 stars 5/6/2013 by Maginis
by Maginis

The mower, shipped from the final assembly, was easy to assemble from the crate, and performed flawlessly when used. Easy starting, and reasonably quiet.

Was this review helpful? (101) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maginis
New Haven, In.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
10/15/2013

Customer review by mowing101

5.0 stars 10/15/2013 by mowing101
by mowing101

For half the price (of less) of a Toro riding mower (nothing against Toro, my previous and now back-up mower is a Toro self-propelled that has performed flawlessly) this is a great value. Disassemble the shipping crate down to the bottom, connect the battery cables, seat and steering wheel, fill with gas and fire it up. Drove it off the crate bottom and mowed away at high speed. Tight turning radius. Starts when you turn the key the first time, every time. Not being able to mow in reverse is a minor aggravation, but how often do you really need to do that? That feature isn't worth another grand or two more. Twice as wide, twice or more as fast as walking -- you mow in 1/4 or less of the usual time. Drinks twice as much gas as the typical 6-8HP walk-behind, but you still wind up spending half as much on gas because of the 4+ times faster mow time. You could mow a baseball outfield in less than an hour with this thing. Overall, a really great value.

Was this review helpful? (108) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mowing101
Miami Shores, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/2/2013

Customer review by kbanddb

4.0 stars 5/2/2013 by kbanddb
by kbanddb

Very good mower. Lots of power. The only problem I have is I wish it would go in reverse without disengaging the blade

Was this review helpful? (67) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kbanddb
Forest, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/5/2013

Customer review by Parsonian

4.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Parsonian
by Parsonian

My lawnmower came basically together. It took me longer to break down the shipping crate than it did to put the rest of the lawnmower together which was about 30 minutes. I had to put on the steering wheel, the battery terminals, put on the seat and fill with gas after checking the oil that was already put in. Fairly easy! I didn't have to charge the battery, it started right up!

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Parsonian
Parsons, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mows like a champ.
5/15/2013

Customer review by mowinggrandma

4.0 stars 5/15/2013 by mowinggrandma
by mowinggrandma

Great little mower, however the seat is kind of "bouncy" and very sensitive and will shut off if you lean over to duck a hanging branch. I love the bigger chute which does keep the mower from getting jammed with cut grass. The ride could be smoother, but this is the economy model, so overall I would recommend it. It can also go really fast for those of us who don't like to take all day to mow.

Was this review helpful? (51) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mowinggrandma
Hubbard, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Is what it is.
5/27/2014

Customer review by parker014

4.0 stars 5/27/2014 by parker014
by parker014

This is a low end riding mower which does the job as intended. works fine and performs very well. Purchasing and pick up at store was easy and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
parker014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Superb value and price!
5/18/2013

Customer review by cpet05

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by cpet05
by cpet05

After researching riding mowers available from every store, I came to the conclusion this was the best value and the most reliable purchase I could make. I am happy with the riding lawn mower and I would recommend this one to anyone wanting to 'get-r-done'.

Was this review helpful? (31) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cpet05
Simpsonville, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good mower - good price
3/10/2014

Customer review by Adrian1018

5.0 stars 3/10/2014 by Adrian1018
by Adrian1018

Everything arrived as expected. Mower cranked right up after adding gas and I mowed 2 acres of tall grass efficiently. No complaints, all the reviews I read here helped make the decision.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adrian1018
Miami, FLorida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
powerfull and fast
7/16/2013

Customer review by walmartviewer

5.0 stars 7/16/2013 by walmartviewer
by walmartviewer

got the mower and took abt 20 mins to unpack u will need a few tools one to unpack and one to screw the seat and steering wheel on oil was already added so just had to put gas in it and started up real quick and for the first mowing all I can say is that wow its powerful it just blast the grass out like a champ. it has great speed and small turning radius no problems now after few uses

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartviewer
port charlotte
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy so far.
3/31/2013

Customer review by TAFB

5.0 stars 3/31/2013 by TAFB
by TAFB

The price is great. I used it for the first time yesterday. It started right up. Mower has plenty of power. Mowed an area where grass was approx 4" high and mower just blasted through it. I bought this mower on\line; delivery beat the estimated date. Only problem, I assume the pallot broke sometime during shipment. It allowed the wheels to settle to the lower level of the pallot, so someone had put a second pallot under the first to reinforce it. It became quite a project for me to get the mower off the pallot, including jacking up both ends of the mower and sliding new wood under.

Was this review helpful? (146) (124)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TAFB
Tampa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice mower for the money
7/31/2014

Customer review by TxFireman

4.0 stars 7/31/2014 by TxFireman
by TxFireman

I've always thought Murray was a decent mower for the money. It's no JD or other name brand but its not their price either. It does have a Briggs motor and we all know those are solid. But for a 42" mower less than a grand, this one is plenty decent and it's been used a month now cutting our yard which is about an acre all together...no problems so far except it keeps running out of gas!! HAHA

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TxFireman
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value, well made
6/19/2013

Customer review by FlyBoyMike

5.0 stars 6/19/2013 by FlyBoyMike
by FlyBoyMike

First I needed a Lawn Tractor that would fit inside my Dodge Caravan so I could take it home. With Walmart ramps (another purchase) it was easy for just my wife and I to get in and out of the Van. To prep for use, I had to connect battery, easy; position and tighten seat, easy; bolt on the steering wheel, easy; gas it up and check engine oil, easy. It then lit right off. Easily cut through grass that was 6" in some places and on uneven ground. Controlling forward speed was a bit challenging, a bit of tweaking the throttle and left petal break. Tractor came with no service manual or Walmart failed to offer me one. I plan to inquire about that on my next visit. Overall I was happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlyBoyMike
Covington, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Seocnd Murray I've had, couldn't kill the first 1.
6/17/2014

Customer review by ElDinoPrimo

4.0 stars 6/17/2014 by ElDinoPrimo
by ElDinoPrimo

15 hp is all most people need. Wish it mowed in reverse, last one did, safety item. Years down the line parts are ez to find and replace.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElDinoPrimo
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't buy!
9/27/2013

Customer review by Dozie

1.0 stars 9/27/2013 by Dozie
by Dozie

Decided to purchase this Murray riding mower because we had one before and we're very pleased with it. Used it for approx. 10 yrs. BUT THIS MOWER LASTED 20 MINUTES. STOPPED AND WOULD NOT RESTART. MY WIFE AND I PUT IT IN THE BACK OF OUR PICKUP & TOOK IT TO AUTHORIZED REPAIR DEALER 55 MILES AWAY. THEY TINKERED WITH IT, FOUND IT HAD AN OLD USED SPARK PLUG WHICH THEY REPLACED. THEY RAN MOWER FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES AND IT APPEARED TO BE FINE. DROVE HOME, 55 MILES AGAIN. MY WIFE AND I NOW HAD TO TAKE IT BACK OUT OF TRUCK. (KEEP IN MIND WE ARE IN OUR 70'S) GUESS WHAT? IT WOULD NOT RUN AGAIN. DECIDED WE WERE DONE. WELL NOT EXACTLY! WE THEN PUT IT BACK IN TO THE TRUCK AND RETURNED IT TO WALMART. ONLY GOOD PART REGARDING THE NIGHTMARE WAS THAT WALMART WAS VERY GOOD ABOUT REFUNDING OUR MONEY, ONCE THEY FOUND SOMEONE TO GET IT OUT OF OUR TRUCK! WE WERE DONE WITH THAT JOB.

Was this review helpful? (32) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dozie
Soap Lake, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
my first riding mower and it is great
4/4/2014

Customer review by ouggie

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by ouggie
by ouggie

over all very good

Was this review helpful? (24) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ouggie
white castle, la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Mower
8/15/2014

Customer review by coleche

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by coleche
by coleche

I received my mower Tuesday, put it together gassed it up and mowed 2 acres before I needed to refill the gas tank. Awesome is all I can say!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coleche
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT MOWER
12/22/2013

Customer review by HAPPYLAWN

5.0 stars 12/22/2013 by HAPPYLAWN
by HAPPYLAWN

LOVE THIS MOWER. WOULD RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE.

Was this review helpful? (20) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HAPPYLAWN
WEST PALM BEACH, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by Tastesgood

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Tastesgood
by Tastesgood

Great Mower. Started up first turn of key. Kind of hard to get off pallet. But I am pleased with product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tastesgood
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fair product
10/24/2013

Customer review by Jacksprat4u

3.0 stars 10/24/2013 by Jacksprat4u
by Jacksprat4u

My biggest problem with the mower is inability to go into reverse with blades engaged and it cuts too low even on the highest setting. Also I have noticed some scalping on uneven ground which could have been prevented by deck wheels. On my last mowing the brake locked up so there is a design flaw or I have a faulty part. Power is adequate for medium thick lawns and it has an ok turning radius. The mower is alright for my needs but I will upgrade on the next purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jacksprat4u
South Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It did a good job
7/2/2014

Customer review by lkdsfkl

5.0 stars 7/2/2014 by lkdsfkl
by lkdsfkl

Worked good, had no problems with it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lkdsfkl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews