Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 269 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

269 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

269 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
163
4 stars
58
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 stars
23
1-20 of 267 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 267 total reviews
1-20 of 267 reviews
Disappointed
3/23/2016

Customer review by judylyn

2.0 stars 3/23/2016 by judylyn
by judylyn

We bought this mower to replace one we had for over 20 years. It was a great mower and easy to use. I'm very disappointed with the way they set up the self propelled feature for this mower. With the old one you had 6 speed settings and then you pushed a small lever located near the side of the handlebar. Great feature. With this one there is a huge lever and the speed is variable, meaning you control the speed by how tight you pull in the lever. I have to stretch my hand out as much as I can and hold it in an awkward position to use the feature. This was clearly designed by someone with big hands! My hand is sore from using this mower yesterday! It did do a good job cutting and started right up, but the awkwardness of using the lever for self propelling is TERRIBLE! Wish I could return it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
judylyn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Snapper mower
3/10/2016

Customer review by Thomas

4.0 stars 3/10/2016 by Thomas
by Thomas

The first mower was defective, I found this out after putting gas & oil in the mower then trying to mow with it, only 1 of the rear drive wheels was trying to drive the mower the other did nothing, This caused the working wheel to spin on the grass and the mower went no where. To return it I had to remove the gas & oil and repack it. what a mess. Walmart did replace the defective mower with a new mower that worked properly. (SAVE your packaging in case of a defective item)

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thomas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NOT A REAL Snapper
3/19/2016

Customer review by TECHWIZZZ

1.0 stars 3/19/2016 by TECHWIZZZ
by TECHWIZZZ

These are not really Snappers, they are MTD mowers. They are nothing at all like real Snappers that have disk drive systems to propel them you replace for 5-10 bucks. The drive setups on these are plastic geared inside and fail within a few seasons. That's when your savings goes out the window. The drive gear/axle is only sold as a complete unit and is well over $100 to your door for the part alone + install unless you do it yourself. These mowers are flat out junk!!! Find an older real Snapper with the rubber drive wheel on the top of the deck behind the engine. I don't care if it's 25yrs old it will outlast these many times over and parts are VERY cheap on them. Consumers affairs and BBB have hundreds of complaints on these so go there and read them if you don't believe me.... YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.....

Was this review helpful? (21) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TECHWIZZZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
good mower
4/5/2016

Customer review by Bailiff

4.0 stars 4/5/2016 by Bailiff
by Bailiff

The techwizzz hasn't a clue what he's talking about. True, Snapper is not the company that makes these mowers but there are many mowers not made by the company that started making them. These mowers are now made by Briggs and Stratton which owns the Snapper name now. So far this mower has been a good mower. Always started good and has plenty of power. I'd give it 5 stars but when the mower is adjusted to the lower setting that I like, on uneven ground the mower deck drags and the rear wheels come off the ground. Setting the mower to one setting higher takes care of the problem.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bailiff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
7/22/2016

Customer review by arbowhunter

5.0 stars 7/22/2016 by arbowhunter
by arbowhunter

Bought this last year on clearance I love it we have a large uneven lawn this mower does a great job When it dies I will by another just like it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arbowhunter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Arrived damaged
4/4/2016

Customer review by Mike

4.0 stars 4/4/2016 by Mike
by Mike

It seemed like a good mower but I never got to use it because it arrived damaged. The cable that controls the self propel was severed when then manufacturers boxed it so we returned it. I decided to go with a rider instead. One word of advice..have it shipped to a store for pick-up so you can inspect it before you take it home. That will save some hassle if it is defective.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Husband loves it
4/18/2016

Customer review by Gwinn

4.0 stars 4/18/2016 by Gwinn
by Gwinn

Worked great, husband has lower back pain and this was really great. Said the first time he used the self propelled lever it about dragged him across the yard. Started on first try, to primer. But be careful of delivery. No knock, no doorbell, just shoved all the stuff on my porch out of the way.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gwinn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Disappointed
3/14/2014

Customer review by Poppo

1.0 stars 3/14/2014 by Poppo
by Poppo

Purchased in Fall 2013. As received, one of the front wheel brackets was bent. I dismantled, straightened, and re-assembled. Also the battery charger was missing (shipped to me later). Mowers started and ran good for the first two times used. During the 3rd time, the mower failed to start halfway thru the mowing of my lawn, approximately 5 hours of use since I received the mower. I took the mower to a Snapper authorized dealer for repair at the end of Oct 2013. I just picked up the mower from repair on March 12, 2014. I was charged $64 for a new air filter, spark plug, oil and service. The servie center stated the plug was fouled and the air cleaner had dried oil as if it was tipped over. The mower was never tipped over from the time of original receipt to me. I put in the initial oil (break-in oil received with the unit). The problem may be from the autochoke mechanism as stated by another dis-satisfied customer. I won't know until this spring if this was a one time occurence or if it's a recurring problem.

Poppo
Reading, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Absolute monster
5/25/2014

Customer review by viking23

5.0 stars 5/25/2014 by viking23
by viking23
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My previous push lawnmower was over 20 years old. While I'm happy it lasted as long as it did it became clear last month that it was finally time to purchase a new one. After doing the research I found out two things: Snapper is a top name brand known for it's reliability and you should always buy a rear wheel drive mower if possible for yards with multiple hills like mine. As a result I ended up buying the Snapper SP90 last week and I got a chance to use it for the first time this weekend. As much as I like everything else about this lawnmower I will say putting it together was not as easy as I hoped it would be. The directions were kind of confusing and it ended up taking me about a half an hour to get it ready and learn how to use it properly. After I got it assembled I took it outside to see what it could do and there are only two words to describe it - Absolute monster. It had been a month since the last time I had a chance to mow my yard and my grass was over a foot high so I wasn't sure what was going to happen. After a few pulls to get it started this monster cut through it like it wasn't even there. The rear wheel drive did all the work and made it very easy to get the job done. It literally pulled me up the hills with it. I mowed my 1/2 acre yard and wasn't tired after I was done which is something I thought I would never say. Overall I'm very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
viking23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good buy
4/26/2016

Customer review by Kansaschef

4.0 stars 4/26/2016 by Kansaschef
by Kansaschef

The mower has done everything advertising promised

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kansaschef
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Lawnmower I have ever owned
5/21/2013

Customer review by Satisfiedinwellington

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by Satisfiedinwellington
by Satisfiedinwellington
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Owned a snapper back in 1985 the hi-vac rear wheel drive This is not as well built,but the rear wheel drive variable speed is great.

Was this review helpful? (58) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Satisfiedinwellington
Wellington co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Phenomenal Torque
8/5/2013

Customer review by NaturePassion

5.0 stars 8/5/2013 by NaturePassion
by NaturePassion

From out of the box set up, started on first pull. Purchased it for its claim to do hills, and it did with gusto. Mowed for 2 hours an area of knee-high tough weeds, grass, and small sapplings that had only known a brush hog before and this Snapper never stalled out nor hesitated. I was concerned initially about the smaller wheels but with 6 settings to lift the wheels, gave the blade nice clearance from unseen rocks and branches. Will pay for itself in < 2 mows from what I had to pay for a contractor to bush hog. Only push mower in its cost class that I found with 7.75 TP.

Was this review helpful? (41) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NaturePassion
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
SNAPPER REAR WHEEL DRIVE (LAWN MASTER)
5/27/2013

Customer review by CB396

5.0 stars 5/27/2013 by CB396
by CB396

THIS LAWN MOWER IS SUPERMAN OF LAWN MOWERS. THE HANDLES FOLD IN AND I PUT THIS BIG MOWER IN THE TRUNK OF A SMALL CAR TO GET IT HOME AND LEFT THE BOX AT THE STORE. VERY EASY TO SET UP, ADDED THE OIL AND GAS AND IT STARTED UP ON THE FIRST PULL. THE SINGLE LEVER HEIGHT ADJUSTMENT IS EASY TO SET AND CHANGE WHILE MOWING. THE VARIABLE SPEED LEVER IS GREAT YOU CAN CONTROL THE SPEED ON HILLS VERY EASY. THE REAR WHEEL DRIVE HAS VERY STRONG POWER ON HILLS AND SLOPES MY NEIGHBOR HAS A FRONT WHEEL DRIVE MOWER AND I WATCHED HIM PUSH HIS LAWN MOWER UP THE HILLS WITH THE FRONT WHEELS JUST SPINNING ON THE GRASS. I HAVE A 17,000 SQUARE FOOT YARD THIS MOWER GETS THE JOB DONE FAST. THE MULCH MODE WORKS GREAT VERY CLEAN LAWN WHEN DONE. THE WATER WASH NOZZLE IS A NICE OPTION WHEN DONE MOWING TO CLEAN OUT THE LOWER DECK OF ALL THE GRASS, HOOK UP THE GARDEN HOSE AND LET IT RUN 2 MINUTES AND THEN I WASH THE MOWER AND BLOW IT DRY WITH THE LEAF BLOWER THE 8 INCH WHEELS HAVE BEARINGS IN THEM IT IS VERY EASY TO PUSH WHEN YOU NEED TO. THE AIR FILTER IS EASY TO CHANGE AND CLEAN OUT WHEN NEEDED. THE SNAPPER BRAND NAME IS GREAT IF I EVER NEED TO SELL THIS MOWER I KNOW I WILL GET A GOOD PRICE FOR IT ANY OTHER MOWER I WOULD GET $50 BUCKS VERY HAPPY I BOUGHT THIS SNAPPER FROM WALMART

Was this review helpful? (80) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CB396
TINLEY PARK, ILLINOS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
One crank wonder
6/11/2016

Customer review by Mjolniruru

5.0 stars 6/11/2016 by Mjolniruru
by Mjolniruru
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Best mower I've had in a long time. Starts on the first pull. Cuts and bags without clogging up the shoot. The self propelled feature has cut my mowing time and effort in half.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mjolniruru
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful Rock Solid Mower
4/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have never owned a Snapper and this mower just rocks. I unboxed it and added oil and gas and it started on first pull. I mowed the back yard after winter growth and the mower did not miss one beat - this is the best mower I have owned - this is a great machine. I will only buy Snapper from this point on

Was this review helpful? (103) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
salt lake city UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Snapper 21" gas self propelled lawn mower
3/27/2016

Customer review by Journey2tim

5.0 stars 3/27/2016 by Journey2tim
by Journey2tim

Starts right up, has a very strong self propelled unit,would recommend this mower to anyone who needs a good all round lawn mower.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Journey2tim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Always Starts & Cuts Great - What's Not To Love?
4/26/2014

Customer review by SlimTim

5.0 stars 4/26/2014 by SlimTim
by SlimTim

My first Snapper lasted 14 years and I left it with the new owners of the house I sold. It could still be running. This is the third year for my S2265. I prefer a push mower that is not self-propelled as I like the exercise and it has fewer parts that need maintenance and could fail over time. I mow a third of an acre with a 21" deck and it is a great workout. The mower runs like a top and started on the first pull this Spring with fresh gas. The only criticism I have is that I used to be able to go through a season with a freshly sharpened blade. Now I have to remove and sharpen it once mid-season to keep the cut quality where I like it. The B&S engine is more powerful and runs quieter so I'm happier with this model and believe it will last at least as long as my last one. I've shared my experience with Snapper and I've never heard of a disappointment from anyone that has gone with my recommendation. If you are looking for a USA-built lawnmower that gives a great cut and won't disappoint, you should seriously consider the Snapper.

SlimTim
Hartford, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great mower for heavy grass.
5/21/2013

Customer review by Moeyo

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by Moeyo
by Moeyo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the first Snapper mower for me. The staff at my store were great in assisting me with the pickup. Took it home and opened the box. The instructions could be better, but considering that they have to be printed in different languages, they pass. Set it up, put the oil in it. Treated my new gasoline with the additive supplied, and it was ready to go. My old mower had broken down, so my grass was a bit high. I usually mulch, but due to the thick grass, I used the side discharge. The engine is a powerful Brigs & Stratton. The speed is from turtle to rabbit. I only went a notch past turtle, but then, I am 74 years of age. A good walking person can do a large yard in no time. I used the washing system it has, and it works good. This is a great mower at a good price.

Was this review helpful? (37) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moeyo
Corpus Christi, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Snapper sp90 Pull cord seems stuck.
7/14/2013

Customer review by PD87

4.0 stars 7/14/2013 by PD87
by PD87

Hey all. Just wanted to remind people to unscrew the handle at the bottom and pull it up a good 8inches until you see the second set of holes then put your screws back in. I couldnt figure out for the life of me why the pull chord wasn't working. Checked the oil, the spark plug the chord itself thinking it might be caught. I actually returned it and got another 2 find the same issue. The screws are already in so i didn't realize they needed to come out and the handle pulled out further. Hope this saves some people some time and frustration. Cant wait to use it tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PD87
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
6/4/2013

Customer review by Donagon

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by Donagon
by Donagon

My Second Snapper: The first one I owned for ten years. I am most pleased with the new purchase! I cuts the grass and does it well ! Just what one would expect in a lawn mower. I would recommend this purchase !

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donagon
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 267 total reviews
1-20 of 267 reviews