Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 203 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

203 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

203 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
128
4 stars
44
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 stars
19
1-20 of 185 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews
Great Product being discontinued
6/8/2015

Customer review by nc143dad

5.0 stars 6/8/2015 by nc143dad
by nc143dad

As usual, DO NOT rely on Wal Mart's stock record keeping; all the online resources I visited said this item is out of stock, so I shopped for another replacement, and went to my local (Williamston, NC), Wal Mart to get the all wheel drive model. Much to my surprise and joy, this model was available, and I am very satisfied with my purchase. I wanted very much to stay with a 190cc B&S engine, as my old mower also was 190cc and for a front drive mower, had plenty of power and fuel economy. The difference between my old mower, with 22" deck, and this Snapper is like between a pickup truck and a sports car; much more maneuverable and the drive control is much more handy to drop it out of gear, or just change speeds. Starts on the first pull every time, quieter, uses less fuel. Time will only tell as to serviceability and longevity. Price is very reasonable versus other mowers I researched at Lowes, Ace Hardware, Sears, Home Depot. Just an all around win-win!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nc143dad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Garbage mower
3/24/2015

Customer review by Scott

1.0 stars 3/24/2015 by Scott
by Scott

Complete wast of time and money . Got the first mower and it ran for 20 second then would not start. Snapper tech. Support was completly useless, he told me to pour hot water over the injector. I told him that it had a carburetor and that was a dumb idea. I took the mower back to walmart and got another snapper . It ran fror about 3 minutes then quit. It hasent started since , getting my money back.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scott
Would recommend to a friend? No
Its a beast.
4/30/2015

Customer review by GFISH

5.0 stars 4/30/2015 by GFISH
by GFISH

A lot of mower in a small package. I'm still getting used to the 190cc B&S engine. It wears me out because I'm having a hard time keeping up with it and it doesn't faint at the sight of tall grass.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GFISH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Junk, Snapper support was joke
3/27/2015

Customer review by George

1.0 stars 3/27/2015 by George
by George

Use it a few times and stopped running.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
George
Would recommend to a friend? No
This is a very fine mower, especially for a senior
5/13/2014

Customer review by GeriL

5.0 stars 5/13/2014 by GeriL
by GeriL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The instructions for assembling the machine are clear but make sure you read about adjusting the handle so that it will not interfere with the mower blade. The machine started after only one pull. It mowed the lawn using the bag attachment and did a very nice job, no serious complaints here. However, it did not pick up all small sticks or pine needles as well as I would have liked. As I had previously owned a Snapper Hi Vac which required a separate mulching blade I assumed this mower would require the mulching blade listed as an accessory. I purchased the mulching blade and was surprised to see that it is identical to the blade on the machine. I now have an extra blade. I mowed the lawn today using the mulching feature and it did a very good job. A previous mower, a Craftsman, left a thin line of cut grass on the edge of each cut using the mulching feature, this Snapper did not. Without using the bag attachment the mower is lighter and easier to handle, thus my comment it being a good mower for seniors.

Was this review helpful? (41) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeriL
Cape Cod
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fine if you don't need help from Snapper
5/31/2014

Customer review by slickminenodder

3.0 stars 5/31/2014 by slickminenodder
by slickminenodder
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good mower, starts first pull every time, has good power, and seems to be pretty well made. However, when it was shipped to me, the box was obviously damaged (they had taped large pieces of cardboard over the damaged areas). When I opened it up, there was a hole in the box and the carriage bolt and nut that secures one side of the handle was missing, probably fell out of the hole in the box. The other carriage bolt and nut were just loose in the bottom of the box, they were not even screwed into the handle. The big problem has been getting any response from Snapper. I sent them an email, and got a fairly quick reply asking what the model and serial were, which I then provided, and since then, crickets. I have emailed twice more, and wrote up another issue report on their website with no response. It's now been two weeks, and still nothing from Snapper. I guess sending a simple nut and bolt is too much trouble since they already have my money.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slickminenodder
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Snapper FWD Rear Bagger
3/16/2014

Customer review by Deadeye01

4.0 stars 3/16/2014 by Deadeye01
by Deadeye01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used this Snapper on Saturday March 15th 2014. Relatively easy to assemble w/o any complications. The instructions on engine oil additions were unclear as they don't tell you precisely how much oil to add to the engine. I suggest you add in small increments to avoid overfilling. Use a paper towel to clean the dipstick as you continually check the level. Additionally, you will need to pull back on the blade break in order to start the engine which is different. Traditionally the mowers I've used previously; "Toro and Honda" that procedure wasn’t necessary. The mower worked well cutting and it cut evenly and did a good job of vacuuming the lawn of leaves as well as picking up the grass. Wish the bag held a little more clippings to avoid emptying frequently. The FWD wheels are powerful so be cautious with soft ground as they can leave marks if you’re not careful. All in all, I find this mower to work well for my use. It started on first pull which was nice. I would have no reservations recommending this mower to a friend if they were in the market for a mower.

Was this review helpful? (60) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deadeye01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This lawnmower does all that it is supposed to do
4/24/2014

Customer review by theflowergal

5.0 stars 4/24/2014 by theflowergal
by theflowergal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The instructions were complete and easy to understand. I really like this mower, especially the front wheel drive and the bagger. I wanted a push mower to mow around shrubs closer and also wanted a bagger to catch the weed seeds to keep down weeds. I used my mower for he first time today and it works great. First pull and it started, no priming, nothing to turn on and no choke. Just hold down the running bar and pull the cord, it cranks first pull. Awesome. The high wheels make the mower easy to maneuver around shrubs and flowers in the yard. The front wheel drive makes it so easy to mow. I find myself forgetting to let go of the drive handle when backing up. It is a joy to mow and not have grass blowing all over you. Didn't even get grass in my shoes. I will recommend this mower to anyone looking for a good, reasonably priced, easy to use mower. It is a very good buy and does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theflowergal
South Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
When the mower will not start
5/24/2014

Customer review by dcard44

4.0 stars 5/24/2014 by dcard44
by dcard44

I purchased this mower through Walmart online with good delivery time. After assembly with oil and gas added this mower would not start, the blade control handle was my first suspect that maybe the cable which seemed to have some excessive slack in it was keeping the mower from starting but their was no room for adjusting this. I checked for a fuel shut off petcock but their was none which would keep the engine from receiving fuel but their was none, their have been other reviewers from Amazon who have reported this problem but no one has posted a solution. After calling my local Walmart they suggested that I return the mower for a new replacement all that I needed was my receipt which I provided by going to Walmart's web site, log in to my account, go to my mower purchase, clicked the easy return link which was a complete receipt including a bar code to expedite the return. Going to my local Walmart I received a new boxed mower which now starts as it should on the first or second pull. I am very satisfied on how Walmart's handled this and kudo's to the web designers who made it possible to print out a bar coded receipt.

Was this review helpful? (33) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dcard44
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Name this "The Senior Lawn Mower"
8/13/2013

Customer review by IMNOKE

5.0 stars 8/13/2013 by IMNOKE
by IMNOKE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would definitely recommend this to every Senior who wants to continue mowing their own grass. I am 82 years old and still mowing my own grass. My 1988 Murray high wheel rear bagger lawn mower served me well, but I was completely worn out after using it this past year. I bought this snapper because it was resembled my old Murray push mower which I used the bagger with a lot. I got this little jewel home and quickly set it up for mowing. On the first pull of the start rope it started .... I tried it on my back yard with the grass catcher and was done in a jiffy, no problems of any kind. It cut great, with hardly any effort on my part. When I finished cutting I easily took the grass bag off and emptied it, just right size for an old guy like me to handle. I hooked my hose up to the deck port, turned on the water and started the mower, in a couple of minutes the under side was clean as new. Then I hosed off the top side and dried it off with a towel, very easy clean up and looks like it did when it first came out of the box. This machine is really maneuverable, cuts very well and the variable speed is perfect. Not enough words to say what a neat and functional machine this little Snapper is, I LOVE it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (142) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IMNOKE
Bartlesville, Oklahoma - Green Country
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Mower
5/20/2013

Customer review by Techie43026

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by Techie43026
by Techie43026
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After spending the past 13 years or so using Craftsman mowers exclusively, I was pleasantly surprised to find this mower at Walmart. Got it thru site to store, picked it up the same day. Setup took about 15 minutes, and then I was out mowing. This mower performs excellently! The noise level is quite muted, the easy start works like a charm. A little pull is all you need and this mower starts up every time, no priming, no choking needed. The mower is propelled by the front wheels, and I absolutely love being able to adjust the speed of the mower by pulling hard to go faster or easing up a bit to walk slower. Excellent feature! The included rear bag is useful and leaves your lawn clean, with no need to blow leaves back onto the lawn, but you do have to buy paper bags to hold your grass clippings. The rinse port is a really nice feature and does a good job rinsing the underside of the mowing deck. The water doesn't get to the plastic parts in the rear, but the deck is metal and that's where the rising counts the most. Overall, I am very pleased with this mower. Beats all my old Craftsman mowers any day. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (68) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Techie43026
Hilliard, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE THIS MOWER
6/25/2015

Customer review by Jamesb813

5.0 stars 6/25/2015 by Jamesb813
by Jamesb813

I got this Mower about a month or So back and have Loved it from the Time I opened the Box and set it Up Which was easier than Some if the Reviews On Walmart.Com says. Filled it with Clean Gas as Recommended, Put in the Enclosed Oil and It Started First Pull Without having to Prime or Choke it, I really Don't like Choking a Mower just Seams Cruel LOL. AnyWho The Mower Works Great and The Adjustable speed on the power assist is Great, If I wanted to I could Jog and Cut the Grass at the same Time or I can just mow at a Slow pace. Does Hills Great and if You have Problems getting up a hill just lift the back up and put pressure on the front drive wheels and it climbs the hill. JUST to be clear, I Don't suggest Mowing Mountain's with this Mower as It wasn't made for that but It Can Tackle some good hills. The only Cons I can Think of Is its a bit heavy to put in the back of My jeep to do the Bottom part of Our Property, and Not having More of Our Property cleared to Mow LOL

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jamesb813
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This mower is the bomb
4/21/2013

Customer review by mowingman421

5.0 stars 4/21/2013 by mowingman421
by mowingman421

The title says it all. I bought one of these three years ago (it hasnt changed much) at Sears to mow at my mom's house. She has half an acre. This mower's speed is fast (i can barely keep up with it) and it cuts really well. I use the mulch feature much more than anything else and it makes the grass look great. I would strongly recommend buying this model.

Was this review helpful? (128) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mowingman421
michigan city indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Overall performance is good. Drive not so much.
6/4/2014

Customer review by Pszczolkowski

4.0 stars 6/4/2014 by Pszczolkowski
by Pszczolkowski
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There is a significant learning curve in using this mower. The first time I used it I was considering bring it back. However, after thinking about it, I modified my procedure and the results were markedly better. Likes: 1, No priming. 2. Engine power. 3. Excellent performanceExcellent cutting performance 3. Excellent mulching capability. 4. Excellent self cleaning capability. Dislikes: 1. Weight. Mower is hard to maneuver on hills. 2. Variable speed drive is questionable. I would like to see a maintenance manual to see how the drive works. If the principal of operation involves drive belt slippage I am skeptical. 3. It is difficult to see the adjustment positions on the rear wheels. I ended up measuring the deck height to make sure it was equal front to back.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pszczolkowski
Middletown Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent machine
1/21/2016

Customer review by nanasproject

5.0 stars 1/21/2016 by nanasproject
by nanasproject

It works with hardly any effort. I'm 74 & was able to start & use it at my speed, with the controls it has. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nanasproject
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Mower
9/1/2013

Customer review by Navigator19

5.0 stars 9/1/2013 by Navigator19
by Navigator19

I gave away a heavy Craftsman mower to my son and wanted another self-propelled. After searching features and reviews I drove 25 miles to purchase this Snapper. I went together easily and has started on the first pull every time. I was worried that having to hold the handle for the variable speed would be annoying, but it's not. The foam grips also make gripping comfortable. The speed control is great and allows you to walk fast or slow as needed. I finish mowing in about 2/3 the time now. It's lighter than the Craftsman, but feels very solid and is much more maneuverable. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Navigator19
Loganville,
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Machine!
1/6/2016

Customer review by fralent

5.0 stars 1/6/2016 by fralent
by fralent

After setting up my new Snapper mower , it started up on the first pull.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fralent
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful, easy to handle mower
6/19/2014

Customer review by Rosie6244

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by Rosie6244
by Rosie6244

I purchased this lawn mower from Wal-Mart over one year ago. I waited this long to write a review to see how it was going to hold up. I'm happy to report that I've not had a bit of trouble with it. It is lightweight and handles easily for this senior citizen. ( I have a hill to mow). I love the clean up feature on the top that allows you to clean the blade without having to turn the mower on its side. A great mower!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rosie6244
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A decent mower at a reasonable price
11/6/2013

Customer review by Bobinlou

4.0 stars 11/6/2013 by Bobinlou
by Bobinlou
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall, I like this mower: it starts easily (even with a hot engine), mulches cleanly with little residue, and can be pushed easily, even with the self-propelled feature disengaged. It has pleanty of power, and even when I mulch a thick pile of leaves, the engine doesn't seem to notice. Curiously, the Operator's Manual doesn't have a detailed list of specifications, such as engine horsepower, crankcase oil capacity, gas tank capacity, spark plug gap, etc. I finally found the spark plug gap (.030) in the "troubleshooting" section. The crankcase capacity appears to be 20 oz., which I determined by reading some very light printing on the dipstick. I never did find out the engine horsepower or fuel tank capacity, which seems to be approx. 1/2 gallon. Two things I don't like, but neither of them a deal-breakers: (1) if you release the blade control, it kills the engine. On my previous mower, this control stopped the blade, but the engine kept running. Bottom line, if you frequently have to move objects out of the way while mowing, you're going to get tired of having to restart the engine every time you have to pause for even a few seconds. (2) The bottom lip of the cutting chamber has a gap at the front of the chamber, which causes the wind from the spinning blade to exit at the bottom front of the mower. This is OK for mulching grass, which is anchored down by the roots; it's not so good when you're trying to mulch leaves (which I do), as it causes the leaves that you're trying to run over to continually be blown away from the front of the mower, just as you attempt to mulch them. Despite these two minor disappointments, I do like the mower, and I believe that it represents a fair compromise between desirable features and reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobinlou
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Mower for the price! Well designed.
9/2/2014

Customer review by Tennesseepracticalguy

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by Tennesseepracticalguy
by Tennesseepracticalguy

My 16 year old MTD self propelled finally gave up. I was unsure how to replace it, but this is definitely a more refined product. This mower is extremely powerful and cuts through high grass with ease. The mulching option can be used in even thick grass. The speed is variable, depending on how far the trigger is pulled and is fast and smooth. This is a quiet mower. I used it for hours the first day, even mowed part of the neighbors yard. Great Mower!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tennesseepracticalguy
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews