Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

196 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

196 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
124
4 stars
43
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 stars
17
1-20 of 178 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 178 total reviews
1-20 of 178 reviews
This mower is the bomb
4/21/2013

Customer review by mowingman421

5.0 stars 4/21/2013 by mowingman421
by mowingman421

The title says it all. I bought one of these three years ago (it hasnt changed much) at Sears to mow at my mom's house. She has half an acre. This mower's speed is fast (i can barely keep up with it) and it cuts really well. I use the mulch feature much more than anything else and it makes the grass look great. I would strongly recommend buying this model.

Was this review helpful? (109) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mowingman421
michigan city indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Name this "The Senior Lawn Mower"
8/13/2013

Customer review by IMNOKE

5.0 stars 8/13/2013 by IMNOKE
by IMNOKE

I would definitely recommend this to every Senior who wants to continue mowing their own grass. I am 82 years old and still mowing my own grass. My 1988 Murray high wheel rear bagger lawn mower served me well, but I was completely worn out after using it this past year. I bought this snapper because it was resembled my old Murray push mower which I used the bagger with a lot. I got this little jewel home and quickly set it up for mowing. On the first pull of the start rope it started .... I tried it on my back yard with the grass catcher and was done in a jiffy, no problems of any kind. It cut great, with hardly any effort on my part. When I finished cutting I easily took the grass bag off and emptied it, just right size for an old guy like me to handle. I hooked my hose up to the deck port, turned on the water and started the mower, in a couple of minutes the under side was clean as new. Then I hosed off the top side and dried it off with a towel, very easy clean up and looks like it did when it first came out of the box. This machine is really maneuverable, cuts very well and the variable speed is perfect. Not enough words to say what a neat and functional machine this little Snapper is, I LOVE it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (115) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IMNOKE
Bartlesville, Oklahoma - Green Country
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful and easy to use.
4/1/2013

Customer review by jdt2311

4.0 stars 4/1/2013 by jdt2311
by jdt2311

Powerful, yet light and easy to control. I love the above-deck rinse port. Primarily easy assembly except for attaching the bag to its' frame. Started first pull out of the box once I added gas and oil.

Was this review helpful? (69) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdt2311
Portereville, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Mower
5/20/2013

Customer review by Techie43026

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by Techie43026
by Techie43026

After spending the past 13 years or so using Craftsman mowers exclusively, I was pleasantly surprised to find this mower at Walmart. Got it thru site to store, picked it up the same day. Setup took about 15 minutes, and then I was out mowing. This mower performs excellently! The noise level is quite muted, the easy start works like a charm. A little pull is all you need and this mower starts up every time, no priming, no choking needed. The mower is propelled by the front wheels, and I absolutely love being able to adjust the speed of the mower by pulling hard to go faster or easing up a bit to walk slower. Excellent feature! The included rear bag is useful and leaves your lawn clean, with no need to blow leaves back onto the lawn, but you do have to buy paper bags to hold your grass clippings. The rinse port is a really nice feature and does a good job rinsing the underside of the mowing deck. The water doesn't get to the plastic parts in the rear, but the deck is metal and that's where the rising counts the most. Overall, I am very pleased with this mower. Beats all my old Craftsman mowers any day. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (55) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Techie43026
Hilliard, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
When the mower will not start
5/24/2014

Customer review by dcard44

4.0 stars 5/24/2014 by dcard44
by dcard44

I purchased this mower through Walmart online with good delivery time. After assembly with oil and gas added this mower would not start, the blade control handle was my first suspect that maybe the cable which seemed to have some excessive slack in it was keeping the mower from starting but their was no room for adjusting this. I checked for a fuel shut off petcock but their was none which would keep the engine from receiving fuel but their was none, their have been other reviewers from Amazon who have reported this problem but no one has posted a solution. After calling my local Walmart they suggested that I return the mower for a new replacement all that I needed was my receipt which I provided by going to Walmart's web site, log in to my account, go to my mower purchase, clicked the easy return link which was a complete receipt including a bar code to expedite the return. Going to my local Walmart I received a new boxed mower which now starts as it should on the first or second pull. I am very satisfied on how Walmart's handled this and kudo's to the web designers who made it possible to print out a bar coded receipt.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dcard44
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Snapper FWD Rear Bagger
3/16/2014

Customer review by Deadeye01

4.0 stars 3/16/2014 by Deadeye01
by Deadeye01

Used this Snapper on Saturday March 15th 2014. Relatively easy to assemble w/o any complications. The instructions on engine oil additions were unclear as they don't tell you precisely how much oil to add to the engine. I suggest you add in small increments to avoid overfilling. Use a paper towel to clean the dipstick as you continually check the level. Additionally, you will need to pull back on the blade break in order to start the engine which is different. Traditionally the mowers I've used previously; "Toro and Honda" that procedure wasn’t necessary. The mower worked well cutting and it cut evenly and did a good job of vacuuming the lawn of leaves as well as picking up the grass. Wish the bag held a little more clippings to avoid emptying frequently. The FWD wheels are powerful so be cautious with soft ground as they can leave marks if you’re not careful. All in all, I find this mower to work well for my use. It started on first pull which was nice. I would have no reservations recommending this mower to a friend if they were in the market for a mower.

Was this review helpful? (55) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deadeye01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Snapper- Good mower so far.
4/10/2013

Customer review by Sageman24

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by Sageman24
by Sageman24

I bought this Snapper self-propelled mower 2 weeks ago and have used it twice. So far it is perfect. The mower was easy to assemble. The grass catcher bag took me a few minutes to figure out how to put the bag on the metal frame and a little umph to hook the clips on. The mower has started first time every time, including when I stopped it hot and restarted it. The self propelled part uses a belt and the mower moves fairly fast which is perfect for me. Finally a mower that moves as fast as I walk. Also easy to let go of the lever (self-propelled part) to trim near fence/house. If you don't fully pull the lever, the belt will slip so the front wheels will move slower- that's the variable speed part. That will determine how long the belt lasts but it does have a 3 yr warranty. The Briggs & Straton engine has plenty of power and can move through thick grass and still keep up to speed. I use the side discharge to let the grass fertilize and the mower cut up the clippings nicely and the grass cut fine. The wash out port works pretty well. My first mowing the grass was a little damp so some accumulated underneath. Most was washed out by the hose and running the blade per instructions. It definitely beats having to put my hand under and pull off the grass by hand. The only negative- no drain plug for the oil. You have to tip the mower sideways to drain out the oil. I gave my 8 year old Murray 22" Self-propelled mower to my son who needed one. That was a good mower too and still running great.

Was this review helpful? (88) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sageman24
Concord, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
This is a very fine mower, especially for a senior
5/13/2014

Customer review by GeriL

5.0 stars 5/13/2014 by GeriL
by GeriL

The instructions for assembling the machine are clear but make sure you read about adjusting the handle so that it will not interfere with the mower blade. The machine started after only one pull. It mowed the lawn using the bag attachment and did a very nice job, no serious complaints here. However, it did not pick up all small sticks or pine needles as well as I would have liked. As I had previously owned a Snapper Hi Vac which required a separate mulching blade I assumed this mower would require the mulching blade listed as an accessory. I purchased the mulching blade and was surprised to see that it is identical to the blade on the machine. I now have an extra blade. I mowed the lawn today using the mulching feature and it did a very good job. A previous mower, a Craftsman, left a thin line of cut grass on the edge of each cut using the mulching feature, this Snapper did not. Without using the bag attachment the mower is lighter and easier to handle, thus my comment it being a good mower for seniors.

Was this review helpful? (35) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeriL
Cape Cod
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Mower
2/16/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/16/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Purchased this mower for 1/2 acre of land and it is everything that it says it is. I put oil in it that came with the mower and non ethanol gas and it started on the first pull. The variable speed is great for the self propelled. I pull it all the way back and it is just the right speed for me. My wife pulls it a little way back and it is perfect for her. I would advise anyone looking for an inexpensive self propelled mower with big wheels in back and a bagger to purchase this mower.

Was this review helpful? (43) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tallahassee, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
This lawnmower does all that it is supposed to do
4/24/2014

Customer review by theflowergal

5.0 stars 4/24/2014 by theflowergal
by theflowergal

The instructions were complete and easy to understand. I really like this mower, especially the front wheel drive and the bagger. I wanted a push mower to mow around shrubs closer and also wanted a bagger to catch the weed seeds to keep down weeds. I used my mower for he first time today and it works great. First pull and it started, no priming, nothing to turn on and no choke. Just hold down the running bar and pull the cord, it cranks first pull. Awesome. The high wheels make the mower easy to maneuver around shrubs and flowers in the yard. The front wheel drive makes it so easy to mow. I find myself forgetting to let go of the drive handle when backing up. It is a joy to mow and not have grass blowing all over you. Didn't even get grass in my shoes. I will recommend this mower to anyone looking for a good, reasonably priced, easy to use mower. It is a very good buy and does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theflowergal
South Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Support does not exist
5/15/2013

Customer review by huskerruth

2.0 stars 5/15/2013 by huskerruth
by huskerruth

The manual could be better. The problem with my mower was that the starter cord would only pull out a few inches. I finally jiggled the compliance cable and got it going. Tried 2 phone numers at Snapper support and was on hold so long I had to hang up. Left 2 messages that were never returned. Lesson learned is not to ever count on Snapper support.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
huskerruth
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
below average for starting after the initial start
5/14/2013

Customer review by clevelandanonymous2

2.0 stars 5/14/2013 by clevelandanonymous2
by clevelandanonymous2

The mower starts great on the first start. However, after the mower is stopped to empty the grass catcher, it is very difficult to restart. A key starter is needed.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clevelandanonymous2
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Mower For The Price
2/2/2014

Customer review by Jeepboy100

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by Jeepboy100
by Jeepboy100

A Snapper Mower w/ a Briggs & Stratton engine is a tank of a mower.Was delivered free to my home and about 95% assembled.Excellent service and value.Will be a nice addition to my lawn care lineup

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeepboy100
Kennewick,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/31/2013

Customer review by Junglejim1

4.0 stars 3/31/2013 by Junglejim1
by Junglejim1

Have only owned this mower a couple of weeks, but it seems to be a good mower thus far. Time will tell the tale. Very easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (18) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Junglejim1
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Mower
9/1/2013

Customer review by Navigator19

5.0 stars 9/1/2013 by Navigator19
by Navigator19

I gave away a heavy Craftsman mower to my son and wanted another self-propelled. After searching features and reviews I drove 25 miles to purchase this Snapper. I went together easily and has started on the first pull every time. I was worried that having to hold the handle for the variable speed would be annoying, but it's not. The foam grips also make gripping comfortable. The speed control is great and allows you to walk fast or slow as needed. I finish mowing in about 2/3 the time now. It's lighter than the Craftsman, but feels very solid and is much more maneuverable. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Navigator19
Loganville,
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
won't start after 2nd use
7/5/2014

Customer review by FloridaNana941

1.0 stars 7/5/2014 by FloridaNana941
by FloridaNana941

I have a small yard but wanted self propelled to make mowing easy. I purchased this mower at my local wal-mart, brought it home and my husband started it right up. This mower ran great and did a great job. month 2- I mowed my small yard and again, ran great. Month 3 pulled it out of the garage and won't start. checked oil, gas, spark plug and wont start. My grass does not grow fast and does not grow thick. I never wait for the grass to grow tall before cutting. This mower was babied, and has no reason not to start.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FloridaNana941
Bradenton fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
A decent mower at a reasonable price
11/6/2013

Customer review by Bobinlou

4.0 stars 11/6/2013 by Bobinlou
by Bobinlou

Overall, I like this mower: it starts easily (even with a hot engine), mulches cleanly with little residue, and can be pushed easily, even with the self-propelled feature disengaged. It has pleanty of power, and even when I mulch a thick pile of leaves, the engine doesn't seem to notice. Curiously, the Operator's Manual doesn't have a detailed list of specifications, such as engine horsepower, crankcase oil capacity, gas tank capacity, spark plug gap, etc. I finally found the spark plug gap (.030) in the "troubleshooting" section. The crankcase capacity appears to be 20 oz., which I determined by reading some very light printing on the dipstick. I never did find out the engine horsepower or fuel tank capacity, which seems to be approx. 1/2 gallon. Two things I don't like, but neither of them a deal-breakers: (1) if you release the blade control, it kills the engine. On my previous mower, this control stopped the blade, but the engine kept running. Bottom line, if you frequently have to move objects out of the way while mowing, you're going to get tired of having to restart the engine every time you have to pause for even a few seconds. (2) The bottom lip of the cutting chamber has a gap at the front of the chamber, which causes the wind from the spinning blade to exit at the bottom front of the mower. This is OK for mulching grass, which is anchored down by the roots; it's not so good when you're trying to mulch leaves (which I do), as it causes the leaves that you're trying to run over to continually be blown away from the front of the mower, just as you attempt to mulch them. Despite these two minor disappointments, I do like the mower, and I believe that it represents a fair compromise between desirable features and reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobinlou
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fine if you don't need help from Snapper
5/31/2014

Customer review by slickminenodder

3.0 stars 5/31/2014 by slickminenodder
by slickminenodder

Good mower, starts first pull every time, has good power, and seems to be pretty well made. However, when it was shipped to me, the box was obviously damaged (they had taped large pieces of cardboard over the damaged areas). When I opened it up, there was a hole in the box and the carriage bolt and nut that secures one side of the handle was missing, probably fell out of the hole in the box. The other carriage bolt and nut were just loose in the bottom of the box, they were not even screwed into the handle. The big problem has been getting any response from Snapper. I sent them an email, and got a fairly quick reply asking what the model and serial were, which I then provided, and since then, crickets. I have emailed twice more, and wrote up another issue report on their website with no response. It's now been two weeks, and still nothing from Snapper. I guess sending a simple nut and bolt is too much trouble since they already have my money.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slickminenodder
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful, easy to handle mower
6/19/2014

Customer review by Rosie6244

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by Rosie6244
by Rosie6244

I purchased this lawn mower from Wal-Mart over one year ago. I waited this long to write a review to see how it was going to hold up. I'm happy to report that I've not had a bit of trouble with it. It is lightweight and handles easily for this senior citizen. ( I have a hill to mow). I love the clean up feature on the top that allows you to clean the blade without having to turn the mower on its side. A great mower!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rosie6244
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product started first pull cut lawn great
5/6/2013

Customer review by Happyrichard

5.0 stars 5/6/2013 by Happyrichard
by Happyrichard

Lots of power went through tall grass 12 inch high no problem. With the warranty and the way it was built I am very happy with this snapper mower purchase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happyrichard
Williamstown NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 178 total reviews
1-20 of 178 reviews