Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 315 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

315 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

315 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
208
4 stars
64
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 stars
27
1-20 of 297 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 297 total reviews
1-20 of 297 reviews
Great Product being discontinued
6/8/2015

Customer review by nc143dad

5.0 stars 6/8/2015 by nc143dad
by nc143dad

As usual, DO NOT rely on Wal Mart's stock record keeping; all the online resources I visited said this item is out of stock, so I shopped for another replacement, and went to my local (Williamston, NC), Wal Mart to get the all wheel drive model. Much to my surprise and joy, this model was available, and I am very satisfied with my purchase. I wanted very much to stay with a 190cc B&S engine, as my old mower also was 190cc and for a front drive mower, had plenty of power and fuel economy. The difference between my old mower, with 22" deck, and this Snapper is like between a pickup truck and a sports car; much more maneuverable and the drive control is much more handy to drop it out of gear, or just change speeds. Starts on the first pull every time, quieter, uses less fuel. Time will only tell as to serviceability and longevity. Price is very reasonable versus other mowers I researched at Lowes, Ace Hardware, Sears, Home Depot. Just an all around win-win!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nc143dad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Its a beast.
4/30/2015

Customer review by GFISH

5.0 stars 4/30/2015 by GFISH
by GFISH

A lot of mower in a small package. I'm still getting used to the 190cc B&S engine. It wears me out because I'm having a hard time keeping up with it and it doesn't faint at the sight of tall grass.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GFISH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Junk, Snapper support was joke
3/27/2015

Customer review by George

1.0 stars 3/27/2015 by George
by George

Use it a few times and stopped running.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
George
Would recommend to a friend? No
Garbage mower
3/24/2015

Customer review by Scott

1.0 stars 3/24/2015 by Scott
by Scott

Complete wast of time and money . Got the first mower and it ran for 20 second then would not start. Snapper tech. Support was completly useless, he told me to pour hot water over the injector. I told him that it had a carburetor and that was a dumb idea. I took the mower back to walmart and got another snapper . It ran fror about 3 minutes then quit. It hasent started since , getting my money back.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scott
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice Mower
6/21/2016

Customer review by Michigander

4.0 stars 6/21/2016 by Michigander
by Michigander
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this mower to replace an aging Toro Personal Pace and so far I am quite pleased. Assembly was easy and the mower starts and runs flawlessly. Coming from a real wheel drive mower, getting used to maneuvering a front wheel drive model around obstacles and landscaping will take a little getting used to. Not bad, just different. Only complaint so far would be with the integrated mulching "plug" that is built into the rear bagger door. (see picture) It fills up with grass clippings and must be emptied by hand when the rear bag is removed. Not a big problem but it is annoying and messy. A cap for this plug would be a nice addition.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michigander
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Snapper self propelled mower
4/18/2016

Customer review by carpentergirl

5.0 stars 4/18/2016 by carpentergirl
by carpentergirl

I was looking for a mower with the drive control handle on the right. I do not like the bale type drive control. This fit the bill. It is model # 1696607. I had it delivered to my home,( free shipping) I am an older female customer and would not have been able to unload it from my vehicle. I just cut open the box on one side and rolled the mower out. Putting the mower together was really easy. Take out a few bolts, pull the handle out to full length, insert the bolts to fasten the handlebar, put oil and gas in and you are ready to go. I did have to struggle fitting the grass bag onto the frame, had to use a small flat head screw driver to open the edges of the bag to get the wire frame seated. I mowed the front yard with out the bag, to mulch. The mower did a good job and was easy to maneuver and the yard looks super. I am only 5.2" and the handle bar can be adjusted to a comfortable height for short people like me. You can control the mowers speed with the drive control squeeze handle. Starting the mower was one pull and it fired up. I am very happy with my new mower.

Was this review helpful? (83) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carpentergirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good lawn mower
6/22/2016

Customer review by kimoofmississippi

5.0 stars 6/22/2016 by kimoofmississippi
by kimoofmississippi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After having surgery on my dominate arm, I needed a mower to control with my weaker arm. The initial start, took about 3 pulls until I got used to this mower. Now it starts on the first pull with my weaker arm. I can control it with one hand, and the variable speed control works very well. My yard is huge , mostly flat, but very muddy at times. This mower is a lot easier to use than my push mower. Height adjustments are easy and it cuts very well. It stops if you hit something really big or hard. I like that safety feature. It's much safer when you override some safety guidelines. This was a great purchase. So far I've used it for two weeks to cut about 60,000 sq ft of grass. Time will tell about its longevity, but so far so good.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kimoofmississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great deal
4/8/2016

Customer review by HappynBoise

5.0 stars 4/8/2016 by HappynBoise
by HappynBoise

Only used it twice so far this year but our grass was very tall. This lawn mower made it easy and quick. I am 56 year old woman little over 5 foot tall and this lawn mower was very easy for me to maneuver even up a slope. Very pleased so far.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappynBoise
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE THIS MOWER
6/25/2015

Customer review by Jamesb813

5.0 stars 6/25/2015 by Jamesb813
by Jamesb813

I got this Mower about a month or So back and have Loved it from the Time I opened the Box and set it Up Which was easier than Some if the Reviews On Walmart.Com says. Filled it with Clean Gas as Recommended, Put in the Enclosed Oil and It Started First Pull Without having to Prime or Choke it, I really Don't like Choking a Mower just Seams Cruel LOL. AnyWho The Mower Works Great and The Adjustable speed on the power assist is Great, If I wanted to I could Jog and Cut the Grass at the same Time or I can just mow at a Slow pace. Does Hills Great and if You have Problems getting up a hill just lift the back up and put pressure on the front drive wheels and it climbs the hill. JUST to be clear, I Don't suggest Mowing Mountain's with this Mower as It wasn't made for that but It Can Tackle some good hills. The only Cons I can Think of Is its a bit heavy to put in the back of My jeep to do the Bottom part of Our Property, and Not having More of Our Property cleared to Mow LOL

Was this review helpful? (60) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jamesb813
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Mower
6/20/2016

Customer review by BrokeDaddy

5.0 stars 6/20/2016 by BrokeDaddy
by BrokeDaddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a terrific mower. As advertised it starts in the first pull and it has great power for cutting. Set-up is extremely easy. The oil fill tube is right on top making it easy to check the oil level each time you fuel the mower. The fact that you don't need to change the oil makes me think that it is designed to "use" oil therefore requiring frequent checks. If there is any one thing I'd like to be different it would be the wheels. I think they could be designed to have more grip on the drive wheels. The deck clean out is easy and effective. It helps that I already have quick connects on my water hoses. Overall, this mower meets and in some respects exceeds my expectations. That makes it easy to recommend for purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrokeDaddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a very fine mower, especially for a senior
5/13/2014

Customer review by GeriL

5.0 stars 5/13/2014 by GeriL
by GeriL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The instructions for assembling the machine are clear but make sure you read about adjusting the handle so that it will not interfere with the mower blade. The machine started after only one pull. It mowed the lawn using the bag attachment and did a very nice job, no serious complaints here. However, it did not pick up all small sticks or pine needles as well as I would have liked. As I had previously owned a Snapper Hi Vac which required a separate mulching blade I assumed this mower would require the mulching blade listed as an accessory. I purchased the mulching blade and was surprised to see that it is identical to the blade on the machine. I now have an extra blade. I mowed the lawn today using the mulching feature and it did a very good job. A previous mower, a Craftsman, left a thin line of cut grass on the edge of each cut using the mulching feature, this Snapper did not. Without using the bag attachment the mower is lighter and easier to handle, thus my comment it being a good mower for seniors.

Was this review helpful? (81) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeriL
Cape Cod
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
snapper mower
4/12/2016

Customer review by pops

5.0 stars 4/12/2016 by pops
by pops

My new Snapper does everything i need in a mower very easy to crank the self propelled works great. I am 71 years old and its easy to use for me and my wife.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pops
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fine if you don't need help from Snapper
5/31/2014

Customer review by slickminenodder

3.0 stars 5/31/2014 by slickminenodder
by slickminenodder
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good mower, starts first pull every time, has good power, and seems to be pretty well made. However, when it was shipped to me, the box was obviously damaged (they had taped large pieces of cardboard over the damaged areas). When I opened it up, there was a hole in the box and the carriage bolt and nut that secures one side of the handle was missing, probably fell out of the hole in the box. The other carriage bolt and nut were just loose in the bottom of the box, they were not even screwed into the handle. The big problem has been getting any response from Snapper. I sent them an email, and got a fairly quick reply asking what the model and serial were, which I then provided, and since then, crickets. I have emailed twice more, and wrote up another issue report on their website with no response. It's now been two weeks, and still nothing from Snapper. I guess sending a simple nut and bolt is too much trouble since they already have my money.

Was this review helpful? (35) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slickminenodder
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This lawnmower does all that it is supposed to do
4/24/2014

Customer review by theflowergal

5.0 stars 4/24/2014 by theflowergal
by theflowergal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The instructions were complete and easy to understand. I really like this mower, especially the front wheel drive and the bagger. I wanted a push mower to mow around shrubs closer and also wanted a bagger to catch the weed seeds to keep down weeds. I used my mower for he first time today and it works great. First pull and it started, no priming, nothing to turn on and no choke. Just hold down the running bar and pull the cord, it cranks first pull. Awesome. The high wheels make the mower easy to maneuver around shrubs and flowers in the yard. The front wheel drive makes it so easy to mow. I find myself forgetting to let go of the drive handle when backing up. It is a joy to mow and not have grass blowing all over you. Didn't even get grass in my shoes. I will recommend this mower to anyone looking for a good, reasonably priced, easy to use mower. It is a very good buy and does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theflowergal
South Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Snapper FWD Rear Bagger
3/16/2014

Customer review by Deadeye01

4.0 stars 3/16/2014 by Deadeye01
by Deadeye01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used this Snapper on Saturday March 15th 2014. Relatively easy to assemble w/o any complications. The instructions on engine oil additions were unclear as they don't tell you precisely how much oil to add to the engine. I suggest you add in small increments to avoid overfilling. Use a paper towel to clean the dipstick as you continually check the level. Additionally, you will need to pull back on the blade break in order to start the engine which is different. Traditionally the mowers I've used previously; "Toro and Honda" that procedure wasn’t necessary. The mower worked well cutting and it cut evenly and did a good job of vacuuming the lawn of leaves as well as picking up the grass. Wish the bag held a little more clippings to avoid emptying frequently. The FWD wheels are powerful so be cautious with soft ground as they can leave marks if you’re not careful. All in all, I find this mower to work well for my use. It started on first pull which was nice. I would have no reservations recommending this mower to a friend if they were in the market for a mower.

Was this review helpful? (75) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deadeye01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome!!!
4/7/2016

Customer review by Lee9610

5.0 stars 4/7/2016 by Lee9610
by Lee9610

My mother has a lot of health problems. I purchased this lawnmower for her to give her some independence. After putting it together she was able to start the mower by herself and cut her grass with ease. She was the happiest lady on the block. Highly recommend for someone unable to pull hard cords or push a regular lawnmower.

Was this review helpful? (40) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lee9610
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
work horse
4/14/2016

Customer review by Paula

5.0 stars 4/14/2016 by Paula
by Paula

Got the mower quickly and was very easy to put together. Does an excellent job of cutting the grass. Used it on mulch without the bagger and it left the lawn clean with no big clippings to clean up afterwards. Would definitely recommend you purchase this mower.

Was this review helpful? (33) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paula
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cream puff
11/10/2015

Customer review by pcramer1

5.0 stars 11/10/2015 by pcramer1
by pcramer1

I've only had this mower for 2 weeks and have used it 6 different times doing medium size lawns (100'x100'). Im 70 years old with the usual aches and pains and this mower makes mowing a pleasure again. It has started on first pull everytime but once, it took 2 pulls to get it running. It's weight is much lighter than my other mowers due to the use of plastic parts, plastic that is hard and durable and used in the right places. I like the variable speed control, lets you walk at your own comfortable pace. And it is much quieter- as advertised. Every thing about this mower is good and I would buy it again For all you old geezers out there this is the mower to own. Oh yea, a great mower for the ladies that like to mow their lawn.

Was this review helpful? (69) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pcramer1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
When the mower will not start
5/24/2014

Customer review by dcard44

4.0 stars 5/24/2014 by dcard44
by dcard44

I purchased this mower through Walmart online with good delivery time. After assembly with oil and gas added this mower would not start, the blade control handle was my first suspect that maybe the cable which seemed to have some excessive slack in it was keeping the mower from starting but their was no room for adjusting this. I checked for a fuel shut off petcock but their was none which would keep the engine from receiving fuel but their was none, their have been other reviewers from Amazon who have reported this problem but no one has posted a solution. After calling my local Walmart they suggested that I return the mower for a new replacement all that I needed was my receipt which I provided by going to Walmart's web site, log in to my account, go to my mower purchase, clicked the easy return link which was a complete receipt including a bar code to expedite the return. Going to my local Walmart I received a new boxed mower which now starts as it should on the first or second pull. I am very satisfied on how Walmart's handled this and kudo's to the web designers who made it possible to print out a bar coded receipt.

Was this review helpful? (52) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dcard44
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Better than my CubCadet, Yboy & Craftsman!
4/17/2016

Customer review by micshopper

5.0 stars 4/17/2016 by micshopper
by micshopper

I'm a 110# 48 yr old girl, this is my 4the mower purchase in my life, and I thought... This was the best yet cheapest cost yet! After spending $700 on a big name yellow tractor style piece of junk (blew up less than 18mo), then buying a $500 green disaster (plastic wheels and hinges broke less than 2 yrs), then a Craftsman that I HATE too many things to list that lasted the shortest btw, this one seems to have impressed me the most. Pulled it out of the box, attached the push handle, added oil and fuel and pull started it on the first pull. The only negative is the grass catch bag is an awkward connect but at the same time it has the least blow back of any other mower I have owned. Great manueverability and power up hills! One handd, one sided height adjustments (use caution over time because this is the ne part that seems less than solid , I dont redjust height but once a year so I plan on being cautious. Good traction on wheels, adjustable handle height, awesome hose port too clean out the deck ,and ez to instantly adjust drive control with the knob by the engagement lever. Although I have only used it twice I love the way it is built and I have paid incredibly close attentio to comparing the thers flaws to how this is built, crossing my fingers that this cheapest one is also the best one

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
micshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 297 total reviews
1-20 of 297 reviews