Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 153 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

153 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

153 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
102
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
18
1-20 of 143 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews
Snapper Model 1696627
6/6/2015

Customer review by MowerMadness

1.0 stars 6/6/2015 by MowerMadness
by MowerMadness

Upon opening box discovered oil leaking from the mower into the interior. Put 18oz oil into mower and ran it 10 minutes. More than half of the oil leaked from the front of the motor. Briggs and Stratton series motor 110000. Checked Snapper -- no help. Checked Briggs and Stratton no help. Researching root problem. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS MOTOR BEFORE CHECKING FOR MOTOR OIL LEAKS. Suggest removing spark plug wire and slowly pull the starter rope to see if it's leaking. Owned less than one day.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MowerMadness
Would recommend to a friend? No
Only worked 1 season
5/14/2015

Customer review by Colors88

1.0 stars 5/14/2015 by Colors88
by Colors88

I broke down and bought my first new lawn mower. Was excited! But...it didn't start the next year. Closest lace to service it is 30+ miles away. Now I'm super unhappy! Ugh!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Colors88
Would recommend to a friend? No
Damaged Unit
6/25/2013

Customer review by locktec

1.0 stars 6/25/2013 by locktec
by locktec
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Never had a chance to use the lawn mower since I recieved it damaged due to poor delivery. The box was dropped on its end and delivered on its end inside a shopping cart instead of a flat cart. I'm sure the product is great which I'm looking for the same replacement but not with Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (37) (90)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
locktec
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good
4/21/2016

Customer review by bret

4.0 stars 4/21/2016 by bret
by bret

Works great on my yard. The mulching option is fantastic.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bret
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Probably the best lawnmower!
4/16/2016

Customer review by Shoppergal

5.0 stars 4/16/2016 by Shoppergal
by Shoppergal

I always read reviews before purchasing anything, especially a big ticket item that you really need to work! My husband had it up and ready to go in about 20 minutes. No priming, just pull the start string. I only have to pull it about half way and it starts right up. Love the side lever to control the position of the lawn cut, it adjusts all sides at once, which I love. Seems to be very sturdy. I have to mow a large, deep ditch in my yard. I always dreaded it before, but this mower has a lot of steam...fastest time ever on mowing the entire yard.

Was this review helpful? (37) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shoppergal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Compact and Adequate
10/22/2013

Customer review by SaDaTay

3.0 stars 10/22/2013 by SaDaTay
by SaDaTay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This mower replaced a more expensive model 22" Snapper. Delivered for $30 in just a couple of days, it arrived in a big box with some assembly required on the handle mechanism. The owners' manual, although somewhat crude and poorly illustrated, provide enough information to get the mower running. However, when attempting to fold up the handle, some problems occurred. The drive control and blade control got tangled up on the front of the mower. This problem was bad enough I had to get a neighbor (mower expert) to reassemble the handle controls. The mower then would start and run OK. It did a good enough job mowing, and the smaller 21" size makes it easier to handle than the standard 22" mower. Contact information provided for support and service proved problematic: "No English"...."I don't know nothing"...."Take it to Central Equipment"...so my neighbor was very helpful with the flimsy handle.. Now I've used it twice.

Was this review helpful? (23) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SaDaTay
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lawn mower
4/8/2016

Customer review by Bunne

5.0 stars 4/8/2016 by Bunne
by Bunne

The mower was not difficult for my adult son to put it together. It works very well. We are so glad we checked with Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bunne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nightmare
9/21/2014

Customer review by Modestini

1.0 stars 9/21/2014 by Modestini
by Modestini
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Delivery took a week. Assembly was very difficult, especially the handles, which did not line properly with the mounting holes. The threads on one of the set screws were damaged and the only way to get them to work was cranking it with a pair of pliers which is not supposed to happen. The whole thing looks plasticky and cheaply made, in spite of the "Made in USA" sticker. This mower comes with a plastic bottle containing 18 ounces of SAE 30 motor oil, but nowhere in the instruction manual it specifies the crankcase capacity or how much to add for startup. Finally, after much guessing, I found out that the whole bottle has to be used. I added fresh gas and then attempted to start the mower. After 6 or 7 pulls, it started, ran for about 30 seconds, then leaked oil over the deck and spurted a puff of white smoke. I have not been able to start it again, wasted about 2 hours on this enterprise and thus am calling Walmart, Briggs and Stratton or whoever cares to listen. Oh, how I miss my ole 1996 Craftsman 5.5 HP, which quit on me after 18 faithful years! They sure don't make them like they used to.

Was this review helpful? (22) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Modestini
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really great mower for the price.
3/13/2016

Customer review by Couponqueen

5.0 stars 3/13/2016 by Couponqueen
by Couponqueen

This is a great push mower, for the price, I picked it up took about 20 minutes to put it together, put gas in it and it cranked on the first pull. Am very happy with it, it comes with oil already in it, I will be buying another one this week, my husband does landscaping so he will be using these on his jobs.....

Was this review helpful? (27) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Couponqueen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good Product
4/16/2016

Customer review by OldTimer

5.0 stars 4/16/2016 by OldTimer
by OldTimer

This mower is 100% as stated in wal-marts ad. The mower required very little assembly. Read the placard that is on the mower itself on how to position the handle bar. After adding the oil that is supplied with mower, and gasoline supplied by me, the mower cranked on first pull of the starter rope. With over 5 decades of mowing lawns I will recommend this mower.

Was this review helpful? (22) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldTimer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good price
5/28/2016

Customer review by walnut707

4.0 stars 5/28/2016 by walnut707
by walnut707
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After some research on mowers I feel that this mower was a good buy. I haven't had it long enough to determine how it do in the long term, but I can say for the money this mower has it all. 3 in 1, self drive, good size engine, a brand thats been around for a while (engine too, Brigs & Stratton) with a three-year warranty. That's one year longer than the other brands. As for the never change the oil engine, I'll have to wait and see if it ever looks dirty, cause if it does, I think it would be smart to change it. Why not five stars? THE idle seems a little on the slow side, but guess that's what the factory wanted it set at, also I got blisters on my thumb's and a padded handle could help that. THE mower cut well and the gas lasted long enough to cut the front and back with gas still left in the tank. I would recommend this for those looking for all the features at a good price, especially with Walmarts free shipping makes it a lot easier than going out and hauling it back. The box weighs about 83lbs so carrying it would take two people or a dolly hand truck. Another plus is if it has issues coming out the box, you could just bring it back to your local Walmart. No risk right there and less hassle. I have no regrets so far in buying it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walnut707
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT Mower!
4/28/2015

Customer review by ToyMomof2

5.0 stars 4/28/2015 by ToyMomof2
by ToyMomof2

I have used a LOT of mowers over the last 35 years and this one is TOP notch! It starts after one pull, cuts the grass easily and beautifully...looks like a bed of carpet when I'm done. The self-propelled is great and REALLY does terrific job of pulling the mower along...all you have to do is let go of the self-propelled lever and you'll instantly feel the loss of pulling power. Though it's not auto-pacing, meaning it will match your gate, whether fast or slow...nevertheless it's built-in, steady speed is perfect for a 40 year old, 5'8", 200 lbs pudgy man. Finally, just the other day I was helping a sick friend by cutting his grass and I used his John Deer self-propelled mower...and the ENTIRE time I kept thinking how glad I was for MY Snapper mower!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToyMomof2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Irritating
7/29/2015

Customer review by ESly

1.0 stars 7/29/2015 by ESly
by ESly

I bought this mower 3 months ago and was very happy with it. I checked the oil before use every time, used nothing but non ethanol gas, and cleaned the air filter regularly. A couple weeks ago I had been mowing and all the sudden it started running like it had some sort of fuel issue, it lost a lot power and was idling weird. Since it was under warranty I did not want to take it apart myself and void my warranty so I had to take it to a shop that works on Briggs and Stratton (2 weeks ago). I call today and the shop tells me another 2-3 weeks and my grass is already probably 8"-12" tall. This is very disappointing, I have owned A LOT of different mowers but they have all had B&S engines and no problems. This engine had 20 hrs max. Not a happy camper.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ESly
Would recommend to a friend? No
Started on second pull... Easy to assemble
4/3/2016

Customer review by TomR

4.0 stars 4/3/2016 by TomR
by TomR

Light and quick.... with three modes of operation. Mulching, side discharge and rear bagging. I am impressed but Snapper is know to be a great brand.

Was this review helpful? (18) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great lawn mower!
5/30/2013

Customer review by OneGreenEyed1

5.0 stars 5/30/2013 by OneGreenEyed1
by OneGreenEyed1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great lawn mower. Starts up every time and handles even long thick grass with ease. Easy to change from mulcher to side discharge or bagging. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (59) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneGreenEyed1
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great mower
4/8/2014

Customer review by Diggysdaddyman

5.0 stars 4/8/2014 by Diggysdaddyman
by Diggysdaddyman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fast delivery. Mower works great. It has several parts that are plastic but it seems sturdy. Cuts great. Mulcher works but bagger is very small.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diggysdaddyman
Stockbridge, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice!
4/27/2014

Customer review by ers61

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by ers61
by ers61

Been about 30 years since I owned a Snapper push mower. This one is self propelled and totally meets my expectations. Started first pull out of box. Cuts great on my 1/2 acre, slight hill. There is a considerable more plastic in this mower than from 30 years ago but still a very nice mower. I was looking for a mower that would break the bank, yet a great value. A great compliment to my 12HP rear engine rider. This one is a hit!! Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ers61
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just What this Senior Citizen Needed!
5/27/2016

Customer review by 67andcounting

5.0 stars 5/27/2016 by 67andcounting
by 67andcounting
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Snapper Self-Propelled mower has more than enough power to mow the hilly areas of my 1/4 acre lawn. It's frugal on gas and the fact that the oil never has to be changed is big PLUS. Considering the Quality & Features of this mower, the $249 price tag is unbelievable. Sorry I waited so long to make this purchase. I'm Lovin' It !!! (sorry MacDonalds).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
67andcounting
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Self propelled is the only way to go
4/6/2016

Customer review by KYauntie

5.0 stars 4/6/2016 by KYauntie
by KYauntie

I was using a small electric mower and finally bought the snapper. I could kick myself for not getting it sooner. I've only used it twice, but it has made my life so much easier.

Was this review helpful? (11) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KYauntie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good mower for the money
7/15/2013

Customer review by jlmason

5.0 stars 7/15/2013 by jlmason
by jlmason
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This mulching mower even mows wet grass without leaving clums

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlmason
Lima, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews