Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

16 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

16 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

40%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-16 of 16 total reviews
40%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Breaks
6/27/2016

Customer review by Bushtripper

1.0 stars 6/27/2016 by Bushtripper
by Bushtripper

First time and last time trying this garbage line. lots of breaks like its rotten but brand new. What a waste of money.

Bushtripper
Barrie, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not for a spinning rod
9/13/2014

Customer review by Mackinawchaser

1.0 stars 9/13/2014 by Mackinawchaser
by Mackinawchaser

So I bought this line for my new Abu Garcia combo. I have always heard how great their line was. I was seriously disappointed. The line is definitely thinner than normal mono but it did't feel as strong. It has no memory as advertised. The major problem was that if I didn't immediately close the bail after the lure hit the line would continue to spool off creating a birds nest. I removed a bunch of line in case I loaded the reel with too much but got the same result. On top of this it added no extra distance to my cast. My final issues are with the strength and knots. When the line was straight the strength was okay when knotted it was weak. Additionally, I tied my normal Albright knot for joining line and the knots either did not hold or broke. Long story short I highly would not recommend this product for a spin casting rod. It may be better with a bait caster.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mackinawchaser
Would recommend to a friend? No
small dia. stealth presentation icefishing
5/2/2016

Customer review by Fishbutt

5.0 stars 5/2/2016 by Fishbutt
by Fishbutt

I was looking for a line that could take a lot of abuse for my ice-fishing clients. I needed a thin diameter for a stealth presentation yet strong enough to take abuse. I have had great results from the 4 lb. ultimate mono. It flows off the spool nicely. It doesn't seem to have a lot of memory which is nice in cold conditions. Knot strength is excellent. I have 50 rods spooled with the 4 lb. I am looking for a larger bulk spool more than 330 yds. to make re-spooling easier. I ice-guide for Whitefish and Perch on Green Bay.

Fishbutt
Green Bay, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
?? What are these other folks talking about??
3/24/2016

Customer review by Yellow Hat

5.0 stars 3/24/2016 by Yellow Hat
by Yellow Hat

I won't dismiss other reviewers' comments; however, I've had nothing but the best success with this product. Now, I can't comment on anything but the 6 Lb line for brown trout , rainbows, and brookies - perhaps other lines, for other applications, are different...who knows. I am on the water many, many, many days throughout the year (more days fishing than not) due to my proximity to a fantastic native trout stream ( < 2 mins from my house). I've tried many, many lines; this is my go-to.line. It is more supple than floro - but just as strong and invisible. It is better than mono relative to casting and line memory. In short, it is just what an angler needs. I, for one, love it! Just my $.02

Yellow Hat
On the water...Everywhere, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great product!
4/6/2016

Customer review by David Becken

5.0 stars 4/6/2016 by David Becken
by David Becken

I got the 17lb and used it all last season. Worked great for big bass and catfish. Only broke once but that was a mistake on my part.

David Becken
Central New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Can't believe others like this.
7/4/2014

Customer review by zidatc

5.0 stars 7/4/2014 by zidatc
by zidatc

I am at Lake of The Ozarks right now. I spooled one of my rods with this because I have had good luck with the Spider Wire braid. I lost 3 bass right off the bat. I thought maybe the rocks were too much for the line, but re-tying did no good. Then right after putting on a new lure and making a horrible cast and hooking brush on shore, I had to break it. 14 pound test should not break that easy. My Trilene fishing partners had no issues. Never again!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zidatc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dial in your knots!
11/29/2015

Customer review by Sunny Ulua

3.0 stars 11/29/2015 by Sunny Ulua
by Sunny Ulua

Needs some extra attention from user. Spiderwire recommends specific knots (avoid friction too) located on its packaging. My use: surf fishing on spinning reel in salt/wind/waves. Whipping Hawaiian style . Waiting for 2.0 version, sure to be da kine.

Sunny Ulua
Kauai County, HI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
4lb break easily
8/16/2014

Customer review by asdgdfh

2.0 stars 8/16/2014 by asdgdfh
by asdgdfh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used 4lb on my spinning reel, it break easily.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
asdgdfh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
save your time and money.
7/31/2015

Customer review by Colin

1.0 stars 7/31/2015 by Colin
by Colin

Throw every lure in your box directly into the lake.You will get the exact same outcome as you will using this line. I bought this after years of using other Spiderwire products with great results. They should be embarassed about letting this out of their initial testing stages, nevermind putting it on the market. You could have less breakage if you tied together a few thousand blades of grass. Im going to return it to Walmart as defective product tomorrow.

Colin
Chicago, IL, United States
Gender:Male
throw your lures away
8/4/2015

Customer review by dillpickle

1.0 stars 8/4/2015 by dillpickle
by dillpickle

while I was using this line on my baitcaster I ended up flinging one of my squarebills off with a soft cast I also ended up sending a dd22 off as well as a dt16 and A WACKY RIGGED WORM the only thing that I have found this line to do good is for bream and maybe smaller catfish but I will never buy this for anything other than bream again.

dillpickle
Rogersville, AL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Breaks Easily
4/24/2015

Customer review by BrianNY

1.0 stars 4/24/2015 by BrianNY
by BrianNY

Bought this line last season and experienced a ton of break offs. Any hangups and the line just snaps, sometimes on hook sets. This spring, I used the end of a spool to fill a new baitcaster to try it out. Line was breaking during casting with a 3/8 ounce practice plug. Upon further inspection, pulling a knot tight often broke the line and not even at the knot. You'd think it was sitting out in the sun for years.

BrianNY
New York, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great performing line for the serious fisherman
5/31/2014

Customer review by JoefromBenicia

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by JoefromBenicia
by JoefromBenicia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Casts extremely well because of it's thin diameter, flexibility and minimum memory. Very strong too, so you won't lose fish as a result of line failure.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoefromBenicia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible
4/26/2015

Customer review by Austin11

1.0 stars 4/26/2015 by Austin11
by Austin11

Total garbage, I used it for brown trout and ever after a large amount of "unspiraling" it still managed to tangle into a massive mess. The breaking strength is really inconsistent and often snapped at the knot

Austin11
Avoca, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Does not seem like 8lb
4/3/2015

Customer review by Ironman78

2.0 stars 4/3/2015 by Ironman78
by Ironman78

I bought this put it on my reel very disappointed how easy it seems to break maybe a bad roll but this stuff snaps pretty easy even just tying stuff on it then pulling to test it was breaking

Ironman78
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Twist!
4/13/2015

Customer review by DrDeath

1.0 stars 4/13/2015 by DrDeath
by DrDeath

I've never seen a monofilament line twist so badly while spooling a reel! The line appears to be low quality.

DrDeath
Virginia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Best mono I have ever used!
6/19/2014

Customer review by Fishinagain

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by Fishinagain
by Fishinagain

Casts great,very strong and low memory too. I have tried a lot of other mono lines, this is my new baitcaster mono.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fishinagain
Eastvale,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month