Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 305 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

305 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

305 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
121
4 stars
88
3 stars
19
2 stars
14
1 stars
63
1-20 of 281 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews
OK for the Price
4/27/2016

Customer review by Bigaymonababy

4.0 stars 4/27/2016 by Bigaymonababy
by Bigaymonababy

I was looking for a good quality ,gas powered, curved shaft weed trimmer that would not cost me a an arm and a leg. Well Eureka! I found it here at Wal-Mart. There had to be a reason why this trimmer was Best Seller" so I checked out the videos and reviews. OK I was convinced, So I went directly to the closest store and bought one. I found that the straight shaft model was about $20 bucks more but I just needed a trimmer to get rid of overgrowth on my rentals that the gardeners missed. ( ie. light duty) So I saved some bucks . The store tries to sell you a warranty but I opted not to. (Hey it's new and it's suppose to work right?) Besides I could always return it if it didn't work. the money I saved I used to buy some extra trimmer string. When i took the the trimmer out of the box the instructions were like putting a toy model together and were slightly confusing. What I didn't understand though I just followed the illustrations. All you needed to put this trimmer together is a screwdriver and you must premix the oil and gas in a container before you put in the trimmer gas tank .In my case if you get the right consistency the gas will turn into a light blue. I followed all the instructions to the letter and the trimmer did not start right away like in the video. I pumped the push pump ten times like instructed an it flooded the the trimmer. So I set the choke on "3" and after two attempts my trimmer started like a champ! I do agree with the other reviews in that this trimmer is not too good for you if you are about 5' 10" and above because I think you would have to stoop down a little to make the trimmer have contact with whatever your were trimming. The motor was surprisingly strong and I was satisfied with the performance of this trimmer. It does get a little heavy after a while and the vibration will make you change positions when holding this trimmer. Overall i would Rx this trimmer it works great and the price is quite economical. It's a GOOD BUY.

Was this review helpful? (108) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigaymonababy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Weed Eater
5/5/2014

Customer review by maximus60

5.0 stars 5/5/2014 by maximus60
by maximus60

I bought this weed eater and expected the best and it delivered. Let it break in and be patient and you have yourself a great yard tool. Just make sure you mix the gas and oil properly and follow instructions and there you go. My yard looks great and I have a great weed eater for an excellent price.

Was this review helpful? (132) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maximus60
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Save your money on something better
9/9/2015

Customer review by iron123

1.0 stars 9/9/2015 by iron123
by iron123

Poor quality,and issues upon issues and when you call the manufacturer about warranty is a different ball game, they ask you to take it to their agents for repairs and agents turn back and tell you the repairs not covered by manufactures warranty. I even got hang up by their tech/customer support personnel when I was trying to explain things to him. Walmart should have them recall these trimmers. I am done and will never recommend. I went to my the garden center at our walmart and guess what? lot of returns

Was this review helpful? (62) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iron123
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Product is awesome even despite malfunction
10/8/2013

Customer review by AZmonkee

4.0 stars 10/8/2013 by AZmonkee
by AZmonkee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 25 contributor

I spent some time researching these machines. I knew what I needed and this was it. It was exactly what I expected out of the box. Other reviews are correct in that it is a short machine. If you're tall or do not plan on using a strap, this is not for you, go with the straight shaft. I used a universal strap on this, it's not that it's that heavy, it's that it's so heavy in the engine. I found handling without a strap to be somewhat awkward. With the strap it was perfect. In fact I would recommend picking up a universal strap if you get this machine. It mowed through 3 ft tall wet weeds for hours. Zero hesitation on start up. Easier than most to respool. Will take commercial twisted line. Easy to fill. Compact. Took less than 5 mins from open of box to assemble. My first one had a defect. There was malfunction in the spool that attaches to the shaft. It melted through in minutes of it's last use. I ordered a new one, returned the old one and have been on the right track ever since. Seriously impressive machine for the cost.

Was this review helpful? (202) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AZmonkee
Kingman, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 25 contributor
Great!
4/30/2013

Customer review by lakeladyfish

5.0 stars 4/30/2013 by lakeladyfish
by lakeladyfish

I am a 68 year old woman, an when my old weed eater finally quit for good, i thought oh my how will i find a weed eater as easy to start as my old one was, for as one reaches a certain age you cannot stand an pull and pull to get one started! I thought i do-not have alot of money so i purchased this one. well let me tell you it was a snap out of the box. two things to put togather which was nothing an they included the allen wrench! I followed the starting directions and boom started right up! I was elated! It is light weight, and performed beautifully. I cannot say enough good things about this product! I would have gladly paid twice what i did for it! Thanks Murray for a great product. I do read product revieves before i purchase and this one had a good one. I have not written a product recommendation before this, but i felt like other folks my age could relate to the issues with starting one.

Was this review helpful? (606) (61)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lakeladyfish
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Sceptical at First after reading all Reviews
7/14/2016

Customer review by JayeMitch

4.0 stars 7/14/2016 by JayeMitch
by JayeMitch

Retired and I just got a Place on the lake with a vacant lot so I needed a power weed eater after always owning a electric one in the city....I did research and the Murray was the cheapest (Retired remember lol) I bought it anyway and so far works fine....I even bought it back to the city as I love not tugging that cord around.. No problems so far it starts fine not too heavy or light.. As all mechanical things you get a bad one sometimes I hope this is a good one....I am 6'2" so I do have to stoop a little but hay for $68....

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JayeMitch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
STALLING THEN WONT START BACK UP!!!!
6/20/2013

Customer review by arkansasarmydog

3.0 stars 6/20/2013 by arkansasarmydog
by arkansasarmydog

FOUND OUT THE PROBLEM!!!........i quickly realized why it worked for about 3 minutes and died.............take the spark plug out and ( RE-GAP !!!!!).............(THE COMPANY MESSED THIS UP!!!).........It's not the brand or a defect!!..........just a simple fix..mine was gaped way to close to the electrode.....causing it to lose power and stall............if you don't it will not operate well if at all.......................i re-gaped the plug and the unit runs strong.......i used it on 1/2 acre of weeds and brush over an hour of constant hard use..............i hope this helps everyone out.......great price and a good unit but either re-gap the plug or replace the plug with a new one but either way you have to have the gap correct ..............otherwise it wont run.........IT WILL BE HARD TO RESTART and wont stay running with out you fixing the spark plug issue.

Was this review helpful? (188) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arkansasarmydog
huntsville, ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Love the power this weeded has!
5/21/2016

Customer review by SusanT

5.0 stars 5/21/2016 by SusanT
by SusanT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have five acres that has to b e kept weed free that is really prolific in weeds that can grow at least as tall as me if are n're kept up. This weed wacker really cuts them down. One advantage for me is even with my weaker shoulder is that I can start it myself. I have not been able to for several years due to arthritis. The lower weight is also a great benefit with my limited weight bearing capabilities... And the price was great!

Was this review helpful? (43) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SusanT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice little unit...
6/18/2014

Customer review by LastTryForNameNotTaken

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by LastTryForNameNotTaken
by LastTryForNameNotTaken
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Shipping was fast, and the unit was exactly as shown. Took all of 5 minutes to assemble and have ready for the tank to be filled. Primed, choked, and started on 3rd pull - can't ask for more. This unit is meant for lighter duty work. My first test was on some fairly thick and heavy weeds/grass, and it wasn't hard to drag down the 25cc engine. With a little patience, though, you can get through even the thick stuff. Standard tall grass and light weeds were no problem at all. Also, the wire harness seemed a little too exposed, but a zip tie and a little electric tape wrapped around it did the trick. Not an issue. And I did not have any problem with the string head as mentioned in other reviews here, I disassembled it as a test and it was very quick and easy to disassemble and reassemble. In all, and for the price, this is a great little weed trimmer. Very light and handy, easy to start, and runs great. Would definitely recommend and buy again...

Was this review helpful? (49) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LastTryForNameNotTaken
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value.. gets the job done easily
6/13/2016

Customer review by kl32

5.0 stars 6/13/2016 by kl32
by kl32
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recieved order on time in perfect condition. I followed instructions to start and it was running with just a few easy pulls.. i have not trimmed yet this year so had some tall weeds. everything worked good just as you would expect and it was one of the most affordable trimmers I saw. I would, without a doubt, make the same purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kl32
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Purchased as a birthday gift.
7/14/2016

Customer review by PatECake

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by PatECake
by PatECake

My son wanted a light weed wacker for his yard. He asked for this one and he has been very pleased with the operation and weight.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PatECake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mu first gas powered trimmer
6/15/2016

Customer review by Peggs

5.0 stars 6/15/2016 by Peggs
by Peggs

I had never used a gas powered trimmer before. But my long back yard made running an extension cord for an electric trimmer almost impossible. But I was up to the challenge and soon had the trimmer together and running and was happily chopping away the weeds.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Peggs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
worked good starts easy
7/19/2016

Customer review by rosshog

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by rosshog
by rosshog
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

cuts good starts easy good buy

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rosshog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Murray String trimmers
5/21/2016

Customer review by chris

1.0 stars 5/21/2016 by chris
by chris

My older Weed Eater brand Featherlite (the best string trimmer I've ever had) had started to leak gas. I had been using it for so long that the fuel lines had become brittle and cracked. I received a Murray string trimmer on my birthday, as a replacement. I had wanted another Featherlite but my local Wal Mart was no longer stocking these (or any other Weed Eater trimmer, as far as I know). I thought it would be fine because, Hey! Free trimmer! Wrong. This thing felt awkward and heavy. Maybe I got a little soft using the Featherlite? Anyway, my back has hurt for the past 2 seasons. I'm only 5'10" but I have to bend over at an awkward posture to use this thing. 3 weeks ago, after only 2 seasons, the Murray died while in use and I've been unable to get it re-started. Thank You Jesus! I'm about to embark on a search for another Featherlite. I know they're out there somewhere.

Was this review helpful? (6) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chris
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awful Trimmer
6/26/2016

Customer review by Sunny1952

1.0 stars 6/26/2016 by Sunny1952
by Sunny1952
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the trimmer and returned to the store the very next day. 1.) It's heavy!!!! 2.) Very awkward to maneuver 3.) Gas smell is terrible while using 4.) The string ran out after 2 mins and the bump didn't work. This is a terrible piece of outdoor equipment especially for elderly people.

Was this review helpful? (11) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sunny1952
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Some bad, some good
5/2/2016

Customer review by jfleeter

4.0 stars 5/2/2016 by jfleeter
by jfleeter

Really works pretty well for the price. The nut that holds the handle to the shaft came loose and fell off so I lost the nut and the bold that holds the handle on. Not a good start. The trigger is pretty big and not made to fit my small fingers, so I have to rest my hand after a few minutes of operation. It also is a bit on the heavy side for me. I really like the way the spool goes into neutral when I release the throttle so it cant do any damage and you don't have to watch it so closely. So, but for the nut and bolt that I'm sure I really tightened well it's not a bad trimmer. I would recommend it. Heck you can buy two at this price and have a spare.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jfleeter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great
6/12/2016

Customer review by testify

5.0 stars 6/12/2016 by testify
by testify

only used a few times but so far works great and comfortable to use hope it keeps up.recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
testify
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice price good product
8/19/2016

Customer review by Trock

5.0 stars 8/19/2016 by Trock
by Trock

So bought today 08/19/2016 I let my grass grow to long for the mower so bought this weed Wacker easy to assemble easy to mix the oil pack they provided enough for one gallon! Light weight used for about an hour straight and wasn't heavy at all string which also was included didn't break on concrete or against on our wooden fence I would recommend this product for anyone

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Thank God for Walmart's buyer protection plan!
6/2/2016

Customer review by EvanstonGuy

1.0 stars 6/2/2016 by EvanstonGuy
by EvanstonGuy

This unit would (kinda) run for a short while then quit. After cooling it (might) start again. Fed up with garbage, I contacted Walmart customer service and was given a refund although I would have appreciated a working piece. Not being real bright, I took it to a shop and wound up spending more than I paid for it and was told "Murray has a known carburetor problem.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EvanstonGuy
Would recommend to a friend? No
got this for dads day 2 years ago
6/26/2016

Customer review by KILLBLITZ

1.0 stars 6/26/2016 by KILLBLITZ
by KILLBLITZ

hard to start the cutting head is falling of the drive shaft and the newer type seam to have a stronger design than this one s gearbox no good go to a real home ware and spend a extra few dollars and have something that will last not this junk !!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KILLBLITZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews