Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 339 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

339 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

339 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
137
4 stars
97
3 stars
20
2 stars
14
1 stars
71
1-20 of 315 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 315 total reviews
1-20 of 315 reviews
OK for the Price
4/27/2016

Customer review by Bigaymonababy

4.0 stars 4/27/2016 by Bigaymonababy
by Bigaymonababy

I was looking for a good quality ,gas powered, curved shaft weed trimmer that would not cost me a an arm and a leg. Well Eureka! I found it here at Wal-Mart. There had to be a reason why this trimmer was Best Seller" so I checked out the videos and reviews. OK I was convinced, So I went directly to the closest store and bought one. I found that the straight shaft model was about $20 bucks more but I just needed a trimmer to get rid of overgrowth on my rentals that the gardeners missed. ( ie. light duty) So I saved some bucks . The store tries to sell you a warranty but I opted not to. (Hey it's new and it's suppose to work right?) Besides I could always return it if it didn't work. the money I saved I used to buy some extra trimmer string. When i took the the trimmer out of the box the instructions were like putting a toy model together and were slightly confusing. What I didn't understand though I just followed the illustrations. All you needed to put this trimmer together is a screwdriver and you must premix the oil and gas in a container before you put in the trimmer gas tank .In my case if you get the right consistency the gas will turn into a light blue. I followed all the instructions to the letter and the trimmer did not start right away like in the video. I pumped the push pump ten times like instructed an it flooded the the trimmer. So I set the choke on "3" and after two attempts my trimmer started like a champ! I do agree with the other reviews in that this trimmer is not too good for you if you are about 5' 10" and above because I think you would have to stoop down a little to make the trimmer have contact with whatever your were trimming. The motor was surprisingly strong and I was satisfied with the performance of this trimmer. It does get a little heavy after a while and the vibration will make you change positions when holding this trimmer. Overall i would Rx this trimmer it works great and the price is quite economical. It's a GOOD BUY.

Was this review helpful? (127) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigaymonababy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Weed Eater
5/5/2014

Customer review by maximus60

5.0 stars 5/5/2014 by maximus60
by maximus60

I bought this weed eater and expected the best and it delivered. Let it break in and be patient and you have yourself a great yard tool. Just make sure you mix the gas and oil properly and follow instructions and there you go. My yard looks great and I have a great weed eater for an excellent price.

Was this review helpful? (140) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maximus60
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Save your money on something better
9/9/2015

Customer review by iron123

1.0 stars 9/9/2015 by iron123
by iron123

Poor quality,and issues upon issues and when you call the manufacturer about warranty is a different ball game, they ask you to take it to their agents for repairs and agents turn back and tell you the repairs not covered by manufactures warranty. I even got hang up by their tech/customer support personnel when I was trying to explain things to him. Walmart should have them recall these trimmers. I am done and will never recommend. I went to my the garden center at our walmart and guess what? lot of returns

Was this review helpful? (74) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iron123
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Piece of Junk
5/18/2017

Customer review by Harry

1.0 stars 5/18/2017 by Harry
by Harry

Poor quality,and issues upon issues and when you call the manufacturer about warranty is a different ball game, they ask you to take it to their agents for repairs and agents turn back and tell you the repairs not covered by manufactures warranty. Repair shop couldn't be bothered once the part wasn't under warranty. Knob head just fell off while trimming grass. Also the trimmer has problems with it running with power. You have to always adjust it to get it to run right. This is the second one I brought & they don't last 2 years & when they break nothing is covered under the warranty. I only use this trimmer every two weeks, 6 months, 12 to 15 times per year. I'm been grass trimming 30 years & as time goes on these trimmers get worse. They use to last 6-8 years, now your lucky if you get 2 years. Glad this time I purchase a walmart care plan for $6.00, now I get the money back to buy a different brand. Stay away from this trimmer, as time goes by problems start.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Harry
Would recommend to a friend? No
Product is awesome even despite malfunction
10/8/2013

Customer review by AZmonkee

4.0 stars 10/8/2013 by AZmonkee
by AZmonkee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 25 contributor

I spent some time researching these machines. I knew what I needed and this was it. It was exactly what I expected out of the box. Other reviews are correct in that it is a short machine. If you're tall or do not plan on using a strap, this is not for you, go with the straight shaft. I used a universal strap on this, it's not that it's that heavy, it's that it's so heavy in the engine. I found handling without a strap to be somewhat awkward. With the strap it was perfect. In fact I would recommend picking up a universal strap if you get this machine. It mowed through 3 ft tall wet weeds for hours. Zero hesitation on start up. Easier than most to respool. Will take commercial twisted line. Easy to fill. Compact. Took less than 5 mins from open of box to assemble. My first one had a defect. There was malfunction in the spool that attaches to the shaft. It melted through in minutes of it's last use. I ordered a new one, returned the old one and have been on the right track ever since. Seriously impressive machine for the cost.

Was this review helpful? (212) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AZmonkee
Kingman, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 25 contributor
Great!
4/30/2013

Customer review by lakeladyfish

5.0 stars 4/30/2013 by lakeladyfish
by lakeladyfish

I am a 68 year old woman, an when my old weed eater finally quit for good, i thought oh my how will i find a weed eater as easy to start as my old one was, for as one reaches a certain age you cannot stand an pull and pull to get one started! I thought i do-not have alot of money so i purchased this one. well let me tell you it was a snap out of the box. two things to put togather which was nothing an they included the allen wrench! I followed the starting directions and boom started right up! I was elated! It is light weight, and performed beautifully. I cannot say enough good things about this product! I would have gladly paid twice what i did for it! Thanks Murray for a great product. I do read product revieves before i purchase and this one had a good one. I have not written a product recommendation before this, but i felt like other folks my age could relate to the issues with starting one.

Was this review helpful? (627) (61)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lakeladyfish
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
STALLING THEN WONT START BACK UP!!!!
6/20/2013

Customer review by arkansasarmydog

3.0 stars 6/20/2013 by arkansasarmydog
by arkansasarmydog

FOUND OUT THE PROBLEM!!!........i quickly realized why it worked for about 3 minutes and died.............take the spark plug out and ( RE-GAP !!!!!).............(THE COMPANY MESSED THIS UP!!!).........It's not the brand or a defect!!..........just a simple fix..mine was gaped way to close to the electrode.....causing it to lose power and stall............if you don't it will not operate well if at all.......................i re-gaped the plug and the unit runs strong.......i used it on 1/2 acre of weeds and brush over an hour of constant hard use..............i hope this helps everyone out.......great price and a good unit but either re-gap the plug or replace the plug with a new one but either way you have to have the gap correct ..............otherwise it wont run.........IT WILL BE HARD TO RESTART and wont stay running with out you fixing the spark plug issue.

Was this review helpful? (198) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arkansasarmydog
huntsville, ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Nice little unit...
6/18/2014

Customer review by LastTryForNameNotTaken

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by LastTryForNameNotTaken
by LastTryForNameNotTaken
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Shipping was fast, and the unit was exactly as shown. Took all of 5 minutes to assemble and have ready for the tank to be filled. Primed, choked, and started on 3rd pull - can't ask for more. This unit is meant for lighter duty work. My first test was on some fairly thick and heavy weeds/grass, and it wasn't hard to drag down the 25cc engine. With a little patience, though, you can get through even the thick stuff. Standard tall grass and light weeds were no problem at all. Also, the wire harness seemed a little too exposed, but a zip tie and a little electric tape wrapped around it did the trick. Not an issue. And I did not have any problem with the string head as mentioned in other reviews here, I disassembled it as a test and it was very quick and easy to disassemble and reassemble. In all, and for the price, this is a great little weed trimmer. Very light and handy, easy to start, and runs great. Would definitely recommend and buy again...

Was this review helpful? (52) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LastTryForNameNotTaken
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The bump head bolt seizes up inside
9/6/2016

Customer review by aweir

1.0 stars 9/6/2016 by aweir
by aweir

I went to remove the bump head one day to restring the weed eater and I could not remove the bolt. It had seized up inside the shaft and the crimp broke free and would just spin around inside. I tried using locking pliers to remove the bolt but it would not come out. The bushing, or whatever it's called inside, is held in place to the shaft by a crimp instead of a rivet, and over tightening the bump head might result in the bolt getting seized and then when you try to remove it, the crimp will break loose. The only way you will be able to remove the bump head after that happens is possibly to use a self tapping screw to hold the bushing in place so it stops rotating inside the shaft. IO returned this weed eater after only a few months of use and will NOT be purchasing it again OR any type of weed eater with a screw on bump head that is crimped on.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aweir
Would recommend to a friend? No
Trimmer falls apart and too short
5/18/2013

Customer review by Hawthorn67

1.0 stars 5/18/2013 by Hawthorn67
by Hawthorn67

Assembly was easy as others say. But 15 minutes into trimming for the first time, the head that contains the whipping wire just fell off. Yep, just fell off onto the ground. Double checked assembly instructions to make sure I didn't miss anything, but the instructions never mention anything to do with the cutting head. Mixed the gas and oil correctly (if that even matters to the readers). Head pin just slides into the trimmer shaft but there doesn't seem to be anything that keeps it in. Returning it tonight. Also, after about 5 minutes of trimming I was already getting a back ache. I kept wanting the handle to be back closer to the motor for balance. I'm 6'2", getting old (46), but shouldn't be getting back aches this fast! Figured I'd keep it since my trimming work is very light (perhaps 20 minutes of work once every two weeks), that is until the trimming head fell off! Good luck if you buy it.

Was this review helpful? (28) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hawthorn67
Riverton, Wy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Excellent all around
7/6/2014

Customer review by CraftyMom47

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by CraftyMom47
by CraftyMom47
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After purchasing a new electric Toro weed trimmer last summer (excellent buy), husband decided he wanted something lighter weight and with no extension cords to fight with(we've always owned an electric trimmer). With much searching and reviewing, we settled on this one and are definitely NOT disappointed. After assembling and filling with oil and gas, it started right up on the second pull. He loves it's light weight and how well it plows down weeds. Murray almost always has reliable and well made products and this one is no exception. Its light weight and easy to use. The one down side might be that it's a little shorter than what he's used to. He's 5"'9" and it is almost too short so if you're taller, this one might not be for you. Other than that, we have nothing bad to say at all!

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CraftyMom47
Hobart Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very pleased
5/31/2013

Customer review by sixty9harley

4.0 stars 5/31/2013 by sixty9harley
by sixty9harley

After 25 years I was forced to retire a pair of Homelite Bandit trimmers, I got way more than expected from them but the fuel hoses rotted off and everything else was worn beyond repair. I did not want to spend a lot of money even though I do quite a lot of trimming over 2 acres, 4 buildings, garden, shrubs, sidewalks, roadside, fruit trees, you get the picture. I picked this Murray M2500 based on reviews, and the PRICE. It arrived in about 5 days (free shipping), I settled in on the back porch to unpack and assemble. IT was VERY simple, and VERY easy. My initial impression was this unit is much heavier than my old Bandits which I bought for my kids to use, but the weight seems to speak to the quality of the motor and parts. It came in 2 pieces that just snap in place, and are tightened with the included allen wrench. All the features are well paced and easy to understand and operate. Today I filled up the fuel tank, hit the primer, set the choke as instructed, and it fired up like a champ. 2 hours later I am getting used to the weight, and 1/2 caught up on my trimming. I could balance some of the motor weight against my forearm with NO heat issues. I could NOT be more pleased with my purchase. The only "improvement" I would make on this trimmer is a 50% larger fuel tank.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sixty9harley
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Piece of junk
6/13/2013

Customer review by BlueCollarAstronaut

1.0 stars 6/13/2013 by BlueCollarAstronaut
by BlueCollarAstronaut

The price seemed good, and I thought Murray was a decent brand. Maybe I just got a bad one, but I was horribly disappointed with this. Within moments of starting it the first time, I noticed the air filter on the ground at my feet. I thought, maybe, something had bumped loose while in the box, so I wasn't overly concerned at this point. Then, about 5 minutes after running it, the line stopped feeding. I opened it up, and the the two lines had actually melded together. I was getting frustrated, but still thought maybe just a fluke with the stock line. I fixed that, and after about 5 minutes, it became gummed up again. I used a fresh line, and it seemed to work better... ... Except that the air filter cover keeps popping open. Within about 30 seconds of starting it up, the vibrations shook the cover loose, and the filter fell down at my feet again. It's new, so I thought maybe I just had to get the feel for it, but 2 more times, after ensuring the tab clicked snugly, after running for about 30 seconds, it would fly open again, and the filter would fall out. The only thing I know to do at this point is to drain the gas and package it back up for a return.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueCollarAstronaut
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Great product at a low price
5/8/2013

Customer review by LMurchison

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by LMurchison
by LMurchison

I was not 100 % sure that this product would work for what we were needing it for, but it surpassed my expectations and we are 1000 % satisfied...

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LMurchison
colmesneil
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
weed wacker/trimmer
4/6/2014

Customer review by skmartin

4.0 stars 4/6/2014 by skmartin
by skmartin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It was exactly what we were looking for. Come w/ required mixed oil ratio, trimming blade, and instructions on how to properly care for product. For an additional $9.00 we got the extended 2 yr warrenty

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skmartin
Antioch, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great procduct
2/25/2013

Customer review by genellep

5.0 stars 2/25/2013 by genellep
by genellep
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i got this for my husband didn;r know if he would like it or not. but as soon as he got it he had to see if it was ok. he said that it cut good and was so light. and easy to handle. other that he had was to big. and hurt his back when he used it. but he like this one.

Was this review helpful? (212) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
genellep
BLACKSBURG,SC 29702
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well
4/21/2013

Customer review by Ggdd

4.0 stars 4/21/2013 by Ggdd
by Ggdd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just got this because my other weedeater finially went. Did not feel like spending over 100 dollars so got this. It works as expected and trims as well as my other more expensive trimmer. Starting is a bit of a task but if you follow steps it fires up without a problem. Would reccommend getting ethonal removal addiative, ethonal killed my other trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (84) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ggdd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value.. gets the job done easily
6/13/2016

Customer review by kl32

5.0 stars 6/13/2016 by kl32
by kl32
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recieved order on time in perfect condition. I followed instructions to start and it was running with just a few easy pulls.. i have not trimmed yet this year so had some tall weeds. everything worked good just as you would expect and it was one of the most affordable trimmers I saw. I would, without a doubt, make the same purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kl32
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/25/2013

Customer review by Loveitchy

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by Loveitchy
by Loveitchy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to assemble. Turns on easily and does not weigh much.

Was this review helpful? (102) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loveitchy
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the power this weeded has!
5/21/2016

Customer review by SusanT

5.0 stars 5/21/2016 by SusanT
by SusanT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have five acres that has to b e kept weed free that is really prolific in weeds that can grow at least as tall as me if are n're kept up. This weed wacker really cuts them down. One advantage for me is even with my weaker shoulder is that I can start it myself. I have not been able to for several years due to arthritis. The lower weight is also a great benefit with my limited weight bearing capabilities... And the price was great!

Was this review helpful? (46) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SusanT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 315 total reviews
1-20 of 315 reviews