Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 155 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

155 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

155 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
33
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 stars
42
1-20 of 151 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 151 total reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews
Paid only $84+tax, free s/h
8/16/2016

Customer review by McBearsNY

5.0 stars 8/16/2016 by McBearsNY
by McBearsNY

Those who are used to commercial grade trimmers--Maybe it would make a contract gardener puke but I like it and it started up immediately and cleared my yard , the only problem that happened almost immediately ---I let the line out longer than average and it wound around the stem/shaft just above the feeder head---no surprise as that happened with my weed eater , or most machines, except in this case it gets so perfectly wound in a channel that exists on this machine that it doesn't unwind easily if at all, so I had to cut the line and it hasn't done it again only because the line I cut is still wrapped around inside around the shaft leaving no room for recurrence --see photo. Here in NY the going rate for just a lawn the size of a cemetery plot is through the roof these days, so the trimmer paid for itself after one use. For novices be mindful good quality line makes a difference and the line that comes with the machine is standard, having a nice strong line gives any trimmer a better feel when cutting (and let the line feed through only one port as you work instead of 2).

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McBearsNY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great trimmer
9/12/2015

Customer review by LoveCamping1987

5.0 stars 9/12/2015 by LoveCamping1987
by LoveCamping1987

Ok, first off I don't go cheap when it comes to yard tools. The reason for that is they do not perform good. I have a Echo trimmer which I paid $400 for years ago and now It needs a tune up so till I get the time to get it fixed I bought this little murry to finish out the season with and then I was going to dispose of it. So how does it perform? Right out of the box it took a about 12 pulls to get it going but after it was craked it ran smooth and It is super powerful I couldn't believe the performance for $83.00 it blew my mind. It did kind of make my hand tingle with the vibration, but it could of been from me griping it so hard because I thought it was going twist out of my hand. It cut through tall grass like it was nothing. No bogging down one bit. Yes! I would recommend this trimmer to anyone I'll be deffently using this one a good bit if it lasts. It seems to have more power than my $400 Echo, but only time will tell if it will earn a good spot in my shed.

Was this review helpful? (45) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveCamping1987
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You get what you pay for
7/31/2016

Customer review by Bobbo

1.0 stars 7/31/2016 by Bobbo
by Bobbo

It is the cheapest straight shaft trimmer I could find and I figured that would suffice since I only use it about 20 times per year and have a small property. It did work okay for about a year and a half. But then it had problems starting and stalled frequently. I installed a new spark plug and cleaned the air filter. The same problems still existed. It got to the point that I could only run it with the throttle barely above the "start" position. And that was difficult to keep there. I was told by a mechanic that the issue was probably something between the carburetor and gas. I was not about to pay for maintenance that would probably cost as much as the original trimmer, so off to the garbage dump with it in less than 2 years. And I just bought a new high-end battery powered trimmer for a little less than twice the price that will be just as powerful and less hassle.

Was this review helpful? (2) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobbo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Professional quality for less.
4/30/2016

Customer review by guesswhocares

5.0 stars 4/30/2016 by guesswhocares
by guesswhocares

I am very pleased with this model. I've had weedeater brand trimmers for years and decided to try out the murray trimmer. I like that the unit is very serviceable. Bearings and gears in the gear box can be lubed as needed, whereas the weedeater brand trimmers could not be lubed. When needed, replacement parts are cheaper and readily available. I got my unit running with only 5 pulls of the recoil cord (not bad). It's not hard to use this murray trimmer at all and it weighs slightly heavier than the weedeater featherlite models. The straight shaft reaches under large diameter bushes easier than the curved shaft models. The trimmer head has a little learning curve, but is more versatile than the weedeater trimmer heads and can be refilled in about the same time. The spark plug is easy to access and there are great aftermarket equivalent plugs for this unit on the market ( I personally like Autolite's Xtreme Start plugs). Bottom line - It's a well made made unit that will do just fine for anyone who is patient and takes the time to learn about and properly maintain a two stroke engine. If you don't pay attention to details, your experience will be a poor one.

Was this review helpful? (30) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guesswhocares
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Trimmer for the money
5/19/2016

Customer review by TheTechGuy

5.0 stars 5/19/2016 by TheTechGuy
by TheTechGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As soon as I put this trimmer together and added the gas, it worked great. Just follow the instructions and it will work correctly. It's a medium to heavy duty for the power it has. I thought it would give out on me because my grass and weeds were tall. I did have to change the line often but because the vegetation was thick but this puppy did the job. Make sure to use Premium gas with the oil, it will make a difference. I try to trim my yard more often now that I have a new trimmer and know that it can handle the job but I will not let it grow high. Very pleased with this trimmer. Used it three separate times to finish the yard but I was impressed with its performance. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheTechGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Problems in tall grass
8/7/2016

Customer review by 3nt3r

5.0 stars 8/7/2016 by 3nt3r
by 3nt3r

The only problem I've had is in tall grass, after cutting the grass seems to wind around the head and stop the or slow it down. I cut a 1" PVC pipe about 3/4" long in half, placed it around the shaft where the head meets and taped it back together. Fixed my problem!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3nt3r
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You get more than you paid for...
4/4/2016

Customer review by Romandux

4.0 stars 4/4/2016 by Romandux
by Romandux

Just retired my ECHO workhorse. Bought it 16 years ago back when I had several acres, but now I only needed to maintain a small yard so no point in spending another $400+ on a new weed eater. Shopped around and found the mixed reviews regarding the Murray M2510. Ignoring the obvious complaints from those who had little to no understanding of 2-cycle motors, it became apparent that this was a hidden gem. Pros: - Excellent price point - Strong 25cc motor - Good line autofeed mechanism Cons: - Excessive vibration - Cheap foam air filter - Carb set screws are not easily adjustable If you are willing to put in a little time and effort up-front to prepare the unit for operation, this unit will prove to be a very durable and well functioning machine. 1). Break in the motor (if you have to ask - go buy an electric) 2). Replace the gear box grease with a good quality synthetic 3). Tune the carburetor for idle and full throttle via the set screws (you will need to either get the custom tool or make one) This unit definitely lacks the spit and polish of the higher dollar machines, but If you want a good foundation to work from, the Murray M2510 will definitely deliver more than you paid for.

Was this review helpful? (33) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Romandux
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Murray 16"
8/21/2016

Customer review by Mario

5.0 stars 8/21/2016 by Mario
by Mario
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordered the weed Wacker Murray 16" online. 10 minutes later received email my order was ready for pick up. Smooth transition thru out my order. Got home put together added mixed has two pulls started. Great product! Great price! Great experience! Mario

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't even order parts. Used 3 times.
8/21/2016

Customer review by Sherri

1.0 stars 8/21/2016 by Sherri
by Sherri

Don't buy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sherri
Would recommend to a friend? No
murray use to be the good
8/10/2016

Customer review by todd

1.0 stars 8/10/2016 by todd
by todd

my wife wanted this trimmer so she could weed eat with me so I got it after the frist 2 hours the engine come off the shaft the bolts fell out so I had to put back togeather and no power on the engine and it hard to start and it to short for tall people it good for short people and it's cheap made will not buy murray again ..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
todd
Would recommend to a friend? No
heavy shaft, short-price to value excellent
5/30/2014

Customer review by xxxxx1234

5.0 stars 5/30/2014 by xxxxx1234
by xxxxx1234

As some reviewers stated it has a short handle and is heavy.Thank the lawyers. The guard is most of the weight thanks to people complaining and suing over injuries.I think it may be bullet proof. IF you follow directions it is wonderful. line clogging all the time?Go from the left to the right throwing the grass and dirt away from you and keeping the string feed clean.Starting is full choke,full throttle,pull till it sounds like its trying to start,then full throttle half choke,start and warm up. All 2 strokes need full throttle to start. Some do it for you this does not. I can not,absolutely can not buy an electric string trimmer,a proper 12 gauge cord,a cord reel, for the price of this trimmer. I am very happy with this purchase and have had zero problems.I like the fact it is not carb compliant. California air resources board ruins all good motors and carbs.

Was this review helpful? (21) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xxxxx1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not worth it
6/7/2016

Customer review by meli

1.0 stars 6/7/2016 by meli
by meli

Will never buy another murray not worth 2 dead flies after less than a year the shaft and clutch both stripped and is not worth fixing. The motor runs good however but a motor is useless with out a useable shaft of course. Had trouble with the shaft assembly from day one the flex shaft was too short for the housing so it slipped, after finding this and fixing it was fair at best until it failed completely. The motor needed adjustments to the carb. after a few uses which needs a special tool or some modification to adjust, which I find annoying but I could deal with that if not for the poor quality everything else. In closing it is not worth the time or money.

Was this review helpful? (6) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meli
Would recommend to a friend? No
Yes but ?
8/3/2016

Customer review by OldGamer

3.0 stars 8/3/2016 by OldGamer
by OldGamer

First of all, I like the weedeater, plenty of power, cuts well, not to loud and little vibration. I'm 5'9" so the shaft wasn't really an issue. Here is my problem, replacing the string/head. This was not easy, now the bolt cover won't even stay on, the first time I replaced the string, it just unraveled in the first 2 minutes cutting. I'm to the point where I am just looking for a replacement head or a plastic/wire string.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldGamer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Murray trimmer
8/10/2016

Customer review by Snowbird79

5.0 stars 8/10/2016 by Snowbird79
by Snowbird79
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The trimmer arrived a little early and was exactly what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Snowbird79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
junk
8/11/2016

Customer review by wildbill115

1.0 stars 8/11/2016 by wildbill115
by wildbill115
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

4th pull motor locked up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wildbill115
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not very good
4/29/2016

Customer review by HighlandersLassie

2.0 stars 4/29/2016 by HighlandersLassie
by HighlandersLassie

Old weed eater broke and we had to get a new one. So we picked this one up and to quote my husband, "this weed eater is junk." We don't live in a town with just a sidewalk to trim around. We live out where there are banks and hills and things that must be weed eated. This trimmer did not work well at all. It bogged down on anything that wasn't just grass. My husband used it for less than 10 minutes. So maybe if you live in a town and just have to trim a little grass around your side walk or a border or something it might work for you. But it wasn't meant for anything more than that. We returned it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HighlandersLassie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Must have a broken one
5/5/2016

Customer review by Austin

1.0 stars 5/5/2016 by Austin
by Austin

It vibrated so much my arm's were tingling and my left hand that was holding the handle on the shaft was hurting so bad i couldn't even bend my fingers for a while after i finished. I've never had that happen with my previous weed eater that i had for 5 year's. I used it for about 20 minutes and returned it afterward's. My previous weed eater was a little more expensive and had a nice foam grip on the handle while this one was hard plastic. Half way through weed eating this yard it died on me and wouldn't start again for about 10 minutes. The string line fed great and was very easy to bump out more line because it was a speed feeder. I hope the next one i buy from Murray isn't as painful as this one was to wield. I will change my review if i find that the new one i get is different.

Was this review helpful? (6) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Austin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Murray Straight Shaft Trimmer
3/22/2016

Customer review by RayS

5.0 stars 3/22/2016 by RayS
by RayS

The Murray trimmer was very easy to assemble; after adding fuel to the gas tank, it started very easily. I let it idle for about 5 minutes before actually using it and it performed as advertised! I've only used it once so time will tell if this is a product that gives long-term performance.

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RayS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Porentially a GREAT Trimmer. Apply These Tweaks!
2/1/2016

Customer review by SFTBLCOACH

4.0 stars 2/1/2016 by SFTBLCOACH
by SFTBLCOACH

As the title implies, this trimmer has the potential to be a GREAT trimmer if you apply a few minor tweaks. Some of the negative reviews posted here are genuine complaints and have their individual merits - which I won't argue. However, there are many complaints about issues that are user generated, specifically, the complaints about the starting problems, poor idle, etc. Having read nearly all of the reviews posted here and on two other sites related to this trimmer, I purchased one with a fairly good idea what to watch out for and what to do to avoid some of those issues. Straight out of the box and assembled, it lacks the QA afforded to higher priced trimmers. The screws aren't tightened to a given spec, the engine hasn't been run for any amount of time other than to verify that it starts, etc. Since the engine hasn't been brought up to operating temp, it hasn't been tuned for optimal performance. I'll come back to that in a moment. And lastly, the grease in the gear box where the shaft turns 90° toward the ground has a minimal amount of thick, sub-par, generic grease which causes the heat issue some reviewers have mentioned as well as inhibiting its ability to spin freely without any extra effort by the engine. First and foremost is the fuel. Buy the best gas you can buy. Get it at a "top tier" gas station. Don't buy a lot. Only buy and have on hand, as much as you will use in a month. Gas goes stale after sitting for any length of time. Mix the fuel exactly as indicated - no more, no less. Measure the amount of oil you're adding, don't eyeball it. Lastly, add 2 oz. of fuel stabilizer (Sea Foam, etc.) to each gallon of premix. This will help keep the fuel fresh as well as helping to boost the cleaning agents in the fuel to keep the internal parts of the trimmer clean. When starting the trimmer for the first time, FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS to the letter! Once started, let it idle for about 10 mins. then continue running it at full throttle for another 5-10 mins. Once the engine comes up to operating temp, your trimmer will probably run rough to some degree. That's because it hasn't been tuned properly as mentioned above. If it runs great at full throttle but horrible at idle and/or if it idles fine but bogs down and acts like it's going to die when you squeeze the trigger, the fuel/air ratio needs to be adjusted. There are numerous how-to videos on YouTube that take you step-by-step through this procedure. The grease in the gearbox should be replaced with a full synthetic, high-temp grease like Mobil1 or Valvoline. This will reduce the friction and decrease the heat created by the gears. The head will spin faster and easier as a result. There are also some complaints that are legit but unfortunately, there is no solution, i.e., the length of the shaft, the weight, the balance, the long grass getting tangled up... Overall, this trimmer is a great value. If you apply the tweaks mentioned in this review, you will have a workhorse of a machine that will last for years. If you're not real tall, you won't be trimming tall grass a lot and you have the strength to carry it around without exerting yourself too much, this thing will astound you if for no other reason the price alone. However, if you're wanting a trimmer that is nearly perfectly weight balanced and starts on the first pull straight out of the box, you would be better served spending more money - much more money, for a trimmer with this size engine and cutting path.

Was this review helpful? (34) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SFTBLCOACH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Boy are my arms sore
5/8/2016

Customer review by Oldlady

4.0 stars 5/8/2016 by Oldlady
by Oldlady

Weed eater works really well. The only drawback for me is its top heavy and shakes real bad. If your not a 56 year old woman you should have no problem with this.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldlady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 151 total reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews