Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 177 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

177 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

177 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
69
4 stars
38
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 stars
46
1-20 of 173 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 173 total reviews
1-20 of 173 reviews
Paid only $84+tax, free s/h
8/16/2016

Customer review by McBearsNY

5.0 stars 8/16/2016 by McBearsNY
by McBearsNY

Those who are used to commercial grade trimmers--Maybe it would make a contract gardener puke but I like it and it started up immediately and cleared my yard , the only problem that happened almost immediately ---I let the line out longer than average and it wound around the stem/shaft just above the feeder head---no surprise as that happened with my weed eater , or most machines, except in this case it gets so perfectly wound in a channel that exists on this machine that it doesn't unwind easily if at all, so I had to cut the line and it hasn't done it again only because the line I cut is still wrapped around inside around the shaft leaving no room for recurrence --see photo. Here in NY the going rate for just a lawn the size of a cemetery plot is through the roof these days, so the trimmer paid for itself after one use. For novices be mindful good quality line makes a difference and the line that comes with the machine is standard, having a nice strong line gives any trimmer a better feel when cutting (and let the line feed through only one port as you work instead of 2).

Was this review helpful? (31) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McBearsNY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bump head does not feed
5/8/2017

Customer review by WeekendWarrior

1.0 stars 5/8/2017 by WeekendWarrior
by WeekendWarrior

This string trimmer was a great deal and mechanically it is so solid and VERY powerful. Starts right up. Loves the prescribed oil/gas mixture. It flat out runs great. THe fatal flaw was the bump head string feeder just does not work at all. I have messed with it and reloaded it so many times. I have attached You-tube videos etc. It just does not feed. String trimmers need to feed pretty consistently, so I find myself taking the head off every 10-20 feet (2- 5 minutes) . For every minute of us I get out of it, I spend the same amount of time taking the head off and getting more string to release. Surprised this is even on the market with such a flawed bump head system.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WeekendWarrior
Would recommend to a friend? No
3 years old and starts on 3rd pull everytime
5/14/2017

Customer review by TomUPSTATENY

5.0 stars 5/14/2017 by TomUPSTATENY
by TomUPSTATENY

I've had mine 3 years now just busted it out of shed from sitting all winter and started on 3 pull, I use the ready mix fuel. also I have the pivot trim on my as well,

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomUPSTATENY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great trimmer
9/12/2015

Customer review by LoveCamping1987

5.0 stars 9/12/2015 by LoveCamping1987
by LoveCamping1987

Ok, first off I don't go cheap when it comes to yard tools. The reason for that is they do not perform good. I have a Echo trimmer which I paid $400 for years ago and now It needs a tune up so till I get the time to get it fixed I bought this little murry to finish out the season with and then I was going to dispose of it. So how does it perform? Right out of the box it took a about 12 pulls to get it going but after it was craked it ran smooth and It is super powerful I couldn't believe the performance for $83.00 it blew my mind. It did kind of make my hand tingle with the vibration, but it could of been from me griping it so hard because I thought it was going twist out of my hand. It cut through tall grass like it was nothing. No bogging down one bit. Yes! I would recommend this trimmer to anyone I'll be deffently using this one a good bit if it lasts. It seems to have more power than my $400 Echo, but only time will tell if it will earn a good spot in my shed.

Was this review helpful? (89) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveCamping1987
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Murray 16" junk
5/5/2017

Customer review by Admiral

1.0 stars 5/5/2017 by Admiral
by Admiral

This thing is a total piece of junk. You will be sorry.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Admiral
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Value
3/21/2017

Customer review by Lakedenizen

5.0 stars 3/21/2017 by Lakedenizen
by Lakedenizen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchase this trimmer for light duty 2-3 times a year. Initial start up was easy if instructions on side of carburetor are followed, I used it for just over an hour. it had adequate power and used about 1/2 tank of fuel. I used premixed fuel as strongly recommended both in the instructions and by other reviewers.

Was this review helpful? (16) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lakedenizen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
heavy shaft, short-price to value excellent
5/30/2014

Customer review by xxxxx1234

5.0 stars 5/30/2014 by xxxxx1234
by xxxxx1234

As some reviewers stated it has a short handle and is heavy.Thank the lawyers. The guard is most of the weight thanks to people complaining and suing over injuries.I think it may be bullet proof. IF you follow directions it is wonderful. line clogging all the time?Go from the left to the right throwing the grass and dirt away from you and keeping the string feed clean.Starting is full choke,full throttle,pull till it sounds like its trying to start,then full throttle half choke,start and warm up. All 2 strokes need full throttle to start. Some do it for you this does not. I can not,absolutely can not buy an electric string trimmer,a proper 12 gauge cord,a cord reel, for the price of this trimmer. I am very happy with this purchase and have had zero problems.I like the fact it is not carb compliant. California air resources board ruins all good motors and carbs.

Was this review helpful? (40) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xxxxx1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Meh
5/8/2017

Customer review by MartyB

2.0 stars 5/8/2017 by MartyB
by MartyB

Hard to start. Following instructions, I barely had enough energy to use it. Line won't feed as needed either, I have to stop and hand feed it. Too much effort, thinking about selling this and getting a good battery one

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MartyB
Would recommend to a friend? No
murray weed eaters
3/9/2017

Customer review by blueberry

1.0 stars 3/9/2017 by blueberry
by blueberry

bought a new straight shaft .used 4 times and the clutch broke would not cut. carried back to walmart for replacement *they did not have any straight shafts in stock so had to get the curved one .used it 3 times motor lost all compression *i didnt even waste my time carrying it back *i will not buy any more of the murrays and will tell all my friends what happend with mine.

Was this review helpful? (14) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blueberry
Would recommend to a friend? No
Price ok, product only so so.
8/23/2014

Customer review by MaaBarker

2.0 stars 8/23/2014 by MaaBarker
by MaaBarker

Bought this because we read that straight shafts were easier on the back but shaft really lacks about 6-8 inches in length, hence still needing to lean over slightly and i am 5ft 9 in. tall. In addition, it idles perfectly, but throttle is way to touchy. when in proper operating mode (no choke) you would think that if you squeeze the throttle fully that it would accelerate to full speed however, this is not the case! It actually bogs the engine and slows down! I can only squeeze the throttle 35-40% to get full speed properly and the slightest movement of your finger in either direction bogs or slows it down which makes it extremely hard to keep at full speed!!! Another issue when operating is, if you get into even the slightest bit of high grass or weeds (even stuff roughly 5-6 in. high) the thing slows down and you have to back away from it to get it to speed up again. That's just ridiculous! Save your money and buy a higher quality trimmer!

Was this review helpful? (7) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaaBarker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Professional quality for less.
4/30/2016

Customer review by guesswhocares

5.0 stars 4/30/2016 by guesswhocares
by guesswhocares

I am very pleased with this model. I've had weedeater brand trimmers for years and decided to try out the murray trimmer. I like that the unit is very serviceable. Bearings and gears in the gear box can be lubed as needed, whereas the weedeater brand trimmers could not be lubed. When needed, replacement parts are cheaper and readily available. I got my unit running with only 5 pulls of the recoil cord (not bad). It's not hard to use this murray trimmer at all and it weighs slightly heavier than the weedeater featherlite models. The straight shaft reaches under large diameter bushes easier than the curved shaft models. The trimmer head has a little learning curve, but is more versatile than the weedeater trimmer heads and can be refilled in about the same time. The spark plug is easy to access and there are great aftermarket equivalent plugs for this unit on the market ( I personally like Autolite's Xtreme Start plugs). Bottom line - It's a well made made unit that will do just fine for anyone who is patient and takes the time to learn about and properly maintain a two stroke engine. If you don't pay attention to details, your experience will be a poor one.

Was this review helpful? (50) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guesswhocares
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Murray weedeater suck
4/27/2017

Customer review by cHRIS

1.0 stars 4/27/2017 by cHRIS
by cHRIS

2nd Murray m-2500 weed eater that has self-destructed in a 6 month period of time- Both have been treated well and used lightly- DON'T BUT THEM THEY ARE JUNK

Was this review helpful? (2) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cHRIS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Use the PRE-MIX gas oil off the shelf!
4/10/2013

Customer review by maddogpitt

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by maddogpitt
by maddogpitt

After having many problems with power equipment that wont start or wont run properly when it does. I find myself again looking for another trimmer this spring,my previous weedeaters,some I have used and mixed my own gas and oil for 15 yrs and I never had a problem.now I have purchased 3 in the last 3 years! same problems run good when new 2 months old,they become hard to start or wont start,if they do start they wont run long enough to get any thing done. this has happened with 2 stroke blowers also. Everyone says its the ETHANOL FUEL causing all the problems.and waranty folks will tell you its YOUR FAULT whatever happened to your unit,I been mixing gas/oil over 40 years with a ratio rite, never had problems like this until recent years. I read reviews at all the big online retailers, and If you go straight to the worst reviews instead of the highest you will find the same complaints and problems on all manufactures products! except the ultra high price models! so I chose to roll the dice on this one it had the straight shaft I wanted, it could be a little longer,Im 6 feet tall but it is no big problem. the price sealed the deal AT $80 it was $20 cheaper than the comparable Weed Eater at tractor supply, which I already have 3 of that wont run. I m going to use the premix fuel for the rest of season in this one. to see if it really makes a difference.

Was this review helpful? (96) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maddogpitt
Columbia, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Works awsome
5/21/2014

Customer review by ProductSergeant

5.0 stars 5/21/2014 by ProductSergeant
by ProductSergeant

After reading reviews from all stores...Theres pretty much the same with all trimmers. However what makes this trimmer is the price and a straight shaft. If you have shoped around like I did, Straight shaft trimmers are more expensive by about 10.00 to 20.00 more. Not this one. The price is cheaper than most in comparison of all 2 cycle 25cc. My grass edge was about knee high and 2 feet deep to the fence. assembly and prep was very easy, start up was great, and this Murray powered through the high grass without skipping a beat. And walmart sells attachments that do fit, but for the most part, it worked great, job well done.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProductSergeant
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Trimmer for the money
5/19/2016

Customer review by TheTechGuy

5.0 stars 5/19/2016 by TheTechGuy
by TheTechGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As soon as I put this trimmer together and added the gas, it worked great. Just follow the instructions and it will work correctly. It's a medium to heavy duty for the power it has. I thought it would give out on me because my grass and weeds were tall. I did have to change the line often but because the vegetation was thick but this puppy did the job. Make sure to use Premium gas with the oil, it will make a difference. I try to trim my yard more often now that I have a new trimmer and know that it can handle the job but I will not let it grow high. Very pleased with this trimmer. Used it three separate times to finish the yard but I was impressed with its performance. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (34) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheTechGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works----but.
6/8/2014

Customer review by Professortwo

2.0 stars 6/8/2014 by Professortwo
by Professortwo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Everything you've read about the shaft being too short is true---by about 8 inches. Assembly and start up was quick, simple and easy. Louder than expected, my neighbor said it sounds like a chainsaw. On the initial run and use, about 1/2 hour, it seemed to get overly hot and bog down. When I let off the throttle it stalled and would not restart. Once cooled, however, it started easily and has since, hot or cold. The elbow between the straight shaft and the cutting head quickly becomes very hot---poor lubrication? Now each time the trimmer is started the cutting head drags and is very slow to reach cutting speed---problem with the elbow? Carburetor mixture is too lean and the unit will only run well at about 1/2 choke. I've not figured out how to adjust the low and hi-speed screws. The trimmer does tangle easily in very tall, fine grass and is time consuming to clear. I've solved that by taking off the top 1/3 to 1/2 of such grass first and then coming back for the rest. My Homelite lasted 22 years. I'll be surprised if this one makes 2 years. But, it was under $70, even with the 2 year policy, which I expect to be using. Be prepared.

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Professortwo
MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You get what you pay for
7/31/2016

Customer review by Bobbo

1.0 stars 7/31/2016 by Bobbo
by Bobbo

It is the cheapest straight shaft trimmer I could find and I figured that would suffice since I only use it about 20 times per year and have a small property. It did work okay for about a year and a half. But then it had problems starting and stalled frequently. I installed a new spark plug and cleaned the air filter. The same problems still existed. It got to the point that I could only run it with the throttle barely above the "start" position. And that was difficult to keep there. I was told by a mechanic that the issue was probably something between the carburetor and gas. I was not about to pay for maintenance that would probably cost as much as the original trimmer, so off to the garbage dump with it in less than 2 years. And I just bought a new high-end battery powered trimmer for a little less than twice the price that will be just as powerful and less hassle.

Was this review helpful? (14) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobbo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Porentially a GREAT Trimmer. Apply These Tweaks!
2/1/2016

Customer review by SFTBLCOACH

4.0 stars 2/1/2016 by SFTBLCOACH
by SFTBLCOACH

As the title implies, this trimmer has the potential to be a GREAT trimmer if you apply a few minor tweaks. Some of the negative reviews posted here are genuine complaints and have their individual merits - which I won't argue. However, there are many complaints about issues that are user generated, specifically, the complaints about the starting problems, poor idle, etc. Having read nearly all of the reviews posted here and on two other sites related to this trimmer, I purchased one with a fairly good idea what to watch out for and what to do to avoid some of those issues. Straight out of the box and assembled, it lacks the QA afforded to higher priced trimmers. The screws aren't tightened to a given spec, the engine hasn't been run for any amount of time other than to verify that it starts, etc. Since the engine hasn't been brought up to operating temp, it hasn't been tuned for optimal performance. I'll come back to that in a moment. And lastly, the grease in the gear box where the shaft turns 90° toward the ground has a minimal amount of thick, sub-par, generic grease which causes the heat issue some reviewers have mentioned as well as inhibiting its ability to spin freely without any extra effort by the engine. First and foremost is the fuel. Buy the best gas you can buy. Get it at a "top tier" gas station. Don't buy a lot. Only buy and have on hand, as much as you will use in a month. Gas goes stale after sitting for any length of time. Mix the fuel exactly as indicated - no more, no less. Measure the amount of oil you're adding, don't eyeball it. Lastly, add 2 oz. of fuel stabilizer (Sea Foam, etc.) to each gallon of premix. This will help keep the fuel fresh as well as helping to boost the cleaning agents in the fuel to keep the internal parts of the trimmer clean. When starting the trimmer for the first time, FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS to the letter! Once started, let it idle for about 10 mins. then continue running it at full throttle for another 5-10 mins. Once the engine comes up to operating temp, your trimmer will probably run rough to some degree. That's because it hasn't been tuned properly as mentioned above. If it runs great at full throttle but horrible at idle and/or if it idles fine but bogs down and acts like it's going to die when you squeeze the trigger, the fuel/air ratio needs to be adjusted. There are numerous how-to videos on YouTube that take you step-by-step through this procedure. The grease in the gearbox should be replaced with a full synthetic, high-temp grease like Mobil1 or Valvoline. This will reduce the friction and decrease the heat created by the gears. The head will spin faster and easier as a result. There are also some complaints that are legit but unfortunately, there is no solution, i.e., the length of the shaft, the weight, the balance, the long grass getting tangled up... Overall, this trimmer is a great value. If you apply the tweaks mentioned in this review, you will have a workhorse of a machine that will last for years. If you're not real tall, you won't be trimming tall grass a lot and you have the strength to carry it around without exerting yourself too much, this thing will astound you if for no other reason the price alone. However, if you're wanting a trimmer that is nearly perfectly weight balanced and starts on the first pull straight out of the box, you would be better served spending more money - much more money, for a trimmer with this size engine and cutting path.

Was this review helpful? (51) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SFTBLCOACH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
POOR DESIGN
4/27/2013

Customer review by goldrushsam

1.0 stars 4/27/2013 by goldrushsam
by goldrushsam

I bought this trimmer at my local Wal Mart and it was a big mistake on my part. It is a very poor design. While it does have plenty of power and uses a thick cutting line it is extremely difficult to use. It is much heavier than any other trimmer I've owned and it is not properly balanced so it is a constant challenge to keep it at the proper angle for trimming without tearing up the ground. I've tried adjusting the handle but that does not work for me so I am in as constant "stoop" using it. It is impossible for me to do any close detail trimming without hitting the ground or what I'm trimming around. It appears to me the shaft it to short. You would think the company that makes these would put a little more thought and R&D into its product before it goes on the market. The only reason I gave it 1 star is because I could not go any lower. I am totally disgusted with it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goldrushsam
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
You get more than you paid for...
4/4/2016

Customer review by Romandux

4.0 stars 4/4/2016 by Romandux
by Romandux

Just retired my ECHO workhorse. Bought it 16 years ago back when I had several acres, but now I only needed to maintain a small yard so no point in spending another $400+ on a new weed eater. Shopped around and found the mixed reviews regarding the Murray M2510. Ignoring the obvious complaints from those who had little to no understanding of 2-cycle motors, it became apparent that this was a hidden gem. Pros: - Excellent price point - Strong 25cc motor - Good line autofeed mechanism Cons: - Excessive vibration - Cheap foam air filter - Carb set screws are not easily adjustable If you are willing to put in a little time and effort up-front to prepare the unit for operation, this unit will prove to be a very durable and well functioning machine. 1). Break in the motor (if you have to ask - go buy an electric) 2). Replace the gear box grease with a good quality synthetic 3). Tune the carburetor for idle and full throttle via the set screws (you will need to either get the custom tool or make one) This unit definitely lacks the spit and polish of the higher dollar machines, but If you want a good foundation to work from, the Murray M2510 will definitely deliver more than you paid for.

Was this review helpful? (43) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Romandux
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 173 total reviews
1-20 of 173 reviews