Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

94 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

5 stars
36
4 stars
17
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 stars
22
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
Impressed!
3/7/2013

Customer review by DeltaDan

4.0 stars by DeltaDan

I'm on a tight budget so I had to stay under $100 (I know, I know). So far I'm impressed with the Murray. I was surprised with the power and the cutting ability. I had a $69 Homelite UT32605 from HD that I abused for years. The bushing above the head finally gave out. It's not replaceable because it's crimped on. I would have had to buy a new, complete shaft for $50+ shipping. The current reviews on the Homelite that I had were not good, so I stayed away. There were no reviews on this Murray but I thought I would give it a shot. I decided to go for a straight shaft (despite some reservations) because you can replace/repair the bearing at the end of the shaft if it goes out and I have read they seem to be a bit more durable. I use trimmers for household use and at my rental to clear 1-2' weeds and along fences. I liked the extra reach of a straight shaft and it gets debris a bit further away from you. I thought it was a little easier to handle than a curved shaft for weed clearing. I'm glad I went with the straight shaft. The bump feed (at least with the factory loaded line) worked VERY well. In fact, I had to be a bit careful because if I touched the spool at all it would feed line .... be sure to not inadvertently touch the head to the ground like I do while you're trimming. I gave it 4 stars only because I haven't had it long enough to know if it's durable or what problems it might have later. So far, it's been great. PROS: lots of power, good balance, nice reach, very good bump head for line. CONS: I liked the large shield and it worked well, but it does not rotate so it's a bit difficult to see the head if you're edging. I may put on a shield that goes on the shaft so I can rotate it for different uses. It seemed to bog down sometimes when on it's side for edging. I WOULD recommend this to a friend or someone else. I think like all these two stroke engines, they're a little hard to start. I'm in Nor Cal so it's not very cold here. I have a little different starting technique than what they explain in the manual. I do press the primer several times and the throttle. Then I hold the trimmer by my left hand, put the choke in position 1, place one of my left fingers under the throttle and hold it half way down and pull the cord. As soon as I hear it wanting to start I put the choke on 2, keep the throttle half way down and pull the cord. I noticed on this one that it needed to warm up for a several minutes on position 2 choke and I started trimming with it in that position. Then I went to no choke. After you shut it off for a bit you may have to repeat the steps, but it starts easier. With this one and the others I've owned it seem holding the throttle in half position makes it a bit easier to start.

Was this review helpful? (83) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DeltaDan
Nor Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Use the PRE-MIX gas oil off the shelf!
4/10/2013

Customer review by maddogpitt

5.0 stars by maddogpitt

After having many problems with power equipment that wont start or wont run properly when it does. I find myself again looking for another trimmer this spring,my previous weedeaters,some I have used and mixed my own gas and oil for 15 yrs and I never had a problem.now I have purchased 3 in the last 3 years! same problems run good when new 2 months old,they become hard to start or wont start,if they do start they wont run long enough to get any thing done. this has happened with 2 stroke blowers also. Everyone says its the ETHANOL FUEL causing all the problems.and waranty folks will tell you its YOUR FAULT whatever happened to your unit,I been mixing gas/oil over 40 years with a ratio rite, never had problems like this until recent years. I read reviews at all the big online retailers, and If you go straight to the worst reviews instead of the highest you will find the same complaints and problems on all manufactures products! except the ultra high price models! so I chose to roll the dice on this one it had the straight shaft I wanted, it could be a little longer,Im 6 feet tall but it is no big problem. the price sealed the deal AT $80 it was $20 cheaper than the comparable Weed Eater at tractor supply, which I already have 3 of that wont run. I m going to use the premix fuel for the rest of season in this one. to see if it really makes a difference.

Was this review helpful? (64) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
maddogpitt
Columbia, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Don't buy
7/4/2013

Customer review by Sdkjkar

1.0 stars by Sdkjkar

Quit three months after I purchased it. Still under warranty. Took it to an anthorized service center. Trouble was a defect in the carburetor. Cost $30 to repair. Warranty would not cover the defect because the manufacturer blames the problem on the ethanol in our fuel. It eats up the rubber fuel lines used on the machine.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sdkjkar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Great Trimmer
6/4/2014

Customer review by TheFactsAboutProducts

5.0 stars by TheFactsAboutProducts

I bought this trimmer about 2 weeks ago (My other one got stolen off my patio) and man this thing can put out some power, I cut the edges of my back yard that had grass about 3ft tall (to my knee) and this thing just blasted through it. I did buy some Professional Trimmer String, which is very thick, and allows this trimmer to cut very thick brush. I don't understand why there are so many 1 star reviews, I'm assuming they don’t know how to work a gas trimmer (They got Electric Now-a-days if you can't handle gas#. When you first start it #Brand New#, OF COURSE it's going to run a little odd #It's never been started before#. All I did was after I put everything together I started it and let it sit in the yard running for about 10 minutes #To start breaking it in#, after that it runs like a CHAMP, and you don’t need to let it sit every time just that one time when you first start it out of the box. I took it to my dad’s last week and showed him and this thing ripped through weeds his Troy Built was struggling on. I went over there the other night and guess who went to Wal-Mart and got them one #My dad did# and is loving it. Great, Great Trimmer, Ignore the 1 star reviews; they either don't know how to use a 2 cycle trimmer or promoting some other brand. Mine usually starts in 3-5 pulls, First you prime it #4-8 pumps#, then you put in #1 #Full Choke#, While in full choke pull it 2-3 Times until it tries to start up, then put it in #2 and pull again, mine usually starts after about 2 pulls on #2. Also the trimmer that got stolen was the Curved Shaft Version of this Trimmer, I had it for 2 years #Before it got stolen) and it still ran like it did the first day I bought it, so this trimmer will stand the test of time.

Was this review helpful? (38) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheFactsAboutProducts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT TRIMMER FOR THE PRICE
4/19/2013

Customer review by TurkeyThug

4.0 stars by TurkeyThug

I purchased this as back up for my lawn business and I am very happy with it so far. It was quick and easy to put together, filled it up with gas, and within 30 seconds had it trimming weeds. I don't know about the longevity of it, but so far I am pleased.

Was this review helpful? (23) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TurkeyThug
Millbrook, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
heavy shaft, short-price to value excellent
5/30/2014

Customer review by xxxxx1234

5.0 stars by xxxxx1234

As some reviewers stated it has a short handle and is heavy.Thank the lawyers. The guard is most of the weight thanks to people complaining and suing over injuries.I think it may be bullet proof. IF you follow directions it is wonderful. line clogging all the time?Go from the left to the right throwing the grass and dirt away from you and keeping the string feed clean.Starting is full choke,full throttle,pull till it sounds like its trying to start,then full throttle half choke,start and warm up. All 2 strokes need full throttle to start. Some do it for you this does not. I can not,absolutely can not buy an electric string trimmer,a proper 12 gauge cord,a cord reel, for the price of this trimmer. I am very happy with this purchase and have had zero problems.I like the fact it is not carb compliant. California air resources board ruins all good motors and carbs.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
xxxxx1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good buy
6/12/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars by An anonymous customer

Finally got a wacker that starts right up. A little heavy and a little short for tall people (I'm 6'2) but starts, runs and cuts great. I have had all kinds of wackers over the years and this and a Craftsman I had, have been the best for reliability and value. Plenty of power and starts great if you just follow the mix instruction closely. No problems here.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
RI and Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/1/2013

Customer review by BenRic

5.0 stars by BenRic

Great little piece of machinery. Does the job.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BenRic
Suwanee GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awsome trimmer
6/27/2014

Customer review by Dawnzie14320

5.0 stars by Dawnzie14320

My husband loves this trimmer. He is very tall and was impressed that he didnt have to hunch over while using. He is also thrilled that he can get the universal attachments.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Dawnzie14320
pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works awsome
5/21/2014

Customer review by ProductSergeant

5.0 stars by ProductSergeant

After reading reviews from all stores...Theres pretty much the same with all trimmers. However what makes this trimmer is the price and a straight shaft. If you have shoped around like I did, Straight shaft trimmers are more expensive by about 10.00 to 20.00 more. Not this one. The price is cheaper than most in comparison of all 2 cycle 25cc. My grass edge was about knee high and 2 feet deep to the fence. assembly and prep was very easy, start up was great, and this Murray powered through the high grass without skipping a beat. And walmart sells attachments that do fit, but for the most part, it worked great, job well done.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ProductSergeant
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Computer to store order.
4/25/2013

Customer review by whiteastro

5.0 stars by whiteastro

Got a text the very next day that my weedeater had arrived at my home store, Quick friendly service, plus my wife is happy because we have no more weeds in our yard.... Happy wife Happy life....

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
whiteastro
Louisville, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Design flaw= string gets wrapped up in the gap at
6/26/2013

Customer review by nater61

3.0 stars by nater61

the string gets caught inside the little gap at the top of the spool

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nater61
Lehigh Acres Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product with an excellent value price.
6/15/2014

Customer review by sweetgrammy2u

5.0 stars by sweetgrammy2u

Not to sound cliche, but I read all the reviews about this product and felt comfortable enough to purchase it.I wanted a straight shaft for my husband that had a reasonable price. He has health issues so this type of trimmer was much better for him than a curved one. Meaning he doesn't have to bend and reach as much. It is working out great for him in that aspect. One thing I think I should address is what kind of made me hesitant a little, some of the reviews stated there was a problem starting the trimmer. I asked my husband about this showed him the reviews and he said that is not a problem. He said if most men have used a 2cycle gas ignition system this trimmer would work just fine. Starts on the 2nd pull,cuts with power,and is easy on his back. Line feeds with ease. I would recommend this product. Have a great day.

Was this review helpful? (34) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sweetgrammy2u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/6/2013

Customer review by Cabrunco

4.0 stars by Cabrunco

I have been trying to find a weed eater at a decent price that seemed like it would work. My father-in-law has a Craftsman trimmer similar to this one http://www.sears.com/craftsman-32cc-4-cycle-straight-shaft-weedwacker-8482-gas/p-07173193000P?prdNo=2&blockNo=2&blockType=G2, that I have used many times and found very easy to use. Much like the more expensive Craftsman, this trimmer was extremely easy to assemble and can be separated into two parts for storage if space is needed. The only reason that I do not give the trimmer five stars is because it has the common bump feed style trimmer head. To fix this problem I also bought a replacement head that uses easy to change single strands instead of the horrible bump feed line. The new head makes trimming the entire yard quick and painless. I no longer have to deal with the line failing to feed properly causing me to have to stop and take the trimmer head apart. I simply cut several pieces of line before I start and keep them in my pocket so as they get too short I put a new strand in place. They do make a trimmer with this style head but it was $40 more and the replacement head was only $18. I have used several trimmers in my life both gas and electric. There is nothing worse than being limited by the size of the extension cord or in the alternative having to wind up a huge cord at the end of the work. The gas engine provides enough power to trim the yard even when the grass is overgrown and thick. The engine does cause a lot of vibration but that is to be expected with this size engine just like the Craftsman listed above. Overall I would definitely recommend this trimmer to people. It is a great value and worked just like it should.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cabrunco
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
I like the Murray 17" Trimmer, but
4/7/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I am 6'2" in height, and the Trimmer hurts my back, because it isn't long enough. other then that it runs great, starts every time. the price was good. if Murray make's an 6" to 8" extinction for the shaft I would buy one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Stilwell, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
POOR DESIGN
4/27/2013

Customer review by goldrushsam

1.0 stars by goldrushsam

I bought this trimmer at my local Wal Mart and it was a big mistake on my part. It is a very poor design. While it does have plenty of power and uses a thick cutting line it is extremely difficult to use. It is much heavier than any other trimmer I've owned and it is not properly balanced so it is a constant challenge to keep it at the proper angle for trimming without tearing up the ground. I've tried adjusting the handle but that does not work for me so I am in as constant "stoop" using it. It is impossible for me to do any close detail trimming without hitting the ground or what I'm trimming around. It appears to me the shaft it to short. You would think the company that makes these would put a little more thought and R&D into its product before it goes on the market. The only reason I gave it 1 star is because I could not go any lower. I am totally disgusted with it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
goldrushsam
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
its ok
4/26/2013

Customer review by gctjr

3.0 stars by gctjr

just bought and used for the first time.I bought this one because of the straight shaft.Personal preference I guess.Easy to put together.Seemed like it needed to warm up awhile before it would run with no choke.Engine may have a break in period before it runs better.Not too heavy.I just use it at home around my house.Its definitely not a shindaiwa!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gctjr
mineral ridge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works----but.
6/8/2014

Customer review by Professortwo

2.0 stars by Professortwo

Everything you've read about the shaft being too short is true---by about 8 inches. Assembly and start up was quick, simple and easy. Louder than expected, my neighbor said it sounds like a chainsaw. On the initial run and use, about 1/2 hour, it seemed to get overly hot and bog down. When I let off the throttle it stalled and would not restart. Once cooled, however, it started easily and has since, hot or cold. The elbow between the straight shaft and the cutting head quickly becomes very hot---poor lubrication? Now each time the trimmer is started the cutting head drags and is very slow to reach cutting speed---problem with the elbow? Carburetor mixture is too lean and the unit will only run well at about 1/2 choke. I've not figured out how to adjust the low and hi-speed screws. The trimmer does tangle easily in very tall, fine grass and is time consuming to clear. I've solved that by taking off the top 1/3 to 1/2 of such grass first and then coming back for the rest. My Homelite lasted 22 years. I'll be surprised if this one makes 2 years. But, it was under $70, even with the 2 year policy, which I expect to be using. Be prepared.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Professortwo
MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a Waste
6/30/2013

Customer review by john67361

1.0 stars by john67361

Might work well if a person trims everyday but if the grass gets tall enough to wrap around the shaft it jams up and the clutch slips..Dont waste your money this JUNK and buy a good brand at a higher price..you will save money over the long run..and time from not having to stop and pull out the pocket knife to clean the head

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
john67361
Sedan,Ks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Don't buy this. Run away as fast as you can.
4/26/2014

Customer review by LordBeavis

1.0 stars by LordBeavis

Wow... This is probably the worst purchase I have ever made. I have a Weed Eater brand Twist N Edge that finally gave up after about 8 summers. I saw this one on a previous trip to Wal-Mart and thought it looked like a good unit. I should have listened to the other 1 star reviews. Used it for about 20 minutes and the string stopped feeding. Remove the reel and noticed that the indexing tabs were warped. Must be the heat that is generated in the angled part of the drive shaft as this part was almost to hot to touch. It's going back and I will never buy a Murray product again. I gave it 1 star because I couldn't give none (or negative).

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LordBeavis
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 90 total reviews