Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.3out of 5 stars
3.3 out of 5 | 197 reviews
5 stars
74
4 stars
40
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 stars
57
Sort by: 
1-20 of 192 reviews
1-20 of 192 reviews
Paid only $84+tax, free s/h
8/16/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Those who are used to commercial grade trimmers--Maybe it would make a contract gardener puke but I like it and it started up immediately and cleared my yard , the only problem that happened almost immediately ---I let the line out longer than average and it wound around the stem/shaft just above the feeder head---no surprise as that happened with my weed eater , or most machines, except in this case it gets so perfectly wound in a channel that exists on this machine that it doesn't unwind easily if at all, so I had to cut the line and it hasn't done it again only because the line I cut is still wrapped around inside around the shaft leaving no room for recurrence --see photo. Here in NY the going rate for just a lawn the size of a cemetery plot is through the roof these days, so the trimmer paid for itself after one use. For novices be mindful good quality line makes a difference and the line that comes with the machine is standard, having a nice strong line gives any trimmer a better feel when cutting (and let the line feed through only one port as you work instead of 2).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (54)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great trimmer
9/12/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ok, first off I don't go cheap when it comes to yard tools. The reason for that is they do not perform good. I have a Echo trimmer which I paid $400 for years ago and now It needs a tune up so till I get the time to get it fixed I bought this little murry to finish out the season with and then I was going to dispose of it. So how does it perform? Right out of the box it took a about 12 pulls to get it going but after it was craked it ran smooth and It is super powerful I couldn't believe the performance for $83.00 it blew my mind. It did kind of make my hand tingle with the vibration, but it could of been from me griping it so hard because I thought it was going twist out of my hand. It cut through tall grass like it was nothing. No bogging down one bit. Yes! I would recommend this trimmer to anyone I'll be deffently using this one a good bit if it lasts. It seems to have more power than my $400 Echo, but only time will tell if it will earn a good spot in my shed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (110)No (38)
Report
Was this review helpful?
only lasted 3 months
9/7/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The head no longer spins when squeezing the throttle. Murray is a poor brand unless you are only going to use it for a few months. I went to a local Saw & Mower shop and told them about murray and as soon as i said the name they shook their head and sighed. Murray has a reputation for substandard quality and low reliability in all of their products (mowers too).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
piece of garbage
6/13/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This weedeater is NOT an easy start. It takes 10 to 20 pulls to start it. The bobbin tangles EVERY time I use it. I have had 3 different ppl wind it one being a professional yard service person. After being hung up on by their customer service because I don't care had the guy winds his bobbin. I am returning the weedeater . I will never own a murray product again. I havd about 30 years of experience with weed wackers. This is the worst product I have ever owned.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't buy
9/15/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this weed eater at the end of August last year. It is already broken. Had it serviced and was told it only has 80% compression, wont start. It has to be junked. Only correct oil and gas mixture used, never dropped. Piece of junk. Now I have to buy another one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't even get what you pay for
7/19/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am a mechanic on everything from small engines to semis and have had many different weed eaters over the years. Never have I had a 2 year old Murray break, but that is exactly what happened. Wouldn't start, pull cord only pulled partially and stuck. Took block apart and found the piston missing a chunk on the edge, which was stuck to the face of the piston preventing it from going top dead center and also ruining the cylinder and spark plug. The rest of the piston looked immaculate, no heat damage or noticeable cracks. No explanation. No excuse. The replacement part, 753-06929 Short Block Assembly, is 56.XX online so as you see just spend the 20 or so more for a better product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
heavy shaft, short-price to value excellent
5/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As some reviewers stated it has a short handle and is heavy.Thank the lawyers. The guard is most of the weight thanks to people complaining and suing over injuries.I think it may be bullet proof. IF you follow directions it is wonderful. line clogging all the time?Go from the left to the right throwing the grass and dirt away from you and keeping the string feed clean.Starting is full choke,full throttle,pull till it sounds like its trying to start,then full throttle half choke,start and warm up. All 2 strokes need full throttle to start. Some do it for you this does not. I can not,absolutely can not buy an electric string trimmer,a proper 12 gauge cord,a cord reel, for the price of this trimmer. I am very happy with this purchase and have had zero problems.I like the fact it is not carb compliant. California air resources board ruins all good motors and carbs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
WORST Brand made ! Very HARD TO START.
8/28/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this and 2 other MTD trimmers for my family and their homes and REGRET buying this GARBAGE brand ! I bought them and it was kind of hard to start and I called customer service and was told that it was just how they are and it should get easier to start after a break in period. I have FRESH gas w/2 cycle oil and even bought new spark plugs and still pull these for 10 minutes are so TRYING to get them running ! Also the MTD 2500 that I bought 2 of are even WORSE ! The kick in the pants is I bought 2 chain saw kits and 2 edger kits for the 2500 units because the MTD Box said the attachments are ..UNIVERSAL and fill all the MTD trimmers. After trying to put the 2 MALE ends together I called Tech Support again and they knew I had called complaining about the starting issues and told them these are garbage so they had all my info and talked down to me and were very RUDE and said they would check why it is NOT fitting the MTD 2500 units. They called back a few days later and told me those UNIVERSAL attachment kits that were said to fit ALL MTD trimmers....well they will NOT work on the 2500 series !!!! So I am STUCK with them and I threw away the 4 boxes for the edgers and chain saws ! I would NEVER.....EVER BUY ANYTHING WITH THE MTD NAME ON IT !
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Professional quality for less.
4/30/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am very pleased with this model. I've had weedeater brand trimmers for years and decided to try out the murray trimmer. I like that the unit is very serviceable. Bearings and gears in the gear box can be lubed as needed, whereas the weedeater brand trimmers could not be lubed. When needed, replacement parts are cheaper and readily available. I got my unit running with only 5 pulls of the recoil cord (not bad). It's not hard to use this murray trimmer at all and it weighs slightly heavier than the weedeater featherlite models. The straight shaft reaches under large diameter bushes easier than the curved shaft models. The trimmer head has a little learning curve, but is more versatile than the weedeater trimmer heads and can be refilled in about the same time. The spark plug is easy to access and there are great aftermarket equivalent plugs for this unit on the market ( I personally like Autolite's Xtreme Start plugs). Bottom line - It's a well made made unit that will do just fine for anyone who is patient and takes the time to learn about and properly maintain a two stroke engine. If you don't pay attention to details, your experience will be a poor one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (59)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't buy this trimmer unless you love adventure
6/26/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used Black and Decker trimmer before. It worked great but needs to be charged hours before use. It is because of this reason I bought this gas powered trimmer thinking that it is always ready the time I want to use. But it was a very disappointing experience. The worst issue is that the trim line won't come out at all! Secondly, it is very noisy and vibrates a lot at position 2 and 3 with it is weight you can't hold that for long. This one of the wort trimmers that engineering can produce.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bump head does not feed
5/8/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This string trimmer was a great deal and mechanically it is so solid and VERY powerful. Starts right up. Loves the prescribed oil/gas mixture. It flat out runs great. THe fatal flaw was the bump head string feeder just does not work at all. I have messed with it and reloaded it so many times. I have attached You-tube videos etc. It just does not feed. String trimmers need to feed pretty consistently, so I find myself taking the head off every 10-20 feet (2- 5 minutes) . For every minute of us I get out of it, I spend the same amount of time taking the head off and getting more string to release. Surprised this is even on the market with such a flawed bump head system.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect!
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Perfect to have and will buy another one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Trimmer for the money
5/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
As soon as I put this trimmer together and added the gas, it worked great. Just follow the instructions and it will work correctly. It's a medium to heavy duty for the power it has. I thought it would give out on me because my grass and weeds were tall. I did have to change the line often but because the vegetation was thick but this puppy did the job. Make sure to use Premium gas with the oil, it will make a difference. I try to trim my yard more often now that I have a new trimmer and know that it can handle the job but I will not let it grow high. Very pleased with this trimmer. Used it three separate times to finish the yard but I was impressed with its performance. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (40)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Price ok, product only so so.
8/23/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this because we read that straight shafts were easier on the back but shaft really lacks about 6-8 inches in length, hence still needing to lean over slightly and i am 5ft 9 in. tall. In addition, it idles perfectly, but throttle is way to touchy. when in proper operating mode (no choke) you would think that if you squeeze the throttle fully that it would accelerate to full speed however, this is not the case! It actually bogs the engine and slows down! I can only squeeze the throttle 35-40% to get full speed properly and the slightest movement of your finger in either direction bogs or slows it down which makes it extremely hard to keep at full speed!!! Another issue when operating is, if you get into even the slightest bit of high grass or weeds (even stuff roughly 5-6 in. high) the thing slows down and you have to back away from it to get it to speed up again. That's just ridiculous! Save your money and buy a higher quality trimmer!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
modification required
7/29/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've owned my Murray for about 17 months now. I learned that I have to follow the starting instructions to the letter, then it runs fine. Proper engine leaning relies on fine adjustment of the choke. The biggest problem was that the line feed bump knob kept breaking. The holder washer kept dislodging and getting lost. I ordered a couple of after-market bump knobs and figured out a solution. The knobs were designated "Stens 385-906 Bump Knob". I bought a couple of fender washers which fit inside the bump knobs' outer rims. I drilled the center holes out so that they slid easily over the trimmer's bump knob mooring shaft. I pried out the original holding washers, and used a hobby tool to remove the plastic lips which held the original washers in place. This exposed the square-head hold-down bolts. I filled the outer ring with a reinforced epoxy, like JB Weld, increasing the thickness toward the outer rim. The holder bolt must remain free to slide up and down, so I kept the epoxy away from the bolt. I lowered the fender washer, and filled epoxy around the outside rim for a secure glue-up. When dried the new bump knobs were far more stable and secure than the originals. It took some work, but I went from a two-star trimmer to a five star trimmer .....for about $100. Compare that to the competition.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Por qulity short life
9/6/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This the 2nt one I have had. the first one ran for two tanks of gas. something broke inside whodunit run made a retelling noise if you shock it. Walmart gave me a 2nt ono since the first one was only 2 weeks old. weal hear we are again about 6tanks of gas won't run just stopped and won't start. manufacture told me to try new spark plug .don't work. now Walmart won't replace or fix it ben longer than 90 days. manufacture must ship at my expense both ways. cost more to ship than thing cost new. bad product will never buy one of this brand again. this thing is a pace of cheap junk!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3 years old and starts on 3rd pull everytime
5/14/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had mine 3 years now just busted it out of shed from sitting all winter and started on 3 pull, I use the ready mix fuel. also I have the pivot trim on my as well,
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First day ok
8/16/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this Murray 25cc weed trimmer this week - used it today. Simple assembly, looks cool, it was a snap. Got some 40-1 pre-mixed gas from Lowes(I usually mix it myself but instructions recommended this). Followed instructions to a T and as it said it would start after five pulls, it cranked right up on fifth pull and ran fine all day. It replaces an old well worn HD Homelite trimmer that quit earlier this summer. Happy with it so far and looking forward to a great relationship . My Murray rider mower is the best I have had over the years on my acre plus yard.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Grateful to have a trimmer
9/1/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
While it worked well, it ran out of string quickly. I recommend buying extra string at the time of purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
You get what you pay for
7/31/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It is the cheapest straight shaft trimmer I could find and I figured that would suffice since I only use it about 20 times per year and have a small property. It did work okay for about a year and a half. But then it had problems starting and stalled frequently. I installed a new spark plug and cleaned the air filter. The same problems still existed. It got to the point that I could only run it with the throttle barely above the "start" position. And that was difficult to keep there. I was told by a mechanic that the issue was probably something between the carburetor and gas. I was not about to pay for maintenance that would probably cost as much as the original trimmer, so off to the garbage dump with it in less than 2 years. And I just bought a new high-end battery powered trimmer for a little less than twice the price that will be just as powerful and less hassle.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641777, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-