Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 146 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

146 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

146 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
33
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 stars
38
1-20 of 142 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews
Great trimmer
9/12/2015

Customer review by LoveCamping1987

5.0 stars 9/12/2015 by LoveCamping1987
by LoveCamping1987

Ok, first off I don't go cheap when it comes to yard tools. The reason for that is they do not perform good. I have a Echo trimmer which I paid $400 for years ago and now It needs a tune up so till I get the time to get it fixed I bought this little murry to finish out the season with and then I was going to dispose of it. So how does it perform? Right out of the box it took a about 12 pulls to get it going but after it was craked it ran smooth and It is super powerful I couldn't believe the performance for $83.00 it blew my mind. It did kind of make my hand tingle with the vibration, but it could of been from me griping it so hard because I thought it was going twist out of my hand. It cut through tall grass like it was nothing. No bogging down one bit. Yes! I would recommend this trimmer to anyone I'll be deffently using this one a good bit if it lasts. It seems to have more power than my $400 Echo, but only time will tell if it will earn a good spot in my shed.

Was this review helpful? (39) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveCamping1987
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Professional quality for less.
4/30/2016

Customer review by guesswhocares

5.0 stars 4/30/2016 by guesswhocares
by guesswhocares

I am very pleased with this model. I've had weedeater brand trimmers for years and decided to try out the murray trimmer. I like that the unit is very serviceable. Bearings and gears in the gear box can be lubed as needed, whereas the weedeater brand trimmers could not be lubed. When needed, replacement parts are cheaper and readily available. I got my unit running with only 5 pulls of the recoil cord (not bad). It's not hard to use this murray trimmer at all and it weighs slightly heavier than the weedeater featherlite models. The straight shaft reaches under large diameter bushes easier than the curved shaft models. The trimmer head has a little learning curve, but is more versatile than the weedeater trimmer heads and can be refilled in about the same time. The spark plug is easy to access and there are great aftermarket equivalent plugs for this unit on the market ( I personally like Autolite's Xtreme Start plugs). Bottom line - It's a well made made unit that will do just fine for anyone who is patient and takes the time to learn about and properly maintain a two stroke engine. If you don't pay attention to details, your experience will be a poor one.

Was this review helpful? (27) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guesswhocares
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Trimmer for the money
5/19/2016

Customer review by TheTechGuy

5.0 stars 5/19/2016 by TheTechGuy
by TheTechGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As soon as I put this trimmer together and added the gas, it worked great. Just follow the instructions and it will work correctly. It's a medium to heavy duty for the power it has. I thought it would give out on me because my grass and weeds were tall. I did have to change the line often but because the vegetation was thick but this puppy did the job. Make sure to use Premium gas with the oil, it will make a difference. I try to trim my yard more often now that I have a new trimmer and know that it can handle the job but I will not let it grow high. Very pleased with this trimmer. Used it three separate times to finish the yard but I was impressed with its performance. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheTechGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You get more than you paid for...
4/4/2016

Customer review by Romandux

4.0 stars 4/4/2016 by Romandux
by Romandux

Just retired my ECHO workhorse. Bought it 16 years ago back when I had several acres, but now I only needed to maintain a small yard so no point in spending another $400+ on a new weed eater. Shopped around and found the mixed reviews regarding the Murray M2510. Ignoring the obvious complaints from those who had little to no understanding of 2-cycle motors, it became apparent that this was a hidden gem. Pros: - Excellent price point - Strong 25cc motor - Good line autofeed mechanism Cons: - Excessive vibration - Cheap foam air filter - Carb set screws are not easily adjustable If you are willing to put in a little time and effort up-front to prepare the unit for operation, this unit will prove to be a very durable and well functioning machine. 1). Break in the motor (if you have to ask - go buy an electric) 2). Replace the gear box grease with a good quality synthetic 3). Tune the carburetor for idle and full throttle via the set screws (you will need to either get the custom tool or make one) This unit definitely lacks the spit and polish of the higher dollar machines, but If you want a good foundation to work from, the Murray M2510 will definitely deliver more than you paid for.

Was this review helpful? (28) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Romandux
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Must have a broken one
5/5/2016

Customer review by Austin

1.0 stars 5/5/2016 by Austin
by Austin

It vibrated so much my arm's were tingling and my left hand that was holding the handle on the shaft was hurting so bad i couldn't even bend my fingers for a while after i finished. I've never had that happen with my previous weed eater that i had for 5 year's. I used it for about 20 minutes and returned it afterward's. My previous weed eater was a little more expensive and had a nice foam grip on the handle while this one was hard plastic. Half way through weed eating this yard it died on me and wouldn't start again for about 10 minutes. The string line fed great and was very easy to bump out more line because it was a speed feeder. I hope the next one i buy from Murray isn't as painful as this one was to wield. I will change my review if i find that the new one i get is different.

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Austin
Would recommend to a friend? No
not worth it
6/7/2016

Customer review by meli

1.0 stars 6/7/2016 by meli
by meli

Will never buy another murray not worth 2 dead flies after less than a year the shaft and clutch both stripped and is not worth fixing. The motor runs good however but a motor is useless with out a useable shaft of course. Had trouble with the shaft assembly from day one the flex shaft was too short for the housing so it slipped, after finding this and fixing it was fair at best until it failed completely. The motor needed adjustments to the carb. after a few uses which needs a special tool or some modification to adjust, which I find annoying but I could deal with that if not for the poor quality everything else. In closing it is not worth the time or money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meli
Would recommend to a friend? No
Boy are my arms sore
5/8/2016

Customer review by Oldlady

4.0 stars 5/8/2016 by Oldlady
by Oldlady

Weed eater works really well. The only drawback for me is its top heavy and shakes real bad. If your not a 56 year old woman you should have no problem with this.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldlady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not very good
4/29/2016

Customer review by HighlandersLassie

2.0 stars 4/29/2016 by HighlandersLassie
by HighlandersLassie

Old weed eater broke and we had to get a new one. So we picked this one up and to quote my husband, "this weed eater is junk." We don't live in a town with just a sidewalk to trim around. We live out where there are banks and hills and things that must be weed eated. This trimmer did not work well at all. It bogged down on anything that wasn't just grass. My husband used it for less than 10 minutes. So maybe if you live in a town and just have to trim a little grass around your side walk or a border or something it might work for you. But it wasn't meant for anything more than that. We returned it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HighlandersLassie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst Weed Eater Ever
6/9/2016

Customer review by Chumney

1.0 stars 6/9/2016 by Chumney
by Chumney

Not pleased at all as soon as It touched grass it almost shut off all it has done is tangle up. It didn't even stay together it vibrates so badly the screw vibrated out of the lock washer! Worst product everr. Wal-Mart should go back to weed eater brand at least they would cut grass!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chumney
Would recommend to a friend? No
Murray Straight Shaft Trimmer
3/22/2016

Customer review by RayS

5.0 stars 3/22/2016 by RayS
by RayS

The Murray trimmer was very easy to assemble; after adding fuel to the gas tank, it started very easily. I let it idle for about 5 minutes before actually using it and it performed as advertised! I've only used it once so time will tell if this is a product that gives long-term performance.

Was this review helpful? (18) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RayS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mirray 16" 25cc 2-cyclle straight shaft trimmer
4/2/2016

Customer review by JACAC

5.0 stars 4/2/2016 by JACAC
by JACAC

I just got it and so far is performing great but with just one use I'll have to wait and see and if it holds up as good as my same size Homelites Trimmers have done in the past then I say for the money it would more satisfy me!

Was this review helpful? (16) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JACAC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
heavy shaft, short-price to value excellent
5/30/2014

Customer review by xxxxx1234

5.0 stars 5/30/2014 by xxxxx1234
by xxxxx1234

As some reviewers stated it has a short handle and is heavy.Thank the lawyers. The guard is most of the weight thanks to people complaining and suing over injuries.I think it may be bullet proof. IF you follow directions it is wonderful. line clogging all the time?Go from the left to the right throwing the grass and dirt away from you and keeping the string feed clean.Starting is full choke,full throttle,pull till it sounds like its trying to start,then full throttle half choke,start and warm up. All 2 strokes need full throttle to start. Some do it for you this does not. I can not,absolutely can not buy an electric string trimmer,a proper 12 gauge cord,a cord reel, for the price of this trimmer. I am very happy with this purchase and have had zero problems.I like the fact it is not carb compliant. California air resources board ruins all good motors and carbs.

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xxxxx1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy with Trimmer
7/1/2016

Customer review by nrsatheart

5.0 stars 7/1/2016 by nrsatheart
by nrsatheart
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Husband loved it. he had no trouble putting it together and , the curved shaft helps his back from hurting so much. I think he had to buy something to mix the oil /gas but it worked great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nrsatheart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Porentially a GREAT Trimmer. Apply These Tweaks!
2/1/2016

Customer review by SFTBLCOACH

4.0 stars 2/1/2016 by SFTBLCOACH
by SFTBLCOACH

As the title implies, this trimmer has the potential to be a GREAT trimmer if you apply a few minor tweaks. Some of the negative reviews posted here are genuine complaints and have their individual merits - which I won't argue. However, there are many complaints about issues that are user generated, specifically, the complaints about the starting problems, poor idle, etc. Having read nearly all of the reviews posted here and on two other sites related to this trimmer, I purchased one with a fairly good idea what to watch out for and what to do to avoid some of those issues. Straight out of the box and assembled, it lacks the QA afforded to higher priced trimmers. The screws aren't tightened to a given spec, the engine hasn't been run for any amount of time other than to verify that it starts, etc. Since the engine hasn't been brought up to operating temp, it hasn't been tuned for optimal performance. I'll come back to that in a moment. And lastly, the grease in the gear box where the shaft turns 90° toward the ground has a minimal amount of thick, sub-par, generic grease which causes the heat issue some reviewers have mentioned as well as inhibiting its ability to spin freely without any extra effort by the engine. First and foremost is the fuel. Buy the best gas you can buy. Get it at a "top tier" gas station. Don't buy a lot. Only buy and have on hand, as much as you will use in a month. Gas goes stale after sitting for any length of time. Mix the fuel exactly as indicated - no more, no less. Measure the amount of oil you're adding, don't eyeball it. Lastly, add 2 oz. of fuel stabilizer (Sea Foam, etc.) to each gallon of premix. This will help keep the fuel fresh as well as helping to boost the cleaning agents in the fuel to keep the internal parts of the trimmer clean. When starting the trimmer for the first time, FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS to the letter! Once started, let it idle for about 10 mins. then continue running it at full throttle for another 5-10 mins. Once the engine comes up to operating temp, your trimmer will probably run rough to some degree. That's because it hasn't been tuned properly as mentioned above. If it runs great at full throttle but horrible at idle and/or if it idles fine but bogs down and acts like it's going to die when you squeeze the trigger, the fuel/air ratio needs to be adjusted. There are numerous how-to videos on YouTube that take you step-by-step through this procedure. The grease in the gearbox should be replaced with a full synthetic, high-temp grease like Mobil1 or Valvoline. This will reduce the friction and decrease the heat created by the gears. The head will spin faster and easier as a result. There are also some complaints that are legit but unfortunately, there is no solution, i.e., the length of the shaft, the weight, the balance, the long grass getting tangled up... Overall, this trimmer is a great value. If you apply the tweaks mentioned in this review, you will have a workhorse of a machine that will last for years. If you're not real tall, you won't be trimming tall grass a lot and you have the strength to carry it around without exerting yourself too much, this thing will astound you if for no other reason the price alone. However, if you're wanting a trimmer that is nearly perfectly weight balanced and starts on the first pull straight out of the box, you would be better served spending more money - much more money, for a trimmer with this size engine and cutting path.

Was this review helpful? (30) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SFTBLCOACH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Use the PRE-MIX gas oil off the shelf!
4/10/2013

Customer review by maddogpitt

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by maddogpitt
by maddogpitt

After having many problems with power equipment that wont start or wont run properly when it does. I find myself again looking for another trimmer this spring,my previous weedeaters,some I have used and mixed my own gas and oil for 15 yrs and I never had a problem.now I have purchased 3 in the last 3 years! same problems run good when new 2 months old,they become hard to start or wont start,if they do start they wont run long enough to get any thing done. this has happened with 2 stroke blowers also. Everyone says its the ETHANOL FUEL causing all the problems.and waranty folks will tell you its YOUR FAULT whatever happened to your unit,I been mixing gas/oil over 40 years with a ratio rite, never had problems like this until recent years. I read reviews at all the big online retailers, and If you go straight to the worst reviews instead of the highest you will find the same complaints and problems on all manufactures products! except the ultra high price models! so I chose to roll the dice on this one it had the straight shaft I wanted, it could be a little longer,Im 6 feet tall but it is no big problem. the price sealed the deal AT $80 it was $20 cheaper than the comparable Weed Eater at tractor supply, which I already have 3 of that wont run. I m going to use the premix fuel for the rest of season in this one. to see if it really makes a difference.

Was this review helpful? (89) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maddogpitt
Columbia, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great String Trimmer....But
3/29/2016

Customer review by GStone

4.0 stars 3/29/2016 by GStone
by GStone

I was looking for a lower cost gas powered trimmer and was considering this one, a craftsman straight shaft 25cc, Weed Eater straight shaft 25cc and a Troy Built 25cc straight shaft. I settled on the Murray from Walmart and was very surprised when i first used it...However... Pros: --Power-- plenty of. This thing tears through grass, weeds, KY creek weeds (small trees it seems like) like a champ. --Easy to start- If you follow the instructions you will have no starting issues with this trimmer, be certain to either use premixed can fuel (at Walmart average 4.96 per quart) or mix 1 gal of Ethanol free gas (I use 93 octane) with one 3.2oz bottle of 2 cycle oil (first bottle included in box) The assisted start actually works and takes little effort to pull the starter rope. --Maneuverability- The straight shaft and smaller head make this easy to use for trimming under benches, porches, around flower beds and under shrubs and bushes. Cons: --Shaft Length- The shaft is just a little bit too short for the average height person to use, I am 5'10'' and I find my self having to bend forward to trim on flat ground. Not a deal breaking mind you but 6 more inches would have make this perfect in length. --Weight- Its to be expected but of the trimmers I could find in this price range up to 99.99 this is I believe the heaviest one at around 15 pounds, the Weed Eater brand is the lightest at 10 or so pounds. Hopefully this equates to the motor and shaft being thicker and made better then the other brands. --Vibration- On to the con that has me on the fence with this trimmer. I can deal with the other cons as they are not really that bad at all, however the vibration when using this is terrible, my arm/hand goes numb within 5 minutes of starting it and I have to wear gloves just to trim around the porches. After 30 minutes of using it, I have to stop and let my arm rest. This is the only real con of the unit that i hate, I can handle the weight and the slightly shorter shaft, but the vibration on this is really bad. If you are young and healthy it more then likely wont be as bad on you, but if you have any problems with your arms/hands going numb, are diabetic (I am) or any weak muscles this is not the trimmer for you. This point alone has me considering returning it but I doubt the other brands are going to be better. So over all this is a great trimmer, I have already put about 6 hours of use on it in 3 days (lots of spring overgrowth on my property) I have really used this trimmer since Saturday (3/26/16) I trimmed all my grass up for Easter, trimmed along our creek, all around the house, a medium sized hill, 2 ditch lines, and the driveway. I have ran thru almost 3/4 a gallon of gas with it and have had it running without stopping for and hour and a half between me and my son, after all that, 5 primes of gas, 2 pulls on full choke, 1-2 pulls on half choke and its running from cold. If it lasts as good as it works I wont need to buy another weed eater for quite a while. I can't compare it to other straight shaft trimmers as this is the first one I've owned, always curved shaft weed eaters, but I will say that I have used the Troy Built curved from Lowes and from my experience they are junk, one that was bought lasted all of 30 minutes, the replacement lasted 3 weeks. I've also used the curved shaft Weed Eater brand, not a bad trimmer and works great once you get it running....if you get it running and have the arm strength left to trim with. I am not joking brand new, 20+ pulls to get the thing running. In closing just remember MAKE SURE YOU USE ETHANOL FREE GAS IN THESE OR ANY TRIMMERS FOR THAT MATTER!! your engine will thank you....and run a lot better.

Was this review helpful? (17) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GStone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor outcome
6/22/2016

Customer review by lpinewheel

1.0 stars 6/22/2016 by lpinewheel
by lpinewheel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Trimmer would not start-no spark. Product deIivered with no invoice, so I was unable to take the mtd website advice " take to a service site", so I simply returned to nearest wal-mart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lpinewheel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Murray 2500 weed trimmer
5/15/2016

Customer review by Richard

1.0 stars 5/15/2016 by Richard
by Richard

After using it a for a while arms really hurt very heavy unit never wants to start properly . Needed twice to bring unit to warranty service center idle screw must be turned clockwise to keep it running .Engine is not timed correctly .Really disappointing yard equipment If you can avoid making this Purchase do so you will save lots of headaches and time

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Richard
Would recommend to a friend? No
ey buy this product
6/19/2016

Customer review by Sanpison

5.0 stars 6/19/2016 by Sanpison
by Sanpison
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this produt it works exelen i recomende

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sanpison
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't buy
7/4/2013

Customer review by Sdkjkar

1.0 stars 7/4/2013 by Sdkjkar
by Sdkjkar

Quit three months after I purchased it. Still under warranty. Took it to an anthorized service center. Trouble was a defect in the carburetor. Cost $30 to repair. Warranty would not cover the defect because the manufacturer blames the problem on the ethanol in our fuel. It eats up the rubber fuel lines used on the machine.

Was this review helpful? (54) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sdkjkar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews