Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 122 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

122 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

122 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
29
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 stars
29
1-20 of 118 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews
Porentially a GREAT Trimmer. Apply These Tweaks!
2/1/2016

Customer review by SFTBLCOACH

4.0 stars 2/1/2016 by SFTBLCOACH
by SFTBLCOACH

As the title implies, this trimmer has the potential to be a GREAT trimmer if you apply a few minor tweaks. Some of the negative reviews posted here are genuine complaints and have their individual merits - which I won't argue. However, there are many complaints about issues that are user generated, specifically, the complaints about the starting problems, poor idle, etc. Having read nearly all of the reviews posted here and on two other sites related to this trimmer, I purchased one with a fairly good idea what to watch out for and what to do to avoid some of those issues. Straight out of the box and assembled, it lacks the QA afforded to higher priced trimmers. The screws aren't tightened to a given spec, the engine hasn't been run for any amount of time other than to verify that it starts, etc. Since the engine hasn't been brought up to operating temp, it hasn't been tuned for optimal performance. I'll come back to that in a moment. And lastly, the grease in the gear box where the shaft turns 90° toward the ground has a minimal amount of thick, sub-par, generic grease which causes the heat issue some reviewers have mentioned as well as inhibiting its ability to spin freely without any extra effort by the engine. First and foremost is the fuel. Buy the best gas you can buy. Get it at a "top tier" gas station. Don't buy a lot. Only buy and have on hand, as much as you will use in a month. Gas goes stale after sitting for any length of time. Mix the fuel exactly as indicated - no more, no less. Measure the amount of oil you're adding, don't eyeball it. Lastly, add 2 oz. of fuel stabilizer (Sea Foam, etc.) to each gallon of premix. This will help keep the fuel fresh as well as helping to boost the cleaning agents in the fuel to keep the internal parts of the trimmer clean. When starting the trimmer for the first time, FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS to the letter! Once started, let it idle for about 10 mins. then continue running it at full throttle for another 5-10 mins. Once the engine comes up to operating temp, your trimmer will probably run rough to some degree. That's because it hasn't been tuned properly as mentioned above. If it runs great at full throttle but horrible at idle and/or if it idles fine but bogs down and acts like it's going to die when you squeeze the trigger, the fuel/air ratio needs to be adjusted. There are numerous how-to videos on YouTube that take you step-by-step through this procedure. The grease in the gearbox should be replaced with a full synthetic, high-temp grease like Mobil1 or Valvoline. This will reduce the friction and decrease the heat created by the gears. The head will spin faster and easier as a result. There are also some complaints that are legit but unfortunately, there is no solution, i.e., the length of the shaft, the weight, the balance, the long grass getting tangled up... Overall, this trimmer is a great value. If you apply the tweaks mentioned in this review, you will have a workhorse of a machine that will last for years. If you're not real tall, you won't be trimming tall grass a lot and you have the strength to carry it around without exerting yourself too much, this thing will astound you if for no other reason the price alone. However, if you're wanting a trimmer that is nearly perfectly weight balanced and starts on the first pull straight out of the box, you would be better served spending more money - much more money, for a trimmer with this size engine and cutting path.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SFTBLCOACH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great trimmer
9/12/2015

Customer review by LoveCamping1987

5.0 stars 9/12/2015 by LoveCamping1987
by LoveCamping1987

Ok, first off I don't go cheap when it comes to yard tools. The reason for that is they do not perform good. I have a Echo trimmer which I paid $400 for years ago and now It needs a tune up so till I get the time to get it fixed I bought this little murry to finish out the season with and then I was going to dispose of it. So how does it perform? Right out of the box it took a about 12 pulls to get it going but after it was craked it ran smooth and It is super powerful I couldn't believe the performance for $83.00 it blew my mind. It did kind of make my hand tingle with the vibration, but it could of been from me griping it so hard because I thought it was going twist out of my hand. It cut through tall grass like it was nothing. No bogging down one bit. Yes! I would recommend this trimmer to anyone I'll be deffently using this one a good bit if it lasts. It seems to have more power than my $400 Echo, but only time will tell if it will earn a good spot in my shed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveCamping1987
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
heavy shaft, short-price to value excellent
5/30/2014

Customer review by xxxxx1234

5.0 stars 5/30/2014 by xxxxx1234
by xxxxx1234

As some reviewers stated it has a short handle and is heavy.Thank the lawyers. The guard is most of the weight thanks to people complaining and suing over injuries.I think it may be bullet proof. IF you follow directions it is wonderful. line clogging all the time?Go from the left to the right throwing the grass and dirt away from you and keeping the string feed clean.Starting is full choke,full throttle,pull till it sounds like its trying to start,then full throttle half choke,start and warm up. All 2 strokes need full throttle to start. Some do it for you this does not. I can not,absolutely can not buy an electric string trimmer,a proper 12 gauge cord,a cord reel, for the price of this trimmer. I am very happy with this purchase and have had zero problems.I like the fact it is not carb compliant. California air resources board ruins all good motors and carbs.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xxxxx1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Use the PRE-MIX gas oil off the shelf!
4/10/2013

Customer review by maddogpitt

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by maddogpitt
by maddogpitt

After having many problems with power equipment that wont start or wont run properly when it does. I find myself again looking for another trimmer this spring,my previous weedeaters,some I have used and mixed my own gas and oil for 15 yrs and I never had a problem.now I have purchased 3 in the last 3 years! same problems run good when new 2 months old,they become hard to start or wont start,if they do start they wont run long enough to get any thing done. this has happened with 2 stroke blowers also. Everyone says its the ETHANOL FUEL causing all the problems.and waranty folks will tell you its YOUR FAULT whatever happened to your unit,I been mixing gas/oil over 40 years with a ratio rite, never had problems like this until recent years. I read reviews at all the big online retailers, and If you go straight to the worst reviews instead of the highest you will find the same complaints and problems on all manufactures products! except the ultra high price models! so I chose to roll the dice on this one it had the straight shaft I wanted, it could be a little longer,Im 6 feet tall but it is no big problem. the price sealed the deal AT $80 it was $20 cheaper than the comparable Weed Eater at tractor supply, which I already have 3 of that wont run. I m going to use the premix fuel for the rest of season in this one. to see if it really makes a difference.

Was this review helpful? (84) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maddogpitt
Columbia, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Don't buy
7/4/2013

Customer review by Sdkjkar

1.0 stars 7/4/2013 by Sdkjkar
by Sdkjkar

Quit three months after I purchased it. Still under warranty. Took it to an anthorized service center. Trouble was a defect in the carburetor. Cost $30 to repair. Warranty would not cover the defect because the manufacturer blames the problem on the ethanol in our fuel. It eats up the rubber fuel lines used on the machine.

Was this review helpful? (45) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sdkjkar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Works awsome
5/21/2014

Customer review by ProductSergeant

5.0 stars 5/21/2014 by ProductSergeant
by ProductSergeant

After reading reviews from all stores...Theres pretty much the same with all trimmers. However what makes this trimmer is the price and a straight shaft. If you have shoped around like I did, Straight shaft trimmers are more expensive by about 10.00 to 20.00 more. Not this one. The price is cheaper than most in comparison of all 2 cycle 25cc. My grass edge was about knee high and 2 feet deep to the fence. assembly and prep was very easy, start up was great, and this Murray powered through the high grass without skipping a beat. And walmart sells attachments that do fit, but for the most part, it worked great, job well done.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProductSergeant
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Impressed!
3/7/2013

Customer review by DeltaDan

4.0 stars 3/7/2013 by DeltaDan
by DeltaDan

I'm on a tight budget so I had to stay under $100 (I know, I know). So far I'm impressed with the Murray. I was surprised with the power and the cutting ability. I had a $69 Homelite UT32605 from HD that I abused for years. The bushing above the head finally gave out. It's not replaceable because it's crimped on. I would have had to buy a new, complete shaft for $50+ shipping. The current reviews on the Homelite that I had were not good, so I stayed away. There were no reviews on this Murray but I thought I would give it a shot. I decided to go for a straight shaft (despite some reservations) because you can replace/repair the bearing at the end of the shaft if it goes out and I have read they seem to be a bit more durable. I use trimmers for household use and at my rental to clear 1-2' weeds and along fences. I liked the extra reach of a straight shaft and it gets debris a bit further away from you. I thought it was a little easier to handle than a curved shaft for weed clearing. I'm glad I went with the straight shaft. The bump feed (at least with the factory loaded line) worked VERY well. In fact, I had to be a bit careful because if I touched the spool at all it would feed line .... be sure to not inadvertently touch the head to the ground like I do while you're trimming. I gave it 4 stars only because I haven't had it long enough to know if it's durable or what problems it might have later. So far, it's been great. PROS: lots of power, good balance, nice reach, very good bump head for line. CONS: I liked the large shield and it worked well, but it does not rotate so it's a bit difficult to see the head if you're edging. I may put on a shield that goes on the shaft so I can rotate it for different uses. It seemed to bog down sometimes when on it's side for edging. I WOULD recommend this to a friend or someone else. I think like all these two stroke engines, they're a little hard to start. I'm in Nor Cal so it's not very cold here. I have a little different starting technique than what they explain in the manual. I do press the primer several times and the throttle. Then I hold the trimmer by my left hand, put the choke in position 1, place one of my left fingers under the throttle and hold it half way down and pull the cord. As soon as I hear it wanting to start I put the choke on 2, keep the throttle half way down and pull the cord. I noticed on this one that it needed to warm up for a several minutes on position 2 choke and I started trimming with it in that position. Then I went to no choke. After you shut it off for a bit you may have to repeat the steps, but it starts easier. With this one and the others I've owned it seem holding the throttle in half position makes it a bit easier to start.

Was this review helpful? (106) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeltaDan
Nor Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
POOR DESIGN
4/27/2013

Customer review by goldrushsam

1.0 stars 4/27/2013 by goldrushsam
by goldrushsam

I bought this trimmer at my local Wal Mart and it was a big mistake on my part. It is a very poor design. While it does have plenty of power and uses a thick cutting line it is extremely difficult to use. It is much heavier than any other trimmer I've owned and it is not properly balanced so it is a constant challenge to keep it at the proper angle for trimming without tearing up the ground. I've tried adjusting the handle but that does not work for me so I am in as constant "stoop" using it. It is impossible for me to do any close detail trimming without hitting the ground or what I'm trimming around. It appears to me the shaft it to short. You would think the company that makes these would put a little more thought and R&D into its product before it goes on the market. The only reason I gave it 1 star is because I could not go any lower. I am totally disgusted with it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goldrushsam
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awsome trimmer
6/27/2014

Customer review by Dawnzie14320

5.0 stars 6/27/2014 by Dawnzie14320
by Dawnzie14320
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband loves this trimmer. He is very tall and was impressed that he didnt have to hunch over while using. He is also thrilled that he can get the universal attachments.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dawnzie14320
pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product with an excellent value price.
6/15/2014

Customer review by sweetgrammy2u

5.0 stars 6/15/2014 by sweetgrammy2u
by sweetgrammy2u
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not to sound cliche, but I read all the reviews about this product and felt comfortable enough to purchase it.I wanted a straight shaft for my husband that had a reasonable price. He has health issues so this type of trimmer was much better for him than a curved one. Meaning he doesn't have to bend and reach as much. It is working out great for him in that aspect. One thing I think I should address is what kind of made me hesitant a little, some of the reviews stated there was a problem starting the trimmer. I asked my husband about this showed him the reviews and he said that is not a problem. He said if most men have used a 2cycle gas ignition system this trimmer would work just fine. Starts on the 2nd pull,cuts with power,and is easy on his back. Line feeds with ease. I would recommend this product. Have a great day.

Was this review helpful? (35) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sweetgrammy2u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do NOT Purchase
7/19/2015

Customer review by flyingcrawfish

1.0 stars 7/19/2015 by flyingcrawfish
by flyingcrawfish

This trimmer lasted me only two years. Although it has a lot of power, I encountered several problems with this product. Of the problems that I encountered, the worst problem occurred on me recently when the trimmer shut-down and would never start again. During this particular episode, I attempted to trim some relatively-short grass in a ditch when the trimmer power began to fade in-and-out. The engine finally quit. I tried to restart the trimmer, and the pull-start rope extended too far out of its housing. I cannot restart the trimmer to this day. Perhaps this was caused by the several episodes of use during which the exhaust outlet of the engine began to smoke and burn oil. I encountered other problems with this trimmer. First, the string-feeder head does not work properly. Second, the screw in the end-cap of the string-feeder head wiggles about and does not screw into the rotating body very easily. Third, the spark plug is located in a very narrow opening in the engine housing. The bottom line is that you should not purchase this trimmer. If you do purchase it, at least buy Walmart's two-year protection plan.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flyingcrawfish
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for the price.
12/5/2015

Customer review by MidgetC

4.0 stars 12/5/2015 by MidgetC
by MidgetC

Very easy to assemble. After put it together, tried it out and it cranked right up on 3rd pull.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MidgetC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Price ok, product only so so.
8/23/2014

Customer review by MaaBarker

2.0 stars 8/23/2014 by MaaBarker
by MaaBarker

Bought this because we read that straight shafts were easier on the back but shaft really lacks about 6-8 inches in length, hence still needing to lean over slightly and i am 5ft 9 in. tall. In addition, it idles perfectly, but throttle is way to touchy. when in proper operating mode (no choke) you would think that if you squeeze the throttle fully that it would accelerate to full speed however, this is not the case! It actually bogs the engine and slows down! I can only squeeze the throttle 35-40% to get full speed properly and the slightest movement of your finger in either direction bogs or slows it down which makes it extremely hard to keep at full speed!!! Another issue when operating is, if you get into even the slightest bit of high grass or weeds (even stuff roughly 5-6 in. high) the thing slows down and you have to back away from it to get it to speed up again. That's just ridiculous! Save your money and buy a higher quality trimmer!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaaBarker
Would recommend to a friend? No
good buy
12/4/2015

Customer review by curtp49

4.0 stars 12/4/2015 by curtp49
by curtp49

It is a good light string trimmer. Did all I wanted around my yard. But it is light duty

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
curtp49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works----but.
6/8/2014

Customer review by Professortwo

2.0 stars 6/8/2014 by Professortwo
by Professortwo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Everything you've read about the shaft being too short is true---by about 8 inches. Assembly and start up was quick, simple and easy. Louder than expected, my neighbor said it sounds like a chainsaw. On the initial run and use, about 1/2 hour, it seemed to get overly hot and bog down. When I let off the throttle it stalled and would not restart. Once cooled, however, it started easily and has since, hot or cold. The elbow between the straight shaft and the cutting head quickly becomes very hot---poor lubrication? Now each time the trimmer is started the cutting head drags and is very slow to reach cutting speed---problem with the elbow? Carburetor mixture is too lean and the unit will only run well at about 1/2 choke. I've not figured out how to adjust the low and hi-speed screws. The trimmer does tangle easily in very tall, fine grass and is time consuming to clear. I've solved that by taking off the top 1/3 to 1/2 of such grass first and then coming back for the rest. My Homelite lasted 22 years. I'll be surprised if this one makes 2 years. But, it was under $70, even with the 2 year policy, which I expect to be using. Be prepared.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Professortwo
MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Trimmer
6/4/2014

Customer review by TheFactsAboutProducts

5.0 stars 6/4/2014 by TheFactsAboutProducts
by TheFactsAboutProducts

I bought this trimmer about 2 weeks ago (My other one got stolen off my patio) and man this thing can put out some power, I cut the edges of my back yard that had grass about 3ft tall (to my knee) and this thing just blasted through it. I did buy some Professional Trimmer String, which is very thick, and allows this trimmer to cut very thick brush. I don't understand why there are so many 1 star reviews, I'm assuming they don’t know how to work a gas trimmer (They got Electric Now-a-days if you can't handle gas#. When you first start it #Brand New#, OF COURSE it's going to run a little odd #It's never been started before#. All I did was after I put everything together I started it and let it sit in the yard running for about 10 minutes #To start breaking it in#, after that it runs like a CHAMP, and you don’t need to let it sit every time just that one time when you first start it out of the box. I took it to my dad’s last week and showed him and this thing ripped through weeds his Troy Built was struggling on. I went over there the other night and guess who went to Wal-Mart and got them one #My dad did# and is loving it. Great, Great Trimmer, Ignore the 1 star reviews; they either don't know how to use a 2 cycle trimmer or promoting some other brand. Mine usually starts in 3-5 pulls, First you prime it #4-8 pumps#, then you put in #1 #Full Choke#, While in full choke pull it 2-3 Times until it tries to start up, then put it in #2 and pull again, mine usually starts after about 2 pulls on #2. Also the trimmer that got stolen was the Curved Shaft Version of this Trimmer, I had it for 2 years #Before it got stolen) and it still ran like it did the first day I bought it, so this trimmer will stand the test of time.

Was this review helpful? (49) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheFactsAboutProducts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/6/2013

Customer review by Cabrunco

4.0 stars 7/6/2013 by Cabrunco
by Cabrunco

I have been trying to find a weed eater at a decent price that seemed like it would work. My father-in-law has a Craftsman trimmer similar to this one http://www.sears.com/craftsman-32cc-4-cycle-straight-shaft-weedwacker-8482-gas/p-07173193000P?prdNo=2&blockNo=2&blockType=G2, that I have used many times and found very easy to use. Much like the more expensive Craftsman, this trimmer was extremely easy to assemble and can be separated into two parts for storage if space is needed. The only reason that I do not give the trimmer five stars is because it has the common bump feed style trimmer head. To fix this problem I also bought a replacement head that uses easy to change single strands instead of the horrible bump feed line. The new head makes trimming the entire yard quick and painless. I no longer have to deal with the line failing to feed properly causing me to have to stop and take the trimmer head apart. I simply cut several pieces of line before I start and keep them in my pocket so as they get too short I put a new strand in place. They do make a trimmer with this style head but it was $40 more and the replacement head was only $18. I have used several trimmers in my life both gas and electric. There is nothing worse than being limited by the size of the extension cord or in the alternative having to wind up a huge cord at the end of the work. The gas engine provides enough power to trim the yard even when the grass is overgrown and thick. The engine does cause a lot of vibration but that is to be expected with this size engine just like the Craftsman listed above. Overall I would definitely recommend this trimmer to people. It is a great value and worked just like it should.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cabrunco
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
5/1/2013

Customer review by BenRic

5.0 stars 5/1/2013 by BenRic
by BenRic
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great little piece of machinery. Does the job.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BenRic
Suwanee GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EXCELLENT TRIMMER FOR THE PRICE
4/19/2013

Customer review by TurkeyThug

4.0 stars 4/19/2013 by TurkeyThug
by TurkeyThug

I purchased this as back up for my lawn business and I am very happy with it so far. It was quick and easy to put together, filled it up with gas, and within 30 seconds had it trimming weeds. I don't know about the longevity of it, but so far I am pleased.

Was this review helpful? (32) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TurkeyThug
Millbrook, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Almost the trimmer I wanted.
4/26/2013

Customer review by HousewifeD

1.0 stars 4/26/2013 by HousewifeD
by HousewifeD

I am a 50+ woman who just bought this Murray trimmer. Good price, very easy to put together, not to heavy for me to use, and I also took out the pre installed string and put in new (very easy). But when I finally got it started it would die every time I pulled the trigger. I referred to the handbook and adjusted the screw, still would not work. After about an hour of trying to get it to run and a blister on my finger from pulling the cord I gave up. Maybe someone with knowledge of small motors could keep it running. I will take it back and get a different brand because I believe that a new 79.00 trimmer should work without a lot of effort.

Was this review helpful? (12) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HousewifeD
Cleveland,TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews