Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

29 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

29 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

48%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 29 total reviews
48%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Actual buyer, actual user all 240lbs. of me
2/15/2015

Customer review by JGB1

5.0 stars 2/15/2015 by JGB1
by JGB1

If you are wanting a $3500 piece of equipment from a professional gym, then you shouldn't be here in the first place. If you want a maintenance free piece of equipment, then you shouldn't be looking at workout equipment period. As with all workout equipment, this elliptical will need to have preventative and routine maintenance. When you unpack the equipment, make sure you don't throw anything away until you verify all parts are accounted for. The one and only problem I had was with one of the caps being the wrong size, which was rectified immediately by Walmart without me having to take the elliptical back to the store. Read all the instructions first before assembly (I'm a 42 year old male with a background in aviation propulsion and I was not too proud to read the instructions). Some of the bad comments I read, were due mostly to initial assmbly where there were grinding noises after set up. Do not tighten down the load bearing and moving parts until all is assembled, as the instructions state. This prevents the binding that is causing the grinding. Make sure you grease the moving parts liberally. Other comments were about loud thunking noises while being used. This is because, as my 90 lb son found out, you cannot bounce or let your heel hard impact the step. If you are doing this, you are using this or any other elliptical wrong. They will all make that sound. Make sure the elliptical is level. This unit has a load bearing center leveling foot that works really well. This unit works well, including the two speed fan, the MP3 input and speakers, and the controls and programs. While you can use batteries for the controls, I recommend that you buy a power adapter that is rated for 6Volts DC and 2Amp. Have fun and be safe.

Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JGB1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine, easy to assemble.
11/5/2013

Customer review by Salayl

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by Salayl
by Salayl

Great elliptical machine. It feels solid, the pre programmed work outs are great, and really get you sweating.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Salayl
Perris, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dont waste your time or money, poor construction
11/11/2013

Customer review by BabyPanda

2.0 stars 11/11/2013 by BabyPanda
by BabyPanda

First off im only writing this in hopes of saving at least one person the headache this purchace will most likely cause. This was very poorly constructed and would creak and sway when in use and at only 190 lbs I find this outrageous with a 250 max weight limit. The staff at the store was very helpful with my return yet I was out 3 hours of assembly time plus the time and gas used back and forth. I spent more on this one over the 310 model in hopes of getting more quality, nope still lacking in that department. Please save up the extra money and get something more solid. I wont cheap out on quality if its something you want to last, and if you work out on a regular basis it should last! Hope this helps someone!

Was this review helpful? (23) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BabyPanda
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Elliptical for home.
4/18/2013

Customer review by Airbrusher

4.0 stars 4/18/2013 by Airbrusher
by Airbrusher

We bought this elliptical for my wife, she uses it everyday and she likes it very much. Bought it from there online store and when it was delivered the box was in rough shape. When I opened it and took everything out of the box there was only one piece of plastic that was broken that covered the upright at the base. I called ICON customer service and got right through and told them what I had found and they where very helpful and sent out a new piece which took two weeks to receive which was not to bad. The instructions where easy to follow and the only thing that I did is the piece that the upright slides over and then you bolt it to, before I put the upright in place I put some grease all around that section that the upright slides onto. The reason I did this is because when you bolt the upright onto this piece when you are using the elliptical it will make noise because the two pieces of metal are rubbing against each other. With the grease in place there is no noise and it is very quit. You have to remember that it is not a high end machine at $399.00 so with that said we are very happy so far with this machine and we hope that it holds up over time. We also purchased the extended warranty for three years for $39.00. covers everything even wear and tear parts. Remember to check all the bolts every few days for the first week or so because they do come loose so I used some blue thread locker and it worked great.

Was this review helpful? (45) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Airbrusher
Whitesboro, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just put it together and not disappointed
12/30/2013

Customer review by VegasNative

4.0 stars 12/30/2013 by VegasNative
by VegasNative

I just put this thing together and I can only assume that those people who have had difficulties probably couldn't point out a screwdriver. It went together very easily and even though the instructions say it requires two people, that can only apply if the first person does not have the use of both arms. I did it alone at a casual pace and it took about 2 1/2 hours. I tried it out when complete and was pleasantly surprised at its silence but we'll see how it goes over time. Price point was a major consideration for me and based on my experience thus far I would recommend this machine.

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VegasNative
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Great Elliptical for the Price
2/18/2014

Customer review by GregInAtl

5.0 stars 2/18/2014 by GregInAtl
by GregInAtl

I really wanted something basic that could get the job done. The other $4000 units just were way out of my budget and most of the functions I really didn't need. After looking at a lot of models under $500 I decided to try this one. I am very please thus far and have been enjoying the workout daily. Assembly was pretty straight forward. I took my time and things worked out well. I think the average person could assemble the unit within a couple of hours. The only mistakes I made were because I didn't read the instructions fully.

Was this review helpful? (17) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GregInAtl
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
easy
2/22/2014

Customer review by Nickeyms

4.0 stars 2/22/2014 by Nickeyms
by Nickeyms

I read some of these reviews and finally decided I would find out for myself what this was about. I am not a mechanically inclined person at all, I put this machine together by myself, it was very simple. Just read the instructions. It runs very smooth. I am very impressed. I used to workout on a commercial elliptical, this one is just as nice and perfect for me. Here's to getting and staying healthy!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nickeyms
Glen Ullin Nd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Moderately priced, moderately built
6/26/2014

Customer review by Drewberry

2.0 stars 6/26/2014 by Drewberry
by Drewberry

This model was easier to assemble than previous years models from Gold's. The main brace came loose during first use. I also had to disassemble wheel covers to replace the belt which had not been properly tensioned at the factory. I also had to drill a new hole and place a bolt and nut assembly through the main brace to prevent the whole thing from working loose. I also had to do a lot of noise abatement by applying lots of duct tape where metal rubs on metal. I knew what I was buying as high quality machines are much more expensive. My fixes are holding up for now, however I must tighten all screws and nuts before every use. Squeaks will drive you nuts unless you apply lubricants.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drewberry
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
90 day warranty says it all, it is junk
8/2/2014

Customer review by Geno4963

1.0 stars 8/2/2014 by Geno4963
by Geno4963

It's pure luck if this machine works for you for a year. I researched and researched and figured I was safe even though there were some bad reviews (depending on where you read). While it's hard to believe that such a simple device could break, this made in china machine is a cheap imitation. I had the 510 eliptical for 4 1/2 months when it just started grinding. After taking it apart to see if it could be adjusted, it was apparent that it had self destructed. When I called the factory, they told me the warranty was 90 days and that was that. Even their manager said 90 days. I can't believe anything that cost $400 (w tax) wouldn't last at least a year. I knew it was tinny as I had to tighten up all the screws with ratchet allen wrenches. I didn't care that the pulse reader is laughable watching the numbers jump 30 points up and down. I didn't care that you couldn't feel the fan or that the power supply was an extra purchase (who wants to use batteries?). If somebody says the pulse reader or fan is great, you can believe that it's a review by an owner.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geno4963
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/19/2013

Customer review by chino691

3.0 stars 7/19/2013 by chino691
by chino691

Had to add some tape to connection of upright made really squeaky sound,even with screws set tight.This is the only flaw.Overall for the price its reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chino691
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't don't don't buy :(
7/26/2013

Customer review by Healthygirly

1.0 stars 7/26/2013 by Healthygirly
by Healthygirly

Not worth the money !! Misaligned parts, made it very difficult to assamble, plastic parts did not snapped because of misalignment, when being used it was unbalanced , very unsteady and the bolts started to unscrew, restistance didn't work and the screen didn't light up .You get you pay !! But I didn't know it was going to be this bad is. I wasted my time and my husband had a hard time put it together and then he had to take it all part ....in and out and returning etc.

Was this review helpful? (7) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Healthygirly
McAllen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
horrible machine
2/19/2014

Customer review by jaxandmenah

1.0 stars 2/19/2014 by jaxandmenah
by jaxandmenah

we got this and put it together, that wasn't hard at all but the second time I got on to do my workout. the whole thing was squeaking and shaking. we went back to make sure everything was tightened enough and it was. this product is horrible. not worth the money, not worth the time. taking it back this weekend.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaxandmenah
california
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Though many positive reviews...Never Buy this!
1/6/2014

Customer review by roopashree

1.0 stars 1/6/2014 by roopashree
by roopashree

Took a risk buying this even after many negative reviews. Realized it later, its no worth of time and money. aligning the parts is easy. But just after 10-15 strides it started making dunking noise. Did not stop even after re-greasing it. Well not sure should I blame the quality of equipment or not. Though it says 14 resistance levels, you wont realize the difference between levels, even the maximum level is dead easy to stride. No adapter nor battery included! need to order separately! Better to invest few more dollars and buy a good one!

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roopashree
Tupelo , MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't Waste Your Money!
10/29/2014

Customer review by Artlovergirl

1.0 stars 10/29/2014 by Artlovergirl
by Artlovergirl

Learn a lesson from me and don't waste your money! I thought this machine would be great, considering I had purchased Gold's Gym fitness products in the past without any issues or regrets. However, this elliptical is super flimsy and very cheap quality. Be smart and don't throw $387.00 of your hard-earned money out the window!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Artlovergirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
squeaks and rocks when i move on it
11/29/2014

Customer review by dbm4

1.0 stars 11/29/2014 by dbm4
by dbm4

bought this and just cant bring myself to use it as it squeaks and rocks while im on it. ive tried adjusting the hight but no luck. put it together and didnt try it out til my mom moved out so by then i had no box. havent known what to do with it and it just sits in my room and has become a clothes rack lol

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dbm4
Would recommend to a friend? No
The Rumors Are True!!
1/13/2015

Customer review by MarineTX

1.0 stars 1/13/2015 by MarineTX
by MarineTX

I thought all the reviews were crazy, and that the people writing them perhaps did not assemble it correctly, but I was mistaken. It does make that noise everyone talks about, and it also wobbles. Please stay away from this machine! I took mine back fully assembled, and the sad truth is: if you want a great elliptical, you're going to have to pay big money. Do not be stubborn like me, and think you're going to buy a good machine, where others have not (the, "not every machine can be bad theory"). I use ellipticals daily at my gym, and know quality when i use one, so I hope you listen. There's a reason why they don't have these machines at the actual Gold's GYMS!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarineTX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tighten thoroughly and maintain form
5/12/2015

Customer review by Adam

4.0 stars 5/12/2015 by Adam
by Adam

Using for supplemental work for running, with having a toddler and a newborn baby. Used 20-45 minutes 3-5 times/week , and less now that the baby is getting older. Works very well as long as you are using good form. It did start to squeak after about a week of use but I retightened everything on the front and it has been fine ever since.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It only worked for 4 months!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2/9/2014

Customer review by kbworkingman

1.0 stars 2/9/2014 by kbworkingman
by kbworkingman

I purchased a Gold’s Gym Stride trainer 510 Elliptical from Wal-Mart November 4, 2013 the unit became unusable on February 9, 2014. It in all fairness it helped me lose 20 pounds in this timeframe, however I can't afford to purchase this kind of equipment every 4 months! Do not buy this unit, spend a little more money and get something that will last!

Was this review helpful? (4) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kbworkingman
Carson Nv.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It works
5/19/2014

Customer review by Read2em4evr

3.0 stars 5/19/2014 by Read2em4evr
by Read2em4evr

Two people are not necessary to put this together. I did it in four hours with one useable hand/arm. The hardest part is connecting the wiring as some wires are just short. The plastic covers on the joints for the arm bars do not snap together and had to be thrown away. All necessary parts and tools are packed together. At most you will need a phillips head screwdriver as one isnt included. The console is either battery or dc adapter powered. Both must be purchased seperately. The advertising says there are something like 14 or 24 workout apps included with the machine. So far, I havent found them! There is also no IFit card unless you purchase it seperately from golds gym. I seem to remember the ad saying the card was included too. Have some grease handy because the "included grease" was nonexistent. And you will need some to get the arms together. This machine is heavy but can be moved by one person unless its on carpet. The wheels are ridiculously small and require the machine to almost stand on its end. Overall, it is an elliptical. Im just disappointed that it doesnt have the perks that were listed in the product information. Of course, I could be wrong.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Read2em4evr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Handle issues
1/20/2014

Customer review by Sunburntskies

1.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Sunburntskies
by Sunburntskies

Easy to put together, and easy to use, but it's difficult to hold on to the stationary handles because of the handles attached to the steps. Magnetic resistance worked well, but the display had some blank spots.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sunburntskies
Hinesville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews