Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 747 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

747 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

747 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
437
4 stars
161
3 stars
31
2 stars
26
1 stars
92
1-20 of 700 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 700 total reviews
1-20 of 700 reviews
Great Home Phone
11/25/2014

Customer review by Lorbu

5.0 stars 11/25/2014 by Lorbu
by Lorbu

I have owned this Wireless Home Phone since March 2013. I haven't had any problems with making and receiving calls. Plug this unit into a wall outlet and plug your landline phone into the unit. Call customer service to activate. That's all to it. No internet needed. It works great. This is the first time that I've been satisfied with owning a home phone, and the first time since 1979 that I have had a $15.00 phone bill. Thanks Straightalk!

Was this review helpful? (123) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lorbu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what I expected for the price.
4/15/2014

Customer review by Disappointedenduser

1.0 stars 4/15/2014 by Disappointedenduser
by Disappointedenduser
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The telephone has a lot of static and it is very hard to understand people. On speaker phone forget it, you have no idea what others are saying... I would not recommend this as I am very disappointed with it's operation.

Was this review helpful? (147) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointedenduser
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Caller ID is not compatible with Home Phone.
1/19/2015

Customer review by TheGeek

2.0 stars 1/19/2015 by TheGeek
by TheGeek

Features include Caller ID. The only problem is "Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone service is not currently compatible with calling name delivery..."

Was this review helpful? (31) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheGeek
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Good But Beware Of International Calls
2/13/2013

Customer review by Detective1625

4.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Detective1625
by Detective1625

Nationwide Calls: Fantastic. Better than having VoIP phones. International Calling: BEWARE!!!! Straight Talk advertises "free unlimited calling" to many destinations (including Dominican Republic and Mexico). This is what I discovered: Mexico -including to cellphones: Calls were connected easily. No issues detected. Dominican Republic (Land-lines Only): Unable to connect. Not one of the numbers I tried to call were connected, including the calls to the American Consulate in Santo Domingo. This morning I contacted Customer Service and asked them about this issue and the ST representative could tell me was "Sorry but those numbers in Dominican Republic cannot be called". I told the representative to contact the appropriate department of their company and tell them to list the Dominican prefixes that can be reached with Straight Talk Home Phone or, otherwise, remove the name "Dominican Republic" from their calling destinations advertisement because that represents a misleading add.

Was this review helpful? (345) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Detective1625
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Overall pleased
11/3/2014

Customer review by Madlobster

4.0 stars 11/3/2014 by Madlobster
by Madlobster

The only real issue I had was with the delivery by Walmart. It was ordered online. When we received it, it hadn't been "activated" by Walmart before it left the distribution center. We didn't realize that and held onto it until we were ready to switch, 60 days later. When we attempted to activate it with Straight Talk, the phone's id wasn't in their database, since Walmart didn't process it correctly. Took it back to Walmart and was informed it only had a 15 day return policy. In the end, Walmart made it right and exchanged the unit with a new one. I've been using it for almost two months as my business line in my office. I've been overall pleased with the service and reception. It uses Verizon Wireless lines in my area and we have very good reception on them. Getting ready to replace the home phone with another of the same unit as well. We'll end up with essentially the same features and twice the lines as our bundled service from Verizon Residential service.

Was this review helpful? (60) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Madlobster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
1/2/2014

Customer review by Larry30814

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Larry30814
by Larry30814
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

Took 2 business days to port home number from AT&T, but I was notified 3 times of the time it would happen. I was very pleased with the way Straight Talk handled the transaction. Everything worked perfect. Verizon has good signal here and the voice quality is very good. You can set the device near a window, hook up your wireless answering system, place phones thru out the house and you are good to go. You can use the Verizon answering service for voice mail, or the one on your home phone. I opted to use my home phone answering system because I get notification on each wireless phone if I have a voice message. The voice answering system on the device will light up blue, but you have to look at the device to see it. If you have placed the device near a window out of the way, that is not convenient. The power on and signal lights are very bright with the room light off and can be annoying. I placed scotch tape over the lights and darkened with a magic marker. Now they are perfect. Overall, very happy so far.

Was this review helpful? (246) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Larry30814
Harlem, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Great replacement for the land line.
3/18/2014

Customer review by Guest2865313

5.0 stars 3/18/2014 by Guest2865313
by Guest2865313
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My land line wasn't working and when I called repair they told me they would get to it in a week. It was over a week before the fixed it. In the meant time I decided it was time to try Straight Talk out!! I purchased this home phone thinking I would need an external antenna and amplifer to make it work. The signal level in my home for Verizon is not great. With our cell phones we have move around to keep a call going. With the Straight Talk Home Phone we get one blinking LED and at times it will go solid, indicating weak to ok signal. When I make a call it just plain works. Doesn't matter about weak signal level. Audio quality is great, better than my land line in some instances. I wish I had tried this out a year ago. I picked mine up at the local store and bought a card for the month. Went home and set it up with a new number. Four days later I had my land line number transferred over to the Straight Talk.. Saving $65/month using Straight Talk!! Just Love It!!

Was this review helpful? (255) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Guest2865313
Holland Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We're pleased over the first five months
8/7/2014

Customer review by cb5705

4.0 stars 8/7/2014 by cb5705
by cb5705

We set this up because cable telephone fails during power outages, and our cable telephone cost increased to over $52 per month. I did have language barrier on one call to support, but S.T.-Tracfone did call us every day for over 20 days while the cable company delayed number porting. Despite the horror stories in certain reviews, I give customer service a six grade out of a possible five stars! We did have to keep our old provider that extra 20 days, but Straight Talk advanced our S.T. account for those 20 days once the port was complete. Why four stars out of five? Cellular by its nature is less clear; not the provider's fault, but the factor needs to be taken into account. Also there's no caller name under Caller ID, just the number -- not a problem for me, but this may be notable for some. In the end this device paid for itself in less than three months, and my monthly cost now is $15.94 including our state sales tax. To us that's a great price.

Was this review helpful? (96) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cb5705
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this Wireless Home Phone !! Great !
1/1/2014

Customer review by DaveABCD

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by DaveABCD
by DaveABCD

What a Great Concept !! I have been using this since April 2013 and not one problem. 9 months now. You do need a good cell phone signal, which I have. Never a dropped call or a weak scratchy call. I am in southern Maine. Unlimited long distance calls in the USA. And all this for about $16.50 per month with tax and the E911 fee of 99 cents. The back-up battery inside lasts at least 24 hours if you have a power outage, but you must connect a basic non-wireless home phone during the outage. It felt so good to drop my land line carrier (Fairpoint) which was about $27 per month for basic service with No long distance, No caller ID, etc. Every 3 months I purchase 3 refill cards at WalMart and enter the ID #'s online. The Straight Talk system holds them on file and uses them as needed. And I can transport this unit to my vacation home on weekends and have my primary phone number there for the duration. I'm SOLD on this product !! Thanks Straight Talk.

Was this review helpful? (159) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaveABCD
Portland, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great alternative to land line phone service
7/30/2013

Customer review by jowms

5.0 stars 7/30/2013 by jowms
by jowms

I purchased this phone service two months ago. It arrived in the time Walmart said it would. It took me approx. 10 mins. to totally set everything up, very easy installation. Just followed the instructions on the booklet and called to set up the answering service, which activated the system, it was so simple. We have Verizon Fios and so the connection is superb. The reception is clear and you would not know it was a wireless system. I just hooked up our house phone to the system and all our programed numbers are intact. I am a senior citizen and in all my years of phone service I have never had one that was so affordable. $15. a month and taxes and surcharges total $1.15. I am amazed. I do not like using the cell phones as the younger generations do so this is great for me, I still have a house phone. One other plus, we have eliminated all the nuisance calls. The only calls we now receive are from people we have given the number to. I would recommend this phone to all my friends and family. I am so totally pleased.

Was this review helpful? (287) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jowms
Morrisville PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrible Setup Experience
8/2/2013

Customer review by KewpeeDoopeeDoo

1.0 stars 8/2/2013 by KewpeeDoopeeDoo
by KewpeeDoopeeDoo

I bought straight talk for my folks who wanted to save money on their land line which was costing them about $35/mo. I brought the unit to their home and tried to set it up. I called the 800 number provided and had nothing but trouble. The first operator was difficult to understand but even worse, she did not know what she was doing. She kept putting me on hold so she could ask her manager how to proceed. Finally I asked to talk directly to the manager figuring that would save some time. If the first operator was difficult to understand, the manager was worse. I finally asked to talk to an American operator. They must not have one because the third one was just as bad as the last. But even though most of my problems were language based, what I did get was that they did not understand what I wanted to do which was port over a traditional AT&T land line. It was like they had never done that before even though Walmart advertises that capacity all the time. Stay away from Straight Talk.

Was this review helpful? (121) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KewpeeDoopeeDoo
Racine, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
great replacement for landline
6/18/2014

Customer review by Tonithetigeress

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by Tonithetigeress
by Tonithetigeress

I had AT&T for landline. Paid $40 a mo. & only had caller ID, call waiting - NO long distance. I was sick & tired of paying all that money for so little benefits. So I researched the straight talk home phone & decided to try it. If it doesn't work all you are out is the $15 prepaid card (you can return the phone box). It works GREAT! I absolutely love this home phone. It works with my phones, I have the same number and I can call long distance anytime I want. My old line stayed active until straight phone transferred it which only took 2 days. It was easy to sign up online and to activate all you have to do is call them and it took maybe one minute. I am amazed it was all so easy. The only thing I would caution people about is the signal, If you don't have good reception for a cell phone in your house this probably won't work either as it runs off the Verizon signal. Otherwise it is definitely worth the money. I am saving $25 a month with this.

Was this review helpful? (204) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tonithetigeress
Northeast WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible experience
12/12/2013

Customer review by TATER1234567

1.0 stars 12/12/2013 by TATER1234567
by TATER1234567
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I bought this phone, I decided I would buy prepaid cards each month instead of paying with my credit card online. So when I called to set up my phone, I was surprised they asked so much personal information. They asked for all my contact info, my birth date, and my social security number! Plus, the guy on the phone was rude. When he asked for my social, I told him I didn't give out my social over the phone and said I'd rather set up my phone online. I asked him to erase the info I gave him in the system so I could do it online. He said he did, but when I went online it wouldn't let me activate the phone because it said it was already in the system. So, I called again and finally got someone to erase me out of the system so I could go online. When I went online, it also asked for my social security number. I don't see why that is necessary. I'm not setting up a monthly bill, I'm paying with prepaid cards! So, I returned the phone to Walmart. It's not worth the hassle.

Was this review helpful? (246) (81)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TATER1234567
OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than Verizon Home Phone
12/10/2013

Customer review by 98367

4.0 stars 12/10/2013 by 98367
by 98367

Coming from using the Verizon Home Phone Connect the first thing you notice is the lower price yet this is still using the Verizon network while the key to this service out performing Verizon's is the Straight Talk Black Box itself, it is much bigger and of superior design which makes this service work where Verizon won't...the antenna is much bigger, a lot more circuits, sim card capable and all around a much more complex device that simply does everything better than the Verizon Box. You can still take your phone with you and still have 3 hours talk time with the battery backup. Customer service is far better than Verizon because YOU DON'T NEED IT while setup was a bit dodgy (poor instructions) but ultimately a bit of patience I got it going in about 45 minutes. The Website for Straight Talk is just lousy and slower than slow so if you need to know your account balance just dial the toll free number and you can get what you need easily. Ultimately, Customer service is a bit rough but the phone works where Verizon's would not.

Was this review helpful? (149) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
98367
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great system to have! Will save you money!!
5/26/2013

Customer review by n2happiness

5.0 stars 5/26/2013 by n2happiness
by n2happiness

I purchased this for my mom to save on her telephone bill. I ported her old telephone number online through straight talk from centurylink. (I tried to get her to get a new number but she would not hear of it!! Go figure!!) It took about two days for the number to be ported but she could still use her phone with centurylink during the porting process. Once the number was ported, I just keyed in the number for service with straight talk and the set up was easy. Now she can call nationwide without having an expensive phone bill. It's hard to imagine having a phone bill for less than $16 a month with taxes!! U do the math!! If I ever decided to get another home phone, it will be through straight talk. I have been with straight talk wireless for 4 yrs. and the service has been great. I make sure the phones I purchase uses AT&T or Verizon towers/networks for the area I live in. It feels good to have a phone bill for less than $47 a month with taxes.

Was this review helpful? (73) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
n2happiness
Snow Hill, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
straight talk home phone no internet needed
2/9/2014

Customer review by Victoria222

5.0 stars 2/9/2014 by Victoria222
by Victoria222
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

This straight talk home phone is great for someone computer illiterate with, no use for an internet connection -and really not savvy with cell phones. THIS is the perfect alternative. Sure beats the cost of a land line and straight talk has most of the toys included. Seems to be working great and not difficult to set up - after the initial investment of $80.00 only $15.00 a month gives you unlimited national telephone calls - $30. for international. You can buy the refill cards at Walmart and fill from the phone. Since the costs of internet and phone keep rising with really no competition this is something to seriously think about. I understand that it functions with Verizon 4G. AT&T is a competitor to this but given their bad rep I would stay away. Besides AT&T costs less at initial investment but more per month. I would like to state I do not own this product but set up for someone else. He reports that I am his "phone angel".

Was this review helpful? (105) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Victoria222
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
Works like a charm
5/26/2013

Customer review by MBlover99

5.0 stars 5/26/2013 by MBlover99
by MBlover99
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Mounted it in the window of my river-front house looking over the river and get just about perfect reception (Camas WA). Works better than i ever thought. Wired it directly thru my original home phone system so I have 3 cordless phones upstairs, an antique princess phone, (can receive calls on that one but can't dial out on a non-touch old dial style phone) and downstairs have 3 Vtech cordless phones and another old dial~out antique that i can talk on but not dial out of course. Call forwarding works perfectly using *72Number and *73to release. Uses the VZN network without the drama of dealing with Verizon (that's another story for another day). Compliments my ST iphone perfectly. Learned about it from a retired Electrical Engineer that dabbles in this stuff and has one in his RV. When i travel i'll take it with me and put it in my RV and just hook it up to the batteries instead of porting my home # over to a cell like i uesd to have to do

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MBlover99
Camas, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No problems at this point
10/17/2013

Customer review by Drumdog

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Drumdog
by Drumdog
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We dropped our landline (VOIP service) with a major provider in order to save on the monthly bill. It took a couple business days to port our number but it was done successfully and service begun on the day Straight Talk said that it would be started. Audio quality is not perfect but is certainly acceptable and about equal to our major provider service. The only disappointment is that the caller ID feature is by number only, not number and name. We can live with that in order to save about $30 per month. Be advised that this service does not support data/fax service so if you need to send a fax from home you will need to learn to send "computer faxes" which can be done with free programs. If the monthly service remains at $15, this is a wonderful way to save on your monthly phone bill while having a fully functional and quality phone service. You might give up just a little but you will save a lot.

Was this review helpful? (189) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drumdog
Crown Point, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tough Start with Straight Talk Home Phone
3/16/2013

Customer review by JustRegularGuy

1.0 stars 3/16/2013 by JustRegularGuy
by JustRegularGuy

We purchased this product 6 days ago and we ported our old number to the ST home phone. When we registered the product over the phone, we got an error message saying the serial number was registered to another unit. A representative helped fix that error and said our porting should take a couple of days. Four days later we still couldn't use the phone even though our old carrier had moved to numer. After about an hour on hold and many minutes with representatives, they were able to reset the device. The ability to make calls lasted about 24 hours and then the ST device went out again. We called again and had it reset. We would have returned the product but we didn't want to lose our old phone number of ten years. (We had heard that a number dropped in the porting process could be assigned to another phone.) The sound quality is ok - about like our TacFone and not as good as our old hard line. We get a good signal and the unit is next to a window from which I can see a cell tower. If the service gets reliable - the price will the best feature.

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustRegularGuy
Silver City, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Don't buy this
6/29/2013

Customer review by GeminiBlue

1.0 stars 6/29/2013 by GeminiBlue
by GeminiBlue

The concept for this is great... but in execution... it fails. The "support" all speak broken English, at best, and don't completely understand what you are trying to tell them. Case in point... I called to get my voice mail password reset and after that here is how the conversation went... Me..."Now how do I change my password?" Them... "Press the button on your phone to go to the home screen." Me..."This is a home phone and has no home screen. It is a simple phone that just displays the telephone information. Do you understand?" Them.. "Yes" Me.. "Good. Now how do I change my voice mail password?" Them.. " Press the button on your phone to go to the home screen." The quality of the reception is marginal. My phone "cuts out" on a regular basis... just like you were on a cell phone in an area with poor reception. Knowing what I know now... I would not buy this product again. I will wait a couple of months to try to recoup some of my money and then switch back to a regular land line. Anyone wanna buy the modem for half price? I am selling.

Was this review helpful? (80) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeminiBlue
Blue Springs, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 700 total reviews
1-20 of 700 reviews