Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 804 reviews
5 stars
482
4 stars
168
3 stars
34
2 stars
26
1 stars
94
Sort by: 
1-20 of 757 reviews
1-20 of 757 reviews
Great Home Phone
11/25/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have owned this Wireless Home Phone since March 2013. I haven't had any problems with making and receiving calls. Plug this unit into a wall outlet and plug your landline phone into the unit. Call customer service to activate. That's all to it. No internet needed. It works great. This is the first time that I've been satisfied with owning a home phone, and the first time since 1979 that I have had a $15.00 phone bill. Thanks Straightalk!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (259)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not what I expected for the price.
4/15/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The telephone has a lot of static and it is very hard to understand people. On speaker phone forget it, you have no idea what others are saying... I would not recommend this as I am very disappointed with it's operation.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (189)No (83)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Caller ID is not compatible with Home Phone.
1/19/2015
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Features include Caller ID. The only problem is "Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone service is not currently compatible with calling name delivery..."
Was this review helpful?
Yes (75)No (27)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good But Beware Of International Calls
2/13/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Nationwide Calls: Fantastic. Better than having VoIP phones. International Calling: BEWARE!!!! Straight Talk advertises "free unlimited calling" to many destinations (including Dominican Republic and Mexico). This is what I discovered: Mexico -including to cellphones: Calls were connected easily. No issues detected. Dominican Republic (Land-lines Only): Unable to connect. Not one of the numbers I tried to call were connected, including the calls to the American Consulate in Santo Domingo. This morning I contacted Customer Service and asked them about this issue and the ST representative could tell me was "Sorry but those numbers in Dominican Republic cannot be called". I told the representative to contact the appropriate department of their company and tell them to list the Dominican prefixes that can be reached with Straight Talk Home Phone or, otherwise, remove the name "Dominican Republic" from their calling destinations advertisement because that represents a misleading add.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (387)No (45)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What a deal for a land line!
8/5/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Luckily I reside in an area that Verizon has strong towers. I read the reviews and initially was concerned that I would have to get store assistance to get it started based on some of the reviews. I picked it up at the mini Walmart and it was sooo easy to go online to set it up, literally minutes. Thus far it is working perfectly. I was surprised it came with a battery pack which I haven't used yet, but will be handy to take the phone outdoors or when there is a power outage during hurricane season. For $15/month which includes unlimited local and long distance calls, it sure beats Cox's fees. Now if Straight Talk and Verizon would only offer a similar package for monthly home based internet service I would be able to end my relationship with Cox. permanently. I've shared this info, w/ my friends and encouraged them to buy it while it is on sale. I also purchased the extended warranty, just in case. If it has any issues then I'll update this review. For now I love it!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great replacement for the land line.
3/18/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My land line wasn't working and when I called repair they told me they would get to it in a week. It was over a week before the fixed it. In the meant time I decided it was time to try Straight Talk out!! I purchased this home phone thinking I would need an external antenna and amplifer to make it work. The signal level in my home for Verizon is not great. With our cell phones we have move around to keep a call going. With the Straight Talk Home Phone we get one blinking LED and at times it will go solid, indicating weak to ok signal. When I make a call it just plain works. Doesn't matter about weak signal level. Audio quality is great, better than my land line in some instances. I wish I had tried this out a year ago. I picked mine up at the local store and bought a card for the month. Went home and set it up with a new number. Four days later I had my land line number transferred over to the Straight Talk.. Saving $65/month using Straight Talk!! Just Love It!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (296)No (31)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
1/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Took 2 business days to port home number from AT&T, but I was notified 3 times of the time it would happen. I was very pleased with the way Straight Talk handled the transaction. Everything worked perfect. Verizon has good signal here and the voice quality is very good. You can set the device near a window, hook up your wireless answering system, place phones thru out the house and you are good to go. You can use the Verizon answering service for voice mail, or the one on your home phone. I opted to use my home phone answering system because I get notification on each wireless phone if I have a voice message. The voice answering system on the device will light up blue, but you have to look at the device to see it. If you have placed the device near a window out of the way, that is not convenient. The power on and signal lights are very bright with the room light off and can be annoying. I placed scotch tape over the lights and darkened with a magic marker. Now they are perfect. Overall, very happy so far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (277)No (38)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Overall pleased
11/3/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The only real issue I had was with the delivery by Walmart. It was ordered online. When we received it, it hadn't been "activated" by Walmart before it left the distribution center. We didn't realize that and held onto it until we were ready to switch, 60 days later. When we attempted to activate it with Straight Talk, the phone's id wasn't in their database, since Walmart didn't process it correctly. Took it back to Walmart and was informed it only had a 15 day return policy. In the end, Walmart made it right and exchanged the unit with a new one. I've been using it for almost two months as my business line in my office. I've been overall pleased with the service and reception. It uses Verizon Wireless lines in my area and we have very good reception on them. Getting ready to replace the home phone with another of the same unit as well. We'll end up with essentially the same features and twice the lines as our bundled service from Verizon Residential service.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (96)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great alternative to land line phone service
7/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this phone service two months ago. It arrived in the time Walmart said it would. It took me approx. 10 mins. to totally set everything up, very easy installation. Just followed the instructions on the booklet and called to set up the answering service, which activated the system, it was so simple. We have Verizon Fios and so the connection is superb. The reception is clear and you would not know it was a wireless system. I just hooked up our house phone to the system and all our programed numbers are intact. I am a senior citizen and in all my years of phone service I have never had one that was so affordable. $15. a month and taxes and surcharges total $1.15. I am amazed. I do not like using the cell phones as the younger generations do so this is great for me, I still have a house phone. One other plus, we have eliminated all the nuisance calls. The only calls we now receive are from people we have given the number to. I would recommend this phone to all my friends and family. I am so totally pleased.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (312)No (39)
Report
Was this review helpful?
We're pleased over the first five months
8/7/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We set this up because cable telephone fails during power outages, and our cable telephone cost increased to over $52 per month. I did have language barrier on one call to support, but S.T.-Tracfone did call us every day for over 20 days while the cable company delayed number porting. Despite the horror stories in certain reviews, I give customer service a six grade out of a possible five stars! We did have to keep our old provider that extra 20 days, but Straight Talk advanced our S.T. account for those 20 days once the port was complete. Why four stars out of five? Cellular by its nature is less clear; not the provider's fault, but the factor needs to be taken into account. Also there's no caller name under Caller ID, just the number -- not a problem for me, but this may be notable for some. In the end this device paid for itself in less than three months, and my monthly cost now is $15.94 including our state sales tax. To us that's a great price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (112)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I love this Wireless Home Phone !! Great !
1/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
What a Great Concept !! I have been using this since April 2013 and not one problem. 9 months now. You do need a good cell phone signal, which I have. Never a dropped call or a weak scratchy call. I am in southern Maine. Unlimited long distance calls in the USA. And all this for about $16.50 per month with tax and the E911 fee of 99 cents. The back-up battery inside lasts at least 24 hours if you have a power outage, but you must connect a basic non-wireless home phone during the outage. It felt so good to drop my land line carrier (Fairpoint) which was about $27 per month for basic service with No long distance, No caller ID, etc. Every 3 months I purchase 3 refill cards at WalMart and enter the ID #'s online. The Straight Talk system holds them on file and uses them as needed. And I can transport this unit to my vacation home on weekends and have my primary phone number there for the duration. I'm SOLD on this product !! Thanks Straight Talk.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (173)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Terrible Setup Experience
8/2/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought straight talk for my folks who wanted to save money on their land line which was costing them about $35/mo. I brought the unit to their home and tried to set it up. I called the 800 number provided and had nothing but trouble. The first operator was difficult to understand but even worse, she did not know what she was doing. She kept putting me on hold so she could ask her manager how to proceed. Finally I asked to talk directly to the manager figuring that would save some time. If the first operator was difficult to understand, the manager was worse. I finally asked to talk to an American operator. They must not have one because the third one was just as bad as the last. But even though most of my problems were language based, what I did get was that they did not understand what I wanted to do which was port over a traditional AT&T land line. It was like they had never done that before even though Walmart advertises that capacity all the time. Stay away from Straight Talk.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (126)No (60)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great replacement for landline
6/18/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had AT&T for landline. Paid $40 a mo. & only had caller ID, call waiting - NO long distance. I was sick & tired of paying all that money for so little benefits. So I researched the straight talk home phone & decided to try it. If it doesn't work all you are out is the $15 prepaid card (you can return the phone box). It works GREAT! I absolutely love this home phone. It works with my phones, I have the same number and I can call long distance anytime I want. My old line stayed active until straight phone transferred it which only took 2 days. It was easy to sign up online and to activate all you have to do is call them and it took maybe one minute. I am amazed it was all so easy. The only thing I would caution people about is the signal, If you don't have good reception for a cell phone in your house this probably won't work either as it runs off the Verizon signal. Otherwise it is definitely worth the money. I am saving $25 a month with this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (214)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Horrible experience
12/12/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
When I bought this phone, I decided I would buy prepaid cards each month instead of paying with my credit card online. So when I called to set up my phone, I was surprised they asked so much personal information. They asked for all my contact info, my birth date, and my social security number! Plus, the guy on the phone was rude. When he asked for my social, I told him I didn't give out my social over the phone and said I'd rather set up my phone online. I asked him to erase the info I gave him in the system so I could do it online. He said he did, but when I went online it wouldn't let me activate the phone because it said it was already in the system. So, I called again and finally got someone to erase me out of the system so I could go online. When I went online, it also asked for my social security number. I don't see why that is necessary. I'm not setting up a monthly bill, I'm paying with prepaid cards! So, I returned the phone to Walmart. It's not worth the hassle.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (253)No (90)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than Verizon Home Phone
12/10/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Coming from using the Verizon Home Phone Connect the first thing you notice is the lower price yet this is still using the Verizon network while the key to this service out performing Verizon's is the Straight Talk Black Box itself, it is much bigger and of superior design which makes this service work where Verizon won't...the antenna is much bigger, a lot more circuits, sim card capable and all around a much more complex device that simply does everything better than the Verizon Box. You can still take your phone with you and still have 3 hours talk time with the battery backup. Customer service is far better than Verizon because YOU DON'T NEED IT while setup was a bit dodgy (poor instructions) but ultimately a bit of patience I got it going in about 45 minutes. The Website for Straight Talk is just lousy and slower than slow so if you need to know your account balance just dial the toll free number and you can get what you need easily. Ultimately, Customer service is a bit rough but the phone works where Verizon's would not.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (159)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great system to have! Will save you money!!
5/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this for my mom to save on her telephone bill. I ported her old telephone number online through straight talk from centurylink. (I tried to get her to get a new number but she would not hear of it!! Go figure!!) It took about two days for the number to be ported but she could still use her phone with centurylink during the porting process. Once the number was ported, I just keyed in the number for service with straight talk and the set up was easy. Now she can call nationwide without having an expensive phone bill. It's hard to imagine having a phone bill for less than $16 a month with taxes!! U do the math!! If I ever decided to get another home phone, it will be through straight talk. I have been with straight talk wireless for 4 yrs. and the service has been great. I make sure the phones I purchase uses AT&T or Verizon towers/networks for the area I live in. It feels good to have a phone bill for less than $47 a month with taxes.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (80)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
straight talk home phone no internet needed
2/9/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 500 contributer
This straight talk home phone is great for someone computer illiterate with, no use for an internet connection -and really not savvy with cell phones. THIS is the perfect alternative. Sure beats the cost of a land line and straight talk has most of the toys included. Seems to be working great and not difficult to set up - after the initial investment of $80.00 only $15.00 a month gives you unlimited national telephone calls - $30. for international. You can buy the refill cards at Walmart and fill from the phone. Since the costs of internet and phone keep rising with really no competition this is something to seriously think about. I understand that it functions with Verizon 4G. AT&T is a competitor to this but given their bad rep I would stay away. Besides AT&T costs less at initial investment but more per month. I would like to state I do not own this product but set up for someone else. He reports that I am his "phone angel".
Was this review helpful?
Yes (113)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Product and Service
9/12/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently switched from ATT to ST home phone and the entire experience was pain free and pleasant. I had ST port my ATT landline and it was completed in 48 hours. They originally estimated the process could take about 4 days and was dependent upon how long it would take ATT to release the number. When I initiated the process, I was able to reach a C/S rep easily on the phone and although he had a slight accent, he spoke perfect English and I could easily understand him. He explained the process as he was obtaining my information and setting up the account. From start to finish, I was on the phone with the rep about 15 minutes total. I was pleased with the experience and my home phone works just as good with ST as it did with ATT. Only now I'm paying $15 per month instead of $45. One other thing, if you have an older style phone that plugs into a jack, you are still able to use it. To power all the jacks in your home, just plug a phone in the second port on the ST device and then into the wall jack.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works like a charm
5/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Mounted it in the window of my river-front house looking over the river and get just about perfect reception (Camas WA). Works better than i ever thought. Wired it directly thru my original home phone system so I have 3 cordless phones upstairs, an antique princess phone, (can receive calls on that one but can't dial out on a non-touch old dial style phone) and downstairs have 3 Vtech cordless phones and another old dial~out antique that i can talk on but not dial out of course. Call forwarding works perfectly using *72Number and *73to release. Uses the VZN network without the drama of dealing with Verizon (that's another story for another day). Compliments my ST iphone perfectly. Learned about it from a retired Electrical Engineer that dabbles in this stuff and has one in his RV. When i travel i'll take it with me and put it in my RV and just hook it up to the batteries instead of porting my home # over to a cell like i uesd to have to do
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So Far, so good
10/17/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I previously had a voip phone service and had a power outage where I was without a phone for five days. We've had a lot of thunderstorms in our area. So I decided to try Straight Talk. I received the product in excellent condition. It was packaged very well for delivery by Fedex. It was quite easy to set up. I just followed the directions and it only took about 10 or 15 minutes to have a dial tone and make a call. The service is pretty basic. The voip service had blocking of unknown callers. However, I got around this by getting a phone that had that feature. I'd like to have my number be not seen, but no can do on Straight Talk Home Phone. That is my only criticism. Actually I got pretty good reception on the weaker signal, so I'm glad it' uses the Verizon network. Important to me is that ihe service will work during a power outage with a corded phone, so I keep one on hand for that purpose. The monthly charge of $15 really helps my budget. All in all, it's a pretty good deal.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640688, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-