Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 146 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

146 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

146 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
99
4 stars
32
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
1-20 of 105 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews
GREAT!
12/6/2012

Customer review by Lou303

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by Lou303
by Lou303

I was in need of a laptop to take around with me and a little netbook wasn't going to do and this laptop was a great bargain for the price!!Has hdmi port to plug in your hd devices,3GB of memory,dvd-cdRW,3 usb port,plenty of hard drive space,great looking hd LCD screen,wi-fi built in ,and built in webcam!My advice to do FIRST THING is buy some blank DVDs and burn system recovery discs.They will restore your system should anything go wrong.And second,please get rid of the Norton anti virus and get one of the better FREE anti-malware anti-virus programs like Avast! or Anvisoft.

Was this review helpful? (71) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lou303
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Might as well be brand-new
11/28/2012

Customer review by kelatx

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by kelatx
by kelatx

It's been a while since I've upgraded my system, so I might have had low expectations, but I'm very pleased with this laptop and feel it was an excellent value. The machine is super quick, has great picture and sound, and has a bright, clear screen that's even easy to use outside in the sun. Everything worked perfectly right out of the box, and the system has been refurbished so thoroughly I can't even tell it isn't brand new.

Was this review helpful? (148) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kelatx
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/3/2012

Customer review by Delighted37

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Delighted37
by Delighted37

Purchased one for both myself and husband, and so far so good. It was a great value for the brand, the only issue I have is on both of the computers the front panel on both are partially open, not sure if this is because of it being refurbished, but even with this, they both work great.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Delighted37
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very disappointed the computer did not work and ha
12/2/2012

Customer review by Henryj59

1.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Henryj59
by Henryj59

The computer was purchased as a gift. Some of the functions did not work and there is no support for refurbished computers. We were able to return the computer, but were very disapointed.

Was this review helpful? (37) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Henryj59
Worcester, Ma.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this gateway
12/6/2012

Customer review by poolplayer123

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by poolplayer123
by poolplayer123

i know this laptop is not new. but it is a good one . i love windows 7 i'm glad it dont have windows 8 .becouse windows 8 is no good at all.i think windows 7 is the best and faster.it say it dont have no Support and Warranty: but if u look on line it say it as 90 days of Support and Warranty:

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poolplayer123
clintion
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really nice computer
1/10/2013

Customer review by CritterCaretaker

5.0 stars 1/10/2013 by CritterCaretaker
by CritterCaretaker

First, this thing got here like 2 days early, do big kudos on the shipping! I am not super tech savvy, so I can only talk to my experience and usage. The computer is clean and looks brand new, would never know it was refurbished. It is faster than my last computer, even though it is pretty much the same as the Compaq it replaced. I have always been a Compaq fan, but this Gateway has changed my mind. The screen is bright, has great resolution and is big enough for eyes that need reading glasses on other computers. I have had it a couple of weeks and it is working really well and has no problems with any apps or hardware. I upgraded to Windows 8 and it works really well on this computer, but still on a learning curve with the OS so I can't say for sure that I will remain in love. I can say that I can play games online, social media, emails, edit websites, write my book and everything else I do without any issues. At this point would absolutely buy again and recommend.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CritterCaretaker
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Computer was like brand new and works wonderful
1/24/2013

Customer review by 7312

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by 7312
by 7312

Don't bother with installing Windows 8 though...I did and it's about to get removed. Windows 7 works much better and is so much less of a headache. This laptop is/was great with just windows 7. It's not the fastest laptop on the market, but for the price, it can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
7312
Andover, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great deal if you need a basic computer.
2/21/2013

Customer review by Corvine

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by Corvine
by Corvine

I'm an adult returning to college and on a tight budget so I needed a laptop, but cheap! This fit the bill. It's not fancy, but it works and does what I need it to. It has nice display and lots of memory. I was a bit put out by the keyboard, it has the numbers off to the right side and so it squeezes the letters together, but I have gotten used to it. I haven't noticed any glitches, but I have only had a few weeks. This will be the second refurbished computer I have purchased from Walmart, the first one is a desktop for the family and I have had that one for almost a year and it has had no problems. Who ever is the third party that "fixes up" the returned computers seems to do a good job for Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Corvine
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for the price
12/6/2012

Customer review by Kimberlee1228

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by Kimberlee1228
by Kimberlee1228

Works great.. Worth the money, bought this for my 10 year old daughter, she loved it

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kimberlee1228
Buffalo,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/3/2013

Customer review by Nyxia

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by Nyxia
by Nyxia

I have to say that this is a good sturdy computer. I have three kids so every once and a while it gets knocked around but it does hold up. I am how ever going to be upgrading the memory from a 3GB to an 8GB just because i am a student and have to download a lot of information on a daily bases. Also if you want to play video games the graphics are actually pretty good. It holds up well and their are not many glitches. I think though by upgrading my memory the computer will be able to handle all the information that is going threw the processor.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nyxia
Spartanburg, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/23/2012

Customer review by juroto

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by juroto
by juroto

Clean in working condition and fast delivery. I would not know is a refurbished computer. Pros: a good price for a laptop with this specs. Cons: none so far.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
juroto
Danbury, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great deal
12/21/2012

Customer review by Bucsfanp7

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Bucsfanp7
by Bucsfanp7

This is my second Gateway laptop. I couldn't believe the price when I came across this deal. Say what you like about Gateway PCs, they offer more for a lower price. HDMI, VGA, 3 USB, Ethernet (RJ-45), multi card reader, mic-in/speaker-out, AND around $100 LESS than other PCs with the same options. With the "Easy Windows Transfer" offered by Microsoft now, I had it uploaded with all the files from my old PC (vista Home Premium) in just a few hours. Can't beat the price

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bucsfanp7
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic computer for my 15 yr old grandson
1/2/2013

Customer review by Bubblesgranny

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Bubblesgranny
by Bubblesgranny

This computer has exceed my expectations for price and quality. I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a computer that has a lot of the perks that a more expensive one has.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bubblesgranny
Calumet 'city, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great way to ease into the laptop scene!
3/6/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/6/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

So far, this thing has been just great. We needed a spare computer to check e-mail and to use for recipes in the kitchen. I don't want a "smart phone" because my "dumb phone" works just fine, I cannot imagine surfing the internet on a phone screen anyway, and I love this big monitor on this portable device. Battery seems to last an o.k. amount of time, but it really is not a big deal to plug this thing in. We have a converter for our car that things can get plugged into, so when the battery runs, we'll just plug the thing in. I bought this for $298. It's my first laptop. We had considered replacing our desktop computer with a laptop the last time we had to purchase a new computer and I am glad we decided not to do that. The keyboard on a laptop is uncomfortable and awkward for a REAL typist like myself. Now, a kid today has typically never learned how to really use a keyboard using all four fingers and right thumb ... for a hunt and peck typist, a laptop keyboard probably doesn't feel any different than a regular one, but for those of us who learned to type in the stone age BEFORE computers there is a difference. I type 85 to 90 words a minute on a normal keyboard. That ain't gonna happen on this thing! I love that this laptop came with Windows 7, and a number of other pre-loaded programs that are good enough for what I plan to use this thing for. Office Starter is on here and it is ample for my word-processing needs. There is no Powerpoint on "starter" so if that is what you are needing, you'll have to go ahead and buy the full Microsoft Office. I remember the old days when that was just included on your system when you bought it, but if you are a computer company and trying to look like your computers are WAY cheaper than your competition, making all of these things which should be standard "extra" options is a great way to stick it to your consumers. We're all held hostage by these people, so I'm not sure why I'm still ticked off about this. Oh, well. The laptop itself is pretty big. I had looked at a netbook and probably would rather have had that size item, however, I wanted to be able to stick a movie into a DVD drive and not be all trying to worry about "streaming" movies straight to my laptop from the internet. I have no idea how that might work, how much memory I would need, how tech savvy I would have to be to make that happen so the simplicity of having a DVD movie and sticking it straight into the machine appeals to me. I don't want to be out here complaining about the lack of memory on my new laptop which is only 3gb expandable to 8gb whatever that means! So, if you, like me, want to get a system plug it in and be surfing the moment this thing arrives at your home, this is the thing for you!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Milton, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not a working computer
12/26/2012

Customer review by kevdan

1.0 stars 12/26/2012 by kevdan
by kevdan

difficult to use. constant windows blue screen and programs suddenly closing with no warning right out of the box. also, the mouse pad quit working during the first week of use.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kevdan
Afghanistan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great laptop
12/30/2012

Customer review by Mommyto3babes

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by Mommyto3babes
by Mommyto3babes

This laptop is great for my daughter since she only wants to play SIMS in it. It was easy to setup and works great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommyto3babes
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Good Laptop!
3/2/2013

Customer review by AppreciativeBuyer2133

5.0 stars 3/2/2013 by AppreciativeBuyer2133
by AppreciativeBuyer2133

Received in the mail a few days earlier than expected and my daughter really appreciated that!It looks practically brand new I can't even see the slightest bit of wear or tear on it.I live in a two story home and my daughter uses it upstairs for her own use and the wifi and everything works great.Videos stream lovely and boots up quick.This has been my first gateway laptop i've ever bought and it is definetly worth every penny wal-mart is selling it for because it is superb.There is no lag between anything,Dvd's play well and also burns em good too.Battery works great,Holds a good couple hours of charge.Webcam is also a plus,My daughter loves using it to talk to friends and close relatives.All in all I think it's great and would highly reccomend to any one or parent to please a computer greedy Teen lol.Also the Windows 7 loaded on it is a great platform,much better than vista and 8 in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AppreciativeBuyer2133
Savannah,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good investment for first time user.
1/31/2013

Customer review by Rustybaffels

5.0 stars 1/31/2013 by Rustybaffels
by Rustybaffels

So far this is GREAT NOTEBOOK my adult son has never had the need for a computer with his work so this is a first for him and so far he's very pleased

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rustybaffels
Allen Park,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I was skeptical
3/9/2013

Customer review by Candypaintandchocloate

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by Candypaintandchocloate
by Candypaintandchocloate

I was skeptical at first, not because it is refurbished but because it is a gateway. I've never had a gateway and usually when I think of good quality computers I think of dell or hp but I went along and got this because it was simply the cheapest and my mini hp laptop broke. The pictures on here do not give this computer justice. I'm so glad it has windows 7. It looks so nice and works great !! I'm still getting used to the multitouch pad and full keyboard but I love it. The sound isn't good on Netflix but everywhere else so far is alright. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a cheap yet NICE laptop

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Candypaintandchocloate
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/11/2013

Customer review by marzutt

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by marzutt
by marzutt

I have had this computer for only a week now, and I really like it. My old lap top was a Gateway like this one, so I'm very happy. I also wanted a windows seven. This lap top is refurbished, but you would never know it...nice and clean. I'd say if you need a laptop, try Walmarts refurbished ones. For the price you cannot go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marzutt
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews