Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
14
1-20 of 101 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
Fantastic Value, with a great surprise!
11/16/2012

Customer review by Meestabeck

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Meestabeck
by Meestabeck

I picked up this laptop in the store on Rollback for $290. I got it home and fired it up. I was already excited to find a machine with these specs for so cheap, 4GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, and a core i-3 to boot (or so I thought!) Then I booted it up and the spec screen popped up...... It did NOT say Core i-3 380m like the box indicated, Instead, it said Core i-5 560m!! That is a 2.67GHz with a 3.2GHz turbo boost, not the basic 2.67GHz that it was marketed as. So it was like buying a Subaru Impreza, getting home and finding out that Subaru decided to stick a Turbo Charged WRX engine in it without telling you. The i-5 has 2 threads per core, so it shows on the device manager as a quad-core (although it is not technically one). Final summary, it was a great deal before I found out it had a Core i5, now it's insane.

Was this review helpful? (88) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meestabeck
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/29/2012

Customer review by Certifiedtreeman

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by Certifiedtreeman
by Certifiedtreeman

I also bought this lap top and found that it actually has a i-5 not a i-3. I only had a little time to try it out as its a gift for my son but in that time I was able to see that its one heck of a machine with plenty of power and speed.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Certifiedtreeman
Central FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
A sad experience
12/20/2012

Customer review by Motorcyclaholic

1.0 stars 12/20/2012 by Motorcyclaholic
by Motorcyclaholic

From the glowing reviews I was excited about ordering this laptop. There is no way the unit I received had been refurbished. It came with so many registry and disc errors that during setup windows were freezing, and finally I was presented with a "blue screen error." Perhaps foolishly I struggled to right things, for it is a handsome unit. Hired an online company to go through the system, which is how I came to know where the errors were. Even they were not able to correct all the problems. Returning it to Walmart was a breeze, and my money was returned to my account the following day. Five stars for Walmart's return service, and only one for the Acer that was shipped without being properly serviced.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Motorcyclaholic
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Laptop
12/2/2012

Customer review by ThisopitionisBS

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by ThisopitionisBS
by ThisopitionisBS

Just like the other two reviews I read my lab top too had an I5 processor. For the price it is a great value. It is very fast, faster than my home and work desk top. Another great thing about this labtop is that it doesn't come preloaded with a lot of garbage. I have no idea what the difference is between new and refurbished but this computer looks new and works great.

Was this review helpful? (33) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThisopitionisBS
Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better computer than described
12/8/2012

Customer review by Carolyn1709

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by Carolyn1709
by Carolyn1709

The processor is in reality an I 5 but sold as an I 3. Even better deal than described, The I5's I looked at were $600 plus. This is an amazing price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carolyn1709
Silverton, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
refurbished is reburbished
12/26/2012

Customer review by mechell209

4.0 stars 12/26/2012 by mechell209
by mechell209

I would have given 5 stars all aroung But,.... This was ordered online and shipped to my home. I read the prior reviews before purchasing; no other seemed to have a problem and all were impressed that it indeed did come with the i5 processor instead of the i3 as stated. This was purchased for my 14 year old son as a Christmas present. Once received I did take it out of the box and charged it fully so it would be ready to go Christmas morning. Made a just a few other tweeks to the system so it would be up and running (setting up wi-fi, time and date being correct etc.) Placed everything back in the box as it was shipped and wrapped it for the big day. He opened it and got it up and running and within the hour of just doing normal computer tasks as it sits on his lap he is noticing that the screen will turn completely white when just moved a bit. So it seems to have a short in the wiring somewhere. I paid too much for this to happen, whether its refurbished or not. So now I have to go through the hassel of a return and repair which will probably take weeks. So it was quite dissappointing since it was a Christmas gift that can not be used until a later date.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mechell209
Louisville, KY.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As other reviews have said..it is an I5 processor
1/24/2013

Customer review by Schmed1ly

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by Schmed1ly
by Schmed1ly

This Acer 5733-6838 came in as new condition with one cover not indexed properly...two screws and this little problem resolved. Still in protective plastic wrap and is working as expexted with no issues. I did not get the awesome price others received before christmas (290) (you snooze you lose) but I still think it is more than worth what it is currently priced at seeing that it has the intel core I5 M 560 64 bit processor @2.67 GHZ. Thanks to the other folks that posted the reviews on the processor info or I would not have taken the chance on this gem. Schmed1ly

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Schmed1ly
home
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is some machine!
12/29/2012

Customer review by Crocodile195

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Crocodile195
by Crocodile195

I was hesitant, at first, in buying a refurbished product, as my experience with such has not been very positive in the past. However, due to the product reviews, I decided to take a chance and purchase one (along with an extended warranty) and, so far, I'm as pleased as I can be. Right off the bat, you're getting more than what is advertised, since this is an i5 rather than the stated i3. Is the laptop fast? You betcha! It's so fast, in fact, that without joking, I can say "don't blink because you may miss it!" I have a low level DSL connection for the Internet, but the pages load so fast, that I've sat there waiting - not realizing that the page had already loaded. I must have blinked. It runs cool, the display is sharp, bright, and the colors snap! It plays films, both on disc & streaming, cleanly. If I absolutely had to find a problem, it woud be the audio speakers which sound like an old cheap transister radio, but this was not unexpected. With either headphones or external speakers the sound is great! The battery life seems to be around 2.5 - 3 hours, which is sufficient for my needs, so far. I can recommend this laptop by stating that I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another one. Thanks ACER & Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crocodile195
Staunton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good all around, but not for games.
1/9/2013

Customer review by Trollin

3.0 stars 1/9/2013 by Trollin
by Trollin

This laptop is GREAT for the price... However, I've owned it for more than a year and encountered a few problems. The worst is the overheating. After about 6 months of ownership, I noticed the fan was running pretty much the whole time the laptop was on. Then, about a week later, I was checking my email when my computer just shut off. I downloaded CoreTemp (A program that puts the computer into sleep mode when it would shut off) and it overheated about every 30 minutes. I play games too, and it overheated every 5 minutes with even a low quality game. If you want to play games like Call Of Duty, this laptop isn't for you. If you are a gamer, throw in the extra 200 bucks for a gaming laptop. If you aren't, this is a great lower-end laptop to satisfy the needs of everyday internet browsing.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trollin
Mishawaka, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Yes, it is core i5!!!
2/5/2013

Customer review by abhi383

4.0 stars 2/5/2013 by abhi383
by abhi383

Oh yes, it is labeled as Core i3 on it, but actually has Core i5 (as per hardware listed in the Devices and Printers section)! Quite happy with this, I expected it based on reading other reviews. I had to buy a new laptop as my 1-month old Samsung Core i3 with Windows 8 suddenly crashed. I hated Windows 8 as it came with 25GB of preloaded system full of apps. Updates would take too long, slow down the pc and make it very vulnerable to interruptions. It crashed when I wanted to brows net while it was doing one of those long updates. It could never reboot and I had to return it. This Acer laptop is very good. Comes with Windows 7 Home Premium which I wanted. Windows 7 is very reliable. This has separate numeric keypad, webcam is HD, screen and sound are excellent. Core i5 is a plus! Cons: 1. The looks are not so great. The cover is gray with grainy embossing. Not very attractive. 2. Keypad is not "sealed" like Samsung or Sony (or a calculator). You can see gaps below keys. 3. Does not have HDMI port, bluetooth and blue-ray dic compatibility. For me, these cons don't matter. VGA port is good for me against HDMI. Overall, happy with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abhi383
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it
1/16/2013

Customer review by Heyitspap2

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by Heyitspap2
by Heyitspap2

I got this for my husband I had to buy 3 different computers until we found this one with Windows 7 it is great we love it.. Thanks again Walmart :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Heyitspap2
Redding, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I actually like it better than my $700 one.
3/16/2013

Customer review by diamond0424

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by diamond0424
by diamond0424

I am in awe of this. I bought it because my $700 one was in for repairs (Toshiba - the hard drive went out but it was still under warranty). I figured I needed a back up and a smaller one to transport easier as my other is a 17". Reading articles, this exceeded what was recommended. It has 3/4's the storage and memory and such as my other. No probelm with the keys or volume. If I had a complaint, it would be that the touchpad is off center to the left since I am right handed but since I use a mouse it's not too much of a problem until I have to use it when I am on the couch or transporting. The price was a bit more that I planned on but I got a lot more for it. This is the first time I bought an Acer but my sister and brother-in-law both have one for their laptops and my mother has their monitor so I gave them a try. I am not disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
diamond0424
Decatur, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/26/2012

Customer review by owenkyle

1.0 stars 12/26/2012 by owenkyle
by owenkyle

I ordered this as a gift, and the first time it was turned on it said it had a hardware problem. Walmart said they were refurbished, but this unit was not. And by the way this unit was in Asia at some time. I had the director of a large it department look at the unit and they said that it had a bad memory stick.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
owenkyle
elkin nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Choice!
3/16/2013

Customer review by JDEvermore

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by JDEvermore
by JDEvermore

This has been an excellent choice for me. And mine has an i5 processor as well. There were a couple things downloaded that I removed, but mostly it was uncluttered and well set up. I also love the fact that it has Windows 7 instead of 8. I prefer 7's layout and find it much easier to navigate. My brother is an IT guy and when I told him I had bought a new laptop, he was angry that I didn't consult him first. But when I told him what I got and all the stats, he was very proud of me. :) I think he might be jealous too. All in all, this is very good value for the dollar, and I'm glad I got it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDEvermore
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great performance, no problems at all,
3/16/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am very pleased with this purchase. It has performed as expected or better. No problems at all, and it even came with an I-5 processor instead of the I-3 it was suppose to have, making it a better value.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Grayling, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Recived a Dudd.
2/15/2013

Customer review by winuser

1.0 stars 2/15/2013 by winuser
by winuser

Received computer dead on arrival. Upon first start up computer shows the windows Error Recovery screen. I press enter to start windows normally. Two hours later the computer is still stuck on the "starting windows screen" Second attempt I start the computer in " last known good configuration (advanced) option" . Same results. Last Attempt I start the computer in " safe mode only". Nothing, Unable to boot. This computer was not properly refurbished nor was windows professionally installed. I have purchased rebuilt laptops before on walmart.com with awesome results. I do not recommend this computer. The authorized Refurbisher needs better quality assurance.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
winuser
orlando, fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a happy customer!
1/21/2013

Customer review by ssssddddffffreeeee

1.0 stars 1/21/2013 by ssssddddffffreeeee
by ssssddddffffreeeee

When I received my Acer "refurbished" laptop, the cd/dvd player did not work. I had a computer guy replace it because the red tape I was bound to run into trying to send it back would have probably been a nightmare. I think "refurbished" should mean that some one who knows how to inspect a computer should have caught this. I was not impressed or happy at all. Most people I talked to said refurbished equipment is usually almost like new, I guess I was the exception.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ssssddddffffreeeee
Reedley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/31/2013

Customer review by illushuna

1.0 stars 1/31/2013 by illushuna
by illushuna

I really wish I could say something nice but whomever refurbished this never tried it to see if it worked. None of the keys on the left or right side of the keyboard worked

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
illushuna
SSI GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The best Laptop for the price
1/23/2013

Customer review by MJcab

5.0 stars 1/23/2013 by MJcab
by MJcab

I researched four different sites before deciding on this Acer, it is the best I found for this price range. I mostly wanted it to play Sims3, and it plays better then on my hubby's Alienware desk top. The images are so crystal clear and it loads quickly. My only problem is that on 2 occasions it has shut off suddenly. I am not sure if it is something I am doing wrong so I am keeping an eye on it. But overall a great buy. Yes it is an i5 processor not i3 as it is listed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MJcab
brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Laptop
3/26/2013

Customer review by bendenn

5.0 stars 3/26/2013 by bendenn
by bendenn

My search for a great deal on a laptop ended here with this one. After reading the reveiws, I ordered one. What a great laptop! Easy to set up, and was online in no time. Mine was also the I5 like many have said, and checking it over very good I believe it is a new laptop I received as not a mark on it anywhere, and no signs of being used before. If you need a good everyday laptop, this is it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bendenn
sw pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews