Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
14
1-20 of 101 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
Fantastic Value, with a great surprise!
11/16/2012

Customer review by Meestabeck

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Meestabeck
by Meestabeck

I picked up this laptop in the store on Rollback for $290. I got it home and fired it up. I was already excited to find a machine with these specs for so cheap, 4GB RAM, 500 GB HDD, and a core i-3 to boot (or so I thought!) Then I booted it up and the spec screen popped up...... It did NOT say Core i-3 380m like the box indicated, Instead, it said Core i-5 560m!! That is a 2.67GHz with a 3.2GHz turbo boost, not the basic 2.67GHz that it was marketed as. So it was like buying a Subaru Impreza, getting home and finding out that Subaru decided to stick a Turbo Charged WRX engine in it without telling you. The i-5 has 2 threads per core, so it shows on the device manager as a quad-core (although it is not technically one). Final summary, it was a great deal before I found out it had a Core i5, now it's insane.

Was this review helpful? (88) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meestabeck
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great! but not what I was expecting
12/15/2012

Customer review by Wertex

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by Wertex
by Wertex
Walmart associate

Check your local Wal-mart for this product they may have it new and for less. I actually got this new at my local Wal-mart (which I do work at). I got this for my Mother as a Christmas gift and expected the Core i3 processor like everyone else but was suprised to find it had a more powerful Core i5. It also had a dedicated graphics card though only 128mb dedicated. Pros: Intel Core i5 Dedicated Graphics Windows 7 rather than 8 (my opinon) Full keyboard with numpad. Cons: The constuction feels cheap No HDMI It seems tha tthe Internals are very good on this machine, but I have my doubts how well it will stand the test of time under heavy use. While the keyboard has a nice tactile feel, it seems easy to imagine these keys breaking. Also the shell for the pc seems thin and flimsy. However the speed and eases of use of this machine seem to over ride those thoughts. Under the conditons it is going to be used; I dont see it breaking down any time within a couple of years (the normal lifespan of a laptop).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wertex
Jefferson City, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Good all around, but not for games.
1/9/2013

Customer review by Trollin

3.0 stars 1/9/2013 by Trollin
by Trollin

This laptop is GREAT for the price... However, I've owned it for more than a year and encountered a few problems. The worst is the overheating. After about 6 months of ownership, I noticed the fan was running pretty much the whole time the laptop was on. Then, about a week later, I was checking my email when my computer just shut off. I downloaded CoreTemp (A program that puts the computer into sleep mode when it would shut off) and it overheated about every 30 minutes. I play games too, and it overheated every 5 minutes with even a low quality game. If you want to play games like Call Of Duty, this laptop isn't for you. If you are a gamer, throw in the extra 200 bucks for a gaming laptop. If you aren't, this is a great lower-end laptop to satisfy the needs of everyday internet browsing.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trollin
Mishawaka, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is some machine!
12/29/2012

Customer review by Crocodile195

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Crocodile195
by Crocodile195

I was hesitant, at first, in buying a refurbished product, as my experience with such has not been very positive in the past. However, due to the product reviews, I decided to take a chance and purchase one (along with an extended warranty) and, so far, I'm as pleased as I can be. Right off the bat, you're getting more than what is advertised, since this is an i5 rather than the stated i3. Is the laptop fast? You betcha! It's so fast, in fact, that without joking, I can say "don't blink because you may miss it!" I have a low level DSL connection for the Internet, but the pages load so fast, that I've sat there waiting - not realizing that the page had already loaded. I must have blinked. It runs cool, the display is sharp, bright, and the colors snap! It plays films, both on disc & streaming, cleanly. If I absolutely had to find a problem, it woud be the audio speakers which sound like an old cheap transister radio, but this was not unexpected. With either headphones or external speakers the sound is great! The battery life seems to be around 2.5 - 3 hours, which is sufficient for my needs, so far. I can recommend this laptop by stating that I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another one. Thanks ACER & Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crocodile195
Staunton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/9/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/9/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was very excited to get my ACER unit, even tho it took FedX almost a week to deliver to my hse, shudve had it sent to a store, prob wudve been n a bulk shipment nxt day; however, when I booted it up the spec screen DID say Core i-5 560m, just like most of the othr reviews indicated, plus it was pretty clean, just had a few specs of somethng along the top of the grill above the keyboard. No HDMI Port, whch i knew in advance, is still strange, since most other units in this price range ($348) do seem to include that feature, but i figured that the i-5 & Windows 7 wud still make it worthwhile; plus, my unit is pre-loaded w/Microsoft Ofc. Word & Excel for NO add'l purchase fee. So Ive been using the unit for a cpl days now & so far it's only booted me off th Internet once unexpectadely, but i thnk tht was more the WiFi signal than anything else, and i did receive a Microsoft Windows Update that asked me to reboot when i was ready to, othr than tht everything seems 2 b workn OK; will give U an update n a few weeks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Princeton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
refurbished is reburbished
12/26/2012

Customer review by mechell209

4.0 stars 12/26/2012 by mechell209
by mechell209
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would have given 5 stars all aroung But,.... This was ordered online and shipped to my home. I read the prior reviews before purchasing; no other seemed to have a problem and all were impressed that it indeed did come with the i5 processor instead of the i3 as stated. This was purchased for my 14 year old son as a Christmas present. Once received I did take it out of the box and charged it fully so it would be ready to go Christmas morning. Made a just a few other tweeks to the system so it would be up and running (setting up wi-fi, time and date being correct etc.) Placed everything back in the box as it was shipped and wrapped it for the big day. He opened it and got it up and running and within the hour of just doing normal computer tasks as it sits on his lap he is noticing that the screen will turn completely white when just moved a bit. So it seems to have a short in the wiring somewhere. I paid too much for this to happen, whether its refurbished or not. So now I have to go through the hassel of a return and repair which will probably take weeks. So it was quite dissappointing since it was a Christmas gift that can not be used until a later date.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mechell209
Louisville, KY.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Yes, it is core i5!!!
2/5/2013

Customer review by abhi383

4.0 stars 2/5/2013 by abhi383
by abhi383

Oh yes, it is labeled as Core i3 on it, but actually has Core i5 (as per hardware listed in the Devices and Printers section)! Quite happy with this, I expected it based on reading other reviews. I had to buy a new laptop as my 1-month old Samsung Core i3 with Windows 8 suddenly crashed. I hated Windows 8 as it came with 25GB of preloaded system full of apps. Updates would take too long, slow down the pc and make it very vulnerable to interruptions. It crashed when I wanted to brows net while it was doing one of those long updates. It could never reboot and I had to return it. This Acer laptop is very good. Comes with Windows 7 Home Premium which I wanted. Windows 7 is very reliable. This has separate numeric keypad, webcam is HD, screen and sound are excellent. Core i5 is a plus! Cons: 1. The looks are not so great. The cover is gray with grainy embossing. Not very attractive. 2. Keypad is not "sealed" like Samsung or Sony (or a calculator). You can see gaps below keys. 3. Does not have HDMI port, bluetooth and blue-ray dic compatibility. For me, these cons don't matter. VGA port is good for me against HDMI. Overall, happy with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abhi383
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I actually like it better than my $700 one.
3/16/2013

Customer review by diamond0424

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by diamond0424
by diamond0424

I am in awe of this. I bought it because my $700 one was in for repairs (Toshiba - the hard drive went out but it was still under warranty). I figured I needed a back up and a smaller one to transport easier as my other is a 17". Reading articles, this exceeded what was recommended. It has 3/4's the storage and memory and such as my other. No probelm with the keys or volume. If I had a complaint, it would be that the touchpad is off center to the left since I am right handed but since I use a mouse it's not too much of a problem until I have to use it when I am on the couch or transporting. The price was a bit more that I planned on but I got a lot more for it. This is the first time I bought an Acer but my sister and brother-in-law both have one for their laptops and my mother has their monitor so I gave them a try. I am not disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
diamond0424
Decatur, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A sad experience
12/20/2012

Customer review by Motorcyclaholic

1.0 stars 12/20/2012 by Motorcyclaholic
by Motorcyclaholic
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

From the glowing reviews I was excited about ordering this laptop. There is no way the unit I received had been refurbished. It came with so many registry and disc errors that during setup windows were freezing, and finally I was presented with a "blue screen error." Perhaps foolishly I struggled to right things, for it is a handsome unit. Hired an online company to go through the system, which is how I came to know where the errors were. Even they were not able to correct all the problems. Returning it to Walmart was a breeze, and my money was returned to my account the following day. Five stars for Walmart's return service, and only one for the Acer that was shipped without being properly serviced.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Motorcyclaholic
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Acer Aspire, i3 for 290.00 with a nice surprise!
1/5/2013

Customer review by dmbfan07cb

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by dmbfan07cb
by dmbfan07cb

I saw this bad boy sitting in the locked cage at my local Wal-Mart. Under it was a price tag that said $290. I knew that had to be a mistake because on the box it says it was an i3 with 4gb of ram and a 500gb HD. So I had the associate price check it and bought it immediately. Every other computer with even a Celeron or a slow AMD cost more and usually has less ram and i3's are going for 400+ So I got it home and got my upgrade to windows 8 for 14.99 on microsofts website first thing. Then I went to computer specs and the thing has an i5 processor. I thought this had to be windows 8 being weird but from looking at these reviews, it's not wrong. If you can find this computer, BUY IT. it is a very zippy little laptop that runs windows 8 very well. for 290+14.99 for a windows 8 upgrade you can have an i5 with 4gb ram and a nice big hard drive running windows 8. That would cost you 500-600 in todays market if not more. Very nice surprise but also has me wondering what kind of quality control acer is running with in China lol.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dmbfan07cb
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It really is an i5 instead of the listed i3.
3/23/2013

Customer review by XOnlineTechShopperX

5.0 stars 3/23/2013 by XOnlineTechShopperX
by XOnlineTechShopperX

I was checking out the reviews for this product and saw it mentioned that the processor was an i5 instead of an i3, I found this to be the case with mine as well, It came in as-new condition except it wasn't in the original packaging, it booted up right away and I backed up the factory settings which took no more than 15 minutes. It runs all the applications I use it for very smoothly. ( I stream HD movies, Download music and play some flash games ) The laptop never skipped a beat, it also doesn't seem to get got hot, even during long movie watching/game sessions. The sound is decent on it's own, but who these days doesn't use headphones with their laptop even if the sound were awesome on it. To wrap things up I would recommend this laptop to anyone, give it a chance and you will be pleasantly surprised, I've had mine over a month and not a single issue has arisen. * I would recommend upgrading the memory to 8Gb, costs about 25 to 40 Dollars *

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XOnlineTechShopperX
Medford, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/5/2013

Customer review by caidan

1.0 stars 3/5/2013 by caidan
by caidan

Purchased this for my 13 year old daughter. She was very excited. It worked fine for two days and then suddenly, while surfing Ebay, the computer froze and then the dreaded "Blue Screen of Death" occurred. It shut its self off. We tried to restart it and the light would come on, the fans would start, and then it would click right back off. We left it alone for a couple of hours and then tried again. It did the same thing. I finally got it to boot in safe mode after attempting that three times. Unfortunately, it soon shut down in safe mode before we could run any diagnostics or anything. After that, it would just continue to turn back off immediately after trying to turn it on. My daughter doesn't play games on it, didnt download anything or try to mess with it. She just likes to surf and do her homework on it. This was a sad experience. This should not have happened. Apparently the quality control is non existent. Return was painless though. Will be buying a new computer instead of refurbished.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caidan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/29/2012

Customer review by Certifiedtreeman

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by Certifiedtreeman
by Certifiedtreeman

I also bought this lap top and found that it actually has a i-5 not a i-3. I only had a little time to try it out as its a gift for my son but in that time I was able to see that its one heck of a machine with plenty of power and speed.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Certifiedtreeman
Central FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
As other reviews have said..it is an I5 processor
1/24/2013

Customer review by Schmed1ly

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by Schmed1ly
by Schmed1ly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Acer 5733-6838 came in as new condition with one cover not indexed properly...two screws and this little problem resolved. Still in protective plastic wrap and is working as expexted with no issues. I did not get the awesome price others received before christmas (290) (you snooze you lose) but I still think it is more than worth what it is currently priced at seeing that it has the intel core I5 M 560 64 bit processor @2.67 GHZ. Thanks to the other folks that posted the reviews on the processor info or I would not have taken the chance on this gem. Schmed1ly

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Schmed1ly
home
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better computer than described
12/8/2012

Customer review by Carolyn1709

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by Carolyn1709
by Carolyn1709
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The processor is in reality an I 5 but sold as an I 3. Even better deal than described, The I5's I looked at were $600 plus. This is an amazing price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carolyn1709
Silverton, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Laptop
12/2/2012

Customer review by ThisopitionisBS

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by ThisopitionisBS
by ThisopitionisBS

Just like the other two reviews I read my lab top too had an I5 processor. For the price it is a great value. It is very fast, faster than my home and work desk top. Another great thing about this labtop is that it doesn't come preloaded with a lot of garbage. I have no idea what the difference is between new and refurbished but this computer looks new and works great.

Was this review helpful? (33) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThisopitionisBS
Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
last forever, and does come with I5 processor
7/26/2014

Customer review by notthatguy93

5.0 stars 7/26/2014 by notthatguy93
by notthatguy93

I have had this computer for about 2 and a half years now, and it still runs like the day i first turned it on. I mostly use my computer for youtube, web browsing, shopping, listening to music, watching movies, and school work. When i purchased this computer, i paid 290 at my local Walmart, this was possibly the best investment i made as a college student. For the money i got a computer with a large hard drive, 4 gb of ram, and an I3, but i didn't know it came with an I5 until i started reading the reviews. Regardless, the computer runs like a champ, I am now in my last year of college, and super happy to see that this computer is kept up with everything i do without crashing, which wasn't the case for my last two laptops. Build is acceptable, no hdmi, but i really don't care, nice keys and a numerical key pad, which is always nice, The display is pretty good, up to par with most laptops i have used. Overall, this is a great computer, and a steal for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
notthatguy93
Fresno
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Recived a Dudd.
2/15/2013

Customer review by winuser

1.0 stars 2/15/2013 by winuser
by winuser

Received computer dead on arrival. Upon first start up computer shows the windows Error Recovery screen. I press enter to start windows normally. Two hours later the computer is still stuck on the "starting windows screen" Second attempt I start the computer in " last known good configuration (advanced) option" . Same results. Last Attempt I start the computer in " safe mode only". Nothing, Unable to boot. This computer was not properly refurbished nor was windows professionally installed. I have purchased rebuilt laptops before on walmart.com with awesome results. I do not recommend this computer. The authorized Refurbisher needs better quality assurance.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
winuser
orlando, fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/23/2013

Customer review by moreless

1.0 stars 2/23/2013 by moreless
by moreless

After reading the glorious reviews about this laptop, I decided to give it a chance. When I received the laptop, I went through the setup process. During setup, an error window popped up stating that it had a windows system/32 failure and it would not finish booting up. I shut it down and restarted it. The second time it booted up. During the first 10 days of use, this problem occurred a couple more times when re-starting the computer after shut down until the computer began to freeze up completely. I returned it and ordered another one, thinking I may have received a lemon. The second one would not even finish the setup process and I returned it the next day. I am sure if greater pains were taken during refurbishing, this would have made a nice laptop. However, I was unwilling to take another chance with this laptop, therefore, I ordered a laptop from cyberpowerpc and I couldn't be happier!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moreless
Cumberland Gap, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Choice!
3/16/2013

Customer review by JDEvermore

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by JDEvermore
by JDEvermore
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This has been an excellent choice for me. And mine has an i5 processor as well. There were a couple things downloaded that I removed, but mostly it was uncluttered and well set up. I also love the fact that it has Windows 7 instead of 8. I prefer 7's layout and find it much easier to navigate. My brother is an IT guy and when I told him I had bought a new laptop, he was angry that I didn't consult him first. But when I told him what I got and all the stats, he was very proud of me. :) I think he might be jealous too. All in all, this is very good value for the dollar, and I'm glad I got it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JDEvermore
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews