Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 141 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

141 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

141 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
92
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
17
1-20 of 141 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 141 total reviews
1-20 of 141 reviews
Really GREAT!!
6/4/2012

Customer review by kmscatsx2

4.0 stars 6/4/2012 by kmscatsx2
by kmscatsx2

Wow! I love my new Lift Off Carpet Cleaner! Unbelievable! I have two small dogs that refuse to be housetrained. It is a constant battle that I am loosing. I tried my sisters Bissell and quiet frankly it is a piece of junk. I was very sceptical when I purchased the Lift-Off. I am astounded at the great job that it did. My puppy stained carpets look almost new again. The only reason I did not give it 5-stars is because the water tank is small and has to be refilled frequently. Other than that is is awesome. I could not believe the filthy water I was dumping down my sink, that was in my carpet. If you have any reservations, please know you will not be disappointed. I am very much a hard-to-please consumer and I am pleasantly surprised, especially after my experience borrowing my sisters Bissell (different model). One last thing, this machine is a bit "touchy". In other words everything has to be absolutley put in its place or it will not work. Once I figured that out I was off and running.

kmscatsx2
Vancouver, Washington
Gender:Female
First Time to use our new Lift-Off Cleaning System
4/10/2012

Customer review by JaTexas

4.0 stars 4/10/2012 by JaTexas
by JaTexas

We did our living/family room carpet and small 10' hall. We also have two cats with long fur. The carpet was getting some spots due to age as we have not cleaned it for about a year and it is light tan. The system worked very well. I started going to fast but adjusted as I learned the machine. It was not as heavy as a rental one and held a less water and cleaner so I had to refill 4 times. After use I followed the cleaning instructions which may prevent leakage and early wear on the seals I hope. Our results were excellent, we did pre-treat some small areas but most was not treated. We have an area rug in the center of the room under which you could see the color difference when we rolled it up and the area around the rug came as clean as the covered part which is why we rated the unit so high. I do think cleaning after use is key to long life. We are also ordering the Power TurboBrush Hand Tool as it will help remove dander from the furniture. All in all it has solved our floor problem.

JaTexas
High Island, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Highly impressed
3/1/2013

Customer review by Mommy of 3 kids and 2 pets

5.0 stars 3/1/2013 by Mommy of 3 kids and 2 pets
by Mommy of 3 kids and 2 pets

I am generally not a fan of store bought carpet cleaning systems as one of my friends owns a carpet cleaning company. However with 3 kids, a senior cat, and a new puppy, I can't call my friend every time the kids spill something or while I'm trying to potty train my puppy. I bought the Bissell Lift Off Deep Clean with little expectations. I figured something is better than nothing. To my surprise, I am HIGHLY impressed!! This thing made the carpets look amazing and it was super easy to use! It is a little heavy, but who cares! My carpets look amazing and I won't be embarrassed when I have unexpected company pop in! I LOVE that it has a portable tank too, so when the kids spill something I don't have to pull the whole thing out. It was simple to assemble. I do wish the clean water tank was a bit larger but in order to have the portable section, they had to keep it small. If you have kids and pets I highly recommend the pretreat . This machine is WELL WORTH the money!

Mommy of 3 kids and 2 pets
Surprise, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
Not a Satisfied Customer
8/3/2013

Customer review by CyberProphet

1.0 stars 8/3/2013 by CyberProphet
by CyberProphet

This machine worked twice. Cleaned carpets fairly. The third time the handle would not spray. It's in the shop where they said they had 10 more with the same problem. When I contacted customer service to they referred me to authorized dealer to fix. The dealer told me this was the worst machine Bissell had released to the public. I've had this machine less than 5 months and was disappointed with it's performance and having to take it in to be repaired so early in my ownership. This is my 4th Bissell product and I have always been very satisfied with past machines. I asked customer service if I could return this machine and pay the difference for an upgraded machine but was told no. I would need to take the machine to the authorized dealer to have fixed and if the issue was not corrected they would replace with the same machine. I would not recommend this machine to anyone looking for an efficient well cleaning machine.

CyberProphet
Gender:Female
THE BEST CLEANER I'VE EVER USED!!
10/23/2012

Customer review by The Queen

5.0 stars 10/23/2012 by The Queen
by The Queen

I actually aquired this particular model by default. I had to return the original purchase (2X Pet Anti,etc.) to exchange and lo, the store had NONE. The manager then showed me what was available, and I saw this model and said OK, as long as its a Bissell. Well I must say that I have NEVER experienced a clean like this! I used it the day after I purchased it, and was amazed. Only one little problem: it took three days for my body to recover. **Literally. This is a most powerful Cleaner! I realize now that I must pay someone to do the carpet as I did today, but it is worth it (and keeps my Dr. happy)! It really lives up to its name. I use the Pet, Odor Control and Allergen cleaners in my machine, and the outcome is awesome; the machine addresses all areas that I need. I know it for sure when the dirty tank is full. The entire house smells wonderful, and we haven't done the final three yet. Thanks Bissell for a job well done, Queen **I just happen to be a veteran with disabilities,some not reversable: however I like to retain & maintain my INDEPENDENCE :-)

The Queen
Original New Yorker>NC
Gender:Female
Every Home with Pets Should Have This Machine!!
8/20/2012

Customer review by Macnana

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by Macnana
by Macnana

I just used this machine for the first time. I had the most disgusting pet stains on my stairs, they were black in some spots. I pretreated and used the lift off machine and the spots are gone. I wish I could post a picture because I took before and after shots and it's amazing. My carpet is about 10 years old and I have had a house full of kids and pets, I cleaned it last (ashamed to say) 4 years ago so it was pretty bad. This machine just took care of all of it and I paid what I would have paid one time for the pros to come out - and now I'll have it on hand all the time. What with grand kids spilling things, my little dog who still decorates the carpet, I can whip the Bissell Lift off out whenever I want to and keep the carpet clean. Great machine - and it's so easy to use - out of the box, plug it in and go - just have to attach the handle on the base, that's it. I highly recommend this machine.

Macnana
San Diego
Gender:Female
Exceeded expectations
4/6/2012

Customer review by Happymom

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by Happymom
by Happymom

Having raised two kids and now an empty nester with 3 dogs and 3 cats, I have purchased my share of steam cleaners over the years and this one tops them all. The lift-off deep cleaning system exceeded all my expectations! The lift-off feature makes it easy to fit in tight places where a larger upright cleaner would not fit. It's easy to switch between upright and portable use making what used to be a lengthy job quick and easy. The hose easily secures back in place after using the portable unit and the hose tools dig deep into the carpet cleaning those hard to clean stains that have not come clean with previous upright cleaners. The best part, though, is the clean up when the job is done. After use, both the soap/water dispenser unit and the dirty water unit are easy to clean with wide openings to clean out the pet hair, dirt and oily water that have been difficult to remove with previous machines.

Happymom
Visalia, CA, USA
Gender:Female
AWESOME!!!!
11/23/2012

Customer review by ShanPurple

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by ShanPurple
by ShanPurple

This cleaner is great! It really deep cleans and gets the dirt and pet hair right down UNDER the carpet itself. A little bulky and heavy, but I would still recommend this to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShanPurple
Claremont, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Saved the cost of professional carpet cleaning.
11/26/2013

Customer review by Happy homeowner

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by Happy homeowner
by Happy homeowner

My wife and I are retired seniors. The carpet in our home over 10 yrs old. Although old, the carpet still looks really good because we've had it professionally cleaned on a regular basis. Then my wife sees this Bissell product demonstrated on TV. It's certainly not cheap, however, when compared to the cost of regular professional carpet cleaning it was easy to see the cost of the Bissell would be soon repaid. Thus we purchased the machine, along with the super strength cleaning solution. We used the machine, and we were very very pleased with the results..! The cleaning was even better than the regular professional carpet service we had been using. Using the machine was straight forward, the dirty water captured by the machine, was a sight to behold. We could not be more pleased with this purchase! We would recommend this machine to anyone wanting clean carpets.

Happy homeowner
Huntingburg, IN
Gender:Male
Makes the house smell better too!
7/29/2013

Customer review by First time user

4.0 stars 7/29/2013 by First time user
by First time user

We really needed to invest in a deep clean machine as we now have a baby and also have two large dogs. We have always rented a rug doctor, but it gets expensive. So we decided to invest in this Bissell Lift-Off. I love the Lift-Off part so I can clean the stairs, upholstery, and small jobs without using the huge machine. There is a small formula tank, but I can fill it twice and empty the dirty tank once. I couldn't believe how much dirt it has brought up from my carpet with two dogs in the house. The added benefit was it made the house smell cleaner and the pretreat worked really well on old stains. The only downside is that using the spot clean on upholstery in the formula tank has made my couch and recliner a little stiff because of all the soap in the tank, so I have not added the full amount it recommends. Truly a great product, lightweight, and easy to clean!

First time user
South Bend, IN, USA
Gender:Female
BEAUTIFUL Clean!
3/10/2012

Customer review by ilikepie21k

5.0 stars 3/10/2012 by ilikepie21k
by ilikepie21k

I bought this machine a few days ago to replace an aging Hoover that was going bad on me. I got it home and had some trouble assembling it, but once I got it together and filled it up with some Spring Breeze and cleaned a musty area. When I was done, it was shiny again and spelled like a blossoming meadow. I tackled the stairs with the Professional Formula and it tore up the stains! The dirty water tank was BLACK; those stairs were had stains, dirt, etc all over them before and it looked and smelled like a gentle hill in the spring breeze when I was done. The lift off unit made it easy to clean the stairs and the heater added some incredible cleaning power along with the brushes. Even though it leaves behind fuzz clumps, I just collect them and throw them away after the carpet dries. Pros: + Versatile + Powerful + Leaves carpets dry + Quiet; much quieter than any other carpet cleaver I've owned + Wide cleaning path + Easy to use + Leaves carpets smelling wonderful and gleaming with cleanliness Cons: - A little heavy - Assembly was somewhat difficult - Tanks a little small, but I'd rather have versatility

ilikepie21k
Tampa, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Used Sister's Then Bought My Own!
5/21/2013

Customer review by BissellLove

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by BissellLove
by BissellLove

I used my sister's bissell to clean my carpets because I was selling my home.I thought I would try to save money by cleaning my carpets myself. I was doubtful it would clean the carpets well enough. I was amazed by the bissell! I have an Australian Shepherd and 2 cats which equals lots of pet hair! I vacuum with a top of the line vacuum almost everyday and it gets all their hair up. Well boy was I surprised! The bissell got so much hair and dirt up out of the carpets it totlly sold me! My carpets were so clean and fresh smelling my realtor thought I had them professionally cleaned. I just bought my own because my sister insisted I return Her bissell. I cannot live without it. I volunteered to clean my mom's carpets instead of her shelling out big bucks to have them professionally cleaned. Love the detachable spot cleaner for stairs and my car!

BissellLove
Westerville, OH
Gender:Female
Pleasantly Surprised
5/27/2012

Customer review by Carlo

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by Carlo
by Carlo

It is hard to keep carpeting clean, especially right after a Chicago Winter. Even though I had my carpeting professionally cleaned six months ago, it was now especially dirty, the living room in particular. Since I figured the cost of the Bissell was equivalent to two professional cleanings, I decided to take a chance, but was not expecting much. So I got my machine. It took five minutes to assemble and I was ready to go. I did four passes. One each way with the sprayer on, two without to pick up the water. On a three bedroom ranch, it took me just a little over an hour, including water refills and changes. I only used the little 8 oz bottle of cleaning solution sample that came with the machine, so I do not foresee a huge expense per cleaning in the future. The machine picks up water real good. When I was done, the carpeting felt only a little damp. I turned on the ceiling fans (but outside doors closed) and within twelve hours the carpeting was completely dry! As far as the cleaning itself, I feel it looked as good or better than the professionals. I was really impressed and totally surprised! Next, I will try it on my sofas...

Carlo
Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:Male
So far, so GREAT
1/7/2013

Customer review by Matt Chazz

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Matt Chazz
by Matt Chazz

My cousin and I live together in our Grandmother's old house and we are currently in the process of rehabbing it. A large portion of the house is carpeted and the carpet is about 20 years old...It had never been cleaned and was in awful shape. My cousin, who, by the way, is a contractor, was planning on replacing it...I tried convincing him to split the cost of this machine with me but he insisted it would be a waste of $ bc the carpet was beyond cleanable...so I went out and bought it myself. After going over the carpet twice with this machine it looks like it's brand new...now instead of spending somewhere around $3,000 replacing the carpet, we just need to get it stretched...I bought the machine about 2 wks. ago so as long as it holds up, the five star rating will remain! Oh, and a little side note; I've always been a huge fan of Hoover and originally purchased the "max extract77." After going to refill the fresh water tank for the first time during its initial use, it started leaking cleaning solution and water everywhere. This machine is worth the couple extra bucks...Bissell has definitely won me over! I'm very pleased with my purchase.

Matt Chazz
Marlton, Evesham Township, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
Bad Purchase
8/22/2015

Customer review by Sarah29

1.0 stars 8/22/2015 by Sarah29
by Sarah29

I have enough time to spray solution and then the battery starts to die. Charging time is ridiculous for the amount of use it puts out.

Sarah29
Gender:Female
Big Disapointment
11/8/2012

Customer review by Charles III

1.0 stars 11/8/2012 by Charles III
by Charles III

Im sorry to say i am very disappointed in my purchase of the Bissell lift-off deep cleaning pet 2 in 1 machine,10 years ago i purchased the little green machine and its worked great,thats why i bought this new one,Here are the complaints i have,the water tank holds 2.5 cups off water,that will clean a 8'x8' area then you have to empty and fill again,at the same time you will need to plug in the electrical cord in another plug because its a very short cord, i found that it does not pick up the water very well and just makes a wet mess.If you are thinking of buying one of these don't do it,You should look and research other brands.I don't know why but i have read the reviews on the Bissell and most of them are good ? I think they must work for Bissell.anyway this is my review.

Comment from Lisa - 11/9/2012

Sorry, it sounds like this model doesn’t fit your needs. You may be more interested in our large capacity Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine. It has a 2 gallon tank compared to the ¾ gallon capacity of your unit. Here is a link to it http://www.bissell.com/Big-Green-Deep-Cleaning-Machine/?icid=ccrr

Charles III
Fremont, CA, USA
Excellent Product!
4/1/2013

Customer review by DirtHater

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by DirtHater
by DirtHater

I recieved this deep cleaner a few weeks ago and have used it to clean about 900 sqft of carpet in my home. This has used almost all of the almost all of the 60 oz. 2x pet formula I purchased with the machine So for reference about 1 60 oz. bottle cleaner/1000sqft. Assembly was fast and simple. Operational instructions are also fast and simple. I followed manufacturer operating directions as close as possible, and spent a good deal of time on preping spots and highly soiled areas. I am really quite amazed at this machines performance! This cleaning is much better than I ever recieved from the professional steam cleaning companies, and the cleaning solution I used also includes scotchgaurding in the formula. This machine has already paid for itself in what I would have spent on the "pros" and a much, much better looking, feeling, and smelling result. I can't wait to try it on my suv's. Just very pleased with the overall performance and value so far. So here is what you know but don't want to hear....The process is slow and it is pretty hard work, but if you have the time and patience and are physically capable this machine will definitely reward your efforts! Thanks Bissell for a very functional, useful, and economical product!

DirtHater
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Gender:Male
ANYONE THAT IS LOOKING FOR A CARPET CLEANER THIS IS A MUST HAVE!
3/29/2013

Customer review by Momma

5.0 stars 3/29/2013 by Momma
by Momma

I am one that does their home work before a purchase. I did my home work on this one and I am so Happy that I invested the money on the DeepClean lift-off. It is so easy to operate and so lite weight. It didn't even take me that long to clean my carpets and the dry time was fast. I have a lot of traffic that comes through my house and no one takes off their shoes so my carpets were in need of a deep cleaning. This carpet cleaner picked up the dirt and stains so well that I don't worry about the traffic coming through my house with their shoes on. The lift off is so easy to use and lite weight and you can control the amount of water you want to use for a quick dry. I can't wait to use this on my son's car that so desperately needs some TLC.

Momma
Herriman, UT, USA
Gender:Female
Not a good product
5/27/2015

Customer review by onyx62is

1.0 stars 5/27/2015 by onyx62is
by onyx62is

I am very dissatisfied with this product. I picked it up yesterday and find that the run time is shorter than advertised. Along with very little suction this makes for a poor purchase. You would expect something to at least be able to run while plugged in but this doesn't. It will only run based on a charge and a 12 hour charge time is just a little much. I will be returning this product for a full refund tomorrow.

Comment from Lisa - 6/4/2015

Thank you for your review, we're very sorry for your disappointment. The BISSELL Little Green Jr. is designed to remove quick pickups. In the user guide it states will run up to 7 minutes. If you have model 1718/1719 the machine should last up to 15 minutes. Please make sure the drain plug is on properly for good suction. Also, remember to leave time for suctioning. BISSELL offers different options for a compact cleaner, please see this link to view: http://canada.bissell.com/carpet-deep-cleaners/portable

onyx62is
Oxy Pet Stain & Stink Remover Great
6/26/2015

Customer review by Debbie51

5.0 stars 6/26/2015 by Debbie51
by Debbie51

My cat has IBS, which has it's ups and downs. I've tried many products with little success. This one works the best to keep things well under control.

Debbie51
GA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 141 total reviews
1-20 of 141 reviews