Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 6 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

6 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

6 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-5 of 5 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Not worth the cost
12/26/2012

Customer review by NannyJane

1.0 stars 12/26/2012 by NannyJane
by NannyJane

We purchased this microscope for $89.97. All of the videos and details from storefronts and itikes advertise this with a real lens that has a magnification of 100x 200x and 300x. Upon inspection of the box there is a small sticker covering that information that reads 50x 100x 150x. If you download the free app you will get the best this item has to offer... a few computerized images. Save your money, not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NannyJane
OREGON
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not a real microscope.
10/19/2013

Customer review by Momofweethree

2.0 stars 10/19/2013 by Momofweethree
by Momofweethree

A regular microscope is too fragile and too complicated for my kids, when I saw this on sale I thought, "awesome, a kid-friendly one they can use!" - But beyond the box, and the few reviews I can find online, I was very mislead by what it really is. This markets itself as a real microscope, but it isn't. It includes a good amount of kid proof prefilled slides, but you are limited to ONLY those slides. You can't look at anything else. It isn't designed to look at anything beyond the included items. OBNOXIOUS child voice (doesn't turn off) encourages you to play and discover. Fab for the prek-1st grade set but LAME for older kids. The app is free but very childish and really limited, it teaches you more about what's on the slides. Not all that impressive for the price. The iToy holders won't hold if you have a gel or hardcase on your iToy and I'm not handing over a naked IPad or iPhone to a 5yr old!! I was hoping this would be a kid-friendly microscope and it IS simple to use but not expandable beyond the pre filled slides. Would be better if you could free play (no voice), fill your own slides. Overpriced for what it is. No real reason to use iToys with this. You can't use your iToys as an extra screen, limited to the viewfinder on the microscope. iToys don't connect, they just lay in a holder for you to play along with the free downloadable app. Given the average attention span of a 4-7yr old, this gets boring fast. Older siblings will find this "babyish".

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momofweethree
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
3/19/2013

Customer review by drcoco

4.0 stars 3/19/2013 by drcoco
by drcoco

My 5 y/o and 4 y/o love this microscope! Its a fun way to get kids interested in science. Just make sure you have a compatible i-product as I have an Ipod 3rd generation so the app interaction is not fully functional.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drcoco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
iTunes microscope is awesome for dicover
6/16/2013

Customer review by bel_1972

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by bel_1972
by bel_1972

This product has been purchased for my 11 And 8 y.o for Christmas which I know they will love. I would love too see little tykes bring out additional slides that can be used for this microscope and can be purchased in addition to the slides that come with the microscope. I am also a childhood educator and this educational toy will be great for the kids to experience nature when I take it in to introduce them to them to a whole New experience.

bel_1972
Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this was a bust
12/28/2012

Customer review by no nickname

1.0 stars 12/28/2012 by no nickname
by no nickname

My granddaughter was excited to get this for Christmas.. disappointed when attempted to use slides constantly had to move around specimen in order to see in lens. Then an annoying sound like a siren kept going off could not shut off had to remove batteries, put in fresh batteries and same sound kept happening.

no nickname
Dallas, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No