Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.3out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 | 275 reviews
5 stars
187
4 stars
47
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 stars
22
Sort by: 
1-20 of 267 reviews
1-20 of 267 reviews
wow..this router is awesome!!!
12/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was so surprised at how hard this router was to set up.I have set up a few others before this one and they were easy to set up...after no luck setting it up by myself....I called their customer care service and was lead thru the set up process.it took them 2 and a half hours to get it to work. But in the end it was well worth it..I went to YouTube to try out some videos because I always had slow buffering problems watching YouTube videos..OMG..I was stunned at the speed of the buffering..it was done buffering thru the whole video before the video had just started!! My first thought was ..y didn't I buy this router sooner lol. I enjoy watching videos now and each video plays thru with no pauses or stutters..it speeded up my internet on all my WiFi connected devices..my iPad..android tablet..iPod and my laptop..I have had it for a week and have found it to work with no problems..I am completely happy with my purchase and I deff would recommend this product to everyone!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (92)No (46)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awful
5/17/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My husband bought this router less than a year ago. It has never been great. It is not as fast as it says it is. Then a couple days ago it started randomly blocking sites with Open DNS even though we had never activated parental controls. It wouldn't let us go to basic sites. I opened up a ticket with Open DNS and never heard back. Then I called Netgear and they told me it is a software issue that they can fix - if I pay them $139 for a year's worth of service since apparently my device is coincidentally having problems right after the warranty expired. I don't understand how a software issue is even something that can only be fixed under a warranty. It seems illegal that they can create a software issue and then ask me to pay $139 to fix it. I asked to speak to a manager and was put on hold for a half an hour until I finally hung up. I have a linksys that still works that I bought 10 years ago for something like $50. I will never buy another Netgear anything.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (50)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
N 750 100% Junk
3/2/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
100% junk, after 1 to 2 hours Wi-Fi single drops (2.4 and 5) all lights go out then come back on, called Tech support and after several adjustments it worked for about 2 hours then same thing all over again exchanged routers 3 times with same results, Tech support now tells me my house wiring is bad and to call a electrician just so happens I am a electrician, I explained to them I upgraded from the N 300 and never had a problem for almost 4 years with that router and using same wall outlet and UPS and Cat 5 wires, another trip to the store and bought the NETGEAR WNDR4500 N900 Dual Band Gigabit Wi-Fi Router, guess what folks same results worked for about hour and a half and back on the phone with tech support, they tell me it is a hardware issue.. Also tried the same 4 routers while using a UPS so I knew line voltage was not the issue, so now using the old N 300 and no issues what so ever for over a week now, when the N 300 dies I will not ever buy Netgear junk again and suggest the same to you save your money and headaches
Was this review helpful?
Yes (44)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bad experience!
9/26/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The first Netgear router/modem I bought didn't even last 3 months. Dealing with their tech support was a nightmare! I went round and round on the phone with them a total of 6 hours. They were rude and disrespectful, talking to me like I was a stupid dog! I finally told the man on the other end not to talk to me like I was a stupid dog and he hung up on me. I finally got thru to a "manager" and it was finally agreed that they would send me another router. Well, low and behold, after we had a power out that lasted only a few seconds, the router took a dump and never worked after that. I just told Comcast to send me one of theirs, that is who I have internet service thru. It's $10 more on the bill but it is well worth it to not go thru that nightmare again with Netgear. I will NEVER buy another Netgear product again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This is a SUPPORT MAGNET!!!
5/4/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Buy this ONLY if you're lonely and want to spend a lot of time talking to someone (Support). I've had the N750 for about 2 weeks now and have just had my third 2+ hour session with the Support Staff. Granted, the guys I talked to seemed nice and seemed well informed, but after all three times they have assured me I would never have the same problem again. Apparently they meant "until the next time". I have one wired connection and 3 wireless connections set up to use this router. At different times, I have had the message "Access Control in your router has blocked this device". (The blocked device varies). I call customer Support and they "reconfigure" everything, make sure that Access Control is turned OFF, and assure me that the problem is solved. Then it happens again. Again, unless you just desperately need someone to talk to (the Support staff), I would suggest staying away from this router!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Equipment Not Durable Or Reliable
2/24/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Over the past several years I've owned three Netgear wireless routers. One was single band, two dual band. The design appearance and profile is great, the administrative interface excellent. The problem comes down to reliability. In each, and every case, the routers started becoming unreliable after approximately eighteen months. The units come with a one year warranty so any calls for tech or repair assistance are rejected unless you're willing to pay for it. Apart from resetting it every few hours or days, whatever the case may be, there's not much to be done. Given the many positive reviews from various tech news sources I expected much better results from this manufacturers equipment. With home phone, smart TV, internet, even cell phones feeding off the signals, it's not worth the cost, time, or trouble investing in their disappointing equipment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Router
12/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm a computer tech (18+yrs full time) and for the last 5 years I have been using Netgear Wireless Routers (used to use Linksys and if I can't say anything good, then I won't comment). . . This N750 is an excellent router for a medium to larger house. I always use the Netgear Administration Page on the web to set these up instead of the default settings/software: 192.168.1.1 typed into web URL bar (then enter) gets you there with/// Username: admin & Password: password. TC
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Solved a huge problem
7/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
After doing some simple research I learned that having multiple wireless devices in the home can tax the basic router ... the signal dropped every hour or so, video streaming errors ... this router solved our home wireless problem and is well worth the investment. With at least six different tv's, laptops and handhelds we suffer no signal loss ... not once since I installed it. Installation is automated so no stressing there either. Great product!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (243)No (29)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Extended Range is impressive
7/1/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased the WNDR4300 specifically due to the positive extended range comments in previous reviews. The unit does indeed have a wider range. I now see two bars in a distant room that previously had none. So, I am pleased with the range performance in the 2.4Ghz band. Other reviewers have mentioned the rather short range when using the 5Ghz band and I can verify that is true. Although having two independent bands may be useful in some home/office configurations, I am content using the extended range 2.4Ghz band. A nice unit which performs as advertised.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (68)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great for wireless HD streaming
7/17/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've had this router set up for about 2 weeks now and I'm happy to say it's working as well as I had hoped. I have a smart TV with wireless capabilities about 5ft from the router in the same room and the TV get's flawless connection. Netflix, YouTube, all HD right away with no hiccups. Even when I am using my wired connection to my PC and playing online games/streaming myself, the connection holds strong. Not to mention I hooked up my printer to it and now have a wireless accessible network printer which is neat. If i had a NAS there is READYCloud tech built in the router too. For $90 I'd say it's definitely worth the price. Plus it looks sleek, feels well made, and has pretty much all the bells and whistles.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (84)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Product!! Extremely user friendly!
3/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This router works PERFECTLY! I have a 4 bedroom home, and the router/modem that the cable company gave me was not going to reach throughout the ENTIRE house, so I purchased this router, and had it installed and working in about 10 minutes. The instructions are easy, the management site is awesome, and the range is incredible in whichever part of the house I'm in! Excellent product for the price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (87)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy Setup
8/9/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Hooked up my NetGear N750 Premium edition wireless router for use with our iPad. Have my desktop PC wired in with an Ethernet cable. Directions were easy to follow, worked right off the bat. I'm NOT an electronics or computer guy. Some of the terminology with computers is foreign to an old school electrical guy like me. This was "cake". Range in our house has been very good with the iPad, we will try it outside to check our limit. We mainly got the iPad to keep up with our grandson in Denver. Checked owners' reviews for this product on WalMart.com. Seems like all NetGear products have good ratings.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does what is supposed to
9/20/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Improved my internet connection
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
EZ Setup!!
9/3/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The WNDR4300 is an absolute breeze to setup! Should you want to 'fully customize' the router features, you can do this thru a manual interface or thru the Netgear Genie UI that will assist in setting all the most common features/functions. The WNDR4300 is a Dual Band router that handles 2.4 & 5.0 freq much better than my previous router; wifi range is about 35% better thruout our 3400 sq ft 2-story home, providing access to wifi in rooms previously nil or marginal. Since we have no devices that have the new ac wifi capabilities, this particular 'N' router serves our devices flawlessly - Highly Recommend!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
quite pleased
11/12/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Had a Lynksys wrt54g from Cox Cable when we signed for 100mbps service. That is the one cox supplied saying it would do the job. Well after 2.5 years I became a bit smarter and found we could check the speed online at a site. The fastest speed was about 16mbps after upgrading the Lynksys firmware. Of course Cox told us that the router had worn out....maybe The NetGear was recommended by an installer for another cable company. He said it would do the speed and was too simple to set up. After thinking a while I bought it since I did not want to spend over 100$ an our able was cut by us to 50 mbps. This model is not on Cox Cable's list of approved although other, more expensive models are. After hooking it up I did the speed test, oh, it took less than 15 minutes to get it right including reading all the instructions. The download speed is constantly reading 65-75 mbps over the computer, a Dell win 7 and using the wireless on my iphone 5s it reads 27mbps using the comcast server in Atlanta 275 miles away. I hope this helps some of y'all. I am a dummy when it comes to this but I know what works and what doesn't. This does. bk
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product.
3/1/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Easy, basic setup with cables and ports. N band was our best option for multi tiered bandwidth devices. Network setup was easy and you are able to create several networks at either 2.4 or 5. Works great with PS4, Mac, iPad, iPhone, HP computers that we have. You can also download the app for the unit. Good deal for the money. It was cheaper online, picked it up at my same Walmart that has it for $20 more!? Crazy, but somewhat more convenient... and cheaper.! Overall good experience.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So far, so good
3/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this online because it was $20 cheaper than in the store. Picked it up at my local store, which was quick and easy (much better than it used to be). I needed a router that could handle video streaming and this one did the trick. Setup was easy. Just followed the installation instructions. The USB port is cool. Makes a great cloud backup with an external hard drive. If it holds up for a couple of years it'll be a good purchase. So far, so good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Gets the job done
12/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Needed a new router ASAP and this seemed the best bet for the price and reviews. I have no problem with it and it was a cinch to set up. Both Roku's, two smartphones, two tablets, two laptops and internet radios running with no problem.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Netgear N750
2/20/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It seems to work well, even though I don't fully understand it, I am not a technical person. The directions are minimal. It has a program called Net Genie that my 10 year old HP computer continues to look for drivers for, even though the program is already downloaded to my computer. I don't don't understand any of that! I had some help setting it up from my internet provider since my internet has a static IP, and is transmitted to me by radio signal, I live in a remote area. The internet provider recommended that I purchase a Netgear router. The wireless signal seems adequate, I use it for a Roku about 42 feet away from the router.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Router
9/4/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased this router at a Walmart Super Center based upon reading many more positive reviews & high recommendations then over the negative ones and are sure am glad I did. The difference between this router & my old Linksys WRT54G-VER6.0 is just night and day. With its high speed, customization and security settings abound the Netgear N750 is sure to please even the most finicky Netgeeks. The adjustable power transmitter signal strength feature for both the 2.4 & 5Ghz signals is most excellent and a sure fire way to save on operating costs over the long run. I'm using channel 6 for the 2.4Ghz & channel 44 for the 5Ghz signal and the connections even at 25% transmitter power are quite good even 40+ feet away will still do high quality video streaming, but bumping the signal strength up to 50% makes the signal connection a consistent 80 to 100% just about everywhere inside the house and outside in the yard. Love the parental control features and the switchable separate guest feature which can be secure or open with or without restrictions and the timer control for the transmitter. The possibilities and custom configurations are just about endless on this router. It can even send event reports to you via email. So far my net connection has been 100% solid with no drops and no resets needed. The router even came with the latest firmware version. The instant connect device feature works excellent. The separate wireless power on and off switch is great. The router has a regular power switch on the back. Bottom line here is that after reading so many of the customer reviews both good and bad and some of the nightmarish tales about Netgears rather poor customer support it seems that Netgear has spotty quality control issues that tends to make both good and bad batches of routers. Many electronic firms have had this same type of problem over the years. So in retrospect buying one of these or most any electronic device is like a roll of the dice these days. So far, so good. :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643955, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-