Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

23 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

23 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
1
1-20 of 23 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Smart TV Plus
11/2/2012

Customer review by ZeRaW4u

4.0 stars 11/2/2012 by ZeRaW4u
by ZeRaW4u

Overall a great purchase! Some info that is not included in the Walmart specifications: Audio power: 7 W + 7 W. Receivers: Analog NTSC Digital NTSC / ATSC / QAM Power Consumption: Rating label states 75 W, No standby or off consumption listed. Internet connectivity supports both Wireless and Ethernet. My favorite feature that was not listed at all is the built in media player. It's basically an integrated NBox. Plug in an external USB HDD with AVI's on it (ripped from DVD's or downloaded) and watch them on your TV. There are 2 USB ports. This also supports thumb drives with audio, video or text. I don't know the maximum HDD capacity this will support or all of the video file types yet but I haven't had one that wouldn't play yet. These media players normally run around $80~$100 alone. Picture quality could be better however, this is a $398 TV.

Was this review helpful? (98) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZeRaW4u
Mardela Springs, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME SOUND AND GREAT PICTURE.
12/24/2012

Customer review by IamJohnnyappleseed

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by IamJohnnyappleseed
by IamJohnnyappleseed

I read the reviews and some have complained even though the price is under $400 bucks for an led 1080p, 1080i, 720p,480p,480i internet connectable smart television that uses less power then a 100 watt light bulb. I am not talking about that person that got a defective experience from a damaged new tv and are upset. I would return it a great thing with Walmart as to ebay Walmart is always local ebay u risk being hundreds of miles from the seller if you have that very problem. Until Walmart list on ebay as a seller for such expensive things I'll wait. The persons that complain about a $400 tv as said above and then compares it to a much more expensive television wanted to drive extra trips to the store. I viewed the display in the store with the store signal's input and it was great. As one review reads its just $398. who cares they are exactly right and I thank them. If you mostly are watching analog or standard 480i/480p and you want the best picture and money is no object then you may want that $7hundred dollar or $1000 dollar Samsung tv. If you have standard signal and are planning to get HD signal later it's fine. I have a $7thousand dollar Pioneer Elite in a theater room of hi end products and a $13hundred dollar Samsung in the Master rm and I see no problems with this Hisense model tv. The other Tv.s I have are all made with gold everything and this one is not. I am sorry to mention this but earlier reviews that I were relying on for a rare good deal seeking helpful information were all sad but a few were helpful so I could seek the advice on whether to make the purchase and some have went to compare this product with TV's that are far exceeding the price of shopping for an inexpensive Tv. I have found the Signal source is the key for either a poor picture or a great picture. The signal input if you are going to use a SD standard signal you'll get a standard 480i viewing and if you put in HD you'll get all the the upper signals accordingly. I love the TV totally it connects to the internet easy and all the viewing is fine I really like the 40" it's not to small and not to big. I purchased them for the other Bedrooms. If you are looking for a main viewing tv and it fits your budget go for it. The kids love to connect to the internet. Under $400. I am very Satisfied its a great deal. Walmart I thank You.

Was this review helpful? (56) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IamJohnnyappleseed
Dingmans Ferry PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You Get What You Pay For
11/26/2012

Customer review by tigertail83

2.0 stars 11/26/2012 by tigertail83
by tigertail83

I currently have two Samsung TV's, and wanted a bigger TV for my bedroom so I decided to look at Walmart. I noticed that they had some Hisense TV's at a pretty attractive price. I did some research and found that the 42'' had some decent reviews. I purchased one for my girlfriend. I hooked everything up, and the picture was pretty good for her standards. I went to Walmart the night before Cyber Monday, and found this 40" Smart TV for a attractive price as well. I knew that it was probably 60hz even though I couldn't find it anywhere in the store, or on the box, but it looked good and sounded good. I preceded to purchase it, got it home and hooked everything up. I have HD with my satelite, and tuned it up to 1080i (you can't get 1080p out of a receiver box through satelite. Only through a Blu-Ray player) and started watching the game. The refresh rate was terrible, and the picture quality was even worse. I previously had a Samsung with 60hz in my bedroom prior, and the picture was not this bad. So, basically I am returning this to Walmart and just ordered a different TV online with 120hz. If you want a decent size TV for the money, it is OKAY, but if you are into sports, or gaming, I would avoid purchasing this product.

Was this review helpful? (57) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tigertail83
washington, mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect 2nd set
12/1/2012

Customer review by Sueat70

3.0 stars 12/1/2012 by Sueat70
by Sueat70

We wanted a smart TV for our bedroom. There aren't many choices at my preferred size of 32 inches. Walmart associates offered this at a terrific discount so it was impossible to turn it down. The refresh rate is just 60Hz but again for a 2nd set, who cares. Easy to set up. It connects to Pandora and Netflix extremely fast once you set up. I do hate to type in using the arrow keys for the Internet but we had that with our expensive Samsung too. Lots of customization. Way more connecting opportunities than I'll ever use. Pandora sounds is great. The standby light is too big and annoying so I'll be covering it with black electrical tape. Coded quickly with my Comcast remote. There might be better choices at $400 but then I only paid $300. Sometimes the price isn't the price, especially at the holidays.

Was this review helpful? (30) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sueat70
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/12/2012

Customer review by bsanders692000

4.0 stars 12/12/2012 by bsanders692000
by bsanders692000

I purchased this TV on cyber monday for $398 and I am extremely happy with the picture. This set is a replacement for my 32 inch (27 inch viewable) samsung lcd I bought 3 years ago for the same price. The features are great , the only thing it does not have is a browser but other than that this is a great TV for the price.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bsanders692000
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Hisense rules... Great tv
12/26/2012

Customer review by Jdubya26

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Jdubya26
by Jdubya26

I have the 40in led with all same specs as this one except mine isn't the smart tv and has one less hdmi, the tv is awesome .... Great picture,sound and value... I recommend Hisense to all

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jdubya26
Ohio, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I looked online at several sites, picked Walmart
12/30/2012

Customer review by Wally48881

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by Wally48881
by Wally48881

I wanted a LED, 1080p 120 Hz TV, but they were smart TV's or 3 D TV's, Walmart just lowered their in store price of this TV by $40. Some based on some good online reviews of this TV, I bought it. I was very surprised at the quality of this TV on HD channels. Walmart's store display for this TV did not do it justice. The Hisense TV has outstanding picture quality with of a true 1080p signal.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wally48881
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great LED Smart HDTV for the money!!!
12/14/2012

Customer review by mb165

4.0 stars 12/14/2012 by mb165
by mb165

Got this TV a week ago. what can i say NICE picture, sound is Ok has all the Features i need

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mb165
Okeechobee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tv for the price.
12/30/2012

Customer review by Branjonamour

4.0 stars 12/30/2012 by Branjonamour
by Branjonamour

I have had many different brands of tvs. Hands down, this has the best picture quality of any I've ever had. The sound is not wonderful, but once I hooked it up to my stereo speakers, it improved a great deal. The only complaint I have is regarding the Smart aspect of the tv. It keeps losing the wireless connection, of which I have to unplug it for a bit, then plug it back in to reconnect. This definitely gets old after a while. Other than that, this is a great tv.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Branjonamour
Yadkinville, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful TV!
1/5/2013

Customer review by ArtyG

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by ArtyG
by ArtyG

This is my second Hisense TV in two and a half years. I bought the first 32" as my entree into the HD flat screen genre . I paid $300 for it at another store and noted it was the same price I paid for the cheapest 19" color TV I could find back in 1979 when I bought my first TV after college. Same price not adjusted for inflation. Anyway, the Hisense was a terrific set with excellent sound and color plus it has worked beautifully without a pause for the whole while I owned it. It still does, so when I decided to replace it with a larger 40" LED this Hisense was an obvious choice. I preferred an LED set because its light weight allowed me to use the same wall hanger as the 32" and also chose a non smart TV because I preferred to use my Roku to link up with Wi-Fi so all I needed was an adequate supply of HDMI ports and this set has 3. I am happy to say the tuner and remote have been nicely improved over the older 32" in too many ways to list. Suffice to say all the changes were welcome, expected and sensible even though the older tuner works just fine. I love watching football on this set!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArtyG
Indian Trail, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Don't let this unknown brand scare you
1/23/2013

Customer review by FriscoShell

5.0 stars 1/23/2013 by FriscoShell
by FriscoShell

I was first very skeptical of this brand not knowing anything about Hisense. I thought worst case scenario I could bring it back if it performed unsatisfactorily. However, after setting it up, I found the picture quality superior to that of my Panasonic Plasma TV. It adjusts automatically to the light level in the room providing a more quality picture. Some nice features include WiFi capability built in. It has a swivel base which is convenient when getting ready in the adjacent room. I have this as a bedroom TV and hooked it up to a separate audio source so the sound quality isn't an issue for me. The only thing I find annoying at this time is that there is a light in the middle of the bottom of the screen frame while in standby mode. I use my UVerse remote to turn the TV on and off so unfortunately it stays on. So if you want to turn off this annoying light, you have to use the TV remote. Overall, less than $400 for a second TV, this is a good buy and as I mentioned, the picture quality is outstanding!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FriscoShell
Frisco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV
12/30/2012

Customer review by MJ14

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by MJ14
by MJ14

It has everything I was looking for. Great picture, sound is excellent, easy to set up. Netflix loads up super fast and the quality is awesome. I am going to get one for my living room tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MJ14
Mission Viejo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the Price
1/5/2013

Customer review by BULLDOGCMAN

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by BULLDOGCMAN
by BULLDOGCMAN

I purhcased this TV for a bedroom. Getting a smart LED tv for under $400 is a steal. The remote has a one touch netflix button and the easy internet access which is a plus. I read in an earlier review the picture lagged and the 60hz was not good for gaming. I prefer 120HZ, but have not found any issues with gaming speeds on the XBOX 360 or lagging in fast motion TV shows. It is crucial to have a good quality HDMI cable and a HD source. We use Direct TV and the picture is clear and bright with good sound quality for bedroom use. When the power is off there is a small white light at the bottom of the TV that indicates the power is off. It is a good night light and it is not to bright as to keep you awake. You are not going to find a Smart LED TV of this quality without paying $700+ for it. We have had the TV for two weeks and we are very happy with the purchase. Great buy!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BULLDOGCMAN
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AA great priced TV
5/27/2014

Customer review by behindblueeyes

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by behindblueeyes
by behindblueeyes

I've owned my Hisense for over a year now and it's still going strong. I love the tv. Having not heard of Hisense before, I was a little skeptical that this brand was going to be junk, but it definitely isn't. The LED lighting takes some time to get used to is you're coming from plasma or LCD. Pros of this tv: It's a Smart TV It has a LED display Computer Connection It's has a ethernet port and it is also wireless It is very light, though to avoid touching the screen (like a 1/2" bezel) you'll want a second person to move it easily Energy Star approved/rated USB slot not only does photos, but can be used to show videos and more Cons: Wireless is a bit finicky/tricky to get to work The IR receiver doesn't always respond quickly/at all The firmware is slow sometimes, however, even for a year plus older TV the company still rolls out updates for it Overall, I would recommend this to anyone over Vizio or another brand because of all it's features versus the cost of the TV. Not being in the market for a new TV right now, I don't know if there is a new/better model out that beats this price with the same amount of features, but I can say that this TV is well worth the cost and I'd buy another Hisense over another brand anytime.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
behindblueeyes
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than I expected for the price
1/14/2013

Customer review by BBSBOY

5.0 stars 1/14/2013 by BBSBOY
by BBSBOY

I saw this model in my local Walmart, but I was eyeing toward the cheaper 40K360 model (the previous model without the Smart TV feature). As usual, I noted the model number and came home to do some online "research" first. I saw the previous reviews, but still can't tell a definite answer. I decided to get the Smart version just to test it out mysefl; if it ain't good, I can return it and get the original non-smart one. Turns out it is better than I thought. Since I previously owned only LCD TV's, this LED one looks just richer and deeper in color. At least to my eyes it's an improvement over the older TV's in my house. The smart TV feature ain't fancy, and the control choices are limited (when browsing my media content, why show files in iconic format when a file list would have been more practical; the icons took up screen real estate for no good purpose and squeeze the file names to only few characters). That being said, streaming video from my DLNP server to the TV works flawlessly for most files. I just hang this TV in front of my treadmill and I don't need any other devices to play my MTV collections while I run on the treadmill. If I bought the non-smart one I would have to attached a computer to it. The sound is just OK but since I am running I don't really care about 7.1 ch audo or something fancy. I am satisfied with the TV for the price I paid, and I just hope it last more than the one year warranty period.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BBSBOY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
1/26/2013

Customer review by MicahW

5.0 stars 1/26/2013 by MicahW
by MicahW

I love this TV! I was so happy to be able to get a smart TV within my budget and it is great. It has a netflix button right on the remote so it is super fast to get to. If you have AVI or MP4 movie files on your computer you can put them on a USB drive and watch the directly on the TV with the USB drive. Picture is great and the sound is not amazing but is really good and I bet it could be easily enhanced by using surround sound. Overall an excellent buy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MicahW
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/23/2013

Customer review by pomeroy2

4.0 stars 1/23/2013 by pomeroy2
by pomeroy2

great tv just what i was looking for it replace my 32 emerson.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pomeroy2
pomeroy wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Too Bad
2/18/2013

Customer review by HiSense40

1.0 stars 2/18/2013 by HiSense40
by HiSense40

The first 36 hours were great. Good picture, good sound. Missed a "add channel" versus "find channel" button as it wipes out previously saved channels. Also found wireless Internet will not connect to WEP "shared key", had to change router to "open authentication". But then after about 40 hours noticed a green horizontal line across the center and a violet vertical line along the left border. Very shortly thereafter the picture began to flutter and blur. Normal seems to work, but all other functions are unviewable. Back she goes!

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HiSense40
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME TV FOR A SMALLER BRAND
1/24/2013

Customer review by DRDAYTONA02348

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by DRDAYTONA02348
by DRDAYTONA02348

I HAD NEVER HEARD OF HISENSE BEFORE BUT WHEN I SAW THE PRICE AND THE SMART TV OPTIONS FOR IT AND IT WAS A 40" LED, I THOUGHT 'HEY WHY NOT GIVE IT A TRY I CAN ALWAYS RETURN IT'. WOW IS ALL I HAVE TO SAY IM SO GLAD I BOUGHT THIS TV. THE BASIC CABLE SHOWS OBVIOUSLY DONT LOOK THAT GREAT. BUT WHEN YOU ADD A BLU RAY PLAYER AND AN HDMI CABLE STAND BACK! CAUSE IT LOOKS AMAZING. SOUND QUALITY TO ME SOUNDS VERY GOOD, NOT THE BEST IVE HEARD BUT ITS NOT TOO FAR AWAY. THE SMART TV OPTION THAT COMES WITH YOUTUBE, VUDO, NETFLIX, ETC IS GREAT TO USE AND I HAD NO PROBLEM SETTING IT UP TO MY WIFI. AGAIN THIS PICTURE WAS UNBELIEVABLE WHEN I PLUGGED IT IN. IF YOUR USING A REGULAR DVD PLAYER YOU WILL NEED TO DO SOME ADJUSTING TO YOUR SCREEN TO GET IT WHERE YOU WANT IT BUT THATS OBVIOUS FOR ANY TV. IF YOU GET THIS LED TV I HIGHLY RECOMEND INVESTING IN A BLU RAY PLAYER AND AN HDMI CABLE! GO TRY IT, WHAT HAVE YOU GOT TO LOSE?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DRDAYTONA02348
DECATUR,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for!
1/5/2013

Customer review by rhymetyme

3.0 stars 1/5/2013 by rhymetyme
by rhymetyme

I purchased this tv because we had to have a tv and didn't want to wait until we could research other models. This model had an attractive price but the picture quality is bad to say the least. You have to customize every single program that you watch, viewing from the side is awful, the colors wash out terribly and I am just overall very dissatisfied with the tv. I will never buy this brand again, I don't care how much they have slashed the price due to Christmas. The sound is good though but the picture is unbelievably terrible. You don't have much choice for optimizing the picture quality either. Not a happy buyer.

Was this review helpful? (3) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rhymetyme
Six Lakes, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews