Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 345 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

345 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

345 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
172
4 stars
71
3 stars
27
2 stars
15
1 stars
60
1-20 of 331 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 331 total reviews
1-20 of 331 reviews
Great Player, love the wireless and netflix
12/9/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought two of these on black Friday because I wanted a way to play netflix in my bedroom and living room without having to use my xbox or computer. The wireless feature is awesome and works great, I don't know why they would sell anything that's not wireless anymore. Netflix works great on the player and the play/pause/fast forward buttons on Blue ray are much more responsive then on my old player. I'm glad I got two of them!

Was this review helpful? (63) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
performs as advertised, all functions
1/21/2013

Customer review by nc3rdbase

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by nc3rdbase
by nc3rdbase

I have had thie Samsung BD-E5400 less than a week. AFTER UPGRADING THEIR SOFTWARE RIGHT OFF THE BAT I have tested and used all functions except Pandora. I use AT&T uVerse (at 3.5 mbps) with the default wireless security setting of WPA. I have viewed Blu-Ray and normal DVDs without a problem, YOuTube, and, after upgrading my Netflix for streaming, Netflix worked fine, even at the "good" setting (0.5mbps)-- defined online at Netflix. (Before upgrading to their streaming program, my attempted logon to Netflix hung. The device was defined to Netflix but the signon hung in the red signon screen. I had the inexpensive, 2 DVDs a month program that allowed viewing of 2 streaming videos a month to my primary device -- in my case, laptop. Once I upgraded, bingo, signon was quick and I could view their streaming offerings.) So, so far, so good. I hope it remains so. I saw lots of dings against this model before buying -- some indicating erroneous info or essentially user related mistakes.

Was this review helpful? (47) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nc3rdbase
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Player
12/9/2012

Customer review by ForeverFriday

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by ForeverFriday
by ForeverFriday

I took the Blu-ray player out of the box last night and connected it to my TV. Everything seemed to power up fine. The remote was a bit confusing right away - it might have helped if I read the manual first - but I was able to load and watch a Blu-ray disk and was very happy with the results. I did notice before the movie a comment about upgrading - so after watching the movie I tried to update the software. It turned out to be a very easy process (the shipping version was two versions old so it was a good idea to upgrade). When I tried to look at some of the other internet options the player did seem to get stuck on a log-on screen for one of the optional services (I think it was Netflix) but I eventually got back to the home screen. Other than that everything seemed to work fine. All in all I am very happy with the purchase (so far).

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ForeverFriday
Sturgis, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Player for the Money
3/29/2013

Customer review by MissouriLaker

4.0 stars 3/29/2013 by MissouriLaker
by MissouriLaker

I purchased this player at the Walmart Store for $78.00 on 3/22/2013. Did not have any problems with this Samsung Blu-Ray, Model ES5400, player, which some purchasers have written about. The connection to my Wi-Fi router went smoothly and without any trouble, but took some time to type in the 26 character security key. Beware that one must punch the special keys to go from lower to upper case as well as numbers and symbols. Study the displayed keyboard before you start entering the security key. Connection to the internet was quick as well as upgrading the firmware. Do not forget to upgrade the firmware, which in mentioned in the on-screen setup. This player has met all of my expectations. Do not pass up this player because some of the earlier reviews rated it with one star. This is the forth Samsung product I have purchased in the past few years and I have been pleased with all of them. Also, there was a three month extension on the one year warranty because I believe there may have been a problem with production of this product in the beginning.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissouriLaker
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
sorry, it would not work properly
12/16/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/16/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought one of these mainly for netflix since my xbox broke. Within the first week it completely froze up and I could not turn it off. I had to unplug it and reboot the whole machine. So, I returned it and got another one. Unfortunately, the same thing kept happening with the next one, plus the disk tray would get stuck. It plays DVDs/blu-rays fine. However, the netflix app is slow and freezes up too much. I am doing research to try to find one that is better for netflix streaming.

Was this review helpful? (31) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Player
2/17/2014

Customer review by spikeysrb

5.0 stars 2/17/2014 by spikeysrb
by spikeysrb

This is a good product has wifi built in and lan. works very well and I would recommend this product to anyone. And for the price you cannot go wrong

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spikeysrb
greenwood sc 29646
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
PLEASE DO NOT BUY
3/29/2013

Customer review by heavner

1.0 stars 3/29/2013 by heavner
by heavner

this has got to be the biggest piece of junk ever made by samsung ,even down to the remote. the unit cuts off ,blacksout ,locks up during every use ,weather it be a blu-ray disk or netflixs.i have to unplug it daily to get back to a movie, i also have very good internet signal for netflix ,the unit actually says so/ plainly a piece of JUNK

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heavner
conover
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DOA and poor outsourced support
12/12/2013

Customer review by RustyTwo

1.0 stars 12/12/2013 by RustyTwo
by RustyTwo

I have always considered Samsung to be a quality product. I have a TV which was repaired out of the original warranty period due to a recall / acknowledged problem. That's service! I just opened My Blueray player which I received as a gift, It was DOA. After what must have been an hour dealing with a young lady who my wife and I could hardly understand, I was told I needed my receipt for service. The tech lacked even basic knowledge of the unit, its features and use. Something like this poisons a brand in my mind, I will not buy it for me, I definitely would not buy for someone else as a gift. What separates a name brand product from a cheap knock-off is the level of service offered, and the thought that that the company stands behind their product. I found no value in the name.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RustyTwo
Daytona Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great product for the price
2/25/2014

Customer review by melmoon

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by melmoon
by melmoon

This player is awesome. After reading some of the negative reviews I was a little worried but it works great. Netflix works great and I love the Pandora radio.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
melmoon
Antlers Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Didn't even last a week!
3/30/2013

Customer review by loreleigal1

1.0 stars 3/30/2013 by loreleigal1
by loreleigal1

Sooo disappointed with this product. It was EXACTLY what we wanted and for a great price. We have only had it less than a week and now it is frozen. The light turns on and off and it opens and closes but that is it. Nothing comes up on the TV screen and won't even play a DVD! Getting ready to return it, but I have been doing a lot of research and there really isn't another good option out there. Might just go with a Playstation again :(

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loreleigal1
Chantilly, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
what a difference
1/6/2014

Customer review by 4ncmom22

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by 4ncmom22
by 4ncmom22

WOW!!what a difference in picture resolution with this blu-ray player versus the old dvd player. i read reviews from walmart and other sites on this blu-ray and there were mixed reviews.so i only purchased because i got it at an unbelievable price$$ .some of the reviews complained about trying too play blu-rays and DVDs and not being able to get them to work, using Netflix and having buffering and other issues.I have not had a problem with playing blu-rays or old DVDs or getting Netflix to play i have also used the vudu which is preinstalled on the device and all work perfect. but i did do the system update when setting up my device, which is pretty much mandatory on most smart or wifi items these days.the update is so easy if you* read* yes read the instructions before you start there should be no problem.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4ncmom22
nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great!
12/10/2012

Customer review by mayoal

4.0 stars 12/10/2012 by mayoal
by mayoal

Great product, it does what it is supposed to do.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mayoal
Chula Vista, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not very impressed
1/5/2013

Customer review by dl08in

2.0 stars 1/5/2013 by dl08in
by dl08in

I've had it for a month and it worked well most of the time. It looks nice and is very compact, but the glossy plastic surface is a real dust magnet. It was easy to hook up and use. The buttons (not really buttons in the traditional sense, they are touch sensitive - VERY touch sensitive) on top are easy to access as long as you don't put it in a cabinet. There are no lights on the front to indicate when the power is on; the power button on top just lights a little. The video and audio quality are very good with BD or DVD discs. The preloaded apps are nice, but a little slow and there is no internet browser nor was there any way to add additional apps. The remote has good functionality, but the buttons are a little small for my big fingers. I found it difficult to feel where specific buttons are while using it in a dark room. My biggest complaints are that the disc tray stopped working after only two weeks and it would frequently freeze up when using the apps, especially when exiting them. (couple times a week or more) When it freezes you have to hold the power button on top of the player until it resets. Overall, the problems just outweighed the good features, which left me very unimpressed with this player.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dl08in
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't buy this for netflix
4/15/2013

Customer review by tudorford

2.0 stars 4/15/2013 by tudorford
by tudorford

I am very disappointed with this product. I bought it mostly to watch Netflix but it constantly freezes up to the point where I have to unplug it and re boot. The remote functions are also very slow. Blue Ray function seems to work fine. I don't have any problems running Netflix on our computers so I'm pretty sure it is not our internet service or wifi router. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tudorford
western Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very nice for the price.
4/3/2014

Customer review by mine2258

5.0 stars 4/3/2014 by mine2258
by mine2258

Threw out my old dvd player which was not a blue ray. This is my second blue ray dvd player. I like this one, it matches up well with my newer Samsung 32" TV. It is loaded with different capabilities. I love the push button control on the top. This thing appears to be capable of doing just about anything. It works well and is pretty easy to operate. I don't have all the skills to use the technology but look forward to learning. I haven't really used everything just yet but will eventually. I caught the thing on sale and couldn't be happier. I did try a cd disk with it and the music was great. I didn't know you could do that with a dvd player. You can't miss with this one at the price of $69.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mine2258
Inverness, Flrorida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't even bother
2/13/2014

Customer review by TenderP

1.0 stars 2/13/2014 by TenderP
by TenderP

I purchased this blue-ray 6 months ago based on a recommendation from a friend and with it being only $45 it was a no brainier. I bought a refurb the first time that was DOA. you'd have thought I'd have learned my lesson but being Samsung I gave them another chance. The second one worked. Setup was simple and the blue-ray player worked fine until today. Did the updates etc. was loving it. In attempting to watch a blue-ray it froze, I unplugged it and now it won't even work. And it also seems the remote is now faulty. It will power the device however none of the buttons work. I press Netflix and now the DVD player wants to work but when it comes to using the remote to selecting play....it doesn't even work. Netflix is another issue. If Netflix is your main deciding factor for making this purchase don't even bother. Heed everyone's warning about it freezing. I've unplugged this Monstrosity more times than I can count. I've read where the antenna may be faulty....you ain't lying. Netflix works fine on my other devices. Just disappointed. I would not recommend this product. It was great when it worked but I never thought after 6 months it would stop working. And it had to die during this snowstorm when I could enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TenderP
Lillington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
perfect little blu ray player
1/31/2013

Customer review by struggling2live

5.0 stars 1/31/2013 by struggling2live
by struggling2live

it does everything i want and need. has wireless connectivity and plays DVD's. the remote could be more user friendly. it is hard to use in the dark.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
struggling2live
beaver county
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ick
12/2/2013

Customer review by CCMOVE

1.0 stars 12/2/2013 by CCMOVE
by CCMOVE

Got it out of the box, plugged in, made terrible noise and door wouldn't open. Am returning.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CCMOVE
Yreka, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not buy if you like Netflix - it. won't work!
12/9/2013

Customer review by ArrrggghhhwhySamsung

1.0 stars 12/9/2013 by ArrrggghhhwhySamsung
by ArrrggghhhwhySamsung

I purchased this player from Walmart with the hopes of streaming Netflix, and I am sorely disappointed. Netflix is 100% functional everywhere else in my house, even my outdated smartphone, but it constantly freezes on this unit. A quick scan on google shows that I'm not alone. I have many other Samsung products throughout my house and purchased this unit based on their performance. What's worse is that when the unit freezes it must be unplugged...which means that I need to move my entertainment center every time! I will be removing this unit and replacing it with something that WILL WORK, not this pretty paperweight. I will be tossing this unit out and replacing it as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArrrggghhhwhySamsung
Chestertown, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/16/2012

Customer review by Prophotog

5.0 stars 12/16/2012 by Prophotog
by Prophotog

Great Blu-Ray, works seamlessly with my Samsung TV, Apps work great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Prophotog
Aiken SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 331 total reviews
1-20 of 331 reviews