Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

11 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

11 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

45%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-11 of 11 total reviews
45%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Excellent Trash Can!
4/2/2013

Customer review by McKaj

5.0 stars 4/2/2013 by McKaj
by McKaj

Love this trash can! Where we put ours, it has to be out in the open and I wanted a nice looking trash can and this one is just that! It works better than I thought and we ALL really like it and it was worth the money! We had a step trash can before, it was black plastic, and when you stepped on the lever the lid flew up too fast and it was flimsy. This one opens at the perfect speed, not to slow believe me or I wouldn't like it. When it closes it closes slowly though, but we like that cuz who wants to hear the lid slam 50X a day?!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
McKaj
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lid is not replaceable
5/4/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/4/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We have had the trash can for 6 months and the part of the lid that attaches to the metal bar from the foot petal is broken. The whole lid needs to be replaced; however, no one sells a replacement. The trash can looks nice, but the mechanism is not durable.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks Great, Fabulous Value!
4/14/2013

Customer review by queenissac

5.0 stars 4/14/2013 by queenissac
by queenissac

LOVE this trash can! I bought it along w/ the 40 gal round (that one's for recyclables). I don't know why other people have had issues w/ the sticker on these cans...When I bought the cans 9 months ago, the stickers on BOTH cans peeled right off no prob (& I didn't even peel it off that slow). It was even the kind of sticker that seemed to be made to peel off easier--like more plastic-y than paper. (***TIP*** IF YOU ARE HAVING PROBLEMS W/ THE STICKER: Spray or dab a bit of Goo-Gone (NOT Goof Off, that's stuff's harsh) or Citra Solv & any leftover sticky bits w/ come off VERY easily. Just let it sit for a couple minutes. Both have a light orange scent & are not caustic. Walmart sells Goo-Gone in the section by paint & drop cloths.) PROS: -Looks classy & WAY better than plastic cans. -Slow close lid goes down slowly after it's been opened, so it doesn't slam. -Pedal has held up well & the whole thing still looks brand new (after 9 mos). -Cleans easily (try Method Stainless Steel Cleaner in the small gray bottle) -Has some sort of "anti-fingerprint" technology on the stainless steel that doesn't completely prevent fingerprints...but it does deter them/make them less noticeable (not that you'd really be handling the metal part anyway). -The inside has a large black plastic tub w/ two handles on the side. You can use it w/o a bag & easily lift the tub out, but it's probably best to pop in a liner/trash bag if it's going to be used for trash. Lifting the tub up a bit, I just gather the excess bag at the top, around to one side of the tub & tuck it in one of the handles & let the tub fall back down in place. It keeps the bag from falling in & I haven't had a bag slip yet doing it this way. -Best price for this kind/size of can CONS: -On this particular model (Semi-Round 45 gal), a liner bag is slightly visible around the rim of the can. It's not that big of a deal, though & definitely not a deal breaker. I don't really mind. Just thought I'd mention it. (However, I also own the BHG Round 40 gal & the bag is not visible because instead of a tub that lifts out like on the Semi-Round, it has a ring that is attached at the back that you can lift up & tuck the bag underneath before popping it down. I actually prefer the tub to the ring--it's easier to get the bag edges tucked in because the weight of the tub holds it better, although I haven't had a bag slip or fall in on either model when full.) -If you have a trash bag/liner in, sometimes the lid gets stuck & doesn't go down all the way. This happens for 2 reason: 1.) if you push the pedal & the lid flies back all the way--it doesn't have the forward motion anymore to fall back down & 2.) as I mentioned, w/ a bag I feel like it inhibits the contraption in the back that allows the lid to close. It doesn't happen all the time, but worth mentioning. Still, not a deal breaker. All in all a great purchase, ESPECIALLY at this price. Look around--you can't beat it. My parents have a more expensive motion sensor version by a different brand & I actually prefer the BHG model to theirs (having to wave your hand & wait gets annoying--a pedal is way better). Pros def outweigh the cons. I'd recommend for sure.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
queenissac
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/11/2013

Customer review by TWODOGHOME

5.0 stars 7/11/2013 by TWODOGHOME
by TWODOGHOME

Had this same trash can before for many many years and finally had to get a new one. It is good looking and very large inside and holds a large amount of trash. The only difference between this can and my last one is this can has the lid close slowly so you do not get your hand caught under the lid.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TWODOGHOME
HOLLYWOOD, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/24/2013

Customer review by ShaNzi08

4.0 stars 7/24/2013 by ShaNzi08
by ShaNzi08

I bought this trash can, it is just perfect. I like the way the lid shuts slowly, which allows the air to get in. It is quite delicate, gets dents on metal very easily and are notable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShaNzi08
Ellicott City, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor design
6/10/2013

Customer review by MissingPersons

1.0 stars 6/10/2013 by MissingPersons
by MissingPersons

When I bought this high priced trash can I though it looked great and it did. After using it for a year the top rim of the inner inside insert cracked allowing the inner can to get caught in the trash can. Upon closer inspection I found the standoffs at the bottom of bottom of the trash can were to short to take the pressure off of the rim of the inner liner or it is missing some type of plate that was supposed to be on top of the standoffs. They may as well not even been there. This is why the inner cans rim cracked and broke. After a year of taking the can in and out for normal removal of bag and placing the liner back in can the rim failed. I would pay for a new liner but can't even get that!! Very poor design. It was made to fail or something was missing from the box, maybe a plate that went on top of the standoffs. The worst think about this can is when I called to see if I could buy a new liner is you can't get the part. A lousy 30 day warranty on a $70 trash can. They will only replace the entire trash can within 30 days. Even though the design is defective!! I don't think I should have to pay for a new trash can because of a poor design.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissingPersons
Pennsburg PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
lever broke after a month
6/13/2013

Customer review by natellj

1.0 stars 6/13/2013 by natellj
by natellj

I paid $50.00 for this trash can. It looks so nice and I loved the foot lever. We had a cheap garbage can with a foot lever for 10 years. It was still in working condition but looked old and dirty so we decided to replace it. I thought $50 was a lot to pay, but it looked really sleek so I felt it was worth it. Well, the foot lever broke after just one months use. I am so disappointed! I'm hoping Walmart might replace it for me, but I doubt it! I wish I had bought the one at Costco!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
natellj
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beware the Sticker!!
4/25/2013

Customer review by VAMT123

2.0 stars 4/25/2013 by VAMT123
by VAMT123

When you spend the extra money on a stainless steel can you're doing so to avoid buying an eye sore. The sticker is an eye sore and should be easy to remove! There must be 2 types of stickers out there on these trash cans. I did not get the easy peel type. The only one that was easy peel was the small one advertising that the trash can is fingerprint resistant. The giant "Better Homes and Gardens" sticker was far from easy peel. I spent an hour scrubbing the sticker off. I have better things to do with my time than scrub a brand new trash can. If you didn't read the reviews (like me) before getting stuck with this problem here is a way you can remove the sticker. 1. Peel off as much as possible (for me that was the first layer of the sticker) 2. Use a plastic scrubby brush and some soapy water to remove any paper left behind. 3. Use a gentle oil to remove the residue (I used olive oil). You'll need to use A LOT of elbow grease and a couple rags to get the residue off. 4. Use distilled white vinegar to remove oil.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VAMT123
SW Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
the lid on the trash can was cracked
6/5/2013

Customer review by alw1996

2.0 stars 6/5/2013 by alw1996
by alw1996

When we removed the trash can from the box it was delivered in, we noticed the lid was cracked.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alw1996
Monmouth,IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/12/2013

Customer review by BababooeyBababooey

1.0 stars 4/12/2013 by BababooeyBababooey
by BababooeyBababooey

This garbage can is a nightmare! Why anyone would put a giant sticker on the front of a garbage can that doesn't come off easily shows a total lack of respect to the consumer. This is not a small garbage can, so one could assume it will be visible and not under a sink. Nail polish remover is not doing the trick to remove the adhesive...but why should you spend $50 on a garbage can and have to go through that process anyway?? My wife has given up trying to get the remainder of the adhesive off and is making a sign to put on the front. What a disaster! If you see this product in the store with a giant sticker on the front...run!! Not even kidding. I am so aggravated with this product. We really thought we were going to like this trash can but the sticker has ruined it for us. I cannot recommend this product to anyone in good conscience. This garbage can has the potential to look good, but ours looks terrible. I would recommend a smaller sticker, perhaps on the plastic...and why not use something a little less adhesive?

Was this review helpful? (1) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BababooeyBababooey
Morristown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Best can we've ever owned!
7/11/2013

Customer review by tmweistfamily

5.0 stars 7/11/2013 by tmweistfamily
by tmweistfamily

I was hesitant about spending $70 on this, but I'm so glad I did. It looks sleek, works great, and is all in all, wonderful. I recommend this for sure!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tmweistfamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes