Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 13 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

13 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

13 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-13 of 13 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Review of Mini Maglite Pro LED Flashlight
6/28/2013

Customer review by DHRN

5.0 stars 6/28/2013 by DHRN
by DHRN

Walmart did a very good job of shipping the item to me quickly. I've had great luck with Walmart on-line, so far. The item arrived very quickly and was as advertised. This is a very bright and handy little flashlight. It's great for the glovebox of the car.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DHRN
Fenton, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Whoa! It is BRIGHT
9/4/2013

Customer review by BorisFromBarnegat

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by BorisFromBarnegat
by BorisFromBarnegat

Far exceeds my anticipation. I can't believe how bright that little LED is. You can't look at it directly. It seems to be similar to the strength of a laser. Albeit, not as extreme, but real bright. In the "candle" mode, when place high on a dresser, it lights up the entire room to the point where you would think it is early morning or late evening. The LED casts off the white ceiling and puts light even on the floor. I'm stunned. The battery only lasts for 2.5 hours, but for the power this Mini Mag Pro puts out, that is no big deal. It's no problem to keep a few extra batteries around. Super product. My first Mini Mag lasted for years. Dopey me, I kept the batteries in to the point that they swelled up and leaked - destroying the Mag. I'll be sure to change the batteries every spring along with the smoke detector batteries and Daylight Savings Time clock change.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BorisFromBarnegat
Ocean County, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Things you should know
8/10/2015

Customer review by kaniki

4.0 stars 8/10/2015 by kaniki
by kaniki

This is a good LED light, and because of it, the light is very bright. Most LED lights these days are bright too. If you look at the light, you will see a number called "Lumens" on it. This one has a 226 on it. Basically, the higher the number, the brighter it is. to give you a comparison, if you know old flashlights, an old incandescent (one with a bulb) maglite flashlight, the single AAA ones, are 2 lumens, the 2 AA ones are 14, and the 2D ones are 19. I am sure you can see the comparison there, and imagine just how bright a 226 lumen one is by now. So yes, it is very bright. One bad thing about brightness is, the brighter the light is, usually, the faster it will go though the batteries. If you do not need the extra brightness, or are thinking about battery life, you may want to consider the regular version of this. They have multiple versions out, the most common, would be the regular LED version, and the PRO version. The biggest difference between the two of them is the PRO version is over twice as bright, and goes though batteries much faster. The pro version has a 2 1/2 hour battery life, at 226 lumens, where the regular version comes in brightness of anywhere from the upper 60's to something like the 80's in lumens, but has a life span of about 18 hours on a set of batteries, vs 2 1/2 hours. Also, the regular version also has a setting, that is about half brightness on it, and that has a life span of about 31 hours on a set of batteries. the regular LED version is pretty decent in brightness too, so it might be worth considering. In case you dont know much about maglites, maglite flashlights are made here, in the USA, out in california, if I remember right. They are made out of aluminum, and are very well made. I am not sure if the LED's they use are made here, or in china, or somewhere else, but the rest of it is made here. The LED's that maglite uses in their flashlights are Phillips brand LED's too. If you dont know anything about them, you probably have heard of CREE LED's. That is another brand of LED. The Phillips brand ones are better, and more efficient, with an average life span of about 100,000 hours before they burn out. Also, I have found that Phillips brand LED's are brighter then CREE brand LED's too. For example, my maglite 100 lumen flashlight is just as bright as another brand one I have, that has a CREE LED in it, and the CREE one is rated to 160 lumens. So either Phillips greatly under rates theirs, or CREE over rates theirs. CREE is Chinese, so it would not surprise me if they exaggerate their specs. Also, The phillips brand ones are much more efficient too, then the CREE brand ones, so yes, maglite picks the better LED's when they put them in their lights, to make a better product. also, in case you are wondering, unlike fluorescent type of lights that have more of a yellow/orange glow, LED types are more of a bright white light too. and in case you have not figured it out yet, which I am sure most of you have, these are LED flashlights. that means, they have a LED in them to produce light, not a bulb. If you look in the end of the light, you will see a little tiny box on the circuit board. That is the LED. So there is no need for bulbs, or even spare bulbs, as the LED's in these last 100,000 hours, so you pretty much do not have to worry about them burning out. I am just pointing this out as I saw one person bought one of these and then complained that it did not have a bulb. It is LED, not incandescent, so there is no bulb. FYI, I think the average life span of a bulb in the old type was about 15 hours, or somewhere around there. So you will get your money back plus some just not having to buy tons of bulbs over the life span of the flashlight,. vs the extra that you are paying for an LED light vs the cheaper incandescent, bulb type of light. Overall, I love maglite flashlights, and have many different versions and types of theirs, from AAA ones to D sized battery ones, (I have something like 6 different types and models) and can say with confidence, that they are all made very well, and are also, all LED (I got rid of my old non-LED ones, but those were made well too). if you want to save even more money, i suggest you look into rechargeable batteries too. They cost pennies to recharge. If you are using the light constantly, any rechargeable will work, but if you dont use the light very often, i would recommend the eneloop ones. the only reason I say this is standard MiMh rechargeable ones loose about 1% of their power per day, or are almost dead in about 3 months. Some brands say that they will hold power about 3 times longer then standard NiMh rechargeable ones. that leaves them to be dead in 9-10 months. The eneloop ones say they will hold most of their charge for years. This is great if you want it for emergencies and not have to recharge them constantly to know that there is a charge for them to work. While this is a good flashlight, I prefer the lower, regular LED version because it is still very bright for what I need it for, but also because the batteries last many times longer in them too. and I stick with my 3D LED ones for any need I have for a brighter light, which is not too often. My 3D one is 168 lumens bright, and I can see it partly brighten up the side of the wall of the building a block and a half down the road. this pro version is even brighter, which is why i say you may not need anything this bright. But yes, I do recommend and love this brand of flashlights.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kaniki
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great work light
11/24/2013

Customer review by slkep2004

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by slkep2004
by slkep2004

husband uses this for work and it lasts and lasts.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slkep2004
the colony
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Light kept flickering
7/3/2015

Customer review by Bobby

2.0 stars 7/3/2015 by Bobby
by Bobby

I purchased this light because it stood out from all other brands sold on the same shelf. I recognized the brand as a quality brand that I have owned and enjoyed in the past. For the price, it is the best deal on the shelf. It is by far the brightest and has the longest battery life compared to the other flashlights. Out of the package, it feels and operates like a normal Maglight. The beam of light is extremely bright and can be focused from a flood light to a spotlight. This light can easily spotlight something in the dark at 80+ yards away. My only issue I had with it was when I used to change a tire and I placed the flashlight on the concrete surface and it started to roll and flicker. Thats when I noticed any movement to the very top of lens would cause it to flicker. i thought this was a defect so I exchanged it for another. The next one did the same thing, so I just returned it and bought a different brand. I still have old Maglights that work great so I know they can make quality flashlights, i guess this particular model has a design flaw that was overlooked.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobby
Would recommend to a friend? No
5/2/2013

Customer review by Nap46

5.0 stars 5/2/2013 by Nap46
by Nap46

My So is VERY happy with this light. He laughed and said look here comes the sun and turned it on. He is more than pleased with it and that makes me happy too.

Was this review helpful? (4) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nap46
Brandon Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NO BULB!
11/9/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/9/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

They shipped the battery sealed, with no BULB! I do not have time to contact the manufacture to ship it to me. The flashlight appeared to be manually sealed, and Walmart, re shipped the same junk to customers. EXAMINE WHAT YOU SHIP

Was this review helpful? (4) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
germantown md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AWESOME LIGHT
8/25/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/25/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

THIS IS AN EXCELLENT QUALITY,VERY BRIGHT LIGHT. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
AUGUSTA ,ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Brite idea!
11/17/2014

Customer review by troutbuster

5.0 stars 11/17/2014 by troutbuster
by troutbuster

I bought a 2D LED for the wife a couple of years ago and this one's for me. It's a good size at 2 AA but throws a lot of light. They are right - the Maglite pro does throw a lot more light!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
troutbuster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a really bright light
1/2/2015

Customer review by TML241

5.0 stars 1/2/2015 by TML241
by TML241

Ihave a regular minimag but the pro led is much brighter than my old one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TML241
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great light
7/3/2015

Customer review by Gonzo5600

5.0 stars 7/3/2015 by Gonzo5600
by Gonzo5600

Used one at work for 2 years that is why I bought another one. Super bright concentrated light. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gonzo5600
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
super bright LED
12/27/2014

Customer review by laseryen

4.0 stars 12/27/2014 by laseryen
by laseryen

I was skeptical with the LED bulb but this Maglite flashlight is super bright and worth buying it. My little concern about this product is using it in colder temperature. I was using it while grilling some chickens on a 30 degree outside temperature and I'm having problems turning it on and intermittently turns off. But once I'm inside the house, it just works fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laseryen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice to see Maglite upgrade to a powerful LED.
7/15/2014

Customer review by ArcherinCO

4.0 stars 7/15/2014 by ArcherinCO
by ArcherinCO

Pros: I've owned a few of the old heavy-duty Maglites and welcome their upgrade to the LED age. This little light is very powerful and maintains the ability to twist the head for differing pattern preferences. Quality on-off switch. Water resistant. The strong aluminum barrel is still there too. Cons: they can eat batteries up quickly, at full brightness settings. A bit overpriced, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArcherinCO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.