Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

35 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

35 reviews | 4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 23 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Long long time ago, in a tailor shop far away...
11/26/2012

Customer review by OldTailor

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by OldTailor
by OldTailor

Note the words "20-Stitch FUNCTIONS", not 20 different stitches. Keep reading... This machine is for those who want, from time to time, to make a pillow case, or curtain, or if you are skilled enough, to do size alternations on a sport coat, pants, etc.. About 45 years ago I was a tailor but I no longer had a sewing machine. Recently, after losing some weight, I took a sport coat in for alternation at the "best" alteration shop in town. They botched it. So, I bought this el-cheapo machine at Walmart on Black Friday, because: 1) it was cheap, and 2) it can sew a straight line, vary the stitch length, and handle different types of thread. The machine was cheaper than the botched "professional" alteration charge. I was able to take-in the jacket sides and back seam on a heavy tweed wool sport coat and resize the fine satin lining with no problems from the machine whatsoever. In fact, the machine reminds me of those machines "back in the time"; a well made basic tool. It is all you really need unless you are into making suits/dresses from scratch/pattern, or are into high volume production sewing work. The machine does not do a blind stitch (for hems), but, I always blind stitch by hand (I'm a perfectionist -- according to the local alteration shop). This machine allows you to vary the stitch width and length -- that's what the two big knobs are for on the front. The little lever just to the left of the knobs lets you set the needle on center, or 1/8" left, or 1/8" right -- for making a button hole (really? -- make a button hole?). The left knob sets the stitch width, enabling you to make zig-zag stitches up to 1/4" wide; or set it to zero for simply a "zero width" straight stich. The right knob sets the stitch length from "none" to about 1/8" between stitches. By varying the settings of these two knobs, you have 20 different stitch "functions". The lever below the right knob is the reverse lever -- push it down and the sewing reverses until to release it. Finally, and very important, there is a little knob on the front, down by the needle area. That knob controls the top thread tension. It is very rare to see that feature anymore -- and essential if you use different kninds of thread (cotton, poly, combo) and thread thicknesses. Brother does not list it on their site (they seem to disavow all knowledge of it) and the only place I could find it "Brother LS-2350" was Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (184) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldTailor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
just purchased
11/23/2012

Customer review by tjwolf260

3.0 stars 11/23/2012 by tjwolf260
by tjwolf260

just purchased this today.. did a little stitching with it,practice and then mended some clothes. It seems a bit cheaply made,but with the price can't complain. the handwheel is very stiff,may ease with a little use. I'll come back in a month or 2 and let you know more.

Was this review helpful? (157) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tjwolf260
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good basic machine
11/27/2012

Customer review by clovrgirl1

3.0 stars 11/27/2012 by clovrgirl1
by clovrgirl1

This is a good basic machine with metal parts. Yes it will need oiling. The owner's manual is easy to understand and has good pictures. The included DVD shows step by step how to set up the machine and maintain it. ie: where, how, and how much oil as well as general cleaning. The manual shows how to install a zipper and how to construct a button hole. It is old school. You will learn how to do it the old way. The owner's manual also covers (briefly) quilting and embroidery. There is a plastic cover for the feed dogs. The quilting and embroidery are done freehand. It also covers sewing multiple layers. Make certain to use a heavy duty needle when sewing heavy weight fabric such as denim.

Was this review helpful? (53) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clovrgirl1
Rockford, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
Good Beginner Sewing Machine
11/27/2012

Customer review by LightbulbArmy

3.0 stars 11/27/2012 by LightbulbArmy
by LightbulbArmy

I bought this as my first sewing machine because of the affordable price. At first, I got a little frustrated while threading the machine because the operation manual was confusing at times, but after I watched the DVD I was able to figure it out. I started practicing on scrap peices of fabric and then I made a pair of fingerless gloves. Afterwards, I tried to change the thread to a different color, but when I took out the bobbin case some other parts fell out of the machine. I thought I put them back in right so I started to sew but the machine wouldn't work. Turns out the parts fell back out. I was really close to calling customer service, but I eventually put the parts back in right without help. Another thing I am displeased with is that the upper thread breaks now and then, and ocassionally it gets caught in the machine, even though I am threading it correctly. Overall, it was worth the price but I can see myself buying a more advanced sewing machine next year. Definately for a beginner. If I had paid anymore than I did for this machine, I would be very displeased, but since it was cheap I am okay with it. I am able to do all the projects I want to do with it. I reccomend it for someone who is just learning to sew.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LightbulbArmy
Canton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great basic machine.
12/3/2012

Customer review by Silvercrystal9

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Silvercrystal9
by Silvercrystal9

Technically I have had this model of machine for 12 years :) However, I am purchasing a new one. This machine is perfect for beginners, easy to thread, and simple to use. I LOVE IT! The only reason I am buying it again is because the bobbin winder has finally died and my machine is kind of on it's last leg. I use it primarily for costumes, simple children's dresses, curtains, and pillow cases. It does need to be oiled or it will drag and bunch the thread. Not the best for really thick material like denim but it will go through upholstery fabric like the faux leather.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Silvercrystal9
Viper, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Price...Disappointing quality.
2/21/2013

Customer review by Neebear

1.0 stars 2/21/2013 by Neebear
by Neebear

I bought the Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine for my daughter who is in her 20's. She was unable get the sewing machine to work correctly so I went over to her place. I'm a sewer and quilter of many years operating many different machines. I had to adjust the tension and it still was not making correct stitching without nesting on the bottom and creating loops on the top. This machine also does not come with an attached thread cutter. When you push the foot pedal down...you have to push it all the way down...which is not normal. The needle does not move for several seconds, the motor is loud and sounds like it is straining. When the needle does start to move...it's one speed...fast. Sewing machines "do not" function this way. We may have just gotten a lemon and are returning this sewing machine.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Neebear
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I recommend this machine to everyone!
5/24/2013

Customer review by Irish7eyes7

5.0 stars 5/24/2013 by Irish7eyes7
by Irish7eyes7

I did not know how to sew when I bought this machine. I now consider myself a pretty darn good seamstress. This machine works great, comes with excellent instructions (make sure you read them), and is a great value! I have used this machine to mend jeans, make Halloween costumes, sew cloth napkins, hem curtains, make over 20 fleece and felt vests for my child's preschool, and I have about 20 more projects lined up. I have owned this machine for 4 years and purchased it on a Black Friday. Forget about spending $100's of dollars on a fancy machine, because this one is all most people need. I tell all my friends to buy this one...my mother, a long-time seamstress, even owns one now and loves it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Irish7eyes7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for beginners
3/10/2013

Customer review by toquito16

4.0 stars 3/10/2013 by toquito16
by toquito16

I'm not a professional but all I can say, its easy and simple to make simple projects. didn't need to watch the dvd.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toquito16
Spring Valley, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/10/2013

Customer review by Alened

5.0 stars 3/10/2013 by Alened
by Alened

I bought this for my granddaughter. She is just learning how to sew. It is perfect easy to use and well made.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alened
Lacey, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works great!!!
4/4/2013

Customer review by nanaysabel23

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by nanaysabel23
by nanaysabel23

i love this sewing machine i just buy it to do some mending on my husband pants for work and it work perfectly i really love it and for the price i think its an awesome product...:)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nanaysabel23
New Iberia, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVE IT!
3/22/2013

Customer review by Dane2347

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by Dane2347
by Dane2347

I use this machine almost everyday. Great item for the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dane2347
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/10/2013

Customer review by rebellou

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by rebellou
by rebellou

This is a great sewing machine for a beginner:)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rebellou
franklin,ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice little machine for small projects
3/24/2013

Customer review by GeManna

4.0 stars 3/24/2013 by GeManna
by GeManna

I purchased this machine for my granddaughter, who is learning to sew, so far it has met all expectations and she loves out. For the price, a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeManna
Cornelius, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tension was not good
2/10/2013

Customer review by lasewinggal

1.0 stars 2/10/2013 by lasewinggal
by lasewinggal

I could not get the tension correct on this machine. I turned it all the way up to 9 and loops still appeared on the wrong side (bobbin side.) Watched DVD, checked repeatedly that everything was correct, finally went to the Sewing Center and was informed the tension was too low. The machine was defective out of the box. Returned it and bought a Singer instead. It cost 2x as much, and this is a case of I got what I paid for. Don't waste your time or money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lasewinggal
la
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cute machine for small sewing jobs
12/1/2012

Customer review by Bvcaspit

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by Bvcaspit
by Bvcaspit

A word of caution if you ship this item. It ships in its own box so contents are displayed. I wish I had known that because this Christmas present is no longer a surprise as I sent it ahead to my daughter. I told her to expect a package and not to open it before Christmas! Lol I cannot say for sure that there were not warnings about this and how it would be packaged for shipping but I didn't notice, nor did I expect this situation. Just writing this as a 'heads up' for others who want to keep their purchase a surprise!

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bvcaspit
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/9/2013

Customer review by babywebster77

4.0 stars 3/9/2013 by babywebster77
by babywebster77

I've only gotten to test it out since I'm a college student in the middle of finals, but from what I've seen so far it works pretty good and is easy to thread.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babywebster77
Yakima, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great easy to use product!
4/1/2013

Customer review by Guaya

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by Guaya
by Guaya

I'm still trying to find that perfect tension, but other than that- so easy to use. Perfect for the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Guaya
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/26/2013

Customer review by WA12345

5.0 stars 5/26/2013 by WA12345
by WA12345

Nice machine, works very well, easy to use. Very satisfied with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WA12345
Yakima WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great and Great Price!
4/20/2013

Customer review by Willomina

5.0 stars 4/20/2013 by Willomina
by Willomina

This machine was a great buy. I love the easy to follow instructions. It sews great and is very easy to use. Especially good for beginners.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Willomina
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You get what you pay for
11/18/2013

Customer review by Reihn

1.0 stars 11/18/2013 by Reihn
by Reihn

I received this machine as a christmas present. I have basic sewing skills and have used machines off and on for the last 25 years. This machine broke after I used it the 2nd time. Sadly it has been a few months after it was purchased. The cost of repair would have been more than the replacement of the machine. The frustration and repeated attempts to get the machine to work were worse than the thought of buying a decent machine to begin with. BUYER BEWARE!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reihn
Grants Pass, Orergon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews