Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 266 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

266 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

266 reviews | 4 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
123
4 stars
88
3 stars
21
2 stars
7
1 stars
27
1-20 of 243 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 243 total reviews
1-20 of 243 reviews
12/31/2012

Customer review by JackP16

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by JackP16
by JackP16

I bought this grill about a week ago. Like many other folks, I got tired of paying over $300.00 for a grill and it only lasting five or six years. This grill was about $100.00 including sales tax, and seemed like a pretty good buy. it is not as easy to assemble as you would think. Only a few of the parts are marked and a lot of it is trial and error. However, once you finally get it put together, it works fine. It is just as good as any other grill I have bought and i would definitely recommend it for a small family. Mine doesn;t have any hot spots. Seems to cook evenly. Good buy for the money

Was this review helpful? (302) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JackP16
Cartersville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Can't beat it for the price
4/5/2014

Customer review by bikebug

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by bikebug
by bikebug

I only bbq about 3 dozens times a year and mostly just for my wife and myself so I don't need a monstrous grill with all the bells and whistles. This is a very nice unit. There is assembly required but the instructions were good and it only required one person. The packaging was the best I have ever seen for an inexpensive product. It fired right up with the automatic igniter and the temperature gauge (yes it actually has one) went over 700 degrees. I would highly recommend this for someone who is interested in a simple bbq grill.

Was this review helpful? (183) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikebug
Troy. MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good for Only 6-months to a year!
11/26/2013

Customer review by BTR225

1.0 stars 11/26/2013 by BTR225
by BTR225

The heat plate/heat shield, the part that covers the gas burners will rust very quickly. To replace it, it will cost almost $50 with shipping. Without the heat plate your cooking experience will not be good. The heat plate is made out of very weak metal (you can physically bend it). Be ready for customer service (Blue Rhino/Uniflame parts department) to place blame on you because you didn't clean the heat plate properly. They are trained to ask you, "How did you clean it"? The correct answer is soap, water and towel dried. They will send you a new heat plate (one time only) if your grill is out of warranty but, you will have to pay a little bit over $11 for shipping. I am waiting over 2 months to receive my heat plate because they had none in stock. I wonder why they didn't have any in stock? Go figure! My heat plate is on its way. Hooray! I'm going to sell the grill and get something a little bit better. All of these grills have the same problem with their heat shields/heat plates. That includes the side burner grills. By the way, my grill has always been covered since purchase. This is a very temporary grill. The pics show what to expect in a short period of time. The heat plate tore apart in my hands as it tried to remove it. I stopped cleaning it months ago because it could not be physically handled. The grill cooks good and is cheap but, who wants to invest money in a grill every 6 months to a year. Good luck on your grill searching!

Was this review helpful? (201) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BTR225
Winter Haven, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
12/29/2012

Customer review by Grady11

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Grady11
by Grady11

Bought this grill for my son. He loves it and had no problem getting it assembled. And I did the store to store in a different state. I arrived earlier than originally stated. Packaging was intact. I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (49) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grady11
Savannah TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for the price! And cooks good, too.
6/7/2013

Customer review by GadgetFreakk

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by GadgetFreakk
by GadgetFreakk

I've had the grill for 4 days, and so far I am loving it. Fairly easy to set up, took about 1 1/2 hours. Heats quickly, and the dual burners, warming tray and built-in thermometer give you lots of control and cooking options (but I will be getting a remote thermometer to save some monitoring trips to the grill.) So far I have cooked ribs (managed to get burners set to maintain a steady 250 for nice slow cooking,) chicken, and maybe the best steak I've ever grilled. Grill is large enough to fit plenty of food for 6 - 8 people, or more, but small enough to fit on a small patio or deck. About the only thing that might make me happier would be a cast iron grate to get those nice grill marks, but very few, if any, grills come with it any more; after-market accessories are available that will do the job. The bottom line is this: dollar for dollar, at $88.00, this is an excellent option for a small to medium-sized gas grill. I am very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (50) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GadgetFreakk
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Much better than other 2-burner grills...
2/25/2014

Customer review by QS3000

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by QS3000
by QS3000

WM is shooting themselves on the foot by attaching to this product the 94 reviews for item BY13-101-001-09, the older gray-faced model with a 2-sided single burner. So, don't consider any reviews dated before February 2014. I was in the market for a cheap 2-burner grill after my other generic-brand cheap 2-burner grill delivered its spirit having seen five years of moderate use that was prolonged with an expensive replacement of its 2-sided single burner and heat tamer. I wanted something with cheap and easy to find generic replacement parts. The only grill that fitted those "specs" was this one. It features 2 separate cylindrical burners and 2 separate heat tamers. Local hardware stores carry generic replacement burners for 10 bucks and tamers for even less. But if you replace the burner you may have to install a new sparking device; there are two inside this grill attached to the burners and activated as you turn the knobs to start grilling. This grill was in stock at some warehouse in IL and the trip to my local WM store in CA took 10 days, from the moment I placed my online order. The box arrived in perfect shape and upon opening it I realized that the manufacturer is trying honestly to satisfy the customer, apparently having taken into consideration past experience from similar products. The contents of the box look neat. Everything is well protected with styrofoam sheets and blocks, enforced hard paper corners, and additional double corrugated paper walls (where needed). There are three boxes and three big, partially assembled pieces of hardware inside the carton that weighs about 47 lbs. Each of the three boxes is individually marked with the parts it contains. The english/spanish instruction manual is relatively easy to follow with nice diagrams and texts. The parts are not marked and some look very similar to each other, but differ in length. This can be confusing during assembly. Proper judgment will eventually prevail and after a couple of hours the grill should be fully assembled. A wrench and a screwdriver are included in a plastic-wrapped sheet of paper along with all the screws, nuts, washers, etc. The pre-assembled parts include: burners on the fire box, temperature gauge on the cover, and control valves with gas regulator and hose on the control panel. Each valve features two screws to adjust the flow of air/gas but nobody should have to fiddle with them under normal circumstances. The gauge mounting nut may have to be tighten a bit and the protective paper around the burners should be removed before the control panel is attached. All the critical parts come pre-assembled to save time and ease the life of the user. The only plastic parts are the handle, the knobs, the knob plates, the leg caps and the wheels. Everything else is made of metal, including the grease bowl that is very easy to slide in and clean. The bottom front panel and shelves are a bit flimsy but strong enough to accept loaded plates. The cover, fire box and control panel are made of much thicker metal. There are no hooks anywhere to hang cooking utensils. The first burn took place outside while the temperature was 60F. Without lifting the cover the internal temperature reached 500F in about 10 minutes. After the burners were turned off it took another 10 minutes for the temperature to drop to 200F. A day later I started my cooking sessions with 3 fish weighing a total of 2 lbs. I used only the right burner at its lowest setting and left the cover semi-open. Thirty minutes later the fish were cooked. There was some flaring due to fat dripping on the tamers but not as bad as in my other grill. When you grill you must be present at all times to watch for flaring. I removed and washed the right heat tamer with soap after the session was over to make sure it will last longer. A few days later I used both burners at the lowest setting to grill 2-3 lbs of pork riblet strips in about 30 minutes with the cover semi-open. Very little flaring was observed because the riblets did not have a lot of fat in them. Two inches of space on the front of the main rack were not used because there is very little heat in that area. Again the heat tamers were washed with soap as before. Overall I like this grill more than I liked the one I had before and hope to use it for many cooking sessions in the future.

Was this review helpful? (93) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QS3000
Claremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GREAT PRICE
1/31/2013

Customer review by FordF150

4.0 stars 1/31/2013 by FordF150
by FordF150

This is a great grill for the price.It cooks very good and easy to clean.When putting it together take your time and have a second person to help.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FordF150
Ocoee,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Decent Value
2/8/2013

Customer review by zenfrisbee

3.0 stars 2/8/2013 by zenfrisbee
by zenfrisbee

Assembly was not too difficult if you pay close attention. Body doesn't attach to cart as directions indicate but that does not seem to matter once you are done. I wanted a thermometer in my grill which is why is made this purchase. It works but is not very accurate. If you are good at grilling and pay attention to the grilling process it works okay. If you tend to wander away for too long you may have problems. I cooked my first steak on the warming rack and that seems more manageable than the cooking grate. We get what we pay for and this is good value for the $$$.

Was this review helpful? (46) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zenfrisbee
Palmetto, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good value
4/26/2014

Customer review by reinmorgen

5.0 stars 4/26/2014 by reinmorgen
by reinmorgen

I wanted a basic propane BBQ. I didn't need any burners, I just wanted two shelves in the BBQ and the shelf on the side. It gives me everything I need to have a meal with my three children. I can do corn on top and meat on the bottom. Even with only two burners, it heats nicely and evenly. I haven't any complaints.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reinmorgen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good gas grill, for the price
4/6/2014

Customer review by Carla01

4.0 stars 4/6/2014 by Carla01
by Carla01

We recently bought this small gas grill. It took my husband a little while to construct it, but we've used it twice since. We've had steaks & grilled chicken. It seemed to heat well, so we're happy with our purchase.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carla01
Venice, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/14/2013

Customer review by Blackbeard1960

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by Blackbeard1960
by Blackbeard1960

We needed a small grill for our patio.When not in use it hides conveniently behind our hottub great since my wife and I are newly emptynesters .Great for just the two of us and the shipping was fast and not expensive .

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blackbeard1960
Laplace Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Surprisingly high quality
6/22/2013

Customer review by CaptSpiff

4.0 stars 6/22/2013 by CaptSpiff
by CaptSpiff

This is a remarkably high quality grill. Assembly was simple and clear. All small parts were in a well labeled flat pack. The parts even included the screwdriver. My prior grills have always used nuts & bolts, but this grill had swagged riv-nuts permanently mounted to all the metal parts, so only a screwdriver was needed. The grill fired up evenly, but I wish the heat could be adjusted to a lower setting. I find myself shutting off one burner after preheating. The metal shelves are a bit sharp at the corners. I've already got a hole in my old grill cover after a week. I'll probably screw a 12x16 inch piece of wood with nicely rounded corners to the top of each metal shelf. The temp gauge is nice. In my other grills I've always added my own for about eight dollars. For a small family, this is a super grill at a super price.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptSpiff
LI, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOOD PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY
2/17/2013

Customer review by ERIN106

4.0 stars 2/17/2013 by ERIN106
by ERIN106

ASSEMBLED EASILY. ONLY PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE IGNITION. ALL OTHER GRILLS I HAVE OWNED IN THE PAST LIT WITH PUSHING IGNITION BUTTON 1 OR 2 TIMES. THIS ONE TAKES 4 OR 5 AND SOMETIMES MANY MORE. THIS DOES NOT SEEM TO BE RIGHT. GRILL DOES HEAT UP QUICKLY AND COOKS WELL.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ERIN106
LONG ISLAND, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great grill
6/17/2013

Customer review by billnliz

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by billnliz
by billnliz

We needed a new grill after our 500 dollar Weber gave out on us after 4 years. We didn't need anything big and fancy so we bought this one. It was easy to put together with simple clear instructions. We fit 13 bun sized burgers on the main cooking surface and 10 hotdogs on the warmer surface. We love this little grill.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billnliz
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spend more money, get better grill
8/23/2013

Customer review by ReasonableExpectations

1.0 stars 8/23/2013 by ReasonableExpectations
by ReasonableExpectations

The fit and finish of this grill is poor. It leaks grease all over the front of the grill because the top of the grill is a poor fit. The ignition button usually has to be pushed 20 times before lighting occurs. I was curious why they included a separate match lighting optional piece with this grill, and that is the reason. Grill started rusting in the first week of being outside without a cover.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReasonableExpectations
Cheektowaga, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
DO NOT PURCHASE
5/26/2013

Customer review by jhillytn

1.0 stars 5/26/2013 by jhillytn
by jhillytn

The grill was easy to assemble but is not worth wasting your money on. After less than a month the left side of the grill would not ignite. I have been trying to use the other side, but tonight the whole grill caught fire. Would definitely not recommend!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jhillytn
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bad Burner
4/20/2013

Customer review by jlh050965

1.0 stars 4/20/2013 by jlh050965
by jlh050965

OK, i bought this grill cause i didnt want to fork out $300. So i decided to buy a cheap grill. well the saying is "you get what you paid for" is true in this case. I came home, assembled the grill. Then started it and it worked fine, grilled 3 pieces of chicken. A week s later, i started it and i had this huge orange flame on the right burner, the left burner was fine with a nice short flame with a blue tip. I tried BBQ forums and google and did everything i could think of. No luck, so i have the left burner working and the right one doesnt. So i'm disappointed in the company and there product

Was this review helpful? (19) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jlh050965
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very nice grill for the price
4/7/2015

Customer review by skibuddies

5.0 stars 4/7/2015 by skibuddies
by skibuddies

This is very nice grill especially for the price. It only took me a little over an hour to assemble and was very easy to put together. You will however need to take your time and pay close attention to the instructions and illustrations. I preferred to put it together myself, so I knew all the screws were tight nothing was missing, but Wal-Mart will assemble the grill for you (for free) if you give them a 48 hour notice. I read one of the reviews that said that you have to hit the electronic lighter twenty times to get it to light. If you read the directions it tells you to make sure the striker points are set properly as they may have been jarred out of alignment during shipping. A simple adjustment with a pair of needle nose pliers and the striker will work great every time. Also someone said the heat diffuser is made of cheap metal and burns out very quickly. This is true, and is a common problem with inexpensive grills. To have the grill last a few years longer, simply take the diffuser (before you use the grill) and use it to trace a pattern which you can use at a later date to make a new diffuser. Use a piece of sheet metal, which you can purchase very inexpensively at any hardware store. By doing this I have greatly extended the life of my grills, as most of the other parts seem to work fine for many years.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skibuddies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a very good grill!
6/30/2014

Customer review by njvhikes

2.0 stars 6/30/2014 by njvhikes
by njvhikes

It was easy to assemble. However, the auto igniters needed a lot of tweaking before they worked. The heat is very uneven and the front six inches of the grill can't be used. The shelves are also flimsy. There is no heat there because of the burner design. I should have bought a Char Broil instead.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
njvhikes
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did not come with lava rock.
5/7/2014

Customer review by Deafender

4.0 stars 5/7/2014 by Deafender
by Deafender

This is the only gas grill ever saw that did not come with lava rock...I don't know if lava rock is needed or not...The flames do a good job cooking the meat but if you are expecting charcoal grill taste then you best stick to charcoal..This grill lights up instantly but you may have to use a lighted match or spark to do so cause the spark button never works.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deafender
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 243 total reviews
1-20 of 243 reviews