Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 288 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

288 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

288 reviews | 4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
134
4 stars
92
3 stars
21
2 stars
9
1 stars
32
1-20 of 265 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 265 total reviews
1-20 of 265 reviews
Good for Only 6-months to a year!
11/26/2013

Customer review by BTR225

1.0 stars 11/26/2013 by BTR225
by BTR225

The heat plate/heat shield, the part that covers the gas burners will rust very quickly. To replace it, it will cost almost $50 with shipping. Without the heat plate your cooking experience will not be good. The heat plate is made out of very weak metal (you can physically bend it). Be ready for customer service (Blue Rhino/Uniflame parts department) to place blame on you because you didn't clean the heat plate properly. They are trained to ask you, "How did you clean it"? The correct answer is soap, water and towel dried. They will send you a new heat plate (one time only) if your grill is out of warranty but, you will have to pay a little bit over $11 for shipping. I am waiting over 2 months to receive my heat plate because they had none in stock. I wonder why they didn't have any in stock? Go figure! My heat plate is on its way. Hooray! I'm going to sell the grill and get something a little bit better. All of these grills have the same problem with their heat shields/heat plates. That includes the side burner grills. By the way, my grill has always been covered since purchase. This is a very temporary grill. The pics show what to expect in a short period of time. The heat plate tore apart in my hands as it tried to remove it. I stopped cleaning it months ago because it could not be physically handled. The grill cooks good and is cheap but, who wants to invest money in a grill every 6 months to a year. Good luck on your grill searching!

Was this review helpful? (217) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BTR225
Winter Haven, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great value for the price! And cooks good, too.
6/7/2013

Customer review by GadgetFreakk

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by GadgetFreakk
by GadgetFreakk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had the grill for 4 days, and so far I am loving it. Fairly easy to set up, took about 1 1/2 hours. Heats quickly, and the dual burners, warming tray and built-in thermometer give you lots of control and cooking options (but I will be getting a remote thermometer to save some monitoring trips to the grill.) So far I have cooked ribs (managed to get burners set to maintain a steady 250 for nice slow cooking,) chicken, and maybe the best steak I've ever grilled. Grill is large enough to fit plenty of food for 6 - 8 people, or more, but small enough to fit on a small patio or deck. About the only thing that might make me happier would be a cast iron grate to get those nice grill marks, but very few, if any, grills come with it any more; after-market accessories are available that will do the job. The bottom line is this: dollar for dollar, at $88.00, this is an excellent option for a small to medium-sized gas grill. I am very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (53) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GadgetFreakk
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cooking Space stinks
9/28/2015

Customer review by Tina

1.0 stars 9/28/2015 by Tina
by Tina

My husband bought this tonight and I grilled six large burgers. I was hoping to get three over each burner because they would fit nicely that way, except the front of the burners have no holes there!!! The holes that let the fire escape only range from the back two-thirds of the grilling rack, so there's no flames to cook over in the front of the grill for one-third of the entire cooking area. So I had to line the burgers up in only two rows and the middle burgers didn't cook at the same rate and I had to keep moving the middle burgers to the left and then right just to get everything done at the same time. I cannot believe there are no holes for a third of the burner! What a waste of cooking space! Don't expect to be able to cook more than 6 large burgers at one time. It says it'll cook 15 but those must be the very small buns you find in the stores. 15 of those is highly unlikely. The front ones will be raw if you don't keep distributing your burgers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Can't beat it for the price
4/5/2014

Customer review by bikebug

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by bikebug
by bikebug

I only bbq about 3 dozens times a year and mostly just for my wife and myself so I don't need a monstrous grill with all the bells and whistles. This is a very nice unit. There is assembly required but the instructions were good and it only required one person. The packaging was the best I have ever seen for an inexpensive product. It fired right up with the automatic igniter and the temperature gauge (yes it actually has one) went over 700 degrees. I would highly recommend this for someone who is interested in a simple bbq grill.

Was this review helpful? (207) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bikebug
Troy. MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very nice grill for the price
4/7/2015

Customer review by skibuddies

5.0 stars 4/7/2015 by skibuddies
by skibuddies

This is very nice grill especially for the price. It only took me a little over an hour to assemble and was very easy to put together. You will however need to take your time and pay close attention to the instructions and illustrations. I preferred to put it together myself, so I knew all the screws were tight nothing was missing, but Wal-Mart will assemble the grill for you (for free) if you give them a 48 hour notice. I read one of the reviews that said that you have to hit the electronic lighter twenty times to get it to light. If you read the directions it tells you to make sure the striker points are set properly as they may have been jarred out of alignment during shipping. A simple adjustment with a pair of needle nose pliers and the striker will work great every time. Also someone said the heat diffuser is made of cheap metal and burns out very quickly. This is true, and is a common problem with inexpensive grills. To have the grill last a few years longer, simply take the diffuser (before you use the grill) and use it to trace a pattern which you can use at a later date to make a new diffuser. Use a piece of sheet metal, which you can purchase very inexpensively at any hardware store. By doing this I have greatly extended the life of my grills, as most of the other parts seem to work fine for many years.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skibuddies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/31/2012

Customer review by JackP16

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by JackP16
by JackP16

I bought this grill about a week ago. Like many other folks, I got tired of paying over $300.00 for a grill and it only lasting five or six years. This grill was about $100.00 including sales tax, and seemed like a pretty good buy. it is not as easy to assemble as you would think. Only a few of the parts are marked and a lot of it is trial and error. However, once you finally get it put together, it works fine. It is just as good as any other grill I have bought and i would definitely recommend it for a small family. Mine doesn;t have any hot spots. Seems to cook evenly. Good buy for the money

Was this review helpful? (322) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JackP16
Cartersville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Surprisingly high quality
6/22/2013

Customer review by CaptSpiff

4.0 stars 6/22/2013 by CaptSpiff
by CaptSpiff
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a remarkably high quality grill. Assembly was simple and clear. All small parts were in a well labeled flat pack. The parts even included the screwdriver. My prior grills have always used nuts & bolts, but this grill had swagged riv-nuts permanently mounted to all the metal parts, so only a screwdriver was needed. The grill fired up evenly, but I wish the heat could be adjusted to a lower setting. I find myself shutting off one burner after preheating. The metal shelves are a bit sharp at the corners. I've already got a hole in my old grill cover after a week. I'll probably screw a 12x16 inch piece of wood with nicely rounded corners to the top of each metal shelf. The temp gauge is nice. In my other grills I've always added my own for about eight dollars. For a small family, this is a super grill at a super price.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaptSpiff
LI, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Some fabrication required ...
1/22/2016

Customer review by Waggin

1.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Waggin
by Waggin

I bought this on sale; now I know why - it's been discontinued. After a couple of hours of trying to assemble it, I gave up in disgust. At least two pieces of the frame had not been drilled to receive the screws used to hold it together. Disgusting!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Waggin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Happy Chef
9/28/2015

Customer review by HappyChef

5.0 stars 9/28/2015 by HappyChef
by HappyChef

I had the grill assembled by my local Walmart. They did an excellent job. Even got it in my car for me. The grill surface was larger than the previous one I had and that is great. The burners ignited very easily. I especially like the temperature gauge on the lid. That helps me control the temperature of the food I am cooking So far I am very pleased with the grill. I checked the company out before I purchased the grill and they seem to have a respectable customer service department if something is needed. I had a similar grill for about 5 years. Kept it out all the year. This grill seems very similar. The price was affordable for how I use the grill. It is just the right size to cook cuts of meats such as steaks, chops, sausage for 8 to 10 people. The upper grate is great for steaming vegetables. Again it seems to be just right for me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyChef
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good value
4/26/2014

Customer review by reinmorgen

5.0 stars 4/26/2014 by reinmorgen
by reinmorgen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted a basic propane BBQ. I didn't need any burners, I just wanted two shelves in the BBQ and the shelf on the side. It gives me everything I need to have a meal with my three children. I can do corn on top and meat on the bottom. Even with only two burners, it heats nicely and evenly. I haven't any complaints.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reinmorgen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Basic Unit...
5/12/2015

Customer review by sourdough

4.0 stars 5/12/2015 by sourdough
by sourdough

... For a retired couple who grill only a dozen times per month, if that. I have an 8-year-old Char-Broil inline double burner that I am nursing along until the burner dies. I have rebuilt it (burners, heat tents, grill supports, lid handles, et al, ad nauseum. I also live in a very wet/humid climate in SW WA State, and the grill lives uncovered outside on a covered porch. It is about to give up the ghost. Saw this Backyard Grill 2-burner at Wal-Mart for just south of $90 (BY14-101-001-03) and went online to see the reviews. A reviewer (QS3000 on 2/25/2014) posted a VERY lengthy but very informative review (thanks!), and I purchased one last Saturday. I put it together this morning in about 2.5 hours (including unpacking the unit). I concur 99.9% with QS3000 insofar as assembly. I had a problem with one of the threaded screw-holes not aligning in one of the legs and had to re-tap the hole. Other than that, everything went well. I think the factory needs to put little sticky part number labels on the parts: assembly of the frame was somewhat confusing at first but the "exploded" parts view helped a lot. I have not used it yet but I expect it will work well enough for the price. My BIL has a huge 1-year-old Kenmore stainless steel unit with all the bells and whistles ($1500 new) and Sears is coming out tomorrow to replace two of the burners. Each burner costs as much as my new Backyard grill. Tee-Hee! I consider this BG unit as basically disposable in my climate and am expecting a service life of only 3-4 years. I am good to go with that!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sourdough
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/14/2013

Customer review by Blackbeard1960

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by Blackbeard1960
by Blackbeard1960
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We needed a small grill for our patio.When not in use it hides conveniently behind our hottub great since my wife and I are newly emptynesters .Great for just the two of us and the shipping was fast and not expensive .

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blackbeard1960
Laplace Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well Worth the Price
5/23/2015

Customer review by iwade

5.0 stars 5/23/2015 by iwade
by iwade

Though it takes about an hour to assemble, this grill is a FANTASTIC grill, for the price. This grill heats evenly, starts easily, and cooks better than a much more expensive grill that I had, in the past. Though I don't expect it to last ten years (neither did my expensive one), I know I will have gotten more than my money's worth when it goes to gas grill heaven. Plan on spending a few minutes putting it together, but buy with confidence. When you consider that It cost me less than $100, delivered to my door, this was a super-wise purchase. If you need to cook for a large group, buy two.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iwade
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect grill for us.
6/1/2015

Customer review by Jman

5.0 stars 6/1/2015 by Jman
by Jman

This grill is perfectly suited for our small household with its two burners being enough to cook for ourselves as well as guests. Assembly took an hour for me, and I'm no expert. All tools provided. Cooks evenly. And, despite being a two-burner grill, I was able to cook a full-sized rib rack on it! Within the first week of owning this grill I have cooked a rib rack, several burgers and even a couple of sirloin steaks! We have zip-tied it to our fence and bought a cover due to our area being very windy, so keep in mind your own measures when purchasing this grill and remember to buy a grill cover to increase longevity. I love the chrome handles! They add a very visually-appealing touch to this awesome grill and the performance as far as I'm concerned is great! It even comes with a thermometer on the front of the cover. I'd recommend this grill to anybody. No complaints. 5/5 don't pass this up, seriously.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/29/2012

Customer review by Grady11

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Grady11
by Grady11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this grill for my son. He loves it and had no problem getting it assembled. And I did the store to store in a different state. I arrived earlier than originally stated. Packaging was intact. I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (56) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grady11
Savannah TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOOD PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY
2/17/2013

Customer review by ERIN106

4.0 stars 2/17/2013 by ERIN106
by ERIN106
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

ASSEMBLED EASILY. ONLY PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE IGNITION. ALL OTHER GRILLS I HAVE OWNED IN THE PAST LIT WITH PUSHING IGNITION BUTTON 1 OR 2 TIMES. THIS ONE TAKES 4 OR 5 AND SOMETIMES MANY MORE. THIS DOES NOT SEEM TO BE RIGHT. GRILL DOES HEAT UP QUICKLY AND COOKS WELL.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ERIN106
LONG ISLAND, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great grill
6/17/2013

Customer review by billnliz

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by billnliz
by billnliz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We needed a new grill after our 500 dollar Weber gave out on us after 4 years. We didn't need anything big and fancy so we bought this one. It was easy to put together with simple clear instructions. We fit 13 bun sized burgers on the main cooking surface and 10 hotdogs on the warmer surface. We love this little grill.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billnliz
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent Value
2/8/2013

Customer review by zenfrisbee

3.0 stars 2/8/2013 by zenfrisbee
by zenfrisbee

Assembly was not too difficult if you pay close attention. Body doesn't attach to cart as directions indicate but that does not seem to matter once you are done. I wanted a thermometer in my grill which is why is made this purchase. It works but is not very accurate. If you are good at grilling and pay attention to the grilling process it works okay. If you tend to wander away for too long you may have problems. I cooked my first steak on the warming rack and that seems more manageable than the cooking grate. We get what we pay for and this is good value for the $$$.

Was this review helpful? (48) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zenfrisbee
Palmetto, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
bbq grille
1/3/2016

Customer review by riverat

5.0 stars 1/3/2016 by riverat
by riverat

The item arrived sooner then I expected. No damage to the box. The assembly instruction were easy to read plus numbering the parts made it a no brainer to put together good thinking 101. It was easy to lite and I tested it on a incredible tasting ribeye steak. should of purchased this bbq a long time ago. Thanks walmart

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
riverat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT PRICE
1/31/2013

Customer review by FordF150

4.0 stars 1/31/2013 by FordF150
by FordF150

This is a great grill for the price.It cooks very good and easy to clean.When putting it together take your time and have a second person to help.

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FordF150
Ocoee,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 265 total reviews
1-20 of 265 reviews