Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 67 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

67 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

67 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 62 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
Ideal Portable Barbeque
4/9/2013

Customer review by jackjack5

4.0 stars 4/9/2013 by jackjack5
by jackjack5

Excepting that it must be assembled and that it is quite a lot of work to assemble, it is an almost perfect portable barbeque. This is my second one which I bought as a backup. I have had the other one for over two years and use it every week. It has held up very well. Does an excellent job of cooking. Has a Teflon grill which does not require greasing prior to cooking and is easy to clean. I line the bottom with aluminum foil before each meal which radiates the heat upward and keeps drippings off the bottom. It makes it very easy to clean as all the ashes can be removed with the foil. Without the foil, getting the ashes out is a bit of a problem. Ventilation is excellent so the fire gets lots of air. One thing that would make it better was if the lips that hold the grill were better defined. Still the best portable I have ever had and I prefer it to my big grill for just doing a family meal.

Was this review helpful? (60) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jackjack5
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great grill for a small area!
4/30/2013

Customer review by mamclean23

5.0 stars 4/30/2013 by mamclean23
by mamclean23

The grill is small, yet large enough to cook a larger amount of food. The cooking area is large enough for two baby back ribs or one pack of hotdogs, along with vegetables or bread on the top grill area. This was a great buy. It was also easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (43) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamclean23
Bowling Green, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Portable and affordable
2/11/2014

Customer review by panflyeast

5.0 stars 2/11/2014 by panflyeast
by panflyeast

I purchased a 22' Square Backyard grill and switched to this one. This one is easy to assemble and can be folded and locked so that you can easily move it from your trunk to a BBQ table in a park. It served 4 persons very well. The size is perfect to be put in a sink to clean up. I'm happy to own this grill. I truly recommend it if you're a BBQ beginner and not so care about the quality. The attachment is pics before and after the first use. Some paint chips on the bottom peeled off but it was Ok.

Was this review helpful? (43) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
panflyeast
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
I Love this grill!!!!
4/28/2013

Customer review by badkittyxxx

5.0 stars 4/28/2013 by badkittyxxx
by badkittyxxx

I had this grill for itleast 3 years now. I only use charcoal grills and got tired of pulling out my huge charcoal grill when only making a few burgers or some chicken for dinner. This saved me so much $ on charcoal and can make enough for dinner and a few left overs. I have even folded up the legs and took this little bad boy fishing with us a few times. I love this grill and would recommend it to anyone. This can also do 1 slab of baby back ribs but if you are looking for a grill that has enough room to make alot of different things for a big shin dig then this isnt going to cut it. But thats obvious

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
badkittyxxx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
great little grill
5/5/2014

Customer review by leizureman

4.0 stars 5/5/2014 by leizureman
by leizureman

Just picked this grill up yesterday and used it for the first time. I am impressed with its portability and design. It has an adjustable vent on the bottom at the back and also on the lid, so no issues with getting a stack of charcoal going just fine and quickly. I really like the extra heating rack you get similar to a full size bbq where you can warm buns or just put slower cooking stuff up there. It is made of decent gauge metal similar to other bbq's, but I'd rather it be lighter than heavier, so I'm willing to trade off some durability and long life for less weight. No peeling of paint or anything else, so it looks like they use hi temp paint on this. I don't think you would do better for a portable grill like this. The grill racks are not too heavy duty so I would suspect those will be the first to go. It does come disassembled and takes about 1/2 to 1 hr to assemble. Instructions are very clear though and all the parts were there and labelled in separate pkgs, Size wise, it's can cook 6 burgers at a time easily. So for a group of 6 or less, it's fine. The locking lid and handles is great when you want to carry it into a picnic. Just load up as much coal as you need and throw in a small bottle of lighter fluid inside and lock the lid and you are good to go. No need to carry extra stuff. Overall, not a bad little grill. I would not use it for daily bbq'ing though because it's not built for that and won't last as long as something that has better, heavier grill racks. For occasional picinic bbq'ing maybe 6-12x per year, it is great.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leizureman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for the grill expert
3/4/2014

Customer review by NotFunctionalAdult

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by NotFunctionalAdult
by NotFunctionalAdult

I live in a little apartment with the man I love. I love him because he knows how to do things like use a grill. I don't! So, when I found out he wanted one for his birthday, I did research. This grill came highly recommended and so I bought it. I was sweating bullets over whether or not he would like it -- he's the expert, not me. WELL... We just used it for the first time and he could NOT stop raving about it. He LOVED it. It is small enough to use on our teeny tiny porch and WILL travel wherever we may feel like going (to the pool, ocean, park, mountains..WHEREVER). He was really excited about it which was a huge compliment for someone who know NOTHING about grills. IF you are a non-grill user and want to impress a knowledgeable grill user -- this grill is for you!

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NotFunctionalAdult
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Brought it back.
7/19/2014

Customer review by rsm19699

1.0 stars 7/19/2014 by rsm19699
by rsm19699

After one use, the handle broke, and the paint melted off the bottom of it. Very disappointing

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rsm19699
Taunton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Great grill for bachelor or family of 2
11/16/2014

Customer review by Jimih34

5.0 stars 11/16/2014 by Jimih34
by Jimih34

I purchased this small grill when I was still single. Now I am married and we frequently grill for just the 2 of us, and sometimes a 3rd. It has finally worn out after 4 years of abuse (Wisconsin winters and summer T-storms). For only $20, we have loved the amount of use we've gotten out of it. We are very happy to replace our worn out grill with exactly the same thing. Things to consider: 1. This is a charcoal grill. We like charcoal, but it takes more prep than a gas grill. 2. PERFECT for small meals for 1-3 people. We bought a bigger charcoal grill, but we rarely ever use the big grill because this one is so convenient for 2 people. 3. Not sure what the top capacity for this grill is, but if you like to entertain big parties or if you cook large, bulky roasts, you will want something bigger. 4. How long do you need your grill to last? For $20, I expected it to fall apart after 1 year or 2. I am amazed it has withstood 4 years of frequent use and exposure to rain & snow. However, if you want a 10-year grill, you need to look somewhere else. 5. Bonus: Food is right next to the source of the heat so you don't need to use very many coals. 4-6 bricks is sufficient for most purposes. We've never used more than 10 bricks, even when using both racks. 6. Bonus: The top rack is big enough to fit an aluminum pie pan even with the lid closed (for steaming veggies or cooking appetizers)

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimih34
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great portable grill
6/21/2013

Customer review by bbqmancheng

5.0 stars 6/21/2013 by bbqmancheng
by bbqmancheng

Easy to assemble, great customer service if needed. perfect little grill for any occasion!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bbqmancheng
st louis, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did what I bought it for
6/23/2014

Customer review by MLEandMAE

4.0 stars 6/23/2014 by MLEandMAE
by MLEandMAE

This is the perfect little grill for carry and on the go.. fit 8 burgers easy on it when cooking. Because it is a cheap grill, the first time we lit it the little metal upper shelf warped a little so I will need to get some heavy duty wire and secure the shelf in place so I can actually use it. But it was easy to assemble, lightweight for portability, perfect size for putting it at the end of a picnic table and cook.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MLEandMAE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very good for outdoor grill
3/25/2013

Customer review by jtsweetlife

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by jtsweetlife
by jtsweetlife

I have a sedan, and it can fit in the trunk easily. In addition, the leg can be folded. So it's very easy to store it in the cabinet. Although it's small, but it have two layers of grill space. That makes the grill PERFECT! But I haven't use it yet. So I don't know whether it will last long. But it looks great. I hope it can stand for at least 3 years. If it's broken, I will buy this style again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jtsweetlife
Storrs, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/21/2013

Customer review by ciiji

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by ciiji
by ciiji

This was used on a week end camping trip. BBQ'd Brats and Pork Steaks. both turned out wonderfully and did not take much time. Used on top of a table with fire mat underneath. no mess.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ciiji
St Peters MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great table top or tail gate grill!
11/1/2013

Customer review by SilverThread

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by SilverThread
by SilverThread

This grill is replacing my 10 year old table top/tail gate grill that I also purchased at WalMart. The last one held up so well that of course I wanted to replace it with the same model. Altho' there are some cosmetic differences, this grill has the same grilling area and dual grates. It heats very well, it is easy to control the temperature and for our application is perfect. It doesn't take up much space, is easily stored and has plenty of cooking/warming space for meals for 2 - 4 people.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SilverThread
Pulaski, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
does what it's supposed to, but...
7/8/2014

Customer review by Jessola

2.0 stars 7/8/2014 by Jessola
by Jessola

This grill is not easily assembled. It takes a good hour or so to put together. After it was finished, I put some coals in there, which it doesn't hold very much of. Lit up the coals and waited for the fire to die down, everything seemed normal up to this point. Came back out with some brats and I noticed that the black paint was flaking off from the bottom of the grill and smelled like burning plastic kind of. This made me scared to put food in it, but I decided to anyway since we weren't going to cook these inside. Food turned out ok for the most part, but the next day I heated up one of the brats and bit into it and I could taste burnt plastic (like how it smells but in your mouth) and had to throw the food out. Yuck. I hope that was a one time only thing and the next time I use it, that black strand looking stuff doesn't come flaking off again. Pros: simple and portable after assembled Cons: too much assembly, paint or plastic flaking off during first use

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jessola
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect size for picnics or beach party
6/6/2014

Customer review by cycledude50

5.0 stars 6/6/2014 by cycledude50
by cycledude50

The grill is a perfect size for a small BBQ. It has all the features we needed, especially the portability and the locking top. The warming rack is also a big plus. We've only used it a few times so we can't speak of the durability but with proper care we should get 3 to 5 years of use out of it. For all the features you can't beat the price. Allow at least an hour for assembly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cycledude50
San Clemente, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great grill for going to the beach with.
5/20/2014

Customer review by Diana30567

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by Diana30567
by Diana30567

The only thing wrong with this grill ( not thing bad, as far as cooking on the grill) , is when it got to me the handle was broken. took it back to the store and they gave me another grill. love then the legs fold for small spaces and has a lock so it does not fly open and make a mess when traveling.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Diana30567
lewiston, maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
terrible!!
7/24/2014

Customer review by stajy

1.0 stars 7/24/2014 by stajy
by stajy

Concept is nice but a terrible grill..both handles broke before complete installation, tried to call Blue Rhino to get replacement handles and got nothing but a hassle..hubby tried to grill in it despite broken handles and could not get enough heat out of the small amount of charcoal base would hold..returned item next day!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stajy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One time great... no longer has it.
5/26/2015

Customer review by phidas

1.0 stars 5/26/2015 by phidas
by phidas

I have purchased 3 or 4 of these in the past 10 years. The first edition was solid, and lasted 5 years. The second edition, only lasted two. ...the newest version can't even last one year. Once Upon A Time... this grill had wooden handles, collapsible legs with quick-release cotter pins, grates that were close enough together to keep food from falling into the fire, and enough weight to prevent the grill from blowing over in mild wind. I took that grill to work once a week, and grilled on it at home every day. It was solid, portable, and easy to use. Walmart should have stuck with the original design. I would rather pay $50 for the original than $19.88 for it's replacement. The handles are now plastic and have "heat gasket" washers (which are just paper/graphite) to keep the plastic from over-heating... but the heat transfers through the bolt itself, and destroys the plastic threads--so the plastic handles break off anyway. The legs are no longer sturdy tube-steel, and collapsing the feet requires the use of hand tools (though, the feet on this years edition do look sturdier than last years). The grates are so wide apart now, that the coals drop from the grate when half spent, and I have a much harder time keeping food from falling into the fire. The air-vents, are on the wrong side of the grill now (so you have to walk around to the back of the grill to adjust the air-flow)--and the back of the grill doesn't have a handle! ...leaving you to try to use the handle on the front as leverage to adjust the sliding air vent--which inevitably results in wobbling the grill instead of opening the grate. ..and when the grate does finally slide, the shaking often has caused my food to fall into the fire! The grill is so light weight that I keep bricks by it to keep it from blowing over in the wind... and the bottom has COMPLETELY RUSTED through in less than one year! I am not sure how to convey my disappointment. The original size and design of this grill was such that it easily out cooked the webber smokey joe... it had Much better air-flow adjustments, a secondary grilling surface for smoking vs searing, but now-a-days this grill just doesn't cut it. You might as well just purchase 2 grates, some bricks, and a pair of flexible grill mats (for a roll up lid) -- or the Webber Smokey Joe JR siver edition (not the gold edition). hope this review helps...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phidas
Would recommend to a friend? No
grill
6/8/2013

Customer review by tinkia

5.0 stars 6/8/2013 by tinkia
by tinkia

Instructions not the best but after all put together, a great grill.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tinkia
manteo, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect little grill
5/25/2013

Customer review by MrMikeMD

5.0 stars 5/25/2013 by MrMikeMD
by MrMikeMD

Easy to build. Grill cooks food evenly without flare ups. Just the right size for1 to 4 people

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrMikeMD
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews