Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 228 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

228 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

228 reviews | 4 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
110
4 stars
59
3 stars
22
2 stars
14
1 stars
23
1-20 of 224 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 224 total reviews
1-20 of 224 reviews
Cool machine from Dell
1/23/2013

Customer review by Madstamina

3.0 stars 1/23/2013 by Madstamina
by Madstamina

Processor speed is great, it has everything as outlined in summary. The design is great, my only problem is that "un-user friendly Windows 8 mess). The worst Operating system since Windows 3.1. Experts said this will change the game well it won't. I have had the machine for over a month and I still can't figure this OS out. I downloaded a guwi (sp??) interface so it looks like Windows 7 or XP but it still slides between windows on its own. Not cool. SO I had to rate it average because everything works fine except for the OS.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Madstamina
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun
2/12/2013

Customer review by Austinitegal

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by Austinitegal
by Austinitegal

At $618 for a Dell laptop..It is a great deal...So far..It has been useful for me..I needed a newer one anyway..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Austinitegal
Austin,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It came with NOTHING on it!
1/8/2013

Customer review by Infantrymom2012

1.0 stars 1/8/2013 by Infantrymom2012
by Infantrymom2012

It came with NOTHING on it! I was needing a word processor and what not and all I got was a computer with windows 8 and NO MANUAL to even try and figure it out. I would have returned it to the store, but the box is gone as I thought I was getting a good DELL product!!! I will tell everyone I know not to purchase a Dell!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Infantrymom2012
Hillsdale, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not buy a DELL!!!!!!!!!!
12/25/2012

Customer review by Spoonthis

1.0 stars 12/25/2012 by Spoonthis
by Spoonthis

My Inspiron is 23 months old and the motherboard has gone bad twice. They have issues (which they won't admit) with their motherboards. Their customer service is awful. I have never received such bad service. It is very difficult to understand the broken English all 3 customer service reps spoke. DO NOT BUY A DELL LAPTOP.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spoonthis
Would recommend to a friend? No
i know i will enjoy this laptop!!
12/11/2012

Customer review by imsadi

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by imsadi
by imsadi

This was the first time i have ever ordered online from wal-mart. It was simple enough to do. I ordered on thanksgiving day, the presale, found what i wanted and paid for it. It got here when it said it would, alerted me when it was shipped etc. It arrived when it was supposed to, all nice and pretty. So anyone out there hesitant about ordering from wal-mart dont be. The only thing i can comment on is this: I wish you could order anything in the store,or on the flyers etc. I found that some of the stuff on sale i could not order, in store only. For ex:shirts, slippers, i cant think of all the things i could not order, there were quite a few. Im disabled and its difficult for me to shop the whole store. However again, it was a pleasant experience, and i will not hesitate to order on line in the future, and you shouldnt either.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
imsadi
leesburg,fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/30/2011

Customer review by anjaltrade

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by anjaltrade
by anjaltrade

In a brief period, I am satisfied with this new 17" laptop. I am an active derivatives trader and have found that with the memory, speed, and video card that was installed;I am allowed to have displays of streaming markets and graphs with no difficulties or time lags. I also do a lot of heavy lifting on excel spread sheets and the numeric key board makes application much easier. Thanks - anj

anjaltrade
office
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Buy Ever!
11/17/2012

Customer review by RandomReado

5.0 stars 11/17/2012 by RandomReado
by RandomReado

PROS Delivery - original delivery date was set for 3 weeks after the purchase date, however I received the laptop in under a week! Quality - a mix of plastic and metal but all round feels solid and well built Keyboard - backlit looks amazing!!! And a full numeric keypad, just brilliant! Display - went for the HD 1080p screen (not 3D) and it's extremely clear and crisp! Storage - came with 2x 750GB 7200rpm drives and they're really quick! No SSD needed! Quiet - the laptop is whisper quiet even when I'm running resource-hungry applications and it doesn't produce major heat when it's under stress like my XPS M1530 used to! Speed - system boots into Windows in under 10 seconds and shuts down even quicker* *I reinstalled the system from scratch using the Windows 7 Ultimate x64 DVD I ordered separately. This ensures I only have the software I really need as the additional software that comes with Dell machines like AV trials and what not really slow it down. You can't review a machine properly in terms of performance if you don't have a clean installation to begin with. CONS Speakers - sounds tinny even with the MaxxAudio enabled and I get more noise coming from the right speaker than the left?! Subwoofer doesn't appear to work either and there's no option to test it with the software provided. Windows reckons the subwoofer is "not present" so it looks like a hardware problem - just a guess?! Hopefully Dell can sort it out when I phone them next week. All in all I am really happy with this purchase! I went for the 3 year warranty and accidental damage cover to protect my investment.

RandomReado
North Wales, UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful!
1/9/2012

Customer review by Belewbubble

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by Belewbubble
by Belewbubble

Love the Inspirons, I have purchased 2 for personal use and 3 for use at my employer. They are fast, durable, comfortable to see screen and easy to integrate into your network. The 17" screen is awesome. I have had some trouble with the keyboard but that is minor compared to the issues experienced by friends with other brands. I did want XP on this computer but have found that Windows 7 is very similar and has some great upgrades.

Belewbubble
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Computer
11/18/2012

Customer review by PhoenixMaster

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by PhoenixMaster
by PhoenixMaster

In the past couple weeks since I have bought this computer, it has been extremely reliable. The physical design is great, and the keyboard is spacious. My specs are: Intel i7 3612QM 8GB RAM Windows 8 1 TB hard drive I am loving this computer. I have had no problems of the sorts that other people mentioned. The touchpad works great; I have updated all my drivers from the Dell website. Temperature control works fine, averaging high 50's and low 60's Celsius under a Prime95 Torture Test, and idling at a mere 35. I can average 4.5 hours on battery on Balanced, when I am doing web browsing and document editing (Word), on a 6-cell battery. More than enough for me. Powershare USB port is useful for charging my Samsung Galaxy Tab. Best of all 4 computers I've had so far. I could go on praising the computer, but I think I've made my point. I would recommend this to any friend.

PhoenixMaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Computer
1/25/2013

Customer review by Beetle417

5.0 stars 1/25/2013 by Beetle417
by Beetle417

Powerful computer. Very fast and great screen detail.

Beetle417
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent viewing display, quick system
11/26/2012

Customer review by DJgal

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by DJgal
by DJgal

This is my 4th laptop from Dell. I wasn't too sure about upgrading to a 17.3 i3 dual core but as I've gotten used to it, I love it!! For me, the difficulties I've been having is that my small hands trying to get comfortable and the keyboard setup is super sensitive.

DJgal
Western Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just Love It !
2/4/2013

Customer review by Hemi

5.0 stars 2/4/2013 by Hemi
by Hemi

I'm a Professional video editor and a designer. this machine brought massive computing power to my business. pros: power power power cons: bit heavy (though its a desktop replacement)

Hemi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Nice Laptop
12/23/2012

Customer review by j3cubboy

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by j3cubboy
by j3cubboy

I've owned this computer for a couple months and using it as a desktop replacement. It is large and heavy so I wouldn't want to travel with it but that's not what I bought it for. It is working very well for home video editing. I am extremely happy with it.

j3cubboy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great laptop for the price -
5/25/2011

Customer review by NateB

5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by NateB
by NateB

Great laptop with good specs for a good price. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a 17 inch laptop at a budget price.

NateB
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Computer!
1/20/2011

Customer review by emilywright

5.0 stars 1/20/2011 by emilywright
by emilywright

This Dell 17R laptop is fantastic! As a fulltime student, I need a reliable laptop. The size of the screen on this laptop is amazing, it allows me to focus better while completing homework because my eyes do not get distracted with what is going on around me. I use this computer as my desktop at home, and it is so reliable, I have not had one problem with it since I bought it. The processing speed and capacity to download are so fast compared to my older Dell laptop. Watching a movie on HD makes a huge difference, in fact watching movies on my computer is BETTER than my HD flatscreen television. Another fantastic feature is that the volume turns up really loudly, so you do not even need to attach speakers in order to watch a movie. (Amazing right??))) The charger for this computer lights up in blue, so you know that the computer is plugged in and charging. I would recommend this computer to anyone and everyone!

emilywright
Toronto, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a awesome Laptop!!!!!
10/14/2012

Customer review by Faith1966

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by Faith1966
by Faith1966

Pros: It is easy to take with you. its portable the speed is reliability. Cool sleek black design. it is also wireless.

Faith1966
Oconto, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
10/5/2012

Customer review by ohooper

5.0 stars 10/5/2012 by ohooper
by ohooper

This is the first laptop I've ever bought and I love it. I love the features, the size, the screen resolution. The only problem I have is the video streaming is kind of slow. Although, it could just be my wifi. Other than that I haven't had any problems. Good job, Dell!

ohooper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
how66
10/4/2012

Customer review by how66

5.0 stars 10/4/2012 by how66
by how66

I bought the 17R two months ago to replace my studio xps I've had for three years. It's a fast PC that works well whether I'm at work or gaming. cons: none realy, other thoughts:anyone who wants a keyboard with back lighting or other such features should look at more expensive PC's. It's a great PC for the price.

how66
Racine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
17R Special Edition
9/30/2012

Customer review by RobSi

5.0 stars 9/30/2012 by RobSi
by RobSi

The is my 2nd 17r, but his one in the Special Edition, so much better than I expected, Love the speed and storage, I know this might be trivial but the light under the key pad are just cool. Pro. The speed, storage, screen and the looks Cons, the lack of a bigger battery.

RobSi
Cocoa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great allround laptop!
8/3/2012

Customer review by aeerhart

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by aeerhart
by aeerhart

I recently bought the latest Dell Inspiron 17R SE (7720 base) and I have to say I am very pleased with it. I bought the 6GB ram and one 750GB 7200rpm Seagate HDD version, with the 2GB NVidea Geforce 650M GDDR5 video card. I replaced the original HDD with a SSD card and that has increased the performance tremendously. I also ordered the extra DVD's, so I had no problems installing Windows 7 on the SSD. I moved the original HDD to the secondary HDD bay and now mainly use that for storage, after reformatting it. I did have some issues with the HDD bracket (caddy) for the secondary HDD not shipped with the laptop, but that issue has been sorted out with help from Dell customer service (through the Dell community forums at http://en.community.dell.com/, if you have any issues yourself.) Overall, I would highly recommend this laptop to anybody who is looking for a good allround laptop.

aeerhart
Zoetermeer, the Netherlands
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 224 total reviews
1-20 of 224 reviews