Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 82 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

82 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

82 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 63 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews
Awesome TV
11/24/2012

Customer review by chelle12497

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by chelle12497
by chelle12497

I stood in line for 13 hours at walmart to this tv for my mom. I got the first one! She loves it and its every bit as good as my LG 50 in I have. The remote is very simple and small which I think is very nice not 1500 buttons that you will never use. Way to go walmart.

Was this review helpful? (112) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chelle12497
Little Rock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Price. Average TV
11/28/2012

Customer review by Rokker77

3.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Rokker77
by Rokker77

This was a late-night impulse buy on Black Friday (No waiting or previous research). Paid $298 + extended warranty & even at that nice price, I'm still interested in returning. Sale price was a nice bargain if you're not too critical like me & mainly interested in watching HD stuff. HD content looks pretty darn cool but the soft, fake looking SD quality falls well below my old Sony Wega tube tv & makes it hard to replace. Even standard dvds upscaled through 1080p HDMI couldn't match the tube's 480i component quality. Black levels varied greatly between internal tuner (dark), HDMI inputs (bright) & various devices so having only 1 adjustable picture calibration setting is a major negative for me (Most of the pre-set picture modes look pretty useless to my eyes & can't be adjusted). There's also a glitch where every time I turned off TV, every previously found/programmed channel above 105. disappeared & could only be watched again by doing a full 20 minute "initial setup" scan (You should be safe from this glitch if you're planning on using a HD cable/digital box instead). *After some research, I've discovered that the manufacturer "Funai" = Emerson/Magnavox/Sylvania/etc. has a pretty poor reliability & service reputation + only offers a 90 day labor warranty, so an extended warranty seems like a must! For more info & to download the manual emersonaudiovideo.com/products/product.php?id=39

Was this review helpful? (47) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rokker77
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the Family Room
10/20/2013

Customer review by BlackHawk89

5.0 stars 10/20/2013 by BlackHawk89
by BlackHawk89

I bought this TV to replace my 32" Emerson TV in the family room. I could not have picked a better TV for the price. It provides a great picture and a good sound. Although it is not a smart TV, you an easily attach a streaming device (AppleTV, Chromecast, GoogleTV, etc) and voila, you have a smart TV. The three HDMI inputs make it great to attach streaming devices or gaming systems. I paid $500 for it, a lot of money, but you can't beat it for the quality you get. (My Emerson 32" was $675 back in 2007: wrap that around your mind for a minute) I would highly recommend this TV for anybody.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlackHawk89
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth the Wait
11/25/2012

Customer review by Aeropush

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Aeropush
by Aeropush

I didn't stand in line for 13 hours (wow!) but I did wait from 8pm until 5am on Black Friday to get this tv for $298. We were allowed to sit in chairs we brought in. So it wasn't that bad. I got one of only 10 that our local store had. I hit a pothole on the way home that would jar your fillings lose and I was concerned it may have damaged the tv but it was fine. The picture on this lcd tv is as good as any brand large-screen lcd tv I've seen. It has more features than an Insignia brand lcd 50" that I recently bought for $499# Go here for a detailed description of it's features: http://www#emersonaudiovideo#com/products/product#php?id=39 I like the fact that you update the software as Emerson develops new updates. If I had to find something to nitpick, it would be the sound. The speakers face downward, not forward. It's not great sound, but neither is the sound from my Insignia with forward-facing speakers. And both tvs have a tad of brightness dropoff along the sides. It's not really noticeable unless you're looking for it. Overall, this is by far the best value of any tv purchase I've ever made.

Was this review helpful? (41) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aeropush
Martinsville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV, Just bought my second
2/6/2013

Customer review by swnolanmr

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by swnolanmr
by swnolanmr

This is an awesome TV. My wife and I waited all night for it on Black Friday and just bought an additional one for our bedroom at $500. For the price you cant beat it! Great picture, sound, Madden and Black Ops look great on it, along with all my sports and blu rays, etc. I purchased the Orion 46 in today for $400 that was on sale and its HORRIBLE compared to the Emerson, which prompted me to exchange it and get the one I knew was worth the price. Great TV.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swnolanmr
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well worth the wait.
11/27/2012

Customer review by akaWolf

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by akaWolf
by akaWolf

I had my eyes set on this since the release of the black friday advertisements. I went to walmart at 8pm and they did not even know where they were going to have it set up to sell it. So I ended up leaving to return later on. Got there at midnight and found out they only had 10 in the store. Sadly they had like 12 people in line saying I could stick around in case someone didn't have the money or something. So taking a long shot I drove across town to the other and was in luck! They had 21 of the tvs and I was number 11. So the wait wasn't too long. Just from 12:30 to 5. Not even since they began to hand out the vouchers at 4:45. I was home at exactly 5:30am that morning. I am a heavy gamer. So with that said picture is something I greatly look forward to. It has perfect picture. At first I thought I was getting blurrs but what I did was paused real fast, rewinded and continued to play. It was just the actual video itself loading. Like trailers not actual movies or tv shows. So I don't get any blurriness on my tv aside from if I am trying to watch a trailer off of like xbox marketplace while it's loading. Easy fix is to pause the video for a short bit and than hit play. No blurr. Problem solved. Nor is there any color fading as it reaches the sides. I use HDMI outputs for everything. The buttons are all touch. Not the actual rectangular plastic like pieces but actual touch screen like buttons. I put this in my bedroom to replace the Emerson 32" I bought last year that everyone loved. That went to my grandmothers room to replace her like 15 year old 27" box tv. The type where the back is bigger than the screen itself. Worth the money. Worth the wait. Sound was awesome as well. However, as a gamer I use the surround sound head phones. It comes with a easy start up menu which is very useful for those who aren't the technical types. The controller is small thus easy to navigate. Only thing I find weird on it, is that the navigational arrows and the OK button is down at the bottom opposed to being around the top or center like I am use to. But once you get use to it, it's not a biggie. It has a energy efficiency of 27 dollars a year which is pretty awesome in my opinion. Really great picture quality. I believe to be better than the 50" Samsung and 50" Philips I had seen in the past. So far, Emerson has me bought. I love their televisions.

Was this review helpful? (34) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
akaWolf
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So Disappointed with Emerson TV & Cust Serv
4/8/2013

Customer review by DisappointedWithEmerson

1.0 stars 4/8/2013 by DisappointedWithEmerson
by DisappointedWithEmerson

Got this TV for a $298 black friday special and starting March, the HDMI ports now only occasionally work. In order to play the PS3, i have to keep turning the tv on and off several times and wait a few minutes to get a picture becuase when you switch to any other mode, such as TV to HDMI 1 or from HDMI 1 to HDMI 3, the tv screen blacks out. Then it makes a loud brief screech noise like the sound is about to go out as well. Dealing with Emerson customer service is so frustrating. I have had several reps and each have told me several different things about getting the tv fixed. No one wants to provide in-home service to my tv that is still under warranty for parts, i have to ship my tv all the way to ohio and wait 4 weeks. I could go on and on about this and my other encounters, but needless to say, I will not purchase Emerson products again!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DisappointedWithEmerson
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HDMI inputs- problematic
11/28/2012

Customer review by PAPAA

3.0 stars 11/28/2012 by PAPAA
by PAPAA

it was all great i have a pretty good 50" on my living room now. and here's the glitch i found.. being an AV savvy gives me more knowledge on whats not working and whats working..i'm actually having problems on HDMI inputs.. meaning the 3 of them. 1st problem on hdmi: if i switch channels from my xfinity box between HD to SD... the picture will disappear but the audio is still there.. SD to SD is ok.. HD to HD channels are ok too. SD to HD is ok.. but the HD to SD doesnt.. example.. FOX SD is 5 and FOX HD is 805.. so from 805 to channel 5.. the video will disappear but audio is present. 2nd issue is when i play dvd on my blueray. with all thos upcoming shows at the front of the main movie..i dnt think it changes format and resolution but it keeps on losing the video signal. i called the very unuseful support of emerson but they ask me to call walmart first so... im going to walmart tomorrow. did anyone of u experience this too? Thanks. should i recommend? 50/50 actually but the size is pretty good for the price.

Was this review helpful? (39) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PAPAA
rockville md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
keeps losing picture
5/17/2013

Customer review by petenrepete

2.0 stars 5/17/2013 by petenrepete
by petenrepete

Picture and TV were great for 2 weeks then when changing stations or simply watching a show it would drop the picture when a scene change or going to commercial. the sound would still be there but would lose the video. I could turn off TV then turn back on and video would come back. this is the second o9f theses TVs that did this. Wal Mart took back both TVs, but was an inconvenience to have to rebox both TVs and get help loading into van and returning twice. I had to spend more money on another brand of TV to get the same features but the manager at Wal mart, Esmerelda was great in understanding my frustration and gave me an instore credit of 10% toward another TV. Wal Mart was great but I wouldn't ever get another Emerson.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
petenrepete
quad cities, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for a great price!
11/28/2012

Customer review by PeasinaPod5

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by PeasinaPod5
by PeasinaPod5

This TV looks and works amazingly good. It was easy to set-up and program the channels. The speakers don't sound great at first, but once you play with the sound settings, it sounds great. For those of you who don't have HD cable or satellite, this TV looks really good as well.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PeasinaPod5
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/27/2012

Customer review by shetall

4.0 stars 11/27/2012 by shetall
by shetall

It is worth the money that I gave for it. I bought it on black Friday, would have bought 2 if I had only knew that it was as good as it is.. Its well worth the money even if its not on black Friday...

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shetall
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/26/2012

Customer review by Frenchie80461

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by Frenchie80461
by Frenchie80461

So I got to Walmart about an hour early, was 3rd in line. Pretty happy about that. Got the TV, couldn't wait to hook it up. Good Job Walmart on a great TV at a GRRRRR-eat price. Sweet Deal ! Very satisfied, plus I got the 3year service plan for only 28 bucks. I mean, this makes a TOTAL difference playing Xbox on this screen. Awsome. Plus, super easy to hook up and the remote is ridiculously simple. Thumbs up all the way around !

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frenchie80461
Leadville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV at a Great Price
11/11/2013

Customer review by THEDRUMMERMAN

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by THEDRUMMERMAN
by THEDRUMMERMAN

When our old TV stopped working ,we looked for a new one .When we saw the Emerson at such a low price I kind of wondered. We figured what the heck! We couldn't be happier!!!!!!!!! The TV is GREAT!! The picture is beautiful, sound is great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What a GREAT deal !!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
THEDRUMMERMAN
WPB FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tv
9/27/2013

Customer review by mclovinchic

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by mclovinchic
by mclovinchic

I love the tv. its my first 50" more than happy with it... always having no larger than a 27" lol i feel like a rich person.... :) would buy it again :) these things always come and go, something new and better comes along every few years, why spend $1000 on a tv like a lot of people? $400 for a 50" is a fantastic price for a flat screen. i like the remote as another mentioned. you dont ever use the extra buttons and they get in the way, so that is a nice feature to not have a million buttons :)

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mclovinchic
florida wat too early to type a decent review...lo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tv at a great price
11/12/2013

Customer review by kerioke16

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by kerioke16
by kerioke16

I bought this tv Black Friday last year after waiting in line from 10pm- 6am for $298. My family loves this tv. Have had no issues with it. Picture quality and sound are great. I bought the extended warranty just in case. Would definitely purchase another Emerson brand.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kerioke16
Jacksonville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY THIS T.V. !!!
2/3/2013

Customer review by KEDAVIS

1.0 stars 2/3/2013 by KEDAVIS
by KEDAVIS

THIS IS THE WORST TV I HAVE EVER OWNED!!! I have only had this TV hooked up for 1 week, and the picture has already gone out. This TV is a piece of JUNK!!!!!!!!! In the week that I have had this TV hooked up, I have only had it on maybe a few hours a day. DO NOT BUY THIS TV!!! YOU TRULY GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR... NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KEDAVIS
ROANOKE, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the price
12/10/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This TV meets all my expectations and was delivered direct to my door. Why waste time going to the store when it gets delivered right to your doorstep in perfect condition. GREAT DEAL

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Grand Rapids
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/7/2013

Customer review by jewelrhee4me

5.0 stars 9/7/2013 by jewelrhee4me
by jewelrhee4me

This TV has great picture and great sound. Perfect for what we were looking for.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jewelrhee4me
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No power
2/4/2013

Customer review by 5527

1.0 stars 2/4/2013 by 5527
by 5527

I brought the on a wed and return it on thur. After hauling 5o inch tv home and hooking it up to my tv stand and the last thing I through I should check was if it had power. The tv never turned on and I tried different outlets and still didn't get power. Tech support couldn't help me they told me to send it to them and I will get it back in two weeks. I just returned it and got my money back.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
5527
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
This Emerson shows a nice picture
9/30/2013

Customer review by greatlene

4.0 stars 9/30/2013 by greatlene
by greatlene

I think it was priced well

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greatlene
Memphis, TN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews