Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 73 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

73 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

73 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 62 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
very clean
12/19/2012

Customer review by Lauriedeeee

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by Lauriedeeee
by Lauriedeeee

I grind my own wheat to make breads and pretzels. it's very clean so it can be used right out of the bucket. Hard white wheat is, I think, much more palatable than hard red. I can't stand whole wheat breads that they sell in stores because they use hard red wheat, but hard white wheat has a milder flavor and the breads look just like white bread as opposed to the darker whole wheat breads they sell in stores. This wheat is stored in tightly covered buckets with an o2 absorber so it should last a long time if you don't open it. Price wise.. I think it's good. I've seen cheaper wheat for sale but never in NY where I am and delivery costs alone would negate any savings, and the less expensive wheat came in bags which would mean I'd have to buy food grade storage buckets anyway. Auguson Farms wheat from Walmart is perfect for my needs. Shippiing was very fast too.

Was this review helpful? (65) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lauriedeeee
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/29/2013

Customer review by GreenChick

5.0 stars 3/29/2013 by GreenChick
by GreenChick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very pleased with this product. Fast Shipping. Before ordering I did call Customer Service to check if it was Genetically Modified. The folks at Augason Farms take great pride in their response that "None of their products are GMO !!"

Was this review helpful? (87) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreenChick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good stuff
1/7/2013

Customer review by rnman99

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by rnman99
by rnman99

Nice clean wheat. You might be able to get wheat cheaper if you drive up to the elevator with a pickup and let them dump it in the bed, but you can't beat this price for clean, packaged wheat, especially with free delivery. Can't get it this price even at the coop anymore.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rnman99
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not Bad
5/15/2014

Customer review by subfitter

3.0 stars 5/15/2014 by subfitter
by subfitter

Just a heads up. Wheat is packaged in bucket & gasketed lid, without mylar. Research found that the plastic is not impervious to oxygen, and most folks repackage in bucket with mylar liner and 2000cc oxygen absorber. I have a few buckets that had wheat kernels in the gasket areaalso (bad seal). Found the wheat was a bit dirty when repackaging. Not a deal breaker though. Good price. (posted in Red Wheat area also)

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
subfitter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
3/24/2014

Customer review by thewholepackage

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by thewholepackage
by thewholepackage
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wanted to try my hand at grinding my own wheat for bread. The local store carries the bags, but rarely. This was the best deal I've found for home delivery. Looked at amazon and others, but the shipping is outrageous. Shipping over $50 was free for this, and even lesser amounts was only $4-5. So far I've had 3 grinding sessions, making enough for 2 loaves each time with a little left over. Absolutely no regrets!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thewholepackage
nwo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Good Product
3/11/2013

Customer review by MikeOC

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by MikeOC
by MikeOC

To what others have said I can add that if you divide the stated protein content per serving by the stated serving size you get about 13%. A wheat farmer of my acquaintance tells me that that's good. (By "hard" is meant in particular a type of high-protein wheat that's good for bread.) And I've also tried the hard red type from Walmart, this very brand, and it too is terrific, and for a very good price. Here's a tip to get off the top which is a killer: take a claw hammer and with the claw under one of the corners tap up, forcefully, on the head of the claw hammer with a rubber mallet. Othewise you could hurt your hands getting the top off. I should also relate that I didn't used to get very good results with whole-wheat flour and my old bread machine, which doesn't have a special cycle for whole wheat. I theorized that the bran on the whole wheat was preventing the kneading from having the proper effect. So I got the idea of first running the bread machine on the knead-only cycle but WITHOUT yeast. That takes 50 minutes on my machine. Then I take the dough out and roll it out with my hands and sprinkle some of the yeast on top and then fold the dough over, flatten it again, and repeat several times until the packet of yeast is in many layers throughout the dough. I then plop it back in the bread machine and restart to machine, with the standard bake setting, as though I had not performed the 50-minute kneading step. I get a perfect loaf every time with my double-kneading approach (with the yeast being added after the first kneading).

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeOC
Shelton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
I love the container!
3/13/2013

Customer review by WannabeMolly

5.0 stars 3/13/2013 by WannabeMolly
by WannabeMolly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It was hard to rate the value of this product because the price jumped WAY up after I bought it and I am not sure if its going to stay up or go back down. In any case, the quality of wheat seems to be good. No complaints. I am mostly in love with the container though because it is just a great space saver compared to round buckets and the because it is smaller than most bulk buckets of wheat, it is a much more manageable weight. I have every intention of ordering a variety of products from Augason Farms now.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WannabeMolly
Savannah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Packing
3/24/2013

Customer review by FUNFX

5.0 stars 3/24/2013 by FUNFX
by FUNFX
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent Product. Would be better if it was packaged in a Nylar bag with 02 packet inside. I repacked mine cuz I just did not trust the way it came packed to last 30 yr. Otherwise this product is Awesome & Priced Right ! Fast Delivery As Well !

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FUNFX
Beaumont,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great source for southern wheat buyers
3/21/2014

Customer review by rynosmom

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by rynosmom
by rynosmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Shipping was extremely fast for this order. Price per pound was even cheaper than the Sams larger bucket prices from Augasons. Will be orderering this on a regular basis for my bread making . Would love for them to carry the soft white wheat as well!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rynosmom
houston tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very comforting to have in my posetion.
1/26/2014

Customer review by VivaLaWally

5.0 stars 1/26/2014 by VivaLaWally
by VivaLaWally
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I do not know what this hard white wheat tastes like, but I do plan on trying to cook some of the many recipes that use hard white wheat, even if it is just as a cereal. But for me, the greatest satisfaction with this purchase is seeing the words 'Best by 2043'. It is very comforting for me to know I have something healthy to eat in case of an emergency. The storage container is square and is probably smaller than a five gallon bucket and easily stacks and transports. Don't forget to prepare a clean water source.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VivaLaWally
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for survial or everyday
3/12/2013

Customer review by Ferrett

5.0 stars 3/12/2013 by Ferrett
by Ferrett
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

What an incredible value. The square container comes in a sturdy cardboard box both of which are reusable and add value to the product. The company this product ships from is reliable and quick. We also bought the powdered honey in a #10 can and will be reordering both soon. We plan on storing both the wheat and honey for a survival stash and using it on a daily bases for our pantry needs.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ferrett
Red Desrt,Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for Sprouting!
2/6/2013

Customer review by SavvyShopperSD

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by SavvyShopperSD
by SavvyShopperSD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent quality product in easy to store container. I use it primarily to make fodder for my chickens. The wheat sprouts easily and uniformly.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SavvyShopperSD
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful Product
10/10/2014

Customer review by Natharon

5.0 stars 10/10/2014 by Natharon
by Natharon

Very nice, quality berries and these are 'Whole Wheat Berries', not ground. Grinding your own makes a much tastier product than using store bought flour and, with properly stored berries, you never have to worry about spoilage (stale flour). In case you didn't know, these whole berries can be used Without grinding too. Make cakes, muffins, pancakes & more. Check out this great book I found, "No Wheat Grinder Wheat Recipes." http://cltreasures.weebly.com/books.html

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Natharon
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
Hard white wheat
12/1/2015

Customer review by kam4

5.0 stars 12/1/2015 by kam4
by kam4

This has been a great product. I would purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kam4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
bucket white wheat
11/30/2012

Customer review by shoptillYouDrop2

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by shoptillYouDrop2
by shoptillYouDrop2

I was happy with the speed it took to arrive. I like the square buckets-easier to store them.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoptillYouDrop2
Hilo, Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Prepping made easy
1/23/2013

Customer review by NewRottLabMom

5.0 stars 1/23/2013 by NewRottLabMom
by NewRottLabMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is one of the lowest per pound prices I have located on hard white wheat. My sister was thrilled to receive it as her Christmas gift and I have been very happy with my purchases

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewRottLabMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best product.
11/29/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/29/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Yes

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Price
11/20/2015

Customer review by ssgtjnelson

5.0 stars 11/20/2015 by ssgtjnelson
by ssgtjnelson

I like to grind my own flour or use wheat as a hot cereal... sometimes I make beer with it. So far I really like this and the price is really good. Some places sell 50 pounds of wheat for about $48 so getting, essentially, 52 pounds of wheat for about $32 is a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ssgtjnelson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value/ Great Wheat!
1/31/2013

Customer review by JustMeAndPapaBear

5.0 stars 1/31/2013 by JustMeAndPapaBear
by JustMeAndPapaBear

This is wonderful for those of us that live in the South. We have very few options for buying wheat. It's a great price, comes in a bucket and is delivered right to your door very quickly. What more could you ask for? And the wheat is a very good quality. I hope this is available for a long time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustMeAndPapaBear
NW Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product for easy, longterm keeping
12/19/2013

Customer review by MooJoo

4.0 stars 12/19/2013 by MooJoo
by MooJoo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Only thing that could make it better is to make it organic

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MooJoo
Northeast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews