Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

99 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

99 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
27
1-20 of 97 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews
Great phone on the cheap!
11/3/2013

Customer review by Bradf52

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by Bradf52
by Bradf52

I've seen a lot of reviews here mentioning this phone or others not getting good reception. I found out a long time ago that it is best to contact a Tracfone engr. You have to call CS support and have them escalate the problem to a engr. The reason is that even the phones that pop up when you input your zip code will not always work!!! Point I purchased the Samsung S390G which suppose to be available for my area so I ordered it on TracFone's site. Well 6 months later after many emails and phone call they finally escalted it to an engr. He said that the phones that they show are available and working in your area may not always be true!!! So he sent me. The LG 440g which works like a charm and I get 5 BARS!!!! So this goes to show you don't always believe what their website says. You need to talk to a engr. and have him/her check if the phone you want actually will work!!! Basically buyer beware, but if you do your research I have never had bad service just bad phones that the website picks for you!!

Was this review helpful? (136) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bradf52
Presque Isle, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Long shipping time, doesn't work in my area.
9/14/2013

Customer review by Unhappycaller

1.0 stars 9/14/2013 by Unhappycaller
by Unhappycaller
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I searched for the nearest Wal-Mart that had a flip-type TracFone in stock, as I'd ruined my old one and needed it fast. Found one in stock at a very nearby store, ground shipping should have been one or two days. But the phone shipped from somewhere in Texas--took a week to get here. Tried to activate the phone. Tracfone's on-line activation does not work. Called the number on the activation card, went through the phone tree, then the automated activation routine. Also didn't work. Was transferred to a real person--apparently somewhere in southern Asia or India. After far too long on the phone, I was finally informed that this phone would not work in my area. So why was it in stock at a Wal-Mart in my area? TracFone sent me a new phone--but it isn't new, it's re-conditioned, and the backplate doesn't fit. It's currently held on with duct tape. I'm not happy with Wal-Mart, and I'm not happy with TracFone, but I finally have a working phone after two weeks of effort ans waiting.

Was this review helpful? (31) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Unhappycaller
Enterprise, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well-known glitch in this phone-
12/27/2012

Customer review by BabyCakes1959

1.0 stars 12/27/2012 by BabyCakes1959
by BabyCakes1959

Don't buy this phone unless you don't care about sending or receiving pics and videos-which is is designed to do. Much to my chagrin, soon after purchasing, I soon discovered that this is a well-know problem with this style Tracfone phone. Proves it pays to do some research before buying...sigh. I have complained to Tracfone since purchasing. They called me and "fixed" it, on numerous occasions. It works for one day, then it reverts right back to not sending or receiving multi-media messages. Finally, the customer rep said they were sending a replacement-a Samsung model to replace this LG. Tracfone rep said I would receive replacement in 3-5 days. Well, it's been well over 3 weeks, and nothing. I contacted them 3 more times since they said they were sending a replacement, and they keep telling me the replacement is "in process". I give up. I don't care if I get a replacement now or never. I would steer clear of this piece of junk. Nothing but problems.

Was this review helpful? (109) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BabyCakes1959
Marcy, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Phone nightmares
11/19/2014

Customer review by Toricat2012

1.0 stars 11/19/2014 by Toricat2012
by Toricat2012

My first phone last me over 4 years but its battery was slowly dying. So I bought this one in may. I wish I didn't. I discovered after my boss called me in a panic that it was holding onto my texts. When she called my cell 3 times it went through to voice mail on her end but my phone didn't even realize that it was being called or had missed the call. A day later I received 6 texts (5 from her 1 from another person) at once all of them days old. I've moved my phone to a place that I get 3-4 bars, cleaned my messages, replaced my battery, and turned my phone on and off. It worked for a couple days then started up again. So I don't know when my phone holds texts or whose calls i'm missing. If you think that this is just a random fluke i'll give you another reason not to buy. When my phone is acting like a good boy it reseals and sends me old messages at random times of the day. If you value your work relations or friends don't buy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toricat2012
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
LG440G -- You get less than what you pay for
5/11/2014

Customer review by kasima99

1.0 stars 5/11/2014 by kasima99
by kasima99

I'm not a "tech nerd," like one poster said about those dissatisfied with this phone. I don't use the web or anything but calling and voice mail. I've had my phone about a week now and it doesn't ring for calls coming from outside my calling area. My sons tried calling me on Mother's Day and the phone didn't ring at all. I tried calling it from Google Voice. The first time, I could hear the ringing, but the phone itself did not ring until the fourth ring, when it went to voice mail. The second time, the phone actually did ring. I just bought this phone to have something for calling, but it's no good for that if I can't answer the calls because they don't come through. I will attempt to get someone in the U.S. to give me some satisfaction, but I doubt I will. I've used Net10 phones before and the only way I got any satisfaction was to hunt down the CEO's number and get in touch with customer retention. Unfortunately, I have lost that number, so I will have to search again. I refuse to talk to regular customer service in another country. It's useless.

Was this review helpful? (25) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kasima99
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bought as a cheap PHONE ONLY.
12/20/2012

Customer review by RcikG4742

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by RcikG4742
by RcikG4742

Expected Use: Phone Only, does that well and lots more. Replaced three "contract" phones with LOW usage that cost almost $1000 a year with these. Total cost of these: $375 for all... Got one $100 card per phone for a year. With the double minute for life of phone deal, and assorted promos along the way we wound up with 1,156+ minutes per phone. (Only bought a single 400 minute card for this phone remember...) Plus, When you buy a year card, they last a year. Even my free minutes and month "rolled over" with the addition of the card, so I got almost 14 months service covered. DISCLAIMER: This will not work out the same for people that might use the phone a lot or kids that will for sure. (Ours old Contract phones were 550 min per month (total, all 3). Almost all were lost each month...) Our old "family plan" was only using 40 minutes a month, due to free calls between phones. I don't think they give that "discount" for "in family" or "in network" calls. I may be wrong. The memory is slight. "Free": 98050 KB ONLY physical unput is a USB Mini5 jack. (No cord supplied.) Comes with charger, but charges with my other chargers from a PALM Pixi, etc.

Was this review helpful? (85) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RcikG4742
Mainland-USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good basic phone
7/6/2013

Customer review by fan122

5.0 stars 7/6/2013 by fan122
by fan122
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this phone for the basics, just to keep in touch when away from the house. The sound quality is great in our area, but haven't tried using the phone out of the area. The display fonts sizes are adjustable, and the alert volumes for incoming calls have several levels as well as options such as ring and vibrate at the same time. Setting up the contact list is very simple. The log of calls is helpful and the minutes/service days remaining notification is readily available on the standby screen. The voice dial feature works well. After using my phone for 1 month I then bought the identical phone for my husband. TracFone ported our phone numbers from our previous contract carrier to our phones successfully for us. Even though the new TracFones were the same models, one phone required a new SIM card to be able to use the ported #; TracFone sent the new SIM card out immediately overnight FEDEX. Customer service is satisfactory so far. The battery holds a charge through standby and talk time for about 10 days, but we do not make a lot of calls so I can't predict the length of the charge when used frequently. It charges in about 2 hours. The literature says that the phone can be used for e-mail and browsing, but we have not used that feature. The camera is acceptable, but again that is not a priority for us.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fan122
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointment
7/3/2014

Customer review by CATCAN

1.0 stars 7/3/2014 by CATCAN
by CATCAN

Have never had a problem with calls, so probably should have given a higher review. However, this phone is not to work in my area. I do not buy online but in a larger WM center, have phones set up there. Associates know how to set up with a zip code to facilitate the phone, TracFone reps do not have that knowledge and will never deal with them again. Problem is that takes great pictures BUT EMAIL does not function. Go online and read Q/A posed by customers on TracFone site. Techs can not resolve problems but regular reviewers assist by presenting informative information on getting this phone set up correctly and clear assist on how to work with problems. Very disappointed. Battery life on my phone 48 hours, but is a year old. Getting rid of this week. Was an emergency purchase, wanted camera, not such a waste of money are great reception and have used out of state. Alabama and Florida had no reception.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CATCAN
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great phone for the money...
12/1/2012

Customer review by DenverCOLG440G

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by DenverCOLG440G
by DenverCOLG440G

Look I know you'll read some bad reviews on this phone... but... it works great... the speakers work great... I paid 19.88 for the phone... bought one year of time with 3000 minutes for 221.00 (including all the taxes)... how could anyone complain about that... lol... this phone works as advertised and then some... LG phones are rugged and long lasting... You can't go wrong with this phone... I just purchased another for my son with one year and 1050 minutes... just can't go wrong...

Was this review helpful? (159) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DenverCOLG440G
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Basic Phone
2/15/2014

Customer review by FireEngineRed

4.0 stars 2/15/2014 by FireEngineRed
by FireEngineRed

I went back to a flip phone because its easier for me to carry in my pocket without accidently hitting buttons on the open face style. It's a good basic phone that works well in my area. Nothing fancy but then I don't need all the bells and whistles like my teenagers do. The only thing I wish I could get for it is a cover, its black and they have a way of finding their way to the washing machine, so a bright cover would help a great deal in preventing that from happening. I have looked everywhere and can't seem to find one for this model. Other than that, I would say for the price its a good buy and easy to replace should it go for a swim.

Was this review helpful? (56) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FireEngineRed
Fredericksburg, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Low cost cell phone
12/24/2013

Customer review by WLBiomed

5.0 stars 12/24/2013 by WLBiomed
by WLBiomed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My family now has 3 of these phones, cumulative usage about 5 man-years. We use this almost exclusively as a telephone. No significant problems with either this phone or Tracfone service. Double minutes with this phone make it quite low cost for our usage.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WLBiomed
Tippecanoe County IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Basic Good Phone
10/8/2014

Customer review by byHisgrace14

4.0 stars 10/8/2014 by byHisgrace14
by byHisgrace14
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This phone is basic and it does exactly what a phone supposed to do. I like it very much and it doesn't have the bells and whistles. The quality is better than what I expected, the quality good for the purchased price. I am very pleased with my purchased! ***Here is a tip: the airtime display of the minutes and service days are OPTIONAL, if you don't want that to be on display go to the Prepaid icon (menu) and go to Airtime Display and you can turn that feature on or off (you can have one or the other or neither).

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
byHisgrace14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Customer Service
12/27/2012

Customer review by WarrenA

1.0 stars 12/27/2012 by WarrenA
by WarrenA

I purchased this phone for my 12 year old son for emergency use and have been totally dissatisfied so far. After activating the phone, I went to add the 60 minute airtime card. When I scratched the card to reveal the code, the numbers came off with the coating. I called customer support and they advised the only way to get the minutes added to the phone was to Fax the receipt, and copy of the front and back of the card to them. I explained to 3 more "supervisors" that I do not have access to a Fax machine but could scan the items and email them or post to a web site. Unfortunately, Tracfone is not sophisticated enough to receive this any information any other way except Fax! Beware of a company that claims to be #1 in Prepaid Cell Phone, but can only receive your information via antiquated Fax!!! I probably cannot return the phone since it has been activated, and probably will not hear from Customer Service for any resolution.

Was this review helpful? (15) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WarrenA
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good simple phone.
6/3/2013

Customer review by Daisy880shooter

5.0 stars 6/3/2013 by Daisy880shooter
by Daisy880shooter

You are going to read a few bad reviews on this phone but those are from technology nerds who expect way more from a $20 prepaid phone. I've had this phone for a while and it still works fine except for a few scratches. It has excellent call quality. It has a nice camera and is great at both recording videos and taking pictures. If you are a simple person who needs a simple cell phone then this is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daisy880shooter
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
im layed off and needed a good phone
12/23/2012

Customer review by Cheri89

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by Cheri89
by Cheri89

yes im one of the ppl in the usa layoff i needed a cheap but good phone this is it try it i did and im happy

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheri89
lufkin,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This phone may be defective...?
10/22/2013

Customer review by asustech007

1.0 stars 10/22/2013 by asustech007
by asustech007

This phone has been nothing but a headache, it drops calls and hard to hear the person talking to you, does not receive all my voice mails and text messages. One time a friend had been texting me for several days and I received nothing, then all of a sudden I get all the messages at once one right after another....what? All of this wasn't discovered until it was to late to return it... good thing it was cheap. I wouldn't recommend buying this phone, although some reviews are good there is that chance you'll get a defective one like I did. There's even been times when it didn't ring when in fact I was getting calls, and then the voice mail did not kick in, this I found out later from the people who were calling me.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
asustech007
Richmond, MO.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Phone
4/30/2014

Customer review by babyhuey1

5.0 stars 4/30/2014 by babyhuey1
by babyhuey1

I have had the phone for over 6 monthes, no problems,hardly ever have to charge it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babyhuey1
Ormond Beach, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
just what I needed
12/5/2014

Customer review by Reelay

5.0 stars 12/5/2014 by Reelay
by Reelay

I needed a phone for emergencys and this one LG440G is perfect for my needs. My wife has a contracted phone with a major company and has a monthly bill which in its contract has unlimited talk and text so when were out I turn mine off and we use hers. This Tracphone is a perfect fit for me I'm not into all the fancy extras just talk and maybe a text now and then. No montly charges is great. I have had this phone a week so far so good.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reelay
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Expected better from LG
1/27/2013

Customer review by Ijustwantopostareview

3.0 stars 1/27/2013 by Ijustwantopostareview
by Ijustwantopostareview

Lost my motorola tracfone and the only non-touchscreen option available was the LG 440G. This is a noisy phone. As in every single bell, whistle, buzzer, chime, etc is turned on by default at full volume. Spent nearly an hour going through everything to shut stuff off or turn down the volume and there were still things I couldn't deactivate like buzzing when a call is answered. Battery life is good off a call, I can usually go about a week before recharging it. Talk time though is poor. Was on a long call yesterday and low battery indicator came on in less than an hour. Recharged it to 2 bars quickly, then within 15 min got the low battery warning again. Never had that problem on my old phone. This phone is also stupidly lacking some simple options, like I can't enter a subject line for text messages.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ijustwantopostareview
Nashua, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
would be a 5 star if:
8/25/2013

Customer review by summer333

4.0 stars 8/25/2013 by summer333
by summer333

I love my phone, would have gave it 5 stars, except that I can't get web or email to work, Never connects. So I can't send pictures. Talked to a tracfone rep and she said those features don't work in my area (Wisconsin). That makes no sense to me, so am going to call again. Some people have complained about the sound. No complaints here! Sound is loud and clear. There is an audio "Senior" setting, which I have set to "on", so maybe that's why mine works so well. I love the flip part, no more ghost dialing, and it turns on and off automatically when flip is up or down. If I can get the web or email to work, I'll change my rating to 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
summer333
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews