Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 77 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

77 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

77 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 stars
5
1-20 of 71 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
Tracfone is the way to go...
11/17/2012

Customer review by Patch917

5.0 stars 11/17/2012 by Patch917
by Patch917

We saw this phone advertized on TV and my wife wanted one because of the big easy to read numbers. Tracfone web site sells the same phone for for about $10 more and so it made more sense to buy from Wal~Mart. The only problem I have is the Wal~Mart site said it would not work in my zip code but I bought it anyway because I have 3 other Tracfone's and it works fine, Tracfone said it would work and it hooked up with AT&T no problem. The extras are great too there is a flashlight, FM radio, a clear easy to read screen and double minutes for life.

Was this review helpful? (232) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Patch917
Cushing Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone for Elderly!
11/24/2012

Customer review by Pickybuyer2Z

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by Pickybuyer2Z
by Pickybuyer2Z

Thanks Tracfone for coming out with a cell phone that my 90 year old mother can use. She wanted something that didn't have a monthly plan and that had large numbers and good audio. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (153) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pickybuyer2Z
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Like the big buttons
11/15/2012

Customer review by ertha

4.0 stars 11/15/2012 by ertha
by ertha

Previously I had a TracFone and was able to transfer minutes to this new big button phone. I like the big buttons, the loud ring (you can lower sound if you want) and there are many features with it. I also like the cradle for charging. Overall I am very satisfied. My only slight complaint is that the buttons are sensitive and even when I turn it off and it is in my pocket, sometimes it turns on. I solved this by buying a slim camera case just the same size and placing a cardboard piece in the case and it no longer randomly turns on. I use the phone for emergency only. Also, it does not have a place for attaching a lanyard to it (no holes) and so the camera case also solved that problem. I crocheted a short string, attached a clip from a craft store, and now the case serves as security and protective features for the phone as it is attached to my pocket. For the men you can purchase a generic cell phone cover that clips onto your belt but for me that was too bulky. Great phone!

Was this review helpful? (188) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ertha
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Long in coming
11/13/2012

Customer review by etw2

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by etw2
by etw2

Excellent phone for my senior Mother. Large keys and print. Fast shipping & perfect service from Tracfone. Dropped her Verizon phone from our family plan and this will save her some money since she only uses her cell phone in emergency situations. She will never text or surf - just needs good quality phone service. THE ONLY PROBLEM was that the Walmart web site said this phone would not work in her zip code - not true. After her phone arrived, it was "sold out" so others must have disregarded the warning as well. The Tracfone web site stated this phone would work in her zip code. Just a problem with the Walmart web site and not the phone.

Was this review helpful? (76) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
etw2
Rocky Mt. VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A return to common sense and a great phone!
7/13/2013

Customer review by nikynewark

5.0 stars 7/13/2013 by nikynewark
by nikynewark

I've been with TracFone for a long time, something like 20 phones between my wife and I. Our last TracFone's LG840's were a big disappointment. So many problems with the touch screen we just gave up after six months. The Alcatel A382 makes the best case for less is more. No camera, no internet and no WIFI. Just an easy to read and use reliable telephone. The charging stand gives it the look and feel of a wired house phone and the size is comfortable in the hand. In particular the larger keys make answering and using it comfortable. The size is easy to see and hold but thin & light enough for the pocket. We have a couple of laptops and digital cameras and truth be told the camera phones are at best a compromise. The TracFone Alcatel A382 is a return to basics, but in a good way. Yes, we gave up the house phone long ago since we both have TracFone's and the Alcatel A382's we purchased from Walmart have been just wonderful. I have to note the new system TracFone is using to switch over your number right from the phone is much easier than before. The system reads your minutes and number and forwards it to the new phone all you read is the new serial number. A pleasure from start to finish!

Was this review helpful? (84) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nikynewark
Carlstadt, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall pleased...
11/9/2012

Customer review by Ripkendo

4.0 stars 11/9/2012 by Ripkendo
by Ripkendo

Has the look and feel of a quality item. Am using just outside of Philadelphia in Cherry Hill, New Jersey. Ported my old number from ATT with no problem. So far I am very pleased but I have only been using for a week. Only cons...I haven't found any way to break my "contacts" down in to categories...family, friends, takeout, etc so that means a lot of scrolling. Also they provide you with cord for computer connection but for what...can I put my contacts in to a "phone book" and download to another phone if this one breaks? Invest in a double or even triple minutes deal/card and have ready for when you activate your phone.

Was this review helpful? (74) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ripkendo
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a GREAT Phone!
11/16/2012

Customer review by KiwiOtago1

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by KiwiOtago1
by KiwiOtago1

My fat fingers love this phone! The screen is easy to ready and the menu and contact list are easy to read.

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KiwiOtago1
South West Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great cell phone for my dad
11/11/2012

Customer review by girlvsclaw

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by girlvsclaw
by girlvsclaw

Right at this moment my father has a Tracfone Flip phone and he saw the commerical for this cellphone We purchised this cell phone for my father for christmas It has really huge buttons on the cellphone easy to use and DOUBLE MINUTES!! for life!! how good is that i would recamend this to senor citisons

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
girlvsclaw
Brewer,ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
YOU ARE NOT GONNA BELIEVE IT BUT:
4/5/2014

Customer review by JQZAQZJQZ

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by JQZAQZJQZ
by JQZAQZJQZ

seriously i have never written a review that i can remember but i had to let you know my wife said she found out that i had left my phone, this phone with the big numbers, in my pants and she had washed it, she even said she had left my pants soaking in the washing machine for over 24hrs. no kidding, she goes to work at 2 p.m. and works till 2 or 3 a.m ok. anyhow i didn't know about the washing incident so i saw the phone on the table and plugged it into the charger, a day later my wife tells me about what happened with her letting my phone soak in my pants because she didn't check my pants and we laugh about it. it only cost less than 30 bucks so when i got home i took the phone off the charger and called her on her phone WE COULD NOT BELIEVE IT WORKED!!! THE PHONE IS DAMAGED BECAUSE YOU CANT SEE THE DISPLAY REALLY WELL BUT THE DARN THING WORKED! oh, also if you get it be sure and buy the double minutes card.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JQZAQZJQZ
Virginia beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Big and Easy says it all!
11/12/2012

Customer review by KatyL6

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by KatyL6
by KatyL6

This is perfect for one that wants the simpler way of using a cell phone. I liked it so much that I ordered another one as a spare.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KatyL6
Newfield, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great sound! Easy to use!
12/28/2012

Customer review by Mlscode

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by Mlscode
by Mlscode

Great radio to wake up to. I like the alarm, and the flashlight. Call waiting and voicemail are terrific, and don't cost anything. I think this is an excellent phone for us older individuals, that don't need all the bells and whistles. And I've read it can last on a full charge for 16 days. Yeah!

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mlscode
Brockton,MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good phone for your eyes
11/14/2013

Customer review by mmkanepa2

3.0 stars 11/14/2013 by mmkanepa2
by mmkanepa2

The phone is good so far I have listed my contact information. ONe feature is that while you are talking on the phone, you can view a menu item such as the calendar, and not get disconnected. I have also stored notes which is handy. I don't know if it will cover me on minutes yet as I have 800 minutes a month, a 400 minutes plan prepaid card but the double minutes phone is great. I may have to purchase more minutes in the future. So far the phone is good and I hope to keep using it as I purchased it for its minutes plan and its a great savings.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mmkanepa2
Phila. Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone
5/23/2014

Customer review by Justhadtoletyouknow

5.0 stars 5/23/2014 by Justhadtoletyouknow
by Justhadtoletyouknow

My mom has Dementia and is in a Nursing home, and for her to have their phone it would cost $15. a month. She calls so little maybe less then 30 min. a month. So I can buy her a 60 min. card and get 120 min. that last 3 months. Do the math $45.00 for 3 months or $20.00. I need to see if I can get it to ring for a longer time before it goes to voice mail she can't hear it till it get loud and by that time it's to late. it starts off ringing low and dose get louder but dose not ring long enough for her to be able to get it out. And with her Dementia I did good to get her to be able to remember as much as she has, I do not think I will ever try to teach her voice mail and texting is out. The big buttons make it so much easier for her to use because she has bad hands. The Walmart* site said it would not work in Her zip code but it dose.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Justhadtoletyouknow
Akron, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great phone for seniors
12/13/2012

Customer review by Jimmia

4.0 stars 12/13/2012 by Jimmia
by Jimmia

Big numbers make it easy to dial. Phone comes to life quickly. A must have for anybody over 65.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimmia
Orange,CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
four bars but no signal
8/5/2014

Customer review by ghramsey

3.0 stars 8/5/2014 by ghramsey
by ghramsey

I bought the Alcatel A382 for my mother a year ago on her birthday. It is being used in Houston, TX 77043 zip code. The Walmart website says it will not work in pretty much any Houston zip code I enter, but the stores in Houston carry is as does Target so it *should* work. It did work too for the better part of 10 months. The phone was fine until back in about June 2014 then I would call her and it would fail to ring the phone while I was given her voice mailbox that she never used. She also would try to dial out and it would say "dialing" but the phone never did dial. The phone always shows 3 or 4 bars. Powering off and then on worked for a short while but the phone would then revert to the aforementioned behavior after a few minutes. Sometimes after powering on it would say something like "emergency calls only" for about 5 minutes then maybe allow it to work normally or not. I called TracFone three times in about 6 weeks and all they went through came back to my powering it off and on and them declaring the phone to be "working". The phone was under warranty and when I asked where to send it the representative refused to allow me to do so because it was "working". I bought a new A382 last week which initially worked, but shortly began to have the very same problem of not being able to send nor receive calls. It was returned for an LG306G phone and that works without issues. Transferred the old phone number to the LG phone and the problem is solved. The Alcatel is now gathering dust. Bottom line: there seems to be something wrong between the Alcatel phones and tracfone's service. A bad cell tower or something that caused the phone to only work briefly then not on two different phones purchased almost a year apart.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ghramsey
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just Love my new Tracfone!!!!!
1/20/2013

Customer review by Taffytug

5.0 stars 1/20/2013 by Taffytug
by Taffytug

Beats being a slave to an unmentionable carrier for 9 years. I can obtain enough minutes to last me for approximately 3 months or more. This would be strictly for emergency. I love this new phone. I keep it in a camera case that way it will not turn itself on when it's in my purse. Very easy to understand and I have figured that out on my own. Thanks Walmart love this "Big Easy" phone!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Taffytug
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Trac Phone
12/21/2012

Customer review by avalentic

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by avalentic
by avalentic

A really nice phone. Big buttons that light up make it easy to use in low light. If you need assistance with setting it up their "help" line is great a walks you through it. A great phone and a real good price. Can't be beat if you want a good phone without the hassle of contracts and high price comittments.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
avalentic
Newton Falls, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone for seniors
1/3/2013

Customer review by tlYy

3.0 stars 1/3/2013 by tlYy
by tlYy

Because of the larger keys, I purchased phone for my dad. As listed online, the phone had voice command. That would be great for someone who has difficulty pushing keys on the phone. BUT voice command isn't one of the features of this phone. I called the Tracfone, who confirmed no voice command. Wal-mart needs to delete this feature from their website. There is a lock button on the side of the phone. The button is where you would normally hold the phone. Hence, you can easily lock the phone while using it. This is not a great feature for seniors

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tlYy
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/14/2012

Customer review by Fred9803

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by Fred9803
by Fred9803

Purchased product for my Mother and she is very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fred9803
Lynden, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for my 81 yr old sight impaired sister
1/18/2014

Customer review by PatriotFan50

5.0 stars 1/18/2014 by PatriotFan50
by PatriotFan50

The phone lights up when you are using it. The buttons are large and easy to read. It comes programed with 911 in the contacts. The phone locks to prevent accidental calls which is good, but it's a little tricky for my sister because she takes a long time to find the right buttons to push and the phone locks before she can dial. We are working on that. The phone has a built in light and a radio.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PatriotFan50
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews