Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 97 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

97 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

97 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

61%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 stars
31
1-20 of 78 total reviews
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews
Great phone for the price!
4/30/2013

Customer review by NikkiClipperhands

4.0 stars 4/30/2013 by NikkiClipperhands
by NikkiClipperhands

I bought this phone because I lost my LG Optimus Dynamic. Let me say, I have never been so happy to lose a cell phone. Walmart.com said that the Defy wouldn't work in my area, but as long as you aren't too far out in the country, it works just fine. The Motorola Defy XT does have a slight problem with overheating, but as long as you don't run applications while it is charging it usually isn't a problem. It also has some useless default applications that you can't delete, and an older Android interface, which really isn't a big deal but it can be a little annoying. Otherwise this is a fantastic phone. It does pretty much everything that my Nexus 7 tablet can do. I should also add that this phone has quite a storage capacity. I haven't had any problems with it so far and I couldn't be happier. If you need a good phone on a budget, this is your best option on Straight Talk.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NikkiClipperhands
Christiansburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone with a great price!
2/22/2013

Customer review by Valwee

5.0 stars 2/22/2013 by Valwee
by Valwee

This cellphone does get hot when your running several applications, last time I checked all phones run hot and lose battery power after running multiple things. I would compare this phone to a apple iphone 4 S in terms of quickness and reliability with a network. The phone has been also known to fade off the 3g network onto another means of getting data through. Othwerise, this phone is great, durable, and fast. Compared to the precident and optimus, this phone blows them out of the water. Hopefully my feedback was helpful.

Was this review helpful? (110) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Valwee
Saint Petersburg, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Phone
3/4/2013

Customer review by rritter

5.0 stars 3/4/2013 by rritter
by rritter

This phone replaces a Samsung Proclaim phone that had network dialing issues that Straight Talk couldn’t resolve with Verizon. Because I still like the Straight Talk cost factor I decided to give the Motorola Defy a try running on the Sprint network. With their 30 day return policy I knew I could get my money back if I didn’t like it. This phone runs the same Android Gingerbread software but has different features than the Proclaim. Grouping of app icons is a plus for sure. The unusual thing is the Proclaim scrolled horizontally and the Defy does this vertically. I always thought this was the operating system but it must be a manufactures choice. The phone also has a compass and an FM radio feature. The phone also has a slightly longer screen that allows easier use of the touch screen keyboard. If there is one minor problem it would be the camera at default setting takes a soft picture. I was able to correct this with a sharpness change it the camera setting. I have only had the phone a couple days but all seems to be good and a nice step up from the Samsung Proclaim. I really didn’t have any issues with the Proclaim other than the dialing network issue with Verizon that couldn’t be corrected that I’m sure was a fluke. I would recommend both but the Defy is the better of the two.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rritter
Edinburg, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wish I would have NEVER bought this!!!
12/11/2012

Customer review by HuntersProudMama

2.0 stars 12/11/2012 by HuntersProudMama
by HuntersProudMama

I previously owned the precedent and loved it. It broke so I needed a new phone. Was orginally going to go with the Proclaim since it ran on Verizons network however thought this was a better phone (Defy) and it had a better camera. The camera is 5mp with a flash (my old phone was only 3mp without a flash). This Motorolla Defy takes the WORST pictures even with the flash on. Only takes good pics if you are outdoors and sometimes then they still are not good quality. My old phone took way better pics and did not have as "good" of a camera. The phone does not hold a charge long. Again, I will refer back to my old phone which I paid 1/2 the price for...it charged and held a charge for a couple days. This phone has to be charged several times thoughout the day or I am left stranded without a phone if I am out an about. I have not had any problems as far as downloading apps go, of course it is slower because it runs on Sprints towers (wish I would have bought the Proclaim). I cannot return it...because it is past the 30 days allowed or I WOULD!!! If you do not take a lot of pics and don't mind charging your phone a few times a day...spend the money!

Was this review helpful? (78) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HuntersProudMama
Holland, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/30/2012

Customer review by harley2176

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by harley2176
by harley2176

I went from an iphone to the defy. And couldn't be happier. It pretty much does everything my iphone did and has the same apps for half the price. The battery does get warm but doesnt effect the operation of the phone.

Was this review helpful? (146) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
harley2176
perry,mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Straight Talk Moto-DEFY-
12/2/2013

Customer review by Carguy512

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Carguy512
by Carguy512
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent phone !!! Great to use,FITS-PERFECTLY in the hand !!! Fits in belt holders Perfectly !! The phone has a 3-d type (,it is NOT 3-d ) screen and pics/vdo's are crystal-clear. Any one who has this phone will certainly be pleased !!! Many internal items to find and activate.You'cn even cut down the amount of screens,I have only 3-screens to save on memory.(comes with 5-screens activated ). (this is my second-DEFY-I owned one from another-carrier ) P.S. Put in a 32-gb ms-card and you'll never run outa' space for pics,vids,ect......ENJOY !!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carguy512
N.B.Mass.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't buy
5/7/2013

Customer review by MamaBecca2712

1.0 stars 5/7/2013 by MamaBecca2712
by MamaBecca2712

This phone is a headache. I've been with Straight Talk since they came out and this phone is the worst I've ever had. The signal only picks up one bar even with the WIFI turned on. Mobile data is not 3G, it's 1G which doesn't allow you to download apps, unable to get on the Facebook app and many other problems. Calls get dropped for no reason, phone calls don't come in and text messaging only works when you go to messaging. The phone shut off frequently, the screen turns on and off by itself when trying to text or go into apps. The phone says error when trying to download apps. Contacts don't show up when you go to contacts. The phone in general was not made for the Raleigh or Garner area. I spoke with a representative about the over heating difficulty and they said that was a flaw with this phone. It's the battery that over heats while on the phone, charger or texting. They will not send out new batteries that will replace the one given with this phone. Unless you like slow phone and don't mind over heating this is not the phone for you.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaBecca2712
Garner, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/25/2012

Customer review by SKNewman

4.0 stars 11/25/2012 by SKNewman
by SKNewman

I like the phone but the battery gets hot and does not last very long. The apps are very nice and the phone even has a flashlight I love it. Straight Talk had to reset it now I have 3g service they are hard to get in touch with but very helpful and nice once you get through. I love the unlimited plan it's nice not to have to worry about mins.

Was this review helpful? (141) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SKNewman
Fortson Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Motorola Defy XT 555C
10/19/2013

Customer review by mwb716

4.0 stars 10/19/2013 by mwb716
by mwb716
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a very good phone. I read many reviews on this phone before I purchased it. On a scale of 1 to 10 I give it an 8.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mwb716
Altoona Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent
5/15/2013

Customer review by Kasideigh2013

3.0 stars 5/15/2013 by Kasideigh2013
by Kasideigh2013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I received my phone I loved it until about probably 4 or 5 hours after using it. I downloaded some apps and was playing on them and in the middle of the games me phone would freeze up and you would have to take the battery out to get it to do anything and reboot the phone. I at first thought that it was a new phone and maybe it wouldn't do it again. Then it started happening more and more, even in the middle of being on facebook or anything. I finally just returned the phone to walmart and I will have to purchase another phone at a later date. I love the look and the functioning of the phone (other than the freezing). It does run fast and has a quick response time to the touch screen just like the iphone just wish it didn't freeze. If this problem was fixed than I would refer this phone to anyone. Great phone other than that.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kasideigh2013
Glasgow Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Could not get phone programmed for our area.
12/27/2013

Customer review by crabbymomof5

1.0 stars 12/27/2013 by crabbymomof5
by crabbymomof5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We could not get the phone programed to work for the area that we live in. Very frustrated that my zip code was asked when I was ordering and they said it would work off of our local towers (ATT and Verizon).

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crabbymomof5
Upper Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The phone may be alright but the service is bad.
7/5/2013

Customer review by Momoftwo1971

2.0 stars 7/5/2013 by Momoftwo1971
by Momoftwo1971

I recently purchased this phone for my teenage daughter to get away from the old tracfone she was using. She was excited about this phone and it was an early birthday gift to her. Unfortunately, the service is not good. She was at a local ballgame the other day and sent a message to one of her friends. Many hours later, it said it was still sending. I don't know if it was because it was stormy the last two days, but she can receive messages but it takes forever to send. I'm not talking a minute. I'm talking many hours. She is frustrated and borrowing my Verizon phone to send messages. This was one reason for buying her a phone to begin with, so she could get away from her Tracfone and have her own nice phone. When I put my zipcode in, it tells me this phone should work for my area. I guess it works, just not all the time. Quite a disappointment for the service but she likes the phone itself.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momoftwo1971
Washington CH, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Motorola DEFY
12/3/2012

Customer review by Lenir

2.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Lenir
by Lenir

I had the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim with Straight Talk and I loved the phone. I wanted to switch to something bigger so I purchased a 4" LG on ebay which ended up not being fully compatible with the BYOP program. So I purchased this instead since it had the flash on the camera and a front facing camera as well. Initially I thought "I can deal with this. " But it hasn't even been 24 hours and it has been nothing but headaches. Its laggy, Every time you plug in the USB cable it makes an annoyingly loud jingle which you cannot disable, You can't even access the SD card from your PC even though the phone comes with the drivers for your PC on the phone itself that automatically installs. The phone feels cheap, the back cover is ridiculously difficult to remove...which is one reason I cannot understand why Motorola designed it with a battery cover lock! 1 bar consistently for signal, 3G drops to 1x constantly. The Samsung Galaxy Proclaim had full bars all the time and I never had my 3G drop. Both phones use the Verizon CDMA towers so i don't understand why this is happening. The phone isn't very functional with customizing. The Samsung Galaxy Proclaim was very functional and customizable. I'm returning this today and going back to the Proclaim since I can't get the Galaxy S Showcase in my area...though its supported out here. I am very computer savvy and phone savvy and I went through every troubleshooting method out there. I was on the line with Straight Talk's techs for an hour. I called Motorola and they couldn't figure it out either. This is just a bad phone. Maybe even defective. I'm not taking a chance and getting another one. I'll go back to what was working for me.

Was this review helpful? (134) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lenir
Kentwood, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I hate this phone
12/30/2013

Customer review by tscr

1.0 stars 12/30/2013 by tscr
by tscr

This phone is awful if you use your phone a lot. Despite that fact that I was told that it works off all cell towers, it does not and drops calls regularly. It also has very little storage. Even with the majority of the apps I downloaded being on the sd card, I am constantly having to clear data off he phone because it just doesn't have the space you would expect. I literally only have 2 downloaded apps stored on the phone. Everything else came on the phone or is on the sd card. The sd card has a good bit of space, but it won't let you store anything but downloaded apps on it. I really wish I didn't get this phone, but am stuck with it for a while. The only thing this phone has going for it is the fact that it is durable.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tscr
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Kiaha
12/12/2013

Customer review by Kiaha

1.0 stars 12/12/2013 by Kiaha
by Kiaha

I went from a cheap phone to this upgrade. I put up with it for over a year until I could not stand it any longer. I am not phone savy and I took me a while to learn how to use this phone. If I had known sooner it would have went back to the store ASAP. I loved the fact that this phone had email and facebook unlike my other phone. My biggest complant is my cheap phone had better coverage. I had no service going over the mountain everyday to work. Kinda want that in case of an emergency. Also I got no coverage at my son's house at all. Everyone else did and again my cheap phone did. When I called to see what the problem was they basically said it was the technology of the phone sorry about your luck. Just purchased a Galaxy III and get awesome service.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kiaha
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/21/2013

Customer review by ToriAnna

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by ToriAnna
by ToriAnna

This phone is amazing! I havent had a single issue with Battery life and never felt the battery get hot even with heavy usage. It has all the apps i need and i love the google market to find more apps. Nothing about this phone has shown me that there was anything wrong with it or wont be an amazing phone for what i need. Love this phone!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToriAnna
knoxville, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/8/2013

Customer review by cmk121993

3.0 stars 1/8/2013 by cmk121993
by cmk121993

Cool phone with a lot of features. But... Horrible service. This phone operates on sprint towers. In a city area this may not b a bad phone to buy. But if you live in a some what rural area this phone will not work. I exchanged it for the Samsung galaxy proclaim for straight talk. I'm much happier with the proclaim which operates on Verizon towers. Overall I recommend the Samsung galaxy proclaim.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmk121993
Monticello ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone, great value.
4/27/2013

Customer review by Prayerefire

5.0 stars 4/27/2013 by Prayerefire
by Prayerefire

I have had this phone for a week and love it. The screen is very responsive and 3g coverage has been as good as expected. I really like the navigation app it comes with, the voice recognition has been excellent. The only negative I have is that while using navigation there have been a few times when it has lost gps signal and I have had to close it out and restart navigation for it to pick it up again. As some other reviews have said, battery life is not the greatest, but with a car charger that is not a big issue for me. The price just dropped $30 too so it is an even better value.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Prayerefire
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone!
12/14/2012

Customer review by HIBax

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by HIBax
by HIBax
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just switched from Verizon to Straight Talk, this is my first phone with Straight Talk and it is wonderful! I am saving so much money by switching and the coverage has been the same.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HIBax
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone For the Price. WORTH IT!
6/4/2013

Customer review by TBH013

4.0 stars 6/4/2013 by TBH013
by TBH013

Bought this phone a few weeks ago. It's a good phone for $150 (What I paid for). The back camera is actually better than I thought. But the front camera really sucks. You can see the pixels when you take a picture with the front camera. The texting is also really nice. It has the Swype feature. Where you can slide your finger around to text. Im not sure about others. But my phone runs off Verizon towers. My service isn't that great until I get closer to the city. But all of my phones have been like that. Verizon, ATT, Sprint, Metro. All of them. I was a bit skeptical about getting a smart phone with straight talk because of the rumors about the data cap them shutting off your service if you use to much data. I have been using my internet like crazy. And it still runs fairly fast for 3g. Ive used close to about 700mb by using Facebook, Email, Youtube and Etc. No slowed down service. I haven't had much problems with the battery. It last me all day even with constant use. Cons: When I try to call somebody it will some times call somebody else in my contacts and not the one I selected. Battery does get hot when in constant use. Especially when it's charging. But that's only if you use it while charging. I found it reads the temperature when it charges and if it gets too hot. It suspends the charge. The memory even though it comes with a SD card seems a bit low. I constantly I have to delete stuff. Other than a few cons it does really well. If it had a better camera and more memory. Id choose it over the iPhone any day.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TBH013
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 78 total reviews
1-20 of 78 reviews