Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 110 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

110 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

110 reviews | 4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
38
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 stars
8
1-20 of 108 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews
Great Phone Altogether
1/15/2013

Customer review by Winterpepsi

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by Winterpepsi
by Winterpepsi

I got this phone three to five days ago. It was easy to activate and goes beyond what I expected. I had a TracFone LG800 prior to this phone and its just as easy to figure out. It does more multitasking than the 800. It also is easier to send messages and things like that because the button areas are bigger and to me it seems that the sensors are stronger. My 800 gave out quickly. I hope this one lasts. So far I have fallen in love with it. You can do more with this phone. I have listened to music while typing a text message which any other phone I had and the Fusion my sister had wouldn't let you do. The buttons are large enough for the 'sausage' fingers I have. It has three customizable main screens which are easy to use just swipe a finger left or right. I don't have to take out the battery to put the msd card into it. The msd card is very easy to plug in, just slid into its slot. The back is easy to take off, put a nail under it and lift. It doesn't open in my pocket like my last one did. The picture quality is much better. I can take a picture inside without turning a flashlight onto it. I also like that it has wifi which wasn't an option on my other phone. I like that it automaticly locks itself so I'm not 'butt dialing.' It gave me an additional minutes for activation and let me transfer my minutes. I like that the speaker when listening to music or using speakerphone isn't in the back and instead on the same side as the microphone area. I love that it can read up to 32 gb msd cards without slowing so much you are waiting for 15 minutes before you can listen to music sort your pictures or notes or anything like that. It has been wonderful The only downside I feel is that the headphone jack is on top rather than the bottom but I'll adjust. There is no other downside unless the phone gives out in 3 months like the last one did.

Was this review helpful? (386) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Winterpepsi
Kelso, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best NO CONTRACT value out there.
9/15/2013

Customer review by herno

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by herno
by herno

Tracfone offers the BEST no-contract plan in America, PERIOD. They beat all the rest. This phone offers TRIPLE minutes for life. Do the math: $60 phone + $100 1-Year service card with 400 minutes equates to $160 for a full year of service and 1200 minutes. Do a simple Google search for a current promotional code for extra minutes. I was able to get an additional 350 minutes!!! I was paying $900 a year with a contract phone through AT&T. I saved $740 a year moving to Tracfone after my contract expired. AND I was able to port my number very easily, without even having to speak to someone at customer service (you can do that all at www.tracfone.com). The service is just as good as AT&T. Yes, this is also a SMART phone and it is 3G capable and has built in Wi-Fi for online access. I don't use the Web portion of the phone much. I was only using about 100 minutes a month through AT&T, so this phone will last me the better part of the year with the minutes as well. People should wise up and get out of their contract nightmare and go with Tracfone, they are better than ANY of the no-contract programs out there, even better than Straight-Talk!!

Was this review helpful? (194) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
herno
Toccoa, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good bang for the buck.
5/11/2013

Customer review by Poorthing

4.0 stars 5/11/2013 by Poorthing
by Poorthing

My wife and I have used track phones for years and have seldom been disappointed. This is by far the most advanced phone we senior citizens have owned. We now no longer embarrass our Grand children when we pull out our phones. It does everything it advertises except support a 32Gb music memory card. Tried a 16GB memory card and it caused the SIM card to crash. Turns out the max it will support is 4GB. That should store hundreds of songs with no problem so it is not a big deal for us. Coverage is outstanding. I have converted many of my friends and neighbors to track phones and they have been grateful, as their phone bills have gone down drastically and service has often improved to boot!

Was this review helpful? (141) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Poorthing
Flint,Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A good upgrade from the LG800G
9/28/2013

Customer review by TravelinPedro

4.0 stars 9/28/2013 by TravelinPedro
by TravelinPedro

I upgraded to the LG840g from the 800g as it had been about two years and I knew the product had a limited lifespan. The 840g is a superior product in many ways; the touch pad is more sensitive, the camera is more pixilated, the sound seems better, the Fone picks up WiFi so you don't have to use minutes to access the web, the text type is larger, and so on..... The reason I didn't give it five stars is I found the QWERTY pad to be too sensitive for my touch - although that may get better with time and I found there was no way to install 911 emergency on speed dial as I had on the 800g. I also found the on-line tutorial to be lacking in information on setting up the fone. Other than that I think the LG840g is a very fine product for the price and I would recomend it to anyone wanting to use the TracFone system.

Was this review helpful? (103) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TravelinPedro
Dolores, Co.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Phone
1/13/2013

Customer review by totiger3

4.0 stars 1/13/2013 by totiger3
by totiger3

Just bought last week, and it has great reception and great standby time, however the battery hasn't lasted 3.7 hours on talk time, it's still good though. On a full charge it will last about 1 and 1/2 hours of straight talk before beeping to charge. Has plenty of features.

Was this review helpful? (157) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
totiger3
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone ofr Safelink wireless.
3/27/2014

Customer review by Robert67

4.0 stars 3/27/2014 by Robert67
by Robert67

I got this phone to replace my old TracFone flip-phone. I belong to SafeLink Wireless and can't use an actual Android Smartphone, so I checked this phone out and am very happy with it. It is Wi-Fi capable, so I can use the web wherever there is a Wi-Fi signal (my house, restaurants, etc.) to check my account, weather, movies...whatever. Got it on sale too for $39.95 which was a great price for what it is. It has a built in MP3 player and comes with a 2gb memory card, but it can be upgraded to use a 32gb memory card so you can take a lot of music with you. You have to buy the data cable and ear-buds separately but they only cost like $2.00 to $4.00 each. I recommend getting a case for it so you don't crack the crystal display by putting it in your back pocket. All-in-All I am really happy with this phone being an in-between to the old flip-phone and Smart Phone. And it is usable with SafeLink Wireless.

Was this review helpful? (90) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Robert67
Margate, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good phone
3/8/2013

Customer review by Maddydeh

4.0 stars 3/8/2013 by Maddydeh
by Maddydeh

I have always only had tracfones, and this one is the best by far. I love that it is a touch screen and that it can use WiFi. The only thing I still have not been able to do on it (and this is after calling LG and Tracfone) is set up my email (yahoo) by using the mail icon. I can get to my yahoo mail using the browser, but that is more steps. The mail icon is meant to set up to use quickly and easily and yet I still can't get it to work. It takes great pictures, too. I would give it 5 stars if I could get the mail icon to work the way it is suppose to. Anyone have suggestions? And now that cases are available, I have purchased one that fits exactly for this phone so it is protected if I drop it.

Was this review helpful? (92) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maddydeh
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good if you are content with it.
12/12/2013

Customer review by lightninboy

4.0 stars 12/12/2013 by lightninboy
by lightninboy

I had never even used a cell phone before I bought this on Black Friday. I figured TracFone was the way to go for someone who would not use a cell phone much. Then it was a matter of figuring which TracFone to buy. The LG 840G was the only Triple Minutes TracFone that the WalMart had in stock and looked more advanced than cheaper phones. I also bought a Fellowes Tough Camo Universal Cell Phone Case for it. I see you can buy skin for an LG 840G over the Internet. The LG 840G TracFone is not very practical for surfing the Net, especially when you are using up TracFone minutes, but it does have WiFi. The LG 840G does have AccuWeather on it. There doesn’t seem to be a Java radio app for it, but I use Yourmuze.FM over the Internet. I tried Opera Mini browser, UC Browser and One Browser, but I decided I would stick with the standard LG browser. The LG 840G doesn’t come with a flashlight, but I downloaded a colored flashlight Java app onto mine from Opera.com.

Was this review helpful? (130) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lightninboy
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OK, This isn't a Smart phone, but it isn't Dumb
9/9/2013

Customer review by snjguy1

5.0 stars 9/9/2013 by snjguy1
by snjguy1

This isn’t the newest phone out there with all the bells and whistles, but it is a very good phone with lots of added perks. Touchscreen, Wi-Fi, music player, Bluetooth, internet, camera, video camera Qwerty KB for messaging and more. My previous Go phone- Z221 started to have issues so I bought the LG840G Tracfone. Great signal strength, and cheaper than AT&T go phone per minute. You get triple minutes FOR THE LIFE OF THE PHONE when adding time so for a $99.99 / 365 day card you get 400 minutes x 3 + 250 free minutes= 1450 minutes. Roughly 7 cents a minute. You can add a micro SDHC card for up to 32GB of memory. That’s a lot of music or pictures. I have over 700 song on it and still have 13 GB free, and that’s on a 16GB sdhc card. Drag and drop, simple. If you don’t want contracts and don’t live on you phone this is a great deal. They also have other plans and deals. Granted Tracfone’s customer service isn’t based in the US and they do have a accent, but I had no problem understanding them when I had a problem activating it. Lots of number coded to enter and everything went well. OH and if you have a Wi-Fi connection the internet is FREE no minutes used, but be sure you have the Wi-FI turned on! Java based operating system and in my area it uses the AT&T towers. Also I went to set up voicemail and it was already done? It was using my old AT&T voice mailbox, old messages from using AT&T still in the box, go figure? Happy with the purchase!

Was this review helpful? (87) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snjguy1
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a Galaxy Class phone, but...
12/25/2013

Customer review by larrymac19

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by larrymac19
by larrymac19

I cancelled service with one of the major carriers, brand "T", due to lack of coverage at my residence. I wasn't sure whether I wanted to be locked into another 2-year contract, so I got this phone to do a "trial run" of AT&T service coverage. My previous phone was a Samsung Galaxy SIII. I really, REALLY like this little "dumbphone." Sure, it doesn't have all the apps & features of a true "smartphone" but, it handles phone calls & texting just fine. If I want to play on the internet, I have a tablet and a laptop computer to use. Also, it connected to the Sync system in my car & handles all those functions well, including the "voice dial" command built into Sync. Truth be told, this LG connects to the Bluetooth in my car quicker than the Galaxy S ever did. The build quality of this phone belies its' low price. It feels much more substantial than did my Galaxy S. Call quality is very good, also. I do miss the "swype" function on the Android OS of the Galaxy, when texting. At least this phone has a full "virtual" keyboard, so none of the prehistoric repetitive pressing of the number keys, to form words. Battery life is phenomenal, compared to a "smartphone" - I've had this LG on continuously for 3 days now & still have 3/4 battery life remaining. I'd usually have to recharge my Galaxy before a full day was over. IF I decide to go to AT&T, I only wish I could "port" this phone to their service. I'm not sure if this is possible, even though this phone operates on the AT&T network. For the price, I can't imagine being able to beat the usability of this phone. The "triple minutes" is an added bonus.

Was this review helpful? (71) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
larrymac19
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A step up from a flip phone. easy to use .
12/9/2013

Customer review by Suzy580

4.0 stars 12/9/2013 by Suzy580
by Suzy580

Bought this for a xmas present. Had an older model tracfone, a flip phone. It texts easier than the old flip phone model. Get triple minutes, which i like. Set the phone up via the 800 number, tried to use the internet but did not work for me. The letters are very sensitive to the touch when trying to text, must use your fingertips. Bought a case from Amazon which fits well. Did not need all the gadgets that other expensive phones have. bought it to update and to text. The instruction book that came with it could be more detailed, had to use the internet to figure out some set up items on the phone. It cost $49.00 from Walmart. It has a nice bright screen and easy to read. The camera is just so-so but did not buy for taking pictures. Not sorry i bought this, it was within my budget and would suggest anyone that just needs a phone to talk or text to look at this phone.

Was this review helpful? (88) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Suzy580
Denver, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good little phone for the money
2/14/2013

Customer review by webb71

5.0 stars 2/14/2013 by webb71
by webb71

it is easy to set up the blue tooth works well real user friendly to use I would recommend to a friend

Was this review helpful? (87) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
webb71
Hastings Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
phone does what it does
5/6/2014

Customer review by boxcarbill

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by boxcarbill
by boxcarbill

I don't know about other people. but if you want a phone that does what it said it would this is it. problem is people want more then what comes with the phone. if they read , it will tell them what it does before they buy it. and it does what it said it will. nothing more nothing less. so read first before you buy. this is not an apple phone with all the bells and whistles. but it is a good phone and it will work just fine. if you search the internet without using the built in wy fi. you will get nailed with minutes. but but but it you link your phone to your wifi. you can email. search the web and pretty much anyting else. for free. just don't expect to much. this is a phone not a portable computer. so use common sense people . when you purchase a phone . make sure it will do what you want. or go else were. but best bang for thebuck on this phone thank you.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boxcarbill
Demotte Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
1/21/2013

Customer review by NGriffin

3.0 stars 1/21/2013 by NGriffin
by NGriffin

My 10-year-old daughter got this phone for Christmas. It's perfect for her. It didn't cost a lot, there is no contract, and you can't accidentally hit the wrong button to access the internet. The only problem.....I can't find a case for this phone. It is a relatively new phone, but you would think that there would be a case at Wal-Mart, since that is where it was purchased.

Was this review helpful? (132) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NGriffin
Fort Cobb, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A decent cell phone, and good price.
6/25/2014

Customer review by WLCa

5.0 stars 6/25/2014 by WLCa
by WLCa

While it's not a smartphone, it has a lot of features that smartphones have. It takes decent photos and videos, has wi-fi connectivity, tho I never use that. It's just used as a telephone. Triple minutes are a bonus. With an inexpensive USB to MicroUSB cable (as low as $3 online), you can download the pics & video to your pc without using minutes (a couple sample pics included here.) This tracfone is an inexpensive way to have a cell phone if you don't use it a lot. We get by on a 3 mo 60 min card (=180 min with triple minutes) for 19.99+tax every 90 days. We use it for emergencies only, so minutes just pile up. One note: If you check to see if the phone will work in your area (mine is St. Paul, MN) the result may show it doesn't work. It shows it will not work in my area. But, since I already had one, I knew it did work. This one was a gift. I'm not sure why it comes up that way on the online test.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WLCa
St. Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/25/2013

Customer review by BellaMarie88

4.0 stars 7/25/2013 by BellaMarie88
by BellaMarie88

Great little phone for people who use it for emergencies or for limited use. Web browser is not that great, it won't let me download free ringtones from other sites. Overall I like the phone for the needs that I have, and I have used TracFone's for many years and love the service.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BellaMarie88
Zebulon, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Phone is pretty good but ...
1/28/2014

Customer review by J2014G

4.0 stars 1/28/2014 by J2014G
by J2014G

For many years been a Tracfone phone light user (400 mins a year) and have gone thru several versions from clam shell Motorolas to LG800 for non techy wife to the LG840 for myself. For the best internet experience I installed Opera Browser and it saves a huge amount of minute charges. Example, 2 minutes vs 12 minutes in a recent internet surf. Internet, using either Opera or the installed browser, is clumsy in either case. Screen resolution and size are small, besides a laptop is better for surfing if you can find a hotspot while travelling, otherwise the phone will do in a pinch. The LG840 will call up my Gmail. The audio sound for calls and the ringer is low on my phone but music playback has increased sound levels in the setup and is proper volume level. Not sure why the Phone has two levels for audio. No charge for WiFi is real nice. Bluetooth syncs easily in 2010 Toyota and is a pleasure to use that way since audio volume quality is terrific. Also bluetooth ear piece works well. No problems with the network from a trip between Atlanta and Dallas. Believe it is ATT. Anyway, with Tracfone being a fair priced service compared to all the others, Ease of buying minutes on line, and the basic features of the phone for light use, I am reasonably happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
J2014G
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
Good for a pay as you go phone!!
12/4/2013

Customer review by bikelikeme

4.0 stars 12/4/2013 by bikelikeme
by bikelikeme

I love the voice recorder, audio features and music player!! I use the phone very little so I pay as required. Don't use wi-fi features very often also.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikelikeme
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BE CAREFUL OF AT&T SIGNAL COVERAGE
9/9/2013

Customer review by Armadiyo

1.0 stars 9/9/2013 by Armadiyo
by Armadiyo

Marked 1 star because lack of signal coverage. Would not recommend because no signal means no phone use. Bought LG840G--touch screen worked well but can't tell about rest of phone's capabilities. Although AT&T coverage map & Tracfone said signal in our area was strong, it was NOT. Phone lost signal for many hours at a time in same place/same area. Spent hours on phone with Tracfone having to enter codes each time. Ridiculous. Finally Tracfone sent a substitute--an LG505C. I had to argue to get extra minutes free since paid for LG840G & LG505C was not only a refurbished model but also nowhere near same capability. BTW, hate the LG505C, especially touch screen. Can keep pressing the same number numerous times before # finally enters.

Was this review helpful? (38) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Armadiyo
Papillion, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Excellent phone for the price
5/17/2014

Customer review by Joriz39

5.0 stars 5/17/2014 by Joriz39
by Joriz39

I bought this phone over a week ago at Best Buy because it cost $10 less than Walmart or Radio Shack. Walmart site says this phone does not work in my postal code area but it works perfectly. I had a tracfone Samsung phone which I replaced with this This is not as good as the Iphone or other "smarter" phones but for my use it is perfect. The price of the phone, the data plan (tripled minutes for life) makes this a very economical and effective cell phone. The wifi capability is a plus so one saves on phone and data minutes when in wifi range. I would prefer a different browser though but since I do not use the internet much with this phone this is not an issue for me. Battery life is excellent. The phone is durable!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joriz39
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews