Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 229 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

229 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

229 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
51
3 stars
15
2 stars
15
1 stars
70
1-20 of 208 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 208 total reviews
1-20 of 208 reviews
Good basic phone
2/10/2014

Customer review by GG27

4.0 stars 2/10/2014 by GG27
by GG27

I bought this phone about a year ago. It looked nice, had the fb and other app capabilities, and was on sale for $79. It works with Verizon towers so the coverage is pretty good most places I go. My complaints are that even with the extra SD card this phone has told me its memory is full since a few days after I got it. The only apps I have on it are fb, Pandora, and my yahoo email, all of which I clear the cache for at least once a day (if not 4-5 times). It causes my internet to crash constantly when I'm looking for something like a store coupon while I'm standing in line or a business I need to look up the number for. It does have a pretty long battery (about 12-24 hrs depending on how much I use it). Pictures are not high quality as expected from only 3 mp. Overall I would say I'm pretty satisfied with the actual phone calls but not the internet and app capabilities. I would recommend this for older people or someone who rarely uses the internet.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GG27
Covington, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ok phone if you don't plan on downloading..
11/29/2012

Customer review by spiritussancti

2.0 stars 11/29/2012 by spiritussancti
by spiritussancti

I went with Straight Talk because a friend of mine had it and his phone was awesome! He had the ZTE Merit, but I didn't want to spend $130 on a phone and chose this one because it was close to the one that he had. This phone was pretty fast when I first started using it. Now that I have had time to download things to my phone, it is not running as fast as it should be and it causes me to force close my apps a lot. I have music downloaded on my phone and I was playing it through my home system one day and the music stopped in the middle of the song for no reason! It even opened up an app that I didn't need/want opened. Great value, but just keep in mind that you get what you pay for. You pay a cheap price, you get a cheap phone. The first time I dropped my phone, the back came off and it's a pain in the you know what to get back on if you don't have it on just right. If you want a smart phone this isn't the best one to choose. Great if you want something all touch screen, but don't expect to download too much on this phone.

Was this review helpful? (38) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spiritussancti
Post Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone! Cant beat it!
1/17/2013

Customer review by Blondie084

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by Blondie084
by Blondie084

This phone is great! I was trying to decide between either this model or the galaxy because both run off the verizon network. I decided to go with this because it was 50 bucks cheaper at walmart and the only difference in both phones was the processor. Well let me tell you this phone is great and LIGHTNING fast! comming from sprint we had horrible service this is amazing. I think what alot of people dont know who have problems with the straight talk service is EVERY MODEL PHONE RUNS ON A DIFFERENT NETWORK! so you have to do your research! if verizon gets the best coverage where you live then go with a verizon phone, if at&t does then find a at&t phone. Finally if sprint does, same there find one that runs off the sprint network. If you find the model phone you like on walmart.com website, if you read though the reviews on the phone people post what network each phone runs off of. That is the best advice I have to give, if you find one that runs off the network in your area then I cant see why anyone would not be happy with straight talk. we LOVE IT!!!!!! A+++++++ all the way thank you straight talk! :)

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blondie084
Factoryville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone for the money
12/18/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Maybe this will help someone out that is looking at this phone. When I first started looking at Straight Talk phones I was clueless. I wanted a smart phone but did not want to pay a lot of money being money was the whole reason I dropped my over price other cell carrier. When I first saw this phone there was no reviews on it so I was unsure. It was in my price range and did everything I wanted according to the specs. I have had the phone for approximately 3 months and have had no issues. After I bought mine, I went back a few days later and bought one for my wife. It streams Pandora with no issues and I have watched a few movies without issues. Youtube is also without issues and I can get on various web sites without problems. These are the main things I do other than talk and text. It uses Verizon towers, so if you don't have Verizon coverage in your area it will not work. I haven't had any problems with calls any where I've been so far. So far, I have been pleased with the phone. I pay $90 a month for me and my wife and we have unlimited everything. I was paying more than that with my last carrier and did not even have a smart phone. I can't see ever going back to a contract type plan. If you get tired of Straigh Talk just stop paying when you feel like it. No hidden fees and no penalties.

Was this review helpful? (148) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Too Many "Low on Space errors"
2/15/2013

Customer review by nacc4

1.0 stars 2/15/2013 by nacc4
by nacc4

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE if you use a lot of apps. This phone has very little internal memory. Mine is showing right now 78mb used and 41mb free. Constantly going in and closing apps to get the internal memory up. I installed 32gig sd card and moved every possible app to the external memory card. I mostly use the phone to listen to pod casts going to and from work. 1 hour drive each way. When someone calls me, I call hear them through the radio aux jack, but they can not hear me with my mouth up to the phone. Browsing is constantly crashing and closing. Used the Restart feature too many times to clean up why it was crashing all the time. Believe it or not, I did use the radio feature a lot. Came in handy at the gym for their TV's mounted on the wall. Too many flaws.! I am grateful I bought the extended warranty so I can take it back. I have used it for 28 days.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nacc4
Safford, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/13/2012

Customer review by Snugla

4.0 stars 12/13/2012 by Snugla
by Snugla

I got this phone because I could not afford the one I really wanted to get. I Love the phone. the fact it runs on verizon towers that is awesome. the down fall is I cant seen to get all the apps i wanted to work on the phone and not a lot of storage space. I was told at the store all straight talk phones have a 2bg of storage. I tried to download a background app and can not. It says not enough storage space on the phone for that. That's ok I have a friend who can hook me up or get them off my computer. The phone so far as not gave me much problems. storage is small but that's ok it does what I want it to do. Talk, Text and web for 45.00 a month cant beat that. Love the price of this phone. I read the reviews on this phone and most all were good. I went with this one. I would tell anyone looking for a good cheap phone to get this one.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Snugla
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Android phone- cheap price! 3G!
11/26/2012

Customer review by momof5inri

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by momof5inri
by momof5inri

Bought this phone to replace another ST phone that was on a network I had bad luck with in my area, and wanted to go back to Verizon. Upgraded to the Android phone. Love it! Use it as my camera, video camera, MP3 player, radio, Facebook, Youtube, Google Calendar synced with my computer, Love the GPS navigation, and my daughter plays Angry Birds! It is like having a computer in my pocket. I love it and am so happy that I upgraded. I don't know how I lived without this functionality before. Can't beat the price too. Buying the same for all my kids for Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (105) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momof5inri
RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awesome just awesome
11/4/2012

Customer review by BabyDoll2002

5.0 stars 11/4/2012 by BabyDoll2002
by BabyDoll2002

i have been pleased with straight talk so far and most android phones die pretty quickly i was pleasantly surprised to see how long this phone keeps its charge even with constant use and i love some of the new features this phone has

Was this review helpful? (226) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BabyDoll2002
oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great 1st smartphone
2/21/2013

Customer review by boxersandbostonsrule

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by boxersandbostonsrule
by boxersandbostonsrule
Walmart associate

My first smartphone and I love it!You do have to go to amazon,to get a cover,but the phone itself is great. I have downloaded several apps,and all work well. I do also have a kindle fire,so it was perhaps easier for me to figure some of this stuff out. I did download the actual user manual for this phone also.I found it gave me answers to a few more questions I had. Do get abigger memory card,it will take a 32 gb,card. With the $45.oo a month plan,I am really enjoying using this phone.Great value! The BEST screen protector,is from a company called Zagg.You can get one from them,actually made for this phone. I can connect to facebook and share pictures,messaging is easy,also. If you dont need alot of big memeory-type games,this is a great phone choice!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boxersandbostonsrule
Chanute,Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Does what it needs to do
12/14/2012

Customer review by CodyG

4.0 stars 12/14/2012 by CodyG
by CodyG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The phone is great love being able to get on the internet fast for weather or news. Except the battery don't seem to last long if you are on the internet for a long time but i added a battery saver app and a task killer app and now the battery lasts forever... so if anyone does get this phone i would suggest you to find those two apps right away and download them they work together and will save your battery the task killer will shut of things you aren't using to save the battery and also shuts off the internet while not in use when is really handy

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CodyG
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent phone for the price
12/11/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this phone about a month ago for approximately $100. It includes a 4 GB SD card (already in the phone), charger, and a headset. +Uses Verizon network with a large coverage area. I had no signal problems in urban and rural areas. Hard to beat $50 a month for unlimited calls, text, and data. People who uses the same carrier experience throttle after 2-2.5 GB of usage a month. I use the phone regularly for RSS feeds, 3-4 minute youtube videos, and casual browsing. I have only used up 1 GB of data in nearly one month. +Call quality is great. No problems with speakerphone and decent voice quality for sending and receiving. +Excellent build. The back feels smooth and the phone is light. I experience no sensitivity (or lack of) problems. +Includes a GPS. The GPS isn't perfect navigation wise. It does provides maps and a somewhat accurate reading of your location. +Uses android 2.3 operating system. About 80-90% of applications are compatible to this phone. A few apps (some heavy-set games in particular) require more processing power than this phone can handle. For a $100 phone, the processor is very good. You can check email, listen to music, browse the web, etc. *For a $100 phone, the camera is what you would expect. Roughly 3 megapixel camera with no flash. *The internal memory is not much, less than 200 MB. Most apps allows you to install on a SD card. To prevent memory problems, be sure to set SD card as your preferred install location. *The screen is average. I am not sure if this is common for most smart phones, but you will experience some problems viewing the screen outside in a very bright area. The viewing quality is as expected. The viewing size is adequate. -The mic on the headset is terrible. If you plan on using the voice recording feature or make videos with sound, invest on a decent pair of headset or microphone. Unless you plan to us a phone for playing heavy or making videos, I definitely recommend this phone.

Was this review helpful? (213) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great smartphone for the price
9/23/2013

Customer review by Canopyfan2

5.0 stars 9/23/2013 by Canopyfan2
by Canopyfan2
Top 10 contributor

$99 is a fair price for this Huawei (pronounced huh-wa-way). I actually got it for a little less because mine was refurbished, great deal. It's running Gingerbread OS (version 2.3) and I think it performs very well for this price. I find that when apps are installed or uninstalled it's a good idea to re-start the phone to allocate memory. It comes with a power cord, USB cord, and battery. The battery panel is incredibly hard to remove once it's on so study the pressure points before you snap that bad boy in place! Oh, and go ahead and install the 4GB microsd card which goes in the battery compartment. It comes with some apps but there are so many more to download from the Google Play store. Be patient when you first start downloading because the phone stores them in the Settings folder, where you have to finish installing. There's also a hidden STATUS screen overlay, can access by touching the top of the screen and swiping DOWNWARD, this is a separate screen from the 5 home screens. Anyway, it's a fine Verizon phone, great cover, for the money, been playing with this all weekend. I recommend.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Canopyfan2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Top 10 contributor
awesome totally awesome how sweet it is
11/18/2012

Customer review by androidlover37

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by androidlover37
by androidlover37

this is a great phone i had it since monday and it awesome it has good coverage and good for an android phone it has a good battery life on it if u dont use the internet u can turn the internet of and the battery works for at least a couple days i would definately recommend this phone...

Was this review helpful? (122) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
androidlover37
london,ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone for a great price.
11/1/2012

Customer review by Esky31879

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by Esky31879
by Esky31879

This phone is pretty much just like the zte merit except it runs on verizon instead of at&t. The verizon network is much better. Android phone for 99.00, cant beat that!

Was this review helpful? (351) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Esky31879
Escanaba, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/19/2012

Customer review by DaveinHertford

5.0 stars 11/19/2012 by DaveinHertford
by DaveinHertford
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This phone lets me use all the Android apps as well as email and text. It is fine.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaveinHertford
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I LOVE MY Huawei!
11/20/2012

Customer review by Muthauv5

5.0 stars 11/20/2012 by Muthauv5
by Muthauv5

I absolutely love this phone. It is easy to use, fast, efficient, easy to carry, and store. For the price it is a major score! LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (136) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Muthauv5
KM,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little smartphone
12/2/2012

Customer review by OneNerd

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by OneNerd
by OneNerd

Only had it for a week but is a GREAT value for the money. Runs off Verizon towers, downloads apps flawlessly, very intuitive interface, never drops calls, long batt life----even dropped it and it works fine. How could you go wrong? Came over from Sprint after 15 years from them after they doubled plan fees for smartphones.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneNerd
Las Cruces, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Low Memory
11/19/2012

Customer review by 25Bravo

1.0 stars 11/19/2012 by 25Bravo
by 25Bravo

I've had a few issues with apps hanging up, no big deal it happens. However I've been quite disappointed with it's memory. Granted they give you a 4 gb sd card with the phone it's practically useless. Most if not all the preloaded apps I can't transfer to the sd card so already out of the "box" it's low on memory. I had Facebook and other apps installed but then the phone had an error and no longer recognized that the apps were installed. I believe most of which I had already moved to the sd card to free up space on the phone. Now I can't re-install Facebook as I keep getting an error. I've had issues with the LG Optimus S and hanging up on apps. However I've never had these kinds of issues that I'm having now with the Huawei. I'm not sure if this is specific to my phone or if it's an issue with the model of the phone from the manufacturer. I would proceed with caution when buying this model and test it out within the time frame given so that it can be returned if you encounter similar memory issues. I rated it as a mid level on value due to the potential it has to be a decent android phone with some of the bells and whistles. Granted you won't get the best camera quality, flash capability, or a 3D screen. However if you like things such as Facebook, E-mail, Calendars, small web searches, GPS, phone calls of course, texting, and a decent little camera than this phone will work for you.

Was this review helpful? (65) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
25Bravo
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
First Smartphone
11/27/2012

Customer review by mom2K07

4.0 stars 11/27/2012 by mom2K07
by mom2K07

Nice phone, my first smartphone so don't know what to expect. Like all the features and holds apps well. Still getting used to the touch-screen; it's a little sensitive. Also, I'm having trouble finding cases and covers that will fit and protect it, but I heard Amazon might have some! Walmart doesn't right now. Overall it's a nice phone that I hope to have for a long time!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mom2K07
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
First "Smartphone"
11/21/2012

Customer review by criket71

4.0 stars 11/21/2012 by criket71
by criket71

I got this phone and the first one had several thin lines running across the very top of the screen. It's not a $300 phone so I was okay with having to return the first one. Once I got the replacement phone I was THRILLED! I love it. It may not have a lot of memory but it's perfect for me. I don't need nor will I ever use a lot of apps or games and it serves it purpose.

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
criket71
Middletown, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 208 total reviews
1-20 of 208 reviews