Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 204 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

204 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

204 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
116
4 stars
56
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 stars
12
1-20 of 159 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews
12/28/2012

Customer review by OldGadgetMan

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by OldGadgetMan
by OldGadgetMan

This is the third Vizio HDTV I own. I am never disappointed, The first one I bought over 5 years ago and is still our main TV. This one gives me a 39inch screen that most 37inch screens couldn't fit in. The screen is clear crisp and easily set to my preferred specs. The LED back-lighting is great but as I have read in other comments, I had to turn off the auto adjust feature to get it the way I like... Make sure you have a HD feed to get the most out of this HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (66) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldGadgetMan
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV
8/28/2013

Customer review by sabregirl

5.0 stars 8/28/2013 by sabregirl
by sabregirl

I researched quite a bit before I purchased this TV. I found the biggest complaint seemed to be sound quality, but that was a common theme in most of the TV's in this size range. I have found the sound on this TV to be perfectly fine. I was expecting to have to purchase a sound bar, but I am very happy with it as it is. I especially like the picture, but that is a very subjective thing. It is very crisp and clear and it has several features that enable you to easily fine tune it to your taste. I found it very easy to set up, except I did have to call my cable company (Charter) for assistance b/c I could get audio, but no picture. They quickly assisted me in making an adjustment and all was good. The on line price is cheaper than store purchase so I ordered on line. Turns out they had one in stock at the store and I was able to pick it up the day I ordered it. Kudos to Vizio because they have an 800 customer service number and you can actually speak to a LIVE person! Very helpful and impressive in this day of poor customer service!

Was this review helpful? (41) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sabregirl
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor sound quality
12/11/2012

Customer review by coldshoulder

2.0 stars 12/11/2012 by coldshoulder
by coldshoulder

The picture is acceptable, but off-axis viewing loses color saturation quickly. The sound quality, however, is a deal-breaker. I don't expect concert quality sound from what is essentially a bedroom TV, but the sound on this set is hollow and thin and too bright. It sounds like a low fidelity clock radio. There are no bass/treble audio controls, so the out-of-the-box sound is all you get. If you are planning to use external speakers, then this TV might be fine. Otherwise, I'd skip it and find something else. I returned this TV and replaced it with a Samsung.

Was this review helpful? (53) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coldshoulder
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great item for the price!
1/27/2013

Customer review by amrose63

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by amrose63
by amrose63

We were told by co-workers that Vizio was not a great buy and not top notch... The Vizio we bought is TOP NOTCH! We decided on buying another tv for our home and really did our homework. We had it for a month now, and so far, its super. We have our surround sound and dvd, and vcr and direct Tv all hooked to it, not a problem. This tv runs for a long time, many hours, and its not hot to feel. so the LED really does stay cool. We love our tv and hope it will last for a long time to come, and hope I can still give it a five star rating a few yrs. down the road.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amrose63
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Variable Audio Out
12/16/2012

Customer review by Wasswa

5.0 stars 12/16/2012 by Wasswa
by Wasswa

I searched for a long time to find a flat screen with variable audio out so that I could connect it to my old stereo. Finally discovered that many Vizios have it. They don't promote it, but there is an option in the audio settings for VA Out. It sounds better on my 30 year old stereo than my other HD which is connected to a new surround sound system. The picture is good in standard def, excellent in HD. Well done Vizio.

Was this review helpful? (29) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wasswa
Breckenridge, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
replacement TV
8/28/2013

Customer review by xcmnkdoa

4.0 stars 8/28/2013 by xcmnkdoa
by xcmnkdoa

This LED TV is a replacement for my Vizio VL037M. The picture quality is good, though calibrating for the best picture is a huge pain. Calibration is also a necessity with this TV, as the factory settings look pretty terrible. Once calibrated, though, it looks fantastic. It's only got two HDMI ports, which is really odd, but it's not a dealbreaker. Keep that in mind if you have a cable box and game consoles, though, as it will limit what you can plug in at a time. The speakers are okay, for what it is. I will likely buy a sound bar later on though. It's super light, which is wonderful if you plan on wall mounting. The stand is super solid and very well made, so there is little worry of it ever falling over due to the odd bumb here and there. All in all, this is a great little TV for the price if you have the time to properly calibrate the picture.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xcmnkdoa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad Purchase
1/14/2014

Customer review by DoNotBuy298

1.0 stars 1/14/2014 by DoNotBuy298
by DoNotBuy298

TV appeared ok when I first received it. After 2 months the picture went blurry and had lines through the screen.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoNotBuy298
Holland Mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
12/9/2012

Customer review by gwiz2

2.0 stars 12/9/2012 by gwiz2
by gwiz2

The LED back lighting results in a washed out picture when viewed at an angle off axis. This model also lacks a computer VGA input. Very disappointed. Returned and exchanged for the 39" LCD without the LED backlighting which has a much better picture and a VGA input

Was this review helpful? (33) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gwiz2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent value can't be beat
12/29/2012

Customer review by JRL72

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by JRL72
by JRL72

This is the second Vizio TV in our home and as we need to replace other older TVs we will get Vizios to do the job for us. The picture quality simply can't be beat for the price.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JRL72
Albany, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tv for a great price.
2/10/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Best feature--beautiful picture! Many options with settings esp with color and image that are an upgrade from our last flatscreen tv purchased 5 years ago. One surprise: the screen captures reflections of lights and windows in the room unless light is far to the side. This is easy for us to remedy by pulling shades during the day and turning on lights strategically at night. But our older tv has a near zero reflection screen. The sound and volume are quite adequate for general listening (no big bass end) but the speakers are rear mounted so that WHERE you mount this tv will probably make a huge difference. Ours is on top of a stand in a corner and the sound is free to reflect off the walls. In a tightly enclosed cabinet I think the sound COULD be diminished- (I read some other reviews that seemed to indicate this)- so one might need to add external speakers if they have tv in a cabinet. This tv is much BIGGER than our older set--did I mention the beautiful picture?-- and cost $100 less so we still consider this to be a great deal and a recommended purchase.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV! Great Price!
9/27/2013

Customer review by LakeBodomKiller

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by LakeBodomKiller
by LakeBodomKiller

The quality of this TV is great. Full and clear 1080p images look amazing. I mainly use this for playing Xbox and experience no lag at all with the tv response time. The price tag is pretty good for a tv of this size.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LakeBodomKiller
Milledgeville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Went out after 13 months
4/18/2014

Customer review by Lsh35

1.0 stars 4/18/2014 by Lsh35
by Lsh35

After 13 months, one month past warranty, the screen went out. We had bought a 55" Vizio six months after the first Vizio thinking it was a good brand. Now we are hoping the 55" has a life span of more than a year. Vizio won't do anything to help, except sell us an 89.00 3 year warranty on the 55 inch, because it is only six months old. Funny thing is, we bought a Sanyo and an Element from Walmart for our kids rooms because they were cheap, and they are still working great three years later.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lsh35
Would recommend to a friend? No
It has EPG but only for current viewed program
10/12/2013

Customer review by Fredhaba

4.0 stars 10/12/2013 by Fredhaba
by Fredhaba

I've just set the set up. I've gone through all the menu items, it is missing several features that the 2005 set it's replacing has for HDTV use OTA. EPG Electronic Program Guide OTA Over The Air ie. Antenna input It does not have the ability to show the next 12 hours of EPG data, that broadcasters are required to transmit. It can only show the program title, and description for what is currently being displayed. The previous set also could acquire the current time, and had a setting to display this on screen all the time, which was a handy and useful feature. The price beats anything at Bestbuy. When I looked for a set there, their sales associate had no desire to find a remote, and knew nothing about any of their products with a program guide display feature. At Walmart, the associate took the time to go where the remotes were stored, found a remote for the VISIO as it had a guide button, and showed me it had this, but because no stores have any antenna connections, only their canned sales feed, I had to buy the set to see if it worked. It works, but not the way it should. All TV manufactures should be required to comply with the full specification for EPG. The picture looks good, I never could see much difference between display sets other then viewing angle. The sound works as expected. I payed $368. and see it's cheaper online at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fredhaba
Marion, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/6/2013

Customer review by garygus65

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by garygus65
by garygus65

3rd Vizio and this 39 inch LED is the best

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
garygus65
Lake Wales,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A wonderful TV option.
12/31/2013

Customer review by BTuber

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by BTuber
by BTuber

I love my new TV. It is bare bones. No wifi, no smarts. Just good solid quality. I do not feel I need added features because I can integrate thee things through the simple use of DVD player and game machines. The picture quality is as good as a higher end set. I chose the 39 inch screen because of price considerations. the sound is a bit weak, if you want a loud TV. But it is so simple to add extra speakers it doesn't matter. I often watch something with just the native sound wich is quite adequate. However, I did go an extra step and downloaded a good color analyzer. The results are fantastic. I think the only difference between this and a higher end TV is that this one was not calibrated at the factory. Big deal. the color calibrator works just as well. Three thumbs up!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BTuber
Cleveland Ohio. USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent tv
12/2/2013

Customer review by techie03

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by techie03
by techie03

I love vizio, and all their products. We had two other vizios in my home when I saw this tv in the store, I fell in love with it and the price. I bought this tv for my bedroom and it was probably the best purchase I have made. very happy with the picture and sound quality.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
techie03
flordia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Picture is not sharp
11/6/2013

Customer review by RonLe

2.0 stars 11/6/2013 by RonLe
by RonLe

I have bought a 55 inch Vizio LED and the picture is bright and sharp. After trying to adjust all the settings on the 39 inch. the picture is still dull and not very sharp. I'm going to return it and get a 42 inch. I've had Vizio TV's before, but this model does not live up to it's reputation. Plus, buying on line, you really can't see what kind of picture you'll get. My advise is to buy in the store where you can see what kind of picture you're getting.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RonLe
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great picture,great price
12/18/2012

Customer review by Okiefromtheyukon

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by Okiefromtheyukon
by Okiefromtheyukon

I liked the TV,however it should come with a owners manuel, not an owners leaflet

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Okiefromtheyukon
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/3/2013

Customer review by Rickaokc

5.0 stars 4/3/2013 by Rickaokc
by Rickaokc

Very pleased with my choice of the Visio E390-A1 LED HDTV. Very nice picture with HD input. The small bezel size also makes it very attractive to hang on the wall. The only complaint would be the placement of the cable connections on the back, they are recessed and quite hard to get to, also the USB port is too difficult to access easily.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rickaokc
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/8/2012

Customer review by clarsonswede

4.0 stars 12/8/2012 by clarsonswede
by clarsonswede

I replaced a 32 inch Vizio LCD with this one, I also have three others. The picture needed some tweaking, and I also noticed more light glare in this one, it is LED. I don't know if this is more common in the LED's but it is noticable.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clarsonswede
Dundee, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews