Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

45 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

45 reviews | 4 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 42 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
It is what I needed in some respect.
9/24/2012

Customer review by mesew

4.0 stars 9/24/2012 by mesew
by mesew

Am having a hard time with the virtual xp !! Didn't realize it wouldn't be the full version of xp !! Also was so concerned about being able to use xp for my sewing that only uses xp I neglected to say I wanted a full size keyboard!! I saved 2500.00 by ordering this type of laptop & once I get the hang of working out all the kinks I'm sure all will be fine !!! Who ever takes an order should mention the key board though!!! I really dislike these tiny keys!!! Other than that I really like useing it as it is much faster than my 15 yr old compaq which I dearly loved!! I do like all the added features compared to what I had with my old one!!Still have a ways to go to get it all down !! You do realize us (older folks ) are a really loyal bunch when it comes to a purchase of a product that has been helpful ?? The live chat is GREAT !!! Thank for all the help !! Sincerley mesew

mesew
OKLA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Good features, but very poor quality.
8/21/2012

Customer review by Kevin44

1.0 stars 8/21/2012 by Kevin44
by Kevin44

Good features for the $$, but had to RMA twice. First performed well, but it had a defect in the screen. (The display had a "dim" 2-to-3 inch diameter semi-circle in the lower left hand corner of the display.) RMA'd for a replacement. Second arrived with no "dim" spots, but had other issues. While performing setup and registering, the display went all wacky (with 8-bit pixelated horizontal lines throughout) and the laptop froze. After resetting, got through the registration process the second time, but when it went back to the desktop the laptop abruptly lost all power. Upon hitting the power button, the power LED came on and I could hear the CPU fan... but that's it! It would not boot. I RMA'd that one too and requested a refund this time.

Kevin44
Beaverton, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
features don't work and neither does keyboard
7/30/2012

Customer review by damone

2.0 stars 7/30/2012 by damone
by damone

I bought this as it was marketed and didn't do any upgrades. The features it has seemed pretty cool once I got the computer, especially with the trackpad but the scrolling is tempermental and the other features rarely if ever work. The keyboard itself types fine after a web page has loaded and been up for a while but if you start to type before the computer is ready it'll skip letters and occasionally adds its own (for a while every time I hit "u" and "o" would pop up and it'll randomly repeat and capitalize letters. I got this for basic computer use. MS Word, a little photoshop (which I haven't even tried yet), and basic college stuff. So far all I've used it for is a little browsing and Facebook and I'm already planning on returning it.

damone
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Bought Another One
11/25/2012

Customer review by tomjw217

4.0 stars 11/25/2012 by tomjw217
by tomjw217

I normally buy fully optioned dv7 laptops, but I bought one of these g6t laptops solely to run the PlayOn Media server, which it does very well. It stays on 24/7 to provide streaming media from assorted hard drives and a file server to the ROKU and XBox 360 boxes scattered throughout the house. When the laptop arrived I was pretty amazed by the quality and features it had. It was a simple task to set it up. It's been in use for a little over a month and performs flawlessly. I was so impressed I bought a second, identical laptop for my daughter -- her first new laptop. It arrived a day or so ago and she's putting it to work. If you need an inexpensive, nicely-sized. laptop with all the basic features you could want. this is the one!

tomjw217
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
8/26/2013

Customer review by dwinter57

5.0 stars 8/26/2013 by dwinter57
by dwinter57
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This hp laptop is a nice machine. I love it's look. I am happy I purchased this laptop from Walmart who always have good deals and nice merchandise.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dwinter57
Camp Hill, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Computer , Good Value!
8/23/2012

Customer review by Waveknight34

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by Waveknight34
by Waveknight34

First off, let me say that I have purchased two HP computers. A desktop that works great! Very good quality and this laptop that I just got today. My first impressions were very good and everything works great. Everything that was needed came and it got here quickly and ahead of schedule. All the keyboard keys work great and the trackpad is working great. Everything runs smoothly. The only thing that they didn't give me was the backup disks for Office / Windows. I believe if you need them then you can call, but that might be a hassle. Overall, great computer, very powerful, parts are very cheap/good value for what you're buying. Webcam has good quality, same as mic.

Waveknight34
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Bad for the Price
9/4/2012

Customer review by MrDayz

4.0 stars 9/4/2012 by MrDayz
by MrDayz

I purchased this computer for school recently. This computer was bought because of the price. I own two other laptops that are significantly larger (screen size) and costs more money. It becomes a hassle trying to find book bags large enough to carry around 17 & 18 inch laptops. I wanted the convenience of having a average size laptop that I could carry to class in a regular book bag. I was not expecting the computer to be as fast as it is to only have an i3 processor. The computer boots up fairly quick and runs cooler than the Pavilion dv7 that I own. Not bad for the price although I overpaid since I bought it from my university book store.

MrDayz
Natchitoches Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
It wasokay..
10/23/2012

Customer review by Temp56

3.0 stars 10/23/2012 by Temp56
by Temp56

I sat on the HP website for hours until I decided which computer I could purchase. I needed the computer for school , so no extra gamming or anything, but I needed a fast processor for video editing. The computer is slow. i dont understand why. It just takes a while to do basc task or to load programs. The keys are small but , that really doesnt bother me. I do love how light weight it is. The speakers are great as well. Delivery time was not bad either. Love the Billmelater set up..it made purchasing a computer much easier. I do not think i would buy another HP , this is my 3rd one , and none of them last me very long.

Temp56
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
A disappointment!
9/15/2012

Customer review by birdlover

2.0 stars 9/15/2012 by birdlover
by birdlover

I previously had another HP notebook which was great, so I was expecting this one to be, if not as good as that one because it is of a lower price/feature range, almost as good as that one. But right of the bat, it started giving me problems. The mouse is a lousy piece of equipment (if you can even call it that) which sometimes works and sometimes doesn't. And when it does it is nearly impossible to control. As for the features, they're nothing out of this world. My other notebook was a whole lot better than this one. Now I wish I hadn't decided to get a new one instead of fixing the other one.

birdlover
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible
11/10/2012

Customer review by Somad1234556789

1.0 stars 11/10/2012 by Somad1234556789
by Somad1234556789
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It crashed with in a week of having it. It was so slow and I would never ever buy this bran again. Mac is the way to go!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Somad1234556789
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast with limited features
8/18/2012

Customer review by RogerX

5.0 stars 8/18/2012 by RogerX
by RogerX

This computer works great. Set up was fast and easy. Only Norton anti virus keeps popping up. "Are you sure you don't want it?" Sure? Last Chance? It won't go away. Other than that no problems. This was replacing a HP Pavillion tx2000. This is so much faster and better processor and video card (both Intel not AMD) that it is much better. The old Pavillion did have touch screen,swivel screen, S video out, Quick Play and more gimmicks. It also cost twice as much. But this new HP rocks! It is fast and the display is much brighter and clearer.

RogerX
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fantastic bang for the buck, until HDD failure
9/7/2012

Customer review by Kaoss

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by Kaoss
by Kaoss

I absolutely love this laptop. Not only does it look great, it's not too heavy for a 15.6" laptop. 3rd gen i5 is speedy, and graphics card performance with the 7670M is unbelievable. The screen quality has really improved compared to the old g62s, and everything just feels very sturdy and lightning quick. Everything was great until the hard drive failed. HP is in the process of sending me a new hard drive, so it's a little disappointing on that note. I still love this laptop though, I intend on keeping it for awhile. Great for class.

Kaoss
Vancouver, BC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Dissapointed
4/21/2013

Customer review by HeavenlyC

1.0 stars 4/21/2013 by HeavenlyC
by HeavenlyC

I reviewed and was shopping for a computer for weeks before deciding to purchase this HP. My first mistake was not shopping for it in person. I have a reliable Dell that I was replacing because of use it is falling apart. This after daily use for 6 years I should have not bothered in this waste of money. It is not functional and it takes to long to load it's very disappointing. I plan to repair the screen in my Dell and will keep this computer for emergency's only. Unfortunately I cant return this one. Please do not waste your time on this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HeavenlyC
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worst Purchase Ever!!!
7/23/2013

Customer review by JennyLovesToShop2013

1.0 stars 7/23/2013 by JennyLovesToShop2013
by JennyLovesToShop2013

I purchased this laptop because my Dell is older and I needed a newer, faster laptop. Well, I decided to purchase this HP. Boy do I now wish I hadn't. I've had nothing but trouble since I purchased it. Less than a month after I purchased this computer, it froze. I thought it was no big deal at first. I decided to call HP and tell them about the problem. I was on the phone for over TWO hours! I was told to restart the computer, which I did. The problem occurred again as soon as I turned the laptop back on. I was then given instructions on how to run several diagnostics tests. After that I was given even more instructions by HP. When that didn't work, I was sent 4 discs. 3 system recovery DVD's and one application and driver recovery DVD. I followed the instructions. The problem STILL wasn't resolved, so I called HP AGAIN. Mind you at this point I had called HP several times for the same problem, and each time I was on the phone for lengthy periods of time. Most of the time I was on hold. Well this time HP decided that I needed to ship the laptop back to them for repairs. I thought "FINALLY! I am going to get my laptop repaired!" Boy was I ever WRONG! The first time I turned the laptop on, it froze yet again. It wasn't repaired! I called HP yet again and spent nearly two hours on the phone with them. I wanted a replacement laptop, but HP wanted me to send the laptop back yet again to be repaired yet again. I was informed by the supervisor that I will need to send this laptop back to HP for repairs THREE times before I can either get a refund or a replacement laptop. I'm not even sure I will get a refund or a new laptop even after I send it back three times. This problem is not getting resolved. HP's customer service is horrible. Each time I call I am placed on hold for very lengthy periods of time. HP doesn't seem to get that this laptop is not working. It freezes EVERY TIME I turn it on. I can't use this laptop. HP just doesn't want to give me a refund or replace this laptop, even though this laptop still has the warranty. I will NEVER purchase another product from HP. If you want a working laptop and good customer service, then don't purchase this laptop. I wish I had never purchased this laptop. I can't use it, and HP just doesn't seem to want to honor the warranty on it. I don't know what I am going to do if I send this laptop back a SECOND time and I get it back with the same problem. When I purchased this laptop I wanted a laptop that was working and reliable. This laptop isn't.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JennyLovesToShop2013
Galax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Could have been great, but not
11/28/2012

Customer review by FrustratedinSF

4.0 stars 11/28/2012 by FrustratedinSF
by FrustratedinSF

This laptop could (and should) have been execellent but for the less than state-of-the-art LAN and wireless controllers. The LAN controller is only a 10/100 and the wireless only a single band. There were no technical specs available on the website and therefore no way to chose an upgrade durning the order process. Only after a three calls to technical support could I obtain that information. Those controllers are just not acceptable anymore. Reluctantly, I returned the laptop for a full refund.

FrustratedinSF
Santa Fe, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Good value
8/19/2012

Customer review by Techng

4.0 stars 8/19/2012 by Techng
by Techng

This is the second HP laptop I've purchased personally, both for my college-age kids. I am a computer professional for a living so I do research of various laptops for work. I set it up for one of my kids, it was fairly straightforward, and made sure system recovery was enabled. Yes, one reviewer said it was a pain to have to get recovery disks separately but I wouldn't mark down a product because of that, we're reviewing it for it's features, right? I rarely give perfect scores in my reviews so 4 out of 5 stars is pretty good in my standards. If you do research for a similar laptop in its class, with a second generation core i3 processor, minimum 4GB RAM (got it with 6GB RAM), and 500 GB hard drive capacity, you'll find that it's competitively priced out there. Booted up fine, and seems to run cooler than the typical HP products of the past. The only product competing with it in my book is HP's own dv-4t model if it went on sale around the same price, though I never understood why smaller laptops cost more because of portability considering it uses less material to manufacture. But despite the larger 15.6 inch screen compared to the dv-4t's 14 in. screen, this g6t comes in more variety of colors than some other HP models, and the custom color we got was striking and classy, not funky, cheap-looking like some other brands when they come in a different color. But so far so good, hopefully it will hold up in the long term and won't have to resort to recovery disks or calling tech support ;)

Techng
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Laptop
8/9/2012

Customer review by YCKMCA

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by YCKMCA
by YCKMCA

This is my very first laptop and I wanted it to be easy to use. I know HP has great products and I knew in my head what I wanted so it was just a matter of time in finding it. I have no complaints about my new laptop, it is everything I was wanting and more because I was able to get it in purple. I plan on having this for many years to come and I know it will live up to the HP Name. I would recommend this product to anyone, first time user or a laptop pro.

YCKMCA
Phoenix, AZ.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
LOVE THIS COMPUTER
11/27/2012

Customer review by jclny

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by jclny
by jclny

I always buy HP products directly from the website because I get what I want and all the extras they include in the software. This is the first one I configured myself . I was promised a certain delivery date and it was actually ready sooner. The only feature I wish would be added to this model is a backlit keyboard. That way when I use it at night I don't have to turn the bright lights on. Otherwise- I love my new computer!!

jclny
N Y
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful
8/9/2012

Customer review by NoTechGirl

5.0 stars 8/9/2012 by NoTechGirl
by NoTechGirl

This is only my second laptop but I'm already in love with it. This PC is easy to use, for those of us with little technological prowess, yet it is fast enough to keep up with the scattered thoughts of an overwhelmed student. The webcam works beautifully and the microphone picks up whispers. I would definitely recommend this laptop to students looking for some easy to use tech.

NoTechGirl
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Overall a good product for the casual user
8/31/2012

Customer review by BitsAndBytes

5.0 stars 8/31/2012 by BitsAndBytes
by BitsAndBytes

I purchased this computer for a friend who is only a casual user and wanted a machine that would last for many years. I chose the HP Pavilion g6t-2000 Notebook PC because of the i5 processor and the features packed into the 15" unit. He was able to sit down and use it right away. The number keypad on the keyboard is a plus, and the size is perfect for travel.

BitsAndBytes
Newark, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews