Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

85 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

85 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
47
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 74 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews
We love this smoker!
1/22/2013

Customer review by bdew

5.0 stars 1/22/2013 by bdew
by bdew

Great big cookspace, and very versatile for the money. ONE TIP: Drill a few small holes in the bottom of the fire box to allow moisture from wood chips to drain. Otherwise, the fire box will rust out. This is our second grill, because we did not do this previously.

Was this review helpful? (115) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bdew
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good smoker for the money!
12/23/2012

Customer review by just4gp

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by just4gp
by just4gp

I bought this smoker as an early Christmas gift for my son. He LOVES it! He cooked some pork for BBQ, a brisket and some chicken the first time he used it. This unit has some serious room in it. Everyone raved about how good everything was. He was proud to show off his new smoker. I believe he would recommend this for the novice or experienced griller.

Was this review helpful? (67) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
just4gp
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
If I could do it...... ect.....
4/9/2013

Customer review by TBIinKY

5.0 stars 4/9/2013 by TBIinKY
by TBIinKY

GREAT smoker!!!!! I am a TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury) survivor, and I put it together myself :). I read directions step by step, and one thing a lot of ppl don't know about, is to "brush all interior surfaces, including grills and grates with vegetable cooking oil" then build a small fire on the fire grate" and lighting it and letting "burn" for "2 hrs, the longer the better". Common for you to do this for any new smoker/grill with a painted surface. It helps protect the inside/outside from rusting. I did as directed (didn't want to wait to smoke, but hey......) and have smoked in it 4 times, no rust ;)

Was this review helpful? (46) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TBIinKY
Owensboro, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
First Smoker
5/9/2013

Customer review by PCDoc24

5.0 stars 5/9/2013 by PCDoc24
by PCDoc24

This is my first smoker. After hearing all the stories from my buddies at work, I had to try smoking food. After looking at reviews from different retail stores, I chose this offset smoker at Walmart. It was fairly easy to put it together, I did it myself in about 45 minutes to an hour. I seasoned the smoker first by rubbing the inside of the smoker with Canola oil, and then stoked it up I smoked baby back ribs that same weekend and they were absolutely amazing. The outside of the firebox bubbled and the paint blistered when I seasoned it and you will smell paint burning. Get yourself a can of high heat paint to touch it up. From what I read and see, it happens to all of them. Smoker seems to hold the heat well. There are modifications you can make to help alleviate smoke/heat loss. Youtube has plenty of videos to help with cooking and mods. Definitly worth the money. If you are thinking about getting into smoking, go for it!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PCDoc24
Fulton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a bad smoker for the money
1/17/2013

Customer review by mikeyglass

3.0 stars 1/17/2013 by mikeyglass
by mikeyglass

You get what you pay for. If your a weekend smoker/griller it's not bad for the money. You will end up making some modifactions IE drilling drain hole in fire box. Also get some firetape to fill the gaps between the top and bottom of the firebox. I cut the grate for the firebox since when I smoke I don't charcoal only wood gives me more room in firebox. Happy smoking to everyone!

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikeyglass
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Smoker Grill!
4/18/2014

Customer review by mrfixit01

5.0 stars 4/18/2014 by mrfixit01
by mrfixit01

1280 sq " very large. Will hold 3-4 briskets on long grill. Follow directions and don't loose parts. There are exactly the parts needed in the box, no extras! When 'seasoning' the grill first 2-3 times, be careful not to build too hot a fire. about 15 charcoal briquets and let them turn grey before adding wood chips to season insides. Should cook for 4-6 hours, 2-3 times before cooking food. I used Crisco spray oil each time on inside. No bubbling or chipping of paint. (Don't know what they are talking about.) Yes smoke comes out everywhere, it's a SMOKER! Not a big deal. Was able to maintain 250f temp on 2nd seasoning by adding 2 briquets and 1 chip each 30 minutes. Kept it going for 5-6 hours each time. Keep temp under 450f at all times. Con: Temp gauge is cheap. Go to Lowe's or Home Depot and buy a $9 'real' gauge like Char-Broil #361423 plus a 2-2.5" fender washer and replace the Warm-Good-Hot gauge because it is not accurate! [Can't upload pics - web won't let me]

Was this review helpful? (50) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrfixit01
Waxahachie, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Great smoker
3/16/2013

Customer review by Immachambers

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by Immachambers
by Immachambers

My husband loves this smoker, although, the metal is thin, the first time we used it, the paint came off on the hot spots, it says you can grill in it, but it's better as a smoker. Bue all around we really love it and do recommend it to buy, you will be very happy with it

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Immachambers
Palmdale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
out door cooker/smoker
4/10/2014

Customer review by jwmw187

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by jwmw187
by jwmw187

We found it on Welmart's on line thing, and ordered it. The product came as Walmart's timing and all, then the guys put it together for us, help deliver it to our truck. Just wonderful. It's sound, strong, and we've started using it, even ordering a cover from it from Char-Broil. Walmart treated us great and really appreciate it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jwmw187
Mineola, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really large cooking area!
7/9/2014

Customer review by SmokeinCOMO

4.0 stars 7/9/2014 by SmokeinCOMO
by SmokeinCOMO

Good value, easy to assemble, need to mod it a bit (better thermometers, baffles, exhaust changes) to really get it working great but a good starting point for a large smoker. In my first go, I smoked 5 racks of ribs, 2 chickens, a large pork shoulder and 16 - 20 sausages. Not the most durable smokers out there - season the smoker per the directions and I would buy a cover to help prolong the life of it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmokeinCOMO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice pit but sorry shipping
2/20/2013

Customer review by poppadragon

4.0 stars 2/20/2013 by poppadragon
by poppadragon

overall this is a nice pit for home bbqing. how ever the shipping was very lousy... the box arrived looking like it had been in a train wreck... the hardware packet was open and some of the screws were missing. there were numerous dents and dings on the various metal parts.. while i would recommend this pit i would say to pick it up at the store instead of having it shipped to your home.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poppadragon
dayton, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fire box very weak for heat wont last long
6/6/2014

Customer review by art70

2.0 stars 6/6/2014 by art70
by art70

the material used for the fire box is very weak and wont last long.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Charbroil - 6/12/2014

We're sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and always want to make sure that you are able to take advantage of all that your offset smoker has to offer. Has a case been created with us? Please give us a call. Our phone number is 1-800-241-7548 and our knowledgeable grill service specialists are more than happy to best assist.

art70
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/21/2013

Customer review by A07630

2.0 stars 5/21/2013 by A07630
by A07630

ITS GOOD FOR THE PRICE BUT AFTER SECOND BBQ, THE CHARCOAL GRILL BASE BENT ALREADY. UGH !!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
A07630
EMERSON
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lot's of Space
7/11/2014

Customer review by Tumidanski2000

4.0 stars 7/11/2014 by Tumidanski2000
by Tumidanski2000

Love,Love,Love all the space. Hold's heat very well.And I'm seem to almost use all the space all the time.Love to grill and this grill keep's me from having to use 2 grill's. I just wish I understood why after 2 month's my fire rack is getting all deformed like. It's like it is warping or something. Gonna have to find a new one pretty soon.But other than that I love to use my grill at least every other day.Unless it rain's.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tumidanski2000
Cheboygan,Mi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
OMG!!
5/6/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/6/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We bought this smoker on 5/3/13 and I seasoned it the way that was called for and just today I smoked beef back ribs my very first ribs ever!! and they came out perfect. I could not be happier with my smoker. I plan on cooking a brisket this Memorial day and I know it will be great!!! Oh and by the way I put it together by myself except for the fire box. I needed help.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Godley,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Very helpful
5/14/2014

Customer review by rlgilbert

5.0 stars 5/14/2014 by rlgilbert
by rlgilbert

It holds heat very well. Don't have to stay right on top of it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rlgilbert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value and quality!
5/24/2013

Customer review by leahch

5.0 stars 5/24/2013 by leahch
by leahch

I purchased this smoker for my dear husband who LOVES to smoke meats. He drilled holes in the bottom of the fire box to keep fluid from accumulating from the water soaked ickory chunks he uses and to prent rusting. We also spent $25 on a 70'' grill cover. We are Very happy with our purchase!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leahch
Hot Springs, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More Smoker for the money
5/31/2013

Customer review by Tandooriant2

4.0 stars 5/31/2013 by Tandooriant2
by Tandooriant2

Assembly was straight forward and well diagrammed only 2 screws were missing from the hardware pack and were something you could pick up anywhere. The only issue to watch out for is the charcoal grate in the main drum of the smoker. If the charcoal gets too hot it can bow or warp. The cooking / smoking grid was so big that you might be able to do a whole pig or several briskets at the same time and if you are using it to cook burgers and dogs it will defiantly take care of large family reunions or hungry cub and boy scouts. Product is an incredible value.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tandooriant2
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
good for the price
5/13/2013

Customer review by vpeer

2.0 stars 5/13/2013 by vpeer
by vpeer

The paint bubbled up and peeled off on the fire box on the bottom and the top. The smoker is a bit drafty which makes it hard to control the temp. It does have a lot of cooking surface and does smoke the food so it serves its purpose if you put some effort into it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vpeer
mt vernon, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/17/2013

Customer review by JohnnyBravo1

5.0 stars 3/17/2013 by JohnnyBravo1
by JohnnyBravo1

I ordered this smoker and they shipped it to my door in 6 days in great condition. It doesn't take 2 people to put it together as suggested, I put it together in an hour by myself. It has great step by step instructions and was all there when it arrived. I start my fire with charcoal and then put wood on that and continue with wood throughout the smoking process. It smokes meat wonderfully and there is an awesome amount of room. This is a wonderful smoker at a great price.Thank you Wal-mart

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnnyBravo1
Pacific City, Ore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
So-So!
9/21/2014

Customer review by WataugaBob

3.0 stars 9/21/2014 by WataugaBob
by WataugaBob

Not bad, but not really suited for smoking, or grilling. The metal is not the stout metal you get with smokers. Due to the thin metal it's necessary to line the bottom of the barrels with a couple of layers of heavy duty tin foil. If you don't line the bottom the charcoal drops through the gates and can cause enough heat to bubble the paint. It is nice for grilling due to the nice surface area. The rack can be adjusted to three different heights. Smoking is a hit or miss if you've never done it before. It has too many gaps and leaks like a sieve. The temp gauge is a joke. It reads something like this: Sort of hot, Ideal and charcoal hot. Luckily you can get a replacement (universal) temp probe. You'll need a 3/4 drill bit. Luckily the metal is thin and you can pop a hole in it to put the gauge. For those that are new to smoking-locate the new gauge as close to the surface area of the racks (but not close enough for it to touch rack) If this was a top end smoker you wouldn't even be able to shoot a hole in it. Had a real smoke that had a temp gauge located in a bad area, Apparently the people that build these have no clue on how to smoke meat) I've smoked ribs and they turned out okay, but did not turn out as well as they should have due to the leaks. You lose a lot of heat and smoke!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WataugaBob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews