Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 126 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

126 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

126 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
33
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 stars
14
1-20 of 115 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 115 total reviews
1-20 of 115 reviews
Really large cooking area!
7/9/2014

Customer review by SmokeinCOMO

4.0 stars 7/9/2014 by SmokeinCOMO
by SmokeinCOMO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good value, easy to assemble, need to mod it a bit (better thermometers, baffles, exhaust changes) to really get it working great but a good starting point for a large smoker. In my first go, I smoked 5 racks of ribs, 2 chickens, a large pork shoulder and 16 - 20 sausages. Not the most durable smokers out there - season the smoker per the directions and I would buy a cover to help prolong the life of it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmokeinCOMO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very helpful
5/14/2014

Customer review by rlgilbert

5.0 stars 5/14/2014 by rlgilbert
by rlgilbert
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It holds heat very well. Don't have to stay right on top of it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rlgilbert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waiting on Charbroil
8/26/2014

Customer review by GFJohnson

3.0 stars 8/26/2014 by GFJohnson
by GFJohnson

I bought 2 of these smokers in May ( 1 for myself and 1 for my son )and already the paint is coming off and is starting to rust! I know the warranty says it doesn't cover paint but this Shouldn't be happening after only a few uses! I have contacted Charbroil and will follow up with this review after I see what they want to do about it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 9/16/2014

We're very sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want you to enjoy using your grill. Whenever an issue is encountered please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be able to best assist.

GFJohnson
Hixson, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great Smoker Grill!
4/18/2014

Customer review by mrfixit01

5.0 stars 4/18/2014 by mrfixit01
by mrfixit01

1280 sq " very large. Will hold 3-4 briskets on long grill. Follow directions and don't loose parts. There are exactly the parts needed in the box, no extras! When 'seasoning' the grill first 2-3 times, be careful not to build too hot a fire. about 15 charcoal briquets and let them turn grey before adding wood chips to season insides. Should cook for 4-6 hours, 2-3 times before cooking food. I used Crisco spray oil each time on inside. No bubbling or chipping of paint. (Don't know what they are talking about.) Yes smoke comes out everywhere, it's a SMOKER! Not a big deal. Was able to maintain 250f temp on 2nd seasoning by adding 2 briquets and 1 chip each 30 minutes. Kept it going for 5-6 hours each time. Keep temp under 450f at all times. Con: Temp gauge is cheap. Go to Lowe's or Home Depot and buy a $9 'real' gauge like Char-Broil #361423 plus a 2-2.5" fender washer and replace the Warm-Good-Hot gauge because it is not accurate! [Can't upload pics - web won't let me]

Was this review helpful? (56) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrfixit01
Waxahachie, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
First Smoker
5/9/2013

Customer review by PCDoc24

5.0 stars 5/9/2013 by PCDoc24
by PCDoc24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first smoker. After hearing all the stories from my buddies at work, I had to try smoking food. After looking at reviews from different retail stores, I chose this offset smoker at Walmart. It was fairly easy to put it together, I did it myself in about 45 minutes to an hour. I seasoned the smoker first by rubbing the inside of the smoker with Canola oil, and then stoked it up I smoked baby back ribs that same weekend and they were absolutely amazing. The outside of the firebox bubbled and the paint blistered when I seasoned it and you will smell paint burning. Get yourself a can of high heat paint to touch it up. From what I read and see, it happens to all of them. Smoker seems to hold the heat well. There are modifications you can make to help alleviate smoke/heat loss. Youtube has plenty of videos to help with cooking and mods. Definitly worth the money. If you are thinking about getting into smoking, go for it!!

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PCDoc24
Fulton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We love this smoker!
1/22/2013

Customer review by bdew

5.0 stars 1/22/2013 by bdew
by bdew

Great big cookspace, and very versatile for the money. ONE TIP: Drill a few small holes in the bottom of the fire box to allow moisture from wood chips to drain. Otherwise, the fire box will rust out. This is our second grill, because we did not do this previously.

Was this review helpful? (162) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bdew
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
If I could do it...... ect.....
4/9/2013

Customer review by TBIinKY

5.0 stars 4/9/2013 by TBIinKY
by TBIinKY

GREAT smoker!!!!! I am a TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury) survivor, and I put it together myself :). I read directions step by step, and one thing a lot of ppl don't know about, is to "brush all interior surfaces, including grills and grates with vegetable cooking oil" then build a small fire on the fire grate" and lighting it and letting "burn" for "2 hrs, the longer the better". Common for you to do this for any new smoker/grill with a painted surface. It helps protect the inside/outside from rusting. I did as directed (didn't want to wait to smoke, but hey......) and have smoked in it 4 times, no rust ;)

Was this review helpful? (61) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TBIinKY
Owensboro, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
out door cooker/smoker
4/10/2014

Customer review by jwmw187

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by jwmw187
by jwmw187
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We found it on Welmart's on line thing, and ordered it. The product came as Walmart's timing and all, then the guys put it together for us, help deliver it to our truck. Just wonderful. It's sound, strong, and we've started using it, even ordering a cover from it from Char-Broil. Walmart treated us great and really appreciate it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwmw187
Mineola, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good smoker for the money!
12/23/2012

Customer review by just4gp

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by just4gp
by just4gp
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this smoker as an early Christmas gift for my son. He LOVES it! He cooked some pork for BBQ, a brisket and some chicken the first time he used it. This unit has some serious room in it. Everyone raved about how good everything was. He was proud to show off his new smoker. I believe he would recommend this for the novice or experienced griller.

Was this review helpful? (83) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
just4gp
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rusted inside and out.
7/3/2016

Customer review by Keva

1.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Keva
by Keva
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Never buy again. Was rusted.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keva
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice pit but sorry shipping
2/20/2013

Customer review by poppadragon

4.0 stars 2/20/2013 by poppadragon
by poppadragon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

overall this is a nice pit for home bbqing. how ever the shipping was very lousy... the box arrived looking like it had been in a train wreck... the hardware packet was open and some of the screws were missing. there were numerous dents and dings on the various metal parts.. while i would recommend this pit i would say to pick it up at the store instead of having it shipped to your home.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poppadragon
dayton, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a bad smoker for the money
1/17/2013

Customer review by mikeyglass

3.0 stars 1/17/2013 by mikeyglass
by mikeyglass
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You get what you pay for. If your a weekend smoker/griller it's not bad for the money. You will end up making some modifactions IE drilling drain hole in fire box. Also get some firetape to fill the gaps between the top and bottom of the firebox. I cut the grate for the firebox since when I smoke I don't charcoal only wood gives me more room in firebox. Happy smoking to everyone!

Was this review helpful? (45) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mikeyglass
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OMG!!
5/6/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/6/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We bought this smoker on 5/3/13 and I seasoned it the way that was called for and just today I smoked beef back ribs my very first ribs ever!! and they came out perfect. I could not be happier with my smoker. I plan on cooking a brisket this Memorial day and I know it will be great!!! Oh and by the way I put it together by myself except for the fire box. I needed help.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Godley,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good Backyard Grill, needs fine tuning
4/17/2013

Customer review by steveh199

4.0 stars 4/17/2013 by steveh199
by steveh199
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good smoker for the backyard, but I would say better in the hands of an experienced BBQ-er'. It has some faults: It leaks smoke all around, the firebox is not air tight so hard to control temp, and the biggest issue is controlling heat to the grill. What I mean is, there is no damper between the firebox and the grill section, just a big opening. So the tempature in your grill will depend only on the size of your fire, there is really no way to regulate it. I plan on cutting a piece of steel and fabricating a damper for this issue. I also installed two temp gauges on each end of the grill that read actual degrees. Factory gauge reads (cool, ideal, hot)??. With all these little issues, it actually worked really well for my first cook - did two racks of ribs and were excellent.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steveh199
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More Smoker for the money
5/31/2013

Customer review by Tandooriant2

4.0 stars 5/31/2013 by Tandooriant2
by Tandooriant2
Walmart associate

Assembly was straight forward and well diagrammed only 2 screws were missing from the hardware pack and were something you could pick up anywhere. The only issue to watch out for is the charcoal grate in the main drum of the smoker. If the charcoal gets too hot it can bow or warp. The cooking / smoking grid was so big that you might be able to do a whole pig or several briskets at the same time and if you are using it to cook burgers and dogs it will defiantly take care of large family reunions or hungry cub and boy scouts. Product is an incredible value.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tandooriant2
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
fire box very weak for heat wont last long
6/6/2014

Customer review by art70

2.0 stars 6/6/2014 by art70
by art70
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the material used for the fire box is very weak and wont last long.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 6/12/2014

We're sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and always want to make sure that you are able to take advantage of all that your offset smoker has to offer. Has a case been created with us? Please give us a call. Our phone number is 1-800-241-7548 and our knowledgeable grill service specialists are more than happy to best assist.

art70
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value and quality!
5/24/2013

Customer review by leahch

5.0 stars 5/24/2013 by leahch
by leahch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this smoker for my dear husband who LOVES to smoke meats. He drilled holes in the bottom of the fire box to keep fluid from accumulating from the water soaked ickory chunks he uses and to prent rusting. We also spent $25 on a 70'' grill cover. We are Very happy with our purchase!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leahch
Hot Springs, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Deal!!!
3/28/2013

Customer review by trinity827706

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by trinity827706
by trinity827706

Was very easy to assemble I did this by myself while my husband was at work. My only helper was a 7 year old.(lol at least she tried to help) If you do it alone you will need something to hold up the firebox while you attach it. A chair and my knees worked fine for this attaching the bottom for smoker box first helps for lining it up. Everything lined up perfectly and the instructions were the best I've ever gotten in anything, very simple if you just go step by step. This is a great size for any family and I would highly recommend this item to anyone. Happy Grilling!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trinity827706
Bethel, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It's ok
12/4/2013

Customer review by BigCountryTP

3.0 stars 12/4/2013 by BigCountryTP
by BigCountryTP
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Lots of space for lots of meat. Alot of smoke escapes, paint peels. Have to make some small modifications. When I got it from the store it was already assembled which can be a good thing for some people but made it harder to transport. It smokes food and for the price I can't complain too much. Got it for more of a starter smoker than anything else. Cooked spare ribs on it they turned out fine. More my fault than smoker. The Brats were great though.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigCountryTP
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great smoker
3/16/2013

Customer review by Immachambers

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by Immachambers
by Immachambers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband loves this smoker, although, the metal is thin, the first time we used it, the paint came off on the hot spots, it says you can grill in it, but it's better as a smoker. Bue all around we really love it and do recommend it to buy, you will be very happy with it

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Immachambers
Palmdale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 115 total reviews
1-20 of 115 reviews