Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

99 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
62
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
5
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 91 total reviews
Quality Grill for a Good Price
4/29/2013

Customer review by BarSmart

5.0 stars by BarSmart

First off two notes: 1) I ordered this item online from WalMart and the box I picked up was so severely damaged I was taking pictures of it for the first 20 minutes in case there was damage. There was a giant hole in the bottom and a smaller one in the side and it looked like it survived a flood. 2) Char-Broil is pushing their newer grills with Tru-Infrared Technology. What they mean is that they have hard to clean metal grates that let heat through but don't allow flames to touch the food. AVOID THESE GRILLS. There is nothing infrared about it, it will triple your maintenance time, and the benefits are not nearly as great as you may imagine. Get this grill and add in a third-party ceramic stone. OK. Now to review the product itself. It took about 3 hours to assemble it by myself. The directions are very clear, however there is just a lot to do. If you find one in a store where they will put it together for you for free, or cheaply, let them! It looks like a winner when it's all put together. It is a monster of a grill. 5 of the burners are standard, no better or worse than you would see in any other grill. The burner on the right however puts out a lot more flame and is excellent for searing. The side burner is a little bit of disappointment after my last Char-Broil, which had a deep lid and a griddle piece. (Thankfully my old parts fit on the new grill!) The frame is solid and well designed, and the doors are - well - likely never going to be used except for when you exchange tanks. This grill comes with cast-iron grates, which is excellent, but they do require care and with 4 of them it will likely cost 1/2 the price of the grill to replace with the same thing if/when they start to go bad. If this happens I will replace with something cheaper. They come pre-seasoned, however I'd recommend re-seasoning them before you cook for the first time, and at least 3 times throughout the grilling season. Off season mine will be removed and soaked in oil before stored in a plastic container. The electric start is very nice, my last grill had one and, like an idiot, every year I forgot to remove the battery off season. The reason I forgot is because it never stopped working - original battery and all. This grill has 3 start points, the searing burner, the right center interior burner, and the side burner itself. The interior is nice, but it's rolled steel and can/will rust away some day if not taken care of - esp the points where the heat shields are slotted to fit into the body. Now the heat shields themselves only cost $5 each to replace, but my last grill died because the holes they plug into can rust out. So keep an eye on this. Once a year clean up the area and use some grill paint to protect if you see any rust.

Was this review helpful? (100) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BarSmart
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AMAZING
3/30/2013

Customer review by chaz14760

5.0 stars by chaz14760

I bought this grill took a little time to put together. Once its together man does it work good. The searing burner cooks steak to perfection. Also the over all cooking area is quite huge. We had 6 really good size burgers 2 large chicken breast cut into strips and had a pack of hotdogs on it. Plus a large newyork strip on it and had room to spare. The burners heat very well. Overall i love it.

Was this review helpful? (46) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
chaz14760
wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Over all.. great for the price
4/9/2013

Customer review by Sarge812

4.0 stars by Sarge812

I read quite a bit of the previous reviews and this seems to have been a good buy. We were about to spend about 400 at another place when we ended checking out Walmart. my initial fear was that buying something like from Walmart wouldn’t be as good as others... I was wrong. the only real complaint I have about this, was the directions. I think you have to be a bit patient with putting this thing together. you should have a l o n g screwdriver or powered screwdriver for this. there are quite a bit of places where a normal screwdriver wouldn’t had done any good. Luckily I have a small power drill with many attachments... Once it was put together, I started it up and let it burn for a bit.. to get the smell and anything else out of there.. I cooked on it the first night and it seems to cook pretty good and even.,,, I haven’t used all five burners or the Seer burner... but I will be soon enough. great for the money though!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sarge812
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Cooks Great....while it lasts
6/18/2014

Customer review by TexasRay54

3.0 stars by TexasRay54

I purchased this grill about a month ago....I looked at a number of reviews....consumer reports and many other factors. Here are the pros and cons as I see them...having used the grill 3 times so far. Pros: 1. It cooks great, at least now - but that is what I would expect from a grill like this. 2. It looks great, at least now - but this is starting to change fast. 3. The price is right....ie it is very inexpensive for the features that are offered. Cons: 1. It is already starting to rust....on the stainless steel...even though I have cleaned it religiously, and have a cover. After only a month???? Really, what grade of stainless could this be? My guess F-. 2. The igniters do not work. I may write Charbroil about this....but based on what I have read...I am not expecting much. 3. The Grill I would have truly wanted cost 10X more. And would probably last at least 5X longer. Overall, I believe I got what I paid for. A grill that will work reasonably well (hopefully) and last 3 to 5 years most. I sincerely hope this was helpful.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Comment from Charbroil - 7/9/2014

We're very sorry to hear this. How is your grill normally cleaned? Is a cover kept on it? Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be more than happy to best investigate this and assist.

TexasRay54
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great grill!!!
4/15/2014

Customer review by PuddleJumperNC

5.0 stars by PuddleJumperNC

Love Char-Broil Grills!!! I use a grill a very lot, including in the winter. I cook on them Saturday and Sunday. Every Sunday we have the Children and Grandchildren over to eat with us and we try to grill weather permitting. After going through a lot of different grills, have decided that Char-Broil is the best for the money. For over 30 years they have been my go to grill based on their wear length and warranty. I do not use the TRU-Infrared, when I grill I want flame and then after do not want a big clean up. I will stay with their traditional convective gas grill. The 6-burner has the space to put 8 pounds of wings and thighs on the warming rack and do the whole process of cooking with that grilled flavor without any big flare-ups from the sauce!!! On the use of the side burner, do not use them. Have a double gas 60K BTU surface burner grill for that purpose. Also have a gas smoker. Like I said, I grill whenever I can!!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PuddleJumperNC
Grantham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful and Simplistic!
6/1/2013

Customer review by ajshon

5.0 stars by ajshon

It starts with opening the box, the instructions were simplistic and accurate. This was the easiest grill I have ever put together. The grill is easy to use, has more grilling service than I've ever had before, all areas heat evenly, and the sear burner is fantastic!! Well worth the price!! Highly recommend it!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ajshon
Belleville, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Grill !
4/21/2013

Customer review by Grillmaster12345

5.0 stars by Grillmaster12345

I have a large family so I was looking for a grill that could prepare enough burgers, hotdogs, steaks etc for our family of six so we could all eat at the same time ! This grill did exactly that and had room left over not to mention it looks fantastic. Best grill on the market for the money. I was skeptical at first because it was so inexpensive compared to all of the other grills I was shopping but I was pleasantly surprised at the performance of this grill !!! I literally Cooked 20 burgers and a dozen hotdogs at the same time on it last week for a get together at our home. Go buy this grill if you want more cooking area and the searer is fantastic for steaks.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Grillmaster12345
Moore, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BUY THIS GRILL !!
4/2/2014

Customer review by NocturnalAZ

5.0 stars by NocturnalAZ

For the Price that this Grill is, Buy it I live in AZ and was considering getting one form Home depot. My Fiancé saw this one online and My Local Wal-Mart had it in stock! What a Shocker since they almost never have anything Online. This Charbroil Vs. the Brinkman From Home depot , This one is WAY BETTER QUALITY !!. The Top of the Grill is made From Good Quality Aluminum, Vs. the other ones from home depot or LOWES that you can bend with your hand. I was Dreading Building it but its fairly Easy 45 Minutes top, The top comes Pre Assembled all you need to build is the bottom Stand and the sides. No Complicated anything , Just need a Good Screwdriver and some hand strength :).. Oh yea and the Electronic Start is a Huge PLUS !

Was this review helpful? (36) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NocturnalAZ
Phoenix AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great grill with tons of space
5/4/2014

Customer review by Finztotheleft

5.0 stars by Finztotheleft

Go Big or Go Home! I bought this grill for its size as I entertain quite often. It took me about two hours to put together with a few adjustments here or there. There are a couple of tight squeezes to get some screws in and tightened. A magnetic screwdriver will be handy for a few parts. I reversed the ignition wires by accident however I think I will leave them like they are. I can now fire the searing burner without having to light the other 5 burners first. Just an idea of you see yourself using the searing burner often. The knobs are cheap plastic which was disappointing and I wish they were truly metal. This summer is going to be FUN!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Finztotheleft
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Grill I hope...Not Starting out so well
5/18/2014

Customer review by Tech66681

4.0 stars by Tech66681

I bought this Grill from Walmart after they said OUT OF STOCK. I found it at my local store. The grill is great(I Hope) but with never being used the cover is discolored and faded in a few spots and I haven't even used it yet. Inside the cover the grates are rusted and around one of the screws. And one of the handles has rust on it from the accessories hooks. I bought the Grill anyway as I needed a new one and a friend has the next model up from this one and loves it. I had a Brinkmann Grill which I gave to my Daughters boyfriend because I bought this one. I loved my Brinkmann which never rusted and the stainless stayed looking like stainless. Other than the cosmetics of the grill if it works as well as my friend says I will be happy. Of course I was told to blame Charbroil for poor workmanship. The grill does seem sturdy and well put together. Maybe it was a bad run of stainless steel and bad coating on the grates. I hope to have as many Grilling years with this as I did with my Brinkmann

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Comment from Charbroil - 5/22/2014

We're sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and would like to investigate the issues encountered with the rusted spots on the grill. Has a case been created with us? Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and one of our knowledgeable grill service specialists will be more than happy to best assist.

Tech66681
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
ok grill for big parties
7/7/2013

Customer review by mike4hrsmen

3.0 stars by mike4hrsmen

ive had this grill for about 3 yrs now the assembly was pretty easy for a regular diy the outside of the grill lasted pretty good but the insides is a different matter all of the heat sheild rusted to pieces the burners are starting to rust out the tray underneath to catch grease and food is rusted out. as far as cooking it cooks more in the back than the front of the grill the actuall grills inside are actually well built i dont know why the rest of the grill wasnt

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mike4hrsmen
johnstown,pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
save your money
5/24/2014

Customer review by jedster

1.0 stars by jedster

i return this product back to walmart as soon as I received it . I had walmart put it together for me as soon as was done I went to pick it up. and notice the cast iron grates the Teflon was coming off and was rusted. I am not about to deal with wiping down rust every time I need to use this grill.and other things seem to be made cheap the side burner was the only part that would only spark. save your money and spend a little more and get something that's going to last more then a year. or in my case a hour.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Comment from Charbroil - 5/29/2014

We're sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and always want to make sure that you are able to use your grill. The cooking grates in this grill are porcelain-coated cast iron. Whenever an issue is encountered, please contact us. Our phone number is 1-800-241-7548 and our knowledgeable grill service specialists are more than happy to best assist.

jedster
kemt ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Love It!!!!
3/24/2014

Customer review by sm0kin67

5.0 stars by sm0kin67

Love This Grill. It Was Easy To Assemble. It's Large And Has a Ton Of Cooking Space. Other Stores Were Selling The Same Grill For $20-40 More Than Walmart. I Was Able To Order It Using Sitter To Store, And Brought It Home Within 4 Hours. Other Stores Wanted Me To Wait 6-10 Days For It. Highly Recommend This Grill.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sm0kin67
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/10/2013

Customer review by Ladybug420

5.0 stars by Ladybug420

I just bought this grill so I can't review the grill itself but the price is the best around and if you buy it at the store, you can have it assembled for free.

Was this review helpful? (15) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Ladybug420
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Good value
4/13/2014

Customer review by RowdyDan

4.0 stars by RowdyDan

I think the grill is great. Really simple to put together with the instructions, about 1 and 1/2 hours build time. The cooking and searing have been great. I was a little disappointed with the fact that the back was not completely enclosed which I fixed with some flat stock aluminum painted black with bent tabs on each side to hang for easy removal. And I wish the grill box itself was a complete closed unit, but it is open on the bottom allowing debris to fall into a catch tray which sometimes makes it's way into the bottom cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RowdyDan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Definitely get what you pay for
5/7/2014

Customer review by TheZeeMan

2.0 stars by TheZeeMan

I bought the all stainless version of this particular grill probably about 3 years ago. It's now time for a new grill and I don't think I'll be going with Charbroil again. I stored indoors for winter and always had a cover on when not in use, yet the supposed "stainless" is all rusted and the grill looks like complete garbage now. Also the electric igniter stopped working, and I'm an engineer and took it all apart but I don't see anything wrong with it, it just doesn't work. It's a great grill for the first year, but after that it just starts losing its quality, not sure about you but I don't want to purchase a new grill every 2 years.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Comment from Charbroil - 5/7/2014

We're sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and definitely want to help you to get back up and grilling. Has a case been created with us? Please give one of our knowledgeable grill service specialists a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be more than happy to best assist you.

TheZeeMan
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Not a good first impresion from Char-Broil !!!!!
5/14/2014

Customer review by 400EXBBQ

1.0 stars by 400EXBBQ

I just bought your Char-Broil big top of the line grill model 463235713 and it has several damaged parts. The box was in mint condition so it has to be from the factory and poor workmanship. I bought your product because of the name brand , size and thought it would be of good quality. I posted pics of 3 damaged spots but have more damage that could not post because I can only post 2 pics , like bent door magnet on rail. Not happy with the damage I paid a lot of hard earned money for this to look like that.

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Comment from Charbroil - 5/14/2014

We're very sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want to get these damaged parts replaced. Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and our knowledgeable grill service specialists will be more than happy to best assist.

400EXBBQ
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
awesome bbq
4/4/2013

Customer review by bbqmann

5.0 stars by bbqmann

this is a great bbq. i cook on it almost every night. I had it built and picked it up for my b-day, what a great present. Just dont forget to grab the owners manual and warranty cause they for got mine.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bbqmann
mount shasta, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outdoor food cooker
5/20/2014

Customer review by VFinNF

1.0 stars by VFinNF

Oh Boy, at $298 with 6 burners and 900 inches of cooking area this grill looks like a great deal. Looks even better in person with coated iron grates, tool hooks and ample under-grill storage with a side burner to boot. Assembly, like other reviewers noted, it's a real bear. You definitely need a buddy, power screwdriver, and some beer for this one. Set aside 2 1/2 hrs at least for a quality job. On the plus side, all the parts did fit together well and the instructions were fairly clear. It took me 30 minutes just to clean up all the packing material from the monster. Now for the cooking; I'm sorry to say it's awful. Even with all six burners on max it just doesn't get or stay hot enough as proved by the temp in the lid. So I fire all the burners up and 15 minutes later (ambient temperature 68) the thermometer barley reads 450 (450 needs to be the cruise temp on the grill). I start cooking with it anyway and quickly notice how the skinny little grates leave barely noticeable grill marks (the seared part of the food that adds grilled flavor). After using it 4 more times I confirm that it's not really a grill, but an outdoor cooker. It appears that the problem lies in the mini burner tubes they use. The grill is 17 inches deep but the tubes are only 8 inches long, that's less than half. How does an 8 inch tube heat 17 inches worth of grill? Not very well I can tell you that but no need to take my word for it. See it for yourself on display. I can say that it does help to turn the grates upside down for better searing area and even though the instructions caution against it, use foil to superheat the grill for better searing. You may want to avoid this item completely, especially if your cooking for a crowd.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Comment from Charbroil - 5/22/2014

We're very sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want to get you back up and grilling. Has a case been created with us? Please give our knowledgeable grill service specialists a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be more than happy to best assist.

VFinNF
Niagara Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Second one
4/15/2014

Customer review by dwildcon

5.0 stars by dwildcon

This is my second one and the first one lasted for years. We BBQ all the time and all year. A great value

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dwildcon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 91 total reviews