Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 162 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

162 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

162 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
108
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 stars
9
1-20 of 154 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 154 total reviews
1-20 of 154 reviews
Great Grill I hope...Not Starting out so well
5/18/2014

Customer review by Tech66681

4.0 stars 5/18/2014 by Tech66681
by Tech66681

I bought this Grill from Walmart after they said OUT OF STOCK. I found it at my local store. The grill is great(I Hope) but with never being used the cover is discolored and faded in a few spots and I haven't even used it yet. Inside the cover the grates are rusted and around one of the screws. And one of the handles has rust on it from the accessories hooks. I bought the Grill anyway as I needed a new one and a friend has the next model up from this one and loves it. I had a Brinkmann Grill which I gave to my Daughters boyfriend because I bought this one. I loved my Brinkmann which never rusted and the stainless stayed looking like stainless. Other than the cosmetics of the grill if it works as well as my friend says I will be happy. Of course I was told to blame Charbroil for poor workmanship. The grill does seem sturdy and well put together. Maybe it was a bad run of stainless steel and bad coating on the grates. I hope to have as many Grilling years with this as I did with my Brinkmann

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/22/2014

We're sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and would like to investigate the issues encountered with the rusted spots on the grill. Has a case been created with us? Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and one of our knowledgeable grill service specialists will be more than happy to best assist.

Tech66681
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
BUY THIS GRILL !!
4/2/2014

Customer review by NocturnalAZ

5.0 stars 4/2/2014 by NocturnalAZ
by NocturnalAZ

For the Price that this Grill is, Buy it I live in AZ and was considering getting one form Home depot. My Fiancé saw this one online and My Local Wal-Mart had it in stock! What a Shocker since they almost never have anything Online. This Charbroil Vs. the Brinkman From Home depot , This one is WAY BETTER QUALITY !!. The Top of the Grill is made From Good Quality Aluminum, Vs. the other ones from home depot or LOWES that you can bend with your hand. I was Dreading Building it but its fairly Easy 45 Minutes top, The top comes Pre Assembled all you need to build is the bottom Stand and the sides. No Complicated anything , Just need a Good Screwdriver and some hand strength :).. Oh yea and the Electronic Start is a Huge PLUS !

Was this review helpful? (41) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NocturnalAZ
Phoenix AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a good first impresion from Char-Broil !!!!!
5/14/2014

Customer review by 400EXBBQ

1.0 stars 5/14/2014 by 400EXBBQ
by 400EXBBQ

I just bought your Char-Broil big top of the line grill model 463235713 and it has several damaged parts. The box was in mint condition so it has to be from the factory and poor workmanship. I bought your product because of the name brand , size and thought it would be of good quality. I posted pics of 3 damaged spots but have more damage that could not post because I can only post 2 pics , like bent door magnet on rail. Not happy with the damage I paid a lot of hard earned money for this to look like that.

Was this review helpful? (24) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/14/2014

We're very sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want to get these damaged parts replaced. Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and our knowledgeable grill service specialists will be more than happy to best assist.

400EXBBQ
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cooks Great....while it lasts
6/18/2014

Customer review by TexasRay54

3.0 stars 6/18/2014 by TexasRay54
by TexasRay54

I purchased this grill about a month ago....I looked at a number of reviews....consumer reports and many other factors. Here are the pros and cons as I see them...having used the grill 3 times so far. Pros: 1. It cooks great, at least now - but that is what I would expect from a grill like this. 2. It looks great, at least now - but this is starting to change fast. 3. The price is right....ie it is very inexpensive for the features that are offered. Cons: 1. It is already starting to rust....on the stainless steel...even though I have cleaned it religiously, and have a cover. After only a month???? Really, what grade of stainless could this be? My guess F-. 2. The igniters do not work. I may write Charbroil about this....but based on what I have read...I am not expecting much. 3. The Grill I would have truly wanted cost 10X more. And would probably last at least 5X longer. Overall, I believe I got what I paid for. A grill that will work reasonably well (hopefully) and last 3 to 5 years most. I sincerely hope this was helpful.

Was this review helpful? (81) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/9/2014

We're very sorry to hear this. How is your grill normally cleaned? Is a cover kept on it? Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be more than happy to best investigate this and assist.

TexasRay54
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great grill!!!
4/15/2014

Customer review by PuddleJumperNC

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by PuddleJumperNC
by PuddleJumperNC

Love Char-Broil Grills!!! I use a grill a very lot, including in the winter. I cook on them Saturday and Sunday. Every Sunday we have the Children and Grandchildren over to eat with us and we try to grill weather permitting. After going through a lot of different grills, have decided that Char-Broil is the best for the money. For over 30 years they have been my go to grill based on their wear length and warranty. I do not use the TRU-Infrared, when I grill I want flame and then after do not want a big clean up. I will stay with their traditional convective gas grill. The 6-burner has the space to put 8 pounds of wings and thighs on the warming rack and do the whole process of cooking with that grilled flavor without any big flare-ups from the sauce!!! On the use of the side burner, do not use them. Have a double gas 60K BTU surface burner grill for that purpose. Also have a gas smoker. Like I said, I grill whenever I can!!!

Was this review helpful? (28) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PuddleJumperNC
Grantham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Over all.. great for the price
4/9/2013

Customer review by Sarge812

4.0 stars 4/9/2013 by Sarge812
by Sarge812

I read quite a bit of the previous reviews and this seems to have been a good buy. We were about to spend about 400 at another place when we ended checking out Walmart. my initial fear was that buying something like from Walmart wouldn’t be as good as others... I was wrong. the only real complaint I have about this, was the directions. I think you have to be a bit patient with putting this thing together. you should have a l o n g screwdriver or powered screwdriver for this. there are quite a bit of places where a normal screwdriver wouldn’t had done any good. Luckily I have a small power drill with many attachments... Once it was put together, I started it up and let it burn for a bit.. to get the smell and anything else out of there.. I cooked on it the first night and it seems to cook pretty good and even.,,, I haven’t used all five burners or the Seer burner... but I will be soon enough. great for the money though!!

Was this review helpful? (36) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sarge812
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Quality Grill for a Good Price
4/29/2013

Customer review by BarSmart

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by BarSmart
by BarSmart
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First off two notes: 1) I ordered this item online from WalMart and the box I picked up was so severely damaged I was taking pictures of it for the first 20 minutes in case there was damage. There was a giant hole in the bottom and a smaller one in the side and it looked like it survived a flood. 2) Char-Broil is pushing their newer grills with Tru-Infrared Technology. What they mean is that they have hard to clean metal grates that let heat through but don't allow flames to touch the food. AVOID THESE GRILLS. There is nothing infrared about it, it will triple your maintenance time, and the benefits are not nearly as great as you may imagine. Get this grill and add in a third-party ceramic stone. OK. Now to review the product itself. It took about 3 hours to assemble it by myself. The directions are very clear, however there is just a lot to do. If you find one in a store where they will put it together for you for free, or cheaply, let them! It looks like a winner when it's all put together. It is a monster of a grill. 5 of the burners are standard, no better or worse than you would see in any other grill. The burner on the right however puts out a lot more flame and is excellent for searing. The side burner is a little bit of disappointment after my last Char-Broil, which had a deep lid and a griddle piece. (Thankfully my old parts fit on the new grill!) The frame is solid and well designed, and the doors are - well - likely never going to be used except for when you exchange tanks. This grill comes with cast-iron grates, which is excellent, but they do require care and with 4 of them it will likely cost 1/2 the price of the grill to replace with the same thing if/when they start to go bad. If this happens I will replace with something cheaper. They come pre-seasoned, however I'd recommend re-seasoning them before you cook for the first time, and at least 3 times throughout the grilling season. Off season mine will be removed and soaked in oil before stored in a plastic container. The electric start is very nice, my last grill had one and, like an idiot, every year I forgot to remove the battery off season. The reason I forgot is because it never stopped working - original battery and all. This grill has 3 start points, the searing burner, the right center interior burner, and the side burner itself. The interior is nice, but it's rolled steel and can/will rust away some day if not taken care of - esp the points where the heat shields are slotted to fit into the body. Now the heat shields themselves only cost $5 each to replace, but my last grill died because the holes they plug into can rust out. So keep an eye on this. Once a year clean up the area and use some grill paint to protect if you see any rust.

Was this review helpful? (222) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BarSmart
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AMAZING
3/30/2013

Customer review by chaz14760

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by chaz14760
by chaz14760

I bought this grill took a little time to put together. Once its together man does it work good. The searing burner cooks steak to perfection. Also the over all cooking area is quite huge. We had 6 really good size burgers 2 large chicken breast cut into strips and had a pack of hotdogs on it. Plus a large newyork strip on it and had room to spare. The burners heat very well. Overall i love it.

Was this review helpful? (84) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chaz14760
wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great grill with tons of space
5/4/2014

Customer review by Finztotheleft

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Finztotheleft
by Finztotheleft

Go Big or Go Home! I bought this grill for its size as I entertain quite often. It took me about two hours to put together with a few adjustments here or there. There are a couple of tight squeezes to get some screws in and tightened. A magnetic screwdriver will be handy for a few parts. I reversed the ignition wires by accident however I think I will leave them like they are. I can now fire the searing burner without having to light the other 5 burners first. Just an idea of you see yourself using the searing burner often. The knobs are cheap plastic which was disappointing and I wish they were truly metal. This summer is going to be FUN!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Finztotheleft
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value
4/13/2014

Customer review by RowdyDan

4.0 stars 4/13/2014 by RowdyDan
by RowdyDan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I think the grill is great. Really simple to put together with the instructions, about 1 and 1/2 hours build time. The cooking and searing have been great. I was a little disappointed with the fact that the back was not completely enclosed which I fixed with some flat stock aluminum painted black with bent tabs on each side to hang for easy removal. And I wish the grill box itself was a complete closed unit, but it is open on the bottom allowing debris to fall into a catch tray which sometimes makes it's way into the bottom cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RowdyDan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Grill !
4/21/2013

Customer review by Grillmaster12345

5.0 stars 4/21/2013 by Grillmaster12345
by Grillmaster12345
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a large family so I was looking for a grill that could prepare enough burgers, hotdogs, steaks etc for our family of six so we could all eat at the same time ! This grill did exactly that and had room left over not to mention it looks fantastic. Best grill on the market for the money. I was skeptical at first because it was so inexpensive compared to all of the other grills I was shopping but I was pleasantly surprised at the performance of this grill !!! I literally Cooked 20 burgers and a dozen hotdogs at the same time on it last week for a get together at our home. Go buy this grill if you want more cooking area and the searer is fantastic for steaks.

Was this review helpful? (28) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grillmaster12345
Moore, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome bbq
4/4/2013

Customer review by bbqmann

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by bbqmann
by bbqmann
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this is a great bbq. i cook on it almost every night. I had it built and picked it up for my b-day, what a great present. Just dont forget to grab the owners manual and warranty cause they for got mine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bbqmann
mount shasta, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful and Simplistic!
6/1/2013

Customer review by ajshon

5.0 stars 6/1/2013 by ajshon
by ajshon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It starts with opening the box, the instructions were simplistic and accurate. This was the easiest grill I have ever put together. The grill is easy to use, has more grilling service than I've ever had before, all areas heat evenly, and the sear burner is fantastic!! Well worth the price!! Highly recommend it!!

Was this review helpful? (36) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ajshon
Belleville, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Definitely get what you pay for
5/7/2014

Customer review by TheZeeMan

2.0 stars 5/7/2014 by TheZeeMan
by TheZeeMan

I bought the all stainless version of this particular grill probably about 3 years ago. It's now time for a new grill and I don't think I'll be going with Charbroil again. I stored indoors for winter and always had a cover on when not in use, yet the supposed "stainless" is all rusted and the grill looks like complete garbage now. Also the electric igniter stopped working, and I'm an engineer and took it all apart but I don't see anything wrong with it, it just doesn't work. It's a great grill for the first year, but after that it just starts losing its quality, not sure about you but I don't want to purchase a new grill every 2 years.

Was this review helpful? (13) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/7/2014

We're sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and definitely want to help you to get back up and grilling. Has a case been created with us? Please give one of our knowledgeable grill service specialists a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be more than happy to best assist you.

TheZeeMan
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Okay grill for the price!
8/27/2014

Customer review by Grillingisfun

4.0 stars 8/27/2014 by Grillingisfun
by Grillingisfun

We bought this grill in Feb. 2013 and over a year later my husband just came in and told me one of the metal pieces on the bottom is rusted out and he cleans it regularly! He wanted me to get online and check out our extended warranty that I thought we bought and apparently we didn't. :( We LOVE the grill and have used it many times for quick hot dogs to long pork loins, etc. I am sad to see that after being stored in a protected area away from Indiana elements that it is already rusting. Everything else works GREAT on it and is holding up very well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grillingisfun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Heating up
6/30/2014

Customer review by bobovo

1.0 stars 6/30/2014 by bobovo
by bobovo

It takes this grill 45 minutes to heat up to a temperature in order to cook. in one month I've been through 3 bottles of propane just to heat the grill to a temperature for burgers steaks or any other meat did I try to cook on it. you have to turn all burners on in order to get it up to temperature you cannot get the temperature up in the barbecue without turning all burners on high.then you turn on only the burners that you need and turn the rest on once it reaches temperature.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/3/2014

We're very sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want to make sure that you are able to take advantage of all that your grill has to offer. Has the regulator for your grill been reset? If the regulator has been tripped it could cause the grill to have low temperatures and take longer to heat up. A tripped regulator is normally caused by the grill being turned on or off incorrectly. Make sure that when using the grill that the propane tank is turned on first, followed by the grill with the control knobs. When turning off the grill, use the control knobs first and then turn off the propane tank. To reset the regulator, unhook the regulator from your propane tank for a minute and then follow the lighting instructions. This may take multiple times. Please make sure the follow the correct steps for turning your grill on and off.

bobovo
Would recommend to a friend? No
ok grill for big parties
7/7/2013

Customer review by mike4hrsmen

3.0 stars 7/7/2013 by mike4hrsmen
by mike4hrsmen
Walmart associate

ive had this grill for about 3 yrs now the assembly was pretty easy for a regular diy the outside of the grill lasted pretty good but the insides is a different matter all of the heat sheild rusted to pieces the burners are starting to rust out the tray underneath to catch grease and food is rusted out. as far as cooking it cooks more in the back than the front of the grill the actuall grills inside are actually well built i dont know why the rest of the grill wasnt

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mike4hrsmen
johnstown,pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
save your money
5/24/2014

Customer review by jedster

1.0 stars 5/24/2014 by jedster
by jedster

i return this product back to walmart as soon as I received it . I had walmart put it together for me as soon as was done I went to pick it up. and notice the cast iron grates the Teflon was coming off and was rusted. I am not about to deal with wiping down rust every time I need to use this grill.and other things seem to be made cheap the side burner was the only part that would only spark. save your money and spend a little more and get something that's going to last more then a year. or in my case a hour.

Was this review helpful? (14) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/29/2014

We're sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and always want to make sure that you are able to use your grill. The cooking grates in this grill are porcelain-coated cast iron. Whenever an issue is encountered, please contact us. Our phone number is 1-800-241-7548 and our knowledgeable grill service specialists are more than happy to best assist.

jedster
kemt ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Great for price point
4/14/2014

Customer review by Birdman37

5.0 stars 4/14/2014 by Birdman37
by Birdman37
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Assembled within 3 hours, easy to use. Very strong burn even on lowest setting. Cooked 16 burgers and 16 hotdogs in 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Birdman37
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Second one
4/15/2014

Customer review by dwildcon

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by dwildcon
by dwildcon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second one and the first one lasted for years. We BBQ all the time and all year. A great value

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dwildcon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 154 total reviews
1-20 of 154 reviews