Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 258 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

258 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

258 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
142
4 stars
73
3 stars
12
2 stars
16
1 stars
15
1-20 of 250 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 250 total reviews
1-20 of 250 reviews
My Experience
7/6/2014

Customer review by GrillmasterDave

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by GrillmasterDave
by GrillmasterDave

I did my research and read plenty of reviews on many grills prior to purchasing. I decided on this one for the name and two for the price. The price on walmart's website was a $100 cheaper than Lowes or HD stores. I can agree with a few reviewers and mention, my grill has damage due to shipping. One spot is on the back bottom of the grill(near the drip cup), It's really out of site and functionally not important. The other is the left side corner of the lid. I don't know if it's a tac weld that did not hold or something, but it's loose and will need to be replaced.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrillmasterDave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy
6/20/2014

Customer review by Ibyrd

4.0 stars 6/20/2014 by Ibyrd
by Ibyrd

Bought this grill yesterday at the Bowie, MD Walmart got home & the power was out. Fired up the grill what a great taste and a very good product. The sales associates who assisted me were the best thank you Will and Ollie you are some of the best sales people I have encountered in years I hope your boss reads this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ibyrd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Infrared grilling is not that revolutionary
5/7/2013

Customer review by jetpilot59

2.0 stars 5/7/2013 by jetpilot59
by jetpilot59

The grill itself is well-made and well-priced. If you're interested in Infrared grilling, this is a great starter grill. A two-burner was being sold at the same price at a local competitor, so this 3-burner was the better option. Infrared grilling is simply about how the heat is dispersed. Instead of your meat touching direct flame, the heat comes up through tiny pinholes that are evenly-spaced across the grilling surface. PROS: (1) No flare ups. (2) Juicyer meat. CONS: (1) You have to relearn how to grill. If you're comfortable with normal gas grilling, this will be a big adjustment. (2) You have to clean the grill about every other time you use it since food and char clogs the tiny pinholes. (3) It uses more gas than a normal gas grill. All and all, if I could go back, I would have purchased a normal gas grill BUT I wanted to give Infrared grilling a chance and these were my findings.

Was this review helpful? (189) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jetpilot59
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Assembly
4/21/2013

Customer review by lovehidef

4.0 stars 4/21/2013 by lovehidef
by lovehidef
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The grill was fairly easy to assemble. The manual is pretty well written. All the nuts and bolts are mounted on a plastic wrapped sheet of cardboard- and all clearly marked. Only two problems: 1. Attaching the decorative facia to the front. Very small space to get your hand and the holes were not drilled out enough. I couldn't get several of them flush without stripping out the screws. 2. Attaching the wires to the starter- not explained very well but they can only go in one way so eventually figured it out. Some things I don't like- There are four wire rods designed to keep the tank from moving. These are unnecessary and just take up space- they could have designed a shelf inside the cabinet instead. The tank fits in a hole and isn't going anywhere. And, there is a weight you attach under cabinet floor. It doesn't do much. The wheels I got were not the ones described in the manual- but these are better- more heave duty.

Was this review helpful? (27) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovehidef
Yorktown, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Be prepared to clean after each use
6/16/2014

Customer review by TahoeDude

3.0 stars 6/16/2014 by TahoeDude
by TahoeDude

I bought the grill and read about the fact that the slits in the grill get clogged after each use and must be cleaned each time you use the grill. It didn't seem like a big deal at the time, but what I found out is that you need to remove the grills and really scrub them each time. Very messy. It isn't as simple as brushing it or burning it off... you have to wash them. One other negative thing. The hard plastic wheels leave grooves on my wood deck. I contacted charbroil and they do not sell wider wheels or wheels made of rubber. The wheels have a non-standard thread so you can't replace them from home improvement stores. I can endorse the claims about how well it grills. It does what they claim and grills a nice juicy steak or hamburger better than a regular grill without the flare ups.

Was this review helpful? (52) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 6/19/2014

We're sorry to hear of the cleaning issues encountered. We have cleaning accessories that can best help with cleaning the cooking grates. Your grill is able to utilize the burn off technique. This involves turning your grill to high for about 15 to 20 minutes after cooking and any existing food debris will be turned to ash. Our phone number is 1-800-241-7548 and our knowledgeable grill service specialists are always here to help and provide further information.

TahoeDude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very well built, and excellent features.
4/13/2013

Customer review by BIGGRILLBUYER

5.0 stars 4/13/2013 by BIGGRILLBUYER
by BIGGRILLBUYER
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Char broil has been making grills for a long time, and it shows with this grill. Easy to use, and very sturdy, it assembled in only two hours. It has many features that I wish my old Vermont Castings used to have, and at one quarter the cost. Replacement parts are readily available, and the tru infrared cooking is not a hoax. It works just as Char broil states, with quicker warm up time, consistent heat, and juicier foods. The only problems I encountered were from Wal-marts shipping damages. I had to return the first one because the grill they had shipped site to store, was badly damaged inside the box. I could not tell until I opened the box and tried to assemble it. What time I did not spend that day assembling the grill, I spent picking up and returning grills at the store. But that is not the grills fault. I highly recommend buying this grill.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BIGGRILLBUYER
Worthington, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A grill that performs
1/3/2013

Customer review by Zinfanatik

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by Zinfanatik
by Zinfanatik
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My older Char Broil Commercial 4-burner grill gave up, so I researched new grills. There's only the wife and myself, and a 4-burner was a waste of propane. I found this TRU-Infrared online, and it was way cheaper on Walmart (by over $200 on some sites!). My research also revealed that there are brands that advertise "Infrared" grills, but there is a difference and TRU-Infrared is the real deal. Assembly was not difficult, but I have a long history of hair-raising stories on assembling stuff. I thoroughly red the assembly manual, and noted the important steps. Being retired, I took my time. The instructions are adequate, but work carefully and take your time. You do need help placing the hood assembly on the base. There are some tight spots, so if you have big hands expect a few knuckle dings. Also read the pamphlet on infrared cooking, some good pointers if you're used to coal or a regular grill. The 3 temperature gauges at grill level are nice and let you know precisely the temperature at the cooking surface. The grill worked flawlessly on start-up. The grates heated up very quickly. We just enjoyed our first meal, a steak, which was nicely seared and was cooked medium-rare the way we like steak - no burned crusty surface and a perfectly cooked and tender center. The 3-burner option is perfect for us, and we can still easily cook for 4 or more friends. As an old habit, I regularly clean my grills, but with the infrared plates, frequent cleaning will be necessary to keep it at its best. Overall, a good buy and a nice grill!

Was this review helpful? (181) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zinfanatik
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love It So Far
4/17/2013

Customer review by BellevueBuyer

5.0 stars 4/17/2013 by BellevueBuyer
by BellevueBuyer

I went to several stores to do some grill shopping and came across a tru-infrared grill 2 burner for the same price. It was a new concept for me but I loved the idea immediately, and I saw this 3 burner with side burner for the same price at Wal-Mart and decided to some research on-line. Ultimately, I decided on this grill and am so glad I did! It was easy to put together and the directions were very clear on assembly. I grilled on it the first evening I purchased it and the following 3 evenings with a variety of foods because I was so impressed with the first grill experience. I don't know how the tru-infrared works, but I absolutely love the way it sears the meat and the speed of cooking. I am finding this grill to be just what I need.

Was this review helpful? (76) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BellevueBuyer
Bellevue, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Real nice grill
10/4/2013

Customer review by Lpanek

5.0 stars 10/4/2013 by Lpanek
by Lpanek
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had the grill for about three weeks. Grill was not hard to put together but some parts were hard to screw together because of tight space and large hands. Grill lights easily, gets super hot and cleanup is easy. I have cooked pork, chicken, fish and every sort of vegetable. All came out very tasty. Sliced vegetables with olive oil and a little salt & pepper are done in 10 minutes. 1/4" sliced Potatoes take a little longer. Grill easy sears meat. To clean grill after cooking just turn all burners on high for about 10 min. All food particles turn to ash. Will have to wait to decide if grill hold up over the years. The cooking grates for the infrared are porcelain covered. The more expensive models have stainless grates which will probably Last longer. So far a great grill to cook on, plenty of space and looks good.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lpanek
Winston-salem, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One of the best grills I've ever owned
4/8/2013

Customer review by Grillman83

5.0 stars 4/8/2013 by Grillman83
by Grillman83
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Over the years I've owned numerous grills, including expensive high-end models. I mostly grill steaks, fish, shrimp and roasts with ocassional grilled veggies and shishkibob. Have always gone for the highest BTU grills, and was doubtful about the relatively low BTU of this grill. I am no longer a doubter. It does need a thorough cleaning after use though. In order to keep it at its peak efficiency I wash the grill grates in a large sink with plenty of dish soap and a scrub brush.If you buy it on line for store pickup be warned that it is unassembled in the box. I was fortunate that they had some assembled in their garden center so I simply cancelled the order at the pickup point and bought it assembled in the garden center.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grillman83
Fort Pierce, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product......takes time to assemble.
3/23/2013

Customer review by FordBigBlock

5.0 stars 3/23/2013 by FordBigBlock
by FordBigBlock
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellect product at a very, very good Walmart price as compared with other big box stores. It took some time to assemble but I do read the instructions throughly and perhaps too closely.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FordBigBlock
Star, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Grill
4/20/2014

Customer review by PittsburghMan

5.0 stars 4/20/2014 by PittsburghMan
by PittsburghMan

I just received this. A little time consuming to build but easy to follow. The box is very heavy when delivered. I unpacked the box and carried the parts to my deck. Have someone help you do this. Directions easy to follow and the nuts\bolts are all labeled. After it was built, it's very sturdy and seems well made. The electronic starter is nice! My grill fired up with one gentle push of the starter button. I grilled chicken and salmon "on low" and the food was great. I hope to have this grill for many, many years. I definitely recommend it. I received it in about 7 business days with free shipping.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PittsburghMan
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
True IR cooking at an affordable price
4/23/2013

Customer review by consumer1honesty

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by consumer1honesty
by consumer1honesty

I bought this and after the 3 hours of assembly (have a friend help if possible) I was impressed with the look and sturdiness of this grill. That wasn't what I wanted to tell people about - I needed to know how it cooked. Fantastic!! I have the turkey fryer from Charbroil, so I am used to the ignore while cooking method. It is a one flip cooking system. Frozen burgers will take about 5 - 7 minutes. Chicken on the bone with be done in half the time, so be ready to change your cooking style and save money on gas used during the summer. Seals in the juice, and cooks fast. Read the instructions and look up some recipes on line for IR cooking and you won't be disappointed. No cooking with big flames, but there will be smoke (which adds to the flavor) Clean up is a breeze.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
consumer1honesty
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It gets the job done.
7/16/2014

Customer review by SteakFiend

2.0 stars 7/16/2014 by SteakFiend
by SteakFiend
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Honestly I had higher expectations of this grill. I recently got rid of my entry level cheap grill to replace it with this grill which was supposed to be slightly nicer (double the price of my old grill.) Pros: -Not overly expensive -grill top heats evenly -hard to burn anything on this grill -cooks food throughout without even having to flip it, allowing the juices to stay in the meet -Seems fairly solid constructions Cons: -This grill has one temperature----hot. Adjusting the burner height makes no difference in how much and how the heat is dispersed on this grill top. This grill more or less cooks using heat, not a flame -you cannot sear a steak on this thing - although in general i like the infrared heat, i also like to sear a steak a bit and have reason for open flame from time to time, this grill doesn't allow for that, also making it difficult not to cook meat well-done. I prefer my steaks medium with a sear on the outside, impossible to cook it that way on this grill i swear. Had no problems with my old cheap grill doing this every time. -Ignition sometimes takes 10 sparks to start flame, at times requiring you to shut off the gas, let the grill sit so the released propane goes away, and then retrying in a couple minutes. This is my biggest problem with this grill. For a brand new grill it seems odd that their pre-installed ignition doesn't work better. my old dirt cheap grill after 5 years still took a maximum of three presses of the ignition to light the burners. this grill consistently tests your nerves and willingness to play with fire. Dangerous if you get the wrong guy working with it. All in all the grill works, but is definitely not what i was hoping for. I would not recommend this grill for the reasons listed above. I didnt rate it terrible because it isn't the worst grill out there I'm sure, but seriously, i could have gotten a better grill for half the price. Fairly disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/21/2014

We're very sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want you to be able to take advantage of all that your TRU-Infrared grill has to offer. When your steak is put on your grill, is it still frozen or has it been thawed out? If frozen, this could cause the searing issue. Please make sure that the electrodes are within a quarter of an inch from the port holes in the burners so that the spark can carry over properly. Please give us a call at your earliest convenience. Our phone number is 1-800-241-7548 and our knowledgeable grill service specialists will be more than happy to best assist you.

SteakFiend
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to assemble-well packaged!
3/24/2014

Customer review by srclex1

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by srclex1
by srclex1

My wife decided to purchase this for our second story deck. I have had a few char-broil products and they have improved over time. This one was extremely well packaged and went together in a couple of hours. I only needed help seating the top portion of the grill onto the base-other than that I did the job alone. We have yet to use it for cooking but it is sturdier and better looking than the one I use down in the yard. We have only owned it for 2 days but I am sure we will get good use. We always use the yard grill but until the pool is open we will use this one...You cannot beat the quality for the cost - I like the individual thermometers although I am quite skeptical as to how accurate they'll be since all three do point into the main cooking area. To me, common sense indicates higher flame = higher temp etc. I have experimented with indirect heat cooking on these type of grills and it is fun seeing what you can do. On this model, the grates are much different than on my 'older' charbroil and the heating element seems to be much easier to replace when the time eventually arrives. Overall it is sturdy and looks good. Time will tell-worth the buy for the buck at the very least.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
srclex1
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/8/2013

Customer review by SunshineApril1979

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by SunshineApril1979
by SunshineApril1979
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it!!! Made pork chops on the grill and since there is less flare ups the chops were juicy and cooked perfectly even!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunshineApril1979
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BEST GRILL MONEY CAN BUY/WELL BUILD AND QUALITY
1/27/2013

Customer review by BOOSTV6

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by BOOSTV6
by BOOSTV6

I AM VERY HAPPY WITH MY BUY. GREAT BUILD VERY DURABLE ON BURNERS STAINLESS STEEL EASY TO CLEAN. GOTTA LOVE THE TRU-INFRARED FOR WELL COOKED PLUS JUICYNESS IN EVERY MEAT COOKED ON THIS GRILL. I LOVE THE TEMPERATURE GAUGES FOR EACH BURNER ON IT WHICH IS SMART AND GREAT TO MONITOR THE TEMPERATURES. YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH CHAR-BROIL SPECIALLY THIS GRILL FOR TRUE AND PROFESSIONAL GRILLING. LOVE IT :)

Was this review helpful? (83) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BOOSTV6
TORRANCE C.A
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
3/18/2013

Customer review by shinobe559

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by shinobe559
by shinobe559
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this grill cooked everything from chicken, country style ribs, tri tip and burgers all t the same time with no flare ups. Probably best grill I've ever purchased

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shinobe559
Tulare,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So Far So Good
9/2/2014

Customer review by Infrared2000

5.0 stars 9/2/2014 by Infrared2000
by Infrared2000

Purchased this grill on Labor day weekend after researching just about every grill under 300.00 bucks. First infrared grill Ive owned or cooked on, took a little practice grilling meats less than well done since it heats up and cooks so fast. Sharp looks got plenty of compliments from party goers and even neighbors. Front door was slightly bent, Char Broil happily sent out a replacement and even registered the grill for me (called 800 number provided on other reviews) Would purchase again if stolen (I got my eye on you Jim ;) )

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Infrared2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I have only used the grill once but it is great.
3/15/2013

Customer review by catfish5

5.0 stars 3/15/2013 by catfish5
by catfish5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have only used the grill once but it performed excellent. Started up and preheated fast without wasted propane. No flare up. Cooked the steaks in 1/2 the time of my old grill. Seems very efficient. Assembly is not easy but I think all grills are similar. Seemed to work well in the wind.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
catfish5
Hammond, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 250 total reviews
1-20 of 250 reviews