Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 193 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

193 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

193 reviews | 3 out of 5

54%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
37
3 stars
15
2 stars
22
1 stars
61
1-20 of 192 total reviews
54%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 192 total reviews
1-20 of 192 reviews
Poorly Designed
12/15/2014

Customer review by Chester

1.0 stars 12/15/2014 by Chester
by Chester

I had a Poulan for years and loved it. I used it both for blowing and vacuuming. After years of hard use, I had to replace it and the Poulon Pro was what was available. This new machine was a huge disappointment. Apparently the designers never actually use their product or heard of the engineering principle of "don't fix it if it ain't broke".. These are my main criticisms; 1) A "U" tube bag insert which is extremely difficult to insert and remove and is ergonomically unfriendly. 2) A bag that zips halfway (??) so that it can only be emptied by pulling out the contents by hand. 3) The bag straps failed prematurely. 4) The gas cap leaks (from day one). 5) A shutoff switch which rather than properly placed is overly protected making it difficult to engage. Any machine can handle blowing, but vacuuming is hard enough without a machine that is cumbersome and difficult to use. My Pro is only a few years old but I may replace it soon with a model that I don't have to fight with every use.

Chester
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gas powered blower/vac
12/5/2013

Customer review by Pope

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by Pope
by Pope

My unit is a BVM200FE. This blower performs very well and is easy to use. Starting is user friendly, gas fill is easy. With the see thru tank it is easy to see the fuel volume. I have a BVM200LE that stopped running, I did the normal disassemble and clean the carb, cleaned the fuel tank and installed new fuel lines. I found the bolts that hold the cylinder to the main engine housing has come loose after 8 years of use. There was not enough compression for the engine to run. After tightening the bolts the blower fired up and runs like new. The quality and performance of the LE blower was the reason to purchase my latest blower the FE model. I now have two great blowers to help me maintain my property. I have a large property in the woods with large trees and a huge volume of leaves. This Poulan Pro blowers really get the job done. I also have a back and hand injury and find this blower very easy to use for extended periods. I do prefer the blower tube on the LE blower as it is a bit more user friendly.

Pope
Pottstown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Multiple design issues
11/9/2014

Customer review by griffrf

2.0 stars 11/9/2014 by griffrf
by griffrf

There are multiple design issues with this blower/vacuum. The first issue is that it is hard to start. The second issue is that if the cap for the fuel tank in not tightened as absolutely tightly as possible fuel will leak from the opening if the device is held in any position except with the fuel cap pointing upward. The third, and to me the most major, issue is the vacuum design and usability. The quality of the strap and the bag are sub-standard. The strap broke within the first 30 seconds of use and the bag tore within 5 minutes of use. The lower vacuum tube does not fit securely into the upper vacuum tube and kept falling out. I had to duct tape it to keep it together. Emptying the bag is very difficult because the zipper opening is too small to allow the collected leaves to fall out of the bag. You literally have to dig the leaves out of the bag. And lastly, because of the manner in which the elbow tube comes out of the body the unit is very difficult to handle when vacuuming. Using this product for leaf collection was extremely frustrating and not worth the effort or price. I would not recommend this product.

griffrf
Stallings
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Decent but Heavy
11/26/2012

Customer review by Art800

3.0 stars 11/26/2012 by Art800
by Art800

Definitely stronger in blowing leafs around than my electric blower. However, it is not designed to be held with Two arms. My electric blower has a grip in the Front of the blower and the rear of the blower. Poulon blower only has 1 grip (handle). So its get rather heavy after awhile. The good thing, it cut about 1/3 of my time blowing the leaves compared to my electric blower because of the power. The problem was not starting the blower,rather, maintain the blower speed and felocity. When you initally start it, it is blowing at maximum speed. If you accidentally, hit the button underneath the handle, it slows the speed down and it will never blow as fast as it does when it initally starts. The button is the throttle control. So the two issues is the weight and if the throttle button is pressed , it never reaches the blower power as inital start.

Art800
New York
Gender:Male
Trouble Starting
10/6/2014

Customer review by Ironhorse

2.0 stars 10/6/2014 by Ironhorse
by Ironhorse

Out of the box started & worked great. After about 1 hour of use put in garage for several weeks before trying again. Would not start, noted fuel was not showing in the primer bulb. Have since replaced fuel filter, primer bulb, checked fuel lines, now only get a small amount of fuel in the primer bulb & some fuel being returned to the fuel tank, still won't start. Then I cleaned carb, passages, screen etc, same results. I suspect a carb kit would fix. If you desire to publish this review feel free to delete any or all of the following. Since a carb kit retail cost is approx 1/3 cost of a blower it is not feasible for me to take the chance. Could you furnish me with a kit? I am well qualified to perform this work since I have decades of experience with internal combustion engines from locomotives, automobiles down to small 2 cycle engines.

Ironhorse
Woodstock
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
This Product has been Reliable....so far!
8/19/2014

Customer review by mikeejenee

4.0 stars 8/19/2014 by mikeejenee
by mikeejenee

The blower so far, has been reliable....no problems with starting, running, and doing the job it is supposed to do. However, I would make the following comments: 1. The blower is a little on the heavy side. 2. The blower ‘add-on’ nozzle actually appears to reduce the air pressure from the blower when fitted. The blower is more effective without this part. 3. Having used Poulan/Weedeater products in the past, one of the main problem areas has been with the gas tube connections at the gas tank. These have leaked and allowed gas to escape from the tank. It seems to me that this problem will reoccur in the future with the tank connections that exist on my blower. I think that two lugs permanently fitted to the tank (one for the incoming and one for the outgoing gas tubes) would resolve this problem. Sincerely, Michael Ford.

mikeejenee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not built to last
12/4/2012

Customer review by Zebra22

2.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Zebra22
by Zebra22

Bought this unit to replace a 10 year old Weed Eater blower that finally died. This model wouldn't start one day and needed a carb rebuild after only 8 months of use which is NOT covered by the 2 year warranty. Spent $89 having the carb rebuilt by an authorized Poulan/Weed eater dealer which is close to what a paid for the unit new. I will buy a better unit the next time this breaks. .

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zebra22
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Poor Blower , etc !
7/4/2013

Customer review by scooby

1.0 stars 7/4/2013 by scooby
by scooby

I am done with POULAN! In the last couple of years i have had two (2) poulan chainsaws quit on me, and now my poulan leaf blower. When I took it to a repair shop and told them what I had he said " the yellow one? they've had a lot of problems with the pistons in those. After calling the customer service line he said the standard things..."the ethanol in the gas..you didn't use enough oil...we haven't had any problems...bla, bla, bla." I explained to him I use premium gas and always use a little extra of the more expensive synthetic 2 stroke oil. I also drain the gas each fall so it doesn't go "bad" over the winter. This was always hard to start and after it warmed up it wouldn't retsart untill it cooled down, but now it's dead! So here's a thought...lets design these to work with ethanol in the gas, etc. etc. etc.!

scooby
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I've had this blower for 3 years
3/30/2013

Customer review by Phil54

2.0 stars 3/30/2013 by Phil54
by Phil54

I've had my BVM200VS unit for three years. When I first got it, I had to use duct tape around the base of the blower tube so that it would fasten tightly into the housing (otherwise it would fall out even when tightened). I also had to put a screw through the two parts of the vac tube to keep them together or otherwise one part would fall off. This worked OK and I used it for two years. Today (3/30/13) I went to use it and the fuel filter was in the bottom of the fuel tank. Apparently the fuel line had decayed and the filter came off. I tried to re-insert the filter into the remaining tube and the tube tore each time. I do not see fuel line replacement parts on the web site. I bought a Poulan because I had heard they made good products but I will not buy another one.

Phil54
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Bag Redesign Needed
10/22/2014

Customer review by Stacks

3.0 stars 10/22/2014 by Stacks
by Stacks

I have had this blower/vac for 3 years now and it starts perfectly every time (if you follow the directions). It has great power, so that helps get the job done quicker. The one item I would change (and require for the next one I buy), is that the zipper needs to extend across the entire bottom of the bag. The zipper ends 3 to 4 inches from one of the sides and is a pain to empty. It creates almost a funnel effect and requires you to reach your hand in the bag every time you need to empty. After 3 years of use, I need to replace the vacuum blade flywheel. It is made of plastic (it is durable) but it does wear out. I am hoping it is not too expensive!! I would purchase this again if they changed the bag design.

Stacks
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good blower/vac but vacuum bag needs help
12/11/2012

Customer review by Handyman65

4.0 stars 12/11/2012 by Handyman65
by Handyman65

I have owned Poulon Pro blowers for years and have had very good service from them. My 6 year old blower is still going strong but decided to buy another one so I could use as a vacuum to mulch and bag all the leaves in my yard. While it does an excellent job of vacuuming and mulching the leaves, the catch bag just does not cut it. It fills up very fast but the problem I am having is when I empty the bag the zipper will only open the bottom of the bag 3/4 open, the zipper simply is not big enough. This makes emptying the bag very difficult and frustrating. Poulon Pro needs to come up with a bag that has a full length zipper that will make it easy to empty out. Other than that, it is an excellent product.

Handyman65
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
nice blower after you...
3/3/2015

Customer review by jefslanscpe117

4.0 stars 3/3/2015 by jefslanscpe117
by jefslanscpe117

I've read enough reviews about the bvs200. Igot mine a week ago ,brought it home,started but wouldn't get running full throttle. Took it back, got another one,same thing. So heres what you gotta do . You have to turn the low idle adj. on top of the carb,1/8 turn counterclockwise.I usually don't do this until the unit starts to run sluggishly( 6 mo. - 9 mo. after purchase#.Ive had ryobis for the past 8 yrs. and got tired of doing this ritual, butt,alas this is how they all run. so quit killing yourself with all their recommendations, and turn the low idle #if you look youll see an "L" by it. turn it 1/8 turn c/clockwise and listen to it purr. your welcome!

jefslanscpe117
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Having issues at full throttle
2/7/2013

Customer review by Tito14

2.0 stars 2/7/2013 by Tito14
by Tito14

I had to purchase a new blower after my 2 yr poulan didn't want to start anymore. I bought a new one over the summer and it started up easily but started having problems when I would give it full throttle. It would bog down and actually wouldn't run properly at full throttle. I would have to run it with the choke on and it would run at full throttle for a little while. So I brought it back to the blue home improvement store and they exchange it for me in October. However had the same problem, it would not run at full throttle. This is a very inexpensive blower and I don't expect it to last forever but I would hope that I could get a couple of years of flawless use out of it.

Tito14
Oviedo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Very Good machine no problems
7/10/2015

Customer review by Phantm

4.0 stars 7/10/2015 by Phantm
by Phantm

I have had this 25cc blower for approx. 4 years. I have found it to be easy starting if you follow the starting procedure. I am in Canada and I use the blower in the summer for the drive and sidewalk and in the winter for blowing light snow off my cars never had a problem getting it started. It is stored in an unheated garage and it will still fire up in the freezing weather I have no major complaint with this machine at all. I did notice that using it as a vacuum it appears the impeller could be worn down fairly quick. For me that is not a problem as I use the vacuum very little.

Phantm
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Absolute junk!!!!
4/8/2014

Customer review by djchrisa

1.0 stars 4/8/2014 by djchrisa
by djchrisa

Ok, I purchased my first blower 3 years ago and it started fine for about 2 mos. Then the starting trouble started. Once it was warmed up if you shut it off and then tried to restart it wouldn't. Then it just got harder to start every time. To the point that I pulled it so much the pull start broke. So, stupid me, I went out and bought the same model thinking I just got a bad one or I was doing something wrong. I made sure I kept everything clean, mixed the gas properly and just overall took very good care of it. Guess what? The same thing with this one!!! Now it's spring time and I need to go buy another blower!!! I WILL NOT EVER BUY ANOTHER POULAN PRODUCT!!!!!!!

djchrisa
nanticoke, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
The EPA is hurting Poulans reputation
8/25/2012

Customer review by Eddie

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by Eddie
by Eddie

This product is a terrific value for its features and performance. I like the design of the blower housing and the engine performance. It is light weight and balances easily in your hand. I do not have to run it at full throttle to get the job done. I especially like the trigger throttle control. It starts easily every time. However, It would not run properly from the factory. I purchased a jet adjusting tool and richened the mixture on both the low and high speed jets. Wow what a difference a well adjusted carburetor makes. The EPA demands on emissions for your products are making customers very unhappy. My poulan chainsaws benefitted from the same jet adjustments.

Eddie
Lewis Center
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This product fell short of expectations.
10/22/2012

Customer review by roy53

1.0 stars 10/22/2012 by roy53
by roy53

I recieved a reconditioned Poulan Pro BVM200VS on 9/13/12 as a gift from relatives. I made the mistake of not getting the receipt to register it and my 30 day warrenty expired before I opened the box. Everything looked fine, I assembled it, put in the proper oil/gas mix and started it up. It ran fine for about five minutes, then lost power and died. Put a new sparkplug in and it started right up. Again it lost power and quit. After reading the manual it appears I have to have the carburetor adjusted by a authorized dealer because it takes a special tool. It is going to be $20.00 just to have them look at it. At this point I would not recommend this product for use.

roy53
Niles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Waste of Money!
11/16/2013

Customer review by Principal

1.0 stars 11/16/2013 by Principal
by Principal

i purchased the Poulan Pro BVM200VS at the end of the summer 2013 to replace a TroyBilt Blower I had used for several years. My first mistake was to buy this product, my second mistake was to keep the stupid thing! The blower will start pretty good the first time you start it up for a use. After that it is a comedy of product. It stops running when the gas tank gets about half full. It just stops. So you gas it up and then try to restart it. Good luck with that. You will end up waiting for about 30 minutes before it will start again. Then you run out of gas in a very short amount of time and repeat the process. I will never buy a Poulan product again.

Principal
Would recommend to a friend? No
poulan pro blower bvm200fe
1/30/2014

Customer review by Jack41

1.0 stars 1/30/2014 by Jack41
by Jack41

I purchased this blower on Nov. 10, 2013. It did well for about 2 times using. This product starts well after it sits on the shelf for awhile. It starts good at first then after running for 10mins or longer it must sit for 30mins to 1hr before it will start again. I have a 2 yr old polan blower similar model. After rebuilding the carberator and replacing the desolve fuel lines. It is more reliable than the new one. I have figured out that they both do well if the gas tank is only 1/3 full. A full tank and it will not start. Also the new MUST be primed before it will start even after use. You have a problem with the fuel system and carb. I

Jack41
Bixby
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Good blower but the vacuum has limitations.
12/12/2012

Customer review by whjunior

3.0 stars 12/12/2012 by whjunior
by whjunior

First, the unit could be easier to start. At least once I gave up and picked up a rake. The blower is very effective. The suction tubes that came with the unit would not stay together; however, a call to customer service and I received replacements very quickly. The bag is way too small, and difficult to empty. I had a cheaper electric unit years ago, and its bag was about twice as big. Twigs are a problem when vacuuming. They can easily block the tube and make a lot of noice when they slip through the unit. Unfortunately, most trees with leaves also have twigs. Overall, it is a pretty good blower, but the vacuuming function has limitations.

whjunior
Hendersonville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 192 total reviews
1-20 of 192 reviews