Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 193 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

193 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

193 reviews | 3 out of 5

54%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
37
3 stars
15
2 stars
22
1 stars
61
1-20 of 192 total reviews
54%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 192 total reviews
1-20 of 192 reviews
Poorly Designed
12/15/2014

Customer review by Chester

1.0 stars 12/15/2014 by Chester
by Chester

I had a Poulan for years and loved it. I used it both for blowing and vacuuming. After years of hard use, I had to replace it and the Poulon Pro was what was available. This new machine was a huge disappointment. Apparently the designers never actually use their product or heard of the engineering principle of "don't fix it if it ain't broke".. These are my main criticisms; 1) A "U" tube bag insert which is extremely difficult to insert and remove and is ergonomically unfriendly. 2) A bag that zips halfway (??) so that it can only be emptied by pulling out the contents by hand. 3) The bag straps failed prematurely. 4) The gas cap leaks (from day one). 5) A shutoff switch which rather than properly placed is overly protected making it difficult to engage. Any machine can handle blowing, but vacuuming is hard enough without a machine that is cumbersome and difficult to use. My Pro is only a few years old but I may replace it soon with a model that I don't have to fight with every use.

Chester
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gas powered blower/vac
12/5/2013

Customer review by Pope

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by Pope
by Pope

My unit is a BVM200FE. This blower performs very well and is easy to use. Starting is user friendly, gas fill is easy. With the see thru tank it is easy to see the fuel volume. I have a BVM200LE that stopped running, I did the normal disassemble and clean the carb, cleaned the fuel tank and installed new fuel lines. I found the bolts that hold the cylinder to the main engine housing has come loose after 8 years of use. There was not enough compression for the engine to run. After tightening the bolts the blower fired up and runs like new. The quality and performance of the LE blower was the reason to purchase my latest blower the FE model. I now have two great blowers to help me maintain my property. I have a large property in the woods with large trees and a huge volume of leaves. This Poulan Pro blowers really get the job done. I also have a back and hand injury and find this blower very easy to use for extended periods. I do prefer the blower tube on the LE blower as it is a bit more user friendly.

Pope
Pottstown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Multiple design issues
11/9/2014

Customer review by griffrf

2.0 stars 11/9/2014 by griffrf
by griffrf

There are multiple design issues with this blower/vacuum. The first issue is that it is hard to start. The second issue is that if the cap for the fuel tank in not tightened as absolutely tightly as possible fuel will leak from the opening if the device is held in any position except with the fuel cap pointing upward. The third, and to me the most major, issue is the vacuum design and usability. The quality of the strap and the bag are sub-standard. The strap broke within the first 30 seconds of use and the bag tore within 5 minutes of use. The lower vacuum tube does not fit securely into the upper vacuum tube and kept falling out. I had to duct tape it to keep it together. Emptying the bag is very difficult because the zipper opening is too small to allow the collected leaves to fall out of the bag. You literally have to dig the leaves out of the bag. And lastly, because of the manner in which the elbow tube comes out of the body the unit is very difficult to handle when vacuuming. Using this product for leaf collection was extremely frustrating and not worth the effort or price. I would not recommend this product.

griffrf
Stallings
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Trouble Starting
10/6/2014

Customer review by Ironhorse

2.0 stars 10/6/2014 by Ironhorse
by Ironhorse

Out of the box started & worked great. After about 1 hour of use put in garage for several weeks before trying again. Would not start, noted fuel was not showing in the primer bulb. Have since replaced fuel filter, primer bulb, checked fuel lines, now only get a small amount of fuel in the primer bulb & some fuel being returned to the fuel tank, still won't start. Then I cleaned carb, passages, screen etc, same results. I suspect a carb kit would fix. If you desire to publish this review feel free to delete any or all of the following. Since a carb kit retail cost is approx 1/3 cost of a blower it is not feasible for me to take the chance. Could you furnish me with a kit? I am well qualified to perform this work since I have decades of experience with internal combustion engines from locomotives, automobiles down to small 2 cycle engines.

Ironhorse
Woodstock
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Decent but Heavy
11/26/2012

Customer review by Art800

3.0 stars 11/26/2012 by Art800
by Art800

Definitely stronger in blowing leafs around than my electric blower. However, it is not designed to be held with Two arms. My electric blower has a grip in the Front of the blower and the rear of the blower. Poulon blower only has 1 grip (handle). So its get rather heavy after awhile. The good thing, it cut about 1/3 of my time blowing the leaves compared to my electric blower because of the power. The problem was not starting the blower,rather, maintain the blower speed and felocity. When you initally start it, it is blowing at maximum speed. If you accidentally, hit the button underneath the handle, it slows the speed down and it will never blow as fast as it does when it initally starts. The button is the throttle control. So the two issues is the weight and if the throttle button is pressed , it never reaches the blower power as inital start.

Art800
New York
Gender:Male
This Product has been Reliable....so far!
8/19/2014

Customer review by mikeejenee

4.0 stars 8/19/2014 by mikeejenee
by mikeejenee

The blower so far, has been reliable....no problems with starting, running, and doing the job it is supposed to do. However, I would make the following comments: 1. The blower is a little on the heavy side. 2. The blower ‘add-on’ nozzle actually appears to reduce the air pressure from the blower when fitted. The blower is more effective without this part. 3. Having used Poulan/Weedeater products in the past, one of the main problem areas has been with the gas tube connections at the gas tank. These have leaked and allowed gas to escape from the tank. It seems to me that this problem will reoccur in the future with the tank connections that exist on my blower. I think that two lugs permanently fitted to the tank (one for the incoming and one for the outgoing gas tubes) would resolve this problem. Sincerely, Michael Ford.

mikeejenee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good machine no problems
7/10/2015

Customer review by Phantm

4.0 stars 7/10/2015 by Phantm
by Phantm

I have had this 25cc blower for approx. 4 years. I have found it to be easy starting if you follow the starting procedure. I am in Canada and I use the blower in the summer for the drive and sidewalk and in the winter for blowing light snow off my cars never had a problem getting it started. It is stored in an unheated garage and it will still fire up in the freezing weather I have no major complaint with this machine at all. I did notice that using it as a vacuum it appears the impeller could be worn down fairly quick. For me that is not a problem as I use the vacuum very little.

Phantm
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Poor Blower , etc !
7/4/2013

Customer review by scooby

1.0 stars 7/4/2013 by scooby
by scooby

I am done with POULAN! In the last couple of years i have had two (2) poulan chainsaws quit on me, and now my poulan leaf blower. When I took it to a repair shop and told them what I had he said " the yellow one? they've had a lot of problems with the pistons in those. After calling the customer service line he said the standard things..."the ethanol in the gas..you didn't use enough oil...we haven't had any problems...bla, bla, bla." I explained to him I use premium gas and always use a little extra of the more expensive synthetic 2 stroke oil. I also drain the gas each fall so it doesn't go "bad" over the winter. This was always hard to start and after it warmed up it wouldn't retsart untill it cooled down, but now it's dead! So here's a thought...lets design these to work with ethanol in the gas, etc. etc. etc.!

scooby
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
not built to last
12/4/2012

Customer review by Zebra22

2.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Zebra22
by Zebra22

Bought this unit to replace a 10 year old Weed Eater blower that finally died. This model wouldn't start one day and needed a carb rebuild after only 8 months of use which is NOT covered by the 2 year warranty. Spent $89 having the carb rebuilt by an authorized Poulan/Weed eater dealer which is close to what a paid for the unit new. I will buy a better unit the next time this breaks. .

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zebra22
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Can't beleave how bad this blower is.
6/5/2015

Customer review by mark57

1.0 stars 6/5/2015 by mark57
by mark57

I have a bvm200fe that worked great the 1st year and now won't hit a lick. My friend had bought one also a bvm 200sv and the same thing. I now have both in my shop with no hrs on either and can't it to start no mater what. Nether has ever had gas with ethanol in them and we always used your 2 cycle oil. Of course the warranty is out but they look new and never been stored out side. Can someone tell me how they get away with it. Sorry peace of equipment I ever saw. I plan to file a complaint and if it don't work us 4 are going to face book with pics and all.

mark57
salisbury
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Hard start
6/18/2015

Customer review by radiooperator27

1.0 stars 6/18/2015 by radiooperator27
by radiooperator27

I've had this item for about 3/4 years now and have never been able to get it to start easily. In fact most of the time, if I can get it to start at all, I end up with blisters on my fingers from the pull cord. I have a friend who bought the same item and had the same problem. He offered it to me and I thought I might be able to get one of them to start easily---never was able to get his to start. I gave up this morning and decided I'll buy another brand

radiooperator27
South Lyon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
will not start
7/23/2015

Customer review by over85

2.0 stars 7/23/2015 by over85
by over85

always hard to start now ti is 2years old and will NOT start at all. No repair shop will touch it. What do I do with it other than junk it.??????????

over85
Lynnwood WA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I've had this blower for 3 years
3/30/2013

Customer review by Phil54

2.0 stars 3/30/2013 by Phil54
by Phil54

I've had my BVM200VS unit for three years. When I first got it, I had to use duct tape around the base of the blower tube so that it would fasten tightly into the housing (otherwise it would fall out even when tightened). I also had to put a screw through the two parts of the vac tube to keep them together or otherwise one part would fall off. This worked OK and I used it for two years. Today (3/30/13) I went to use it and the fuel filter was in the bottom of the fuel tank. Apparently the fuel line had decayed and the filter came off. I tried to re-insert the filter into the remaining tube and the tube tore each time. I do not see fuel line replacement parts on the web site. I bought a Poulan because I had heard they made good products but I will not buy another one.

Phil54
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
nice blower after you...
3/3/2015

Customer review by jefslanscpe117

4.0 stars 3/3/2015 by jefslanscpe117
by jefslanscpe117

I've read enough reviews about the bvs200. Igot mine a week ago ,brought it home,started but wouldn't get running full throttle. Took it back, got another one,same thing. So heres what you gotta do . You have to turn the low idle adj. on top of the carb,1/8 turn counterclockwise.I usually don't do this until the unit starts to run sluggishly( 6 mo. - 9 mo. after purchase#.Ive had ryobis for the past 8 yrs. and got tired of doing this ritual, butt,alas this is how they all run. so quit killing yourself with all their recommendations, and turn the low idle #if you look youll see an "L" by it. turn it 1/8 turn c/clockwise and listen to it purr. your welcome!

jefslanscpe117
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poulan Pro 200
7/1/2015

Customer review by Albert68

1.0 stars 7/1/2015 by Albert68
by Albert68

Just like other comments, worked fine first year and fuel line deteriorating in gas tank, thought this would solve problem of non starts, didn't, just completely frustrated with Poulan and this cheap product.

Albert68
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bag Redesign Needed
10/22/2014

Customer review by Stacks

3.0 stars 10/22/2014 by Stacks
by Stacks

I have had this blower/vac for 3 years now and it starts perfectly every time (if you follow the directions). It has great power, so that helps get the job done quicker. The one item I would change (and require for the next one I buy), is that the zipper needs to extend across the entire bottom of the bag. The zipper ends 3 to 4 inches from one of the sides and is a pain to empty. It creates almost a funnel effect and requires you to reach your hand in the bag every time you need to empty. After 3 years of use, I need to replace the vacuum blade flywheel. It is made of plastic (it is durable) but it does wear out. I am hoping it is not too expensive!! I would purchase this again if they changed the bag design.

Stacks
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Poulan Leaf Blower / Vac
6/13/2015

Customer review by weedman

1.0 stars 6/13/2015 by weedman
by weedman

Had my leaf blower just about a 18 months . live in Michigan so I only use it maybe 4 months out of the year 3 days a week . Will not start < changed plug and always use fresh fuel mix . Tried to fire up without success. Saw this on other reviews Very dissapointing !!! Went out and bought another brand for Fathers Day.

weedman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good blower/vac but vacuum bag needs help
12/11/2012

Customer review by Handyman65

4.0 stars 12/11/2012 by Handyman65
by Handyman65

I have owned Poulon Pro blowers for years and have had very good service from them. My 6 year old blower is still going strong but decided to buy another one so I could use as a vacuum to mulch and bag all the leaves in my yard. While it does an excellent job of vacuuming and mulching the leaves, the catch bag just does not cut it. It fills up very fast but the problem I am having is when I empty the bag the zipper will only open the bottom of the bag 3/4 open, the zipper simply is not big enough. This makes emptying the bag very difficult and frustrating. Poulon Pro needs to come up with a bag that has a full length zipper that will make it easy to empty out. Other than that, it is an excellent product.

Handyman65
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Having issues at full throttle
2/7/2013

Customer review by Tito14

2.0 stars 2/7/2013 by Tito14
by Tito14

I had to purchase a new blower after my 2 yr poulan didn't want to start anymore. I bought a new one over the summer and it started up easily but started having problems when I would give it full throttle. It would bog down and actually wouldn't run properly at full throttle. I would have to run it with the choke on and it would run at full throttle for a little while. So I brought it back to the blue home improvement store and they exchange it for me in October. However had the same problem, it would not run at full throttle. This is a very inexpensive blower and I don't expect it to last forever but I would hope that I could get a couple of years of flawless use out of it.

Tito14
Oviedo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Absolute junk!!!!
4/8/2014

Customer review by djchrisa

1.0 stars 4/8/2014 by djchrisa
by djchrisa

Ok, I purchased my first blower 3 years ago and it started fine for about 2 mos. Then the starting trouble started. Once it was warmed up if you shut it off and then tried to restart it wouldn't. Then it just got harder to start every time. To the point that I pulled it so much the pull start broke. So, stupid me, I went out and bought the same model thinking I just got a bad one or I was doing something wrong. I made sure I kept everything clean, mixed the gas properly and just overall took very good care of it. Guess what? The same thing with this one!!! Now it's spring time and I need to go buy another blower!!! I WILL NOT EVER BUY ANOTHER POULAN PRODUCT!!!!!!!

djchrisa
nanticoke, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 192 total reviews
1-20 of 192 reviews