Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

23 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

23 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 23 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Yes, Black and Decker makes Grills too!
6/22/2013

Customer review by MikeP

4.0 stars 6/22/2013 by MikeP
by MikeP

I bought this about a month ago after seeing it on sale. I was impressed with the grates for cooking, and too be honest it was the price point versus value and it worked for me. I've used it about 15 times so far, really impressed how it handles itself. My neighbour went out and bought a grill at twice the price and he's jealous of mine!!! I always make amazing steaks, but with the 5500, I'm making them better then ever!! My only complaint was I had it delivered, since it was too big for my car, the delivery or warehouse guys might have roughed it up a bit because one of the door panels is dented lightly, nothing that affects the barbecue, but it was a little annoying. Definitely would recommend

MikeP
Oshawa, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice bbq
4/21/2013

Customer review by Peanut99

4.0 stars 4/21/2013 by Peanut99
by Peanut99

Just had the BBQ and built it on my own in an hour. for the price, it is looking good and durable. The side burner heat very quicly and can be a good second cooking area. The secondary grill plate is easy to remove. The easy ignition is great. Let's see how many years it last. With 60,000 BTU for main cooking area spread over 5 burner, you can cook at different temperature. After 30 minutes, it touch 650 which is fine ( not 700...but ok). B and D is a good brand and here to last. T-Bone time!

Peanut99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good buy
4/13/2014

Customer review by Girard05

4.0 stars 4/13/2014 by Girard05
by Girard05
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've only used the BBQ once but it worked very well although took long to put together. Used the rotisorary, worked very well and chicken was delicious! Very good buy, got it 50% off definitely worth your money!

Girard05
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
5/6/2014

Customer review by AnnieOakley41

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by AnnieOakley41
by AnnieOakley41
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this on sale and we absolutely love it! The burners are easy to turn, the grill is fabulous and the rotisserie is a great feature.

AnnieOakley41
Small town Saskatchewan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for the price !
5/7/2014

Customer review by Rsch

5.0 stars 5/7/2014 by Rsch
by Rsch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this BBQ on sale and are extremely pleased with it. It is everything we expected and more.

Rsch
London, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
bad instructions
6/25/2014

Customer review by south

3.0 stars 6/25/2014 by south
by south

My husband love the table but the instructions were not that good.

south
aylmer quebec
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
Great BBQ
4/30/2014

Customer review by Jennygirl207

5.0 stars 4/30/2014 by Jennygirl207
by Jennygirl207
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great BBQ well worth the price and it being on sale was more better

Jennygirl207
Brampton, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I expected from Black & Decker
5/12/2013

Customer review by Bill292

2.0 stars 5/12/2013 by Bill292
by Bill292
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Now that I have it assembled and discarded all the packaging, I have noticed a couple defects that I would have returned the grill for had I seen them earlier. The cover has a large chip out of the enamel finish (about the size of a dime). That's bad enough, but it has been had touch up paint carelessly put over the chip in a poor attempt to hide it. That means they knew about it at the factory and decided to send trash out anyhow. Nice job B & D! The other defect wasn't noted until the grill was completely assembled because the knobs go on last. The knob for the searing station does not fit the shaft. To get it to go on I would have to bang on it with a hammer. Who knows how that might effect the valve.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill292
Hallstead, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This Grill Exceeded my expectations!!
4/18/2013

Customer review by ChefRocky

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by ChefRocky
by ChefRocky

I was a bit afraid of ordering online without being able to see and feel my new purchase but the specs and the Black and Decker name eased my concerns. I was impressed with the timely delivery and the two courteous drivers who called ahead to schedule and took it right to my back yard where the assembly was surprisingly easy. A screwdriver was included and the only tool needed! The box was a little beat up but everything inside was fine. I had to twist the stainless steel doors a little to align properly and impressed myself in doing so! I actually had fun watching it come together so quickly. I didn't think I would be cooking that night at first glance of the detailed instruction manual but I was ready with the steaks for dinner before my wife was! The high temperature chars the outside while keeping the juices inside, just how used to cook them when I worked as a broiler chef at the Holiday Inn and Hoffman House restaurants. This Grill is everything I expected and more!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChefRocky
Carmichael, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
happy with my grill
4/17/2013

Customer review by oldcamper1

5.0 stars 4/17/2013 by oldcamper1
by oldcamper1

I found my new grill easy to assemble and was able to use it the day it arrived. The side burner is a welcome addition and allows the whole meal to be cooked in one place. I am happy that I purchased a larger grill which better fits my needs.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldcamper1
clayton,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
5/10/2013

Customer review by sweetlittlething

5.0 stars 5/10/2013 by sweetlittlething
by sweetlittlething
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After owning many grills over the years I think I have found a winner.It is simple to use and has all the features I have always wanted in one. I was impressed with Wal-Marts fast shipping and they even assembled the grill for me at no cost to me. My husband even likes making a quick burger on it and its so easy to clean- just burn it off and brush if necessary.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sweetlittlething
central wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great BBQ for the price
5/10/2013

Customer review by BBQguruBKLYN

5.0 stars 5/10/2013 by BBQguruBKLYN
by BBQguruBKLYN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

5 burners,side searing burner, rotisserie kit(motor,spit,and forks) included! I wanted to pick it up at my nearest Walmart(about 22 miles away each way) but it was faster to have it delivered. The delivery cost was only $15. and change which would have been almost what it would have cost me for gas to get there and back.Used it yesterday for the first time....(2 burners to do about 15 chicken legs). I cooked them on low/medium and they started to burn.Turned it down as low as it could go. Very high heat(thermometer read almost 400 degrees).Awesome for only using 2 burners on low! The only negative I can say about this grill is that the metal(in and around the propane compartment) is a bit flimsy. Should have been thicker guage.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BBQguruBKLYN
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good cooking qualities, instr. need improvement
6/11/2014

Customer review by HBNL

4.0 stars 6/11/2014 by HBNL
by HBNL

We have only had this BBQ a short time and it seems to be of good quality. However, the manual indicates that the estimated assembly time is 35 minutes. It is actually more like 3 to 4 hours. We had difficulty locating some of the parts since some of the smaller parts were packaged inside others. Also some parts were already in place and this was not indicated. Some of the pictures in the illustrated parts list were confusing since there is no indication of the sizes of the parts. We recommend that the parts themselves be labelled (on the parts) or packaging. The bolts that were listed as being preassembled on one of the parts were missing. When I called for replacements they sent a complete hardware kit and it took approximately a month for it to arrive (it wasn't shipped until about 2 weeks after we called). All in all, I think we are going to like the product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HBNL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/28/2013

Customer review by apmwd1

3.0 stars 5/28/2013 by apmwd1
by apmwd1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a nice grill for the money, but it could use some up grades. The sheet metal used is very light gauge and should be thicker. The assembly was easy with the way they had the pre- taped nuts in the joint areas with no nuts to hold or wrenches. The curved bar right in the bottom half could go away if metal was thicker. The last thing is the rod for rotisserie should be one piece. I have used it four times and the cooking surface is good and heat disturdution is very good had it all the way up to 550 degree to brake it in. Purchased this on line/ did not have in store.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
apmwd1
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very cheaply made
5/20/2013

Customer review by sallies

1.0 stars 5/20/2013 by sallies
by sallies
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When we picked up our package at Walmart, the box had dents and rips in it. We probably should have left it there. My husband got the entire grill together with many parts being dented. The grill doors were very flimsy and it was definitely cheaply made. We took it back to Walmart assembled and not in the original packaging but they were fine with giving us a refund. We won't buy another grill before seeing it constructed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sallies
Cumberland, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great grill for the money
6/16/2013

Customer review by j73alb

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by j73alb
by j73alb

It took about an hour to assemble. Came with a few minor scuffs and dings. Nothing noticeable. I've used it three times in the last three weeks. It gets hot quickly and cooks evenly. For the price, you can't beat the features! If you want better quality, upgrades, etc. then spend more money on a more expensive grill. I am very happy with this grill so far!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
j73alb
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best BBQ I have had yet
5/8/2013

Customer review by curt4x4

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by curt4x4
by curt4x4

Easy to put together, good quality, lots of space to cook for a big family and love the steak searing burner and rotisserie.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
curt4x4
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/16/2013

Customer review by foolishpleasure123

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by foolishpleasure123
by foolishpleasure123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

wow the product is outstanding however the shipping was not so good had some minor damage

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
foolishpleasure123
Jacksonville, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disapointed
4/4/2013

Customer review by wwshoper

2.0 stars 4/4/2013 by wwshoper
by wwshoper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The grille arrived damaged and missing parts. Even though the manufacture was very helpful, I am still waiting on those parts. There were many little dents and bent item which at first I over look because I love grilling out . I at this point went ahead and used it, and if the other parts don't arrive soon will look into returning this item.

Was this review helpful? (3) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wwshoper
Pensacola, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/12/2013

Customer review by Carlos6058

2.0 stars 5/12/2013 by Carlos6058
by Carlos6058
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very excited to operate this particular grill. Unfortunately, with missing and damaged parts. This grill is still non-functioning.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carlos6058
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews