Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

71 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

5 stars
39
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 63 total reviews
Great Value & service
7/1/2013

Customer review by Phrispirit

5.0 stars by Phrispirit

I once owned a Hasty-Bake grill at $800.00 and it was sweet. This grill has the same kind of features for less than a fourth of that! Adjustable charcoal bed height, wheels, adjustable air flow, storage shelf below, tool hooks, collapsible steel shelves on each side, cast-iron fire box door, ash tray... All that and plenty of room for food on nice cast-iron grilling bars. Of course, with a less expensive unit, the steel on the charcoal tray is lighter than on the expensive grills, so sooner or later you're going to want to replace it. Well, that was a major consideration and these folks have parts, even for 15 year-old grills! I couldn't find parts for my last one and ended up throwing it away, when that was the only part which wore out. Service? My lid was bent right out of the box and I called customer service. A few moments later, a new lid was on the way to me at no cost. GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Phrispirit
Claremore, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/17/2013

Customer review by JerryS2311

5.0 stars by JerryS2311

I purchased this grill to replace one that was very similar, but no longer available. I am using it in a built in outdoor cooking area. I did not use the legs or side shelves. The assembly was not a problem, but the wrench they supply with it did not fit the nuts. I also had to enlarge one of the holes in the secondary shelf because it was not large enough for the pin to enter. The adjustable firebox is a great feature and makes grilling easy. I purchased it at a Walmart retail store and there was no hidden damage from shipping to any of the product. The only reason for replacing the old grill was that it had rusted. It was my fault because there was no cover and it was in the elements. I have since built a cover and expect many years out of this one.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JerryS2311
Stagecoach, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice grill for price, not porcelain coated grates
7/4/2013

Customer review by MajorMac

4.0 stars by MajorMac

Grill is very nice for price. Good size for ribs and larger cookouts but not oversized for cooking for family of four. Takes a while to put together but installation is straightforward and all parts fit together well. One of my pet peeves is cheap plasitc wheels on this type grill but this grill has very nice heavy rubber lawnmower wheels. Fire access door is cast and heavy duty. Rest of main grill body is sheet metal as expected for this pricepoint. Shelves and legs are thicker and heavy duty steel so grill is stable and sturdy. My only complaint would be that the description states that grates are porcelain coated cast iron but these grates are not porcelain coated. That means you must season them prior to using. Overall, I am pleased with purchase and would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MajorMac
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Perfect charcoal grill
12/29/2012

Customer review by cass4321

4.0 stars by cass4321

This grill is the best, it is large and great for the price. I bought it for my husband for Christmas. The only negative thing I have to say is that if you buy it online and have them ship it to the store be careful. When I went to pick it up the box had a huge hole in it, it looked like the box had been thrown around. After we put it together there was a massive dent on the top of it. Since I bought it as a gift I did not want to go through the hassle of taking it back to the store (it weighed 100 lbs) exchanging it and have to wait a week for another one. That was my only problem but otherwise great grill.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cass4321
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value
5/28/2014

Customer review by bourboncountrycooker

4.0 stars by bourboncountrycooker

I love to grill and I do, practically everyday, anytime, any season. So far, I love everything about this grill. The cooking height, the large cooking area, easy to remove grates with the tool that came with it, fire box access, shelves. Easy to control temp. For the price, you could afford a new grill every couple of years. Will take care of it and see how long it lasts.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bourboncountrycooker
Central Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/14/2013

Customer review by aaronm88

2.0 stars by aaronm88

about a year and a half into this grill the charcoal shelf has completely broken through and all the screws seem to be a bit loose was a great grill but i dont think i would buy this model again

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
aaronm88
Odenton,MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Unable to assemble
4/28/2014

Customer review by Loulisa

1.0 stars by Loulisa

There are so many parts, I knew assembly was going to take a long time. Then I took everything out of the box to make sure I had all pieces, and the last piece on the bottom was bent and scratched. Haven't been able to assemble it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Comment from Charbroil - 4/30/2014

We're sorry to hear of the issues encountered with your grill. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and definitely want to help you to get up and grilling. Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and one of our knowledgeable grill service specialists will be more than happy to assist with replacing this damaged part.

Loulisa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great grill for the money
7/22/2013

Customer review by Hotwhelz

5.0 stars by Hotwhelz

One of the best things about this grill is the adjustable rack. It allows you to raise or lower the food from the heat source. It's an excellent way to control just how fast you want to cook

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Hotwhelz
Southport , NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good grill for a great price
4/23/2013

Customer review by Burnsito

4.0 stars by Burnsito

The grill is great. Other then the cheap nuts and bolts that it comes with the grill is awesome. Upgrade the hardware for a few bucks at a local Home Depot or lowes and you'll have a great grill that will last.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Burnsito
Rochester, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Grill!
6/28/2014

Customer review by ksufan939

4.0 stars by ksufan939

I have owned this grill for about a week but used it almost every day. Most of the reviews said it was a good grill but hard to assembly. I found it very easy to put together. Straight forward instructions, and very nice grill. Don't know how well it will hold up over the next few years but seems sturdy and heavy enough to last. Very impressed with it so far. It has lots of room and heats evenly. Best charcoal grill for the price!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ksufan939
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great grill for a small family
5/30/2014

Customer review by Trickcey

5.0 stars by Trickcey

Easy to follower instructions even for a 75 yrs. old lady. I haven't used my grill as I give my review. After putting it together, I am finding it very, very hard for me to move it about with only two (2) wheels even though the wheels are very large. It would be more mobile for a lady if it had four (4) wheels.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Trickcey
Webster, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We love it
4/3/2013

Customer review by caramellkidd

4.0 stars by caramellkidd

It fits enough on the grill so that everyone can eat instead of giving everyone one at a time.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
caramellkidd
nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
super value
7/17/2013

Customer review by raylen4

5.0 stars by raylen4

Great value, heavy weight costruction, easy to assem, Holds temp for long time

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
raylen4
greensboro, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Charcoal Grill!!!!'
4/1/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

It took a little more effort that I expected to assemble but once together I absolutely love it!!! Cooks really well, for the price it is the best grill I've ever owned.....

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great upgrade from smaller grill.
5/8/2013

Customer review by WinTheFamilyMan

5.0 stars by WinTheFamilyMan

Great grill for family activities I love the pullout charcoal remover The built in charcoal feeder is a great extra Three racks of meat and your done for the day Cook with a metal bowl of water for super tender meat

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WinTheFamilyMan
Laplace, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I expected
2/5/2013

Customer review by DReid014

4.0 stars by DReid014

I have owned a previous model for over 2 years. As wth everything it wore out, so I repleced it with this one. Overal size is great, durable consrtuction and realtively easy to assemble. Have assembled much more difficult things. This years model changed the grill slates from a polished metal to cast iron plates that require seasoning. Fortunately the old grill slates fit perfectly so I am using them. That is the only reason for a4 verses 5 rating.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DReid014
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good
9/11/2013

Customer review by Jvol365

4.0 stars by Jvol365

I am one to use a charcoal grill 5-7 times per week. I have a mid range weber Propane grill that I have used mabye 15 times in three years. The taste with Charcoal is much better. After five years I needed a new Grill and after extensive research chose this grill. First I went on line at Walmart and because I picked it up at the store, purchased the grill for $110.00. Other stores were selling this as high as $270.00. The grill is a solid grill and so far I do not have any complaints. Prior to purchasing this grill I read the hardware was cheap. It is. Go out and Spent $10.00 and purchase new hardware and you will have one heck of a grill.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jvol365
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great deal!!
7/25/2013

Customer review by Lady904

4.0 stars by Lady904

My fiancé purchased this for our new home! It was a great size! He loved the features available. We couldn't find anything with the same features and size for the same price, sale or original! It was delivered using the "site to store" option and it came with a few scratches and dings, but that didn't effect it's performance one bit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Lady904
Ft Walton beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Grill, Great Price
7/7/2014

Customer review by Griller41

5.0 stars by Griller41

This Grill is unbeatable for the price. I live in Ohio and as many know we have some of the worst weather and this grill remains outside all year with a cover on it and I have had no issues with rust or anything of that sort. Many folks talk about the construction of this grill and ones just like it but fail to realize it is only $110! There are some points for heat to get out and some metal may be considered thin when compare to a $500 smoker/grill but you have to be realistic. This grill has handled dozens of burgers, steaks and chicken with temps exceeding 400* over the year I have had it and with as much as I use this I feel that its more than a great deal and has held up just as good as any grill/smoker that would be far more expensive. The grill also doubles as a great smoker. The thermometer probably isn't accurate for smoking but this is a grill not a smoker. Besides, shouldn't you be using a thermometer with a probe for that anyways? If you are looking for a great backyard grill that can double as a smoker then this is the one. Maintain this properly and I see no reason you can't get 10 years out of it. hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Griller41
Akron, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/28/2012

Customer review by mistymenthol

5.0 stars by mistymenthol

This item was a good value for the price. It arrived fairly quickly and I am sure the receipient of this gift will be thrilled.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mistymenthol
Tarentum, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 63 total reviews