Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 247 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

247 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

247 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
156
4 stars
53
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 stars
15
1-20 of 243 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 243 total reviews
1-20 of 243 reviews
Great Quality Desktop Replacement
1/22/2013

Customer review by Venomx296

5.0 stars 1/22/2013 by Venomx296
by Venomx296

I really like this PC. I got it to replace my aging desktop. The graphics are really good. It will run any PC game out there. Windows 8 I have to say I really like. Once you learn the gestures you can use on the touch pad its a breeze to navigate. I find the touch pad much better to use in Windows 8 than previous versions of Windows I have had. I use this for work and with dual monitors, I now have 3 monitors running including the laptop screen. The processor is great. When you need the power it is there and when you don't it runs at slower clock speeds. I have found the Networking to be superior in Win 8 over my Win 7 PC. It is very similar, but picks up all my windows devices. All in all I am very happy with this product. I do have one complaint though. For the price similar mfr's have Bluetooth included. When I ordered I just assumed this one would too, but it does not. I had to buy a bluetooth adapter which now takes up a usb slot. I think for what I paid it should have included Bluetooth. That is only a minor thing though. As always Walmart had fast shipping and great service. I would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Venomx296
Bluefield, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great hardware, horrible bloatware
7/22/2012

Customer review by terry6248

4.0 stars 7/22/2012 by terry6248
by terry6248

I wasn't going to buy another hp computer because of bloatware issues on previous hp products. After talking with an hp rep a costco I decided to give hp another try. He told me that a windows 7 premier experience meant that I would get a clean install. My bad. Pros: great hardware, fast,good display, good keyboard, tech support really tried to help with my issues (not on a script)! Cons: Massive bloatware , all designed for sales or product promotion. FOUR tool bars on internet homepage. Fingerprint reader has link to over 20 stores. Worst of all, uninstalling some these programs corrupted the registry to the point where I was unable to load other software that I bought this computer to run. In order to fix the registry I was forced to restore the computer to it's original condition and keep all the distracting system slowing junk. Bottom line: I will not be buying another hp computer and I will be advising others to run away, far, far away.

terry6248
portland, oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Computer is buggy
7/31/2012

Customer review by Rich901

2.0 stars 7/31/2012 by Rich901
by Rich901

I have been buying HP/Compaq Laptops since 1999. I expected this one to be the best, I was very disappointed. It has a lot of bugs. The wifi card is junk. It will not connect when waking from sleep. Customer Service was useless in trying to resolve the problem, concluding "that's just the way it works" what the heck it works like junk? Also the cursor jumps all over the screen while typing, disabling the touchpad and install third party software to try and stop it does not help. Doing a Google search I discovered this is a common problem with the DV7t with no fix from HP or Microsoft even though it is a well documented problem. My old DV9005 (with the overheating graphics chip) running XP never had these problems. Last for some reason the HP Industrial Design guys thought it would be great to put the Hard Drive LED on the side where you can't see it. Why who knows? Kind of useless if you can't see it, why bother at all?

Rich901
Groton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
A little overwhelmed
6/25/2012

Customer review by nycomputerlon

4.0 stars 6/25/2012 by nycomputerlon
by nycomputerlon

This is my second HP - a replacement for one I got about 6 years ago that lived its life to the fullest. The performance is obviously good for this one - it rates the same as the Macbook in Consumer reports for the speed, stability, performance, etc. but I'm feeling a little overwhelmed with the aesthetics: the display on this lovely 17inch screen is either HUGE or really tiny and there doesn't seem to be an in between. I can't figure out how to minimize my programs to get to my desktop quickly. I have to decommission several automatically installed items that I won't use, etc. etc. There is just a lot more customization to this one than the last one and so I haven't even transferred over to using this yet from my old one. It could be some change apprehension I have but I wish they would allow you to opt in or out of programs before the laptop is delivered. Just be prepared for this if you do purchase it!

nycomputerlon
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
AWESOME!!!
12/26/2012

Customer review by tigermane

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by tigermane
by tigermane

Okay, it's Windows 8, it's a little hard to figure out, but come on, any new software is going to be a little hard to figure out, all it takes is a little patience. As for the setup, it's easy and fast, the start screen is a little weird though. You have tap the mouse pad before it takes you to the password screen, just a little FYI so you wouldn't be confused as I was. The picture quality is awesome and as for the machine itself, OMG totally not what I was expecting, it's huge, but the keyboard layout is great. Well, those are my thoughts, when I get the Sims 3 installed, I'll let ya know how it plays with an update, also just bought this machine for Christmas and haven't had time play around with it just yet to it's full potential.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tigermane
Prestonsburg, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Overall A Great Laptop
12/7/2012

Customer review by UNKLMIK

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by UNKLMIK
by UNKLMIK

Overall, this is a great laptop. Used primarily with Microsoft Office, internet and as a Media Center; low light and bright sun light conditions. Ordered with 8 GB ram, non-glare screen, backlit keyboard, bluray, 9 cell battery and bluetooth. Has an open slot for second hard drive that can be added later if necessary. Build quality is excellent. Streams audio and video wirelessly (recorded and live TV mostly) with hardly any breakup/pixelation. Battery life is fairly good for an entertainment laptop, although it is primarily used on the charger. Touch pad is almost too sensitive-has no native sensitivity adjustment that I can find. The 1tb hard drive (5400RPM) is a little slow but I knew that going in. Lack of an instruction manual prompted a call to customer service with a question about the keyboard; answered immediately. I give it 4 out of 5 stars only because of the instruction & touchpad issues.

UNKLMIK
Lexington,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Instant Startup!
5/30/2012

Customer review by Brenda37

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by Brenda37
by Brenda37

Although I have only been using my Laptop for two days, I am already loving it. It has a great new sleek design (looks expensive), love my anti-glare display, and the startup time is almost instant when I turn it on. Yep, that's right... I'm able to start using it within 90 seconds or so after I turn it on. The only thing I don't like is all the preloaded nonsense software. Here are my customized specs: • Genuine Windows 7 Professional 64-bit • 3rd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3720QM Processor (2.6 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache) • NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GT 650M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5 memory [HDMI, VGA] • 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm) • 750GB 7200 rpm Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection • 32GB mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache • Microsoft(R) Office Home and Student 2010 • Kaspersky Anti-Virus Software (bought seperately & installed by me) • 9 cell Lithium Ion Battery • 17.3-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080) • Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner • HP TrueVision HD Webcam • Intel 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R) • Standard Keyboard

Brenda37
Ocean Springs, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Powerful and Fast
7/6/2012

Customer review by AlexDGr8r

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by AlexDGr8r
by AlexDGr8r

I chose this laptop because I was wanting laptop that was both powerful enough for video editing and games. The fingerprint reader is really handy (pun intended). This laptop is capable of handling pretty much anything you throw at it. The only problem I found was that the Function keys (F1-F12) were set to be used automatically for their hardware functions (brightness, volume, wireless, etc). If you wanted to use them for the key itself, you had to hold FN and then press the key. I fixed this by setting active keys to false in the BIOS settings so it wasn't much of a problem at all. Beats audio is great but the software sometimes is a little buggy. Battery life is fair as well. I get about 6 hours of just simple activities like word processing and browsing the internet. Then about 1 to 2 hours while gaming or doing some high power activity. Overall, a great laptop for whatever you need.

AlexDGr8r
Waynesboro, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Misguided changes
12/12/2012

Customer review by Practical

3.0 stars 12/12/2012 by Practical
by Practical

This computer is OK. I bought it to replace my previous HP dv7, which is dying after only 2 years--not an acceptable product life. I hope this one lives longer. The good --Good price, lots of memory. The bad Needless reduction of efficiency of use. Example: Many users (including me) prefer single left click to open documents, etc. But if you set it up this way, you can no longer use f2 as a shortcut key to rename files or folders. Why? Because HP decided that f2 should be dedicated to screen brightness. All HP had to do was set fn+f2 as brightness control, and the f2 key could still be used as a "rename" shortcut. This may seem like a minor issue to some users, but I bought this computer for photography (large screen) and on some days I have to rename hundreds of files. Either I have to go back and reset L click to double click (inefficient) or I have to rename files the long way (right click, scroll down, choose "rename"). Either way, HP's failure to consider the end user has created needless waste of time and energy. It's all about efficient workflow. I hope that I don't find other flaws.

Practical
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
WOW!
8/28/2012

Customer review by WDBJ

5.0 stars 8/28/2012 by WDBJ
by WDBJ

Delivery: One week earlier than promised. Processor Speed: Unbelievable! HD Screen: Perfect, love the matte finish to reduce glare points. Keyboard: Love this one compared to the Dell I previously owned. One worry I had when purchasing a system with so much power was heat and fan noise. It appears HP has taken great strides in alleviating these concerns. Very little heat felt and fan noise is almost non-existent. Almost all of my use in on my lap, with no cooling pad, etc. I have not had it long enough to judge how it will be with a full-length BD playing or newer games. I love the mSSD hard drive acceleration cache option. From power off to logon to windows screeen is about a minute. The backlit keyboard is cool, but I've not really found it a feature I use a lot. Features for the price is hard to beat! Oh yeah, Beats Audio...bleh...not impressed nor disappointed.

WDBJ
Ridgefield, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Laptop is doing exactly what I want it to do
3/9/2013

Customer review by Moongar

4.0 stars 3/9/2013 by Moongar
by Moongar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am not a fan of windows 8. If giving the opportunity to replace it with windows 7 I would before I purchased the laptop. I recommend that all future sales of laptops gives the buyer the option to choose the operating system. Thanks Mostly satisfied customer

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moongar
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I AM TOTALLY IN LOVE WITH THIS LAPTOP!!
9/11/2012

Customer review by KMCCHARGUE

5.0 stars 9/11/2012 by KMCCHARGUE
by KMCCHARGUE

I just upgraded from a very old (2006) hp dv5000, which was great at the time, but I'm back in school and I needed something new, faster with lots more space and memory. This laptop exceeds everything I imagined. I have been researching laptops for months and I finally decided on this one. I bought it elsewhere, so I wasn't able to customize it, but the only thing that it was missing that I wanted was the backlit keyboard and after using it for a week, I'm fine without it. I got the 1TB hardrive and I'm so happy with that. The screen and color are amazing! I'm a big music and movie buff, so Beats Audio is off the chain!!! I love the 10-key numeric paid on the right side and the keyboard itself is very comfortable to use. The entire laptop is very sturdy, very well put together and there's nothing flimsy about it. When I buy electronics, I buy the best, especially if I'm going to spend a large amount of money. I can't say enough good things about it...I just love it !!!!! I've been an HP customer for years (love the HP printers too!) and I will continue to be one for years to come!! Thanks HP for making a fabulous laptop!

KMCCHARGUE
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Good Laptop w Some Awkward Features
5/10/2012

Customer review by CRompot

3.0 stars 5/10/2012 by CRompot
by CRompot

This laptop has good components and performs well, but suffers from some bad design choices. The USB ports and the AC adapter plugin are located on the sides (some near the front), which is extremely awkward when the adapter and a mouse are connected. Their cords get in the way, and I have resorted to plugging my mouse in on the left side and running its cord all the way around the laptop to keep the cord out of the way. The AC adapter seems heavier than necessary. Its cord is very long, which is both an asset and liability (it gets in the way as well). Since the display is widescreen, its height is 1/2" less than a standard (non-widescreen) 17" monitor. HP installs some bloatware, which takes a bit of time to remove. The audio quality is good, and the keyboard is comfortable and efficient to use. The webcam and fingerprint reader are nice features.

CRompot
Iowa City, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Simply breathtaking.
7/11/2012

Customer review by MGates

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by MGates
by MGates

I've had this laptop for 2 days now and am absolutely amazed at how fast this thing loads pages and media! This laptop has so many upgradeable specs and features, you just can't beat it for the price. I love the 1080p anti-glare screen, it is a must-have! There is talk of this laptop coming with lots of bloatware. However, this comp is fast enough for the average user with little to no lag in loading times. It has a very user-friendly interface and is a joy to use. Typing on the keyboard is marvelous. The Beats Audio speakers sound good and can be turned up pretty loud. I was impressed. The Fingerprint Scanner is also another feature that is just amazing and quick to access your personal files. Options I'd suggest: 1920x1080 Anti-Glare Screen Backlit Keyboard Dual Hard Drive (if you need it) Simply put, buy it, you won't regret it!

MGates
Azusa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Lap(not)top - Watch out for the battery
1/5/2013

Customer review by evodude

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by evodude
by evodude

This is a very large laptop - definitely NOT made for laps. It is very heavy, so be ready for that. The included 9-cell battery is huge! It's one of HP's "oversize" batteries, which means it fills the battery bay and then sticks out about 1 1/2" more, creating a ramp of sorts, or a platform that tilts the computer up permanently. Again if you've got the computer on your lap, the battery digs into your lower thighs and cuts off circulation. I was watching a TV show streamed and had to physically remove the battery after 30 minutes because I couldn't feel my lower legs! Battery life is excellent, however, I didn't run it down, but after playing around with it and streaming TV shows for 3+ hours, it still had plenty left. The video card is OK, nothing to write home about. The screen resolution is very good, but not the 'knock your socks off' that some of the online reviews stated. It was only slightly better than my Samsung Satellite from a couple years ago - the brightness and detail/resolution was just barely noticeably better. Other reviewers are correct about Windows 8. Very different, takes a good bit of getting used to, but if you read the enclosed Win 8 start up guide, that will get you going with the basics. I don't think the speed of the processor was all that great; again compared to my i5 Samsung; which I think sucks WRT processor speed. My photo editing software ran a little better, but still not terribly quickly. Probably a great computer for someone who will keep it on a table or desk and not travel with it much. As a LAPtop - it's just too big and the battery is too bulky - deal breaker, I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
evodude
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
met expectations except for one minor defect
5/25/2012

Customer review by Snider

4.0 stars 5/25/2012 by Snider
by Snider

Overall, an excellent product at a competitive price. But the product had one minor defect: The screen was unattached to the cover on the right side of the screen (the left and top were fine). The separation was only about a millimeter and didn't affect machine performance, but the sloppy workmanship was still annoying. I ordered the product the second day after it was publicly available, so this minor defect in workmanship can probably be attributed to having a very early production model. HP was happy to ship me a replacement product or repair this very minor defect if I sent it in for repair. But I had already moved my programs and data to the new machine, and I couldn't do without it for more than a day or two, so I've decided to simply live with this minor, non-functional defect. Otherwise, the product met my expectations.

Snider
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Almost perfect!
7/4/2012

Customer review by Gerry2011

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by Gerry2011
by Gerry2011

This laptop exceeded my expectations. I bought it because it had the best specs at the price level I wanted and it has worked like a dream so far. Fast, great graphics, amazing sound, and a couple of features I was worried about ended up working out just fine. I had heard the touchpad could be too sensitive and the mouse buttons too hard to press, but I didn't have a problem at all. I didn't like the idea of an island style keyboard but it was easy to adjust to. My complaints are that the fingerprint reader can take a few tries to recognize your finger and the USB ports are in bad locations (two on either side of the computer, closest to you). You can't really use the ones on the side that you use your mouse or you will keep hitting the cables with your hand. I also don't like that the F5 key does not refresh the page but rather turns the keyboard backlight on. It's annoying to have to press Fn F5 or use the mouse instead, but I can live with that in light of the other great features. The real test is seeing how this laptop holds up over time - this is my first HP purchase, so I'm hoping it exceeds the other brands I have purchased in the past!

Gerry2011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ok, not very mobile, limited dock options
5/1/2012

Customer review by meiss18

3.0 stars 5/1/2012 by meiss18
by meiss18

As much as I like HP, this laptop was a step backward. A huge feature missing is the ability to have an expansion base/docking station/port replicator that can charge the laptop when you get back to wherever you keep it when not traveling. So the lack of an expansion base means you HAVE TO unplug/replug everything each time you move away from your desk. Yes, they have a USB port replicator that covers many of the expansion ports but it's a far cry from having an Xb3000 like my dv9500 has which can be charged from the dock. I believe some earlier models may have had a port connection but the newer ones don't The power brick is, well, a brick literally. It's nearly twice the size of the ones from my dv9500 and dv5000. Yes, it pumps out more wattage (120w) and it may be a necessity because of the laptop specs but it's not very mobile friendly. The system itself didn't seem very snappy and I couldn't tell if or when the CPU kicked into overdrive even though I could here the fans on constantly; annoying when trying to watch blu-rays or stream from online services. Basic specs: dv7t quad 17" Display 2.5GHz Intel CPU 16gb RAM 2Gb video card 750GB Hdd

meiss18
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I love this laptop!
9/1/2012

Customer review by SharonRB

5.0 stars 9/1/2012 by SharonRB
by SharonRB

I already have an HP Pavilion desktop, but wanted a new laptop. My old 15" Dell Inspiron was slow and clunky and not suited to my current needs. I do graphic design and proofreading and need as large a screen as I can get. I usually work on my desktop, but sometimes need to be able to take work away from home with me, which I am now able to do -- I am able to run my Adobe design software on this machine, which I just couldn't do well on the old Dell. My upstairs office gets really hot in the summer, so now I'm able to work downstairs where it's more comfortable. I've only had it about 10 days, but so far I just love it. My only problem was getting the wi-fi mouse 7000 to work with the computer. I had to go out and purchase a different mouse and get a refund for the HP 7000. Other than that, everything seems to be terrific.

SharonRB
Huntington Woods, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Laptop and Customer Service
10/12/2012

Customer review by GMRobert

4.0 stars 10/12/2012 by GMRobert
by GMRobert

I have had the laptop for a about a month. It is truly a work horse. I customized my laptop. The freatures include a 750GB 7500 RPM Hybrid HD, 12GB DDR3RAM, i7-3 Gen, Nvidia GT 650 2GB, 17.3 unch Full HD Anti-glare LED (1920x1080). We have not encountered any problems so far. However, I did purchase the 3-year accidental warranty (just in case). The laptop boots up fast and switching between users works seemlessly. I have used the laptop's bluetooth feature to link it to my wireless speaker and to stream ESPN Radio in order to listen to the baseball playoff games without any issues. The monitor display is fantastic. We use the laptop for work, school, and entertainment. It is literally our all-in-one system. I spent about 1-2 hours with HP customer service representatives and they were patient, knowledgable, and friendly.

GMRobert
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 243 total reviews
1-20 of 243 reviews