Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 247 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

247 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

247 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
156
4 stars
53
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 stars
15
1-20 of 243 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 243 total reviews
1-20 of 243 reviews
Great Quality Desktop Replacement
1/22/2013

Customer review by Venomx296

5.0 stars 1/22/2013 by Venomx296
by Venomx296

I really like this PC. I got it to replace my aging desktop. The graphics are really good. It will run any PC game out there. Windows 8 I have to say I really like. Once you learn the gestures you can use on the touch pad its a breeze to navigate. I find the touch pad much better to use in Windows 8 than previous versions of Windows I have had. I use this for work and with dual monitors, I now have 3 monitors running including the laptop screen. The processor is great. When you need the power it is there and when you don't it runs at slower clock speeds. I have found the Networking to be superior in Win 8 over my Win 7 PC. It is very similar, but picks up all my windows devices. All in all I am very happy with this product. I do have one complaint though. For the price similar mfr's have Bluetooth included. When I ordered I just assumed this one would too, but it does not. I had to buy a bluetooth adapter which now takes up a usb slot. I think for what I paid it should have included Bluetooth. That is only a minor thing though. As always Walmart had fast shipping and great service. I would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Venomx296
Bluefield, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lap(not)top - Watch out for the battery
1/5/2013

Customer review by evodude

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by evodude
by evodude

This is a very large laptop - definitely NOT made for laps. It is very heavy, so be ready for that. The included 9-cell battery is huge! It's one of HP's "oversize" batteries, which means it fills the battery bay and then sticks out about 1 1/2" more, creating a ramp of sorts, or a platform that tilts the computer up permanently. Again if you've got the computer on your lap, the battery digs into your lower thighs and cuts off circulation. I was watching a TV show streamed and had to physically remove the battery after 30 minutes because I couldn't feel my lower legs! Battery life is excellent, however, I didn't run it down, but after playing around with it and streaming TV shows for 3+ hours, it still had plenty left. The video card is OK, nothing to write home about. The screen resolution is very good, but not the 'knock your socks off' that some of the online reviews stated. It was only slightly better than my Samsung Satellite from a couple years ago - the brightness and detail/resolution was just barely noticeably better. Other reviewers are correct about Windows 8. Very different, takes a good bit of getting used to, but if you read the enclosed Win 8 start up guide, that will get you going with the basics. I don't think the speed of the processor was all that great; again compared to my i5 Samsung; which I think sucks WRT processor speed. My photo editing software ran a little better, but still not terribly quickly. Probably a great computer for someone who will keep it on a table or desk and not travel with it much. As a LAPtop - it's just too big and the battery is too bulky - deal breaker, I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
evodude
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HP has gone way down hill
4/8/2013

Customer review by lldude

1.0 stars 4/8/2013 by lldude
by lldude

I bought one of these in January. 2 days after I got it I took it to my bedroom, about 20 feet away from the modem. While the computer said I had max signal, and was connected to the modem, it would not allow me to connect to the internet. I went back to the living room, and searched that issue, maybe to find a way to fix it. What I found was pages and pages of how this was an issue with the Envy line of computers. So I go online with HP Tech support. After him doing a "Remote Connect" where they can operate your computer from their end, he determined that the WiFi Card was bad. So, skip forward to the middle of March, I finally get the new card in (you fix it yourself, you just get a card in a static proof sleeve, no instructions, nothing). So, I opened up the bottom, and found what I thought the problem was, the existing card had an antenna connector broken off. So, I replaced the card, and when trying to reconnect the antennas, I found the antenna connector cable was also broken. So, back on the phone to HP. It took about 15 minutes between the automated system, and trying to understand/be understood by the people in India or wherever (they transferred me 4 times to others) before I was transferred to someone in the US. Finally, after talking to her, I get told that I must send my computer in to HP. She tells me that the software I have downloaded and paid for, plus all my pics, etc. should be fine, they only have to replace a part. But, she said, just in case, there is a form you fill out to authorize them to back up your information, and transfer it back in the "unlikely event" that they have to do something that would erase your information. So, I made my own backup copies of CDs with all the pics and documents. Then, I sent my computer off to HP (they sent a box, packing materials, and shipping labels). They got it, did the repairs, and today I got it back. Eagerly opening it, I turn it on. Everything on it is gone. It is like a new, out of the box computer. All the programs, and pics, documents, etc. are gone. So, for the 4th time in as many months, back on the phone with HP. First I try the number that they sent with the computer, a "direct to Tech Service" line to avoid waiting since I just had it repaired. After 45 minutes of waiting, I hung up and called the other number. THen the rigamarole with the automated system and people that don't speak English. Then, when I get through to an English speaking person, I get put on hold several times while they "check the records". Then I am told that their standard policy upon receipt of any computer for repair is to completely erase all user information and return the computer to the "factory default". I tried to explain what I had been told, and was told repeatedly, "That's our policy. Sorry. Have a nice day. Is there anything else I can help you with?" So, out of the 3 plus months I have owned it, I have only been able to actually fully use it for one day. And as for the software that I lost, once again, "Sorry, that is HP's policy". Well, this was my 4th HP. It will also be my last. I recommend before anyone reading this make this purchase, don't just take my word for it, Google (or whatever engine you use) search it. "HP Envy wifi problems". Maybe you will be lucky enough to be one of the few who get a great product. But do you want to risk a thousand dollars?

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lldude
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME!!!
12/26/2012

Customer review by tigermane

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by tigermane
by tigermane

Okay, it's Windows 8, it's a little hard to figure out, but come on, any new software is going to be a little hard to figure out, all it takes is a little patience. As for the setup, it's easy and fast, the start screen is a little weird though. You have tap the mouse pad before it takes you to the password screen, just a little FYI so you wouldn't be confused as I was. The picture quality is awesome and as for the machine itself, OMG totally not what I was expecting, it's huge, but the keyboard layout is great. Well, those are my thoughts, when I get the Sims 3 installed, I'll let ya know how it plays with an update, also just bought this machine for Christmas and haven't had time play around with it just yet to it's full potential.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tigermane
Prestonsburg, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Laptop is doing exactly what I want it to do
3/9/2013

Customer review by Moongar

4.0 stars 3/9/2013 by Moongar
by Moongar

I am not a fan of windows 8. If giving the opportunity to replace it with windows 7 I would before I purchased the laptop. I recommend that all future sales of laptops gives the buyer the option to choose the operating system. Thanks Mostly satisfied customer

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moongar
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's not the laptop I thought it would be!
1/10/2013

Customer review by ddick001

2.0 stars 1/10/2013 by ddick001
by ddick001

For an HP product and the price my husband paid for the laptop, I was disappointed. The first time I used it it just shut off on me. I called HP and ofcourse then the computer wasn't shutting off like it had been, but I've had it for a couple of weeks using it everyday, but each day wondering if I move it just right is it going to shut off by itself again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ddick001
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More than expected.
11/19/2012

Customer review by momof491

4.0 stars 11/19/2012 by momof491
by momof491

Really great computer and very fast. I am a little disappointed in Windows 8 because of the inability to update flash player. This has made it impossible to play some of the internet games that we like. Hopefully this will be corrected soon by Microsoft. The Blu-ray/ DVD player works great and the picture quality is awesome.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momof491
Fayetteville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Okay, I'm not happy with this.
12/16/2012

Customer review by Villages3

3.0 stars 12/16/2012 by Villages3
by Villages3

I had thought that the keyboard would be background lit, and that there was a touch screen. Not happy with this, thinking of returning this item. The computer it self seems fine, I just need to get used to windows 8.

Was this review helpful? (3) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Villages3
FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A superb piece of equipment!
1/2/2013

Customer review by FiOSDave

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by FiOSDave
by FiOSDave

This has just about everything you would ever want in a notebook that mainly replaces a desktop. It's slightly heavier than you might want to lug around all day long. The two most important features are the keyboard, which has a nice, positive, smooth feel and the screen, which is essentially glare-free, brilliant, sharp and true-colored. If there is one fault I could find with this series of notebooks it is that it appears to lack an activity indicator. Most others have an LED somewhere, which flashes, showing activity. There is none that I could see on this one. I will be adding a "widget" on the screen for that purpose! Other than this one minor annoyance, I would highly recommend this notebook.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FiOSDave
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product and fast delivery
10/18/2012

Customer review by Mike52

5.0 stars 10/18/2012 by Mike52
by Mike52

Ordered this HP laptop and it arrived within a couple of days! Very pleased with it so far as it has lots of "bells and whistles."

Mike52
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best Laptop deal!
10/18/2012

Customer review by LocalV

5.0 stars 10/18/2012 by LocalV
by LocalV

I have been a computer user for 25 years, and I must say that this is the best laptop for the price anywhere. This laptop runs flawlessly and super fast. Everyone who says its a slow boot time has no patients. My boot time the longest is only 45 sec. Screen is awesome, GPU is so nice. I can play all the latest games with no issues, full graphics and audio with no problems.Beats audio is a plus for the best sound Ive heard from a laptop. I highly recommend this product from HP..

LocalV
Valencia, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This product is excellent
9/12/2012

Customer review by Lena18

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by Lena18
by Lena18

This laptop is excellent if you are wondering about purchasing you shoul. I also have a macbook and a dell netbook and it it's better than the macbook and I love apple products. You should purchase this product don't second guess.

Lena18
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love everything about it.
8/12/2012

Customer review by tilop

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by tilop
by tilop

Great product. I'm always happy with HP.

tilop
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Stylish and Delightfully Fast
10/3/2012

Customer review by Seth3

5.0 stars 10/3/2012 by Seth3
by Seth3

I bought the dv7t-7000 Quad Edition to replace the family's shared desktop computer and have been impressed with the attractive design and the incredible processing power. The horsepower really puts the fun back in tasks like managing my large iTunes library, editing photos, and working with HD videos. It's a great computer!

Seth3
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This computer ROCKS!!!
9/15/2012

Customer review by rdjonz

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by rdjonz
by rdjonz

REALLY fasy with great graphics!!

rdjonz
Piney Flats,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Awesome product!
9/20/2012

Customer review by cliffwva

5.0 stars 9/20/2012 by cliffwva
by cliffwva

I love the look, feel, and operation of this machine. Everything has functioned flawlessly and as expected. We really enjoy the integrated webcam and have been able to use Skype to connect with distant relatives. The fingerprint scanner is awesome. With a family of five, it makes it so easy to have separate logons and keep our profiles secure. This unit is fast, plays Blu-ray discs and works well on everything I throw at it. I will say, IT'S BIG and with that comes weight but it is manageable. Overall I am very pleased.

cliffwva
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Really fast laptop with the 32 GB mSSD Accelerator
9/20/2012

Customer review by jmccar7117

5.0 stars 9/20/2012 by jmccar7117
by jmccar7117

Do get the • 32GB mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache, this speeds the computer up quite a bit Don't get the Laplink PC Mover. It creates more problems than it solves by moving system files that confuse the registry on the new PC.

jmccar7117
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
very fast, quick setup, great for gaming
10/12/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Purchased as a replacement gaming laptop. Unit is very fast (quad processor rocks your world) and has excellent response time in gaming environment. Fingerprint scanner makes logging in and getting online very easy without having to remember a lot of passwords. Large display has brilliant colors and the back lighted keyboard is very useful when the room ambient light is low. Very good battery life with the larger extended use battery. Great gaming laptop and web surfing is a snap. Excellent video conferencing with Skype, smooth and reliable during use.

An anonymous customer
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I am liking my computer. It seem to run fast.
10/15/2012

Customer review by mrsonion

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by mrsonion
by mrsonion

I was glad this laptop came early since my old computer had crashed. When I ordered it, I received a message that it would ship on October 12 so I was looking for it to come around the 15th or 16th. Was I surprised when my doorbell rang at 11:00 a.m. on October 5 and it was the FedX carrier with my computer. This was helpful because I use my computer to run our home business and I was able get my bookkeeping in order at a much earlier date than planned.

mrsonion
Ranch in Easter New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
excellent performer
10/15/2012

Customer review by peanut49

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by peanut49
by peanut49

I bought this for my wife so she would quit taking my HP laptop. It boots up quickly, works great, and is just the right size for her to play Facebook games, browse the internet, etc. The only feature I wish it had available was the t.v .tuner. Apparently none of HP's laptops offer that anymore.

peanut49
upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 243 total reviews
1-20 of 243 reviews