Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 27 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Good console but could have been a lot better
11/20/2012

Customer review by thEcOreY

3.0 stars 11/20/2012 by thEcOreY
by thEcOreY

While I'm overall enjoying the Wii U, it should be noted that there are some downsides to it, especially the 8GB version. First off, if you plan on playing this online or using the Wii Store for digital game purchases, there is literally a 5GB mandatory install right out of the box. There's NO Ethernet port on it.. it's WiFi only, so keep that in mind. The download is SLOW and risky. There have been many reports of people losing power to their Wii U in the middle of the download and it completely bricking their system. For those unaware of that term.. it's means what it sounds like. Your system is broke and is basically an expensive paper weight. The manufacturers warranty will cover it but it's a pain. If you're buying the 8GB version, there's really only 7.2GB of usable space BEFORE the firmware update. That means after the update you're left with a little over 2GB of space left. Now, you can use an external hard drive on the Wii U as long as it has its own power source. Finally, the Wii U's tablet gamepad is really nice and definitely works well. You can use it as a second screen and even keep your TV off and just play any Wii U game on the tablet controller. The bad thing is the battery charge. You're only going to get about 2hrs off of one full charge before it needs to be recharged. Overall it's a nice system but I would definitely recommend the slightly more expensive 32GB console over this 8GB one. Every game I've played so far looks great and works great with the tablet controller. While there are some negatives to the console overall it's a solid purchase and looks as though it's going to have good game support this gen.

Was this review helpful? (189) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thEcOreY
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Fun Console
11/24/2012

Customer review by masterBLUME

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by masterBLUME
by masterBLUME

I bought the wii u on launch day. Nintendo finally has great graphics and the wii u game pad is very fun . Playing Nintendo Land with the family is great. The kids smiles make the system worth the purchase price. They also have adult games now like Call of Duty Black Ops 2. The graphics are superior to the xbox 360 and ps3. I have all three consoles. I didn't think I would like it that much because the original wii was a joke if you ask me. I am surprised how much this has improved over that dust collector. If you are on the fence about wii u just give it a try you will like it. The miiverse online function is like facebook for gamers. Very interactive you can post screen shots of the game you are playing no matter where you are in game. Chat with fellow gamers on a message board type screen. they also don't have those friend codes for adding friends. Just send a friend request. I also have had zero lag when playing Call of Duty. That's all I can say. Great system

Was this review helpful? (46) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
masterBLUME
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/3/2012

Customer review by ilovelowprice

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by ilovelowprice
by ilovelowprice

This system is amazing! I bought this for my six-year-old grandson, he just loves it. Makes it so much easier with the GamePad controller The fact that he can continue playing his game when we would like to watch TV. The Wii U would make a great gift.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ilovelowprice
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The games exclusive to this system will rule!
12/5/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After having waited an hour and a half at the local wal-mart, only to find out I wasn't in the proper que, I ordered mine on monday. It arrived friday, pretty cool. The update download and setup takes awile, but all the consoles do the same at some point. The HD graphics are awesome to behold for an old nintendo fan like myself. Can hardly wait for all the new games! Be sure to have a wii mote plus or four handy for all the people who are going to want to play mario and n-land with you. Lots of fun!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Oswego, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome system!!!!
12/3/2012

Customer review by LREIC

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by LREIC
by LREIC

This is such a great system. I'm not a big gamer, but cannot stop playing Super Mario. The wii pad controller has an amazing screen and I don't usually even use the TV when playing. We downloaded our netflix onto the touchscreen controller and my 3 yr old navigates it easily. What makes this even better is that he can watch something without us having to watch kids cartoons on TV. This is also convenient when somebody is playing a game since you don't have to have it on TV at the same time. So far, we only have Mario but are purchasing more games soon as this is my favorite gaming system since N64 and the original Nintendo. DEFINITELY WORTH PURCHASING

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LREIC
PITTSBURGH, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded my expectations
12/4/2012

Customer review by Iempire

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Iempire
by Iempire

Short and sweet, I was lucky to find a wii u at Walmart on line and I am very happy I decided to buy it. I have never enjoyed a system as much as wii u. Many call the game pad a gimmick. These people haven't played a wii u. It enhances gameplay and makes it more fun. Nintendo has added several feature in the system and in the OS to make a well rounded experience. I can't recommend this console enough to both casual and "hardcore" gamers.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iempire
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Welcome to the best of 2006
12/4/2012

Customer review by bansheevt

3.0 stars 12/4/2012 by bansheevt
by bansheevt

First of all: the Wii U is a great console. It's everything the Wii could have been, and more. FINALLY you get to play games in HD, which should mollify your x-box envy. But even so, I'm not sure if most people really need this device. The drawbacks: - It's expensive! As much so as an x-box/Kinect combination, which I think offers as good or better opportunities for casual and hardcore gaming. Nintendo says they're taking a loss on each system, but it's not clear how it's superior to the 6-year old consoles of last generation, all of which sell for the same amount or less (profitably so, I've been told). - It's immature, and doesn't have as many games and accessories as other consoles. - The social/online component is crippled by Nintendo in the interests of protecting children. So why get one? Nintendo itself is the answer. They're the only ones that have Nintendo franchises, such as Mario, Zelda, Metroid, etc. Want to play Mario Kart? You need a Wii U. Really, that's the only major plus for the system. But it's a HUGE plus. So is it right for you? I don't know, but by this point in the review, I bet you've made up your mind.

Was this review helpful? (13) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bansheevt
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's just a Big Gameboy DSi, nothing new!
12/17/2012

Customer review by xhtxym

2.0 stars 12/17/2012 by xhtxym
by xhtxym

2 Stars because I don’t think the Wii U is worth the retail price. Think of the Wii U as a big Gameboy DSi. Your TV is the top screen, while the new gamepad is the bottom and that’s all it really is. I enjoyed playing the Wii U with my kids, but it got old quick. I purchased Super Mario Bros. U and Nintendo Land for the kids and now they rarely play it. There was nothing new about these games that would keep my kids interested. HDMI is great, but it should have been included with the original Wii. I understand it’s a gaming console but the ability to play blu-rays should have been included to maybe make the price seem more reasonable. I’m just glad we didn’t have to buy new Wii remotes since the old ones works. I would not recommend the Wii U unless you just got to have it to complete your collection of game consoles or have the money to spare. I honestly would have returned the Wii U if I hadn’t done that update that is required to play, but now that I think of it; Nintendo probably had that in mind because they could have easily shipped updated game consoles. Wait for the Wii U to drop in price before purchasing because you’re really not missing much.

Was this review helpful? (7) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xhtxym
Gulfport, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/11/2012

Customer review by MalynnA

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by MalynnA
by MalynnA

I got the console on time. It was neatly packaged.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MalynnA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for little fingers!
12/4/2012

Customer review by Candeelou

4.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Candeelou
by Candeelou

I really like the large display pad!

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Candeelou
Bay City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nintendo is a hit.
1/13/2013

Customer review by curryt1

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by curryt1
by curryt1

For the first time since SNES I've been happy with a Nintendo console. I feel like the company may have finally done something right and made a competitive product. The extra information on the gamepad, HD graphics, intuitive controls and top title availability is very pleasing. Using the touch screen shortcuts on AC3 to switch weapons and call a horse is aesthetically pleasing as well as quicker than scrolling like on other consoles. Another incredible option is the ability to switch from TV mode to Gamepad mode. I can let my fiance watch her favorite shows and never stop with my gaming action. Finally, don't forget to pick up New Super Mario Brothers U. This is a wonderfully fun blast to the past. Much like a remake of Super Mario World with a lot of added fun and much better graphics, kids and adults alike should be able to enjoy the game. In summary, if Nintendo keeps up the good work, gets more 3rd party support and keeps the selling price of the console lower than other consoles they may come out on the absolute top.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
curryt1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for casual gamer
1/16/2013

Customer review by pacman111

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by pacman111
by pacman111

Really enjoy the integration of the tablet with the game console. Played 2 games so far (Assassin's Creed 3 and ZombiU), both play very well, and the controller is well designed for gameplay.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pacman111
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just one thing
12/28/2012

Customer review by CRin64

4.0 stars 12/28/2012 by CRin64
by CRin64

The only thing we didn't like was that we lost all our OLD data from the original Wii.. the Mi's disappear, stats for Wii fit, high scores on the Wii Sports, etc. Fun for the kids because we can start all over, but not fun for the adults that won some of them LOL! The Wii U itself is cool -- some of the games allow the "winner" to use the Wii U hand-held to play against the other players. Since we are all good at different things, it allowed the whole family to take turns - that was awesome!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CRin64
Bethlehem
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't play older Wii games without upgrade
1/1/2013

Customer review by alucash

3.0 stars 1/1/2013 by alucash
by alucash

Part of why we wanted this newer Wii was so to be able to play new AND old games. Our first Wii is one of the first released and it has been returned for repair a few times. WiiU should have been an ideal update. But it won't complete a software update which is required to play older(not) WiiU games. Disappointed to say the least and not looking forward to spending who knows how long on the phone with Nintendo Customer Service.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alucash
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Wii for family fun
12/26/2012

Customer review by Alianna1

4.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Alianna1
by Alianna1

I purchased this product online and it was defected. I had to return in the store and exchange it for another one that works well and is fantastic! The kids love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alianna1
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a really solid system.
5/21/2013

Customer review by BasementBarginBob

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by BasementBarginBob
by BasementBarginBob

Nintendo came out with a really solid system, it does everything current models do but better. It took the worst game of 2012, and made it awesome (Ninja Gaiden 3: Razors Edge). Developers often over polish Wii U Releases so that there are more features with the gamepad. EA hates the machine, while Ubisoft loves to program for it. It made Assassins Creed 4 even more epic, which was is a bold statement about the unit. A die hard 360 fan, told me that the WII made COD even more fun, and I really don't know if that is possible. It also has a great selection of family & party games which is great when you have company over. This is the gaming system for the social gamer. Hardcore gamers may be put off by the specs when compared to the PS4 and 760 (due sometime in Fall), but the social gamer will opt Nintendo, you aren't going to get Mario Party 9 anywhere else. It plays all WII-U games flawlessly. I've had a great time with the system, I'm a Playstation convert.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BasementBarginBob
Spring Lake, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A gift for a 14yr old
12/4/2012

Customer review by SharonV2001

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by SharonV2001
by SharonV2001

This is a Christmas present for my niece. I know she will love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SharonV2001
Pooler, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11 yr old girl loves it!
12/25/2012

Customer review by ponsseman

4.0 stars 12/25/2012 by ponsseman
by ponsseman

Fun to play, wireless ready, can be used to control your tv, and can play all wii games. Fun to play!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ponsseman
Rapid river michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Falling short so far
12/30/2012

Customer review by DisappointedWithNintendo

2.0 stars 12/30/2012 by DisappointedWithNintendo
by DisappointedWithNintendo

To begin with, I will start with Walmart.com and the fact that my Wii U was left outside, in the elements when I was not home to accept it, thankfully I had someone to go pick it up. Not thrilled that a 300$ piece of equipment was left like that. Now on to the console...nearly 8 hours to download the first 4GB update, install it and set it up. (Thankfully I did this before my kids opened it on Christmas). Took numerous attempts to set up my nintendo network ID as the nintendo site kept timing out. System has frozen several times...and many apps take a long time to load, ie: Netflix. Gave it to my son for Christmas, and he is rarely playing it. Great idea from Nintendo, but the released it way too soon. I would have rather waited another three months and received a bug-free product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DisappointedWithNintendo
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VERY GOOD
1/4/2013

Customer review by Peregrinus73

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by Peregrinus73
by Peregrinus73

Very good product, even for those who are not children. With ZombiU game is very realistic in detail and nerve-wracking as if you were really into it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Peregrinus73
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews