Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

49 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

49 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 stars
7
1-20 of 49 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
This is the best product for my bold hair.
7/21/2016

Customer review by sau14

2.0 stars 7/21/2016 by sau14
by sau14

This is a very good product and the result which you will get after using this product is really good.

sau14
Chennai
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best boxed hair color
4/3/2016

Customer review by Sadie

5.0 stars 4/3/2016 by Sadie
by Sadie

I have tried so many boxed hair color brands. This is the best brand for me. The color comes out just right. I like the bottle system. It pin points the color just where I want it. I am not as fond of Vidal Sassoon's newer product where you have a bowl and a brush. It is supposed to remind you of a hair dresser's tools. It just makes it more difficult to apply. This box will save you money. Plus, it is easier to apply at home. The after conditioner will leave your hair soooo soft. That alone, will make this purchase worth while.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sadie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Dark
3/30/2015

Customer review by AngieLynn

4.0 stars 3/30/2015 by AngieLynn
by AngieLynn

I normally have dark brown hair and tried this shade earlier today and to start when I mixed the cream with the bottle it stayed an eggshell color which confused me, I thought it would turn brown in the bottle when shaking it up. After rinsing it out and letting it air dry the color was very very dark, almost black, still looks black. The color does grab onto the hair quite well, I used a different shade last year and it was very good at saturating into the hair. My grays though are a shade lighter than the rest of my hair but it blended in pretty well, I just wish it wasn't so dark, I thought it would be a dark brown and not looking black but it's ok for now, next time will get a lighter shade of brown. I'm assuming it's going to be like last time and will take a few months to either fade or grow out. Easy to use, color adheres to hair very well but a bit too dark for me.

AngieLynn
Pen Argyl, PA 18072, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Vidal Sassoon ro Series Hair Color
4/7/2016

Customer review by monkeyface2

3.0 stars 4/7/2016 by monkeyface2
by monkeyface2

I used this and it is a good product. Nothing to jump up and down about. If you have long hair, like I do, you will need to purchase more than one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
monkeyface2
Would recommend to a friend? No
the worst dye i've ever used
2/23/2014

Customer review by unimpressed

1.0 stars 2/23/2014 by unimpressed
by unimpressed

this has got to be the worst hair colouring product i have ever used. My hair was originally bleached blond, and coloured Pink with a semi permanent dye. When my roots were starting to come back in i decided it was time to go back to a darker colour. So i purchased this dye thinking it's a Vidal Sassoon dye so it should be pretty good. First of all there isn't enough product, my hair is just passed my shoulder, ive never had to use 2 boxes even when i had longer hair. the mixture was very thick, therefore it was very tough to get a even coating. Then when it was time to rinse, i was impressed that it did rinse clear fairly quickly. But my hair felt really coarse even with the conditioner being used. I've bleached my hair many times and it never felt this dry. The colour also came out VERY dark, more like a soft black rather than a dark brown. Fast forwards 2 weeks, i can see the blond and pink peeking through. my hair started to go green bc of the blond and brown fixture. VERY unimpressed. I would not recommend this to anyone. The formula is thick, the colour is darker than what you expect, it dried out my hair, and the colour FADES. Needless to say, i went and purchased a different brand dye and fixed this nonsense.

unimpressed
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great haircolor
4/16/2013

Customer review by Jenny

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by Jenny
by Jenny

I used dark brown last night. I've been dying my greys since my early 20's (15 years) and have used every dark brown on the market. My hair is medium thickness, and to my waist. I was unsure I would get good coverage with one bottle, as there didn't seem to be as much product in this bottle as other hair colors I've used. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that although I didn't have enough to saturate all of my hair, the color is even! Also, I love the dark brown shade. It is by far the closest color I have ever come to my natural hair color. The product left my hair soft and shiny. The conditioner is amazing. I know this color grabs well because one finger nail is stained, and I still have dye on my skin around my hairline. Most colors have faded off my skin by the next day. I'm excited to see how long the color lasts as I wash my hair almost every day. I will use two boxes next time to really saturate every strand. I come from a family who owned hair salons, and I remember when my dad carried Vidal Sassoon products in his salons, years ago. Years later, you are still producing professional hair products. Thank you!

Jenny
Oceanside, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
IT DIED! After more than 12 years...
3/17/2015

Customer review by Sonomasuz

5.0 stars 3/17/2015 by Sonomasuz
by Sonomasuz

Yesterday morning, mid-blow dry, my Vidal Sassoon 1875 Ionic hair dryer gave out. I tried reset and checked the outlet, but it wouldn't start back up. I was disappointed, of course, because this hair dryer is an old friend -- Hold On! When I thought about it, I realized it really was an OLD friend, and by various methods of calculation I came to the realization that I have had it, and used it nearly daily, for more than 12 years. I know I bought it in a super drug store, and the price had to have been extremely reasonable. Nonetheless, the thing just kept on performing. Thank you for your terrific product. I am happy that you are still making this model, and I will certainly get another. Forget the gimics, this is a straightforward and easy to use hair dryer; the best.

Sonomasuz
Sonoma County, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Awesome Color!
2/15/2013

Customer review by Guitaristssweetheart

5.0 stars 2/15/2013 by Guitaristssweetheart
by Guitaristssweetheart

I have used different OTC hair colors for years. I never have been truly happy with any of them. I had my hair professionally dyed this color back in Thanksgiving. With it it growing out and gray showing, I decided to try this product for the first time. I was reluctant to do so, afraid that the naturally redness of my brown hair would come through like the other times, but I gave it try after a few weeks of working up the nerve! I am so glad I did!!!!! I absolutely LOVE the color and I have gotten more compliments on it than anything I've ever done!! Everyone thought I had it done in the salon and were surprised when I told them that I did it at home! I will definitely be using your product from now on! I just wish I had known about it before my wedding!

Guitaristssweetheart
White Hall, AR
Gender:Female
So far so good
11/9/2015

Customer review by Tbrock

4.0 stars 11/9/2015 by Tbrock
by Tbrock

So far I have a great experience with this brush. I have very thick coily hair, which is usually a pain to blow dry. This brush was able to make drying my hair effortless and also straighter BEFORE the flat iron. So far I haven't dropped it so I can't comment on my experience with the brush breaking.

Tbrock
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally! A go-to brand!
10/7/2013

Customer review by elallen4

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by elallen4
by elallen4

I have been dying my hair various colors for 16 years. I've done the do-it yourself and I've gone to the salon, but mostly I do-it myself since it's cheaper. In the past, I've just accepted that the cheaper way will give way to not being as great as salon. The "get what you pay for" motto. But I gave VS a try and used their Dark Brown. All I can say is wow. I could tell I liked it right from the rinsing step. Normally, I would spend 30 minutes just trying to get the water to run clear and still have color dripping from my hair upon exiting the shower. The excess color washed out so fast! And the coverage was amazing as well as the color. It's been nearly 6 weeks and my hair looks great!

elallen4
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This product did not work.
10/5/2013

Customer review by DDupu

2.0 stars 10/5/2013 by DDupu
by DDupu

I have been dying my hair red for a year now and decided to go back to my natural colour: dark brown. i used 2 boxes because my hair is thick. my result was black hair for the majority but parts that had dye on them were still red as if the dye had not taken. i now have to buy a third box and wait to fix my hair.

DDupu
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Pretty impressed
4/12/2013

Customer review by MantuS

5.0 stars 4/12/2013 by MantuS
by MantuS
Walmart associate

I got it for my wife and she used it 2 weeks back. Her hair color still look good and shiny even after few shampoos. The color was easy to apply and was not runny. It smells good and her hairs are soft . She totally recommends this pro series color .

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MantuS
Bay Area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
3/14/2013

Customer review by 8601

2.0 stars 3/14/2013 by 8601
by 8601

I was excited to see Vidal Sassoon products return. As much as I have loved Vidal Sassoon products in the '70's and '80's this was a dissappointment. Did not cover the gray very well nor did it last very long. However the hair spray is wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
8601
Chicago, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
New convert!
7/12/2014

Customer review by RoseAmande

5.0 stars 7/12/2014 by RoseAmande
by RoseAmande

I am truly impressed with this hair color. I bought it instead of my usual L'Oreal Preference in Med Brown #5. What a difference. L'Oreal gave me orange undertones but VS gave me a beautiful chocolate brown. I am so pleased!

RoseAmande
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Washes out
3/26/2014

Customer review by Alicia7758

4.0 stars 3/26/2014 by Alicia7758
by Alicia7758

I was so excited to try this brand because my other dye brand left my hair black. I loved the color of my sisters hair and she told me she used Vidal Sassoon so I had to try it too. I had to bleach the black out of my hair first. I was so happy after I dyed my hair with number 4. It was such a nice color and it covered my hair perfectly! Now after only a couple of weeks I have to redye my hair. It fades toooooo fast. Every shampoo there is color coming out. I only wash my hair every 2-3 days. I'm so sad I will be trying another brand other than Vidal Sassoon just because it washes out! But it goes on very easily and no mess like other dyes when washing it out.

Alicia7758
Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Surprisingly pleased with this color
2/18/2014

Customer review by DanyelW

5.0 stars 2/18/2014 by DanyelW
by DanyelW

I really like this. My hair felt better after I rinsed it (before conditioning) than before I put the color in. It doesn't have that nasty violet base most dark browns have and it rinsed nicely. The color is natural and the coverage is good. We have hard water and I get a lot of buildup in my hair so I always shampoo with baking soda to make sure my hair is completely clean for color. Child obligations also meant I had this on for close to an hour, instead of the half hour in the directions. There was no negative reaction to leaving it on longer and the gray coverage is solid, so I would recommend leaving it on longer if you can and if you don't show any sort of reaction during the patch test. I hope this is around for a long time because it's all I want to buy from now on.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanyelW
Ithaca, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
2/3/2013

Customer review by Adureviewer

4.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Adureviewer
by Adureviewer
Walmart associate

I used this product to color mom's hair, it provide the amazing colour. Hair look so natural. I don't experience any additional dryness or negative changes to the condition of my hair at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adureviewer
Fremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
Great conditioning and solid color
4/5/2013

Customer review by SMOck586

4.0 stars 4/5/2013 by SMOck586
by SMOck586
Walmart associate

This was given to a friend of mine who reported that she felt her hair was evenand conditioned after use. Great value and super easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SMOck586
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
1/3/2013

Customer review by FlyingDragon

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by FlyingDragon
by FlyingDragon
Walmart associate

The hair color covers grey and gives the hair a soft natural color.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlyingDragon
San Bruno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
I just stocked up,,,,
7/17/2013

Customer review by Nana05

5.0 stars 7/17/2013 by Nana05
by Nana05

I don't usually write reviews. I was on their website to show a friend what the box looks like (she was on her way to walgreens to get haircolor). I thought I may as well share my great experience and write a review. I have tried most dark browns in other brands). I tried this one as it was on sale. Usually the grays start showing within 10 days of coloring. Not VS!!! I am at 3+ weeks and no gray!!! I am very very pleased. I love the dark brown. This brand provides plenty of color for med length hair. I will not switch again. EVER. You will not be disappointed!!

Nana05
Vancouver, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews