Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 104 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

104 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

104 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
60
4 stars
29
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 82 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews
Wow! What an amazing tablet
12/10/2012

Customer review by TennisFan2013

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by TennisFan2013
by TennisFan2013

I spent a bunch of time reviewing 7" tablets. I went to every possible online site and read most of the reviews. After all that research, i decided to buy the Nook HD. This tablet has the best screen of any 7" tablet....and you can really see it side by side other products. It was amazing for watching movies, and my subscription to US weekly looks great. Other pros: Has expandable memory (most others do not), easy to hold in one hand (much better than the Fire), has a ton of great kids books (I have a 9 and 5 year old) and I used the "read to me" feature to record a story for my daughter when I went on a trip. Really fun - it could read any book to her in Dad's voice. Lightning fast web (only tried on my home wifi but was great there). Email works great. I highly recommend the Nook HD.

Was this review helpful? (251) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TennisFan2013
Burlington, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Value with Family Profiles
12/12/2012

Customer review by JNYer

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by JNYer
by JNYer

I spent a good deal of time looking for the right tablet for me - but also my family. NOOK HD has a terrific capability for profiles so I can set it up for my spouse, our niece and nephew, and makes it possible for me to not have to see all the stuff I own that I dont want to see. Its like several devices in one! And you can beat the quality of the screen - its beautiful. I love the catalog and magazines. Nevermind that it has a great catalog of books.

Was this review helpful? (112) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JNYer
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Really Great All-in-One tablet...
11/1/2013

Customer review by celenachar

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by celenachar
by celenachar

Purchased two of these to fulfill birthday obligations to a 10-yr-old and 12-yr-old (both girls). I chose this for reading books (in this age of AR points) and because it is Android driven. Set up was a breeze. Quite frankly, the battery power has been phenomenal. Both devices have held up really well for hours on end (including streaming many episodes of Woody Woodpecker through Netflix with only one charge). The only thing I didn't care for initially was the inability to change the "desktop" or "screen" background picture - but as the saying goes, "There's an APP for that." I was quite pleasantly surprised overall - as this device is, for all intents and purposes, a Nook, therefore an eBook reader. However, it rivals my own Nexus, as it is built for being the eReader, and also has the ability to download apps from Google Play, thereby allowing you to do nearly anything and everything. One more bonus: Streaming movies from Netflix or Starz Play is real smooth. Netflix plays smoother and clearer on this Nook than it ever did for our iPad.

Was this review helpful? (67) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
celenachar
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nook HD + Google Play= Winning Combination!
7/15/2013

Customer review by jlove4ever

5.0 stars 7/15/2013 by jlove4ever
by jlove4ever

I have been looking for a low-cost 7" tablet for some time now. My ideal was something that would be well-built, multi-functional and easily portable. I have a MacBook Air and an iPad, but wasn't interesting in investing in an iPad Mini. I tried the Kindle Fire HD when it was on sale for $159, but wasn't thrilled by it. Its limited app ecosystem turned me off. I tried a couple of "off-brand" tablets, but immediately returned them. Then I tried the Nook HD. I have been thrilled with it. Like many others, I have been thrilled by the decision to update to include Google's array of services, including gmail, Google+ and (most importantly) the Play Store. So, amazingly, on this B&N tablet, I can install an Amazon Kindle app for my Kindle books, while also benefitting from Nook's array of media. It's a win-win- all of which is achievable without rooting the device. Even though this is a secondary device for me, I have been using it consistently and I highly recommend it whether you are in my position or simply looking for a solid, multi-functional tablet device!!

Was this review helpful? (48) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jlove4ever
Hornell NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HD - CRISP & CLEAR GREAT TABLET!
12/24/2012

Customer review by MOMMYINFLA

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by MOMMYINFLA
by MOMMYINFLA

This is a wonderful tablet. The graphics are so crisp & clear. Easy to operate!! Bought this for my son for reading book. Great for surfing the web, playing games, netflix app is great as well!

Was this review helpful? (54) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MOMMYINFLA
SOUTH FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thumbs up from an IT guy
10/26/2013

Customer review by hobofoto

4.0 stars 10/26/2013 by hobofoto
by hobofoto

I've had my 8GB Nook HD for two weeks and I have a very favorable impression. The battery life is fairly good - 8 to 10 hours on a full charge - and the bundled applications work well. It's not a general purpose computer - I have an iMac and a Macbook Air that are the workhorses. The Nook is what I take with me when I just want email and web access on the road or in a coffee shop. It's much easier to carry than my old 1st Gen iPad (I sold the iPad a couple of years ago because it wasn't really useful). I gave the Nook HD a four-star rating overall only because B&N is dropping support for it. That doesn't matter much since it's still got a 1-year warranty and it now has access to Google Play so that most Android apps are available. I'm happy to recommend the Nook HD to friends.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hobofoto
upper midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Tablet
11/6/2013

Customer review by gatekeeper

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by gatekeeper
by gatekeeper

I can't say anything negative about this tablet, Everybody uses this tablet daliy weather its me, my wife or grandchildren when they visit, I am not a technical person but this tablet is not hard to learn to operate,

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gatekeeper
Somerset, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nook is Great!
1/2/2013

Customer review by cbiby

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by cbiby
by cbiby

I bought this Nook HD for my wife for Christmas. Little did I know that it would be a family gift, I have a 6 and 4 year old and they love it, they can load books and it will read it to them, or they can play games, etc. My wife loves the clarity of the hd screen, and how quick it works compared to her old Simple Nook. This is an excellent buy for the money.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cbiby
Edinburg, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for my kids
7/27/2013

Customer review by Masai

4.0 stars 7/27/2013 by Masai
by Masai

I am a teacher who utilizes a Bring Your Own Device policy to classroom learning. In the past year I have seen students bring a range of devices to class for research, free time, and assigned reading. The Nook was a popular device last year. My daughters had wanted tablets and Walmart had a sale. i bought two. They are lightweight, have bright screens, decent screens, and speakers. Most Playstore apps work with them. The battery life is good with the screen brightness set at 50%. I got the chance to use one for the day and it did most things very well. Reading on it was very comfortable, holding it was a breeze, and I was able to watch video from the web that looked great on it. There are no cameras on this device, but that in my estimation makes it an excellent device for kids. Would buy again.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Masai
Taunton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/25/2012

Customer review by Sammieschild

4.0 stars 12/25/2012 by Sammieschild
by Sammieschild

Great choice. The picture is clear for watching movies and the product is easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (34) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sammieschild
Chester, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/19/2013

Customer review by 1JollyRancher2

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by 1JollyRancher2
by 1JollyRancher2

Great product...after charging, set up was a snap...I read books, surf the net, play games, check email...downloading apps etc. takes less than a minute...really impressed with overall performance

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1JollyRancher2
Onyx, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ad is a misprint
1/9/2013

Customer review by JoeNook

4.0 stars 1/9/2013 by JoeNook
by JoeNook

I have this nook, I bought from here. It is a good tablet, however, the advertisement/description on the website states that it is Google Andorid. That is incorrect. The ONLY apps you can install are from Barnes and Noble Website, and most of them cosr 99 cents. I hope this helps, I hope the correct the ad, as it is misleading, and I would not have bought it, however, now that I am getting used to it, its a good tablet.

Was this review helpful? (33) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoeNook
Bangor, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tablet.
1/16/2013

Customer review by mrlakerfan

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by mrlakerfan
by mrlakerfan

My family and I really enjoy using this tablet. I have used other tablets and was not really impressed. This one impressed me because of the reading that my family and I do. Being able to download epub, and to be able to read, highlight, and write notes with such beautiful display makes you fall in love with it. And really that was my main goal for buying it. Sure the lack of the Android market is disappointing but there are programs to use that won't mess up the warranty. That is the only reason why I didn't give it an excellent on meets expectations. Overall great tablet.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrlakerfan
Saint Pauls, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
solid tablet for $99
12/20/2013

Customer review by stem

5.0 stars 12/20/2013 by stem
by stem

bought this tablet for my mom just so she can pretty much do Facebook and keep up with pictures of kids. Best Buy had the tablet for $99 so Walmart does price matching and I bought it from there. The setup was a breeze and the display, software etc. is awesome for the price range (under $100). With the google play store on there it makes it easier to download apps.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stem
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great upgrade
3/9/2013

Customer review by SCBorn

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by SCBorn
by SCBorn

I love my Nook HD. The picture is so vivid and the colors are so bright! I loved my Nook Color but I really love my Nook HD and I highly recommend it to anyone considering the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SCBorn
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
PERFECT!!!
7/16/2013

Customer review by myspothereonwallyworld

5.0 stars 7/16/2013 by myspothereonwallyworld
by myspothereonwallyworld

This little baby is great! Make sure to download the upgrade to have Android Google Play apps here: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/u/Software-Updates-NOOK-HD/379003802/ Such a wonderful little fella and fun to play with.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
myspothereonwallyworld
carmi, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good product.
11/14/2013

Customer review by yumbagels

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by yumbagels
by yumbagels

Can get slightly heavy after holding for a while. Touch screen is responsive. Apps and books load fast. It's very good that they added the play store, because the apps from the BN store are kind of lame. It says it won't charge from a computer, but it does, albeit slowly. It doesn't show that it is charging from computer, but it is. Charges much faster from an outlet. Battery life is good. Gave 4 stars for that because of the slow charge from computers. The downside is a lack of a camera, but that doesn't bother me since my phone has one anyway.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yumbagels
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love it!
1/7/2014

Customer review by Smithenwhackers

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by Smithenwhackers
by Smithenwhackers

I play with my nook all the time. I get on the internet and check facebook, listen to pandora and check my email. I listened to a ball game on it last night. I used it at church on Sunday to take notes and look up scriptures. I love having the internet anywhere there's wifi and not be tied down to a computer. I've read a little bit on it, but I wanted one because I can't afford a data plan for an Iphone. The battery life is good. I charge it up each night when I go to bed because I use it so much. I'm using it to put in this review. I recommend getting a bulb stylus for it, because the smaller buttons are hard to push. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smithenwhackers
Greenland, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful Tablet
6/20/2013

Customer review by Spiffymomof4

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by Spiffymomof4
by Spiffymomof4

I originally purchased the Emantic funtab for my 7 year old. It had so many problems so I returned it and then I saw this tablet. I just purchased it yesterday and I think this is a great tablet. My 7 year old loves it and it is better than the other one he had.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spiffymomof4
york,pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nook HD
11/22/2013

Customer review by strangepathways

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by strangepathways
by strangepathways

I received one of these for Christmas last year and my Girl friend and I like it so much that I had to get her one this year so I could get mine back.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
strangepathways
Sugar Creek, MO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews