Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 112 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

112 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

112 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
16
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 stars
27
1-20 of 85 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews
Excellent product
2/21/2013

Customer review by razorbackinNC

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by razorbackinNC
by razorbackinNC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a Philips DVD player and a WDTV Live box... This player does all the DVD player did and more; as in it plays more files types, plays Blu-ray and plays 3D. It does what I used the WDTV box for only better. While the WDTV box has more 'apps', we only used it for Netflix and Youtube. This Philips player plays netflix just as well with better video quality! Those having problems with lockups, it is the Netflix app, not the player... I had the same issues with the WDTV box... if your connections is poor, the app will freeze and lock up the box or player. Not the fault of the Philips! Bottom line, I traded in two older pieces of equipment, two cables, two remotes, etc, for only one. AND got more functionality and better picture quality. I highly recommend this product for anyone wanting to watch DVDs, Blu-rays, video files (plus audio and still pictures), netflix and Youttube..

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
razorbackinNC
Statesville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Highly recommend!
12/3/2012

Customer review by 1Conscientiousconsumer

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by 1Conscientiousconsumer
by 1Conscientiousconsumer

--WiFi Set up: Under five minutes, from plug in to WiFi pass code entry. Very fast and simple --DVD Load time: Less than a minute. Better than any other Blu-ray I've ever owned. No strange loading noises, no phantom opening and closing of the eject drawer. --Netflix/YouTube access: Effortless and fast. No problems. --Picture/sound quality: Top notch. --Freezing: None. Works flawlessly so far. Overall: I've researched countless Blu-ray players, and I haven't found any that I like better--all things being equal. For the price, the features you get and the quality, you will be hard pressed to find one better.

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1Conscientiousconsumer
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Priced Right! Excellent movie experience
6/30/2013

Customer review by itsmemaxi87

5.0 stars 6/30/2013 by itsmemaxi87
by itsmemaxi87

I just love my Phillips 3-d bluray DVD player. I've had this over a year now, and no problems. At first I didn't know how to eject the DVD, but I finally found out with some practice. If you want Netflix, VUDU, USB features and just recently Pandora was added. Yahoo! I just love watching it and the quality for the price is absolutely favorable. When I get some extra money, I will be buying 4 more for every room in the house. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews on this product. I watch netflix with no problem. I just figured out how to enjoy VUDU. I haven't used the 3-d feature yet, whereas, I'm not sure how that works, plus I don't have any 3-d movies. I sure it will be fine. Go online and look at the manual for those that are experiencing problems. If not, take it back and get a new one. This is well worth the money and hours of fun for the family.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
itsmemaxi87
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best deal on a Blu-Ray, hands down!
1/7/2013

Customer review by AgentJeffy

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by AgentJeffy
by AgentJeffy

Firstly to put it into perspective, the next cheapest model Blu-Ray player carried in most Walmart stores is only $10 cheaper at $68 dollars. It's not wireless and has all of the Sony bloatware and runs slow. This Blu-Ray player has a reliable wireless connection. Keeps up with my TV's refresh rate. Has only the Apps you'd really need (Netflix, Vudu, etc) and no other bloatware. It's response rate to button presses is quite impressive and it has a nifty front display that most other devices don't carry. Alternatively you can purchase another Wireless 3D Blu-Ray player that cost's twice as much... Kind of a no brainier right? Quit thinking you've already found a reliable device at the most unreal price. Just go get it. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AgentJeffy
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Freezes Constantly!
12/2/2012

Customer review by cball24

1.0 stars 12/2/2012 by cball24
by cball24

I purchased this product for the wifi capability and the price, but what I got was a product that freezes constantly and a remote that hardly works. I have to unplug the unit at least once a day (sometimes 2-3 times a sitting) because it keeps freezing! It also has a "standby" mode if you leave a disk on pause or it's inactive for 15 minutes, and it is unusable once there unless you unplug it. The remote, as I mentioned before, is useless unless you are within 5 feet of the unit and even then it is not very responsive. This unit is going to be returned tomorrow!!!

Was this review helpful? (33) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cball24
Sevierville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Aggrevating product!!
1/12/2013

Customer review by Billythekid2013

1.0 stars 1/12/2013 by Billythekid2013
by Billythekid2013

Horrible product. Do not waste your money. The remote does not work very well, you have to REALLY press the buttons hard and even that doesnt always work. Constantly having to search for other netflix programs because the sound does not work properly on this device. Works flawlessly on all my other devices in the house. Freezes up constantly on dvd function as well as wifi function. I litterally put my router on top of and next too this device and best singnal strength I got was 80percent. I would not recommend this product to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Billythekid2013
Ocala, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Won't play certain blu-rays
4/19/2015

Customer review by Monkeyb00y

1.0 stars 4/19/2015 by Monkeyb00y
by Monkeyb00y

Ok, I'll admit this thing worked fine at first. It plays DVDs and Blu-Rays no problem. Netflix works great. It's a little slow but you get used to it. Then we started to get a few more blu-ray movies since it worked so good. But when we got Man of Steel, it refuses to play the movie at all, it will load the menu screen (snips from the movie playing on the screen) without the menu to make it play the movie. It has the "MENU" error message like the others. I've already rebooted, and reset to factory defaults, and refreshed the firmware to no avail. I was thinking "ok, maybe it's the blu-ray disc that is causing a problem, since all of our other blu-rays work..." but for how long?? We purchased the Blu-Ray of FROZEN today and tried to watch it... 'UNKNOWN DISC' so I've had it with this thing. Why would I want a machine is designed to watch blu-rays and it won't even play them. It's going to be a dvd play for a spare bed room now, gathering dust until it stops working all together. I will buy another one but certainly not this brand.

Monkeyb00y
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
BIG MISTAKE
12/9/2012

Customer review by Wildie

1.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Wildie
by Wildie

I originally bought a much less expensive 2900 model but upgraded to the 2985 when I realized it didnt have the built in wifi. Took this one home and worked fine for a few days. Then it started freezing up while I watching NetFlix. I was unable to turn it off or even go to a different menu. I had to unplug it and it immediately did the same thing! I thought maybe it was just NF but it also froze up while trying to load/play a disc. So I took it back a week later and exchanged it for the same model expecting that I just got a bad one. Plugged in the new one and it did the same thing! I am very dissapointed! Taking back yet again and just getting a different brand!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wildie
CS, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not purchase this 3D Bluray player!!!
1/21/2013

Customer review by Eddie38

1.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Eddie38
by Eddie38

Purchased this unit on 1-20-13 at a local Walmart. Brought unit home and hooked up unit via owner's manual. When unit was turned on the "Philips" logo appeared on the television screen. The unit would go to a black screen on tv and would not play DVD. The Bluray player sounded as if it was working and was showing that it was working on it's led screen. Called a service representative with Philips, tech walked me through several steps trying to reset unit, but to no avail. This is the second time I have tried to buy Philips products with no luck. I would recommend spending a few extra dollars to purchase a better quality product. I will NEVER purchase another Philips product. Please BEWARE of Philips products. The prices of Philips products are cheap, but then again so are the products. Like the old saying.... "Ya get what ya pay for!!" I returned the junk Philips Bluray player to Walmart and spent the extra money to purchase a Samsung 3D Bluray player with no problems at all. Please research items you wish to purchase before you buy. Thanks. Ed

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eddie38
Benton, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This is the one for you
11/23/2012

Customer review by skullywag

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by skullywag
by skullywag

Have been a faithful fan and buyer of Phillips DVD and blu-ray players for many years. Price is better than any other name brand. Works flawlessly, and you get features only found on much more expensive units, like 3D and divx playback.

Was this review helpful? (45) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skullywag
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Issues from the beginning
12/7/2012

Customer review by Redsonja42

2.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Redsonja42
by Redsonja42

Just purchased this evening for my 2nd TV (LG Blu-Ray on 1st TV). Experienced freezing already and not getting audio on Netflix or Vudu only Youtube. Called support they advised me that there's a software update to correct some issues but my player isn't recognizing a need for an update, was advised to buy a USB flash drive and do the upgrade that way. NOT! Player is going back tomorrow, don't need the hassle. No problems with LG, I'll just get another.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Redsonja42
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
My First Blu-Ray Disc Player
12/10/2012

Customer review by LadyEngineer

4.0 stars 12/10/2012 by LadyEngineer
by LadyEngineer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I haven't owned one of these before, but I like to get Blu-Ray discs from Netflix, and my laptop won't always play them (I don't know why). Anyhow, the player seems fine. I have only noticed one annoying thing, which is - should I ever lose the remote control - I will not be able to use the player. I might be able to put a Blu-Ray disc in and play from the start, but I won't be able to control any other features. That's weird. Set-up was easy, and I had it connected to my wi-fi and Netflix in little time. It's really small, too.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyEngineer
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked for awhile
11/20/2015

Customer review by TECHIEGeek80

1.0 stars 11/20/2015 by TECHIEGeek80
by TECHIEGeek80

This Player is nice and small. A little slow to load but not bad. First few bluRay's we got worked great. Now when we get one, it may or may not load. Then play for a short time, then start skipping and showing small playback in the corner. Very sad, I really liked the player.

TECHIEGeek80
Champaign
Would recommend to a friend? No
Freezes
12/30/2012

Customer review by micf

1.0 stars 12/30/2012 by micf
by micf

I tried to watch YouTube videos but it froze. Couldn't even power it off so I had to unplug it. This happened both times I tried so I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
micf
Moses Lake
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
12/7/2012

Customer review by robbie32

3.0 stars 12/7/2012 by robbie32
by robbie32
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

item listed as playing numerous formats, yet when I attempted to do so unit said unknown disk almost every time, Plays store brought disks no problem, but the format listed on site is not correct. unfortunately, I purchased unit for the various formats ( very dissapointed).

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robbie32
new port richey fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
don't buy this
1/28/2013

Customer review by brandon27

1.0 stars 1/28/2013 by brandon27
by brandon27

nothing but problems. First it freezes frequently, just stops responding. The only way to recover from this issue it to unplug it from the outlet. Second it has network issues. Specifically it takes 20 or so seconds to establish a network connection wether plugged in directly or via wifi. I thought setting a static ip address would solve the issue as maybe it had something to do with DHCP but this presented another problem. Normally it waits for a network connection before allowing you to launch netflix or other internet services. When setting a static ip the player doesn't perform this check anymore so when you power the unit on and try to go into netflix right away it won't work. 3. Loading netflix is slow. Loading the netflix app itself is really slow, and once you select a show to watch it's slow. I have a 2012 macbook pro and during a race I can go from completely off to watching a netflix show before this blu ray player.

brandon27
utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Good machiine, great value for the money
12/26/2012

Customer review by yoda1962

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by yoda1962
by yoda1962
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The remote is lacking but the picture and audio are excellent and for the price a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yoda1962
spokane, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Item is being returned tomorrow
3/31/2013

Customer review by Nateball89

1.0 stars 3/31/2013 by Nateball89
by Nateball89

I guess I should have been alarmed when this player made a very glitchy screen on the very first blu ray I popped in(the blu ray was brand new, out of the case). I had to eject the disc, and put it back in. Halfway through, the brightness dimmed by 50%. Had to eject the disc again. The remote responds when it wants to, even with brand name batteries in it. The straw that broke the camel's back was when I put in a dvd(also brand new, out of the case) and the picture was god awful: just terrible. Distorted, blurred, choppy, and pixelated. I've read reviews of this product where people have had wonderful experiences with this product, which leads me to believe that Philips doesn't perform top notch quality control inspection on every individual device they build if something as bad as I got could have slipped through the cracks. Don't risk your money on this product. Go with a different company. I'm returning this to Wal-Mart tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nateball89
Lockport, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Easy setup, very fast
6/17/2013

Customer review by artmanronn

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by artmanronn
by artmanronn
Walmart associate

I purchased a Sony 3100 last week and returned it because it would not connect to Netflix, which was mainly the reason to purchase a wifi compatible unit in the first place. The store was out of this model when I returned the defective one and I got this Philips for $20 less. I have always had great success with Philips brand products and to no surprise the wifi setup and setting passwords for Vudu and Netflix went surprisingly fast and smooth. I have played discs in it as well and the speed is up to par. I should have bought this one in the beginning. I thought Sony being the creator of Blu Ray technology would have the best player, maybe they do but the software is apparently glitchy. Thanks Philips for another outstanding product, at a great price!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
artmanronn
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
12/7/2012

Customer review by jhud7161

2.0 stars 12/7/2012 by jhud7161
by jhud7161
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Froze up several times the first week requiring us to unplug it. Returned it after 1 week.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jhud7161
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews