Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 111 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

111 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

111 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
16
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 stars
26
1-20 of 84 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews
Highly recommend!
12/3/2012

Customer review by 1Conscientiousconsumer

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by 1Conscientiousconsumer
by 1Conscientiousconsumer

--WiFi Set up: Under five minutes, from plug in to WiFi pass code entry. Very fast and simple --DVD Load time: Less than a minute. Better than any other Blu-ray I've ever owned. No strange loading noises, no phantom opening and closing of the eject drawer. --Netflix/YouTube access: Effortless and fast. No problems. --Picture/sound quality: Top notch. --Freezing: None. Works flawlessly so far. Overall: I've researched countless Blu-ray players, and I haven't found any that I like better--all things being equal. For the price, the features you get and the quality, you will be hard pressed to find one better.

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1Conscientiousconsumer
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is the one for you
11/23/2012

Customer review by skullywag

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by skullywag
by skullywag

Have been a faithful fan and buyer of Phillips DVD and blu-ray players for many years. Price is better than any other name brand. Works flawlessly, and you get features only found on much more expensive units, like 3D and divx playback.

Was this review helpful? (45) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skullywag
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Freezes Constantly!
12/2/2012

Customer review by cball24

1.0 stars 12/2/2012 by cball24
by cball24

I purchased this product for the wifi capability and the price, but what I got was a product that freezes constantly and a remote that hardly works. I have to unplug the unit at least once a day (sometimes 2-3 times a sitting) because it keeps freezing! It also has a "standby" mode if you leave a disk on pause or it's inactive for 15 minutes, and it is unusable once there unless you unplug it. The remote, as I mentioned before, is useless unless you are within 5 feet of the unit and even then it is not very responsive. This unit is going to be returned tomorrow!!!

Was this review helpful? (33) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cball24
Sevierville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Issues from the beginning
12/7/2012

Customer review by Redsonja42

2.0 stars 12/7/2012 by Redsonja42
by Redsonja42

Just purchased this evening for my 2nd TV (LG Blu-Ray on 1st TV). Experienced freezing already and not getting audio on Netflix or Vudu only Youtube. Called support they advised me that there's a software update to correct some issues but my player isn't recognizing a need for an update, was advised to buy a USB flash drive and do the upgrade that way. NOT! Player is going back tomorrow, don't need the hassle. No problems with LG, I'll just get another.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redsonja42
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Excellent product
2/21/2013

Customer review by razorbackinNC

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by razorbackinNC
by razorbackinNC

I had a Philips DVD player and a WDTV Live box... This player does all the DVD player did and more; as in it plays more files types, plays Blu-ray and plays 3D. It does what I used the WDTV box for only better. While the WDTV box has more 'apps', we only used it for Netflix and Youtube. This Philips player plays netflix just as well with better video quality! Those having problems with lockups, it is the Netflix app, not the player... I had the same issues with the WDTV box... if your connections is poor, the app will freeze and lock up the box or player. Not the fault of the Philips! Bottom line, I traded in two older pieces of equipment, two cables, two remotes, etc, for only one. AND got more functionality and better picture quality. I highly recommend this product for anyone wanting to watch DVDs, Blu-rays, video files (plus audio and still pictures), netflix and Youttube..

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
razorbackinNC
Statesville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Aggrevating product!!
1/12/2013

Customer review by Billythekid2013

1.0 stars 1/12/2013 by Billythekid2013
by Billythekid2013

Horrible product. Do not waste your money. The remote does not work very well, you have to REALLY press the buttons hard and even that doesnt always work. Constantly having to search for other netflix programs because the sound does not work properly on this device. Works flawlessly on all my other devices in the house. Freezes up constantly on dvd function as well as wifi function. I litterally put my router on top of and next too this device and best singnal strength I got was 80percent. I would not recommend this product to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Billythekid2013
Ocala, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BIG MISTAKE
12/9/2012

Customer review by Wildie

1.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Wildie
by Wildie

I originally bought a much less expensive 2900 model but upgraded to the 2985 when I realized it didnt have the built in wifi. Took this one home and worked fine for a few days. Then it started freezing up while I watching NetFlix. I was unable to turn it off or even go to a different menu. I had to unplug it and it immediately did the same thing! I thought maybe it was just NF but it also froze up while trying to load/play a disc. So I took it back a week later and exchanged it for the same model expecting that I just got a bad one. Plugged in the new one and it did the same thing! I am very dissapointed! Taking back yet again and just getting a different brand!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wildie
CS, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best deal on a Blu-Ray, hands down!
1/7/2013

Customer review by AgentJeffy

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by AgentJeffy
by AgentJeffy

Firstly to put it into perspective, the next cheapest model Blu-Ray player carried in most Walmart stores is only $10 cheaper at $68 dollars. It's not wireless and has all of the Sony bloatware and runs slow. This Blu-Ray player has a reliable wireless connection. Keeps up with my TV's refresh rate. Has only the Apps you'd really need (Netflix, Vudu, etc) and no other bloatware. It's response rate to button presses is quite impressive and it has a nifty front display that most other devices don't carry. Alternatively you can purchase another Wireless 3D Blu-Ray player that cost's twice as much... Kind of a no brainier right? Quit thinking you've already found a reliable device at the most unreal price. Just go get it. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AgentJeffy
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Freezes
12/30/2012

Customer review by micf

1.0 stars 12/30/2012 by micf
by micf

I tried to watch YouTube videos but it froze. Couldn't even power it off so I had to unplug it. This happened both times I tried so I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
micf
Moses Lake
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Priced Right! Excellent movie experience
6/30/2013

Customer review by itsmemaxi87

5.0 stars 6/30/2013 by itsmemaxi87
by itsmemaxi87

I just love my Phillips 3-d bluray DVD player. I've had this over a year now, and no problems. At first I didn't know how to eject the DVD, but I finally found out with some practice. If you want Netflix, VUDU, USB features and just recently Pandora was added. Yahoo! I just love watching it and the quality for the price is absolutely favorable. When I get some extra money, I will be buying 4 more for every room in the house. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews on this product. I watch netflix with no problem. I just figured out how to enjoy VUDU. I haven't used the 3-d feature yet, whereas, I'm not sure how that works, plus I don't have any 3-d movies. I sure it will be fine. Go online and look at the manual for those that are experiencing problems. If not, take it back and get a new one. This is well worth the money and hours of fun for the family.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
itsmemaxi87
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good machiine, great value for the money
12/26/2012

Customer review by yoda1962

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by yoda1962
by yoda1962

The remote is lacking but the picture and audio are excellent and for the price a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yoda1962
spokane, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My First Blu-Ray Disc Player
12/10/2012

Customer review by LadyEngineer

4.0 stars 12/10/2012 by LadyEngineer
by LadyEngineer

I haven't owned one of these before, but I like to get Blu-Ray discs from Netflix, and my laptop won't always play them (I don't know why). Anyhow, the player seems fine. I have only noticed one annoying thing, which is - should I ever lose the remote control - I will not be able to use the player. I might be able to put a Blu-Ray disc in and play from the start, but I won't be able to control any other features. That's weird. Set-up was easy, and I had it connected to my wi-fi and Netflix in little time. It's really small, too.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyEngineer
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/7/2012

Customer review by robbie32

3.0 stars 12/7/2012 by robbie32
by robbie32

item listed as playing numerous formats, yet when I attempted to do so unit said unknown disk almost every time, Plays store brought disks no problem, but the format listed on site is not correct. unfortunately, I purchased unit for the various formats ( very dissapointed).

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robbie32
new port richey fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/7/2012

Customer review by jhud7161

2.0 stars 12/7/2012 by jhud7161
by jhud7161

Froze up several times the first week requiring us to unplug it. Returned it after 1 week.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jhud7161
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mr. Freeze
12/21/2012

Customer review by Deej675

2.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Deej675
by Deej675

Got this as a Christmas present. Easy to set up, plays discs beautifully. The problem is that when using the internet applications (Netflix, Vudu, etc.), the player frequently freezes. It's not buffering, it's stuck...forever. The only way to reset the machine is to unplug it. In summary; for use as a Blu ray disc player, it works well. For use in streaming video...useless.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deej675
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value.
12/21/2012

Customer review by jrandt

4.0 stars 12/21/2012 by jrandt
by jrandt

This blue ray player has great quality picture and was a super value, but the load time is slow.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jrandt
Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
easy to use
12/11/2012

Customer review by 44Jesus

4.0 stars 12/11/2012 by 44Jesus
by 44Jesus

works great, easy set-up

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
44Jesus
Fern Park,Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pull the plug
11/27/2012

Customer review by KAMEAL

3.0 stars 11/27/2012 by KAMEAL
by KAMEAL

When it works, it works great! But every day, at least once a day, when streaming from Netflix or VUDU, it decides to stop working and I have to un-plug it and re-plug it back in. Power button won't turn it off or fix the issue. Hasn't happened while watching a blu-ray or DVD. Was so excited to finally have something that played both blu-ray and DVD, and highly disappointed; but that's what you get for the cheap price..

Was this review helpful? (7) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KAMEAL
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy setup, very fast
6/17/2013

Customer review by artmanronn

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by artmanronn
by artmanronn

I purchased a Sony 3100 last week and returned it because it would not connect to Netflix, which was mainly the reason to purchase a wifi compatible unit in the first place. The store was out of this model when I returned the defective one and I got this Philips for $20 less. I have always had great success with Philips brand products and to no surprise the wifi setup and setting passwords for Vudu and Netflix went surprisingly fast and smooth. I have played discs in it as well and the speed is up to par. I should have bought this one in the beginning. I thought Sony being the creator of Blu Ray technology would have the best player, maybe they do but the software is apparently glitchy. Thanks Philips for another outstanding product, at a great price!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
artmanronn
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Ok Blu-ray Player
4/8/2013

Customer review by 001Great

4.0 stars 4/8/2013 by 001Great
by 001Great

I had problems with this player until I brought a higher grade HDMI cable. Now it is working fine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
001Great
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews