Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1212 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1212 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1212 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
804
4 stars
275
3 stars
31
2 stars
24
1 stars
78
1-20 of 922 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 922 total reviews
1-20 of 922 reviews
The Best Choice!
11/18/2012

Customer review by greek77

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by greek77
by greek77

I am so happy with this Nexus 7 tablet. I did a ton of research online before I thankfully decided on the Nexus. It was tough because the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 sounded great also & had 2 cameras & a SD card slot for memory expansion. Also I have a Samsung PC which I love. But when I saw that Nexus 7 had a new 32 GB model coming up & I read so many great reviews from happy owners on both. But all the major tech sites ( CNET, NewEgg,etc) all went bananas over the Nexus 7 & voted it best 7 inch tablet, I had to grab it. Also it has Jelly Bean instead of ICS which is more advanced technology. I am really so happy with my choice. It's fast, has a beautiful display, easy to use, long lasting battery, fast charging. I could go on & on..........

Was this review helpful? (513) (62)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greek77
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Excellent tablet for the price!
11/2/2012

Customer review by Leem1994

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by Leem1994
by Leem1994

This was already an awesome tablet. Then Asus upgraded the storage to 32GB. This now gives you twice the storage as before, but for the same price! Great build quality as to be expected from Asus, and a beautiful design all for $249.99! Plus you get the true Android experience that Google originally intended. If you're looking for quality and performance with lots of bang for your buck, then you should buy this tablet! I will update this review after a month of owning the tablet.

Was this review helpful? (373) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leem1994
Eatonton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
They almost got it perfect....
11/26/2012

Customer review by Maxtaf

4.0 stars 11/26/2012 by Maxtaf
by Maxtaf

This is a great tablet, fast, responsive, great video. I would prefer 2GB of memory instead of 1GB, and I would really like a rear camera, but for the price, I'll be just fine without them. My biggest problem is the lack of a memory card slot. Google seems to think that everyone should be happy with their person, private data floating out there in the 'cloud' somewhere, but I, for one, need the ability to easily extend my memory/storage on the fly, and having to locate a WiFi hotspot, and pay for the download just does not cut it. An easy, although bulky, solution is an on-the-go (OTG) cable. Allows you to plug a thumb drive into this tablet, and access the data. Not very elegant, but it works. Make sure it's micro USB Male to USB type A Female. Even with this issue, this is still a lot of computer for the money. I would highly recommend this tablet to almost everyone.

Was this review helpful? (114) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maxtaf
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for on the go
11/19/2012

Customer review by WooWooWataaaah

5.0 stars 11/19/2012 by WooWooWataaaah
by WooWooWataaaah

Works great out of the box. Very fast. User friendly. Video quality is great. I didn't realize how small it was. Light and portable. It's a keeper. If you're mostly using it for the Internet then 16GB should be enough.

Was this review helpful? (114) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WooWooWataaaah
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This the OLD version 2
12/1/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/1/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I hope everyone knows Walmart is selling 2012's model 1B32 with Tegra 3.0 1.20 GHz, Android 4.1 Jelly Bean. 2013's model is 2B32 with Snapdragon S4 1.5 GHz, Android 3.0 (Honeycomb). 2013's model is smoother and faster.

Was this review helpful? (96) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Osage City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT Tablet, truly! But FYI it's the 2012 Model
11/30/2013

Customer review by BradAL

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by BradAL
by BradAL

Again, great awesome tablet. Fast, powerful, etc. I own this little baby, and Google just released Android 4.4 (aka Kit Kat) over the last few days for it - so you'll be able to upgrade to the latest Android OS as soon as you open this puppy up. But, it is the 2012 model. The 2013 model seen here http://www.walmart.com/ip/Google-Nexus-7-Tablet-with-32GB-Memory-Black/26617791 at $230 has: 1.5GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Pro 8064 processor 2GB DDR3LM of system memory 7" touchscreen with anti-fingerprint technology, 1920 x 1200 resolution Built-in 802.11a/b/g/n WiFi and Bluetooth v4.0 Additional Features: Back 5MP webcam and front 1.2MP webcam with microphone, auto-focus and digital zoom Just wanted to let folks know. :) Again, love this tablet! I actually own the 16gb version, but their the same other than that. Get a good case! I actually own a hard fitted case that turns on and off the screen when opening and it has the ability to prop up in landscape mode, then, for extra protection when traveling, I put it in a slip in foamy thing made for 7" tablets.. the Nexus 7 with the fitted case fits nicely into it. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (98) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BradAL
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR
3/27/2013

Customer review by STEVIE310

4.0 stars 3/27/2013 by STEVIE310
by STEVIE310

AT FIRST I PURCHASED A CASE & SCREEN PROTECTOR FOR IT (A MUST). THE SPEAKER ISN'T THE GREATEST AND VOLUME LEVEL EVEN WHEN USING HEADPHONES IS POOR BUT I FOUND A SOLUTION. I DOWNLOADED A SPEAKER BOOSTER APP DIRECTLY FROM THE NEXUS 7 APP STORE BUT IT WASN'T LOUD ENOUGH FOR ME. PERSONALLY I FOUND EVERYTHING ELSE ON THIS TABLET TO BE WELL WORTH THE PRICE SO RATHER THAN RETURNING THE UNIT I WENT ONLINE & PURCHASED A SMALL PORTABLE HEADPHONE AMP & SOME NEW HEADPHONES. I WAS LOOKING FOR A PERFECT SETUP FOR WHEN I GO DO LAUNDRY, CAMPING, FISHING OR TRAVELING. SO I ADDED A SMALL PORTABLE HARD-DRIVE (2TB) ALONG WITH THE ADAPTER NEEDED TO USE WITH NEXUS 7 AND NOW I HAVE THE COMPLETE SETUP WITH ENDLESS CHOICE TO PLAY ANY MUSIC, MUSIC VIDEOS AND MP4 MOVIES FROM MY OWN COLLECTION BACKED-UP ON THE PORTABLE HARD-DRIVE. SURE I SPENT SOME EXTRA BUCKS FOR THIS SETUP BUT IT STILL DIDN'T COST ME WHAT I WOULD HAVE SPENT ON THE MOST POPULAR MINI TABLET.

Was this review helpful? (167) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STEVIE310
Lennox, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the best tablet
11/13/2012

Customer review by jack234rt

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by jack234rt
by jack234rt

This tablet comes with everything you need. The same ipad mini with the same built in featuresw would cost over $500. from Apple

Was this review helpful? (168) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jack234rt
south
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great tablet
2/21/2013

Customer review by twishy

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by twishy
by twishy

if your looking for something as good as a iPad but without the price you found it . my hubby and I did tons of research and this is one of the best androids out there. can even with a little searching and a download handle the forbidden flash ooo ahh. my hubby ordered the 32 gig the day it came on the market n the first batch had a speaker defect. quick return thank you walmart and not a single problem since. we have one for each of us and would be lost without them. our poor PCs and iPods r now are mostly unused. I still use my iPod for Imessage n the computer to burn disks or to play PC games. but I have found no other limits . sites can be viewed in mobile or desktop you have great browser choices and tons of great features including voice commands to Google that remind you of apples siri but aren't that expansive yet. still it will tell you the weather a definition answer some questions or let you speak a search into Google.and I really enjoy my tablet.

Was this review helpful? (102) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twishy
Charleston,wv.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great tablet ! Easy to use and millions of apps
11/9/2012

Customer review by nexusbest

4.0 stars 11/9/2012 by nexusbest
by nexusbest

Its a very nice and easy to use. Navigation is great even offline without any data connection being used or WiFi. Memory space is great.. Havent tried camera yet but only has a front facing camera.

Was this review helpful? (130) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nexusbest
westbury, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
In case you have the wont charge problem
1/23/2013

Customer review by DeJae72529

5.0 stars 1/23/2013 by DeJae72529
by DeJae72529

I have two of these for my kids. If you have the issue of trying to plug it in to charge and it never showing a charge and you cannot turn it on, DO NOT RETURN IT! The fix is easy. Let it charge for a couple hours (even though it seems that it isn't charging). Then unplug it, wait about ten seconds. Then plug it back in and IMMEDIATELY hold the power and volume down buttons simultaneously. Keep holding them down for a while and then you will get the Google logo and the device will boot. Turns out it is an issue with the OS version. Your device was actually charging the whole time. You may need to try it more than once if you don't get the timing right. Happens when the device drains all power and shuts down. I have had to do it multiple times and works every time. Hoping a future system update will correct this issue, but hey, it works! Other than that, it is a solid build and my kids LOVE them, so as any parent can attest, happy kids make me happy . 5 Stars!

Was this review helpful? (77) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeJae72529
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Powerful and fast
11/17/2012

Customer review by goldensunshield

4.0 stars 11/17/2012 by goldensunshield
by goldensunshield

It is powerful, fast and amazingly versatile. My only complaint is that adobe flash is not supported. It is most annoying as half the internet seems to use adobe flash.

Was this review helpful? (83) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goldensunshield
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Tablet
10/28/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a really great tablet. I did lots of research when I decided to purchase this tablet. This is the first generation nexus 7, and there really isn't much difference from the new 2nd generation, except this one cost less. The tablet is very easy to set up, has lots of memory, and lots of pre loaded apps, and many to choose from the Google play store. I went to my Google Dashboard and loaded some of the apps that were also on my phone. Check out this tablet on YouTube, lots of good information, comparisons, tricks and features. The tablet doesn't have flash pre installed, and you can't install it from the play store, but I was able to install it from a instruction video on you tube. If you are looking for a great tablet, and at a great price, this is it. FYI I received the tablet from Walmart within 3 days from purchase, and no charge for shipping.

Was this review helpful? (81) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Albany, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nexus 7 rocks
11/14/2012

Customer review by jrk373

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by jrk373
by jrk373

The best 7 inch Android Tablet available at the moment. The upgrade to 32GB gives me plenty of space for as many apps as I can get my hands on. If you want to store movies on the Nexus you will eat up you GBs fast, but why do that when you can stream them. If you must, keep 1 or 2 flix on board and swap them out. The processor is very fast, with little to no lag in starting and running programs. The download speeds are only limited by the speed of my wireless router. The color and resolution on the screen is beautiful. (buy a clear screen protector from Newegg for 3 bucks and save yourself some worry). This tablet is highly comparable wit the iPad Mini, and better in many ways. Check out the comparisons online. All in all I could not be happier with my purchase. This is best of the best, top of the line. Buy one.

Was this review helpful? (78) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jrk373
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice product design. Poor execution by ASUS.
1/8/2013

Customer review by CDBibi

2.0 stars 1/8/2013 by CDBibi
by CDBibi

I bought two Nexus 7 tablets from Walmart. One was 16GB and the other one the 32GB model. Although I liked the product both tablets had defects. The 16GB table had a microphone issue, thus making impossible to use Skype. The person at the other end would hear a continuous whistling noise. The 32GB model tablet would failed to upgrade from Android 4.1.1 (stock) to 4.1.2. About 30% into the upgrade the small android guy would fall on his back with a red triangle on his chest and an exclamation mark (see attached picture). I was lucky to purchase the tablets from Walmart. The store allows returns within 15 days after purchasing with no restocking fee. Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (119) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CDBibi
Glenview, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best value in a 7" tablet.
11/21/2012

Customer review by ncengr

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by ncengr
by ncengr

Nexus 7 surpassed my expectations. A high quality piece of hardware and there are a huge number of apps. I was used to an IPad and this product compares nicely. Battery life is good. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (51) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ncengr
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great IPad Mini like tablet
1/19/2014

Customer review by Hamburg1

4.0 stars 1/19/2014 by Hamburg1
by Hamburg1

I have been an all Apple product user and lover. I just couldn't get myself to spend around $400 for a smaller tablet so I researched and decided on the Google Nexus. It is very similar in size and look. Best thing the price $179 for 32GB here at Walmart which was up to $100 more at Best Buy for example. If you like me want to read on the tablet this is the perfect size to hold it with one hand. Everything Google works famously, I only miss not having imessaging like I would have with an Apple tablet. The back of the Nexus is a more rubbery plastic which appears and feels a bit cheaper than the IPad Mini. Some Apple aps are missed, but What do I have an IPad (the old one) and my IPhone for?! The Nexus has good battery life, it is perfect to transport, I don't even use an extra case (a plus for the rubbery back, no scratching). Due to the amazingly better price the Nexus is a very worthy contender if you don't want to spend the money on an IPad Mini.

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hamburg1
Oakland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing!
11/20/2012

Customer review by barker109

5.0 stars 11/20/2012 by barker109
by barker109

Honestly, I have an Ipad and I much prefer the Nexus 7. I'm having so much fun with this little tablet. It does everything!!!!!! Small enough to take with me everywhere. I don't think you would regret buying this product:)

Was this review helpful? (47) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barker109
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stop Hesitating...JUST GET IT!!
12/4/2012

Customer review by DroidfromDay1

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by DroidfromDay1
by DroidfromDay1

I could go on and on but I am sure it has all been said already. Break open the piggy bank and go get the Nexus 7....you will be very glad you did. Just put your hands on one once and feel the quality of this compared to lesser priced (and most higher priced) Tablets. As good as it feels, it performs even better. I tried the cheaper stuff and some with larger screens...there is NO comparison to the Nexus 7. FWIW, I have been a full time Android user since the first day the Original Droid was released, had all of the most popular Smartphones over the years...and the Nexus 7 with 4.2.1 (it will automatically update to 4.2.1 when you get it and sign it) is the most fluid and powerful Android Experience to date. Looks like I am going to have to get another since I can't pry it out of my wife's hands...funny she has been saying for months "why get a Tablet, just get another Laptop"....LOL. The only reason I am writing this is to waste time on this clunky Laptop until I can get the Nexus 7 away from her again!! Sure wish Walmart had a "2-fer" special discount. ha,ha!! OH, being clumsy she has already knocked it off the arm of her chair on to the hardwood floor ..TWICE.....didn't even leave a mark(no case/cover yet either)... she just picked it up looked at me sheepishly and kept using it....Try that with those "off-brand cheapo" Tablets...you would be picking up parts and pieces. Oh, did I mention it FEELS GOOD in your hand...OH YES IT DOES....just as solid feeling as the amazing performance. Trust me, GET IT!!

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DroidfromDay1
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I Love This Tablet!
11/28/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have had my tablet for about two weeks and love it. I originally wasn't sure if I wanted this or the new amazon fire HD. After much research I went with this. I do have amazon prime and the only thing I can't take advantage of by not having a kindle device is the library. I can still access many free books through amazon prime, the Google store, wattpad and other free reading apps I have found. Initially you are not able to use flash because adobe is pulling from mobile devices but I found by searching on YouTube how to use flash. Once you figure that out and all you are able to use flash based apps and watch your amazon instant movies from Firefox (Google blocks flash). I love this thing. My husband is just happy he has his laptop to himself again lol. This was so far a great buy. I have the 32 GB tablet.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pottsville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 922 total reviews
1-20 of 922 reviews