Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1212 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1212 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1212 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
804
4 stars
275
3 stars
31
2 stars
24
1 stars
78
1-20 of 922 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 922 total reviews
1-20 of 922 reviews
JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR
3/27/2013

Customer review by STEVIE310

4.0 stars 3/27/2013 by STEVIE310
by STEVIE310
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

AT FIRST I PURCHASED A CASE & SCREEN PROTECTOR FOR IT (A MUST). THE SPEAKER ISN'T THE GREATEST AND VOLUME LEVEL EVEN WHEN USING HEADPHONES IS POOR BUT I FOUND A SOLUTION. I DOWNLOADED A SPEAKER BOOSTER APP DIRECTLY FROM THE NEXUS 7 APP STORE BUT IT WASN'T LOUD ENOUGH FOR ME. PERSONALLY I FOUND EVERYTHING ELSE ON THIS TABLET TO BE WELL WORTH THE PRICE SO RATHER THAN RETURNING THE UNIT I WENT ONLINE & PURCHASED A SMALL PORTABLE HEADPHONE AMP & SOME NEW HEADPHONES. I WAS LOOKING FOR A PERFECT SETUP FOR WHEN I GO DO LAUNDRY, CAMPING, FISHING OR TRAVELING. SO I ADDED A SMALL PORTABLE HARD-DRIVE (2TB) ALONG WITH THE ADAPTER NEEDED TO USE WITH NEXUS 7 AND NOW I HAVE THE COMPLETE SETUP WITH ENDLESS CHOICE TO PLAY ANY MUSIC, MUSIC VIDEOS AND MP4 MOVIES FROM MY OWN COLLECTION BACKED-UP ON THE PORTABLE HARD-DRIVE. SURE I SPENT SOME EXTRA BUCKS FOR THIS SETUP BUT IT STILL DIDN'T COST ME WHAT I WOULD HAVE SPENT ON THE MOST POPULAR MINI TABLET.

Was this review helpful? (167) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
STEVIE310
Lennox, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice product design. Poor execution by ASUS.
1/8/2013

Customer review by CDBibi

2.0 stars 1/8/2013 by CDBibi
by CDBibi

I bought two Nexus 7 tablets from Walmart. One was 16GB and the other one the 32GB model. Although I liked the product both tablets had defects. The 16GB table had a microphone issue, thus making impossible to use Skype. The person at the other end would hear a continuous whistling noise. The 32GB model tablet would failed to upgrade from Android 4.1.1 (stock) to 4.1.2. About 30% into the upgrade the small android guy would fall on his back with a red triangle on his chest and an exclamation mark (see attached picture). I was lucky to purchase the tablets from Walmart. The store allows returns within 15 days after purchasing with no restocking fee. Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (119) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CDBibi
Glenview, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for on the go
11/19/2012

Customer review by WooWooWataaaah

5.0 stars 11/19/2012 by WooWooWataaaah
by WooWooWataaaah

Works great out of the box. Very fast. User friendly. Video quality is great. I didn't realize how small it was. Light and portable. It's a keeper. If you're mostly using it for the Internet then 16GB should be enough.

Was this review helpful? (115) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WooWooWataaaah
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
In case you have the wont charge problem
1/23/2013

Customer review by DeJae72529

5.0 stars 1/23/2013 by DeJae72529
by DeJae72529

I have two of these for my kids. If you have the issue of trying to plug it in to charge and it never showing a charge and you cannot turn it on, DO NOT RETURN IT! The fix is easy. Let it charge for a couple hours (even though it seems that it isn't charging). Then unplug it, wait about ten seconds. Then plug it back in and IMMEDIATELY hold the power and volume down buttons simultaneously. Keep holding them down for a while and then you will get the Google logo and the device will boot. Turns out it is an issue with the OS version. Your device was actually charging the whole time. You may need to try it more than once if you don't get the timing right. Happens when the device drains all power and shuts down. I have had to do it multiple times and works every time. Hoping a future system update will correct this issue, but hey, it works! Other than that, it is a solid build and my kids LOVE them, so as any parent can attest, happy kids make me happy . 5 Stars!

Was this review helpful? (77) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeJae72529
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great IPad Mini like tablet
1/19/2014

Customer review by Hamburg1

4.0 stars 1/19/2014 by Hamburg1
by Hamburg1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been an all Apple product user and lover. I just couldn't get myself to spend around $400 for a smaller tablet so I researched and decided on the Google Nexus. It is very similar in size and look. Best thing the price $179 for 32GB here at Walmart which was up to $100 more at Best Buy for example. If you like me want to read on the tablet this is the perfect size to hold it with one hand. Everything Google works famously, I only miss not having imessaging like I would have with an Apple tablet. The back of the Nexus is a more rubbery plastic which appears and feels a bit cheaper than the IPad Mini. Some Apple aps are missed, but What do I have an IPad (the old one) and my IPhone for?! The Nexus has good battery life, it is perfect to transport, I don't even use an extra case (a plus for the rubbery back, no scratching). Due to the amazingly better price the Nexus is a very worthy contender if you don't want to spend the money on an IPad Mini.

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hamburg1
Oakland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great tablet
2/21/2013

Customer review by twishy

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by twishy
by twishy

if your looking for something as good as a iPad but without the price you found it . my hubby and I did tons of research and this is one of the best androids out there. can even with a little searching and a download handle the forbidden flash ooo ahh. my hubby ordered the 32 gig the day it came on the market n the first batch had a speaker defect. quick return thank you walmart and not a single problem since. we have one for each of us and would be lost without them. our poor PCs and iPods r now are mostly unused. I still use my iPod for Imessage n the computer to burn disks or to play PC games. but I have found no other limits . sites can be viewed in mobile or desktop you have great browser choices and tons of great features including voice commands to Google that remind you of apples siri but aren't that expansive yet. still it will tell you the weather a definition answer some questions or let you speak a search into Google.and I really enjoy my tablet.

Was this review helpful? (102) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
twishy
Charleston,wv.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
They almost got it perfect....
11/26/2012

Customer review by Maxtaf

4.0 stars 11/26/2012 by Maxtaf
by Maxtaf

This is a great tablet, fast, responsive, great video. I would prefer 2GB of memory instead of 1GB, and I would really like a rear camera, but for the price, I'll be just fine without them. My biggest problem is the lack of a memory card slot. Google seems to think that everyone should be happy with their person, private data floating out there in the 'cloud' somewhere, but I, for one, need the ability to easily extend my memory/storage on the fly, and having to locate a WiFi hotspot, and pay for the download just does not cut it. An easy, although bulky, solution is an on-the-go (OTG) cable. Allows you to plug a thumb drive into this tablet, and access the data. Not very elegant, but it works. Make sure it's micro USB Male to USB type A Female. Even with this issue, this is still a lot of computer for the money. I would highly recommend this tablet to almost everyone.

Was this review helpful? (114) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maxtaf
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT Tablet, truly! But FYI it's the 2012 Model
11/30/2013

Customer review by BradAL

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by BradAL
by BradAL

Again, great awesome tablet. Fast, powerful, etc. I own this little baby, and Google just released Android 4.4 (aka Kit Kat) over the last few days for it - so you'll be able to upgrade to the latest Android OS as soon as you open this puppy up. But, it is the 2012 model. The 2013 model seen here http://www.walmart.com/ip/Google-Nexus-7-Tablet-with-32GB-Memory-Black/26617791 at $230 has: 1.5GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Pro 8064 processor 2GB DDR3LM of system memory 7" touchscreen with anti-fingerprint technology, 1920 x 1200 resolution Built-in 802.11a/b/g/n WiFi and Bluetooth v4.0 Additional Features: Back 5MP webcam and front 1.2MP webcam with microphone, auto-focus and digital zoom Just wanted to let folks know. :) Again, love this tablet! I actually own the 16gb version, but their the same other than that. Get a good case! I actually own a hard fitted case that turns on and off the screen when opening and it has the ability to prop up in landscape mode, then, for extra protection when traveling, I put it in a slip in foamy thing made for 7" tablets.. the Nexus 7 with the fitted case fits nicely into it. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (98) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BradAL
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/2/2012

Customer review by Robb1020

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Robb1020
by Robb1020

I've been wanting a tablet for some time now and was also looking for something to buy my wife for Christmas. After reading review after review on several different models, I chose to take the plunge and go for the Nexus 7 32 GB. I wasn't sure what to expect and was a little nervous. I bought two of them and gave my wife her's as an early Chirstmas gift (This way I could justify buying myself one and playing with it without getting into trouble). She absolutely loves it. I do too! My 14 y/o daughter has been wanting an iPad for Christmas. We bought her one and hid it in the hall closet to give to her on Christmas morning. After playing with my wife's Nexus 7, she now wants one and doesn't want an iPad. Since they seem to be selling pretty quick, I had to buy her one today and will be taking the iPad back. The only draw back is that the accessories cost an arm and a leg through the stores. I recommend buying covers and anything else from an online auction site.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robb1020
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Tablet
10/28/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/28/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a really great tablet. I did lots of research when I decided to purchase this tablet. This is the first generation nexus 7, and there really isn't much difference from the new 2nd generation, except this one cost less. The tablet is very easy to set up, has lots of memory, and lots of pre loaded apps, and many to choose from the Google play store. I went to my Google Dashboard and loaded some of the apps that were also on my phone. Check out this tablet on YouTube, lots of good information, comparisons, tricks and features. The tablet doesn't have flash pre installed, and you can't install it from the play store, but I was able to install it from a instruction video on you tube. If you are looking for a great tablet, and at a great price, this is it. FYI I received the tablet from Walmart within 3 days from purchase, and no charge for shipping.

Was this review helpful? (81) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Albany, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than I expected!
5/19/2014

Customer review by andrea0093

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by andrea0093
by andrea0093
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been researching tablets for the past 3+ months. I'm a little bit of a cheapskate, but also wanted something of value. For a good while I was torn between purchasing the Kindle Fire HDX and an iPad. I personally hate Apple. Call me stubborn. After much deliberation and deciding that I really didn't need a large screened tablet, I purchased the 2012 7" Nexus with 32GB. I haven't owned it longer than 2 weeks but it has been fantastic and suits all of my needs. I already own a large Vaio, so this tablet is for travel purposes when I don't feel like lugging my laptop around. Internet and Netflix streaming are great. That's what I use it for mostly. I also started reading one of the free books included and it appears that I will no longer need to purchase a kindle of some sort. I'm very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
andrea0093
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Love This Tablet!
11/28/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have had my tablet for about two weeks and love it. I originally wasn't sure if I wanted this or the new amazon fire HD. After much research I went with this. I do have amazon prime and the only thing I can't take advantage of by not having a kindle device is the library. I can still access many free books through amazon prime, the Google store, wattpad and other free reading apps I have found. Initially you are not able to use flash because adobe is pulling from mobile devices but I found by searching on YouTube how to use flash. Once you figure that out and all you are able to use flash based apps and watch your amazon instant movies from Firefox (Google blocks flash). I love this thing. My husband is just happy he has his laptop to himself again lol. This was so far a great buy. I have the 32 GB tablet.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pottsville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nexus 7 rocks
11/14/2012

Customer review by jrk373

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by jrk373
by jrk373
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The best 7 inch Android Tablet available at the moment. The upgrade to 32GB gives me plenty of space for as many apps as I can get my hands on. If you want to store movies on the Nexus you will eat up you GBs fast, but why do that when you can stream them. If you must, keep 1 or 2 flix on board and swap them out. The processor is very fast, with little to no lag in starting and running programs. The download speeds are only limited by the speed of my wireless router. The color and resolution on the screen is beautiful. (buy a clear screen protector from Newegg for 3 bucks and save yourself some worry). This tablet is highly comparable wit the iPad Mini, and better in many ways. Check out the comparisons online. All in all I could not be happier with my purchase. This is best of the best, top of the line. Buy one.

Was this review helpful? (78) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jrk373
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Best Choice!
11/18/2012

Customer review by greek77

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by greek77
by greek77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am so happy with this Nexus 7 tablet. I did a ton of research online before I thankfully decided on the Nexus. It was tough because the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 sounded great also & had 2 cameras & a SD card slot for memory expansion. Also I have a Samsung PC which I love. But when I saw that Nexus 7 had a new 32 GB model coming up & I read so many great reviews from happy owners on both. But all the major tech sites ( CNET, NewEgg,etc) all went bananas over the Nexus 7 & voted it best 7 inch tablet, I had to grab it. Also it has Jelly Bean instead of ICS which is more advanced technology. I am really so happy with my choice. It's fast, has a beautiful display, easy to use, long lasting battery, fast charging. I could go on & on..........

Was this review helpful? (513) (62)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greek77
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good tablet for the price
12/2/2012

Customer review by Gambit73

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Gambit73
by Gambit73

I've researched tablets for some time before purchasing this one. Walmart currently has the best deal for this mid-range tablet, but don't let the term mid-range fool you. This is a great tablet and does anything you'd want it to do. I've only had the tablet for less than a day, but I can already tell it was a great purchase. I didn't want to spend the Apple prices for a tablet and I'm glad I didn't. I still got a tablet which is just as good as, or better than, many Apple iPads. I've always liked the Android OS market, and the Nexus 7 runs completely off Google products. The system updated to Jellybean 4.2 right away, so it's already better than advertised. Pros: Fast processor rivaling the iPad Mini. Slick design and light weight. 32gb for a $250 price (Amazon has the 16gb version for the same price#. Does not come with the 'Apple' name price, and just as good, if not better. Cons: only a front facing camera #if that's a big deal for you#. No micro SD card slot, but for 32gb of internal, I won't be needing more. No service option for 3g or 4g #LTE either# service which doesn't bother me, but it may be an issue for others.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gambit73
Maui
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Broke after 34 days and won't charge when on!
1/4/2013

Customer review by Stjohnsflorida

1.0 stars 1/4/2013 by Stjohnsflorida
by Stjohnsflorida

I would have written a glowing review during the first month like so many on here but then the tablet got a black screen while using it. After trying to get it to turn back on for more than an hour, it powered up. Then I couldn't see anything but the battery icon charging. After another hour, it restarted but it no longer would charge when the unit was on and still won't. The touchscreen periodically stops working as well. Now I have to send it back for repairs which take 14 business days plus transit meaning that I will be without this for almost as long as I have had it. If you google "nexus 7 won't charge", you will see tons of people are having this problem after they have the unit for a month or two. Buy an Ipad mini - at least they are directly responsible for their own equipment and service. Google and Asus just blame each other.

Was this review helpful? (45) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stjohnsflorida
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I bought this and got what I expected.
11/23/2012

Customer review by TechmanExpert71

4.0 stars 11/23/2012 by TechmanExpert71
by TechmanExpert71

I work In the IT field and expected less and got more. I tweaked this for top performance and it works wonderful. It prompts already 2 weeks after release for the jellybean 1.2 update. I tried this twice and it failed on the reboot. I have seen numerous friends have the same issue. Restored started again and turned off the updates for now. I will update once the root cause is found. Fans great with base Jellybean for now. A lot of apps compatible so far.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechmanExpert71
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWSOME, Tablet for the Price!
12/6/2012

Customer review by 2kbandit

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by 2kbandit
by 2kbandit

The Nexus 7 comes with Google Chrome all ready installed. But the Google Chrome does not support Adobe Flash. But there is a way to get flash on the Nexus 7 just search youtube for it. It's not that hard to get flash working if you really want it. I find the device is nice to hold in one hand or with both hands. This device lacks a rear facing camera but I don't find that to be a issue. The front facing camera is nice enough for using apps like Skype. The device also has two build in microphones which could be used with voice software like Teamspeak which is available on the android google store. If you are willing to pay $249 dollars for the 32GB model of the Nexus 7. Do your self a favor and buy a really nice case to help keep it safe. Cause they don't take falls very well from tables. I seen many posts on android forums where people cracked the screens on it. Sending in the device for screen replacement will cost more then a new one. As long you handle the Nexus 7 with care and not someone who drops stuff a lot or ruff with it. They make really nice Android tablet if you want a full Android experience. If you are looking for a table for your kid and they tend to drop stuff. Maybe even throw there stuff around like its nothing. You might want to rethink about buying them the Nexus 7. Might be better off buying them the Kindle Fire.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2kbandit
Alger, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nothing better
11/13/2012

Customer review by yomommadaddy

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by yomommadaddy
by yomommadaddy

first bought the 16GB but traded it up for the 32GB. both tablets were flawless and exceeded my expectations for performance. Because it is an Android and not fruit, the Google market has an app that allows you to stream data from your android phone to this tablet effortlessly. so i have WiFi, data streaming through my phone at 2MBd when away from WiFi, fantastic performance and better screen resolution than the mini fruit thing that costs $200 more. I have a unique need for this tablet as a pilot, and it is also the only one with this performance with an internal GPS. Google must be selling these at cost.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yomommadaddy
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent tablet for the price!
11/2/2012

Customer review by Leem1994

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by Leem1994
by Leem1994

This was already an awesome tablet. Then Asus upgraded the storage to 32GB. This now gives you twice the storage as before, but for the same price! Great build quality as to be expected from Asus, and a beautiful design all for $249.99! Plus you get the true Android experience that Google originally intended. If you're looking for quality and performance with lots of bang for your buck, then you should buy this tablet! I will update this review after a month of owning the tablet.

Was this review helpful? (374) (61)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leem1994
Eatonton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 922 total reviews
1-20 of 922 reviews