Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 712 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

712 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

5 stars
336
4 stars
184
3 stars
42
2 stars
23
1 stars
127
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 598 total reviews
9/23/2013

Customer review by mypony

1.0 stars by mypony

After I received my order (2 days later than promised) I booted it up. Received a message could not find a boot device. Went into the bios and it was stated there was no drive 0 and could not find one. F12 drive config gave the same results. Popped the cover to see if drive was plugged in, it was but was not spinning up. I called Joy Systems, the refurbisher, first thing on Monday morning. After an hour an a half on hold, when it became my turn the line went dead on their end. Initially I was number 2 in the queue for 1.5 hours. Have tried calling back several times since and am anywhere from 12 to 15 in the queue. I don't have that long to wait, could be days. They either have a LOT of problems with their refurbs or one person taking calls or both. I have since sent their tech support an e-mail with no response so far. I am packing up to return to Wal Mart. That will make 3 trips on this boat anchor.

Was this review helpful? (142) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mypony
Tega Cay, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great deal on an upgrade!
1/10/2014

Customer review by Juliechatterbox

5.0 stars by Juliechatterbox

I moved up from XP and didn't want to spend a lot of money, or move to WIN8 (which nobody seems to like). The refurb looks brand new- not a scratch. Keyboard and mouse are brand new, of course. There were two backup discs attached as well. I dreaded having to upgrade my senior brain and skills but the transition was easy. One hitch was that my current HP printer would not load with its installation disc (it was apparently made before WIN7). However, it just took a download from HP to install. WIN7 has videos that explain the new features step by step, and it meets my immediate needs with email, etc. until I retrain my aging brain to the new features. One warning for those who are not tech-savvy. Windows 7 Professional is not Office Professional. This is just the operating system and does not include MS Office features like WORD or POWERPOINT etc.- that requires purchasing an Office or WORD program or downloading free OpenOffice.org if you need those programs. If looks matter, this is a very sleek, silver tower. It's also totally quiet! This was a very good deal and my experience with Dell products has always been positive, so I am pleased.

Was this review helpful? (121) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Juliechatterbox
Barker NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great deal for a great price
9/4/2013

Customer review by kdog509

5.0 stars by kdog509

I ordered this on 08/18/2013 and tracked it all the way from NJ. Arrived at my Walmart store in Airway Heights Washington on 08/29/2013. I purchased this to replace my wife's old Dell Dimension 2400 which was like 9 years only and running slow as heck. The Win7 Professional pre-installed was a nice bonus. Out of the box was the tower, power cord, keyboard, optical mouse and what looked to me like an OEM version of Win7 Professional, not just a rescue disk. Had no use for the keyboard, mouse and power cord since I already had them, but they make a nice backup, just in case. Set up was quick and painless. Had to make a few adjustments like for local time and computer name, but everything else worked perfect right out of the box. When I first got it home, I checked it for dings or dents and happily found none. Then I pulled the cover off to check out the inside. Not a speck of dust or wooly bugger anywhere to be seen. So that made me comfortable that I made the right call. Here's 2 heads up for people. #1. Take note of the Windows key code on the top of the case before you stick it in the computer desk. You are going to need to enter that during your initial set up. #2. If you are going to purchase this with the intent of upgrading it later on, be aware this is what's called a low profile case. So standard sized cards, like video cards won't fit in the case due to the height of the brackets they come attached to. You will need to make sure whatever upgrade cards you want to install come with a low profile bracket. Either that or remove the bracket altogether and just let the card slot hold it in place. (I don't recommend that option however). The motherboard has 4 slots for memory. The computer comes with 4 GB of RAM. However, they are 1 GB sticks. So if you want to upgrade the memory to say 8GB you will have to buy the full 8GB outright and just write off the 4 1GB sticks. That was a bit of a disappointment but certainly not a deal breaker by any means. Besides simple (read non graphic intensive) games, my wife likes to watch videos on line. On her old computer, the audio/video sync was so bad, do to how slow it ran, that watching videos was like watching a badly dubbed kung fu movie. I told her once this computer came, she was going to immediately notice a marked increase in performance. Needless to say, on line videos now run smooth as silk, so she is a happy camper. So for the $230.00 we paid for this computer verse the price of a new store brought system, this was truly a value packed deal and one I would not hesitate to make again.

Was this review helpful? (77) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kdog509
Ritzville, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
PC would not work properly from the start
2/3/2014

Customer review by 1291

3.0 stars by 1291

I ordered this PC to replace one of 2 desk top pc's I have at home for family use. I took it out of the box and set it up. At first I thought it was going to work. Then it began locking up and would not function. After re-starting several times and attempting to get it to work, I tried to reboot from the supplied disk. It still went to the same spot and locked up. I could not get it to go beyond the same spot each time. I packed it back up and am going to return it. On a more possitive note...I ordered another PC just like it, even before this one arrived, since I plan to keep 2 working PC's in the house. After packing up the first one for return, I unpacked the second PC and find it works just fine. I am able to install office, quicken, Hallmark cards, and my printer software and it is working just fine. One out of 2 are working just fine. Maybe the grade I gave was a bit harsh. We will see! If asked to rate the second purchase I will give a better grade.

Was this review helpful? (64) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
1291
Keizer, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not what I expected
11/1/2013

Customer review by zzkaftan

2.0 stars by zzkaftan

Before I ordered this product I searched the Intel site for 'Intel Core 2 Duo Processor' specifications and found that it was supposed to be 64-bit technology but when I look at the computer properties it does not show "Intel Core 2 Duo Processor" and it is not 64-bit technology, it's 32-bit. Also when I went to register Windows 7 with Microsoft I put in the authorization code and I was told it was invalid, I did this several times. I haven't resolved this yet had to skip on without authorizing my Windows 7 installation. I don't know what will happen yet but I'm sure I'm on a limited time schedule before I need to authorize it and I don't go what I'm going to do or if I am going to be shut down.

Was this review helpful? (49) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
zzkaftan
hemet, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Computer crashed within 3 months!
8/20/2013

Customer review by mommaj7

1.0 stars by mommaj7

While my initial thought of this computer was amazing. It worked great, looked great and was a great deal for the memory size. I bought it for my kids to do school work and their Rosetta Stone Spanish. Within 2 months, the microphone stopped working. It took me two weeks to get a hold of Joy Systems (the company who you are supposed to contact with issues with these refurbished computers). It took 2 hours of phone conversation before the issue was resolved. Then a couple weeks ago, the computer just crashed. It wasn't a virus and I had Norton installed. We turned the computer on and it said the hardware was missing. BOOM Just like that. I have sat on hold with Joy Systems for more than 45 minutes waiting for an answer only to have someone accidentally press a wrong button and hang up resulting in me having to call in again- which I have yet to have the time to wait on hold for an hour just to talk to someone. I've sent several emails with NO reply. AND, while you are on hold, if gives you the option to leave a message. Well, you better not do that, because you'll never get a call back. I've left messages over the past two weeks with no return call. It's a waste of money and I wish I would have bought new.

Was this review helpful? (50) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mommaj7
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't do it!
11/15/2013

Customer review by Maddiesmom04

1.0 stars by Maddiesmom04

I never take the time to leave reviews, but this PC was horrible. The disc drive wouldn't open, it made this horrible rattling noise each time it booted up. We returned it!

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Maddiesmom04
Olmsted Falls , OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value for the money.
11/6/2012

Customer review by Georgelite

4.0 stars by Georgelite

As good as buying a new one except this is cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (90) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Georgelite
Pensacola, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One Star is One too many
12/10/2012

Customer review by 14xes

1.0 stars by 14xes

When I got the machine home it booted and restarted fine thru the initial setup. Then I did a shut down, after which, the monitor would never show that the computer was on. I did a boot from the supplied DVD, reinstalled the operating system and got the same results. I did that a second time and decided not to shut it down and see if it would maybe reboot in a couple of days. After less than 45 minutes it crashed and I was not able to get it to work again. I have owned maybe 10 machines over the past 20 years and while I am not a computer engineer I have never had another computer that I could not get to work right out of the box. In other words, nothing I did differently when I set this computer up that would have cause this problem. I called the support line, the toll free number and the 'not' toll free number, after 15 minutes of waiting and listening to 'Your call is very important to us'; I was pretty sure they were not going to answer, but I stayed on the line for 1 hr. 2 min and 38 sec. to give them the benefit of the doubt before leaving my name, phone number, product serial number and a brief description of the problem. Over almost a week now and I have not received a return call or anything. I actually returned the machine the next day after I got it, just saying you may not get thru to support at all. The call was made during normal business hours...I called at 3:00PM EST, silly me to assume that would be normal business hours, though. Save your self some aggravation and time, spend a few more bucks and get a new computer...the folks that are doing these refurbs are doing a really poor job when it comes to QC. The machine shipped from NJ and it took 5 days before it was available for pick up at the store...FedEx ground...USPS standard shipping is faster than that! OH, a final note I use my computer 8 or more hours a day...have not had a computer previous to this that did not work for me for at least 2 years. Some times I am using 2 computers at the same time, computers are not foreign to me...just sayin'.

Was this review helpful? (75) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
14xes
in Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So Far So Good --
3/13/2014

Customer review by Whatgoesaround1

5.0 stars by Whatgoesaround1

Having had to retire all my beloved XP's I opted for refurbished Widows 7's This is my second and it went well on set up and install -- I had to buy Windows 10 and also loaded King Soft (which is a free very good software suite) and have spent a day and half loading programs and e-mail accounts. Only half of my old programs work, but what is --is!! I am still miffed at Microsoft for obsoleting a perfectly good system (XP) -- Some day I may just go the Mac route, but my Windows 7's will probably last my useful life.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Whatgoesaround1
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
STOP! DO NOT BUY ANY COMPUTERS FROM JOY SYSTEMS!
5/15/2014

Customer review by Chani27

1.0 stars by Chani27

I purchased this computer from Walmart. I used their site to store pickup option. Joy Systems claims to be a top refurbisher of computers. No! I picked up this computer and upon setting it up, the keyboard stopped working. Then within 8 hours after setting it up, the hard drive died....gone! I requested a replacement and received that one...only to find out that the specifications were totally different from what I originally ordered AND PAID FOR!! The replacement computer specs were Windows 7 Premium (not Windows 7 Professional), 2G RAM (not 4G RAM), 265G Hard Drive(not 750G Hard Drive), DVD ROM (not DVD RW), and who knows what else!!!! To top off all the nonsense with this replacement computer, the provided Product Key was invalid for the version of Windows 7 that resided on this replacement computer. Joy Systems has wasted my time completely. They are not refurbishers. They send out whatever they have without doing the proper tests on the computers they sell. They just hope the computers they send out will last long enough....say 6 months to a year...then they'll try to blame it on it being a refurbished computer. Joy Systems are just horrible. BEWARE!!!!! I just can't believe that a company like Walmart would let a terrible company like Joy Systems put their company's reputation on the line. Joy Systems still could not get it right on the 2nd try.

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Chani27
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Never again
4/16/2014

Customer review by FroggLin

1.0 stars by FroggLin

I bought this computer...what a bad idea. Approx. 6 months after purchase the hard drive crashed. Lost everything. Called the refurb company. 21 people in front of me. It took over an hour or more to reach someone. I was told refurb means all parts are refurb, my bad. They replaced the entire system. Part II: I got the new refurb computer a couple months ago. Inserted CD to add printer (a week ago). The cd/dvd made a horrible grinding noise and died. Called today. 21 people in front of me. One hour and 33 minutes and was disconnected. I want my money back to afford a real computer. I will never buy refurb again. Lesson learned. I will try calling again tomorrow. Who wants to bet a dollar I have 21 people in front of me?

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FroggLin
Daytona Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Not bad for the money, but pretty old technology
8/30/2013

Customer review by Mike750

3.0 stars by Mike750

I bought this for mom for web browsing and light typing, and I think it will be fine for that. But this model first came on the market I believe in 2006, and these systems have probably seen some heavy use before being refurbished. The system I received was clean, but opening the case I found a loose expansion card (for a serial port and PS2 keyboard) that was still attached to the motherboard. The first time I booted it up, it tried to boot to a floppy drive that didn't exist, telling me that one had probably been installed before, but was removed when the unit was refurbished. I had to alter the BIOS to get it to boot to the hard drive. Not a big deal, but not a great out of the box experience. I also ran into some issues trying to validate my copy of Windows, and had to call an automated line at Microsoft to get that resolved. (Too be fair, it's possible that as small as the print on the serial number sticker was, I could have typed a letter/number wrong.) All in all, it's not a bad deal. But "refurbished" in this case doesn't mean something that was returned by a customer who couldn't figure out how to turn it on. "Used and refurbished" would probably be more accurate.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mike750
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would not recommend
5/20/2014

Customer review by ItsJustMe1994

1.0 stars by ItsJustMe1994

I purchased this computer in January '14. At first when I opened it it did not recognize the SATA Hard Drive and would not boot. I tried calling the warranty company Joy Systems and was in a que that seemed like it would take forever. I am fairly computer tech savvy, so I decided to look into the issue myself. The issue was that the SATA cable was not connected to the HD, so I plugged it in and it worked. There has always been a message that pops up about booting from the Boot Drive, but if you just let it go it does just bypass and boot up on its own. I may be able to change this in the BIOS but it isn't that big of a deal to me. I have now had this computer for just a little over 4 months and the Hard Drive has failed. Now I have no choice but again try and get ahold of Joy Systems and see what I need to do to get this thing back working again and so I guess I am going to be down for a few days (hopefully) that is all it will be.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ItsJustMe1994
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/7/2013

Customer review by bornagainmk

5.0 stars by bornagainmk

I was not aware that I could buy a refurbished computer and knew I was needing to replace the one I had. A son told me a certain business sold them on line and found a good buy. After calling them and trying to find out if it had a DVD that I could use to do what I was able to do with the computer I had and they could not tell me for sure it could, I decided to check with Walmart and sure enough they sold them too and had the very one I was looking to buy with the other company and this one had in the details about the Dell that it indeed could do what I tried to find out about the other one! With this one I got a key board and mouse and that wasn't even mentioned with the other one! This Dell has all the room I need for storing pictures and music, which sold me on it! In just a few days I was able to pick it up at the Walmart we use all the time and no shipping fee! Thank you Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (39) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bornagainmk
Lincoln, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/26/2012

Customer review by Orbster

5.0 stars by Orbster

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this "refurbished" computer. I've never used Windows 7 before so I wasn't sure what to expect. Once I got it hooked up, it was smooth sailing. The setup process is less than 30 minutes and is very easy even if you don't really understand computers. The processor is a decent one and is capable of handling multiple programs simultaneously. At one point, I had 3 different browsers open (IE, Firefox & Chrome) and they all worked with ease and without conflict. I liked the fact that it came without a lot of the "garbage" programs that normally come with a new computer. It saved me the time of uninstalling them. It was also relatively easy to transfer my documents, photos, etc from old computers. I can whole heartedly recommend this desktop without any reservations. It was most definitely worth the $228 price tag.

Was this review helpful? (65) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Orbster
Lorton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Buy
11/20/2012

Customer review by mtpokets99

5.0 stars by mtpokets99

Quick set up out of the box. Runs great!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mtpokets99
KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dell Refurbished Silver 745
11/22/2013

Customer review by BenancioB

4.0 stars by BenancioB

I was reluctant to buy a refurbished computer but I wanted the Windows 7 operating system and couldn't find a new machine that didn't have Windows 8. This machine only cost $212.00 so I felt that I wasn't risking a lot of money and bought it. It has turned out to be a very good buy. It is very fast and with enough memory that I can keep 6 to 8 programs open all the time. I can toggle from one to the other, split the screen and put two up at once, etc, etc. If you are an old Windows 7 person, then I highly recommend you consider this type of purchase.

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BenancioB
Willcox, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well worth the cost
1/12/2013

Customer review by ez2no1

5.0 stars by ez2no1

I reluctantly ordered this refurbished PC for my adult daughter for Christmas. I was leery of the condition and quality of a refurbished item. To my relief, this PC turned out to be a great purchase that works perfectly and is just what she wanted!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ez2no1
Tampa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/3/2013

Customer review by TechMamaKnows

5.0 stars by TechMamaKnows

I have bought several refurbished computers from various vendors and have had good luck with them. I was hesitant to buy a refurbished computer from WalMart based on some of the reviews I read. But, based on the computer I received, I definitely recommend buying these refurbished machines. I am very happy with the machine I received. There were a few minor scratches on the case, which is expected for a used computer. I opened it up to look for dust around the fans and components; the inside was very clean. Booted up and has been running ever since.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TechMamaKnows
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 598 total reviews