Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 731 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

731 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

731 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
548
4 stars
77
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 stars
86
1-20 of 716 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 716 total reviews
1-20 of 716 reviews
Used to be good!?!?!
12/23/2014

Customer review by Amy

1.0 stars 12/23/2014 by Amy
by Amy

I don't know what you did to the original formula. Downy used to work great and smell nice. Now it gets all clumpy and clogs up the dispenser (which I clean frequently). You blame the thickening on temperature extremes. They must have happened during shipment to the grocery store. This never used to happen before, I would bet that you changed the formula to save money. Hard to believe that temperature is to blame, we have lived in the same climate for 50 years. I can't use this stuff and would like a refund.

Amy
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Scent I remember
5/3/2017

Customer review by curlyheadedmomma73

5.0 stars 5/3/2017 by curlyheadedmomma73
by curlyheadedmomma73

I am so happy Downy April Fresh smells as it did when I was a child again. I'm in my forties, by the way. For a while there, when the scent of the Downy April Fresh had initially been changed, it didn't smell like the Downy I grew up with. It smelled more like rotten fruit punch, than April Fresh, so I stopped buying it. Now it smells like the April Fresh I use to know and love. I am back to buying it again, and my clothes come out smelling wonderful and feeling nice whether I use my dryer or line dry. Although I will admit, April Fresh and line drying is the freshest scent ever!!! Thank you for making it smell the way it use to again.

curlyheadedmomma73
Homewood, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I will be reordering this again.
5/7/2017

Customer review by ANDREW J

5.0 stars 5/7/2017 by ANDREW J
by ANDREW J
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the perfect size for us. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

ANDREW J
Naperville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ULTRA DOWNY APRIL FRESH with SILK TOUCH liquid
1/3/2017

Customer review by mamasita1x

5.0 stars 1/3/2017 by mamasita1x
by mamasita1x
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love DOWNY.....have used it for many years, but this "silk touch" is awesome! The clothes look wonderful and smell great. I will be buying more.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamasita1x
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works for me.
8/11/2016

Customer review by Elby

5.0 stars 8/11/2016 by Elby
by Elby
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I( always used dryer sheets before. When I tried a product that you just add in the wash machine, it worked as well or better, with no annoying little sheets loitering about. I have not had any shocking experiences since I've started using Downy. I'm happy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thinned Product
3/23/2015

Customer review by aaklov

1.0 stars 3/23/2015 by aaklov
by aaklov

Downy has been my go to product. The smell, softness and control of static cling had been dependable. I recently been noticing static cling on my clothes that caused me to notice the fresh smell was not as pronounced (I could almost live with this). But having my clothes cling to me, no way. You Downy have thinned. Downy has tried to pull the rug over our eyes. I AM BUYING WATER? and in turn am flushing my $$ down the drain, because this product no longer works. Be the product we have trusted for decades. Your customers are smart and we have chosen to buy a quality product because we knew it worked, at times spending a little more then on a product that did not work as well. Now it doesn't, and you have tried to fool us the consumer. Shame on you! If you had improved your product you would have announced it in Bold letter on your packaging. When you thin your product do you announce NOT SO IMPROVED, WATER ADDED! NO. Bring the old Downy back. Keep your life long Downy user.

aaklov
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Downy softener
12/9/2016

Customer review by Btodd

5.0 stars 12/9/2016 by Btodd
by Btodd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used this for years and it always leaves our clothes smelling good and soft

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Btodd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I would not do laundry without it.
9/14/2016

Customer review by DomesticEngineer1

5.0 stars 9/14/2016 by DomesticEngineer1
by DomesticEngineer1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's the best I have been using this for years. I could not imagine my laundry especially my towels without it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DomesticEngineer1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best on the market
9/9/2013

Customer review by Crssy65

5.0 stars 9/9/2013 by Crssy65
by Crssy65
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Downy is the most concentrated fabric softener I've used, and I've tried them all, suavitel (which I used for while because its more economical), snuggle (smell only lasts in the bottle, trust me), and tonnes of generic brands, and now I'm right back to my roots and never turning back, Downy!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crssy65
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love the way my clothes and sheets feel and smell.
12/31/2016

Customer review by Happygirl

5.0 stars 12/31/2016 by Happygirl
by Happygirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

love the way my clothes and sheets feel and smell.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happygirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
12/30/2016

Customer review by Lovelytress

5.0 stars 12/30/2016 by Lovelytress
by Lovelytress
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent product! Makes your fabrics smell fresh and clean!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovelytress
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I would buy again
4/6/2017

Customer review by GAIL Z

5.0 stars 4/6/2017 by GAIL Z
by GAIL Z
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

GAIL Z
Pa
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wouldn't use any other
4/4/2017

Customer review by Mel

5.0 stars 4/4/2017 by Mel
by Mel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like it better than any other softener, cause we use less. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Mel
Pomona,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Received free product:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Chemical smell
3/15/2017

Customer review by Ktawney

1.0 stars 3/15/2017 by Ktawney
by Ktawney

Please bring back the original April fresh Downy. I've noticed in the last year and a half that the fresh smell that's been a trademark of my clothes for the past 30 years is gone and now it's a horrible chemical smell. I've seen others complain about the same thing so why aren't you doing something not to lose customers? I quit buying Downy a few months ago but would love to come back...help!!!

Ktawney
Would recommend to a friend? No
JUST GO TO THE STORE
11/7/2013

Customer review by LBinColumbus

1.0 stars 11/7/2013 by LBinColumbus
by LBinColumbus
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was really disappointed that this item arrived open, with liquid leaking all over. The box was soaked and it got all over the wool rug in my living room. Just go to the store and buy this. Don't use the delivery service.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LBinColumbus
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Why did you change the April Fresh scent?
3/23/2017

Customer review by Rae58

1.0 stars 3/23/2017 by Rae58
by Rae58

I don't understand why you would change such a warm and comfortable sense memory. It was pleasant and it was "home". Now I find it overwhelming and not pleasant at all. Why must my fabric softener overwhelm my perfume. I don't want my fabric softener to become my perfume. The long lasting scent...really?! Please bring back the old scent and my memories of home. I only chose one star....had to....not three

Rae58
Winona MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Super value for cost, original scent best!
5/10/2013

Customer review by Jsquared1

5.0 stars 5/10/2013 by Jsquared1
by Jsquared1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Downy has always been my favorite since I was young, and the original scent and formula remain the best you can buy. This offers great quantity for the money. Downy never disappoints, and keeps laundry fresh smelling and soft!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jsquared1
Orem, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I've been using it for years...
9/26/2013

Customer review by idonotwantanicknameeither

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by idonotwantanicknameeither
by idonotwantanicknameeither
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this product and recently decided to give Walmart.com a try. My family was in need of fabric softner, so I ordered my usual. I will be honest, I was nervous about the idea of UPS tossing my package containing a liquid around, but I was pleasantly surprised that the bottle was in tact and not leaking when it arrived! Walmart.com tightened the lid and then applied packing tape over it so it couldn't accidently come loose during shipping. I really appreciated the extra care in shipping a simple, everyday item. The product is great and I am very satisfied with walmart.com's shipping procedures! I won't hesitate ordering online again!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
idonotwantanicknameeither
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This product made quite the impact on my family!
11/19/2015

Customer review by WashMom22

4.0 stars 11/19/2015 by WashMom22
by WashMom22

I didn't realize that my household was running low on detergent. I should have expected it. A husband who washes his gym clothes every day, two babies under the age of two, and a mom who cleans and tends to children until my clothes look like table cloths. I came across a sample of ultra downy April fresh that I had received in the mail. I was on the LAST load of clothes till my husband got home with the only operating car. This particular load was my 22 month old son's bed sheets. I poured in the detergent and set it to wash without much of a second thought. The clothes dried and I took them upstairs to make his bed. He followed after me and no sooner had I laid his comforter over his mattress than he climbed into the bed and lay his head on the pillow. "Night night" he said. I said it back and watched him. He was smelling his sheets! They must have smelled good because he took a nap all by himself! I was thouroghly impressed and would be more than happy to repeat this experience! I'm so glad I received my sample in the mail!

WashMom22
Denver Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
God
9/12/2016

Customer review by lisalu

5.0 stars 9/12/2016 by lisalu
by lisalu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great smell

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lisalu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 716 total reviews
1-20 of 716 reviews