Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

127 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

127 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
14
1 stars
29
1-20 of 116 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews
Great Phone
1/16/2013

Customer review by Melvin Barnett

4.0 stars 1/16/2013 by Melvin Barnett
by Melvin Barnett

The keyboard is my favorite feature which makes it a five star. I have large fingers and typing on a screen is difficult for me, as well as others I know that choose to do it day after day. I think it is a little pricey, perhaps by about $30-$40. The apps are ok—normal Android (Google) apps. The phone is easy to navigate through. I enjoy the hard buttons at the bottom rather than soft screen buttons; this is a real plus over other Smartphone’s I have used. The real negative is on my list of what I hate about an Android. That is programs you do NOT want that you can’t remove and second, programs you cannot put into your external memory card to make your phone run more efficient. You will need to run an app killer so your phone can work efficiently. Lg, or Google should write some apps that will not collect private data and such and make them available to download without having to worry about ads, pop-ups, lower or upper ads and spyware. These apps should work great and be a choice to the consumer. Over all, the phone has provided me with great, consistent service. Most of my negatives are with features of an Android instead of with the physical phone its self. However, I wouldn’t trade an Android for any other type of phone.

Melvin Barnett
Gateswood, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LG L75C is ok for the price
9/15/2012

Customer review by screwdriverjockey

3.0 stars 9/15/2012 by screwdriverjockey
by screwdriverjockey

The L75C is a good value for a low budget entry level Android phone. It has a lot of nice features. the only quirk I have with mine is the volumn level is much to low even with the sound controls & ear piece volumn set to max. The only way I can really get the incoming call volumn loud enough to suit me is to always use my bluetooth headset. And No I am not hard of hearing...The volumn level on my other brand of Android phone is like it should be.

screwdriverjockey
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Memory is lacking...Severely!!
9/18/2012

Customer review by TyreeB

1.0 stars 9/18/2012 by TyreeB
by TyreeB

The phones "availible memory" after all of the factory files and apps is severly lacking. Barely enough room left for 4 or 5 general apps. Maybe I am doing something wrong and am open to any suggestions The other Verizon based straighttalk android has twice the memory but I liked the Qwerty and thought I could make the rest work, I was dead wrong. Memory gets so low sometimes you can't even text!! Anyone with any suggestestions I am all ears.

TyreeB
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth the money
2/6/2013

Customer review by Wyonomally

1.0 stars 2/6/2013 by Wyonomally
by Wyonomally

This product attempts to act like a more sophisticated phone but fails to live up to the hype. The slide out qwerty key board is very handy, but soon loosens from it's slider. The battery needs charging constantly. The phone dials and ends calls randomly. Response to apps is slow and of course, the more apps you have, the quicker the power dies. Finding a protective case has been a costly failure.

Wyonomally
Sheridan, WY 82801, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
I have found this phone to be lacking in memory
10/31/2012

Customer review by wmike548

2.0 stars 10/31/2012 by wmike548
by wmike548

The fact that the memory is expandable up to 32GB would be great if you were actually able to install all applications to the SD card; which you can not. So if you dont plan on downloading more than 5 applications and only want a phone to text, talk and browse the web on than you should do just fine with this plain Jane phone. But than why would you need an android device for that ?

wmike548
Winfield, WV 25213, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
2/16/2013

Customer review by LEXY

2.0 stars 2/16/2013 by LEXY
by LEXY

I bought this phone about a day ago and the screen went out. Does not keep a charge for anything just not a trustworthy cell phone!

LEXY
Opelika, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
This phone so far has everything I wanted
12/15/2012

Customer review by Cherbear

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by Cherbear
by Cherbear

I may have to delete my messages from time to time but overall it has been the best phone yet.

Cherbear
Arkansas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Efficient, entry-level android, Lack of memory
2/22/2013

Customer review by PB

3.0 stars 2/22/2013 by PB
by PB

Its a decent phone. The phone part works efficiently, the battery is okay, it works. It is an android, and will download/work with everything android/play store Apps I've downloaded. I've had mine for about six months, it works, its efficient in that it does what its supposed to do, it functions as a phone, and it functions in texting. I LOVE the qwerty keyboard. It responds usually quickly unless its having memory issues/I keep mine to the limit. The web works very well, I am pleased with it. Ive had no issues connecting to GPS, Wifi, etc. It keeps wonderful reception, and really good at always having signal, unlike my old phone which constantly dropped calls. My personal experience with battery lasts about 12-16 hrs if I have gps or wifi or any battery-eating features running. About 36 hrs if on idle, with the apps that I have installed, with no phone calls and minimal texting. Biggest fault - the internal memory is a JOKE. The 150mb internal, expandable up to 32gb with the external SD card, sounds like a 'lot' to someone unknown to phones, BUT 90% of the apps I've tried do not go to the SD and instead work in internal memory. The facebook app alone is 20+mb internal only, and the internal preinstalled junk is about 80mb. And if it goes below 20mb free space available, it pops up repeated non-bypassable notes about low internal memory and makes you uninstall something. So that gives you *30mb* to work with. In short, DO NOT buy this if you want to have a LOT of apps. Its basically going to be the phone that does one or two apps, and normal phone stuff. You can download any apps you want, but you have to keep it to very small ones, or just a handful. The more apps you have, the slower it is. If you keep a lot of messages (I mistakenly got mine up to 3000 on one conversation thread) it bogs down to insanely slow speeds on messaging. So make sure you keep those numbers low. It has an option to turn on that will help you delete old messages and keep the threads to a manageable number, I just didn't have it turned on (my mistake). Salesperson in Walmart promised it could Skype with video, it cannot and does not. It will skype with voice alone. Camera has no flash. It does go to 3megapixels, and will produce a nice large image. But, with no flash, only bright light photos are clear. Low light or indoor photos are usually grainy or dark. Flesh tones are routinely miscolored. I bought it as an upgrade from an old phone I had, primarily to be able to capture moments with my niece, and its a disappointment as a camera. It functions, but only as a record quality NOT an archive quality images. In other words, if you need something to take a picture of something for memory jogging purposes, or to show someone you got lunch, its fine. If you need a camera for precious family moments or anything you might want to print/keep/archive, this camera will likely disappoint in what you are looking for. Its decent as an entry level android, to someone that wants to be able to keep a calendar and angry birds, or facebook, but more apps and more advanced users should probably try a different phone. It is very easy to use, everything is pretty easy to work with and figure out, I had it going within a few minutes of turning it on, I had it all figured out. Its a good phone, I think it was overpriced, I paid about twice what I think it should have been priced at for its level of phone, but I also went with the no-contract side, so there is always a downside there.

PB
Virginia, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Proof is in the pudding.
2/19/2013

Customer review by Ras12088

4.0 stars 2/19/2013 by Ras12088
by Ras12088

It is verizon, sometimes storm clouds in New york block the service. it says CDMA V right on the box guys!

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ras12088
Corinth New york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/22/2012

Customer review by CharmyGirl

5.0 stars 12/22/2012 by CharmyGirl
by CharmyGirl

Got my LG Optimus Zip phone 12/20/12. I upgraded from a Samsung slide 2.4" screen w/$45./30day plan. So this Zip phone 2.3 ANDROID w/3.4" screen. What a difference in resolution & clarity. The slide is still nice bc its what I learned with, but also having the virtual keyboard too, it's fantastic & Verizon Service in my area is fabulous~! I can't understand these poor reviews! This is a great phone to start with an Android!! Use screen protector & I'm hoping I can find a case for it. If you have any suggestions where I could get one, please let me know, bc I plan to have this phone a long time... Keep ur charger handy, but you can still be on the phone while it is charging, the online things drain it pretty fast, but other than that, the phone is more than I expected!!! Buy it, it's a great starter phone for everyone and it's not the 4.0 android, but you find out what to expect from the 4.0, when you do decide to get one!

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CharmyGirl
Lucky Charm RV Park, Old Town, Florida 32680
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My 1st Andriod & on Verzion Network
10/16/2012

Customer review by Pocky07

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by Pocky07
by Pocky07
Walmart associate

I am soo happy to own my 1st Andriod & on Verzion Network. I been with Straight Talk since late 2010 & every 1 of my Straight Talk phones ran on Verzion. I kept my same #. I wouldn't buy the other Straight Talk phones that ran on another Network. I couldn't believe Straight Talk finally came out on an Andriod phone that works on Verzion Network. I always wanted a slide keypad with a touch screen. At 1st I was going 2 get the LG Optimus Q b4 the LG Optimus Zip came out. If I got the LG Optimus Q, I wouldn't like it because of it being on Sprint Network. My husband told me the same. I love my LG Optimus Zip. This phone does everything I wanted 2 do. I get coverage everywhere I go. And its under $200. Its only $179.98. Not bad 4 the price with a better Network :)

Was this review helpful? (129) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pocky07
Portsmouth, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Better choices unless you need Verizon network
10/26/2012

Customer review by zunismama

3.0 stars 10/26/2012 by zunismama
by zunismama

I had this for about 11 days and it was o.k. I found the screen to be a bit small and not always responsive. Sometimes scrolling was difficult and jumpy. The images are o.k., but not overly sharp and clear as compared to the ZTE Merit. Slide out keyboard is nice and easy to use. And keyboard lights up which is great at night or in a darkened room. Annoying feature is that it kept alerting to a new e-mail or message when there were none. Kept beeping (or playing tune, depending on the setting). Voice was clear, but did not get a signal in an area where the map shows it should have had a very strong signal (Verizon). So, switched to AT&T based ZTE Merit and love that phone! The LG is o.k., but for $180, I think there are much better choices, but if you need to use Verizon on Straight Talk and want an Android phone, well... you are pretty much limited to this one. Also had an LG 511c... very nice phone, slider keyboard, not an Android, but seemed to get online as fast as the Zip and did pretty well overall. And it's now only $99 on ST website.

Was this review helpful? (20) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zunismama
Punta Gorda, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/11/2012

Customer review by sojomathmama

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by sojomathmama
by sojomathmama

I am a newbie to the android world and I just received the phone recently, but I will say that so far I am extremely impressed. I love the pull out keyboard with the touch screen. I love that it uses Verizon towers, no contract, and 45 dollars a month unlimited talk, txt and data. Our budget minded family has been with straight talk for nearly 2 years and have had no issues. If there is an issue, customer service contacts you same day with help. Some other perks of this phone that I have discovered thus far are the sync with my google accounts, google voice command (I spoke a txt to my daughter and wrote it and send it. I will update my review in a week.

Was this review helpful? (70) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sojomathmama
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great basic smartphone/keyboard for a great price
8/2/2014

Customer review by naerinne17

4.0 stars 8/2/2014 by naerinne17
by naerinne17
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This phone from Straight Talk was really the only smartphone I could find that still had the sliding keyboard. That was my personal deciding factor for getting this, along with Straight Talk's $45 plan. Ordering the phone from Walmart saved me on shipping charges, and it was shipped very quickly. It was easy to set up on Straight Talk's website, no trouble transferring my number from my old prepaid service. For the sale price of about $80, the phone itself is a pretty nice smartphone if you don't need the best, most up to date phone. I find that gingerbread runs smoothly on this phone, and I love having the touchscreen and keyboard combo when texting and web browsing. My only complaint with this phone is that the internal memory is really, really limited and sometimes you can't transfer things over to the SD card so I am regularly clearing data.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
naerinne17
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sexy Senior Learns To Communicate More Freely
11/18/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/18/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Since getting my phone, I have gone through the stages of being a newby to texting and my learning is progressing quite well thanks to my new LG phone with the android touch capabilities. The stages of a new senior citizen just learning to text can be daunting, but with larger font size and better picture views of everything from keyboard, instructions and pictures, it is made a little easier. At 75, I am learning the ease of having a cell phone in my life as well as the pitfalls. I can communicate any time day or night with my hearing daughter as well as my deaf grand daughter and friends far and near. I find it easier at times to text on the phone rather than have to sit down to my computer to email or chat. The world is ever changing and progress goes on, so now it is time for me to join in on that change and overcome the fear of so many new advanced electronics. Hopefully more and more seniors, shut ins and others will reach out to others and find the joy of smart phones. Loretta in Maine PS Just wish I could figure how I keep putting my phone into airplane mode accidentally disabling it every now and again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked for first 2 months!
4/9/2013

Customer review by gb9015

2.0 stars 4/9/2013 by gb9015
by gb9015

I was so excited to get this phone because it has all the android features at half the price. I've had the phone for 4 months now and it worked normal for about the first 2 months and then the phone started to black out and the buttons stopped working. Also, this phone has very poor service and cuts out when I'm talking on it from time to time. The past 2 months I have continued to use it because I already had airtime on it and didn't want to spend money on a new phone considering I just bought this one not long ago. The buttons have pretty much stopped working and I have to slide the phone keyboard out and back shut 5 times or more before the screen comes on and I can text or make a call. I do not recommend this product for the money that it costs. Its great for the first few months but I do not want to spend $150 every 2 months for a new phone so... I would think before buying this phone and maybe look into something else from Straight Talk. In my opinion this phone does not live up to the basic standards of a phone!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gb9015
16830
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/9/2012

Customer review by TRuss332

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by TRuss332
by TRuss332
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This phone is great! I live in SC and it works on the Verizon Towers here. Make sure you check with the Straight Talk website before ordering because the Wal Mart website stated that this phone would not work in my area code but Straight Talk said it would and it does.

Was this review helpful? (78) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TRuss332
Georgetown, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Internal Memory is HORRIBLE!
12/5/2012

Customer review by tjchloesmommy

1.0 stars 12/5/2012 by tjchloesmommy
by tjchloesmommy

I was so excited that Straight Talk had come out with a smart phone that worked on Verizon Towers that had the physical QWERTY keyboard. I have had numerous phones, even larger ones, that didn't have the physical keyboard and hated the touch screen texting, so I was willing to pay $180 for this phone just because I knew it would be easier to have for as much texting as I do on my phone. I initially downloaded all of the social media apps, games, etc, that I have always had on my smart phones, but over time my phone has FORCED me to delete things from my phone because the internal memory is so low. Now, here I am, having moved everything possible to my SD card, missing a lot of the usual apps that I was used to having, and having to delete my text messages and call logs EVERY day just so my phne doesn't have internal memory overload and completely lock up on me. There is nothing else I an move to the SD card, and nothing else I can afford to delete. Basically, Facebook, Twitter and Weather Channel have completely taken up my internal memory, so I'm disgusted that now I'm having to look for another phone because this one can't even handle SIMPLE applications. Please dont pay the money for this phone!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (50) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tjchloesmommy
Leesville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LG Zip or Samsung Proclaim?
5/1/2013

Customer review by rspmobile

4.0 stars 5/1/2013 by rspmobile
by rspmobile

This was a replacement from the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. (I broke it) Main reason why I ended up getting this phone was the sliding keyboard because I sometimes type out emails lengthy. Don't get me wrong, touch screen works good on the Proclaim, but it seemed to get confused on the predictive words because of how much short hand I do, so the LG was the better choice. I did have to get used to the placement of the B N & M keys on the keyboard. Don't get too excited about the directional keys because some apps don't know how to utilize them correctly. Typing is faster on this phone. As far as other features when considering if to buy an LG Optimus Zip or the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim are: - Both run on the same network, Verizon - LG camera has auto focus which dials in a crisper photo - LG has physical keys for menu, home, back & search, which is also another way to turn on the screen - Samsung has a taller screen - Samsung processor is a 1ghz, LG only has 800mhz. The amount of memory is a big difference for both of them. They both come with a microSD card which can be upgraded. However, internal memory is a big difference. LG only has about 150mb but the Samsung has 1gb. BIG difference when you like downloading a lot of apps. Some apps are able to move onto the SD card but not all of them. When I bought the LG, I had to down size how many apps I had on it, where as the Samsung didn't have that issue. In conclusion, if you like physical keys and descent camera, LG does a pretty good job. App happy and want the processing speed? Go with the Samsung.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rspmobile
Steubenville, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a good device for the price
2/6/2013

Customer review by clark71822

1.0 stars 2/6/2013 by clark71822
by clark71822

I've had this phone for a few months now, and I'm very dissatisfied with it. First, let me say that I am an over the road truck driver, so coverage is very important to me. That being said, this phone uses Verizon's prepaid CDMA network, so coverage in areas that I frequently travel is terrible compared to my old Motorola ST phone that used AT&T's GSM network. Another huge minus is the internal memory. It has 256 MB internal memory, which a good portion of that is used for the Android OS, so you're left with less than 200 MB to play with. And almost half of that is used up by the useless bloatware that you cannot get rid of, so you're stuck with only being able to download and install a small handful of apps. Even moving apps to the SD card does not help. To top things off, I have lots of issues with apps force closing themselves after running them for several minutes, text not showing up when I type them, causing me to manually force close the app and restart it to get it to work, frequently dropped calls, and periodically restarting itself. In short, if you have Verizon coverage where you live, do no travel, and only talk on it, it might be fine, but for those that travel or like to watch videos, play games, or surf the web on a phone for any length of time, I would recommend avoiding this phone.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clark71822
Ashdown, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews