Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

127 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

127 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
14
1 stars
29
1-20 of 116 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews
Proof is in the pudding.
2/19/2013

Customer review by Ras12088

4.0 stars 2/19/2013 by Ras12088
by Ras12088

It is verizon, sometimes storm clouds in New york block the service. it says CDMA V right on the box guys!

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ras12088
Corinth New york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/22/2012

Customer review by CharmyGirl

5.0 stars 12/22/2012 by CharmyGirl
by CharmyGirl

Got my LG Optimus Zip phone 12/20/12. I upgraded from a Samsung slide 2.4" screen w/$45./30day plan. So this Zip phone 2.3 ANDROID w/3.4" screen. What a difference in resolution & clarity. The slide is still nice bc its what I learned with, but also having the virtual keyboard too, it's fantastic & Verizon Service in my area is fabulous~! I can't understand these poor reviews! This is a great phone to start with an Android!! Use screen protector & I'm hoping I can find a case for it. If you have any suggestions where I could get one, please let me know, bc I plan to have this phone a long time... Keep ur charger handy, but you can still be on the phone while it is charging, the online things drain it pretty fast, but other than that, the phone is more than I expected!!! Buy it, it's a great starter phone for everyone and it's not the 4.0 android, but you find out what to expect from the 4.0, when you do decide to get one!

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CharmyGirl
Lucky Charm RV Park, Old Town, Florida 32680
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My 1st Andriod & on Verzion Network
10/16/2012

Customer review by Pocky07

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by Pocky07
by Pocky07
Walmart associate

I am soo happy to own my 1st Andriod & on Verzion Network. I been with Straight Talk since late 2010 & every 1 of my Straight Talk phones ran on Verzion. I kept my same #. I wouldn't buy the other Straight Talk phones that ran on another Network. I couldn't believe Straight Talk finally came out on an Andriod phone that works on Verzion Network. I always wanted a slide keypad with a touch screen. At 1st I was going 2 get the LG Optimus Q b4 the LG Optimus Zip came out. If I got the LG Optimus Q, I wouldn't like it because of it being on Sprint Network. My husband told me the same. I love my LG Optimus Zip. This phone does everything I wanted 2 do. I get coverage everywhere I go. And its under $200. Its only $179.98. Not bad 4 the price with a better Network :)

Was this review helpful? (129) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pocky07
Portsmouth, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Better choices unless you need Verizon network
10/26/2012

Customer review by zunismama

3.0 stars 10/26/2012 by zunismama
by zunismama

I had this for about 11 days and it was o.k. I found the screen to be a bit small and not always responsive. Sometimes scrolling was difficult and jumpy. The images are o.k., but not overly sharp and clear as compared to the ZTE Merit. Slide out keyboard is nice and easy to use. And keyboard lights up which is great at night or in a darkened room. Annoying feature is that it kept alerting to a new e-mail or message when there were none. Kept beeping (or playing tune, depending on the setting). Voice was clear, but did not get a signal in an area where the map shows it should have had a very strong signal (Verizon). So, switched to AT&T based ZTE Merit and love that phone! The LG is o.k., but for $180, I think there are much better choices, but if you need to use Verizon on Straight Talk and want an Android phone, well... you are pretty much limited to this one. Also had an LG 511c... very nice phone, slider keyboard, not an Android, but seemed to get online as fast as the Zip and did pretty well overall. And it's now only $99 on ST website.

Was this review helpful? (20) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zunismama
Punta Gorda, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/11/2012

Customer review by sojomathmama

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by sojomathmama
by sojomathmama

I am a newbie to the android world and I just received the phone recently, but I will say that so far I am extremely impressed. I love the pull out keyboard with the touch screen. I love that it uses Verizon towers, no contract, and 45 dollars a month unlimited talk, txt and data. Our budget minded family has been with straight talk for nearly 2 years and have had no issues. If there is an issue, customer service contacts you same day with help. Some other perks of this phone that I have discovered thus far are the sync with my google accounts, google voice command (I spoke a txt to my daughter and wrote it and send it. I will update my review in a week.

Was this review helpful? (70) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sojomathmama
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great basic smartphone/keyboard for a great price
8/2/2014

Customer review by naerinne17

4.0 stars 8/2/2014 by naerinne17
by naerinne17
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This phone from Straight Talk was really the only smartphone I could find that still had the sliding keyboard. That was my personal deciding factor for getting this, along with Straight Talk's $45 plan. Ordering the phone from Walmart saved me on shipping charges, and it was shipped very quickly. It was easy to set up on Straight Talk's website, no trouble transferring my number from my old prepaid service. For the sale price of about $80, the phone itself is a pretty nice smartphone if you don't need the best, most up to date phone. I find that gingerbread runs smoothly on this phone, and I love having the touchscreen and keyboard combo when texting and web browsing. My only complaint with this phone is that the internal memory is really, really limited and sometimes you can't transfer things over to the SD card so I am regularly clearing data.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
naerinne17
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sexy Senior Learns To Communicate More Freely
11/18/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/18/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Since getting my phone, I have gone through the stages of being a newby to texting and my learning is progressing quite well thanks to my new LG phone with the android touch capabilities. The stages of a new senior citizen just learning to text can be daunting, but with larger font size and better picture views of everything from keyboard, instructions and pictures, it is made a little easier. At 75, I am learning the ease of having a cell phone in my life as well as the pitfalls. I can communicate any time day or night with my hearing daughter as well as my deaf grand daughter and friends far and near. I find it easier at times to text on the phone rather than have to sit down to my computer to email or chat. The world is ever changing and progress goes on, so now it is time for me to join in on that change and overcome the fear of so many new advanced electronics. Hopefully more and more seniors, shut ins and others will reach out to others and find the joy of smart phones. Loretta in Maine PS Just wish I could figure how I keep putting my phone into airplane mode accidentally disabling it every now and again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked for first 2 months!
4/9/2013

Customer review by gb9015

2.0 stars 4/9/2013 by gb9015
by gb9015

I was so excited to get this phone because it has all the android features at half the price. I've had the phone for 4 months now and it worked normal for about the first 2 months and then the phone started to black out and the buttons stopped working. Also, this phone has very poor service and cuts out when I'm talking on it from time to time. The past 2 months I have continued to use it because I already had airtime on it and didn't want to spend money on a new phone considering I just bought this one not long ago. The buttons have pretty much stopped working and I have to slide the phone keyboard out and back shut 5 times or more before the screen comes on and I can text or make a call. I do not recommend this product for the money that it costs. Its great for the first few months but I do not want to spend $150 every 2 months for a new phone so... I would think before buying this phone and maybe look into something else from Straight Talk. In my opinion this phone does not live up to the basic standards of a phone!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gb9015
16830
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/9/2012

Customer review by TRuss332

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by TRuss332
by TRuss332
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This phone is great! I live in SC and it works on the Verizon Towers here. Make sure you check with the Straight Talk website before ordering because the Wal Mart website stated that this phone would not work in my area code but Straight Talk said it would and it does.

Was this review helpful? (78) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TRuss332
Georgetown, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Internal Memory is HORRIBLE!
12/5/2012

Customer review by tjchloesmommy

1.0 stars 12/5/2012 by tjchloesmommy
by tjchloesmommy

I was so excited that Straight Talk had come out with a smart phone that worked on Verizon Towers that had the physical QWERTY keyboard. I have had numerous phones, even larger ones, that didn't have the physical keyboard and hated the touch screen texting, so I was willing to pay $180 for this phone just because I knew it would be easier to have for as much texting as I do on my phone. I initially downloaded all of the social media apps, games, etc, that I have always had on my smart phones, but over time my phone has FORCED me to delete things from my phone because the internal memory is so low. Now, here I am, having moved everything possible to my SD card, missing a lot of the usual apps that I was used to having, and having to delete my text messages and call logs EVERY day just so my phne doesn't have internal memory overload and completely lock up on me. There is nothing else I an move to the SD card, and nothing else I can afford to delete. Basically, Facebook, Twitter and Weather Channel have completely taken up my internal memory, so I'm disgusted that now I'm having to look for another phone because this one can't even handle SIMPLE applications. Please dont pay the money for this phone!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (49) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tjchloesmommy
Leesville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LG Zip or Samsung Proclaim?
5/1/2013

Customer review by rspmobile

4.0 stars 5/1/2013 by rspmobile
by rspmobile
Top 1000 contributor

This was a replacement from the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. (I broke it) Main reason why I ended up getting this phone was the sliding keyboard because I sometimes type out emails lengthy. Don't get me wrong, touch screen works good on the Proclaim, but it seemed to get confused on the predictive words because of how much short hand I do, so the LG was the better choice. I did have to get used to the placement of the B N & M keys on the keyboard. Don't get too excited about the directional keys because some apps don't know how to utilize them correctly. Typing is faster on this phone. As far as other features when considering if to buy an LG Optimus Zip or the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim are: - Both run on the same network, Verizon - LG camera has auto focus which dials in a crisper photo - LG has physical keys for menu, home, back & search, which is also another way to turn on the screen - Samsung has a taller screen - Samsung processor is a 1ghz, LG only has 800mhz. The amount of memory is a big difference for both of them. They both come with a microSD card which can be upgraded. However, internal memory is a big difference. LG only has about 150mb but the Samsung has 1gb. BIG difference when you like downloading a lot of apps. Some apps are able to move onto the SD card but not all of them. When I bought the LG, I had to down size how many apps I had on it, where as the Samsung didn't have that issue. In conclusion, if you like physical keys and descent camera, LG does a pretty good job. App happy and want the processing speed? Go with the Samsung.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rspmobile
Steubenville, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Not a good device for the price
2/6/2013

Customer review by clark71822

1.0 stars 2/6/2013 by clark71822
by clark71822

I've had this phone for a few months now, and I'm very dissatisfied with it. First, let me say that I am an over the road truck driver, so coverage is very important to me. That being said, this phone uses Verizon's prepaid CDMA network, so coverage in areas that I frequently travel is terrible compared to my old Motorola ST phone that used AT&T's GSM network. Another huge minus is the internal memory. It has 256 MB internal memory, which a good portion of that is used for the Android OS, so you're left with less than 200 MB to play with. And almost half of that is used up by the useless bloatware that you cannot get rid of, so you're stuck with only being able to download and install a small handful of apps. Even moving apps to the SD card does not help. To top things off, I have lots of issues with apps force closing themselves after running them for several minutes, text not showing up when I type them, causing me to manually force close the app and restart it to get it to work, frequently dropped calls, and periodically restarting itself. In short, if you have Verizon coverage where you live, do no travel, and only talk on it, it might be fine, but for those that travel or like to watch videos, play games, or surf the web on a phone for any length of time, I would recommend avoiding this phone.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clark71822
Ashdown, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone
4/16/2013

Customer review by amy9352

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by amy9352
by amy9352

This is my first smart phone so I don't really have anything to compare it to other than what I've experienced playing around with other people's phones. This is a great phone! I had it activated yesterday and it is on Verizon towers. The touch screen works very well which is surprising to me. I actually chose this phone because it has a key pad which was a must after trying to type a message on my friend's droid. That was a disaster. This phone's touch screen is much easier to use. It is also pretty user friendly. Didn't take long at all to learn the basics. Downloaded apps for FB and Iheartradio without any problems and they work very well. Have also watched youtube videos without any pausing. I think it is probably faster than my home computer. Anyway, I'm loving it so far. The reception is great. No dropped calls. Great deal!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amy9352
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love my Zip
6/9/2014

Customer review by Chemindefur13

5.0 stars 6/9/2014 by Chemindefur13
by Chemindefur13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was skeptical when I bought this phone, but was pleasantly surprised. I love it soooo much. I'm going to buy another one soon as backup. The call quality is great, it's easy to figure out. The 3g is actually pretty fast and even better with wifi. The only con I have found so far is that it's a little heavy, but I'm starting to get used to it. If you want a cute little smartphone that doesn't have complicated features get this phone. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chemindefur13
13642
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Storage Space
3/19/2013

Customer review by Londieloo

1.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Londieloo
by Londieloo

I bought this phone just a few months ago. The thing that attracted me the most was the full qwerty keyboard (becasue I'm terrible at texting on the touch screens). But after adding the Facebook app and a Rhapsody app, my phone is pretty much full. I am deleting texts everyday just to recieve new ones without the text app force closing, and I can't even update the apps I have without being alerted that my storage space is low, and having to go through and delete more things. I am so fed up with this phone at this point. I love the straight talk deal, but this phone is not worth the price! I am currently looking for a new phone and willing to give up the qwerty keyboard and even pay more each month for a more reliable phone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Londieloo
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Best Lg Optimus Ever
10/29/2012

Customer review by Vonnice

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by Vonnice
by Vonnice

I have brought this phone on October 05,2012. I love this phones,because it runs off Verizon. It gives me great service and this is my 3 straight talk android phone. I only had 2 straight talk phones that work great the merit, and lg optimus zip. The samsung galaxy precedent do not will work as it should,because it runs off sprint network. So I recommend this lg optimus zip too every1 looking for a verizon phone.

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vonnice
Selma,Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Slippery Slope of a Phone
8/7/2013

Customer review by Fadelightningmm

1.0 stars 8/7/2013 by Fadelightningmm
by Fadelightningmm

At first the phone was great it was my first android, however that stopped fairly quick. First off I bought a 16gb micro sd card just for the phone and I have low storage all the time because nothing is able to save to the sd card. Secondly starting around 4 weeks ago I had issues with the phone resetting when it was placed on the charger. After it rest it would freeze on start up, and not charge when frozen. I called straight talk on this issue, and they refused to do anything about it. They said it is probably your battery or charger, and that they don't replace either. So I replaced both and it worked fine for about a week. Now tonight my phone reset and turned on, but later in the night the phone would not even turn on. If the battery was drained it would at least start up, but I got nothing. In short this phone is basically garbage. It would be far better to get an iPhone or a cheaper straight talk phone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fadelightningmm
Rome, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My daughter loves this phone
1/2/2013

Customer review by Sixtine

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Sixtine
by Sixtine
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was purchased as a christmas gift for my 13 yr old daughter replacing her AT&T GoPhone. internet worked thru our wireless before I even bought the calling plan for it (unlike AT &T who even though we were using our own internet they made us buy a plan for $15 more per month). Easy porting of her old number. Functions are great and user friendly. Only issue was customer service rep had very heavy foreign accent difficult to understand, but it was only a message they were leaving with instructions if we had trouble with the porting, and we didn't, so we didn't need to talk to them again.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sixtine
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wish I got this a lot sooner!
4/25/2013

Customer review by waggity

5.0 stars 4/25/2013 by waggity
by waggity

First ST phone was a samsung precedent, didn't realize that it banked off of Sprint which is in my area. I think carrier pigeon would've been better than what I had to deal with for about a year! I got this phone cause I had enough of the dropped calls, not being able to text, etc. I wish I bought this sooner. It looks like its put together real well, this runs off of Verizon. You get the welcome to verizon when you start up for the first time. The screen doesn't lock every time you access your voicemail or during a call. I have at least 4 bars most of the time. Calls come in pretty clear, the slider keyboard is nice, you can still use the touchscreen keyboard if you like. It's just getting used to a different phone, that's the only con. Otherwise, great product. Be sure to look on the box and if says something like CDMA-V it runs off Verizon. I almost decided to go crawling back to att. Won't have to now!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
waggity
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great phone easy to use
12/11/2012

Customer review by fidgit23

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by fidgit23
by fidgit23

This is the first phone i have used on straight talk i switched from verzion and kept my number easy to switch over 45 dollers a month is great same service as verzion.As long as you download the app for the advance task killer which will make room and keep your phone able to move faster.It as a faster web then my verzion phone had the camera is not the greatest but easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fidgit23
herkimer ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews