Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

127 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

5 stars
46
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
14
1 stars
29
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 116 total reviews
My 1st Andriod & on Verzion Network
10/16/2012

Customer review by Pocky07

5.0 stars by Pocky07

I am soo happy to own my 1st Andriod & on Verzion Network. I been with Straight Talk since late 2010 & every 1 of my Straight Talk phones ran on Verzion. I kept my same #. I wouldn't buy the other Straight Talk phones that ran on another Network. I couldn't believe Straight Talk finally came out on an Andriod phone that works on Verzion Network. I always wanted a slide keypad with a touch screen. At 1st I was going 2 get the LG Optimus Q b4 the LG Optimus Zip came out. If I got the LG Optimus Q, I wouldn't like it because of it being on Sprint Network. My husband told me the same. I love my LG Optimus Zip. This phone does everything I wanted 2 do. I get coverage everywhere I go. And its under $200. Its only $179.98. Not bad 4 the price with a better Network :)

Was this review helpful? (123) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Pocky07
Portsmouth, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
11/9/2012

Customer review by TRuss332

5.0 stars by TRuss332

This phone is great! I live in SC and it works on the Verizon Towers here. Make sure you check with the Straight Talk website before ordering because the Wal Mart website stated that this phone would not work in my area code but Straight Talk said it would and it does.

Was this review helpful? (76) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TRuss332
Georgetown, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/11/2012

Customer review by sojomathmama

5.0 stars by sojomathmama

I am a newbie to the android world and I just received the phone recently, but I will say that so far I am extremely impressed. I love the pull out keyboard with the touch screen. I love that it uses Verizon towers, no contract, and 45 dollars a month unlimited talk, txt and data. Our budget minded family has been with straight talk for nearly 2 years and have had no issues. If there is an issue, customer service contacts you same day with help. Some other perks of this phone that I have discovered thus far are the sync with my google accounts, google voice command (I spoke a txt to my daughter and wrote it and send it. I will update my review in a week.

Was this review helpful? (67) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sojomathmama
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Best Lg Optimus Ever
10/29/2012

Customer review by Vonnice

5.0 stars by Vonnice

I have brought this phone on October 05,2012. I love this phones,because it runs off Verizon. It gives me great service and this is my 3 straight talk android phone. I only had 2 straight talk phones that work great the merit, and lg optimus zip. The samsung galaxy precedent do not will work as it should,because it runs off sprint network. So I recommend this lg optimus zip too every1 looking for a verizon phone.

Was this review helpful? (46) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Vonnice
Selma,Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/22/2012

Customer review by CharmyGirl

5.0 stars by CharmyGirl

Got my LG Optimus Zip phone 12/20/12. I upgraded from a Samsung slide 2.4" screen w/$45./30day plan. So this Zip phone 2.3 ANDROID w/3.4" screen. What a difference in resolution & clarity. The slide is still nice bc its what I learned with, but also having the virtual keyboard too, it's fantastic & Verizon Service in my area is fabulous~! I can't understand these poor reviews! This is a great phone to start with an Android!! Use screen protector & I'm hoping I can find a case for it. If you have any suggestions where I could get one, please let me know, bc I plan to have this phone a long time... Keep ur charger handy, but you can still be on the phone while it is charging, the online things drain it pretty fast, but other than that, the phone is more than I expected!!! Buy it, it's a great starter phone for everyone and it's not the 4.0 android, but you find out what to expect from the 4.0, when you do decide to get one!

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CharmyGirl
Lucky Charm RV Park, Old Town, Florida 32680
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Internal Memory is HORRIBLE!
12/5/2012

Customer review by tjchloesmommy

1.0 stars by tjchloesmommy

I was so excited that Straight Talk had come out with a smart phone that worked on Verizon Towers that had the physical QWERTY keyboard. I have had numerous phones, even larger ones, that didn't have the physical keyboard and hated the touch screen texting, so I was willing to pay $180 for this phone just because I knew it would be easier to have for as much texting as I do on my phone. I initially downloaded all of the social media apps, games, etc, that I have always had on my smart phones, but over time my phone has FORCED me to delete things from my phone because the internal memory is so low. Now, here I am, having moved everything possible to my SD card, missing a lot of the usual apps that I was used to having, and having to delete my text messages and call logs EVERY day just so my phne doesn't have internal memory overload and completely lock up on me. There is nothing else I an move to the SD card, and nothing else I can afford to delete. Basically, Facebook, Twitter and Weather Channel have completely taken up my internal memory, so I'm disgusted that now I'm having to look for another phone because this one can't even handle SIMPLE applications. Please dont pay the money for this phone!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (49) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tjchloesmommy
Leesville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LG Zip or Samsung Proclaim?
5/1/2013

Customer review by rspmobile

4.0 stars by rspmobile

This was a replacement from the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. (I broke it) Main reason why I ended up getting this phone was the sliding keyboard because I sometimes type out emails lengthy. Don't get me wrong, touch screen works good on the Proclaim, but it seemed to get confused on the predictive words because of how much short hand I do, so the LG was the better choice. I did have to get used to the placement of the B N & M keys on the keyboard. Don't get too excited about the directional keys because some apps don't know how to utilize them correctly. Typing is faster on this phone. As far as other features when considering if to buy an LG Optimus Zip or the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim are: - Both run on the same network, Verizon - LG camera has auto focus which dials in a crisper photo - LG has physical keys for menu, home, back & search, which is also another way to turn on the screen - Samsung has a taller screen - Samsung processor is a 1ghz, LG only has 800mhz. The amount of memory is a big difference for both of them. They both come with a microSD card which can be upgraded. However, internal memory is a big difference. LG only has about 150mb but the Samsung has 1gb. BIG difference when you like downloading a lot of apps. Some apps are able to move onto the SD card but not all of them. When I bought the LG, I had to down size how many apps I had on it, where as the Samsung didn't have that issue. In conclusion, if you like physical keys and descent camera, LG does a pretty good job. App happy and want the processing speed? Go with the Samsung.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rspmobile
Steubenville, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a good device for the price
2/6/2013

Customer review by clark71822

1.0 stars by clark71822

I've had this phone for a few months now, and I'm very dissatisfied with it. First, let me say that I am an over the road truck driver, so coverage is very important to me. That being said, this phone uses Verizon's prepaid CDMA network, so coverage in areas that I frequently travel is terrible compared to my old Motorola ST phone that used AT&T's GSM network. Another huge minus is the internal memory. It has 256 MB internal memory, which a good portion of that is used for the Android OS, so you're left with less than 200 MB to play with. And almost half of that is used up by the useless bloatware that you cannot get rid of, so you're stuck with only being able to download and install a small handful of apps. Even moving apps to the SD card does not help. To top things off, I have lots of issues with apps force closing themselves after running them for several minutes, text not showing up when I type them, causing me to manually force close the app and restart it to get it to work, frequently dropped calls, and periodically restarting itself. In short, if you have Verizon coverage where you live, do no travel, and only talk on it, it might be fine, but for those that travel or like to watch videos, play games, or surf the web on a phone for any length of time, I would recommend avoiding this phone.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
clark71822
Ashdown, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Memory is terrible
11/8/2012

Customer review by walmartcustomerinmontana

1.0 stars by walmartcustomerinmontana

The memory is terrible on this phone. Put a couple of my apps on here and now cannot even text or save a new contact number due to low memory.

Was this review helpful? (34) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
walmartcustomerinmontana
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love my Zip
6/9/2014

Customer review by Chemindefur13

5.0 stars by Chemindefur13

I was skeptical when I bought this phone, but was pleasantly surprised. I love it soooo much. I'm going to buy another one soon as backup. The call quality is great, it's easy to figure out. The 3g is actually pretty fast and even better with wifi. The only con I have found so far is that it's a little heavy, but I'm starting to get used to it. If you want a cute little smartphone that doesn't have complicated features get this phone. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Chemindefur13
13642
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Phone & Easy to use
11/24/2012

Customer review by amazonwoman366

5.0 stars by amazonwoman366

I've been a Straight Talk Customer for about 3 years now & I was afraid to update my current phone because the new ones seemed so complicated. But not with the LG Zip. I was very impressed with the features & how easy it is to use. I was able to transfer my current phone number through the Straight Talk website and it took less than a minute for my new phone to be active.. Just love this phone!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
amazonwoman366
Lochbuie, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great phone easy to use
12/11/2012

Customer review by fidgit23

5.0 stars by fidgit23

This is the first phone i have used on straight talk i switched from verzion and kept my number easy to switch over 45 dollers a month is great same service as verzion.As long as you download the app for the advance task killer which will make room and keep your phone able to move faster.It as a faster web then my verzion phone had the camera is not the greatest but easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
fidgit23
herkimer ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Proof is in the pudding.
2/19/2013

Customer review by Ras12088

4.0 stars by Ras12088

It is verizon, sometimes storm clouds in New york block the service. it says CDMA V right on the box guys!

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Ras12088
Corinth New york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
no memory
2/24/2013

Customer review by ziphater

1.0 stars by ziphater

This phone has no memory at all. Do not get this phone unless you just want to call & text. The Apps will not save to the sd card. Very overpriced phone for what it offers. I hate it! Extremely disappointed !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ziphater
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
best of both worlds
6/8/2014

Customer review by BevieSt

4.0 stars by BevieSt

Very pleased...got my smart phone and my real keypad too

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BevieSt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far, so good.
6/8/2014

Customer review by arkydoodlebug48

4.0 stars by arkydoodlebug48

I haven't taken it on a trip yet, but so far locally, I have service everywhere I go. The phone has alot of things my other one didn't have; lots of game games that are free.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
arkydoodlebug48
NE Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Storage Space
3/19/2013

Customer review by Londieloo

1.0 stars by Londieloo

I bought this phone just a few months ago. The thing that attracted me the most was the full qwerty keyboard (becasue I'm terrible at texting on the touch screens). But after adding the Facebook app and a Rhapsody app, my phone is pretty much full. I am deleting texts everyday just to recieve new ones without the text app force closing, and I can't even update the apps I have without being alerted that my storage space is low, and having to go through and delete more things. I am so fed up with this phone at this point. I love the straight talk deal, but this phone is not worth the price! I am currently looking for a new phone and willing to give up the qwerty keyboard and even pay more each month for a more reliable phone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Londieloo
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WONDERFUL!
12/25/2012

Customer review by Naruto7

5.0 stars by Naruto7

Love this phone. I just got It saturday. My 1st Android phone that I ever. I also wanted a android that had a keybord and worked off of Virizon Network

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Naruto7
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
My daughter loves this phone
1/2/2013

Customer review by Sixtine

4.0 stars by Sixtine

This was purchased as a christmas gift for my 13 yr old daughter replacing her AT&T GoPhone. internet worked thru our wireless before I even bought the calling plan for it (unlike AT &T who even though we were using our own internet they made us buy a plan for $15 more per month). Easy porting of her old number. Functions are great and user friendly. Only issue was customer service rep had very heavy foreign accent difficult to understand, but it was only a message they were leaving with instructions if we had trouble with the porting, and we didn't, so we didn't need to talk to them again.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sixtine
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better choices unless you need Verizon network
10/26/2012

Customer review by zunismama

3.0 stars by zunismama

I had this for about 11 days and it was o.k. I found the screen to be a bit small and not always responsive. Sometimes scrolling was difficult and jumpy. The images are o.k., but not overly sharp and clear as compared to the ZTE Merit. Slide out keyboard is nice and easy to use. And keyboard lights up which is great at night or in a darkened room. Annoying feature is that it kept alerting to a new e-mail or message when there were none. Kept beeping (or playing tune, depending on the setting). Voice was clear, but did not get a signal in an area where the map shows it should have had a very strong signal (Verizon). So, switched to AT&T based ZTE Merit and love that phone! The LG is o.k., but for $180, I think there are much better choices, but if you need to use Verizon on Straight Talk and want an Android phone, well... you are pretty much limited to this one. Also had an LG 511c... very nice phone, slider keyboard, not an Android, but seemed to get online as fast as the Zip and did pretty well overall. And it's now only $99 on ST website.

Was this review helpful? (20) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
zunismama
Punta Gorda, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 116 total reviews