Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 244 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

244 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

244 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
123
4 stars
68
3 stars
21
2 stars
15
1 stars
17
1-20 of 226 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 226 total reviews
1-20 of 226 reviews
3 speed port-o-trike
7/21/2012

Customer review by 3weelingeezer

5.0 stars 7/21/2012 by 3weelingeezer
by 3weelingeezer

Ok, so I got this thing thinking it may have flaws based on some of the previous reviews (such as basket holes not lining up) but I find them all rediculously false. One has to read the instructions well to understand. It says so right there: alternatly screw in the basket screws..and they fit just fine. I guess if I were to complain about a frivolous detail it would have to be that the tires did not have enough air to blow up a balloon and I had to go to the gas station and spend $.50 more on air. Yeah, thats about it. Other than that the trike comes in one LARGE box, mostly assembled from the joint back all covered in protective cardboard tubes. All you have to do is stick on the front fork (with wheel already attached), drop in the seat and handle bars and screw on the pedals which are marked left pedal and right pedal so you don't spend eternity wondering why they don't screw in and cross threads them. I guess somone has been able to screw this up as it states such damage is not covered under warranty. The shifting mechanism is definately worth it if you are getting this for a senior citizen. Trust me, the extra money will be well spent. The low gear will be welcome as it makes pedaling a breeze and even more so when there is a breeze.

Was this review helpful? (222) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3weelingeezer
El paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Solid Trike
4/11/2013

Customer review by illdill

4.0 stars 4/11/2013 by illdill
by illdill

I was worried after reading several reviews, but my concerns were quelled as soon as the trike arrived. (Only 5 days later). There were some minor paint blemishes but these were under the undamaged protective packaging so must have happened at the factory. I did not experience the issue with the basket holes being misaligned and my tires have the red stripe rather than the whitewall. The assembly is fairly easy if you follow the instructions. The handlebars and seat post do need to be tightened quite a bit, but other than that, it is a solid bike. It rides nice and smooth once you get used to the awkward feeling of a trike. Turning takes some getting used to, but again this is because it is a trike and not because of anything wrong with the product. I had a speedometer to put on the bike and easily reach 20 mph using the gears. The shifter itself feels a little cheap and doesn't seem to provide much tactile feedback as to what gear it is in or that it has changed from one to the other. I may replace this piece at some point. The seat is very comfy. I plan on using this trike quite a lot, (30 miles a day) so I will provide an additional review after a month or so to see how it has held up. Over all, I am completely satisfied with this trike and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (176) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
illdill
Nampa, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Some fabricating required
7/31/2013

Customer review by dan680

3.0 stars 7/31/2013 by dan680
by dan680

I was at the delivery truck when the door opened to deliver my Worksman Trifecta. Immediately apparent was that the box it came in was standing on its end even though orientation arrows were plainly and boldly marked on the box. I only pre-empt with this note because it was obviously the reason for one of my problems. On opening of the box, marks on the inside indicated it was also laying on it side as well as upside down. After removal of the unit, the first action was to unfold the frame and secure the locking latch. The unfold went fine but the locking pin was misaligned (remember the box was standing on its end) with the mechanism by about 2mm. Other problems noted were: several scuff marks on the painted area of the frame, basket alignment do to a misaligned mounting strip, red reflector light anti spin tabs interfered with the mounting plate welded to the basket and a critical componment that was loose and never should have left the factory that way. More on that later. And one of the wheels came miss-laced which I will leave alone for now (I will be changing to alloy rims)but I suspect it will lead to a spoke failure. Since I do have some mechanical and fabricating abilities, I elected to correct the problems and note it for a review rather than to contact the retailer or vendor for solutions. Here is what I did: On the latch alignment, I took an appropriate sized drift and a 3# hammer and was able to re-align the mechanism so it operates correctly and smoothly. On the basket to frame alignment, one of the longitudinal wires of the basket blocked a critical elongated mounting hole so I cut off the intruding part (about 3mm) and resprayed the repair with liquid electrical tape of the same color. The red reflector was mounted by removing the tabs/studs with end snipers (I could have drilled a hole in the mounting plate to correct...)and then I was able to secure the reflector flush as intended. Based on other reviews about the basket being noisy while riding, I tie wrapped the basket at other points on the frame to prevent vibration...no movement, no noise. Now the most critical part! Check ALL screws, bolts, nuts for tightness. When checking, I found the following loose: All three screws on the chain guard were loose, the shifter "stay" mount, the torque arm on the hub and the idle sprocket nuts also loose. The idle sprocket is mounted in an open slot which would allow it to fall completely off the trike and go AWOL from just being loose. If you loose this part, the entire drive train will become useless. To correct this, you can notch each tang and use tie wrap or safety wire across the open end...this will be enough to prevent the part from completely falling off the trike. For the price paid for the trike; $409.00 + tax and free shipping, if it just required basic assembly, I believe the price is reasonable. But their seems to remain some quality control issues at the manufacture level that still hasn't been addressed. Now for the ride. Very comfortable (tire pressure inflated to 42psi, maximum is 50psi)and stable. No indication of frame flex (rider is 135#)and the 3 speed shifter shifts smoothly. The fold-ability is really limited to just the frame itself, not the handle bars and leaves about a 32" cube as advertised. It should fit easily in many smaller SUVs without folding but by removing the quick release handlebars and lowering the seat. The trike is a keeper for me but it is probably best to have it shipped to your local bike shop for assembly if you don't have the desire or ability to take on a project.

Was this review helpful? (108) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dan680
FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
As advertised
4/28/2011

Customer review by Signcop

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by Signcop
by Signcop

The Compact Deluxe Adult 3 Speed Folding Tricycle is as advertised. It went together with positively no problems. I might have to purchase another one as my wife will not give it up. A detailed parts list and service manual would be helpfull. Things do break and it would be nice to know where to get your hands on replacement parts and to know recommended service procedures.

Was this review helpful? (93) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Signcop
Hampden,ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A fun product
2/8/2008

Customer review by OldRider

5.0 stars 2/8/2008 by OldRider
by OldRider

I have purchased the single speed Trifecta and the multiple speed Port-a-Trike from Walmart. The frames say that they are rated for 210 pounds but I suspect they will handle much more. The assembly instructions are kind of vague in places but other than that these tricycles work very well. If you leave them out in the rain even for a short peroid of time the rims will rust.

Was this review helpful? (310) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldRider
Shepherdsville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Bike for elderly or person with balance issu
4/30/2014

Customer review by Semo3182

5.0 stars 4/30/2014 by Semo3182
by Semo3182
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great Bike for elderly or person with balance issues

Was this review helpful? (50) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Semo3182
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Aaaaaah... The open road....
7/25/2014

Customer review by Rubyrides

5.0 stars 7/25/2014 by Rubyrides
by Rubyrides
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My partner and I live in a 55 and over community, the perfect place to bike ride. I grew up riding a bike, she has not. I wanted to buy us bikes and when I mentioned it to her, I could see the fear in her eyes. I went online, saw the Trifecta and said... That's it! It came in a LARGE box, which made me a little nervous since I was the one who had to put it together. Well, that was easy! I went to the website and followed the video... Can't get any easier!!! So now we go out for a spin. At first she was petrified... But after just three nights of riding she is a pro! I love this trike! It's sturdy, easy to assemble and just FUN! I would recommend the Trifecta to anyone of any age. In fact several neighbors have commented on it and now want one too! Is it pricey? Yes, but well worth it. My partner now agrees... "Bike riding relaxes me". If you're thinking of hitting the open road and feel intimidated by the thought of a traditional two wheeler... Fear not-- the Trifecta is the bike for you!

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rubyrides
Monroe Twp NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth the trouble.
9/3/2011

Customer review by tahitilucyblue

1.0 stars 9/3/2011 by tahitilucyblue
by tahitilucyblue

I spent an afternoon assembling this trike and was very excited to ride it. I found that the holes in the basket hardware and the bike hardware did not line up. There was a customer care number so I called it and requested assistance. The man on the other line told me to just put the screws in where they did line up (one hole) and then just to put the other one through anywhere it did line up even though it wasn't attached to the bike itself on one side. Well when I went to move the trike into my car, the basket did not stay put. When I went to ride this trike, the chain kept slipping off. I also noticed that the fenders and chain guard were plastic and not metal as shown in the picture. It also felt small, like it was made for a much smaller person than me and I am only 5'2. I decided to return this because I had too many problems with it. Walmart took it back with no problems. I will order from Walmart again. I won't be getting this again. Maybe I'll try the Schwinn product.

Was this review helpful? (82) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tahitilucyblue
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great bike, I feel 10 years old again!
3/9/2012

Customer review by YarnandFabricNut

5.0 stars 3/9/2012 by YarnandFabricNut
by YarnandFabricNut

Purchased this bike online and had it shipped to the store. The store person put it together for me at no charge. He had a lot of attention putting this one together. He also explained the brakes, gears and how to take apart for folding. EXCELLENT service from the whole get go. Have had it for about 2 weeks now. It has been 35-40 years since I rode a bike. The first day I was wobbly with my front wheel turns. Today I am controlled and ride 2.4 miles a day after getting off work. Look forward to my riding. I recommend getting the 3 speed rather than 1 if you have not ridden a bike in a while. The gear changing is easy and not intimidating as a 10 speed I had when younger. It is AMERICAN MADE!!! So it is worth the money! Thank you to whoever made this bike! The basket is big enough that my Westie sit in it and enjoyed the ride too. Her extra weight helped shed a pound. Also love having both hand brake and foot brakes!

Was this review helpful? (76) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YarnandFabricNut
Brookneal, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
nice frame and finish
5/27/2012

Customer review by richnet12

3.0 stars 5/27/2012 by richnet12
by richnet12

My wife wanted a portable trike. We added some special adaptions to shorten the cranks because of her difficulty bending her legs. This did work very well and she enjoys the bike as she has not been able to ride one in 40 years. The plastic fender is a bummer. The frame is sturdy and the paint looks great. The gear shifter is not all that and a piece of cake but does work. The shifts are otherwise smooth and quick. The bike does fold but is a close fit in the hatch of my pontiac vibe....it does fit in the hatch with practice. The rims might be flawed. The pressure rating on the tires is rather high....45 psi....but one of the tires kept coming out of the rim and tpblowing a tube...simply keeping a lower pressure...35 pds or so did the trick. My wife is thrilled to be able to ride again. We enjoy getting out together...she rides and I run with her. Good trike for the money.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
richnet12
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Worksman Tricycle great product video instructions
6/14/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/14/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am pleased with this American made tricycle. I love having the options for changing gears when riding up hills. It also was fairly easy to put together. There is a video to help you available on www.worksmancycles.com Go to Home/support then to Owners manuals PDF The second video down is Port-O-Tricycle Assembly. I played/paused/put that step together then played again. It made putting this together very simple! There are also additional parts like front baskets, basket liners, fenders, lights etc... you can order direct from Worksman. When I ordered from Worksman I asked Worksman if this was the same model as what they sold, and she said yes. Walmart can sell them cheaper because of volume but it the same tricycle. We use Worksman at my work and they are built to last. Nice to find this great price for the quality!

Was this review helpful? (80) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Dallas/ Ft Worth Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Parts missing?
3/24/2009

Customer review by thingaling

1.0 stars 3/24/2009 by thingaling
by thingaling

The trike arrived without a bike chain. I called Worksman and asked for a bike chain from them, but a week later it hasn't arrived. After spending $430.00+tax, I shelled out another 11 bucks for a chain. Couldn't figure out how to put the chain on myself, so I took it to a bike shop. Another 20 bucks to the bike shop, and they realize that part of the assembly for the chain is missing, too. I call Worksman, and though the part is listed on the PDF parts list, they say they don't use it anymore. SOMETHING is missing that gives the chain tension and no one at Worksman can figure it out. Long story short, I've had my trike 8 days, Spring has sprung, and I'm still a good two weeks and $40 before I see any riding time. Not at all impressed with my trike. (Oh, and the thing another reviewer said about holes not lining up for the basket and needing to re-drill? Got that, too.)

Was this review helpful? (48) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thingaling
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not quite what I expected but good all the same
6/20/2012

Customer review by RhinoXX

4.0 stars 6/20/2012 by RhinoXX
by RhinoXX

Sure seemed small after I assembled it. The cheap plastic front fender was broken and like others have said the bolt holes for the basket do not line up. Loose oversized washers on the rear axle made a click clack noise that at first I thought indcated bearing failure but I was able to make adjustments to correct it. It is very narrow but that's a good thing where I use it at work. On the plus side it is so much nicer having multiple gears and a rear brake in addition to the front caliper. The seat is very comfortable and the basket large enough for my tool tote. My six foot 265lb body looks goofy on it (so I am told repeatedly) but who really cares after saving so much time over walking and carrying tools by hand. Even the mouth pieces that call it "goofy" want to borrow it, sorry, NOT happening, don't know how I managed without it now.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RhinoXX
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
terrific trike!
11/6/2010

Customer review by CatNE

5.0 stars 11/6/2010 by CatNE
by CatNE

as overweight and aging female, have to say LOVE the Workman trikes...if you have any sort of balance issues, these trikes are superb. Sure it's possible to tip them but you'd really have to doing something wrong like going off curb sideways or way too fast on a turn (yes you still have to lean a bit on turns) But bonus if you're out of shape, you can go really slow without tipping over, lol. I now have both the single speed and the 3 speed. Both are great little bikes for the money. Didn't want to invest a huge amount of money when I wasn't sure I'd be able to handle this kind of exercise. Looked at some other options & these work very well for this price range. Fun to get some exercise and feel like a little kid again. My adult kids tease me, but I think they're just jealous, lol

Was this review helpful? (121) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CatNE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent quality, attractive, well designed
8/29/2013

Customer review by Rider09

5.0 stars 8/29/2013 by Rider09
by Rider09
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am a bike enthusiast and this was purchased for wife who wanted something stable and easy to ride. It was a bit of a challenge to assemble, however, there is a youtube video that took me thu the procedure. The included instructions are also good. The folding feature allows the bike to fit in our SUV. The trike is heavy, so lifting it into a vehicle is a challenge. I built a ramp for the purpose. When it folds, it does not "hold" its set, unless you use a rope or something to keep the folded position stable. The gears (3) are the old and reliable Sturmey Archer. I don't care much for the coaster brake in the rear-- but it has a front wheel hand brake. A locking hand brake would be nice. Overall, the trike is a very good value, solid, good looking, and well designed. I would recommend it to a friend, as they say.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rider09
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
If you are heavy, get the 3-speed model
10/21/2011

Customer review by LADave2

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by LADave2
by LADave2

So far...so good. I was surprised at the fold-up portable ability; not so good if you do not have a SUV. Installation was prompt and service for in store delivery was great. Wish there were closer Walmart's to me, but you take what you can. Price point was better than Torker which was the other model I was looking at. Get the 3-speed model because it will hold more weight, I'm working on getting to below 250 and so far the bike is good for me. Make sure you work on the connections in terms of tighening; initially, the seat kept dropping; now fixed. Everywhere I go (errands) I get conversation...from homeless to other bikers. It is a new think vision in our ageing world, but at 70 it is my kinda machine.

Was this review helpful? (49) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LADave2
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I like this handy bike
1/25/2011

Customer review by Humpi

5.0 stars 1/25/2011 by Humpi
by Humpi

I had an older tricycle with 24" wheels and 3-speed drivetrain with rear derailleur. The bike was so bulky, needs a lot of space in our garage and changing the gear was always an adventure. For Christmas I looked for an other tricycle and found this Port-O-Trike with a rear 3-speed coaster at Walmart for 399.- and only 2.97 shippingcosts. Assembling was very easy. My tip: before assembling clean all parts, then wipe all blank metal parts with a silicone-oil-soaked tissue so the bike will not get rusty. Riding the bike is a pleasure. If you need the bike only for a few times (on camping and so) a single speed is okay. Otherwise I recommend the 3-speed bike.

Was this review helpful? (210) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Humpi
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bad experience
4/25/2014

Customer review by 23unhappy

1.0 stars 4/25/2014 by 23unhappy
by 23unhappy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have followed all the instructions to set up the tricycle. The chain never stayed on spike wheels and when I tried to ride it the secondary small chain attached to rear hub breaks broke off. It was too heavy for me to return the whole thing. So I took it to a local bicycle repair shop to see if they can fix it. They have fixed it. The spike wheel was crocked and that was the reason the paddle chain never stayed on the spike wheels. Bicycle repair shop technician replaced the spike wheel. This part was in-fact installed when the product was shipped. So I have got a defected product and they got away with it. I had to pay $121.61 to get the whole mess straighten up. I have payed $440.70 to get the trike and an extra $121.61 to get the defect in the product fixed. I have the receipt from the bicycle repair shop as a proof. It was too heavy for me to re-pack and try to return.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
23unhappy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/30/2011

Customer review by Thriiled

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by Thriiled
by Thriiled

We bought this tricycle for my 81 year old father for fathers day. He has been riding a bicycle down the canal for the last 50 years and recently began falling off of his bike. We bought the tricycle and he is absolutely thrilled with it. He reports that he can mount it on his bike rack to ride over to the canal. It took a bit of practice to get the steering down and it peddles easily. He has no trouble riding on the canal banks. He uses the basket to hold his water bottle. It was difficult to assemble so I let Walmart do it and they put it together and it was ready the next day! Great tricycle, great customer service!

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thriiled
Chandler, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Porto Trike
3/23/2009

Customer review by MartyR

4.0 stars 3/23/2009 by MartyR
by MartyR

I bought this trike for my handicapped 10 year old daughter. We love the bike and it works well for her. The instructions for putting it together seem to be geared towards someone who is experienced at assembling bikes or a professional. There are no pictures or illustrations that are worth anything. I had to bring it to a shop to assemble the 3 speed lever because it must bee attached to the hand brake and the brake pin needs to be pressed out. It is a great bike but you may want to have it assembled professionally. Also it would be great if the company included a strap to hold the front wheel in the folded position for loading into a vehicle. I highly recommend this bike.

Was this review helpful? (86) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MartyR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 226 total reviews
1-20 of 226 reviews