Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 135 reviews
5 stars
74
4 stars
38
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 stars
12
Sort by: 
1-20 of 133 reviews
1-20 of 133 reviews
Two uses in one appliance - yay!
10/11/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using the immersion blender for about four weeks now and I have to admit that it's a very nice addition to my kitchen appliance collection. With two attachments - a chopper container and a immersion blender container - it will take the job of two different countertop appliances. The power/speed is adjustable and hasn't encountered any problems during my first 15 - 20 uses. I have used the chopper container to chop almonds and it did a good job of that in about 30 seconds. There is a lid that's included as well (for both containers) which doubles as a bottom grip for the container while blending/chopping. Clean up was easy with just s little scrubbing necessary around the side ridges of the container. I used the immersion attachment to make a coffee drink. The ice was blended quickly and to a nice drink consistency. The attachment was easy to clean as well. Overall I'm very pleased with this small appliance and am surprised as to how much I'm using it. This is s nice product from a good company (I have 7 other Oster small appliances). I suggest you give this item a try and I don't think you will be disappointed. I was given this item free in exchange for an honest review of this item - this in no way changed my opinion of this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
10/11/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received an Oster hand blender with blending cup to review. I've made soups and smoothies with the hand blender and it is very good and powerful and it only takes seconds to get done. I also tried the chopper and it is a little powerful as the machine chops it a little too fine. That is adjustable and the way you or how fast you move the switch.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Outstanding Kitchen Aide
8/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for making pureed soups. I really got tied of bringing out the food processor and most of all, hated the clean up. This unit has a chopper Bowl (haven't used yet) and a measuring vase that is in cc. The owners manual gives the conversion to ozs. I use the stick Blender for chopping up and pureeing partially boiled veggies, fish and chicken in order to make pureed foods. I always make 2 qrts. at a time and remove the sauce pan from the stove to cool a bit before immersing the stick blender in the pan and pureeing. The Power unit is heavy, insulated (not water proof) has super power and does an excellent job. Cleaning the 'Stick' is a breeze. I really-really like it!! IMPORTANT: This unit is not for chopping ice or frozen items. It says that in the owners manual but not on the box. I thought it may double for a Cocktail Maker Chopping Ice, but it is not recommended for that. So beware!!! NOT FOR CHOPPING ICE!!! Otherwise...??.... I'm real happy with the purchase of this quality product. Does a great job!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (90)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome HAND blender and bowl atachment too
2/26/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
THIS IS NOT A BLENDER LIKE THE COUNTER TOP MODELS THAT SIT ONTO OF A HUGE MOTOR - DON'T TRY AND MAKE IT ACT LIKE ONE! I have had 3 Oster hand blenders in the past 15 to 20 years. They are a work horse! People expect too much from them and push them beyond what they were invented to do. The handheld blender is like your car for the road and the counter top blender is like a NASCAR vehical... both are cars but are not built to be the same. When mine finally wore out (about 7 years of service) I had to get one immediately. I use it all the time. IT IS NOT A MILK SHAKE MAKER but is can with difficulty and will shorten its life. I whip everything with it. I blend my homemade tomato sauce and juice. I love fluffy scrambled eggs and I get them with this. Its a must for my gravies and sauces. I even blend cracked whole eggs to mix into the stale bread for the wild birds to eat... the shells are almost powder. Any poor reviews of this hand blender are end-user caused. Like I said... I have had 3 in about 20 years and use it at least 5 times a week and non-stop . Wonderful for holiday drinks and poolside nacho cheese dip too!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent, all around fine product.
11/1/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had this about a week. My old hand held blender was in bad shape but still worked. This one is so much better. Old one had plastic gaurd over blades, if I used it in hot gravy or to whip hot potatoes, it would warp out of shape. I managed to heat it and mold it back over and over again, but still looked awful, bent up and stained. This stainless steel guard is great. The power is double what my old one has. So hang on to it. Love the power. I use it every day for smoothies, diet shakes and even to chop garlic for shrimp scampi. Placed peeled garlic cloves in scampi sauce, garlic completely blended into sauce. Just possibly can take the place of a lot of my big blenders, choppers, etc. If I had just one blender in my kitchen this would be it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just what I expected.
11/21/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This hand blender is perfect for my needs. I love the chopping container - use it to make pico de gallo, small batches of oat flour, veggies for soup for one or two! The taller measuring container is great for mixing smoothies, milk shakes, tomatoes for sauces, even pancake/waffle batter. The motor is powerful enough to handle most jobs, so far everything I've tried it on. It's heavy but not so heavy that it's uncomfortable to use. And I love the shape - fits my hand perfectly so it's easy to control. The buttons & speed dial are placed where they are very convenient to use. Cleaning is a breeze, too. I just fill a tall glass or jar, or the container if I used it, with hot soapy water & run the blender in it for a few seconds then rinse & dry. All in all, this was an ideal purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
works well for blending/ chopping small qty's
12/23/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've only had the unit a month, so I can't comment on durability yet. It works fine for what I need it for; chopping/ mixing/ blending small quantities. The handle has a comfortable grip for me, and the unit itself seems lightweight to me. So far, I'm satisfied with the product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (40)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value!
1/11/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I received this hand blender as a gift and enjoyed it so much that I gave one to each of my daughters. It's not a top-of-the line item, but, for the money, it has done everything I expected and I'm satisfied.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
surprise limited usage
4/22/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
When I read that the blender can be used only for 1 minute, then it needs to "rest" for 3 minutes, I was disappointed. Seems like this should be mentioned in the product description. It is also not recommended for ice cubes. I purchased this to make smoothies and find that it is not able to do them for me. I am only giving it a one star rating, because it is not what I wanted. It might suit you just fine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (63)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Disappointed
1/12/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My husband has to have his food pureed, and he likes instant pudding, so when our 15 yr old stick blender quit, we bought this one. If we follow the blender's instructions, it is pretty much useless for pudding (only use for 1 minute, then let it rest for 3); the pudding has to be mixed 1-2 minutes, and comes out better at 2 min. than at 1. After cutting food into smaller pieces the chopper turns part of the food to mush, and leaves the other part in chunks if the 1 minute limit is observed. As other reviewers have mentioned, the top of the processor is very difficult to remove (especially for those of us with arthritis) both before and after use. It is difficult to control the mixer even on the lowest setting, and if it gets too near the surface of pudding, e.g., said pudding winds up all over the kitchen. Another prohibition is that it cannot be used for coffe beans (not a problem for my small Quisenart processor). We bought this particular mixer based on Oster's reputation without reading any reviews (our fault), and it may well be a great choice for someone who does a lot of cooking, but for our limited use this was not a good choice.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It Blends!
8/7/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This set of appliances does not take up much space when storing. You are, however, limited in uses. Do not chop extremely hard or large items such as ice or large pieces of vegetables, which you will probably want to rough chop anyway. Use the chopper for smaller items. Only use the hand mixer for two to three minutes at a time to prolong the life of the appliance.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No need for a big blender
10/8/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
"Review I love the new Oster hand blender/chopper! First, I tried cutting onions. I got a rough cut. Then I continued on with the onions and got a more fine cut if minced onion in seconds! Next time tried carrots; I cut up a bunch of baby carrots. They turned out wonderful! They were perfect for use in any dish. I chose to put the onions and carrots into a Bolognese sauce. That made that sauce super easy to make! I tried making a milkshake. It turned out super good with a nice texture, and it was easy to clean the cup holder for the milkshake. I've gotten so upset with the blenders being difficult to clean that I've given up making my own milkshakes! Not anymore! 5 stars. The only reason I gave the four and a half stars and four star ratings on the various items were for the fact that sometimes it was a little difficult to open the food processor part of the blender to get food out." I was given a blender to try, and I'm very happy I was. It was not paid for it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3/9/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had this product for about ten years, I finally have to break down and buy an new one because the metal part of the wand came apart from the plastic attachment. So that should tell you that it is very durable for it to last that many years.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Returned and resold as new??
1/8/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered this blender from the Osprey FL store. When I got it home you could tell it had been opened. The cord was unwrapped and packaging was askew. When I plugged it in it made a knocking noise. I returned it and ordered another. When I got the second one home you could tell it had also been opened. The cord was unwrapped and packaging was askew. This time when I plugged it in it made a whirring/whistling noise. Bummer. Now I have to make another trip to return this one. I am disappointed that Walmart would sell a returned/broken product
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Handy blender, great value
5/6/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
VERY good product of this type, had to puree food for my ailing elderly Mom and this product got the job done in seconds ! Had another similar item in the past and it was always such a chore, this one takes literally seconds to puree cooked meat, rice, veggies, etc, sometimes even TOO well, need to learn to control the speed and intensity. Adding a bit of liquid helps make purees smoother. Haven't tried it on raw food, would probably need to be cut into small pieces and add broth or some other liquid. Very easy to clean, too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Stripped after two uses
7/29/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The blender part is pretty durable and I've used it dozens of times. However, the part that attaches to the cup stripped after only two uses! The whole reason I bought this one rather than any other is for that cup attachment, so I'm disappointed. At least I can still use the hand blender so at least it's not a total waste.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Didn't like it at all
10/14/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
"Very disappointed with this product. I received it for free in order to review it, and I really wanted to like it, but it's just not a good chopper. The hand blender part works *okay*, if you're careful not to let the liquid fly out of the provided cup, but the chopper is terrible. I wanted chopped vegetables for a salad but instead I got half-puréed veggies and the other half was still huge chunks. Didn't matter if I was chopping tomato, green pepper, onion, boiled eggs, cucumber, celery, mushrooms, I tried them all. All I got was mush and huge chunks. I guess it might be good for making salsa? Then I put it in the sink (not the corded part), and now the lid to the chopper is full of water. Tried shaking it out but can't get it all. I can only imagine the germs multiplying in there now. Will probably end up throwing away the chopper part. Also, I always had trouble getting the lid off the bowl. Overall, I cannot recommend this product."
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/15/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This item was referred to me by a friend. I bought it and it did do what I wanted it to do. I needed an immersion or hand blender for mixing cottage cheese and oil and this did do the job. It's a nice blender.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
convienent, versatile, and a culinary delight
10/21/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If one is looking for a blender, processor or whip, this is the perfect appliance. The suction bottoms grip the surface preventing the mixer to slip. This is so handy to use when making a batch or blending for dips, or chopping vegetables. Ihighly recommend this to anyone in need of a mixer combo. It takes up little space.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great buy, like the the product, very easy to use
2/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Seems like a good product, I have only had it a short time so really can't say how durable it is, I have only used it twice. Compared to others it has a bigger motor & was a good buy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641771, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-