Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 36 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
Better than expected
10/26/2012

Customer review by DRRicardo53

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by DRRicardo53
by DRRicardo53

I've had this phone for just over a week now and I'm very pleased with it. My favorite features are the ability to just speak my text messages and running my finger from letter to letter to type the words...much easier than typing on the tiny keyboard. The sound options are great and the camera seems to do a great job. My only gripe was the initial price. $250 is a lot to purchase a phone but, if I don't have to deal with a contract, it should all even out. By the way, the speed seems relatively good. Definitely not 4G but adequate for what I use it for.

Was this review helpful? (216) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DRRicardo53
Dothan, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/9/2012

Customer review by Mercy2012

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by Mercy2012
by Mercy2012

I purchased this phone in the store about a week ago & I absolutely LOVE IT! It has a lot of Apps & is easy to use. It runs off Verizon towers & works great. I had the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim & it would drop calls, which it ran off Verizon also but this phone is GREAT. The camera is excellent. I would recommend this phone to anybody. Love the 4" screen!!!!!! WIFI works great. Just a great phone!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (156) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mercy2012
Martinsville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love, love, love it!
10/18/2012

Customer review by krysmomof1

5.0 stars 10/18/2012 by krysmomof1
by krysmomof1

I recently bought this phone from my local Walmart store. I love it! Haven't found anything about it that I dislike...Yet. I entered my zip code up top and it said that this phone wouldn't work in my area, but it does. Woot!!

Was this review helpful? (207) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
krysmomof1
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Finally a Straight Talk CDMA Smartphone!!!
11/22/2012

Customer review by Weeweaver

5.0 stars 11/22/2012 by Weeweaver
by Weeweaver

After buying and then returning the Proclaim because of poor reception, I was a little hesitant about shelling out $250 for another Samsung phone. Well, I was very pleasantly surprised to find that the Showcase is another breed of phone! Great signal, lots of battery life, and easy to use. I liked it so much, I told my brother and he bought one as well. We are in rural Maine with only Verizon towers for the most part and this phone rocks here! I don't understand why it's not on Straight Talks' site, but at least I can tell everyone here to buy, buy buy!!

Was this review helpful? (97) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Weeweaver
Sebago, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Super phone
11/3/2012

Customer review by Zipman34

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by Zipman34
by Zipman34

It is a really nice phone, has a really good speaker and good call quality. The display is nice and bright. You will not regret buying this phone.................... The downside is the data speed capped @ 1 megabit per second but is fast enough to do anything you would like to do but for 45 dollars a month what do you expect. " Runs on Verizon's network " I love it so far..................................

Was this review helpful? (136) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zipman34
Orange, T.X.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
If you have poor reception in a Verizon area, BUY!
11/30/2012

Customer review by GypsyLyn

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by GypsyLyn
by GypsyLyn

I was constantly having dropped calls with my old style phone and went on the Walmart website and looked for a phone that I would stop dropping calls. NO MORE DROPPED CALLS! I am on a fixed income and did not want to spend this much for a phone, but it is worth the expense. I am in a Verizon only area in the country in south GA and this phone does the job. I do not have a home phone and so this is very important for me. I got it 2 days ago and not one dropped call. This is my first smart phone and did not really want to get one, but the smart phones are the only thing that the zip code checks showed would work in my area. The reviews were very helpful and went with this one because of its 5 star rating. Not all phones are the same from what I read in the ratings. I love this phone, now, if I can figure out how to use all the features. What a deal for all of the umlimited access with Straight Talk at a fraction of the cost of what people pay with contract plans.

Was this review helpful? (56) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GypsyLyn
West Point, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent phone
11/27/2012

Customer review by TropicalMinnesota

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by TropicalMinnesota
by TropicalMinnesota

I had originally bought the Samsung Galaxy II, horrible mistake. It uses AT&T and my area is terrible for that. I took it back and the in store rep recommended the Galaxy S showcase. This phone is better than I could have ever imagined, great signal, can do tons of stuff on it. I highly recommend this phone

Was this review helpful? (41) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TropicalMinnesota
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Killer Phone
11/21/2012

Customer review by Kaydekay

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by Kaydekay
by Kaydekay

The Samsung Galaxy S Showcase is a GREAT lower cost smartphone. It’s sleek looking with gorgeous, vivid color on the screen. So far, all calls have been crystal clear and it seems pretty fast and easy to navigate once you get used to it. (I’m loving the ‘voice to text’ feature to compose messages…) No, it’s not an iPhone, but given the price of the Showcase with unlimited calls & texts and no contract (on Verizon no less!), I doubt you can find a better deal out there?

Was this review helpful? (44) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kaydekay
Berkeley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!!!!!
12/9/2012

Customer review by makeliamommy

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by makeliamommy
by makeliamommy

Me and my husband bought the Galaxy S Showcase at WalMart a few weeks ago and both love them. It runs off the Verizon network so we get coverage everywhere our fellow Verizon friends do =) Access to the GooglePlay store comes preloaded. I have downloaded Amazon Apps and 1Mobile Market (learned of this from my daughter's Nabi2 tablet) and both run great. There is a flash on the phone so pictures always look great. So far I have downloaded probably 20 apps and still have plenty memory left. The micro sd slot is upgradeable to 32gb (which you can buy a SanDisk Mobile Ultra micro sd card for around $25 bucks if you look in the right places) we get 3G almost everywhere, even when it is not 3G the browser is still fast. The navigation system works great in that you can click the voice search app and just tell it what you are looking for (much like another phone with an S at the end of it's name) the voice search will look for anything!! Since it is loaded with GoogleMaps you can also do street view once you map out your destinations. I don't know why people would not get this phone and pay the $45 + tax a month for unlimited EVERYTHING!! the phone will have itself paid for within approximately 8 months compared to other monthly bills. I have sat with my sister (who is an apple fan) and this phone does everything her iphone5 does!! I love the speech to text it makes it much easier and quicker to reply. We are going back and buying one for my mother for christmas. The 4" screen makes internet browsing very easy and not having to worry about download usage we can watch youtube, download numerous apps, and surf the internet all day with no worries!!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
makeliamommy
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
First smart phone
12/7/2012

Customer review by FrancisGood

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by FrancisGood
by FrancisGood

Not only an excellant phone but the google navigation works by telling it where you want to go. If you want to go to Yankee Stadium, all you need to do is say "Yankee Stadium" and you are on your way. My wife is irritated that this Nav. app. isn't available on her Iphone 4s. Camera and video recorder are easy to operate. Comes with unlimited talk, text and data for $45 a month with Verizon coverage.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrancisGood
Naples , FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great upgrade, Galaxy S phone runs on Verizon!
11/17/2012

Customer review by JupiterJoe

5.0 stars 11/17/2012 by JupiterJoe
by JupiterJoe

Has most features I need while still saving cash. Halved my phone bill and a sweet phone to boot! Just wish it had a front facing camera :( Verizon gets great service compared to others (who shall remain nameless :) in NYC, so this was a no-brainer.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JupiterJoe
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Straight talk phone!
12/4/2012

Customer review by Chestnut15

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Chestnut15
by Chestnut15

The phone has exceeded my expectations so far. Easy set up. Easy to navigate through. The battery life is great! Phone is a little pricey, but if you need to be on Verizon and don't care to pay the high monthly cost of Verizon's plans. This is a great alternative! Phone performs great! Not sure why Straight talk is not carrying on web and all Walmarts. No issues with Straight talk service. If you need Verizon and can afford to buy phone, don't hesitate. It more than pays for itself over a few months. This phone works talk, text and data anywhere there is Verizion service. Plain and simple. Have traveled.....no problems!

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chestnut15
Ohio and Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My first smart phone!
12/17/2012

Customer review by iamkittylover

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by iamkittylover
by iamkittylover

This is my very first smart phone as I was hesitant about how hard it would be to work with. I am so very pleased with my Galaxy S! Easy to use, all the features any one could want and the fact it works on Verizon is a big plus in my area. I am still discovering all the things this phone can do! Sound is so clear, and the sleek design is awesome. I did not want to enter into a contract so for $45.00 month unlimited it`s a great deal any way you look at it! **Highly recommend**

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iamkittylover
Eatonton, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Could Be The Worst Phone I Ever Owned!
12/31/2012

Customer review by TechMedics

1.0 stars 12/31/2012 by TechMedics
by TechMedics

I bought this phone at my local walmart after having another PP company for 6 years. Activation was simple and had no issues. I ported my number over and it took a matter of 15 minutes before I could make my first call. Downside to this phone is it only has 376MB of RAM, of which only 30-40MB is available to the user out of the box. For those that need clarification on this, it means that your phone will freeze and lock up, requiring a battery pull, when you run out of memory. so don't install to many apps. The CPU speed is not impressive at all. PLEASE be aware that this is not a completely supported device for google play. Most "Apps" will work, but a majority of games will tell you to request a refund as "your device is not compatible." Flash on camera will make the phone shut off, so do not use the flash. As far as the user interface, the biggest problem is that when you click on "Applications" button to give you a list of all your applications, it will NOT display them in alphabetical order and there is not way to change this! It displays them in the order in which they were installed and as soon as you update one, it will move it to the end of the list. I spend more time trying to find the app that I am looking for then anything. You can get around this by installing a "Theme" for the phone. they will put your apps in alphabetical order, however themes will cause your phone to quit responding, again requiring a battery pull. All in all, this may be a defective phone. I am going to exchange it for another and see if I have the same problems. This was suppose to be a lower level phone of the "higher bracket" android devices. I have one of the first androids that LG came out with years ago and that thing will blow the socks off this phone. I will update my review and let you guys/gals know how the replacement is. In my honest opinion at the moment, I would save your money and wait till a better phone is released. Knowing what I know now, I would not have bought this phone.....even if it was at half the price I originally paid for it. Oh..one last thing...DO NOT buy this phone or any straight talk phone unless you can tech support yourself. I had to call tech support and it took 1 hour and 15 minutes to get someone and the only useful advice they could give me was to restart the phone. I told them I tried that. She told me, "well I am sorry sir, but I am not sure what else I can do for you..."

Was this review helpful? (24) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechMedics
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
bad reception central maine Galaxy s showcase
11/28/2012

Customer review by boydb49

4.0 stars 11/28/2012 by boydb49
by boydb49

I returned to walmart twice, gave up. I loved the phone and was hoping it would work, my old trac phone worked awesome [ us cellar] but this one drops call all the time [verizon ] if its carrier was us cellar this phone would be amazing, 45 dollars for unlimited everything! But verizon has bad network in central maine maybee if you have a bunch of verizon towers you will be alright wished it had better reception.It would be better then 140 a month through major carriers for same coverage

Was this review helpful? (16) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boydb49
farmington maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very pleased
1/20/2013

Customer review by bmc2

5.0 stars 1/20/2013 by bmc2
by bmc2

My previous phone was the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim, then I decided to upgrade to this phone. What I was looking for in the smart phone choices usually were very high in price or not offered in my area. I happen to find this on Walmart's website (not sure why Straight Talk doesn't offer it on their website). The cost of this phone is $250 and very well worth it. It's not the cheapest, but there are alot more expensive phones out there. My price limit was $250 and this phone great. The 4.0" screen is so much better than the Proclaim's 3.5". I was having difficulty texting on the smaller screen and this is perfect. I also like how there is a slight vibration when you touch to text. The 2.3.6 Android OS is very good! It's fast, responsive and no glitches. Having 7 home screens is nice as well. The processor is fast, so the internet and apps run very well. The display is very good. The signal (which this phone is a CDMA-V; runs off Verizon towers) is fantastic. The phone is also built very well, doesn't feel cheap or even look cheap. My husband has an iPhone 4 and is completely jealous of this phone. I recommend this phone to anyone. If you want a nice, but not pay huge amounts of money for a smart phone, this is yours!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bmc2
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
BEST PHONE FOR THE MONEY!!!!!!
1/12/2013

Customer review by milehibronco

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by milehibronco
by milehibronco

This is hands down the best android phone for the money. For $249 it does it all, and then some. All I can say is WOW!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
milehibronco
Cody, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/6/2013

Customer review by Redskins4life

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by Redskins4life
by Redskins4life

I have owned this phone for approximately a month and I am extremely pleased with this phone. I am impressed with the ease of operation and everyday seem to find something new with this phone. Also you can easily put all apps in alphabetical order without buying an app you just have to play with the settings. The camera is excellent the call quailty is great. The phone so far is a great value. Walmart even has a Trident case for it, just type Trident Samsung Fascinate Case in search engine. The only drawback with this phone is that no service plan is offered which I don't understand. Walmart usually offers a plan with all electronics, so be careful with this phone

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redskins4life
Appomattox,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice phone
12/17/2012

Customer review by MainerJohn

4.0 stars 12/17/2012 by MainerJohn
by MainerJohn

The phone has outstanding performance. Good reception in my area that stays connected as I travel and roam. Wi-FI and GPS work flawlessly. I have only one complaint and that is that I cannot find a case to protect the phone. In the store, I asked a sales associate what the difference was between the Showcase S950C and a regular S2 and they told me that they were the same and that the Showcase was just a StraightTalk version of the S2. She even showed me the USCellular version of the S2 and they did look identical from the front and the specs were identical. The problem came when I shopped for a case. I noticed that the camera on the back of the S2 is centered, whereas the Showcase camera is off-center. Back at the store, the sales associate told me that the phone is too new and that there are no cases yet for the Showcase. Bad move, WalMart! Why do you sell phones that nobody makes protective cases for? At $250 for the phone, I'd really like to protect the investment. Other options, such as Amazon and Best Buy also list nothing for the Showcase S950C.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MainerJohn
Parkman, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this phone
1/6/2013

Customer review by bildor

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by bildor
by bildor

My husband and I both got this phone for Christmas. We love it! It meets our expectations . I will say customer service was not very good when we were trying to port our number. We had another family member help us because he had gotten the same phone about a month ago and was familiar with it. But when it comes to using the phone, it is easy and does everything we needed it to do. Definitely meets our expectations.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bildor
Dickson,Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews